Senator Kerrie Symmonds

Of course Barbados Underground (BU) is in favour of Integrity and Freedom of Information legislation hitting the statute books. We live in times where motives fuelled by greed and materialistic intent have permeated our society. Why should we feel our public officials have been passed over? Note we wrote public officials and did not isolate politicians.

The government of Barbados when in opposition promised to enact Integrity and Freedom of Information legislation, nineteen months later the status report is the committee charged with creating draft recommendations has submitted to the Cabinet for review. Commonsense suggests the process for implementing such delicate legislation in a tiny country will require finesse in decision making and implementation. What is sure if we read the political play unfolding, this legislation if implemented will occur on the eve of the next general election.

If Barbados is to reign in the indiscipline facing the nation key stakeholders must be guided to play by the rules of engagement. Politicians are the most visible public officials in our government led economy and their actions attract scrutiny from a nosy public. A nosy public bred in a small domicile where we all know the business of the neighbour. When former President Bill Clinton abused the Oval Office by engaging in activity of the cunnilingus kind the BU household unlike many in Barbados felt he had betrayed the office of President and should have immediately done the honourable thing.

Recent reports of domestic issues affecting young Senator Symmonds is regrettable. The question which will be asked if the Judge accepts a recent protection order filed by his wife tomorrow, will it cost him his job as Senator?

Given his visibility BU would recommend to do the honourable thing and resign if he finds himself at the short end tomorrow.

196 responses to “Will Senator Kerri Symmonds Resign Or Be Fired?”

1. Minding my business, But I want to Know Avatar
    Minding my business, But I want to Know

Who horn who? Is it that Kerrie horn Duguid or Duguid horning Kerrie? Notice that Duguid lost some weight of recent.

2. Minding my business, But I want to Know Avatar

Also, is it true that both wives have the identical jeeps? Is this an attempt to mask something.

3. @ Bonny Peppa

You are a true phoenix, rising from the embers/ashes.

I have been farming. Not much time for the blogging, although Ido read some threads when I get the time. I allocate about two hours a night for the newspapers and the blogs. Most nights I dont make it. Too tired.

I have not seen much of Bush Tea nor Georgie Porgie either. But, hey, it is summer. Lots to do.

I love Roks bearded good looks. My type of fella. he he he!

4. Minding my business but I want to know,

Listen, I want to know too, so when you find out lemme know. Aaightttttt?

Pat,
    All jokes aside, ROK got me good. I hope he in marrid cause then where there’s life, there’s hope, for moi. Not only de beard Pat, check de eyes. Man he is one sexy work of art. Mona Lisa is no comparison. And he intelligent too.
    Lordddddddddddddddddddddddd.

Bush Tea is still around poisonous as usual and deadly. I haven’t heard Porgie recently either. Another funny one was Gear Box and Ace.

5. @Pat
    “I love Roks bearded good looks. My type of fella. he he he!”

Look! Bonny Peppa is hot enough, yuh hear. I don’t need anymore steam. Wunna plan to get the rest of men jealous now and put up their pics.

LOL! What a day that would be. Power to you.

6. Bonny Peppa

I see you rubbing in the peppa. You have an accomplice.

7. ROK,
    I don’t care who post their pic, I only have eyes for you, my cadbury chocolate.
    ‘are the stars out tonite, i don’t kno’ if it’s rainy or brite, cause i only have eyes………………… for you.

ROK, you enjoying ya self nah?Ga long, sweet life doan lass too long. (mwahhhhhhhhhh)

8. @Bonny

No, i am not married. I ‘fraid. I like to play for keeps.

9. @Bonny

Don’t make me blush on the people blog.

10. Ah, Barbados…

Serious stuff going down… And what are we most concerned about? The potential exchange of body fluids….

11. Hi Pat,
    Thanks for missing the Bushman. Don’t mind Bonny Pepper talking bout how the bushman ‘poisonous’….
    What poisonous what?!?
    ….she well know that bush tea is warm and healing and healthy…. although it may burn a bit at first sip…LOL..

…..I have been mostly enjoying the interesting exchanges and putting a few lashes in a certain pest who presently living in barbados.

..enjoy your summer Pat.

12. ROK,
    Oh my God. You’re unmarried. Lord, all dis goodness and unmarried.
    Look, Bonny would like polyandry to be legislated here and now. Something got to give.

Anonymous,
    Boy, the exchange of body fluids is wah got we here, so doan get too uptight. Ya got to take a lil break from de ‘serious’ stuff sometimes and let de mind vent. Stress kills hear, so relax and tek um easy, Starboy.

13. Sarge:
    The newspaper quoted Thompson as saying “look what has happened today”
    A lot of things happen on any given day.

