George Pilgrim, General Secretary, Democratic Labour Party

George Arthur and Owen Payne have been politically reunited to a point where we are not sure which name they carry. We know for sure in that combination there is no love for Mia. No matter how we spin it the results will be the same. If we go Owen Arthur and George Payne it gets worst. We can say that the most defining aspect of the last couple months of  Mia Mottley’s stewardship  was that she has learnt  her lesson.  You can be guaranteed that there will no photos ops with the likes of Payne, Mottely and Arthur. Mottley will seek out the soft political issues and rally her most faithful soldiers ..oops soldier, Cynthia Forde.

On the last weekend of October 2010 Mia will find herself staring  down the face of a political barrel as she attempts to wrestle control of the Party from George Arthur and Owen Payne. These two men from the north understand what politics is all about and intend to deliver lesson 101 in Politics of Survival. We have been reliably informed that the upcoming Annual Conference of the Barbados Labour Party has been dubbed  B Day  in the  political life of the boss lady.   The litmus test regarding leadership will be explored as member after member will voice their disapproval at Mia’s performance by voting with the Coalition  Movement  against  Mia  spear headed by George Arthur and Owen Payne.  It is clear to Northern guys that coalition arrangements have their advantages when the bigger picture is at stake. In this picture there is no room for Mia.

Mia’s attempt to become chairman of the Party is in response to her poor showing at the 2010 Nation Newspaper poll coupled with the fact she has discovered where true political power lies. The Union of the North did not happen by accident. Mia’s strategy over the last two years of criticizing for the sake of criticizing has fallen flat. Over that period her political capital has been eroded and she finds herself having to return to base, the membership.

By a carefully crafted plan Owen was able to divide and conquer the elements within his party to facilitate his eventual break and return to leadership of the Party. He made Mia his Deputy  and exposed her to all the elements within and outside. He let her stew at times within raging public debates and came after the damage  was done and appealed for calm. During the entire period in office he did everything to make sure his current boss left a stain on the political landscape. For Mia the most difficult obstacle yet to conquer is to know when you don’t know that you don’t know. She now has the dubious record of failing in Education, disaster in Culture, never understood Economic Affairs and now as Opposition leader mastered the art of  getting good at doing things badly.

In Opposition ,  Owen has continued his assault on the boss lady and contributed to her demise by distancing himself from the platform strategy of staying on message. He made sure he went toe to toe with her in terms of  front page Nation stories and once again tried to show her up. She claimed that he is free to roam as an Opposition Member of Parliament but all he did was to behave like a spoilt child during the entire  period. Somehow Owen  believes that a crack is beginning to appear in the armour of the DLP and everything is wrong inside the BLP and in our country …YEAH RIGHT!!!   Can you imagine Owen speaking to an issue of Prime Ministerial power and its abuses. Wait ..Wait is this the same Owen that blast ordinary Barbadians from the floor of Parliament? Is this the same Owen who introduced Parliament to negrocrat?   This is the same guy who fired Elizabeth Thompson in Bay Street?  Oh please!!! Owen keep your war with Mia  within the walls  of your Roebuck Street compound.

The Democratic Labour Party unlike the negative focus of the Opposition has its sights set on securing a better quality of life for all Barbadians. We are NOT varying off our course on delivering on the goods and services as outlined in our Manifesto. We urge the George Arthurs’, Owen Paynes’ and Mias’ to put people first and not themselves.

86 responses to “B-Day for Mia”

1. David from BU asked Royalrumble the following a couple days ago:

David | October 8, 2010 at 2:21 PM | | Edit

Thanks Rumble

Assuming that the term is 2 years for the Chairman that of course takes the person holding office into the next election gearing period. Has it been declared if Mia Mottley is interested in taking over from Payne? Our interest we should declare is arising from Payne’s recent public statement stating his interest to serve 2 terms.

Royalrumble responded:

Royalrumble | October 8, 2010 at 2:56 PM | | Edit

The Chairman of the Party shall serve a maximun of three terms.

Ms. Mottley has serve notice on the Party that she is ready to assume chairmanship of the Party.

