George Pilgrim, General Secretary, Democratic Labour Party

I can’t imagine how history will record this period in the political life of the Barbados Labour Party. The current impasse has begged the question of whose interest are the current machinations taking place. My limited knowledge of what takes place in Roebuck Street has guided me to make some assumptions.

1. Owen and George Payne reached a private accommodation.

2. Owen intends to see that back of the BLP elites broken.

3. Owen does not care what the status quo in the party is thinking.

4. Owen has had a change of heart about being leader.

When taking the above assumptions into consideration, I am led to believe that Owen has promised Payne something big, whenever the BLP retains power [whenever that is]. This relationship is puzzling as we ponder on the historical relationship of the two individuals. We all appreciate that BLP politics is  viewed as a convergence of interests where minds meet for a stake in the bigger pie. In this scenario, we have witnessed the deafening silence of Owen, the man at the centre. However, he has managed to have  all knives and arrows  pointing towards Mottley and Payne.

There is something in this political equation that is fundamentally telling.  How does Owen, the principal  of the spectacle, stay so quiet and unnoticed? The BLP’s factions are calling for Payne to be pulled in line while others are saying that Mia should step aside and let Owen take over. Owen Arthur has been able to get two of his known party adversaries to go after each other in public.

Now that is where the coup is occurring!!!

With one swoop, Arthur will perform political annihilation on his two obstacles. Come on Labourites, you have got to look into the forest and separate the wood from the trees.  It is clear that Owen is of the view  that his legacy is under threat by the status quo. It’s no secret the way Arthur treated the party stalwarts during his tenure. The likes of Sir Richard, Sir Louis, Dame Billie and of course Lionel Craig, who was later honoured during this current administration’s tenure, have all suffered under his tongue. Arthur’s reign did not only come to an end with the loss at the polls, but the elites saw it as an opportunity to purge themselves of his posture. A posture they tolerated because they understand what politics and interest meant at that time.

Owen does not care for the views of the elites of the party. He did a number to attain the job as Opposition Leader; that episode is a matter of public record. Once Sir Henry Forde fell for the drama, Owen was able to begin dismantling the status quo, as he found it. The gradual redefining of the BLP in the image of Arthur was his next project. He kept the ones close to him that he thought would do the most damage, hence we saw where the darlings on the BLP were located, as his deputies. The tone with which the only comment from Arthur came regarding the leadership issue, was that he was trying to be civil about the matter. When one peels back what he was saying it reminded me of what David Banner would say in the picture The Incredible Hulk.  “ Mr McGee, don’t make me angry. You wouldn’t like when I am angry.”

On the matter of being leader, I think that the comments by Arthur in the past regarding his disinterest must be seen in context. I don’t think he is the type of guy who lets on what his intentions are too early. Even if he has intended actions, he will defer the announcement until the time is right. But you can always tell when he is up to something [check his short grin].  There can be no doubt that at the back of Arthur’s mind [way back] he genuinely believes that he can be Prime Minister of Barbados again.

This belief however, will have to square with the wishes of his party people on conference day. I think on this occasion, he played his hand badly. The elites of the party will make life very difficult for Arthur . He has experienced what it was like to have cooperation in government but that was because they had a goal post. In opposition, the issue will be survival of the BLP, as an institution and the elites have already accepted responsibility for the preservation of their party. These are the guys that built the walls of the empire that Arthur came and found. But Arthur does not and will never share their outlook. Arthur was recruited into the fold of the BLP to do a job but he saw an opportunity and ran with it. He delivered for them and now they have had enough of him. I am not sure where the glory is in this for Arthur to be facing off with the status quo. But one thing is certain is that they intend to defend their girl Mia to the max.

In any organisation the glue that binds the agency together when unhinged opens up the severe cracks that were always there. There was never any love among or between these political folks. The public display of what has taken place is only the semblance of the true love/hate chord that binds these individuals together. What the public debate has told me is that Arthur is certainly in planning. He has set the scene for a showdown between two of his party rivals without batting an eyelid.  My assumptions and commentary lead me to believe that Arthur is the single beneficiary of the current machinations and not the BLP.

