George Pilgrim, General Secretary, Democratic Labour Party

I can’t imagine how history will record this period in the political life of the Barbados Labour Party. The current impasse has begged the question of whose interest are the current machinations taking place. My limited knowledge of what takes place in Roebuck Street has guided me to make some assumptions.

1. Owen and George Payne reached a private accommodation.

2. Owen intends to see that back of the BLP elites broken.

3. Owen does not care what the status quo in the party is thinking.

4. Owen has had a change of heart about being leader.

When taking the above assumptions into consideration, I am led to believe that Owen has promised Payne something big, whenever the BLP retains power [whenever that is]. This relationship is puzzling as we ponder on the historical relationship of the two individuals. We all appreciate that BLP politics is  viewed as a convergence of interests where minds meet for a stake in the bigger pie. In this scenario, we have witnessed the deafening silence of Owen, the man at the centre. However, he has managed to have  all knives and arrows  pointing towards Mottley and Payne.

There is something in this political equation that is fundamentally telling.  How does Owen, the principal  of the spectacle, stay so quiet and unnoticed? The BLP’s factions are calling for Payne to be pulled in line while others are saying that Mia should step aside and let Owen take over. Owen Arthur has been able to get two of his known party adversaries to go after each other in public.

Now that is where the coup is occurring!!!

With one swoop, Arthur will perform political annihilation on his two obstacles. Come on Labourites, you have got to look into the forest and separate the wood from the trees.  It is clear that Owen is of the view  that his legacy is under threat by the status quo. It’s no secret the way Arthur treated the party stalwarts during his tenure. The likes of Sir Richard, Sir Louis, Dame Billie and of course Lionel Craig, who was later honoured during this current administration’s tenure, have all suffered under his tongue. Arthur’s reign did not only come to an end with the loss at the polls, but the elites saw it as an opportunity to purge themselves of his posture. A posture they tolerated because they understand what politics and interest meant at that time.

Owen does not care for the views of the elites of the party. He did a number to attain the job as Opposition Leader; that episode is a matter of public record. Once Sir Henry Forde fell for the drama, Owen was able to begin dismantling the status quo, as he found it. The gradual redefining of the BLP in the image of Arthur was his next project. He kept the ones close to him that he thought would do the most damage, hence we saw where the darlings on the BLP were located, as his deputies. The tone with which the only comment from Arthur came regarding the leadership issue, was that he was trying to be civil about the matter. When one peels back what he was saying it reminded me of what David Banner would say in the picture The Incredible Hulk.  “ Mr McGee, don’t make me angry. You wouldn’t like when I am angry.”

On the matter of being leader, I think that the comments by Arthur in the past regarding his disinterest must be seen in context. I don’t think he is the type of guy who lets on what his intentions are too early. Even if he has intended actions, he will defer the announcement until the time is right. But you can always tell when he is up to something [check his short grin].  There can be no doubt that at the back of Arthur’s mind [way back] he genuinely believes that he can be Prime Minister of Barbados again.

This belief however, will have to square with the wishes of his party people on conference day. I think on this occasion, he played his hand badly. The elites of the party will make life very difficult for Arthur . He has experienced what it was like to have cooperation in government but that was because they had a goal post. In opposition, the issue will be survival of the BLP, as an institution and the elites have already accepted responsibility for the preservation of their party. These are the guys that built the walls of the empire that Arthur came and found. But Arthur does not and will never share their outlook. Arthur was recruited into the fold of the BLP to do a job but he saw an opportunity and ran with it. He delivered for them and now they have had enough of him. I am not sure where the glory is in this for Arthur to be facing off with the status quo. But one thing is certain is that they intend to defend their girl Mia to the max.

In any organisation the glue that binds the agency together when unhinged opens up the severe cracks that were always there. There was never any love among or between these political folks. The public display of what has taken place is only the semblance of the true love/hate chord that binds these individuals together. What the public debate has told me is that Arthur is certainly in planning. He has set the scene for a showdown between two of his party rivals without batting an eyelid.  My assumptions and commentary lead me to believe that Arthur is the single beneficiary of the current machinations and not the BLP.