Here is an extract from the Sunday Sun article:

Yesterday, Payne said he did not usually discuss internal party matters with the media but stressed he was the BLP’s chairman and he was not aware of anyone else who had publicly indicated an interest in challenging him for that position.

Interesting indeed,  remember folks, the BU family sniffed this out early!

2. Wishing In Vain Avatar

David you really would expect a sensible or honest answer from this political parasite, that will say anything or do anything so long as they promise to feed him in Parliament and keep him out of prison?

You should also ask him why Hallam Nicholls has offered to finance the campaigns for George Pain and Daisy Marshall and Owing with the ill gotten gains of their last time in office supposely with his own Hallam Nicholls funds ?

Seems like George Pilgrim was spot on the money when he wrote his article a few days ago, well done David at BU and so to George Pilgrim.

3. @WIV

You have awakened from your hibernation we see?

4. @Henderson/Royalrumble

Your response to the Sunday Sun report?

What is Mia’s response to the Sunday Sun report?

5. Wishing In Vain Avatar

One needs a holiday from BU you know ????

6. Wishing In Vain Avatar

It can no longer be held back from the public’s eyes, it is coming like a raging river, for those that have been saying all is well within the BLP now look and and tell me how unwell they really are.

A wicked disgusting crook who should be behind bars along with Hallam Nicholls versus a poor specimen of something trying to become a leader absolutely devoid of any moral fabric or a decent action.

7. Opposition is at sea Avatar
    Opposition is at sea

Should what Mr Pilgrim is speaking about is true it seems to me that the BLP will suffer some melt down or better yet Ms Mottley will loose some weight and some sleepless nights as the short one crawls all over her.

The question must be will Ms Mottley have the Balls after she is plucked for the pinnacle of her desires to continue to serve Mr Arthur in a junior role to he, Dale Marshall and George Payne in a cabinet in 2028 ?

If the BLP run true to old form she will stick her tail between her legs and say yes sir and no sir to her bosses, she is made of straw and can be blown from here there and yonder and make no meaningful effort anywhere.

She is loud mouth lout and will pay very dearly for the sins of her sadly lacking morals, and no amount of help this time from momma and poppa will save here from the greed of the short man.

Will Mottley stick around once she is removed from her post and play will she play the game from third man in the background of who really is running things within the BLP ?

8. A non-issue!! Whether Mia, Owen or whomever the spotlight REMAINS on the DLP: the economy, the PM’s sickness and the impending upheaval in the event that he dies. Stay focus on the real issue people.

9. @Enuff

Remove your blinker for a moment and ask yourself a question – do you think the BLP with two years before the next general election wants a leadership battle on its hands.

The issue is dissolved at monthend when one undisputed leader emerges.

10. Opposition is at sea Avatar
    Opposition is at sea

This charge of padding the internal BLP election result that is directed towards, Owem, George Dale and Hallam opens up a can of worms and leaves many questions unanswered.

If this group are prepared to pad an internal election result to achieve a result in their favour why should we trust them and two who can say with any confidence that both Dale and George would not have done the same padding in the 2008 election to keep themselves in their seat and we all remember both candidates complaining at the election about actions by both of these candidates that was questionable, I think we have the answer here today that if the would pad an interal BLP voting matter that they would pad a National election result.

11. Wishing In Vain Avatar

By GEORGE PILGRIM | Sun, October 10, 2010 – 12:00 AM
    The most recent machination that has drawn attention to the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) revolves around the battle for the leadership of the party. The current Opposition Leader has been the chief cook and bottle washer on the issues that come to the public.

The columnist Hartley Henry, in another space, has offered the Opposition Leader some sound advice about her approach to Opposition politics and the selection of issues. He has intimated, on more than one occasion, that she has a poor track record of picking fights.

Her former boss, on the other hand, is more calculated in his determination of what constitutes an issue. One thing for sure is that he is not afraid to call a spade a spade when it comes to her capacity and leadership ability.

He has also had to distance himself from his leader’s perspective on more than one occasion publicly.

The most recent occasion was the tell-all meeting held opposite the bread vendor in Haggatt Hall where some apparent earth-shattering information regarding the National Housing Corporation was to have been made public.

The tell-all meeting ended with the former leader going off on his own message, leaving his leader to flounder on the topic of housing – an issue he knows that his administration grappled with from inception.

