Submitted by Douglas
Click to read Kerri Symmonds Non-Payment Road Tax document

It is becoming clearer with each passing day what the people rejected in 2008 and why they further rejected them in 2013, the Barbadian voters are not idiots, they knew then that Arthur and Mottley could not last, they also knew that Mottley and Maria Agard could not last, they knew then that Mottley and Payne,  could not last, they knew then that Mottley and Marshall  could not last, they knew then that Mottley and Toppin  could not last, they knew then that Mottley and her CLONE Symmonds could not last.

It is also very clear to see that when they marched in white it was for other reasons than avoiding the Municipal Waste Tax, it is now clear to see that Symmonds was also marching to avoid paying the car tax for the big ride he owns and drives on Barbadian roads everyday but refuses to pay  road tax. He can now add to his wide beating, theft from Boolani and driving a vehicle on Barbadian roads without paying road tax. 

Now to the spineless and politically neutered and politically void Kerrie Symmonds, a young guy who once aspired for great things in the political world but has fallen well short of any standing. He most recently displayed a show of political immaturity when on a Sunday he stated publicly that he was not a clone of Mottley, and to represent his constituents he would not speak on a Mottley platform, however, a few short days later he forgot his constituents to favour Mottley in a march, guess his constituents did not then matter.

Let us look at Symmonds the person, this is someone who has been the focus of an affidavit signed by a Mrs Grant stating that he stole money from a Mr Boolani a day before elections in 2008, and that the money was never repaid, next he has been charged with domestic abuse, he has inflicted pain and suffering to his wife in view of his son, he has a nickname of Slasher for use of his knife on his wife’s car seats, it is also he who when he had his Rover car for sale and it was older than would allow for a loan to be secured from a bank, that Kerrie Symmonds and Johnny Tudor joined forces to alter the age of the vehicle to make it younger and eligible for the purchaser to obtain a bank loan to purchase the vehicle with. This was brought to the attention of the police and lingers somewhere in the police system to this day.

However of more recent interest is his action as a lawmaker, one would not expect Symmonds to participate in breaking the laws.  Symmonds owns and drives a vehicle that is unlicensed and as result of this is in contravention of the Road Traffic Act Section 16.  He is driving a vehicle on the roads of Barbados which is neither licensed or insured and therefore causing risk to other users, it is my understanding that a letter was issued to Symmonds from the Licensing Authority to inform him that it has been brought to their attention the use of this unlicensed vehicle and it is their intention to prosecute him for driving a vehicle over the past years that was unlicensed and that charges can be laid because there is no evidence that the vehicle was off the road over the years the license was left unpaid.

Now tell me what example this wife beater now road tax evader and crook is setting to other Barbadians to follow and he is a lawmaker?

41 responses to “Kerri Symmonds the Lawmaker and Lawbreaker”

1. I don’t know Kerrie Whatsit. I don’t want to know Kerrie Whatsit. I am not a member of Kerrie Whatsit’s Party nor that of the Government. But I find this post a fine exemplar of the gutter press at its worst – a despicable piece.

2. That is some vicious shit right there.
    Play he getting pun radio and carry on like a jackass, and don’t expect to get eat raw?
    Too ignorant he is.

3. @ Ross

On the one hand while there are some political overtones woven into the narrative, and some, to use your words, “despicable (former) wife beating practices that would otherwise form part of other MESA articles posted here on BU,

On the other hand Ross, I, ole fogey that I am, recently debarred by the said Authority becausing de ole man eyesight is not what it used to be and makes me a veritable accident waiting to happen, I has a bone of contention to pic wid Kerrie “Oblong Head” Symmonds.

You is first and foremost a lawyer who may have from time to time had a client who was involved in a motor car accident and would know whu is de impact uh dat vehicle not being insured, and to a lesser degree being licensed at MTW, would have on a nex’ party involved in an accident with an uninsured vehicle, especially if that party is at fault.

The title “lawmaker and lawbreaker” is solely to capture the eye of the reader because as you yourself would know, Kerrie, and none uh he cohorts is actually law-makers but in fact a lawyer.

It is incumbent on this man, particularly one who is in the spotlight of public affairs, to be upholding the law and wid ICBL and de rest uh dem insurance companies giving installments, he should at least have a monthly payment plan to allow him to pay the insurance. Whu aftah all man…we po’ peeples does hafta do dat to mek ends meet… en Kerrie is a good friend uh Peter Harris.

If it did one uh we peeples from gaza en dat body din pay taxes from December of 2013 it wasnt gine go down de same way.

