Submitted by Dr. Roland Clarke, Caribbean Energy Policy Consultant

UK Member of Parliament (MP), Mr. Drax  has effectively said in the past that he does not owe anybody anything in regards to the going concern of Drax Plantation located in Barbados.

While it is intuitive to me that Mr. Drax shouldn’t be legally liable for crimes committed by his ancestors, I cannot say the same for the going concern called Drax Plantation.

My view is that Drax Plantation is a “corporate person” under the law. Therefore like any other “person” who has committed a crime, Drax Planation must face the consequences of the law. 

In fact, law enforcement should begin with those crimes that have no statue of limitation. e.g. murder.

This article published by The Guardian alleges that the Government of Barbados is set to purchase Drax  Plantation (Drax Hall Plantation) located on the island from British MP, Mr. Drax after centuries of ownership within his family.

History will judge the alleged proposed action by the Government of Barbados.

See relevant article:

Tory MP from slave-owning family set to gain £3m from sale of former plantation

Caribbean historians want Richard Drax to pay reparations – but now Barbados plans to buy his land for homes

Jonathan Smith and Paul LashmarSat 20 Apr 2024 06.25 EDTLast modified on Sat 20 Apr 2024 17.12 EDTShare

The Conservative MP under fire for his ancestors’ role in Caribbean slavery is in line for a multimillion-pound payout from the Barbados government.

Despite threats to make Richard Drax pay reparations and seize his family’s plantation – described by one historian as a “killing field” of enslaved Africans – the government is now planning to pay market value for 21 hectares (about 15 football pitches) of his land for housing.

The move has angered many Barbadians, especially those who say the Drax family played a pivotal role in the development of slavery-based sugar production and the Barbados slave code in the 17th century. This denied Black Africans basic human rights, including the right to life.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2024/apr/20/tory-mp-from-slave-owning-family-set-to-gain-3m-from-sale-of-former-plantation

176 responses to “Should the Government of Barbados purchase Drax Hall Plantation?”

1. William Skinner Avatar

@ Yolande Grant
    We know that victory is ours . However, as
    Marcus Garvey said: we must expose the enemy within. However, it looks like the people are getting the message.
    We must avoid the die hards who don’t care about corruption , scams and con artistry.

2. They got left behind years ago when they got lost and therefore can’t contribute either way, they disabled themselves.

The people only needed to get familiar with the POWER they never knew they had. Now they are, i look forward to watching them wield it for their survival.

3. Can anyone explain why Drax still keeps the plantation working?

Is he making a profit or a loss?

How big or how small?

Does he feel he has a responsibility to keep it in good husbandry?

Why?

What is it about Drax Hall that makes him want to keep it?

Is it noblesse oblige?

Is it his love of the land?

Is it because that’s where his ancestors are buried?

4. Concretizing agricultural land is just plain idiotic.

5. “Strategic thinking. Think bout what I said strategically.”

I would like to know what generated that statement. I cannot believe that they will now try to label a massive screwup/blunder/mess/mistake as some strategic move. It must be wonderful to live in a land where shiite is fed to the masses as Haggen Dazs Ice cream.

“If this is a plot”

Let me hasten to assure you… it is not. It is a massive screwup/blunder/mess/mistake.
    Who would have thought that after this talk of reparations, that payments would be made to the descendants of former slave owner.

Who would have thought that our strategic thinkers, our great plotters would get this ‘transaction’ ass backwards’? If this was the first such ass-backward move then I would have been tempted to forgive them, but this is one in a long list of a massive screwups/blunders/messes/mistakes.

“Oh! No! Don’t tell me it is raining on my leg”

6. This cybercrime bill is causing me to lose lost of sleep. There are a few people here that I actual like like and for some reason I like to pull hard on their chain and with this bill I must worry now about their feelings.

Can you imagine 000 (my hero) telling the blogmaster to ban me because I often try to humiliate, harass or cause substantial emotional distress to him

Can you imagine 000 (my hero) saying that I am repeatedly sending him information (data) that is obscene, vulgar, profane, lewd or indecent with intent to humiliate or harass him to the detriment of his health, emotional well-being, self-esteem or reputation.

And the blogmaster to cover himself says …. “Hey, you have to cut your nonsense out. Leave 000 alone of you will be banned”.

Geez, my only hope is that this ass backwards administration has this bill ass backwards. I still cannot believe that I see ass backwardness as a positive.

Go ass backward people.

7. The OG
    April 25, 2024 at 7:41 am

Let me hasten to assure you… it is not. It is a massive screwup/blunder/mess/mistake.
    Who would have thought that after this talk of reparations, that payments would be made to the descendants of former slave owner.

… and to acquire a few acres of agricultural land to build houses, dig up people’s ancestors and flood out St. George.

GOB must be desperate for land tax revenue, by any means necessary.

8. William Skinner Avatar

@ The OG
    “ I would like to know what generated that statement. I cannot believe that they will now try to label a massive screwup/blunder/mess/mistake as some strategic move. It must be wonderful to live in a land where shiite is fed to the masses as Haggen Dazs Ice cream.” (OG)

With due respect, you obviously have no idea how these die hard partisans think. Be assured that if their political party , on either side, were to sign an agreement, to put Black people back into slavery, they would find a way to defend it .

9. Word, Sound & Power Avatar
    Word, Sound & Power

My mouth will speak wisdom, and the meditation of my heart will give understanding. I will incline my ears to a proverb; and will express my riddle on the harp. I will draw out or loosen my speech, hard questions or dark sayings on the harp.

