Senator Kerrie Symmonds

The recent announcement of the reappointment of Kerrie Symmonds as a government Senator surprised BU. While there has been a lot of debate about the non-reappointment of former Senators Elizabeth Thompson and Arthur Holder, our surprise has more to do with the reason why Symmonds resigned last year. Symmonds was involved in a widely publicized marital dispute. BU posted on the matter at the time to join local media which reported on a protection order being filed to keep Kerri at bay [it is our understanding his divorce is at the advance stage].

Symmonds widely reported to have resigned contradicts rumblings which suggest that former leader of the opposition Mia Mottley pressured him to resign. Perhaps the e-letter authored by his father Dru Symmonds currently making the rounds in cyberspace gives weight to the view Kerrie was pushed.

The concern which BU has about the Symmonds appointment to the Upper House has more to do with the obligation of public officials to be transparent when dealing with the public. It is BUโ€™s understanding the request for a Protection Order from the court stemmed from the tyres and car seats of the vehicle owned by his wife Andrea being slashed. As human beings we maybe able to empathized with Symmonds at his actions in a failing relationship. People handle problems in different ways.

Given Symmond’s domestic challenge and his reaction to a marriage gone bad, the public of Barbados deserves an explanation on two fronts. Senator Kerrie Symmonds needs explain what remedial steps he would have taken to assure the people of Barbados that he has a grip on his personal situation to the point it will not embarrass the country, again. Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur also bears some responsibility in light of Kerrie Symmonds’ resignation under Mottley to properly outline his reason for reappointing Symmonds, an obvious undermining of Mottley. Some will say he is under no obligation to take the public into his confidence on this matter but in light of the current fracture in the relationship with Mottley if for no other reason he needs to offer an adequate explanation.

Is it unreasonable to think that Arthur and Mottley on the eve of the Barbados Labour Party Annual Conference should be utilizing his best negotiating and relationship skills to bring his party together? It is not loss on some that Kerrie Symmonds has been preferred to Liz Thompson who had to endure the razor sharp tongue of Kerrie Symmonds on the political trail before he switched to the other side. To add insult to injury beneficiaries of Arthur’s politics of inclusion [Mascoll/Symmonds] appear to be favoured instead of the red-blooded BLPites like Thompson and Holder to a lesser extent.

Is it sensible for Arthur to ignore the popularity of the Late Prime Minister David Thompson which has as its foundation the prerequisite of being people centric? We live in a new age where transparency and accountability is being demanded of public officials. The BLP by appointing Kerrie Symonds to the Senate without an adequate explanation is insulting to the public it serves.

113 responses to “Understanding The Appointment Of Kerrie Symmonds To The Barbados Senate”

1. @ac
    Not sure about Michelle Obama, but I can assure you that those female leaders like Hiliary Clinton are champions of broken homes. In short, their home lives are not ones that one would envy.

2. islandgal246 | November 13, 2010 at 7:55 PM |

“It is very clear that Barbados men are not ready to have a woman as a leader. That would be too much of a blow to their egos.”

Please do not misrepresent the situation. There would be nothing more satisfying than finally having a woman as supreme leader. A person that is genuine, caring and paternal, honest and economical, not easily swayed by good looks and charm. Not masculine … Now which among the current and past crop of battle cats do you think fits this bill? Should people vote for a woman simply because she wears panties?

3. I read the article and I am puzzled by the comments. Is it the consensus of the group that the public is entitled to an explanation for Kerrie’s appointment or not? It seems as though no one even attempted to answer the question.

Also, is Kerrie’s appointment all that offensive to women? I wonder…hmmm. Do women think this?

I do not agree that the public has a right to know why someone made a decision that it was their right to make. Mr Arthur made his choice. I mean, what do we actually know?

Kerrie walked away from politics claiming that he was done with public life for personal reasons. ‘Allegations’ notwithstanding, he was never convicted of anything.

He came back with the story that his constituents demanded his return. This may very well be true. He announced that he was persuaded to return by that pressure, it is certainly plausible, and he was a nominated candidate.

Having not been convicted of a crime he was eligible to be in Senate. Liz is leaving shortly to take up a new post and shall no longer be available anyway.

Where are our rights? On what grounds do we say we have more rights to know things?

