Senator Kerrie Symmonds

The recent announcement of the reappointment of Kerrie Symmonds as a government Senator surprised BU. While there has been a lot of debate about the non-reappointment of former Senators Elizabeth Thompson and Arthur Holder, our surprise has more to do with the reason why Symmonds resigned last year. Symmonds was involved in a widely publicized marital dispute. BU posted on the matter at the time to join local media which reported on a protection order being filed to keep Kerri at bay [it is our understanding his divorce is at the advance stage].

Symmonds widely reported to have resigned contradicts rumblings which suggest that former leader of the opposition Mia Mottley pressured him to resign. Perhaps the e-letter authored by his father Dru Symmonds currently making the rounds in cyberspace gives weight to the view Kerrie was pushed.

The concern which BU has about the Symmonds appointment to the Upper House has more to do with the obligation of public officials to be transparent when dealing with the public. It is BU’s understanding the request for a Protection Order from the court stemmed from the tyres and car seats of the vehicle owned by his wife Andrea being slashed. As human beings we maybe able to empathized with Symmonds at his actions in a failing relationship. People handle problems in different ways.

Given Symmond’s domestic challenge and his reaction to a marriage gone bad, the public of Barbados deserves an explanation on two fronts. Senator Kerrie Symmonds needs explain what remedial steps he would have taken to assure the people of Barbados that he has a grip on his personal situation to the point it will not embarrass the country, again. Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur also bears some responsibility in light of Kerrie Symmonds’ resignation under Mottley to properly outline his reason for reappointing Symmonds, an obvious undermining of Mottley. Some will say he is under no obligation to take the public into his confidence on this matter but in light of the current fracture in the relationship with Mottley if for no other reason he needs to offer an adequate explanation.

Is it unreasonable to think that Arthur and Mottley on the eve of the Barbados Labour Party Annual Conference should be utilizing his best negotiating and relationship skills to bring his party together? It is not loss on some that Kerrie Symmonds has been preferred to Liz Thompson who had to endure the razor sharp tongue of Kerrie Symmonds on the political trail before he switched to the other side. To add insult to injury beneficiaries of Arthur’s politics of inclusion [Mascoll/Symmonds] appear to be favoured instead of the red-blooded BLPites like Thompson and Holder to a lesser extent.

Is it sensible for Arthur to ignore the popularity of the Late Prime Minister David Thompson which has as its foundation the prerequisite of being people centric? We live in a new age where transparency and accountability is being demanded of public officials. The BLP by appointing Kerrie Symonds to the Senate without an adequate explanation is insulting to the public it serves.

113 responses to “Understanding The Appointment Of Kerrie Symmonds To The Barbados Senate”

1. Not hard to understand Avatar
    Not hard to understand

“We live in a new age where transparency and accountability is being demanded of pubic officials.”

Really? Them “pubic” officials really have to be held accountable, don’t they?

2. OFF TOPIC:

Why is the traffic being diverted from travelling the full length of Broad Street? That is going from the bottom to the top.

As it is at the moment traffic is being stalled when making the left off the street because pedestrians are constantly passing on the crossing, and again at Swan Street.

The traffic flowing down Broad Street should continue as is, but maybe continuous flow from west to east should be considered.

3. Once again Barbados’s version of Eric Matthew Gairy has risen to the fore ,and politely said ” to hell with what the public thinks” . All right thinking women in Barbados must let their voices be heard. First the disrespectful treatment of Mia Motley ,now the imposition of Kerrie Symmonds . The “Old Boys Club” still flourishes in a new -age Barbados. The old boys club , or is it Misogyny 1 01 ? Speak up Women , real men will give their support. A couple months out of the spotlight do precious little to address a problem that continues to plague this and other societies . While this writer understands that amendments can be made to mistakes , one can clearly see that the time line employed here was written in the ink of impunity. Ladies please show our version of Eric Gairy that we in “Bim” have learned from our counterparts in Grenada ,and it will be the will of the people , and not “to hell with the people”.

4. Female senators just need to watch their lip; and their jeeps!!! All jokes aside: his reappointment is offensive. But thats Owing Arthur for you. No respect for women. None.