129 responses to “All Roads Lead To Owen Seymour Arthur”

1. The answer is simple:
    Owen Arthur is the best Prime Minister Barbados ever had.

There is something that makes me want to rate Sir Lloyd very high too.
    My ratings for The Best Prime Minister Barbados ever had
    (1) Owen Arthur
    (2)Lloyd Erskine Sandiford
    (3) Tom Adams
    (4) Bree St. John
    ————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-
    Of Course the greatest Prime Minister ever in Barbados
    THE RIGHT EXCELLENT ERROL WALTON BARROW

2. Instead Owen and his band of geriatric renegades seek to destroy the political career of a woman they groomed as his successor.
    ——————————————–
    This is the kind of crap that we have to take from ungrateful sluts like Hants and ac .
    A total dis-respect for elders
    Where the Phuck do you get off referring to people as geriatrics AND TRYING TO DISS THEM BECAUSE OF A EXPERIENCE. Is it a crime ? Man have some respect –you ungrateful dawg !
    YOU SOUND LIKE ONE OF THOSE PEOPLE WHO DUMP YOUR OLD PARENTS AT THE QEH
    You people are something else
    Dont come back on this Blog talking shite –HANTS !
    I VEXX NOW !!

3. @David asks “Where is Billie, Liz, Nalita, Masie and the lot?”

Perhaps they are unsure whether to truly support Mia and treat her as their equal. They too may not be comfortable with her as their leader for the same reasons Owen alluded to.

As an aside. There is an election in a week to elect a new Mayor of Toronto.(population over 2 million). one of the leading candidates is a man who is legally married to another man.
    That was not discussed or talked about by any of the candidates in their campaigns.

Barbados is not Canada.

4. Let me state categorically that MEN are born to LEAD
    Women need to take their places and know their places and there is nothing wrong with that. Lets just accept that
    I know of many more women who feel this way
    Let men lead; let women help
    When we tinker with this we are asking for trouble. Many women know that women bosses are NOT EASY !
    But this thing featuring Mia is not about women /woman matters.
    This is about BARBADOS.

5. I wonder if Bille Miller were the Opposition Leader if they would have done the same to her?

SHAME on the BLP and it will hang as a weight around their necks. MIA tell dem to KISS YOUR BIG BLACK TOE and DO NOT TURN UP ON MONDAY!

6. MIA play sick like Owin.

7. @KISSMYA,
    I should not engage an intellectual lilliputian like you.

My comments are for bloggers who understand that the
    reference to Owen (61 geriatric) is in comparison to Mia (45years young).

I also have no respect for Owen Arthur but that is a personal matter which I will not discuss on this blog.Sins against the father are sins against the son.
    nuff said

8. Interesting developments in the Sunday Sun this morning. A full page ad taken out and signed Barbadian which spells out the record of Minister David Estwick. The ad was very deliberate in dessicating Estwick from the office of Minister of Finance.

9. @KISSMYA

KISS MY BIG BLACK TOE TEE! YOU ARE ONE IGNORANT AS!&*LE!

10. Owen Arthur over the years has had nothing but scant disrespect for George Payne.
    —————————————-
    you dont say that

it is scant respect
    or total dis-respect

——————–
    PLEASE CORRECT AND NOTE
    thank me for the English Lesson/
    I Have 6 major qualifications in the subject

11. HANTS !
    You do not respect Owen Arthur and you would never support Owen don’t matter what. So we know where you stand–making a lot of stupid accusations about the man.
    HOW CAN YOU BE FAIR.

He cussed you ? probably had reason to do so
    You does cuss somebody when they doing shoooitte and you want them to do bettter—This is a Bajan thing–Bajan culture
    So dont feel no way. If more parents would cuss their children and beat them sometimes we would have less crime from the lost 19; 20 and 21 yearolds

OWEN IS THE MAN and Owen is MAN , he is not GOD nor an angel. Are you looking for a perfect human being ? You will remain miserable if that is the case. Owen is a brilliant man who rescued Barbados before and can do it again But because you have something against the man and a personal dislike for the man -you are going to condemn him based on that ?