4. Why not done with this charade and say: Kerrie Symmonds is in the Senate. Do we think he is a good choice for Senate?

That question would be more reasonable, we could look at what we expect of those in high public office and see what Kerrie offers and determine if this is desirable. That is a reasonable position, but to talk about ‘transparency and accountibility’ in a Senate appointment? Sounds contrived to me.

just saying…

5. If Liz is leaving soon why was she reported in the media as being concerned about her ‘non-reappointment’ to the Senate?

6. “Should people vote for a woman simply because she wears panties?”

Should people vote for someone just because they have a dick?

7. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Liz was concerned about the manner in which she was notified.

8. @Politics.
    Ask for your comment on Hilary. She could have asked her husband for a divorced but she being the strongest of the two weathered the storm and kept her marriage and family life in tact up to present time.

9. As far as Owen Arthur is concerned The appointment of the wife abuser Kerrie Symmonds is “Politics as usual” and as the saying goes boys will be boys . Owen couldn’t give a damn about what the public thinks about who or what he appoints to public office.
    Again Owen has shown little or no respect for Woman in this appointment especially to those women who have suffered domestic abuse at the hands of men such like Kerrie symmonds. But then again Arthur never led by example in such areas as his personnel life was a disaster.

10. @BAFBFP
    Your comments is boring and tpical of a man who like to be controlling! Your crtique about the way a woman should been seen in the eyes of a man is truly another eye opener into the way a man view a woman. Somehow you forgot to mention the word Intelligent in your critque! BTW it would be interesting to know how do you define masculinity in a woman and what that has to do with a womans role in being a good leader

11. Thanks George, however in both instances there is a worry for those affected.

12. Poor Anonymous Numero Uno seems to have got his undershorts in the same twist as his thinking. Poor fellow.

It seems inconceivable to me that anyone in this day and age anpossibly view women as being less capable than men. It has been abundantly proved worldwide that they are just as capable and, dare I (a mere man) suggest it, even more capable. So, I look forward with great pleasure to our first woman PM. GREAT pleasure. It will mean that Barbados has finally come of age.

13. @ George: Liz is concerned at the way she was notified??? WHY?

Liz RESIGNED. If you have a new leader, and you do not immediately place your instruments at his disposal, it says something to me. The two senators did not. They had to be asked… hmmm

I cannot see how come they has to be instructed on what is the correct thing to do. They were quite rude.

I cannot see how, after being asked to resign, they earned the RIGHT to be notified of anything. The position is no longer yours and so you no longer have an INTEREST. Have anyone here ever resigned or been fired and had their boss call them up to announce that the position is being filled?

Has anyone here been asked to resign and then been re-appointed? What arrant nonsense you speak!

14. Oh Dear Oh Dear;

I am tired of men setting policy and teiffin’ so I lookin’ fah a difference. If a woman steps forward and proceeds to talk, act and respond like the traditional male… worse still, proceed to try and prove dat she is more man than anybody else by mekkin’ insensitive call to war claims about ATM’s and reciprocal arrangements in relief situations, then this is clearly not the brand of panty that I lookin’ for. Surely a true woman is out there somewhere to present a difference in the way things are done ….

BTW I likes sexy talk… having an appendage is a great thing, but it must work and work well, and that incidentally is why I feel old men should stay to hell away from politics … ja ja

ac we good?

15. RG

Agree with you, the situation reminds us of Al Gilkes and Gabbuy refusing to resign when the DLP took office.

Wasn’t Billie Biller reappointed to the ECB?

16. @ Amused

Rubbish

17. @ David King

People are letting it all hang out nowadays… when the leaders change, teams change. If a persona has it political appointment it goes like that. I always wondered what the fuss over Gabby’s appt was about; All ambassadors etc. were automatically vacated. Yeah, you might stay on during the transition but yuh gots ta go eventually.

I asked ‘has anyone here…’ ummm Billie Miller here? She knew how to behave she did not have to be reminded, perhaps that say a lot too.

18. @ac,
    ac, you have it wrong. The Clintons’ marriage is one of convenience. It has nothing to do with Ms. Clinton being “the stronger ” of the two because she is a woman (to infer to your conclusion)
    It is a marriage of political accommodation.

19. @Politics
    So What! The same can be said for many marriages! However that does not in anyway excludes her from becoming a leader! Btw it was her husband illict affair that was almost the undoing of the marriage. It would take avery strong woman to have stood by him no matter what and she did so.

20. ac,
    You continue to see out of tunneled -visioned glasses.

Have you not read of sexual allegations against Mrs. Clinton?