129 responses to “All Roads Lead To Owen Seymour Arthur”

1. @Bonny Sweet Peppa

I hope you are felling better. We miss yuh real bad in heh. Lordy I need sum back up heh, I cahn carry dis load pon muh own.
    Get well real soon, we love yuh.

yuh frien,
    Islanddgal

2. Checkit-out, it is good to have principles and ethics. These should be a prerequisite for all politicians and their supporters.

Wish the man luck nuh, you will feel better and it will go a long way in facilitating the healing that is required between the two camps. At the end of the day there is only one BLP.

3. Well as the Doc (GP) will say……….” the Lord giveth and the Lord taketh, blessed be the Lord”

4. This is exactly what the issue is all about:

“The BLP has a challenge and we have a situation where there’s not a contest for leadership within the party, but there is a problem in the wider Barbados society, where there is unacceptance and unacceptability of the present leader of the party.

But unfortunately, Mia, her fans, and those who would like to think that the BLP is experiencing the same type of internal problems that the DLP experienced not so long ago. The majority of Barbadians much rather see Owen in charge than Mia, therefore it is in the interest of the country and the party that this change take place at this time. I personally wish there was someone else in the BLP who could step up to the leadership at this time…but having to choose between Mia and Owen…have to go with Owen. It’s the public image of Mia that led to her removal, not power hungryness on the part of others as so many would like to believe. Mia obviously did not accept this reality.

5. That should have read:

But unfortunately, Mia, her fans, and those who would like to think that the BLP is experiencing the same type of internal problems that the DLP experienced not so long ago, do not understand or accept this reality.

6. This country desperately needs a viable 3rd political party.

7. @anonymous
    we werent ready for Richie and his offer at 3rd party…Are we ready now you think. Richie and Mia, two of the most brilliant minds!!!!

8. To Owen Arthur supporters
    Stop the spin. Owen made a naked grab for power which is his right after he recognized that David Thompson may not be able to compete in the next election.
    He fired a shot across her bow last year accusing her of behaviour which he said she should deal with. He never said what the behavior was. Along with the greedy four who are looking for more free money from the public purse, they made a play for leadership knowing Mia was picking new candidates who would give her options and that free money made be difficult to get.
    Owen now walks right back into stress because the amount of dirt that will resurface will make his drinking problem to increase.
    Can you believe they are blaming Henderson Bovell letter. Henderson you are now dead.
    Lookout for Mascoll as a senator.

9. The parliamentary group of the Barbados Labour Party voted to support former Prime Minister Owen Arthur as leader of the Opposition.
    Ms. Mottley did not attend the meeting.

10. The deed is done.

The upcoming BLP conference should be a lively affair.

We all need to take a deep breath. BU is not surprised at how this matter has unfolded.

The next discussion point, the backroom deals which have been made.

11. Owen and the other 4 of the cabal of 5 have now taken a page out of the book of politics as written by David Thompson and the DLP a few years ago. This cabal of 5 should hang their heads in shame. I always thought that what Thompson did to Mascoll was heinous to say the least and now OSA has done the same exact thing to MAM!
    Let me say this I only waiting fuh dah snake Gline to show he face at my gate again. He gine know wuh Lord he really serving den! I jes waitin’ fuh see he.

12. Wunnuh must understand that both Owen and Thompson has the same view of a political party, which differs from Mia and her supporters who thinks that a political party is to be a revered institution.

13. @de hood
    Why you taking the Lord name in vain. What did the Lord have to do with any of this. THem five are evil doers and they will have to pay for this turn of events. VOTE NO FOR OWEN ARTHUR IN THE NEXT ELECTION!

14. All the BLP supporters on this blog should stop the spinning. The wicket ent teking nuh more spin. This situation with the BLP is going to get worse. I hope the conference is videostreamed next week. It getting cold here in New York, We need some heat!!

15. @Perlixing Pearlie
    “I just hey lookin thru my winda, lookin down de gap … minding my own business.”

Continue minding yuh own business by staring down yuh gap!

16. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

@islandgal246

Wuh happen wid u? Yuh like you got a big-ass bee in yuh bonnet. Ouch! Boo hoo!
    Yuh want a lil lullaby?

17. @Perlixin Pearlie
    “Wuh happen wid u? Yuh like you got a big-ass bee in yuh bonnet. Ouch! Boo hoo!”