I for one feel that this is exactly the type of “gutter press” reporting that Bulbados needs that allows we the peeple to see exactly what is going on by these sleasy politicians and public figures who set themselves up as being the pinnacles of honesty and integrity while filching on road taxes for MTW and requisite vehicle insurance.

Kerrie seemed to have been marching against Solid Waste Tax, Road Tax and Car Insurance!!

De ole man, having jes tex de insulin shot, commends this article and recommends that It be added to the BU BajanFlick “Hall of Infame” where article like this and others like it, rightfully belong.

The point that the article is making?

If Kerrie, so called representative of the people, can be so dishonest in small things, that are required by the law, it is glaringly evident that he CANNOT BE TRUSTED, with the larger affairs of the peeple of Bulbados in any administration

It is that simple

4. “Hall of Infamy”

5. The documents are posted and Kerri Symmonds M.P. is encouraged to counter with his brand of evidence. If BU is satisfied he has been unfairly maligned we will remove the post.

6. @ DAVID.
    As you know yourself, to use attorneys in this case costs money to the norm -so its not only a case of reputation it case of deed pockets and who you know in this corrupt legal system. While you may receive your BU “renown” I would suggest you know the “GAME.” -“Defamation is the publication of a false statement that causes you to be harmed in some way. Whether the statement is published in the paper, on the Internet, or is merely spoken to another, it has the power to harm you. You can take action by consulting with a lawyer. But what does that entail? And, if you decide to pursue a lawsuit, what will the process be like?”
    Three to five years at least.
    I would “piggy back” with my “friend” and so would a few others to shear the retainer.
    Vote.. My brothers.

7. @ DAVID

As usual you flaunt your impunity..

WHO’S IN YOUR POCKET..??

No transparency – No vote – No Power.

8. @RRoss
    But I find this post a fine exemplar of the gutter press at its worst – a despicable piece.
    ++++++++++++
    Au contraire Monsieur Ross, Mr. S is an elected official who gets to sit in judgement of Bajans daily, his domestic foibles have already been documented but if he is breaking the laws of the land I as a private citizen would like to be informed.

Mr.S. is lucky to be living in Barbados, if he lived in another “enlightened” jurisdiction the information would be splashed not only in the “Gutter Press” but among the Press with loftier credentials e.g. the Press that is often referred to as “The Grand old Lady of whatever Street”.

9. As a fellow/lady of the legal fraternity you erstwhile companion and counsel to institutions of “primary regional renown” while speaking of the issues of defamation would, if possessing a backbone, osteoporosis notwithstanding, be among the “first” to “bank” on the outlet that this wordpress affords the downtrodden.

Your own story if told would elicit similar interest.

As to your comment bordering on ramble/veiled legal threat on defamation it is instructive to read the WordPress Defamation Policy remark “WordPress.com is an internet service provider based in the US, as are all of our servers. We are covered by section 230(c) of the US Communications Decency Act which states that internet service providers are not held liable for content (such as allegedly defamatory, offensive, inaccurate, or harassing content) that is posted on the sites they host for their users.We host millions of web sites for our users and are not able to control or police the hundreds of thousands of blog posts our users create every day. If you have a complaint about one of our blogs, please follow our complaints procedure.”

With regard to the complaints procedure here are a few poignant excerpts “We strongly believe in freedom of speech. WordPress.com enables anyone to freely express their ideas and opinions, without censoring or endorsing them.”

“By the same token, we will not suspend blogs if they are not in violation of our terms or policies, even if they are offensive or objectionable. We think the right response to bad or offensive ideas is to speak out against them, not to censor them. Instead of asking us to suspend such a blog, please consider either responding in the blog’s comments or on a blog of your own, to set the record straight.”

“Example: we don’t suspend blogs for: describing a negative experience with a business, stating an opinion you disagree with, or using offensive language.”

10. As opposed to the hall of infamy I was thinking of the hall of shame.Then I remembered that the subject of the post knows no shame. That social media and the use of video recording devices are as much a part of Barbados as pudding and souse is a part of Saturday, and folk are still comfortable in these actions does that not say a mouthful about THE CONNECTED FEW?

11. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

David ,he is not alone and above the Fraud laws he make up to hide his doings,
    We not giving this government no money we dont have to , They have taken so much already , Bus or Walk ,, boycott on our end ,

Road Tax$ , Insurance$, gas$ ,,,, adds up to much and no where to go,.