21. BAFBFP
    Heh heyyyyyyyyyyy, Amused tawking rubbish? Noway. He’s on de rite track baby.
    You are the one who seems to have the same myopic view of those who have gone before you regarding Caribbean life and our cultural practices. Woman was supposed to be good for only one thing and that was to reproduce. But we have broken the shackles and liberated our bodies n minds. We are educated and self sufficient in every way. We are just as suited as any male in the world or work. (not me doe, my hans too sof fa any manual labour bosey). And we are demanding respect and same pay for same work. The days of the ‘extended-family’are becoming extinct because mamma,sista,aunty n granny are out there making a financial contribution to the household. And in the ‘nuclear-family’, again, mamma is out there bringing in de dough just like pappa.
    So BAF, please give credit where it is due n when you see Bonny become nex PM, please don’t eat your hat. LOLL.

22. Does anyone remember ex DLP senator Patricia Inniss who was the candidate against Mia Mottley M.P. in St. Michael North East. What was her length of service as a senator prior to being recalled by the late PM Thompson. Which senator was chosen to replace her, and why? What happened to former candidate Marilyn Rice-Bowen when as Chairman of NHC, she was at odds with the Minister of Housing? Who replaced her?

23. Politics
    No, i nevva hear bout na sexual allegations bout Ms. Clinton. Chawwwwwwwwww, she in even look like she sexual wid Bill fuddamoe anudda body. Ya lie, ya liah.

24. Bonny Pepper,

I am not lying; you obviously are out of your depth, for those allegations were common-place in the 1990’s.

I will let one of the bloggers resurrect the dead.

25. Barbados First
    yeah, i rememba Sen. Inniss very well. Her is famblee ta me . wah happen? you got money fa she? gih it ta me n i would gih it ta she. LOL. me n de sista jean closa dhan me n she doe but ya cud still gih me de money dat ya oh she. LOLL

26. Politics
    how you xpeck me ta rememba sumting dat happen in de 1990’s. I only born in Feb.2000. stupseeeeeeeee, igrunce.
    but ya could still resarek de dead. i is all airs.

27. Bonny I tired dealing wid big up women …. I tired tired tired tired … I gun bad talk dem and bad talk dem and bad talk dem … cause deh ain’ doin’ this t’ing right …! Look you see dah madness out dey on the roads at Warrens ? Triangular ’bouts, traffic cuttin’ cross two lanes to enter some place, side roads leading no whey … who you t’ink responsible … Minister Boyce got to deal wid dem two women up in dey …! Look in de Barrak buildin’ an see a bunch of useless public servants that can’ claim a single accomplishment in over fifteen years… this Ministry ah culture … see wah demographic dah Ministry comprise …

28. @Politics .
    Yeah i remember all the trumped up socalled allegations against Hiary in reference to Vince Foster. Sound familiar like politics in Barbados make a list with names and hope everthing mentioned on it is true. The only one here having myopic vision is you. Nothing ever came of those allegations and just like the BLP they were dead on arrivial. Case closed! Women Rule!

29. BAF
    I does travel on Warrens on a daily basis and i doan encounta na problems. you mean coming from Simpson Mtrs. ya got ta hold de middle lane if ya wanna ga ta Chefette or Shell? well lemma tell ya sumting, my son is who alert me bout dis middle lane ting causen he did drivin behin me one morning and i did gine in at Shell. well i hold de left lane n went rite inta de Shell. he did blowin he horn at me like mad n i did wonderin wah rong wid he. when he meet up wid me in Shell he come n tell me,’mummy, ya did in de wrong lane. dah lane is fa gine up ta UWee only’. well be crois, i din kno. i cudda get in a accident. stupseeeee. i frighten fa de road out by SJPP gine down ta Shell. traffic comin from Upton mergin wid me, i doan like dah a’tall. it look scarey as shoite ta me. Anudda ting some roundabouts is Jambustas, some is not. i feel dat all should be. i nearly hit a car out by de one day by de globe. i gine down from Tweedside rd and gine down Roebuck st. and i in de outside lane n arguin wid de man dat i got de rite ta jambus. de man like he realize dat i is a idiot n tell me very nicely, ‘lady ya doan jambus at dis roundabout’. i did feel sa shame all i cud tell he is dat, ‘i is a visita’ in my Yankee accent. LOL

30. BAF
    p.s: it should be dat i hold de RIGHT lane ta go in at Shell.

31. Bonny P;

Before dem public servants move from Bay Street into the Barrak building these two planning women held a town hall meeting at QC and the same problem at Shell came up…. Access to Simpsons compound came up. The junctions on Green Hill came up. The triangle at the KFC get mention. The lack of exit roots, particularly from the Warrens industrial complex, the size of the road between the Barrak building and the Super Centre place came up … The first thing one ah dese women get up and say is that they have absolutely no intention of widening any roads because “Bajans always want extra space to park”. Man she get boo, laugh at, stupse out, and she cock up she botsy and sit down.