In this respect, the BLP leader sought to take up the rage of a former disgruntled chairman and question the performance record of the Minister of Housing Michael Lashley.

The daunting task of resuscitating housing was given to Minister Lashley upon his entry to Government.

There can be no doubt in the minds of Barbadians that hope has been delivered through Minister Lashley. But history will show that the Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) record on housing did not start in 2008, but goes all the way back to even before its creation of the National Housing Corporation in 1973.

Amenities

As far back as 1969, the big thrust in housing started with a new design of terrace units at The Farm, Deacons. Wherever possible at the time, the DLP sought to include in its housing programme and estates, day care nurseries and shopping facilities, as was the case in Silver Hill and Eden Lodge. The record is clear.

Just as pellucid has been the failure of the Barbados Labour Party after three straight terms in office to mask its underperformance in the delivery of housing to the people of Barbados.

The Bees don’t want to tell the country in their publications and utterances that the total number of houses completed during the period September 1994 to January 2008 tallied 594.

This number alone was just shy of what the DLP produced in 1989 alone.

The housing sector was never given any serious attention by the Arthur administration. Four ministers, 802 lots, a waiting list of 28 042 later, they want to place the DLP on trial.

I would advise Minister Lashley to give full disclosure to Barbadians on all housing matters as it relates to the contractual arrangements of the NHC then and now.

The Government has nothing to be ashamed of in the area of housing other than that the minister has not taken the time to tell Barbadians of the vacuum that was created as a result of the inept polices of the former administration.

I want to appeal to Minister Lashley, when he takes a break from throwing up structures, to update us on some matters.

Matter No. 1. Minister Lashley, can you please give us some insight into the 99-year lease that was signed 11 days before the last election with the developers of the Sapphire project on the South Coast.

Matter No 2. Minister Lashley, can you please tell us about the abandoned construction of the Primary Home model house at the stage where the contractor had spent around $38 000 when it was realized that the house could not be built for under $50 000 as previously advocated by the then minister.

It ended up costing taxpayers nearly $70 000.

Matter No 3. Why have you not told us about the housing programmes that were poorly conceived and in some instances with no houses ever constructed. For example, Dean Town, despite programme being launched.

The BLP would want to say to us that we should take the speck from our eye; but we know of the log and hardwood that is in theirs.

I am calling on the Minister of Housing to respond to these matters raised before I complete my list. The public is patiently awaiting your response.

We saw land prices dramatically increase over the 1994 to 2007 period. The intervention by the Government then was to announce that land should reach its highest economic value.

The link can be shown between the exclusive focus of the Arthur administration on building condos, villas and homes for the wealthy and the surge in building costs to as high as between $400 and $600 per square foot on the West Coast. We simply cannot escape the fact that between 1996 and 2007 there were very few private housing developments aimed at the lower and middle-income group.

This is the first time in years that we are seeing a plethora of housing projects aimed at the ordinary Barbadians.

This is the axis upon which the discussion needs to rotate. By September 31 the NHC had completed 515 housing solutions.

The NHC and the minister deserve kudos for their efforts to date. Barbadians of all walks of life, whether they be BLP, DLP or apolitical, must admit that something is happening.

* George Pilgrim is a research student of Salises and general secretary of the Democratic Labour Party.

12. These comments by George Pilgrim offer some food for thought.We know the colour of his politics but he has stayed away from any personality attacks. One thing for sure is that he has stayed on message about what we are all observing. The public must wake up to to the glue that has kept the BLP together…greed. That greed was accomodated by access to state resources and the Opposition is hurting in the face of the high degree of accountability and openness that has been brought to public life.

13. “This charge of padding the internal BLP election result that is directed towards, Owen, George Dale and Hallam opens up a can of worms and leaves many questions unanswered.”

History is repeating itself!!! You all are forgetting another player, Douglas Skeete. George, Dale and Douglas; St. Andrew, St. Joseph, St. James North. George is pushing for Douglas, his old Orange Hill/St. Silas Youth Group buddy for St. James North. Anything to get Rawle out, he will do. Ask him to remember when he spoke these words, “Anybody that oppose me politically is just like threatening my life.” (24th April, 1999) Rawle and Mia are in serious trouble as George is out for blood; he hates being embarrassed or humiliated.