Therefore I see your comments as useless and Biased
    Me -on the other hand call it as I see it and I am prepared to support whoever is leader of the Party or any party

I also support Sinckler as the next Prime Minister and anybody who the people elect. AS A MATTER OF FACT I PREDICTED OVER A YEAR AGO THAT SINCKLER COULD BE PM BEFORE THE 5 YEARS OF THIS TERM IS UP. This is Barbados and I want to see whoever in charge do well. We all will benefit. But I CALL IT AS I SEE IT and I am repeating that there was nothing overwhelming in 2008 to cause a change in Government. We are now regretting it.

COST OF LIVING WAS SUPPOSED TO COME DOWN !!!
    LIARS AND DECEIVERS !!!
    I and everybody understand this point.

Your attempts at insult is another expose on you again.
    Calling people geriatrics and now trying to question some one ‘s intelligence by exalting yourself shows where you are as a person.
    ————
    ISLAND GIRL246 ?
    WHA’ I DO YOU ?

anyhow I ready for all wunna . I aint fraid
    I can take wunna on any phucking time anywhere anyhow.

12. @David,
    The sunday sun is not online so us diasporacenti would not see the ad.
    Will have to rely on bloggers to discuss.

13. If the elected members of the DLP do not normalize the situation by being decisive regarding the choosing of a new a leader, will Barbados ask whether those members are really equipped to make the hard decisions needed to govern the country?

14. @ KISSMYA | October 17, 2010 at 10:52 AM |

Thru one side of your mouth, you said, “Owen Arthur is the best Prime Minister Barbados ever had.”
    Thru the other side you said, “… the greatest Prime Minister ever in Barbados
    THE RIGHT EXCELLENT ERROL WALTON BARROW”

Are you saying that Owen Arthur and Errol barrow were on a level playing field? If so. in what way.

15. The Barbadian version of Julius Caesar

When Mia Mottley goes to BLP headquarters tomorrow at 10:00 for her trial (having already been convicted and sentenced by the gang of 5) it will be akin to decency, integrity and the future of the BLP, coming face-to-face with electoral fraud, election rigging, blatant disregards for the BLP’s Constitution, corruption and the BLP‘s past.

Unfortunately, on this occasion, the entity that will lose will be the future of the BLP and integrity, since Mia Mottley will be sacked.

Why?

She is unlikely to play ball and will not allow herself to be blackmailed, neither will she negotiate or make a deal for her survival as Political Leader of the BLP and Leader of the Opposition.

The fiasco now unfolding within the BLP therefore seems like a Barbadian version of William Shakespeare’s tragedy” ‘Julius Caesar.’

In the Bajan scenario, the real issue is not leadership but CORRUPTION exposed, shamed and now hostile. The gang of 5 have lost the moral high-ground and are desperately looking for an escape route.

Talk about reviewing Mia Mottley’s leadership, is intended to downplay the overwhelming evidence of corruption and electoral fraud that has been uncovered within the BLP and merely highlights the fact that the gang of 5 has been MIA for the past 3 years.

In essence, it is their stewardship their constituents and taxpayers ought to be reviewing.

But as in Julius Caesar, where there were the conspirators, the BLP gang of 5 or the local conspirators have also manufactured a superficial motive for wanting to remove Mia Mottley. They say that it is some letter that is the final straw.

Sounds familiar?

In Julius Caesar the conspirators petitioned Caesar to bring back a man who he had banished knowing quite well that Caesar would not agree to such madness.

So that when Caesar said “NO,” they immediately drove their daggers in him.

Reluctantly, Brutus is last. At this point, Caesar utters the famous line “Et tu, Brute?” (“And you, Brutus?”, i.e. “You too, Brutus?”).

The stab which Mia Mottley will feel most tomorrow will be that of her Deputy, Dale Marshall, and like Caesar, that will floor her.

It is at that point that she is likely to tell herself that she does not want to survive such treachery.