10. Some grand war strategy to employ against a man of this military pedigree a graduate of Sandhurst with 9 years service in the Coldstream Guards.

If nothing else our leaders do supply us with an ongoing comedy show.

It is pure comedy.

11. Love is my conception Avatar
    Love is my conception

UK is now on a war footing as they are getting paranoid. Reparatory Justice is a burning issue for united nations of the world who are no longer hypnotised by USA UK Europe and all the White Colonies on Captured Lands.

If the world within you outside and the outside within. Take a stab and have a view this is your modern world. When you are being hypnotised by them my brothers, you got to look through your own eyes and don’t you follow another man’s conception it’s only their suggestion. I seen we’ve ruined your your life because of another man’s sight but I’m glad you are not hypnotised by them I am a man of my conception. So don’t you be hypnotised by them I tell you, you’ve got to look through your own eyes and don’t you let them make you kill your one another that’s their ideas.

I seen we’ve ruined your your life because of another man’s sight but I’m glad you are not hypnotised by them love is my conception.

12. Free the dread Avatar

“Can you imagine 000 (my hero) telling the blogmaster to ban me because I often try to humiliate”

if someone is going to accuse you of something that you never did or even occurred to you then you might as well do it.

David can you ban the above geezer as he wishes and while you are at it can you unban 555dubstreet as that dread is a righteous man and never harmed anybody.

13. Your stuff is going to spam, you may want to assess why.

14. Gunman Connection Avatar
    Gunman Connection

It’s most probably a badge of honour to speak out against the racist faces in their racist places and spraying mace in their faces

15. Ganja Smuggling Avatar
    Ganja Smuggling

Do mi dis call “The Gunman Connection”
    Some a talk ’bout operation eradication
    Jah man, I a musician, I know no politician
    (Do it)
    Di M1 connected to di M2
    Di M2 connected to di M3
    Di M3 connected to di specie
    Di specie connected to di bookie
    Di bookie connected to di bushmaster
    Di bushmaster connected to di enforcer
    Di enforcer connected to di blasting chopper
    In a di gunman connection
    Cah let mi tell you, operation eradication

Why-why-why-why-why-why-why, why-why-why-why?
    For, dem a get out of hand, hey-a
    Out of hand

And dem a get out of hand, hey-a, out of hand
    And dem a fire sixteen, an’ dem a fire M1
    They fire sixteen, an’ dem a fire M1
    Man say dem fire sixteen and fire M1
    What a bam bam pon Jah land
    Dem fire sixteen, an’ dem a fire M1
    Dem a shoot off di woman
    Dem a shoot off di man
    I know, say, dem start pon di younger one

Cah let mi tell you
    Mi are go tell it to di nation
    Mi say what a sufferation

16. @John April 24, 2024 at 10:01 pm “Can anyone explain why Drax still keeps the plantation working? Is he making a profit or a loss? How big or how small? Does he feel he has a responsibility to keep it in good husbandry? Why?

Just now you are going to tell us that Drax is a Quaker.

I heard you on Brass Tack yesterday. You seem to know your science. But when you venture into history and religion….

17. @John “…dig up people’s ancestors…”

So wasn’t it white people like the Drax family that dug up the ancestors of Barbados’ indigenous people in order to plant sugar cane?

I’ve never heard you complain about that.

Aren’t the bones of Barbados’ indigenous people also deserving of honor and respect and reverence?

Aren’t those bones not also the bones of the children of our one true and living God.

Indigenous Bones Matter.

Indigenous Burial Sites matter.

18. Agree Simple Simon, it went down hill from that point.

19. Your stuff is going to spam, you may want to assess why.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Banned at last !! Banned at last!!
    Thank God almighty, KiKi’s been banned at last ….
    Ha ha ha
    …even if only by the Spam Master….

BTW…
    CuhDear Bajan kicking up some REAL dust Boss… !!!

20. Outside hot and hard to grow things which frees up time LOL.

21. Down wit Ralphie posse Avatar
    Down wit Ralphie posse

David claims it wasn’t he, I thought it was because I was cunting out Ralphie and he was saying he was a jolly good guy..

it seems like a dirty rat added me to the spamhaus blacklist

22. @David April 25, 2024 at 4:55 pm “Outside hot and hard to grow things.”

Like my most honored and beloved father I will plant on May 1st. He always said “the Lord will send the rain”

I believe.

23. And tobesides Bushie, I missed my “boys” of BU, especially you.

24. Cuhdear Bajan
    April 25, 2024 at 2:41 pm

@John “…dig up people’s ancestors…”

So wasn’t it white people like the Drax family that dug up the ancestors of Barbados’ indigenous people in order to plant sugar cane?

Nope!!

Read Drewett and you will find most Amerindian sites were by the coast. The probably got their sustenance from the sea.

In some of those early cultures living by the sea, the dead are placed in canoes and floated out to sea.

Can’t plant sugar cane out in the deep sea.

25. The OG,

When this thing is taken at face value, it is almost unbearably ridiculous. The outpouring of outrage would have been entirely predictable in a populace becoming, albeit slowly, more aware and alert.

Consideration therefore had to be given to something a little less ridiculous.

My “if” remains, in Bajan speak, “a big if”. Usually, the most simple explanation is the correct one. If there are no dark clouds above and there’s a dog next to you with raised leg….