14. Sarge,
    ‘look what has happened today’
    That is a completely different statement from what you quoted.
    Which is it?

15. AH & BP

Please note I said it was not an exact quote and if I didn’t get the words right I think that Thompson’s implication was clearly understood. Remember Thompson is also a lawyer.

16. Opposition Leader Arthur Holder seems to be a good choice for new Senator. His resume seems filled with the kind of achievements we want to see more of in people who aspire to being politicians

17. Wishing In Vain Avatar

He will do well to come out on top of any debate ahead of Mr Jepter Ince, I listened to him in his maiden speech he sounded as if he had lived his life in the Senate of Barbados he was smooth, he was precise in his speech and he was vicious in his attack of the BLP and its corruption and fraud of the DANOS 3 S ROAD WORKS PROJECT.

I know nothing about Holder other that he is BLP who is liked by Mottley that in itself may not work well for him for his long term future once Owing recommits to office he may well stuggle.

18. Sargeant,
    A misquote is also a quote.
    We don’t have to be precise but at the end of the day, the meaning must be the same.
    To alter the truth is to tell a lie.

19. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Opposition Leader Arthur Holder seems to be a good choice,

DAVID YOU KNOW SOMETHING WE DO NOT KNOW ARE YOU SUGGESTING LIZ THOMPSON IS ALSO VACATING THE SENATE BECAUSE AS FAR AS I KNOW SHE IS LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION IN SENATE?

YOU MAY WELL HAVE A POINT!!!!

20. @WIV

Wondered when our slip would have been picked up.
    Actually we hope to get the attendance record in the Senate of those Senators who reflect absenteeism levels on par with the national numbers
    Senator Liz Thompson by her admission has been occupied with earning money where opportunities abound across the Caribbean.
    If her high absenteeism continues the brunt of the Opposition will fall on the rookie Senator.
    Mia can send a signal to all by firing Senator Thompson on the grounds of unacceptably low productivity in the Upper House.
    If we can get the attendance numbers we would extend our criticism to the other side as well.

21. Wishing In Vain Avatar

David you real wicked in truth but you do have a valid point, from my understanding from those in the know they are only three persons with a really poor track records of attendence of Senate and those would be the two Opposition Senators and as we now see Kerrie may have been preoccupied with his marital problems, the othe being Liz Thompson hers is not quite as such but hers is just a callous disregard by being reduced to sitting in Senate and disliking this role, little does she know that her days in the Lower House are distant history, the records will show that she is there less often than any other Senator much of the time being spent doing her private business rather than the one day a week that she was sent there to do the people’s business, then the last absentee Senator is Sir Roy Trotman.

David one cannot knock out the foundation on which your home is built and expect it to stand, Mottley has NO CHOICE but to take what Liz Thompson dishes out and take it like a man because Liz was put there by Mottley as her loyal supporter and friend and there is no way that Mottley would dare remove her and further weaken her foundation before her straw house collapsed with her inside it.

One of the reports that I get also about the person Thompson is that she is a very lazy person and when she does visit the halls of the Senate she is unprepared and scattered and confused as was openly displayed on the radio waves the other day when she suprised them with a visit, when she opened her mouth to speak in a recent sitting where she stated she could not find this note or the other note, total disarray both at Senate level, Lower House level and party level is what I am seeing.

22. BP

OK I will amend the following inexact “quote” “ I thought he was an up and coming politician, I even mentored him but look wuh he gone and do”. to my interpretation which follows:

Thompson said that Symmonds was a promising politician whom he had taken his wing, he added that he was surprised at the trouble that Symmonds now found himself in.

23. Wishing In Vain Avatar

It will be interesting to see how Bradshaw copes with this rejection???

You know David with only three Opposition voices in Senate they need to attend that place more often and represent themselves, don’t fool yourself that they going there to represent the people of Barbados they are going there to represent themselves and their own narrow interest of using that as a stepping stone to finding a seat somewhere that is why it makes no sense continuing with the BOMBASTIC UNCOUTH LIZ THOMPSON, Owing and Glyne’S WORDS NOT MINE.

She is spent force that can now be consigned to grazing fields to graze.

24. Sargeant
    You got me crying. You making corrections like you in a class room;(chuckle) Dat is so funny.
    To be honest wid you, I couldn’t care less what was or wasn’t really said. It makes a difference to you? Me needa.

At the end of the day, Kerry and his wife will either make up or break up. Either way, it will have no impact on the cost of a barrel of oil. Agreed?

Let the dead bury their dead.
    Ahmen.