Like the conspirators who said they did it for Rome, the BLP gang of 5 will try to make clear that they committed this act for the BLP and not for their own purposes (lust, greed, ambition, power & wealth)

The Mark Anthony in all this could be Trevor Prescod. If yesterday‘s Sun on Saturday is anything to go by, we know that already there is a move to expel Pain from the BLP, symbolic of the conspirators being banished from Rome.

16. Which side of my mouth
    I spoke clearly

Do you understand BEST
    Do you understand GREATEST
    I am for BARBADOS and what it needs at the time
    I am not partisan/Political

I HAPPENED TO LOVE OWEN SEYMOUR ARTHUR and I am still annoyed about 2008 cause of the lies and innuendo by the DLP. It ws not right ! the DLP does tell too much lies-I hate lies !

17. The BLP a party of inveterate miscreants, continues to masquerade as protectors of the people. But you cannot protect those you are sworn to protect, without connecting to some reality that it was the Arthur administration that buried Barbados in woefully bad economic decisions. Mr Arthur’s slothful political behavior, transported Barbados to the precipice of currency devaluation, and Fiat catastrophe. Mr Arthur and the idiot savant Mascoll, dabbled in a ruinous monopoly money fiasco, which will cost future generations of Babadians, to mortgage away their birth rights. Economists, my ass, the BLP should be ashamed of itself. These political elites and self righteous rhetoricians cast these seed of doubt by design, leading the lambs to their slaughter. If Barbados with all of its young political brain thrust defers to an aging relic, like Owen S Arthur, then we all deserve what we will get.

18. The stakes are high but the choice is clear.

Barbadian can either decide to look back or look to the future with renewed hope and confidence.

Still, it should now be clear to women that securing the change we need will not be easy.

We must be determined that each time one of us is kicked-down, yet another will rise because our time has come.

We know that we are up against men who want power and dominance. Men who want to maintain the status quo. Men who will do and say anything even turn to corruption just to keep what they have and get what they want.

But we better than any man – know what it is to struggle; to be qualified but asked to be contented.

We know what it is to be qualified and still find that becoming Commissioner of Police or Chief of Staff or even Prime Minister of Barbados, is out of our reach

We have worked hard! We have made sacrifices. We know what it’s like to have to get more marks in the Common Entrance Exam than boys, in order to be able to go to Queens College or Harrison College.

But we must recognise that now is the time to take action so that the next generation of Barbadian women would not have to.

WOMEN, This is our moment to help open the door so that our daughters, sisters aunts and grand daughters can walk through.

It is out chance to make it as women if we try.

Let us remove the limits; the barriers, the obstacles. Let us join the cause and the mission of Mia Mottley. Let us stand up and say enough!.. That there can no longer be a goal or Office beyond our reach – not even the office of Leader of the Opposition or Prime Minister of Barbados.

Join Mia Mottley, walk with her so that together we as women can turn a new page.

If you make that commitment–if you take that critical step; if you knock on doors within your community; if you send emails and text messages, if you talk to persons in your Church, if you roll up your sleeves and join the cause – then change will come to Barbados.

WE CAN CHANGE THIS COUNTRY.

19. Bajan Panday wrote “But we must recognise that now is the time to take action so that the next generation of Barbadian women would not have to.”

Some wise person once said “The price of freeedom is ETERNAL VIGILANCE”

If women are to come into their rightful place in Barbados, the women will have to be eternally vigilant. Wise women know that they CAN NEVER REST on their laurels.

20. I understand Owen left Barbados with his family on thursday, so unless he came back today , he will be a no show at the meeting tommorow.

21. KISSMYA wrote on October 17, 2010 at 11:08 AM |” Let me state categorically that MEN are born to LEAD. Women need to take their places and know their places and there is nothing wrong with that. Lets just accept that. I know of many more women who feel this way Let men lead; let women help”

This is the most stupid statement I have ever read on this blog.

22. @ Rose

Something about a birthday; that’s why some are saying he left.
    If, therefore, he backraises George….as I expect, what will the decision be? George, Glyne, Ronald and Dale = 4
    Mia, Cynthie, Rawle and Duguid = 4
    Who is the King/Queen Maker? Can Mia make a move at the Conference, or can George be kicked out … as he should be? If Mia attends tomorrow, she should have a legal representative, all accusations against her put in writing and the meeting tape-recorded by her for use in any later defences against her opponents.