5. To the bona fide journalists in Barbados (not de yellow-belly pen pushers) go talk to the women that hold public office , get them on the record, and lets all see who does service and who pays lip service to women’s issues in Bim. Ask them this question. If sub-judice means not yet justice , on such a serious matter where there is not yet a disposition ,how can Kerrie accept that position ? Ask them if there is a sense of outrage amoungst women , and what message does it send to the impressionable youth that we all claim to want to help ?

6. In North America the media would have grilled/exposed this matter to the point the public would have been satisfied that Symmonds deserved a second chance.

Where are the women’s movement, Nalita Gadjada and that ilk? Here we have legitimate issues which many of them can be advocates yet they all get on Facebook as an example to promote issues which are not homegrown.

7. Midnight Cravings Avatar
    Midnight Cravings

Useless BU the political prostitute.

If you want to talk about women in politics let’s talk about the close physical resemblance between Maxine McClean and Mara Thompson… two women both picked by the dearly departed you-know-who and who he kept “close” to him.

We all know what Mara Thompson’s children look like.

But I want to know if Maxine McClean got any children, and if so do they look like Mara’s children?

Just asking.

A blogger identified as Midnight Cravings posted a comment on November 12, 2010 at 2:56 AM. The comment is defamatory to Senator McLean and in the worst possible taste against both Mara Thompson and Senator McLean. It is also deeply offensive to the three daughters of our late Prime Minister. To Senator McLean, BU tenders its apologies and will, if the Senator so desires, delete the offending and offensive post. To Mrs Thompson and her daughters, BU tenders its apologies.

8. @Midnight Cravings | November 12, 2010 at 2:56 AM | What a cheap, trashy hate-filled person you are. That comment is malicious, scandalous and legally actionable as defamation. However, if I were David, I would publish an apology to Mrs Thompson and Senator McLean and I would ask their permission NOT to delete your comment, just so everyone can see what a sick person you are and how sick and desperate must be those whom you support.

9. Thanks Amused, it appears the political werewolves are beginning to step out. As always we will use our best judgement when we need to use the cross or the wooden stake.

Usually the DLP people are the ones who use the ‘right of reply’ approach which was the one used successfully by the Late Prime Minister David Thompson, the BLP people are the ones who show more sensitivity.

On another note, it is our understanding Henderson Bovell and Sylvan Greenidge were kicked out of the Opposition Office. The invitation to the new communications people who Arthur has brought in to feed us with info stands.

10. @David. The problem is that the offensive comment doesn’t even speak to the issue. It attempts to start a defamatory rumour without any basis. As such, it is akin to the sort of ad hominem abuse so beloved of a certain blogger. If this “Midnight Cravings” has any children, maybe he/she would like to calculate the offense that such a comment would cause those children were he/she the recipient of such an attack – and saying that it is “Just asking” insults the intellegence of people. There is, in my view, no right to reply expressed here. The issue is not addressed at all, merely scandalous statements made to deflect attention from the issue. Politics at its most sewer-like.

11. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar

I guess I am innocent to this since I cannot understand what Midnight Cravings is trying to insinuate I am lost

12. Uh high class response to low class behaviour. Is it any wonder that Owen Arthur, a man who cannot contain the habit of going to parliament to cuss people would continue to do so, to the dearly departed? Would it surprise you that those who support him, such as Raquel Gilkes would find favour in this behavior to the point of joining-in-and-jumping-back in like fashoned?

13. It is outrageous that today in our society, where there is much advocacy against domestic abuse that a domestic abuser can be appointed to the highest office in our land.

Does the sense of decency and respect no longer hold any place in our society? What message do we send to our children when we seek to instill in them, that resolution to conflict is in dialogue rather than violence, and then we have an opposition leader appointing one such as this to the halls of our Senate.

CAN we draw the conclusion that the opposition leader sees nothing wrong with domestic abuse or violence?
    CAN we also assume that he thinks that whatever methods used to regain and maintain control is right.
    CAN we also assume that since it seems that he sees nothing wrong with the behavior, that he might be prone to/operate in such behavior himself ?

We as a people must demand a greater level of civility and morality from those who would desire to lead this country, or we will continue to see a downward slide in our children and by extension our society.

It is not acceptable by our silence to condone such barbarism. How can such people lead us when by their very actions they distill to us that they are cowardly and can only prey like vultures on the weak.