32. @Island Girl
    Clinton’s sexuality was questioned

33. @POLITICS

I haven’t read any of your comments in reference to Kerrie Symmonds appointment. I understand that he abuse his wife and slashed her car tires etc. Don ‘t you think he shoud be serving time in Dodds instead of serving time in the House of Pariliament,

34. @BAFBFP

Why are you trying to blame woman for the poor design of the roundabouts when it wasa bunch of male engineers who design them. Now what are those women suppsed to do ? The damage has already been done.However in order to change it I would cost the taxpayers money .

35. @ac,
    I commented on the Symmonds affair above.

You said you understood he abused his wife.

This is the first time I’m hearing that.

36. @Politics.
    How could you want to put symmonds in such an outstanding position . What kind of message are we sending to the Youth! Mr. symmonds have seious psychological problems. He needs to let the public. know if he has or had seek help in dealing with those issues
    His behaviour should not be rewarded. The person in or seeking any official position in government should have high standards not one who see his or herself above the law. while we the average citizen must abide by the very rules and laws implented by government. The public should be outrage at this appointment.

37. The theme was: โ€˜Charting a New Direction,โ€™ but the 72nd Conference of the Barbados Labour Party ended in anarchy. The general feeling of the delegates who attended was that it was the worst and most disorganized Conference in the partyโ€™s 72 year history. Resolutions submitted to the party were not communicated to delegates and naturally the Conference found that horrifying.
    The lame excuse of the printer not working was advanced so too the excuse that Branches had submitted Resolutions late. The Conference might have believed that froth until it was explained that the same Resolutions alleged to have been submitted by Branches to party headquarters, late โ€“ were actually sent to an Attorney on last Friday for vetting. By then the room was in an uproar.

All I can say is that under its present leadership, there is disquiet in the hive while a clear message of โ€œbullying, arrogance and defianceโ€ is being send by the Barbados Labour Party, even after being told by the electorate two and half years ago, that it needed to change and repackage itself.

โ€œTo the share horror of most, the divided BLP is now behaving as though it feels that the people of Barbados are either stupid or have short memories because it is again being led and dominated by the same people who the electorate expressed concern about in 2008. โ€œ

The Resolution that was derailed yesterday is evidence that the BLP is not motivated to change on it own and is resisting any attempt at such from within. Therefore, in the interest of democracy, and given this scenario which the people of Barbados finds unacceptable, it now falls on the electorate to โ€œforce change within that organization.โ€œ

This is easy, since it is clear that the BLP is split into two faction, albeit that one half of the BLP seems united 100% behind Mia Mottley, who clearly has an agenda for change, which is consistent with the instructions given by the electorate in 2008. Mia Mottley had advanced a slate of clean and competent candidates but it is left to be seen if they will now โ€œB-selected.โ€

If the BLP Conference shows one thing, it is that Mia Mottley appears to be the sole catalyst for change and healing within that organisation. That fact obviously has not escaped a frail and tired looking Owen Arthur, who said publicly that the BLP and Barbados needs Mia Mottley. Surely Arthur is aware that such a statement, serves as a vote of no-confidence in the four who recently made him leader. Still, the point remains that to-date, Mia Mottley has outlined the only credible plan or vision of a new politics and development path for Barbados.

It was not difficult to see that Mia Mottley was the highpoint of the Conference over the three days it was held. This is highly unusual because Owen Arthur was expected to have been the main event. Unfortunately, his speech was flat and offered no hope to Barbadians. A number of delegates who attended were overheard saying that it was โ€˜warm over cold soupโ€™ and they heard it before. Ironically, the part of Arthurโ€™s speech that was boisterously applauded was when he said that Barbados and the BLP needs Mia Mottley.