If the group of candidates for the next election brings a legal case against George, it is going to be dirty and worse that the present situation. Neither our country nor the the ordinary members of the party deserve this. As the BYDC has stated, this is going to have a negative impact on our youth.

23. I despise the politician Owen Arthur. I don’t despise the man Owen Arthur, for I know him not. I am irate at what Mr Arthur has attempted to do with my beloved Barbados. He single handedly tried to destroy the democratic principles of Barbados, by making Barbados a one party state. It is for that reason that Owen S Arthur will be dubbed, Barbados’ worst Prime Minister in my opinion. I will however be willing to say that some of his economic measures did serve Barbados well, but he is a megalomaniac of the highest order. He is devious, underhanded and perhaps even sociopathic. As long as Owen Arthur is the parliamentary representative for St Peter, Mia Mottley will be in great political danger. Both Owen and Mia will never allow any other members of the BLP, to “Play in their sand boxes.” In essence, the political outlook from the BLP side of the aisle, will also be ran by decrepit former has beens. Owen the aged, once heir to greatness, now stumples around a shadow of his former self, feeding on that political viagra, that says, I can get it up one last time. Truth be told, Owen, Mia and the likes of the BLP, operates on borrowed political time. Bankrupt ideas, have sent the BLP into the pavilion of Island wide bewilderment, if not amusement. Gather your things, members of the BLP, be wise in your choices, choose not with your hearts but with your intellects. It is not always while sitting on the mountain top, that the future is revealed. Know that in the valleys of life, struggles manifested build character. Right about now, the BLP could use an infusion of serious character building.

24. The Barbadian version of Julius Caesar

When Mia Mottley goes to BLP headquarters today at 10:00 for her trial (having already been convicted and sentenced by the gang of 5) it will be akin to decency, integrity and the future of the BLP, coming face-to-face with electoral fraud, election rigging, blatant disregards for the BLP’s Constitution, corruption and the BLP‘s past.

Unfortunately, on this occasion, the entity that will lose will be the future of the BLP and integrity, since Mia Mottley will be sacked.

Why?

She is unlikely to play ball and will not allow herself to be blackmailed, neither will she negotiate or make a deal for her survival as Political Leader of the BLP and Leader of the Opposition.

The fiasco now unfolding within the BLP therefore seems like a Barbadian version of William Shakespeare’s tragedy” ‘Julius Caesar.’

In the Bajan scenario, the real issue is not leadership but CORRUPTION exposed, shamed and now hostile. The gang of 5 have lost the moral high-ground and are desperately looking for an escape route.

Talk about reviewing Mia Mottley’s leadership, is intended to downplay the overwhelming evidence of corruption and electoral fraud that has been uncovered within the BLP and merely highlights the fact that the gang of 5 has been MIA for the past 3 years. In essence, it is their stewardship their constituents and taxpayers ought to be reviewing.

But as in Julius Caesar, where there were the conspirators, the BLP gang of 5 or the local conspirators have also manufactured a superficial motive for wanting to remove Mia Mottley. They say that it is some letter that is the final straw. Sounds familiar?

In Julius Caesar the conspirators petitioned Caesar to bring back a man who he had banished knowing quite well that Caesar would not agree to such madness. So that when Caesar said “NO,” they immediately drove their daggers in him.

Reluctantly, Brutus is last. At this point, Caesar utters the famous line “Et tu, Brute?” (“And you, Brutus?”, i.e. “You too, Brutus?”).

The stab which Mia Mottley will feel most tomorrow will be that of her Deputy, Dale Marshall, and like Caesar, that will floor her. It is at that point that she is likely to tell herself that she does not want to survive such treachery.

Like the conspirators who said they did it for Rome, the BLP gang of 5 will try to make clear that they committed this act for the BLP and not for their own purposes (lust, greed, ambition, power & wealth)

The Mark Anthony in all this could be Trevor Prescod.