History:- Go back to the BLP nominations for the 1991 Elections. After L.B. Brathwaite’s demise, Peter Scott was up for the nomination. Bus loads of new members of the St. Andrew Constituency, with fees paid up by George, descended on the St. Silas School for the Sunday evening nomination. By the way, George already had calendars out for the Christmas Season …before the nomination !!!!! By the time the stalwarts arrived at St. Silas, the “new supporters” had already swamped the entire process. If one has to check back what happened that evening, it will be revealed that the old Constituency Executive went through the eddoes and a new team of Payne’s supporters was in place.

So, what is the fuss about? George Owen Athur Payne is only living up to his reputation as a political animal!!

14. GOAWP AT THE BRIDGE
    George Owen Arthur Walton Payne, by his balded head he swore
    That the political house of Mottley should rule the Bees no more!
    By St. Andrew’s hills he swore it and named a traitorous day,
    Then ordered his devious henchmen to confuse Rawle Eastmond’s way.
    Fast by the playing field at Standard, preparing for the war,
    George Owen Arthur Walton Payne sat in his expensive car.

The Council’s brow was sad. The Council’s brow was low,
    Darkly looked Cyntie at the plan and darkly at Mia’s foe.
    Their troops will be upon us, before we reach Holetown,
    And if we ever lose the North, how can we hold Speightstown?
    For George is back with Owen, Dale’s marshalling his troops anew,
    We must not ignore Douglas Skeete nor forget old Do fuh Do!

Five hundred and sixty members; Oh what a great influx,
    This up and coming Conference can’t be stolen by some crooks!
    Rawle’s President is not listed; his Secretary’s absent too,
    What has become of the delegates who came since ’82?
    Mia shouted ‘Skulduggery!” This traitorous act must end,
    Whether George is having pain or Arthur is owing.

Now when the face of Walton is seen by stinging bees,
    A cry shall rent the firmament above the Roebuck’s trees.
    Mia shall smoke her cigarettes and shake her manly fist,
    While those of her supporters shall curse at George and hiss.
    Obsessed with being leader, no matter what the cost,
    With Dale and others by his side it’s time to be the boss.

It’s still within the memory when Owen he made a shift
    He dumped George Walton from his team and then they had a tiff.
    George took down Owen’s portrait from Ermy Bourne’s Centre
    His anger showed, he blew a fuse, he hated his former mentor.
    By now today, he’s seen the light; his head is all aglow,
    He’s ready for the warfare and to strike a new low-blow.
    (To be continued…)

15. Wishing In Vain Avatar

you miss the part of Hallam Nicholls vowing to use money to buy votes to get his crooked friend back in the driving seat.

I wonder what idiots like Weir and Bradshaw will do when Owing retakes the BLP and removes those clowns and idiots from around him, that I would advise him to seriously to as they will not be loyal to him.

This is a struggle of Owing who is missing replenishing his bank account fighting Muttley who believes thru her lineage and her elite status she is divinely entilted to be a PM and really neither should be trusted with that position as both are careless and moraless persons.

16. Sentinel

Some credit to Lord Macaulay for “Horatius at the Bridge” would have been appropriate

17. @Sargeant

Good to see you around.

18. @ David
    ‘The issue is dissolved at monthend when one undisputed leader emerges.’

And once it is ‘dissolved’ what’s next? At least you admitted the issue will end in the hive, but after hearing Taitt, Lionel Sealy, Kellman et al can anyone say when there will be re/dis(solution) within George Street?
    The two parties appear to be locked in leadership contests; but supporters of the government, like its General Secretary George Pilgrim who wrote this piece, either want us to believe this is not the case, or to say ‘look both of we got leadership issues.’ Both, however, are weak tactics since the former is obvious and the latter nullifies the premise that the BLP’s leadership contest is an issue.

19. @Enuff

Agree with you, both parties need to get their act together but this is the nature of politics. Have always subscribed to the view that leaders emerge.