There can be no denying that under Mia Mottleyโ€™s dynamic and progressive leadership, the BLP was a political institution that was united and served as a beacon of hope for Barbadians on both side of the political divide. It is also obvious that Mia Mottley has a clear plan for the continued transforming of this country, and was already utilizing he best Barbadian talent and innovation in the national interest.

It is therefore sad that such a laudable cause has been derailed and despite a Conference theme of: โ€˜Charting a New Direction,โ€™ the BLPโ€™s slide continues with Grantley Adamโ€™s Party now on a Fast Free Fall From relevance and stability to Crisis.

This is something that would have been unfathomable four months ago, much less two years ago, when Mia Mottley was taking on a Prime Minister Thompson, then in his element.

Today, while โ€˜the-gang-of-fiveโ€™ is quick to talk about their right to choose and the will of the majority, they seem oblivious to the fact that they are resisting all and any attempt for greater transparency, accountability, democracy and good governance within the BLP, having derailed the introduction of a system of: โ€œone-man-one-vote,โ€ as proposed by four Branches of the party who want change. The lords of the BLP seem determined to suppress all and any opposition as well as to place a gag order on any and all dissenting views.

Owen Arthur spoke about discipline within the party and using the internal systems to settle concerns and disputes, yet on the very day that Parliament was meeting, he called a media conference at the UWI to cuss Mia Mottley.
    And so what was witnessed at the 72nd BLP Conference is the fortification of maguffy policies and the emergence of dictatorial politics within the party that Grantley Adamโ€™s formed.

No one expected that the BLP would ever seek to suppress the views of the โ€œMAJORITYโ€ of its total membership or slam the door shut on a system of one-man-one-vote, as Grantley Adams โ€“ the founding father of that party โ€“ had intended for the country. This is usually the case in societies where the rulers feel that the populace are stupid and are incapable of making wise decision.

And so, this 72nd Conference was an insult to the legacy of the Rt. Excellent Sir Grantley Adams and shows a BLP under its present leadership โ€“ โ€˜charting a new directionโ€™ away from Grantley Adamโ€™s vision.
    Rarely has a political institution fallen so far from grace and as fast as the divided Barbados Labour Party. And while its slide is intensifying daily with the ousting of Mia Mottley as Political Leader and Leader of the Opposition, the arrival of this ugly moment is still a staggering blow, particularly for women and anyone who loves and respects our National Hero โ€“ The Rt. Excellent Grantley Adams.

Delegates literally left the BLP conference in tears, depressed and deflated that their party had denied them the right to have a say in the formulation of the rules and the governance procedures of the party. Under its new leadership, it is not about service but power and dominance and being the lord and masters of the people.

The ousting of Mia Mottley has therefore triggered a slow and painful process and the implosion of the BLP. The seriousness Mia Mottley brought to national debate and to addressing social and economic issues, has vanished as the old boys club, once more lords over the people as their masters.

38. I just clicked on this link above 72AGC-OSALP
    Sweeeeet.

39. Yes Hants

Very Very Interesting!! I wonder what happened there.

Is it what it appears to be or is it a “false flag” attack?

The pen name “72AGC-OSALP” suggests that it might be an official file name. The content of the post could not be sentiments of an OSA sympathizer. But if it is a Mia Mottley sympathizer why the OSA bit and why provide a link right back to an abridged BLP web page? Is it a major blunder by a Mia sympathizer?

Could this be a false flag attack to provide grist for ousting the lady?

Perhaps you should rethink your views on the calling of a snap election. Or is some very tricky chess game being played out here?

40. Hants; Thinking about it some more. It has some hallmarks of a cyberspace attack by a fairly savvy Computer person. Look at the web page. It is just part of the BLP web page, not the original bona fide one. Could it be that one of Mia helpers has decided to modify the web page and convert it into a Mia-centric one? or again, a fairly sophisticated false flag attack against Mia Mottley?

41. Or could it be a DLP attack to create further confusion in the BLP ranks?

42. Nobody needs to create further confusion in the BLP ranks.
    The BLP is doing it all themselves.

43. @checkit-out

no file name ’72nd annual general conference – owen seymour arthur labour party.

This is obviously a Mia sympathizer which speaks to the infighting currently unfolding.

If Mia is reluctant to join the gang of 5 it will be interesting to see how Arthur responds.

Will he cut her off at the knees? Can he afford to?