If yesterday‘s Sun on Saturday is anything to go by, we know that already there is a move to expel Pain from the BLP, symbolic of the conspirators being banished from Rome

25. We shall see what happens today in Roebuck Street.

It is a simple expectation to expect the parties involved will do anything other than what is in their political interest.

We wish all well in resolving the impasse.

26. Trevor Prescod as Mark Anthony, is laughable. Here is a member of the political class Albert Brandford had to remind that the “masses of the people” do not select the Leader of the opposition. Trevor is to angry, to emotional, and to intune with culture to think it a compliment to be liken unto a person with two first names. lol!

27. Yes david; I agree, but does the political interest of all the parties (ie. opposition parliamentarians) coincide? If the political interest of a few is to ensure their viability for a PM’s job sometime in the future it may not coincide with the political interest of others that might be to ensure that the party (the BLP) stays viable and can be used as a reliable vehicle for their remaining in parliament whenever elections are next called. An action that could possibly cause great damage to the fabric of the BLP would not be in the interests of any of the protagonists.
    I suspect that most people have not examined carefully the possible fallout from pursuing the currently apparently favoured course. Backing back from the precipice can cause a few to lose considerable face but would do less damage to the fabric of the party and continuing in the present course.
    It would now appear that the grounds for removing Mia now are relatively frivolous; not allowing attacks on David Thompson; leadership style; and the stray that broke the camel’s back, Henderson’s Bovell foolish letter. Surely those matters could be negotiated and some compromises made on either side.

I am waiting with bated breath to hear the outcome of this morning’s deliberations, if they indeed take place.

28. People we are missing the point here. Here is a man who hastily and angrily gave over the position to Mia Mottley and then like a child when he cooled down decided he wants it back, and then because it wasn’t handed back to him decided that he would make innuendos and slurs against her character and integrity, as if he has integrity. He has no moral integrity, take a look it his personal life and don’t tell me that is his personal business, wants you become a politician your life becomes public scrutiny.

Perhaps it is time that we choose our politicians based on character as well as ability, because we are seeing the results of our poor judgment in our young people in the lack of respect they have for our mores and values.
    When they look to our politicians to emulate them, they see all kinds of debauched behavior. The only thing that shines on them is their ability to master numbers, read well, or act well.

As a society we need to reaccess our values. Generations unborn will depend upon what we will accept today.

Enough is Enough.

29. @ fran | October 18, 2010 at 9:47 AM |

I could not agree with you more. You could not have penned your comments any better or clearer; they are right on target. You hit those nails directly in the head.

Some of the comments by others are hypocrisy to the max.

30. Dear Mr Arthur,
    Why accept a position that you do not want? How can you perform feeling that way? What has taken place today at Roebuck Street has serious consequences for the BLP. They have dethroned the most competent person that had a vision for Barbados. A vision into the future and not in the past. Those who supported this changing of the guard must remember they have regressed to Shangri La. This will definitely show at the very next election.

This is a lesson to all Barbadian Women, we still have a fight for equality on our hands and please do not falter.

31. Bajans will live to regret what took place today in Roebuck Street! And for what? Just to salve the outsized ego of “has-been”?

32. I am a happy man today. It might be shortlived but every inch forward is profound progress to me. Until Mia Mottley and her supporters in and out of parliament say otherwise, we now have two BLP’s. Mine is a long held view that we will not see much progress on the political and governance front until one of the two main political parties dies or a viable faction arises out of one or both to form a credible third party. Come on Mia you can do this. You may not make it to the promise land of Leader of Barbados but you can be the Moses of politics and governance by sowing the seeds of progress needed to grow our systems. This is your calling.

33. @De hood
    this is good. Mia needs to rise to the challenge and take Richie Haynes idea further.

34. Owen claims that if it wasn’t for him Mia wouldn’t be where she is today. If he is the only one in the BLP that recognized Mia potential, it speaks volumes about the other members of parliament.

It is time for Bajans to do some house cleaning next election. It is time to rid the political parties of regurgitated and non recyclable politicians. We need fresh thinkers and those who dare to embrace and implement change.