12. Leff Dem Fuh Good Avatar
    Leff Dem Fuh Good

I doan mind walking in de gutter every now and den. As a boy I nuses to find nuff useful things in de gutter that get wash down from places higher up.
    One thing I doan understand is how come duh got gutters pon both sides uh de road, but only one gutter got in something?.
    Yuh waan tuh tell me dat de gutter pon de other side ain’t working nuh more?
    Wunna expect me to believe that only nasty water running in one gutter and drinking water running in de nex gutter on de same street in de same village? Dah is wuh wunna really want me tuh believe?

Who’s building these roads?

13. @LDFG Very good question and I would expect @Douglas to be as generous with his drinking water (read privileged insider information) on the other side as you so craftily put it. This post along with a photo of an apparently official document and his disclosure with documents in the next article about Ms Marshall from the TB puts him up there with the best in the CID. Obviously a person of outstanding investigative ability. I can’t wait for the clean drinking water from National Housing, CLICO, QEH…. need I go on?

14. Never thought the day would come Barbadians would have to resort to whistleblowing. Of course when moderators of talk shows get information that falls off trucks we are fine with it. We are goung to get more and more of this kind of information leaking to tje public in the future.

Well Well you make a good point, this matter goes back to 1997 based on the docs posted.

15. @David expect more whistle blowing. Cell phones have cameras.

You no longer have to hide to go to a photo copier.

16. Lifechanger…..yeah, defamation is supposed to be false claims, false being the operative word, but when you tell the truth in Barbados, with proof in black and white, particularly when it’s THE TRUTH, folks feel like they have been injured and will sue your ass, in total denial of the truth……lol

17. Well you know what they say. “Rules without punishments are just advice.”

18. Leff Dem Fuh Good | August 29, 2014 at 10:51 AM |

I doan mind walking in de gutter every now and den. As a boy I nuses to find nuff useful things in de gutter that get wash down from places higher up.

YOUR “GUTTER TALK” BRINGS BACK FOND MEMORIES GOING BACK OVER 50 YEARS. THANKS.
    I REMEMBER WALKING HOME FROM SCHOOL DOWN BECKLES RD AFTER A DOWN POUR OF RAIN. WE WOULD RACE MATCH STICKS OR OTHER OBJECTS IN THE RAPIDLY FLOWING WATER GUSHING DOWN THE GUTTER.

19. @ THE BU.
    BFP on May 19, 2009 at 8:54 pm
    We are all for transparency 199. Too bad that Thompson forgot that word the minute he was elected.
    As most attorneys and QC’s rule the government. As you can see, years of lies, HARLINQUIN, is out of your jurisdiction, we have recorded evidence account details etc. When you actually face the $120 bb + law suit, the sad thing, corruption carries heavier penalties. “” without prejudice “” doesn’t quite disqualify your stance in international court.. Just to let you know, vanity all you have is vanity..
    Arrogant underling, do some work…

20. Hamilton A Hill Avatar

How come the media moguls of mainstream status do not catch wind of these types of stories? Instead we are reminded which ministers got fat after being elected, like anybody gives a damn bout that.

21. @Hamilton

The media finds itself in a corner.

22. So what would happen if the Nation loses the contract from Government for purchase of its newspapers?

All the Government has to do to get their needs publish is to stop buying papers from the Nation.

Tell its employees to use BU.

GIS can post the Ministers’ Agenda and attendees can record proceedings and post on BU. Raw footage and all other events with Police reports can be placed here.

David, would we then need the Fourth Estate?

In my opinion, Barbados Today would definitely check BU for stories.

23. This approach would take the media out of its corner.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | August 29, 2014 at 8:54 AM |
    “Au contraire Monsieur Ross, Mr. S is an elected official who gets to sit in judgement of Bajans daily, his domestic foibles have already been documented but if he is breaking the laws of the land I as a private citizen would like to be informed.”

Oui, Frenchy Sarge, you are performing like a used condom discarded by some DLP cock behaving like a yellow yard-fowl.

We have no quarrel with Douglas exposing Oblong Head for his law breaking acts. As a matter of fact we believe he should be punished to the max for being part of the thirty odd thousand Bajans who take it upon themselves to abuse the law daily.
    But what we have a grouse about is your siding with Douglas in giving a pass to more serious lawbreakers and their accomplices in high places just because they are running in a jackass race bedecked in the colours of yellow and blue with the stamp of exemption “DLP Backers Handlers ” emblazoned across its livery of hypocrisy.