One must also question Mr Arthur’s sense of judgment, because this decision has more far reaching effect than we can readily see. This speaks to an individual who wantonly dismisses our values and mores, and seems to walk in the maxim of by ‘any means necessary’ so long as the means fulfills his ultimate interest.

There is an urgent need for those of us who are vigilant to speak out against these things. WE MUST NOT polarize these issues into political divide, class, colour or creed, but the desire to see a country walking in basic respect for humanity, and value of life irrespective of one’s station in life must be our driving force, and WE MUST DEMAND IT FROM OUR LEADERS, OR WE WILL HAVE THE BLIND LEADING THE BLIND and we will all fall into a ditch.

14. David

If you think the posting is offensive why do you have to wait on someone’s “say- so” to remove it?

15. @Sargeant

Amused picked up the comment before we did. You should appreciate we don’t read all comments in real-time.

Took the decision to leave the comment to show the level some people are prepared to go and in the process hope that others by reading would seek to avoid sinking to the cesspool.

It is an experimental approach which requires careful judgement. As always BU will rely on persons like yourself to advise.

16. David your headline
    A Different Kind Of Politics Beckons
    Says it all, Owen Arthur is back along with his power hungry supporters who are very disrespectful of Barbadian women. They have brought back they crass political behavior and they are not in government yet.
    He made some serious misjudgment of Barbadians in the period leading up to the elections with his mouthings.
    Again he is at it again. The installation of Kerry Simmons to the Senate is an insult to all Barbadian Women. Can you imagine a young lawyer like Santia Bradshaw sitting next to him and not bothered by the fact that he is an abuser of women both physically and mentally? Remember he called Mia and Liz a thousand pounds of blubber.
    David Arthur has no ideas for the moving of this SOCIETY forward. He and his economic theory that failed this world will not save him this time.
    I get the feeling that he is going senile.

17. I agree that in some countries, this appointment would have raised serious questions. I hope that the freedom of information act, when it is passed, will give journalists and others more protection. However , we must remember that this Senator, once referred to some female politicians as 1000 pounds of blab/fat or some insensitive description of their physical being. I am surprised that he can still be sitting in our Upper Chamber.

18. Hypocrisy remains the order of the day on BU. Shameful!!!!

19. Fair and Balance Avatar

@Caribman
    When did he used the 1000lbs of blubber statement and who was his leader then?
    Hypocrisy at its highest

20. David, I would not leave that comment up. If you have the power to remove it, then by leaving it up you may be taken to have condoned it..Perhaps we should hear Jeff Cumberbatch or Anonlegal on this one.

21. Midnight Cravings
    Now,now,now, you are being a nawty buoy.
    And you would know a lot bout prostitutes. how were you conceived? ya faget? You find out who is ya fadda yet?Now stop your nasty remarks about our First Lady and her daughters, ya indifferent bitch. And you are not worthy to call Maxine Mc Clean’s name in your snout either. She’s more lady than any a de rats dat you evva deal wid.

As for de appointment of Kerrie-de Wifebeater-Symmonds, ‘a drowning man will clutch at straws’. Right now de short man up ta he neck in high wata. Sumbody help he nah. Miaaaaaaaa, Miaaaaaaaaaa, de shortman sennin out a SOS. help he nah.

22. Fair and Balance
    ya in lie. hypocrisy at its highest because when you, a idiot like you, could attempt to blame de leader at de time fa a statement dat anudda idiot like Kerry mek bout a 1000lbs a blubba, you would got ta be a real ig’runt hypocrite. By de way, who was he leader when he put dem lashes in he wife ass? ya idjit.
    Look, change ya name ta ‘Unfair and Bias’ do, fa gawd sake. stupseeeeeeeeee

23. Fran, I am in total agreement with your comments.
    @
    “It is outrageous that today in our society, where there is much advocacy against domestic abuse that a domestic abuser can be appointed to the highest office in our land.”
    …………………………………….
    Again, I ask, what “legacy” will some of our politicians leave behind?
    …………………………..
    While we are at it, please note the plan for the Conference:- Owen Arthur (St. Peter) Opposition Leader, George Owen Arthur Walton Payne (St. Andrew) for Chairman, Peter Phillips (St. Lucy) for Secretary, Dale Marshall (St. Joseph) GOAWP’s deputy, Kerrie the recycled Senator (St. James Central)……. the NORTHERN ALLIANCE FOR POLITICAL DESTRUCTION (NAPD) is making its move in the BLP.