44. And the confusion continues within this omnipotent Party

45. @David. I cannot help but observe and if ever Owen Arthur wanted to ensure that Mia will one day be PM, he did it by ousting her. That single act, coupled with his own massive unpopularity, has ensured Mia’s advancement. But what has sealed that advancement is the dignity and style with which Mia has dealt with it – truly prime ministeral style and conduct, in the face of attacks by a yapping little ankle-biting dog and his pathetic has-been (or never-were) gang of five.

46. Hi David; re David | November 16, 2010 at 12:41 AM |

The sentiments expressed are obviously those of a Mia Sympathizer. Indeed they remind me in some degree of the contributions of the prolific Bajan Panday. However, the publication of these sentiments at this time appears to be inimical to Mia’s interest and just seems to provide fodder for expelling her from the party.

It takes a little effort to publish a post and link it in a way that clearly identifies an ostensible poster or at least his/her connections. It is not so easy to do this by mistake, and so I think that there is still the possibility that this posting is a false flag event. Otherwise it was a monumental error by a Mia sympathizer who has only a passing knowledge of what can be revealed by a thorough study of Internet exchanges.

It could possibly be partially cleared up by checking IP addresses and seeing if the posting came from an address identifiable as one used by Mia’s former team, whom one would presume might have moved their equipment by now; one used by one or more frequent posters here; or other combinations of users / posters.

I think the post does more harm to Mia than it does to Owen Arthur re. its provenance.

It would surely be appreciated if the BU expert in this area, Chris Halsall could lend his expertise to help unravel this mystery or at least comment on how it could have been done.

47. @checkit-out

There is no magic in what the person did. It will be removed. Forgot to deal with it.

48. Many politicians think their finite and fragmented knowledge is superior to others. This is compounded by the public adulation showered without thought upon these self-centered specimen.

Most of them are insincere, giggling in their private homes and with their peers at what they perceive as pitifully ignorant masses, the same ones who offer them hero worship.

Barbados Labour Party members of the above type, witnessed the disempowerment of a faction of its leadership before and during the 72nd BLP Conference. The iniquitous behavior of the perpetrators are known to all, yet the wrongdoers were elevated to positions within the party.

The padding of the delegates list, the unilateral and unlawful selection of 210 delegates of the women’s league, the high-handed approach of not allowing resolutions to be heard and passed, and the total dominance of the proceedings without much input from the floor, smacks of tyrannous, and opportunistic behavior.

Yet with all these qualities exposed, these individuals still have a confidence among themselves, that the Barbadian educated class will purposely elect this nefarious specimen to serve as Ministers of Government.

As our people examine the current history of Owen Arthur’s
    ascendancy to leadership, mainly focusing on his crafty plots. His journey to George Payne’s house is a testimony to how far he is willing to go in suppressing his ego to achieve his second coming .

His contemptuous efforts and recent bluff in the call ‘Mia we need you’ , is enough evidence to make the society marvel at the level of deceit which we witnessed as a nation.

Feeble ‘pockets’ of the brainless who gathered at the BLP 72nd conference watched the flag and missed the bull as it dangerously charged forward. The bluff was further glorified by the call to respect the loyalty and paramountcy of the party and the perceived ‘democracy’.

Consequently the loyalists excluded dealing with the infelicities in the party and sought to enforce peace and reconciliation unconditionally in spite of all the dirty matters which remain unattended . LOL

Good luck , BLP. Foot Soldiers, O How Brilliant.

49. @Pappy P
    That is politics and that is how it is practice all over the world and in Barbados by both parties. How did Thompson regained the leadership of the DLP. Just as ruthless. If you look at the letter written by Dru Symmons there were apparent ruthless behaviour by Mottley in the selection of candidates as well. Look at Sandiford elevation to the leadership of the DLP.
    In Politics if you can’t stand the heat get out of the kitchen

50. Ok, you DLP supporters, gloat all you can.
    The BLP is going through just what you all went through from 1994 during the days of blood letting, internal hate and ruling by division when the late PM wanted to back the reins of power from Clyde Mascoll.
    Your wounds healed, the people of Bdos showed faith in you and handed the governance of this country to you.
    But I dont feel as though the DLP is in any position to gloat. Your history is replete with in fighting and back stabbing and fractions.
    Remember how Erskine Sandiford became PM. Keith Simmons told of how Cammie Tudor tricked them for those of you who dont know. This then led to the mass exodus of Richie Haynes, Ginger Bourne, Richard Byer etc.
    Not to mention the mass exodus under the late PM.
    So gloat away!