25. I hear that Andrea mother say Andrea doing bare foolishness when she was atthe hair dresser. She claim Andrea wentto Kerrie house with her man to collect stuff and that made Kerrie angry. Apparently, she told Kerrie he cant tek out what the man put in she so he cud put up or shut up.

26. Sarge, I don’t agree. What’s the context of Thompson’s statement? What was he asked? Is that all he said? It was part of a Press Conferene and I think we would have to see if he was digging Symmonds grave or was really disappointed. But, either way, we don’t know what the outcome will be. Is his wife lying? Is he? etc.

Next point, Kerrie Symmonds has never been backward in attacking others. He shows no mercy. I would not be surprised if “I Hear” is not the goodly former Senator.

What would Owen say?

27. Veritas what are you saying? How could Thompson be digging Kerrie Symmonds political grave? with mere words? I don’t follow!

Indeed Kerrie was an attack dog. In the last election, every platform speaking turn he got, mocked and made fun of David Thompson always insinuating that Thompy girlie girlie. Even after the election specifically in Feb 09 at Oistins he was at it again. Thompson was most charitable to Kerrie.

http://blp.org.bb/blptv/meetings
    click on the third video from the top.

28. That’s not my point. Kerrie dug his own grave and Sargeant said Thompson was uncharitable in not expressing regret to Kerrie’s family etc.

Kerrie Symmonds is a public figure and Thompson is entitled to say what he wants about him. I agree with you, Thompson was much too charitable considering his versatility in that area.

29. I Hear,
    I doubt very much based from previous posts dat her mother would ‘bad-talk’ her like that in public.
    I think that we’re making up as we go along. And you know what they say about altering the truth?
    But anyway, we enjoyin’de lil ‘gossip’ so carry on smartly. Evry day doan be like dis. (teehee)

30. Minding my business, But I want to Know Avatar

@ I Hear

No, no, Mother Power will neeeeever bad talk her “angel”. If you tell me that she bad talk the husband, I would more believe that. however, the story about removing the stuff from the house is apparently true and also about The wife biting the husband up which caused him to retaliate. Has anyone seen him recently? where are the bite marks? Only wifey can tell since she is the one spreading the news. She is a BITER at large.

31. Minding my business, But I want to Know Avatar

correction
    I should have said that I understand she is the one spreading the news.That’s the talk going around.

32. @ Bush Tea,

Man Bonny Peppa only teasing you. She luvs to read you too. She also admires you for your brain. The logical thinking, clear vision of the future, etc.

Yuh got time to waste with them people that living in barbados? Man, after reading a couple of the posts, I just pass them by.

Just came in from the garden. Picked about 2 lbs. beans and 6 star zuccinis, couple tomatoes. Have to go cut my callaloo tomorrow before she flowers. This will be my 5th cutting. The corn looking good. We will be yamming dem in about two weeks. I just love the outdoors in the summertime.

@ROK

Me, I checking you out when I come home. Yuh straight? Leh muh kno’ first. I n got nuh problem if yuh aint, yuh hear?

However, I think we will at least have matching heads – snow on the mountain tops.

33. Minding my business But want to Kno,
    “She is a BITER at large”.
    I hope he in ketch rabies. Dese human dogs like ta much bitin’ man.

But common sense, which isn’t as common as we think, would tell her that she would need to be accompanied by a police officer to retrieve her ‘tings’.That applies in common law situations not sure if the same would apply in this case.

Look, Kerri and Andrea, try an kiss an make up do. Think about the child or children involved man. Life isn’t a bed of roses. Put all differences aside and mek uup do. All relationships got de humps and lumps, so what. It’s the welfare of the children that bothers me.I believe strongly in the nuclear family man.
    Get wunna blasted act together and cut out the trivials man.
    Life is too damn short.

34. Pat
    Nite hunny.
    I was enjoying you til you start getting ‘funny’ wid my ROK. He’s my ROK of Gabralta and me ain’t lettin him go. So please, be off. Lemme kno’ when you comin home dat I cud cah my ROK on a trip to Las Vegas. (Hope he return alive)

You can have the Bush Tea doc. OK? He’s my huny-suckle too but I doan mind sharing he wid you. Can be sa stingy.

Nitey-nite dawlin.
    Enjoy ya garden full of veggies.

35. @Pat

That head must be pretty enough. You got me a bit puzzled though. All them men up there and you coming to little Barbados for me? I am flattered.

@Bonny
    Don’t worry, I will always have the hots for you.

36. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH
    The video was interesting watching. The two ladies watched the Kerrie Symmonds video and gave it a spin that I did not see. They said, “OMG! They’re having a fight. Listen to that. Scratching and stuff. Like cats. Sounds like a jealous tiff.” I never would have seen that myself and that may be because I am not Bajan.