35. What an arrogant SOB to state that he elevated MIA!

36. @ AH
    Only one problem, Ah. That is that I may have to see the results of the next election from a ward at Jenkins. That’s where I anticipate I’ll be by the time this regime is done with Barbados! Like all those who ended up there when they were last in charge in the 90s.

37. But Islandgal24 where were you when he liken himself unto the Fidel?

@de hood
    man stop over reacting, or at least give us something remotely believable. What jenkins for you what. chupse

38. @ AH

Man, you are really Bajan. Short memory! Don’t you remember what happened to so many people during the 90s. You don’t remember 30,000 people marching on Sandi? What did they march for then if things were not real bleak in this country then?

39. My adive to Miss Mottley is to take a well deserved rest until 2017, when the 2018 election is nigh.

During this time, cultivate the young members of the BLP, find suitable 2018 candidates and work on a program for 2018.

The DLP will win in 2013, so there is no spilt milk.

40. @ Crusoe

But you real brave! How you so sure there will be a “2013”? Are you forgetting about the 2012 “prophesy”? 🙂

41. @De hood
    That 30,000 sound like the size of the civil service their families and Union comrades who had to endure a 8% cut in pay.

42. @ Crusoe

However, I like your suggestion. Don’t you think, though, that she (MAM) could move a little faster and be in time for the next “silly season” whenever (6months?, a year?, 2 years?) that may be?

43. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

Did anyone notice William Duguid’s strange role in all of this? Seemed to have a foot on both sides of the fence. Regardless I would not want to be caught in the middle of this battle of the titans. Rawle Eastmond and Cynthia Forde will have hell to pay.

44. @ AH
    Definitely not, Sir! I am (was) neither one of those and I was there in the planning and execution. 🙂

45. It is very clear that MR Owen Arthur believes that he can deliver Barbados from evil. He stated that made Mia what she is today and had the authority to break her. If only she would do things his way, he gave her the job BUT she was not to think for herself. She had to take orders from HIM her BENEFACTOR and SAVIOUR . Sadly this is how things are done in the public and private sector. If anyone attempt to go against the tide their tenure will be cut short. How can any business and nation progress in times like these?

46. Bonny Peppa, get well soon. Your voice is missed and needed on this recent chain of events that took place today, Monday, Oct.14th.

Look forward to reading your input soon.

47. VIVA! VIVA!
    VIVA MIA!

48. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

I just hey lookin thru my winda, lookin down de gap … minding my own business.

But I too glad duh get de rid uh dah *itch. Can’t stand she. I aint got nuh sympathy fuh she cos when she did bout hey like a big maguffy intimidating people and throwing bout she big lotta weight like a buffaluh in a china shop (parliament) she did behaving like she mek sheself. I too glad she get tek down a couple pegs. Leh she go and cool she hotself.

I hope she never get Prime minister bout hey. I aint care how bright she supposed tuh be, head aint brain. She too blasted-well onmarnley wid sheself. She int nuh role model fuh me, and she can’t represent me as a Bajan woman neida so get dah dey straight. And all de women who bout the place picking up fuh she and begging fuh she, wunnah want wunnah nookerts bitin out! (Not by me, I int in dem kinda tings, bo.) I never once hear she speak up fuh women yet!! She claimning yuh get onfair? Well she had a chance tuh represent sheself and she run. Onfair? Dah is politics. Get over it and get over yuh blasted self!! Not one ounce of sympathy from me. All I want now, is de real juice pon why deh run yuh way! When yuh own dog bite yuh yuh well bite!

49. I guess the recent PR blitz on this blog did not generate the expected results.
    Or did it?

50. Arthur has won this skirmish but the battle is still ahead. He will need a lot of luck to prevail against whoever wins out in the coming DLP stakes, and frankly, I am not certain that I wish him any luck in that encounter after listening to his victory speech.
    I however wish Mia the very best in her future political life, including luck. I expect to continue to hear her promote strategic positions that will be for the eventual betterment of Barbados even if they may conflict with those of the new leader of her party.