20. Wishing in vain wrote “Muttley who believes thru her lineage and her elite status she is divinely entilted to be a PM :

I wonder where this thing about “lineage” and “elite” came from in reference to Ms. Mottley. As far as I am aware Ms. Mottley is the great grand daughter of a maid just like the rest of us. Her mother was/is a housewife just like ours. Her father is a lawyer, true, but lawyers, doctors, teachers, engineers and such like professionsals have become dime a dozen in most Barbadian families in the last 50 years.

There are no elites in Barbados only foolish people like wishing in vain who think that they are elites.

21. @J,

Ms.Mottley has referred to herself as a member of the Political class.
    Her Grand father was the Mayor of Bridgetown. Her father was a prominent lawyer with considerable influence in Barbados politics and served the governments of both parties.
    She lived with her parents in a mansion in Sandy Lane estate.

She has political lineage and she is a member of the elite/upper class of Bajan society.
    If I were a political strategist I would use the above to frame a strategy for or against her as a leader.

22. That is a shocking turn of events. The Barbados Today front page is wicked. “OUSTED”

23. Hants he either does not understand or not want to understand, she is a Mottley and by being such there is a very strong belief that MOTTLEY’S must be ENTILTLED TO HEAD THIS COUNTRY and she will not for reasons I will not go into here tonight.
    She is in for a rude awakeing just a few hours from now.

24. Hants she did not give it up or she will not give it up willingly so she must be ousted.

I expect a By Election as a fall out of this, I cannot see here continuning as a wounded member, Owing and the rest will treat her as a has been a door mat or a piece of garbage not sure her ego will withstand that assault ( then again she knows well about assaults of many kinds)

25. @WIV there Barbados Today frontpage has already called it.
    Dey going wid Owin again.

26. Political intrigue!!!!
    What is going on? Why this cloak and dagger stuff?

27. If MIA is ousted as opposition leader it will likely be the end of her political career.
    There is no way of sugar coating the attack on her by Owing and co.
    This is brutal.

28. @JUSTICE SEEKER,
    There is no cloak. Just daggers. Read Barbados today page 2A.
    That picture of the Queen Bee and the Tarantula is telling.

29. Hants that was a cool describe, you cracking me up.

30. WIV even the fellas at the Nation got the story posted.
    This is the end of Mia as leader of the opposition.

31. They could not even wait 2 weeks for their annual general conference so there could be an appearance of an “orderly” change of Leadership.

Instead they call in the Media and catspraddled MIA.

32. Mia’s fate in Balance

Opposition leader Mia Mottley

By WADE GIBBONS | Tue, October 12, 2010 – 12:11 AM

TODAY COULD BE “B-DAY” for Opposition Leader Mia Mottley.

The Barbados Labour Party’s (BLP) parliamentary members are scheduled to meet at 2 p.m. to determine if they want Mottley to continue as their political leader.

DAILY NATION investigations have revealed that secretary of the parliamentary group, Gline Clarke, issued circulars to fellow BLP Members of Parliament over the weekend calling for an urgent meeting today to discuss Mottley’s stewardship and other matters related to the imminent annual general conference set for October 29 to 31.

The DAILY NATION understands that representation coming out of today’s meeting, with respect to Mottley’s leadership of the party, could be made to the Governor General tomorrow.

When contacted yesterday Clarke said he could not say anything about today’s meeting to the media, since he had to meet with his parliamentary colleagues during the evening [yesterday] for initial discussions.

He promised to call back the DAILY NATION after that meeting with additional information, but never did.

The DAILY NATION understands that a majority of the nine BLP members in the Lower House are opposed to Mottley continuing as Leader of the Opposition. Informed party sources said yesterday four of the parliamentary group would not be attending today’s meeting, namely Mottley, St Thomas MP Cynthia Forde, St James North’s Rawle Eastmond and Christ Church West MP Dr William Duguid.

Other members of the parliamentary group are St Peter MP and former Prime Minister Owen Arthur, St Joseph MP Dale Marshall, St Michael North MP Ronald Toppin, St Andrew MP George Payne and Clarke.

Meanwhile, the BLP’s national executive council meets at 7:30 p.m. on Thursday at the party’s Roebuck Street, St Michael headquarters to investigate a reported plot to compromise the St James North delegates voting process.

This has been described as part of the plan to undermine Mottley’s bid to be elected chairman of the party at the October 29 to 31 annual general conference. Payne is also contesting the chairmanship.