I ain got nuh bees at all yuh got dem up yuh big Ass!

18. @island gal’
    Don’t let dat perplexing nitwit botha U.

19. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar

Cuddear. Wunnah too touchus tho. I aint do wunnah a ting and wunnah come and trouble me. I is a lady so I aint coming down to wunnah level so wunnah could behave as frowsy as wunnah want. I gine stan here poor peaceful and polite and minding my business.

20. @Perlixin Pearlie

Go and eat yuh grass yuh ole goat and continue mining yuh own bizness.

21. I am preapared to let MEN lead
    Ask any woman if she likes a woman boss
    How could my statement be that stupid
    I have echoed the sentiments of many women I know
    MEN ARE THE LEADERS
    WOMEN THE HELP
    Whenever we reverse the roles=-PROBLEMS
    Ask any SEVENTH DAY ADVENTIST WOMAN

22. ac | October 18, 2010 at 5:43 PM | @de hood
    Why you taking the Lord name in vain. What did the Lord have to do with any of this. THem five are evil doers and they will have to pay for this turn of events. VOTE NO FOR OWEN ARTHUR IN THE NEXT ELECTION!

=====——AC —STFU
    SHUT UP NOW

TALK BOUT THE DLP –Kellman in wunna ass beore the week out —wunna wait !
    BLP is settled with new Leadership
    DLP got problems
    Wunna fraid and dislike OWEN but wunna know he is good leader -(yes!) and secretly wunna desire OWEN SEYMOUR ARTHUR

By the way !
    Howcum Peter Wickham predict all kinda saucy mouth shite and he could not see this coming—???? Ha ha

23. How does Owen feel now that he has succeded with his bandits to divide the BLP, this gang will never govern Barbados,did any one see what Clyde Griffith said in today’s nation newspaper, he said Owen only come back because David sick , but God will raise David again,and Owen will run away again when David walk those steps of parliament again.

24. The BLP needs no advice from ac
    The BLP RAN THIS COUNTRY WELL
    BRINGING BARBADOS FROM THE DEPTHS OF DESPAIR IN 1994.

JOBS NO1 WAS JOBS
    and unemployment was brought down to 6 % BY THE BLP even with imported labour.

IS BARBADOS BETTER OFF NOW THAN PRE 2008 ?

HAS THE COST OF LIVING GONE UP OR DOWN.

HAVE THE FOREIGN RESERVES GONE UP OR DOWN ?
    None of wunna DLP sympathisers /Owen Bashers cannot be comfortable answering these questions so go ahead and attack me -the person me
    KISSMYA’I LOVE OWEN SEYMOUR ARTHUR’ MCCLEAN

25. Kissmya wrote “Wunna fraid and dislike OWEN (we neither fear nor dislike him. Most of us are indifferent, wouldn’t care if he died tomorrow and wouldn’t care if he won a Nobel prize) but wunna know he is good leader -(yes!) (sometime yes, sometims no) and secretly wunna desire (this is so hilarious, especially if you mean sexual desire. We do NOT desire him. We do NOT find old men desirable or attractive) . OWEN SEYMOUR ARTHUR

Don’t make me call you a semiliterate cow again.

26. WHATS WRONG WITH OLD AND HOW OLD IS OLD ?
    PEOPLE LIKE YOU NEED TO GET BACK TO THE TRADITION OF HONOURING ELDERS
    AND STOP TRYING TO USE OLD IN A DEROGOTARY MANNER

SHAME ON YOU J
    your sentiments betray you
    May the spirits of the ancestors deal with you as they see fit
    SELAH !

27. @KISSMYA

Since you desire Owen you are in very desperate state. BUT KEEP IT TO YOURSELF! DON’T LET PEOPLE KNOW THAT YOU LIKE DRUNKEN DIRTY DRIBBLY OLD MEN!

28. SAD COMMENT
    Very Sad reflection on you island girl

29. Wunnah too touchus tho. I aint do wunnah a ting and wunnah come and trouble me. I is a lady so I aint coming down to wunnah level so wunnah could behave as frowsy as wunnah want. I gine stan here poor peaceful and polite and minding my business.