37. You are not making any sense. Would these be the two “shiftless” black people that Kofi quoted you on? wuh they are over at your house on sundays now? You wife know? does she care? lol!

How could they watch the video of Kerrie and be referring to they? ????

38. I believe tht kerrie and Andrea should go they seperate ways. Why I say this if they do make up for the children sake, they would not trust each any more and the relationship would get worse.

39. I believe that Kerrie and Andrea should go they seperate ways. Why I say this if they do make up for the children sake, they would not trust each any more and the relationship would get worse.

40. Archi Bull Cocks Avatar
    Archi Bull Cocks

The best thing the couple need is a bi-sexual. A man that could please Kerrie and Andrea. He can act as the mediator and intervenor. Kerrie (of BLP ilk) would quickly accept (with approval from Mia) and Andrea would only be happy to add some spice to her life.

41. that one is funny

42. Archie Bull……………Cocks
    What about hens? Dem too? O dearrrrr.
    I kinda agree wid yu. A manage-au-trois
    should more dan ‘spice’ up tings.mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

JuJu
    I believe that it can be repaired. Just a little counselling perhaps and they can make a new start. Trust or no trust, man /woman will still do their thing. You think that trust prevents extra marital affairs? It doesn’t. A lot of the times it isn’t what you do but how you do it. A lot of these affairs are very inconspicuous but it doesn’t mean that they don’t happen?
    The ‘good’ book speaks something about ‘not putting your trust in man, he will deceive you everytime’. This includes woman too.

I hope that they can reconcile. After all is said and done, more is said than done.

Wunna try an’mek’ up do, Kerry n’ Andrea.

43. Wishing In Vain Avatar

DLP Column: Let’s hear from Mia

In our Manifesto, “Pathways to Progress”, the Democratic Labour Party committed itself to the establishment of a Ministry of Families. With this in mind, we pledged our support to developing programmes and policies to eliminate the serious issues of domestic violence.

In the recent past, we have witnessed the launch of initiatives likes Service Alliance for Violent Encounters (SAVE) Foundation. Miss Liesel Daisley must be commended for coming forward and securing such a programme. The scourge of domestic violence has become a disease that is seeking a cure in the format of a change in attitude.

The Democratic Labour Party’s leadership has been very strong on its Families First agenda over the period in Opposition. Prime Minister David Thompson has taken a no-nonsense approach to matters that erode our social fabric. We have tried to engage the Barbados Labour Party on the need to have a party position on universal matters of this nature.

The current female leader, Mia Mottley, along with Senator Elizabeth Thompson were victims of a most vicious platform attack regarding their persons. As a matter of fact, the females of the Barbados Labour Party were verbally abused in public, much to the disgust of all right-thinking Barbadians.

The Opposition Leader has earned the reputation of speaking her mind on matters of universal importance. She does not mix her words nor does she run from a fight. As a matter of fact, she starts them. Her leadership style has been questioned by some of her peers, but she has remained resolute in her approach to opposition politics.

The recent summoning to our law Courts of one of her Senators has left us puzzled as to the type of leadership she will offer on this matter. One could only imagine if the late Sir Harold St. John or the former Barbados Labour Party leader Sir Henry Forde were in office how swift their condemnation of such actions would have been. After all, the great Sir Henry Forde has won the hearts of all Barbadian women for his unswerving support of legislation concerning common law unions. This piece of legislation has revolutionised how women are treated in unmarried unions.

Mia Mottley has the opportunity to join thousands of activists throughout the world by condemning any form of domestic violence. The task of leadership in any form is not easy, but firm decision-making will always be a hallmark of any solid leader. The Opposition leader must act now and stop the rot that was inherited by her leadership. She inherited disgruntled members of the Democratic Labour Party under the banner of politics of inclusion and have been stuck with them over the years.

She has been given a platform to embrace a pertinent social issue. The matter has been placed squarely on her shoulders to dispense with. The entire country awaits the utterances of the new leadership. We know, based on past experience, that the female leader of the Opposition Party will not allow for any matter to go unattended that would seek to cast a shadow or contaminate the opportunities of her party’s success.

Mia, it’s over to you now. Do what you know is right on this one.

44. […] why Symmonds resigned last year. Symmonds was involved in a widely publicized marital dispute. BU posted on the matter at the time to join local media which reported on a protection order being filed to […]

45. […] Symmonds, Deputy Leader of the BLP was reappointed to the Senate by Owen Arthur after a widely publicized marital […]

46. Hi there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I will certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends.

I’m sure they will be benefited from this website.