The nation of Barbados would be eternally indebted to both you and Douglas if the Greenverbs Sam Pookie Parris’s millions of dollars tax evasion scheme should receive similar exposé.
    Yes, M Fs, you know what I am on about. After all, you both read that excellent piece of investigative journalism submitted by Walter Blackman a few weeks ago (on the July 01, 2014 to be precise) and titled “Open Letter to the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) about the CLICO (Barbados) Scandal”.

So you want to prosecute Kerrie S for a misdemeanor? By all means go ahead. He deserves it in order to for him to understand the importance of not willfully breaking the law if one is to be a guiding exemplary light to the Joe & Jane Public.
    But just remember the ‘copied’ and ‘reworked’ Shakespearian tale of “The Merchant of Venice”. One pound of Kerrie’s flesh; no more, no less it shall be.

Why isn’t a known tax evader not receiving similar exposure and public opprobrium? Is it because He, Greeverbs ,the untouchable almighty is a close pal of the real political Almighty, both in and out of Parliament?
    What does this insulated leper have on these jaundiced people that Kerrie does not have? The Midas touch of financial Ebola and campaign funding contagion if the cordon sanitaire were to be removed?

25. The going-ons of politicians personal lives do not play a major part in Bajan politics or how most Bajans vote. So they can do as they please, we will just dismiss it.

26. So according to this document posted by “Douglas” who I take it to be Douglas Leopold Phillips also known as DLP; Kerrie Symmonds was 9 weeks late in paying his road tax of a few hundred dollars. The tax was due on December 29, 2013 and he received the notice on March 14, 2014 and the DLP mouthpiece thinks that this should be brought to the public’s attention on August 29, 2014?

Really?
    When very likely Mr. Symmonds settled his debt to the Licensing Authority by the end of March 2014.

Now can “Douglas” tell us when the Prime Minister’s friend Leroy Parris will pay back the people who invested in CLICO?

Or shut up.

27. http://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2013/08/29/cbc-news-staff-worried-about-michelle-arthur-becoming-director-of-news/

David (postmaster) said “the documents are posted and Kerri Symmonds MP is encouraged to counter with his brand of evidence” [likewise Michelle Arthur]. Many had said that Obama was not born in the United States. Obama presented his birth certificate to disprove said statement but did so at his own selected time. Mayor Ford in Toronto Ontario, Canada has been accused of smoking crack. He says he did smoke crack in a “drunken stupor”.

If Kerri Symmonds or even Michelle Arthur is wrongly accused, can and may just come forward to defend themselves as did President Obama and Mayor Rob Ford.

28. HH asks about the mainstream media. David says it’s in a “corner”. What corner is that?

A blog receives naked allegations from an anonymous person.The documentation provided are either forgeries or unlawfully published. Two of them are ‘dated’. The third is signed by a line and a squiggle.

Maybe from their “corner’ the mainstream media are saying “Sorry, at times we sink pretty low. But we don’t sink that low. Besides, given the laws of defamation we aint bloody stupid and – unlike the anonymous whistle blower – we have no vested interest in ruining people associated with the BLP on this evidence and in these circumstances.”

29. @ Ross
    NO TRANSPARENCY – NO VOTE – NO POWER.. Who’s in your pocket, and the brown rings you have around your ankles …… clearly show how far you’ve been stuck up someone’s arse..
    Transparency / whistle blowing instead of DAYS OF OUT LIVES….

30. OK…let’s take this a stage further.

‘Douglas’ says the fella stole money, that he won’t give it back and that this is contained in an affidavit.

Now first…what’s been published is NOT an affidavit. It’s just a letter allegedly counter signed by a magistrate. The letter does not state, as it should, that it was signed in the presence of a magistrate. So there you are – the first ‘lie’.

Secondly, the letter states that the money was paid to “facilitate” the grant of immigration status. Now what does that mean? That it was a bribe? OR that it was paid to secure a legal service? I would suppose the latter. OK – the letter doesn’t say that the service was not provided merely that the writer did not get the result sought to be “facilitated” a year after the money was paid. That is NOT evidence of theft. So there you are – the second ‘lie’.

Third – the substance. I know someone who’s been here more than 20 years who two and a half years after application for immigration status is still waiting to hear it’s been granted. That person’s application was “facilitated” by an attorney. The letter states that the Applicant is not residing in the jurisdiction but studying abroad – hardly a positive factor for status. A year’s wait is thus of limited significance. Has status now been granted? So there you are – the third ‘lie’.

Fourth – the fee. $5000, is not excessive for this kind of work. It takes a lot of time and causes many headaches. But I say again – there is NO evidence of theft whatsoever and if the sum was not returned the obvious implication is that the service had been provided irrespective of the final result. So there you are – the fourth ‘lie’.