It had already been hinted that the mystery delegates for the Conference had a GOAWP, Peter Phillips, Dale Marshall (isn’t the leader of the women’s group a St. Joseph constituent?), Douglas Skeete for St. James North connection. EVERYONE OF THE PERSONS WHOSE NAMES WERE MENTIONED IN THE NEWSPAPER AS SOME OF THE MYSTERY DELEGATES FOR ST. JAMES NORTH,BUT OBJECTED TO THIS FRAUD BEING PERPETRATED, ARE PERSONALLY KNOWN BY BOTH GOAWP AND DOUGLAS SKEETE. ALL THREE HAVE?HAD ORANGE HILL OR GREENWICH VILLAGE CONNECTIONS. ORANGE HILL AND GREENWICH ARE WITHIN A 3 MINUTES DRIVE OF EACH OTHER !!!!!

Next step, the “parliament” will be moved to Prior Park .. home at GOAWP and close to Owen and Kerrie.

” What message do we send to our children when we seek to instill in them, that resolution to conflict is in dialogue rather than violence, and then we have an opposition leader appointing one such as this to the halls of our Senate?”(Fran) IN ADDITION, A PARTY CHAIRMAN ALLOWING FRAUD AND DECEPTION TO BE USED AGAINST HIS BOYHOOD BUDDIES FOR POLITICAL GAIN?
    “Does the sense of decency and respect no longer hold any place in our society?” (Fran)

I challenge anyone to prove me wrong that GOAWP’s hand is not controlling the strings of the POPPIT Show planned for the BLP Conference. It is time for the decent, honest supporters to bring a stability back to their party.

24. BU certainly had every right to make a response to midnight craving attention . To all others I say …… TO REPLY ,IS TO DIGNIFY . PLEASE DON’T.

25. Fair and Balance Avatar

Bonny Pepper asked By de way, who was he leader when he put dem lashes in he wife ass?
    Bonny P it was another woman beater like he the only difference is the sex.
    Also check for the minister in your party who is another woman beater you may find him in the Pine.

26. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

This is a forum where one never receives answers to certain questions and comments. Instead, there are certain DLP operatives on here who prefer to keep referring to really nasty things concocted in their devious minds.

David LABELS them as “WEREWOLVES”, and in my opinion, they fit the modus operandi of that sextuplet of bloggers who I believe all carry the source name : HARTLEY HENRY. I am referring to WIV (who it appears has been laid to rest with Hon. David)BAJAN PANDAY, SENTINEL, FRAN, CHARLIE, FAIR AND BALANCE, AMUSED and of course, their sidekicks, like Adrian Hinds, Bonny Peppa etc.

NOW, that really DIRTY comment about Maxine McClean and Mara Thompson? I got a deep down feeling that those are PLANTED COMMENTS coming right out the guts of that HARTLEY HENRY MENTALITY!

It is clear that instead of priortising the serious economic situation facing this country, the sky-rocketing cost of living which they promised was their JOBS NO.1, 2 & 3, unemployment which threatens to go back to the 27% LEVEL THAT THEY LEFT IT AT WHEN KICKED OUT IN 1994,

(OWEN WORKED WITH DOGGED PERSISTENCE AND BRILLIANCE TO BRING IT DOWN TO 6%)

here is what they are doing:
    They have trained their BIG GUNS and DIRTY BOMBS on Owen Arthur in a futile attempt TO NEUTRALIZE, to retain a Govermnent. Instead of attending to the affairs of this country, they are using every resource and fighting hard to retain a Government!

So we end up having a sorry, despicable episode like the Mara Thompson/Maxine McClean PLANTED IN HERE to discredit the opposition!!

TO DAVID: What kind of nonsense is this following quote from you?
    “Usually the DLP people are the ones who use the ‘right of reply’ approach which was the one used successfully by the Late Prime Minister David Thompson, the BLP people are the ones who show more sensitivity.”

27. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

And I say to my fellow bloggers: SAY NOTHING ON THIS CONTEMPTIBLE AND BASE contribution from THE HARTLEY HENRY CREW!!

DO NOT DIGNIFY WITH ANY RESPONSE. LET MINE OF EXPLANATION BE THE ONLY ONE! LET THEM LUXURIATE IN THEIR OWN FILTH!!

28. Fair and Balance
    LOLL. why you doan leff me dis blessed Satda mornin an leh me drink dis lil black green tea nah? ya ring-neck vagabon.
    Wait, he is a woman beater too? De Pine man? But wait, dah like dah got nuff woman beaters in dese parties. Mussy a trend wid dese bajan men. Den agen, de woman dat now get oust from you party got a rep fa beatin women too. Rememba? LOLLL, dem want a good scallin wid hot wata n put lil ‘spirits’ in um. Murdahhhhhhhhhhhhh.

Anonymous Numero Uno
    I ask you areddy whay you get you monitor from? I would like one pleeze. I wantz ta see my favrit men pun BU. Specially Amused n de Negro ta name a few.

29. Fair and Balance Avatar

@ Anonymous Numero Uno
    I call it as I see it whether the Dees or Bees like it.
    As I said before I support no party I am an independent thinker. I admire 2 Prime Ministers Erskine Sandiford and Owen Arthur because they were the prime ministers during most of my working life and I consider myself successful due to things that they have done for Barbados over the 20 plus years they were leading this great country.
    I strongly believe that Owen Arthur is the best person to lead Barbados at this time although I think Stuart would be a good leader so I am prepared to give him a chance.
    I do not think that David Thompson was a good leader. He was not even a good leader of the DLP as he almost brought that great party to its knees under his leadership during the period 1994 – 2004. I will get cuss for saying so because you can’t say anything negative about David Thompson the God almighty but who cares. Equally I do not think that Mia Mottley will ever lead Barbados unless she has a character makeover but then again I said the same thing about David Thompson and I was wrong.
    So don’t put any comments from me in the same light as WIV or Bajan Panday or Hartley Henry. Remember I was the one to point out that WIV and Bajan Panday is the same. WIV attack Mia when she was leader and now Owen is in charge of the Bee he shows love for Mia but he can’t show love as WIV so he changes to Bajan Panday to attacks Owen.
    This Blog is so much comic relief for me

30. @HAMILTON HILL | November 12, 2010 at 9:25 PM |. Part of me agrees with you that the comment ought to have been deleted on the basis that it permits comments on a comment that is itself defamatory. However, another part of me would dictate that those who live by the sword, should die by the sword, or at least stew in their own disgusting juice. I therefore approve David’s choice, while also agreeing with you.

-and-

@Anonymous Numero Uno | November 13, 2010 at 8:24 AM | of course I see what you are saying. And never have I read such complete shite. Let me interpret what you have said for you – only for you, because the rest of us understand it already. You are saying that Hartey Henry (David Thompson’s best friend) colluded with Mara Thompson and Maxime McLean to post a comment defamatory to Maxime McLean that also questions the validity of the value and commitment of the marriage of David and Mara Thompson and that was designed to inflame Bajans (against the BLP) by its tastelessness, just so that people would be tricked into believing that it came from the BLP, thus scoring brownie points for the DLP. And, of course, you have been selected to reveal the TRUTH. The next thing you would have us believe is that the three daughters of David and Mara Thompson put aside their natural repugnance at having the reputation and name of their father slandered in this way (not to mention the marital commitment of their parents) and colluded in this (according to you) red herring, all in the name of the greater good of the DLP. All I can suggest to you is that you stop trying to apply the standards and tactics of your political masters to their political opponents. Not every politician wants to win at the expense of the feelings of everyone. BUT, there are a few who do – and trust me, we Bajans know precisely who they are – and that is why they are not currently in office. So, be a good boy and just carry on the way you are and dig your masters’ political grave a little deeper, or a lot deeper – your choice. Or, as I am sure your political master will not tell you, just f*** off and take your sordid little mind to the same sewer as that of your friend and colleague – or is it alter ego – Midnight Cravings.

@Bonny. Love you too. You light up my days (and, with the convertable bike my nights too).

31. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

CLASSIC HARTLEY HENRY, AND JUST AS I TOLD YOUR TWO DLP FRIENDS Island gal246 and Bonny Peppa, everyone of got the worst garbage mouths and NO DECENCY!

I won’t be back on this one. I just pressed the eject button. As I said before, LUXURIATE IN YOUR FILTH!

32. It doesn’t take a scientist to “understand the logic”.
    Obviously, OA is positioning himself by appointing “his” people.

The allegations against Symmonds is his personal business. Why should he not be allowed in the Senate? Just because it is alleged he cut some tires/seats?
    Why did he cut them? Was it fair to him?
    Men, you know what I am talking about. Take off your political sunshades and support the man.

33. “The allegations against Symmonds is his personal business. ”

Can that be applied to Mia as well?

“Men, you know what I am talking about. Take off your political sunshades and support the man.”

It is very clear that Barbados men are not ready to have a woman as a leader. That would be too much of a blow to their egos.

34. @Anonymous Numero Uno | November 13, 2010 at 6:59 PM | “I won’t be back on this one. I just pressed the eject button. As I said before, LUXURIATE IN YOUR FILTH.” Interpretation: I have been told to stand down by my bosses, because they have, yet again, screwed up big time the electorate sees through them. By the way, what “eject button” did you press? The one on your DVD player showing whatever it is that turns your crank?

Personally, I don’t take any political side. Never have. BUT, I am offended greatly by political hacks who invent and promote unsupported personal attacks, rumours and inuendos on anyone. People who stoop to that ought not to be representing us. Because, if they have to stoop so low to get into office, then only stooping lower will keep them in office. Witness the accusations made in the name of one MP/Minister about two very important members of the DLP hierarchy on this very blog. As I recall, the Minister in question is (at the moment anyway) DLP. I recall attacking that minister over those unsupported defamations. So the “disagree with me and I will name you as Hartley Henry” tactic is one you can blow out of your nether orifice – just don’t try to blow your evil-smelling wind in my direction.

35. Island Girl45
    1. ” Can that be applied to Mia as well?” No the transgressions
    ( or alleged transgressions) are miles apart!

2. ” It is clear that Barbados men are not prepared to have a
    women as their leader……that would be a blow to their egos”

Women have their duties – and noble ones to perform. However, in the matter of leadership, if men sit down and not carry out their designated God-empowered roles, they will encounter more than a blow to their egos.

Why this unbridled desire to “lead?”
    Is it derogatory for female to build strong families?
    We live in an ear of mixed-up roles.

36. Should be “era”, not “ear”

37. @ Politics
    “if men sit down and not carry out their designated God-empowered roles, they will encounter more than a blow to their egos.”

Ha ha ha well I thought I had heard it all but you have taken the cake. Pray tell me what are their God empowered roles?

38. @ac
    To lead

39. @ac
    But your didn’t respond to my question: Is it derogatory for a female to build strong families?

40. We will get to the top of the mountain,
    we have already set the route,
    we outnumber you at the university,
    we outnumber you in schools
    we outnumber you in the polls
    We will get to the top of the mountain
    And you will not be able to stop us

41. @ Politics

Better put on your reading glasses.

42. Does the adversarial gender positions get us anywhere?

43. Females and males can build strong families, females alone have built strong families because they were forced to, since the males walked away from their responsibilities. Women multi task far easier than males so leadership has never been an issue therefore this is not new to her. The foundation has been laid for a partnership. If there is resistance she will have to go it alone and will succeed one day soon.

44. @David

Yes ! it gives light and and openess and frank discussion pro or con towards women by men. As obvious here on BU some men would prefer to have women sit in the back of thebus like in the good ole days while they do the driving. Having such a discussion only brings that kind of backward thinking in the open.

45. @ David

I agree with Ac this would expose the kind of backward thinking that exists here. Many males would like to put us in what they deem as our place. Roles are changing and many men have not embraced these changes or are resisting them. Look around you, many women are self sufficient. They hold jobs, businesses, own cars and mortgages. They are more educated and violence against them is on the increase or more exposed. They will demand political representation. How can any political party ignore this? Placing a token in the party is not enough. Women have to understand that they do not need a man to validate their worth. I know it will take time but it will come to light. Until then we will continue educating our daughters and letting them know that they can become leaders too.

46. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

A few minutes ago, I posted the below comment on the IRENE SANDI GARNER thread, and I put it here too, because dear old Mr/Mrs. Amused probably is trying to advance the argument that the BLP DISLIKE WOMEN IN LEADERSHIP POSITIONS. Nothing could be further from thr truth.

Anonymous Numero Uno | November 13, 2010 at 9:19 PM | Hi Carson,

oooooooh!!!!! And BU’s David said that BLP People are the sensitive ones!!!
    Ha Ha Ha HaHA !!!!

And……… regarding the treatment of women in politics, it was in the BLP that women saw real fulfilment of their potential whether it was as Parliamentary representatives with trail blazers like Ermie Bourne M.P. in St Andrew, Dame Billie Miller holding Ministerial responsibility in Cabinet, and don’t forget the Sir Henry deB Forde era during which he was renowned for being the champion of womens’ rights in Barbados.

We also recognised and honoured the supreme excellence of Dame Nita Barrow. But what did we see on the other side as it related to treatment of women in Government?

You remember the CONTEMPTUOUS TREATMENT that Right Excellent Errol Barrow handed out to GERTZ EASTMOND, TELLING HER TO KNOW HER PLACE? You remember how long the deserving Maizie Welch languished in the doldrums for years and years and was only thought capable of managing some junior Parliamentary Secretary position. Need I go on?

The DLP are johnny-come-latelys in these matters.

But tell me Carson. You truly expect that Irene would be given the slightest bit of consideration for St.John?

Look, we Barbadians may be pretty robust with our local politics, but when it comes to showing a united front on the international stage, we get serious about that. I am not giving Irene any left-handed compliment; I am truly happy for her in that regard.

47. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

@Amused | November 13, 2010 at 7:58 PM |
    Listen here Mr. Amused alias Hartley Henry, I am back in the Cockpit in case you think I will let you get away with foolishness.
    You fellows have seen that there is great political milage in using the name of a decent lady like Mara Thompson to achieve your nasty ends. You can’t put me on the defensive on this one. I NEVER SUGGESTED THAT THERE WAS A COLLUSION INVOLVING MRS.THOMPSON AND MS. McCLEAN. I am not dead-brained to suggest that. That Hartley Henry team are masters at twisting things for political advantage, and I know what you all are capable of.

That kind of behaviour is inbred at George Street from the “Sweet Cam Cam” days. For the George Street LIE FACTORY, a lie, no matter how big it is, is standard fare. And after telling them, they will deny them too. LOOK AT HOW THEY HAVE TRIED DESPARATELY TO DENY EVEN THE BOSS LIE OF ALL : THE SECRET IMF DEAL LIE THAT DAVID THOMPSON TOLD ON OWEN ARTHUR!!!!

Just look at how Hartley and team tried an arm-twisting blackmail attempt re the Editor at the Nation and Ms.Mottley saga, the same Ms. Mottley that they now profess to “love” so much after that previous attempt to drag her name through the filth! For your information Hartley alias “Amused”, ANYBODY CAN SEE THAT THE POST ABOVE IS 100% Hartley Henry language.

Furthermore, I am not under the command of any political master. I am my own man, an independent thinker, and I am going to be on to you like white on rice.

48. To you above:
    That is why our families are so weak; roles have been reversed.
    And I am not a backward thinker; men were made to lead; but of course, while cooperating and respecting the female.

However, when men surrender their roles, what do you expect?

49. “That is why our families are so weak; roles have been reversed.”

What roles have been reversed? Woman had to be mother father financial provider for her children. Woman is no longer prepared walk docilely behind and pretend that she is a second class citizen. Her children has seen that woman is strong when she is forced to go it alone. Man has to recognize that woman has evolved and he has to as well.

50. @Politics
    WOmkan have been the driving force in the home without the male. To say that families are weak because of women taking a more dominant role in society is in my opinion”Backward thinking “How about the many women today who have maintain good household and raised good children and who continue to make substantial strides in high profile jobs. e,g Hilary Clinton. Michelle Obama. , Even here in Barbados the woman who are in public offices seem to have set a moral foundation for their home. BTW having said that I would venture to say that in most cases families are torn a part because finances or adultery. Not necessarily because of a woman working outside the home.