Thursday’s executive council meeting is being convened following a letter from Eastmond to Forde, the party’s general secretary, on October 6. He called for the council to investigate what occurred at his branch “to avoid any confusion”.

Eastmond uncovered a scheme where an unauthorised list of 56 delegates was submitted to Forde without his knowledge or the sanction of his branch’s executive.

Eastmond explained that the purpose of the unauthorised list, which he said originated outside his constituency, was to “angle votes” in a particular direction at this monthend’s conference.

wadegibbons@nationnews.com

33. Wishing In Vain Avatar

It is very clear to me that Owing was not prepared to chance taking a vote at their conference for the risk of not being successful, so eager he is for power that he has fast forwarded his attack dog program to take her out prior to their conference and to do so he only needs 5 votes whereas at the their conference they will be a more than a 100 votes that he cannot trust how those votes will be cast, so that when that time comes at their conference he would not stand the risk of the floor supporting Muttley and not him, he wiped that eventually out with his pre-strike tomorrow.

If I were Muttley I would still contest the Chairmanship of the party even if not the Opposition leader and make them sweat on the day.

Owing is operating on the basis that once she is removed as the leader of the opposition she will subside and not challenge for the post of Chairman of the party which makes for a very interesting encounter in two weeks.

Join us tomorrow for the continuing saga of Day of Our Lives Bajan style.

34. Dear Hants and Wishing in vian:

Exactly as I said.

Your thesis that the Mottley’s are are elite family is 50 years out of date. Nobody has cared or been influenced by the MOttley name since long BEFORE MIA WAS BORN.

Ms. Mottley’s grandfather father managed to become mayor of Bridgetown when Bridgetown was 99% poor and 85% illiterate or semi-literate. It could not happen today. And it could never have happened in rural Barbados where people have traditionally had access to land and therefore food and were no so easily manipulated. I lived in rural Barbados in Mayor Mottley’s time and I can tell you that rural Bajans had no love for, respect for, nor FEAR for Ernest Dieghton Mottley.

It is significant that her father did not become Prime Minister and I have always said that she will not NEVER become Prime Minister either.

She is not a bad woman but she was born 50 years too late.

By the time she was born, the educational revolution birthed by Dipper Barrow had already emancipated Barbadians from mental slavery.

There are hundreds, no thousands of familes in Barbados today where on average the intellect and educational status, professionmal acjhievements (and yes money) far surpasses that of the Mottleys.

The Mottleys have long, long been eclisped, but poor Hants and Wishing in Vain did not notice. You guys spent far too little time studying history.

The Mottley’s time has come and gone.

The tax paid universal secondary and university education (started by Diper Barrow) ousted the Mottley’s.

I myself have EIGHT neices and nephews who have POST-GRADUATE degrees (out of 14) and another 2 have bachelor’s degrees, and a couple ars still at secondary school. The professional achievements of these 8 will far surpass anything any Mottley has ever done. And remember NONE of the grandparents of these 8 completed elementary school.

And as I said M.s MOttley is not a bad woman, but she born 40+ years too late.

35. SENTINEL | October 11, 2010 at 12:59 AM |

GOAWP AT THE BRIDGE
    “George Owen Arthur Walton Payne, by his balded head he swore
    That the political house of Mottley should rule the Bees no more!
    By St. Andrew’s hills he swore it and named a traitorous day,”…

Sentinel is truly watching. Meeting where? At GOAWP’s home. This location is where the plots against ordinary Barbadians, rise and fall of many BLP supporters take place. As long as GOAWP is in the midst, the BLP will be filled with backstabbibg and bloodletting. The name of the game for GOAWP is “POWER AT ALL COST”.

Tell Rawle to check those in Sion Hill and around him. Furthermore, check the names of the ten bogus delegates carefully and notice the pattern or linkage. Each one should be pressured to say how much they received for being part of this plot. In addition, the plan is that Rawle must be forced by these “delegates” to step aside for the man from Orange Hill.

The Northern Posse is determined to lead at all cost. There is more intrigue to follow ……..yes, and daggers. You are absolutely correct, Hants, the cloaks are off, the daggers are drawn.