YOU DON’T DESTROY A MAN”S CHARACTER ON THIS KIND OF EVIDENCE

So Life Changer – argue against that. But on the subject of someone’s ass – how’s David’s these days?

31. http://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/comments-policy/

@ Robert Ross

Regardless of your defense, light doesn’t shine too bright on him, Kerri Symmonds.

32. I may have driven an unlicensed vehicle for a while, I may have beaten and slashed my wife’s car seats and I may have taken money off the guy but I have never received $250,000.00 per year from VECO towards any Crop Over parties as was what was done by VECO and my leader Mia Mottley, nor have I ever been responsible for having made someone an admission to the QEH after a violent sexual attack, if this is Ms Mottley’s method of trying to destroy me it is her way or no way, so be it, I to have my methods of attack to deal with her with .

33. @Kerrie Symmonds “I to have my methods of attack to deal with her with”

Clearly the semi-literate just above this comment was NOT written by the real Kerrie Symmonds.

Say what you like about Kerrie, the man is LITERATE and ARTICULATE and there is no way he would end a sentence with with.

The DLP really needs a better quality of yard fowls.

Can somebody please send the DLP some literate yard fowls?

Please, please.

34. Simple Simon wrote “Can somebody please send the DLP some literate yard fowls?”

I am a literate DIP yard fowl. It should be obvious even to semi literate bloggers that it was not the real Kerrie Symmonds.

BU is still free to all and sundry.

35. @Miller etc.
    ‘Tis the season for vile insults and you could have made your point without them but to each his own. You seemed to miss the difference between public servant and private citizen. Mr. S is a public servant and LP whatever his fault is a private citizen. He who makes the laws should not be seen breaking them and sometime ago I wrote “let the chips fall where they may” regarding LP and I hope when/if your Joan D’Arc assumes power in Barbados she would satisfy your call for justice by erecting the stake to immolate all those whom you deem as deserving of that fate. That bonfire may turn out to be a raging conflagration that may consume many more than you think

In the meanwhile is there a Statute of Limitations for any crimes in Barbados? Miller etc. wants to know.

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Sargeant | August 30, 2014 at 5:43 PM |

What “vile insults” what? Do you call exposing you as a bloody hypocrite to be insulting?
    Both Kerrie and LP are ‘citizens’. As far as the law is concerned there is no difference between them. That is why the wielder of Justice is portrayed as blindfolded and carrying the scales of justice and fair play in one hand and a sword in one hand in the other.

If you are fair minded then remove your yellow blinkers and demand that L P be made to pay over the millions due in taxes on the payments he received via his money laundering schemes. Don’t you think some of that money would come in handy to payoff a portion of the rising debts your preferred administration is racking up to the extent that Barbados will soon be ending up in the poor house. Do you think it is fair that the Transport Board and other severed workers are treated in such an despicable act while Leroy Sonny Pookie is allowed to “vilely insult” the impotent tax authorities just because he has the backing and protection of a corrupt administration.

Why wait for a Joan D’Arc? Why not call on your preferred administration to do the right thing? Or do you prefer to call Walter Blackman a BLP stooge and supporter of Joan D’Arc? You might be surprised to know Walter is more DLP than you.

37. INNOCENT UNTIL PROVEN GUILTY.

If this occurred in the USA the Lawyer appears to have met the threshold for police to use lethal force.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/09/01/attorney-at-law-charged/

38. This bit of reporting reminds me of Canada.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/lawyer-charged-with-assaulting-police/

“According to police, around 5 a.m. yesterday, officers responded to a report at Plae, Rising Sun, Christ Church, where a fete was being held and the Jamaican was in attendance.”

39. Pray tell,why was it necessary to write,”…the JAMAICAN was in attendance” ? How will people in the Caribbean ever unite and reach their maximum potential ? And how can Caricom and the CCJ ever function properly when we remain so myopic and insular ?

40. So John Jickum: What should the Nation have written The Bajan was in attendance?

Or the lawyer was in attendance

Or the man was in attendance

What sort of politically correct world do you live in that a Jamaican can’t be called a Jamaican?

If the man was being awarded a Nobel prize and we called him a Jamaican would you still be vexed?

Do you get vex when Usain Bolt is called a Jamaican?

41. Kerrie Symmonds happens to be my dad and I only just found out what he did to my mother by reading this my parents are Devorced and I’m really upset that this actually happened everything makes sense my dad is just a downright liar