Submitted by C Newton

The pending industrial action at the QEH can only be about greed by the doctors and sensational behaviour of the NUPW. Speaking to a union delegate to the issue, it is a case of relief workers who are also called casual workers. These are only called in by management to fill in when someone is on holiday or sick leave.
The NUPW is claiming that they have an expectation to fill any suitable vacancies over anyone else. QEH Board has taken the position that it must hire the best persons at all levels, like private sector companies do, and are seeking to put clear recruitment policies in place.
As a former Salesman of Hospital Supplies, I will give an example. Meal carts being sold to QEH for as much as $10,000 when the real cost was $2,500 unpadded. Mr Dexter James, the Minister and Board must stop people from outsourcing to themselves. The mafia style syndicate must be broken up among QEH doctors and employees. Consultants cannot continue to give private patients priority over public ones. The QEH must work on a formula on consultants public private consultations, thus the resistance to accountability.
My girlfriend works in the Lab and has told me that many a times they are limited reagents. Yet some doctors would drop off their specimens from their private practice to be tested. Can these things be fair to the tax payers of Barbados? If the doctors want to strike let the greedy ones strike. I will give the Ministry of Health my support if they fire them for withholding services to the poor.
Some doctors even got the gall to charge more for first visits, thus pushing health care inflation to be the highest in the Caribbean. Mr Minister, you have my support, the QEH is ailing, you need to take corrective measures before it goes on life support.
Please give a chance to younger but often times better trained doctors, the chance to move up.

227 responses to “Are Doctors Fighting To Protect Turf At Queen Elizabeth Hospital?”
Did I not tell you months ago how the fellas think, and how they will react? Did I not tell you that they will close ranks, and explain why?
I know that there are fellas who do things their way. And I think that you understand that these guys are a reflection of our society. I also know that there are good folk in BAMP too who love the country and their work. BUt what can a few individuals do when the association closes ranks. If BAMP sides with the so called Czars, what can I do? In future I will stay out of things medical on BU and on the island.
A set of you are just expressing your hatred for me by your nasty comments. I am trying to explain how the guys think and act. It does not benefit me if they strike or not. It just tickles me how you fellas up in arms with the guys. Its funny. Its funny how some of you think I am a moron, but when the same fellas chose not to do the Governments bidding in 1985, as a junior Doctor I had the guts and balls to write the PM and something was done. And none will stop me from boating about that accomplishment.
Here it is that I have no new ideas BUT JAMES IS SPOUTING MY OLD IDEAS OF 2008 IN HIS BIG JOB
ITS VERY FUNNY DAVID.. LOL
Re Are you saying if the QEH management has decided to deal with a couple consultants who have become Czars by making the QEH their fiefdom there is absolutely nothing that can be done?
I AM SAYING THAT BAMP AND THE ESTABLISHMENT WILL FIGHT OIT OPUT AS THE BOYS CLOSE RANKS
And you will find that my predictions are correct
You are right man ! The government should fire most of them. They are a lot of useless doctors who only care about the almighty dollar.
And no Carson I am not having a field day. I am telling you what is going to happen and why it will happen that way. I am not defending the doctors nor am I a part of the status quo. I live in FL far far away from the action How can I be part of the problem jackass? I don’t work in QEH since 1981!
I reaped no sweets from the QEH, but I did do many hours of hard labor for which we were made 45 $ FOR 16 HOURS COMPULSORY OVERTIIME.. And I know what it is to be on call from 8 on Saturday morning to 8 on Monday morning and then working eight hours on Monday. That was reaping sweets? I did my year and I left.
Eustine sent you to school but you didnt learn to read did you?
Listen to you bray! . “He is part of the problem. He has absolutely no interest in seeing any type of change at the QEH or any of the other govt. healthcare institutions. “
GP designed the NHS as practiced since 1985 . GP proposed ideas for its improvements in 2008 The same proposals that Dr James repeating today were presented on BU by GP and before that to my DLP friends. LOL
GP wrote”In future I will stay out of things medical on BU and on the island.”
That is your right GP but this blog needs your input.
Anyhow, I jus rememba I doan need a your ologist. I got a fren dat is a mechanic an he got screwdrivers I could borrow to clear de urinary trac muh self.
You all hear mia mottley tonight? she show up she true colours. can’t believe she siding with the rich doctors when this struggle is about making changes to ensure poor barbadians get the care they entitled to when they go to the QEH. Mottley dont seem to care about that. She backing the doctors. that is why poor barbadians must reject her when she ask them to vote BLP. The blp always gangs up with the rich to oppress the poor.
Hants;
What is your profession… my superiors shoe interest in you …. (shoe..?)
Sylvan
Most definitely a viable comment (forgive the English)… repeated three comments to Hants and all were squashed … now my family very suspicious about this Hants …
David:
Two of my children are medical doctors, as opposed to the Pine hill Dairy kind, like myself, and a third is a DMD, UPenn, and a Prosthodontist. The eldest spent 18 months at QEH (1995-1996, and I don’t feel that I should share what he told me, for the peace of mind of those who have to use its facilities. I feel that studying outside the UWI system does present a problem of cognitive rehabilitation (I guess you will have to google that!). However, Barbadosis, in many ways, highly integrated into the world economy. Should not this include our medical services?
Just a thought!
http://www.orlandosentinel.com/health/la-heb-doctors-quality20100803,0,7596497.story
Some U.S. patients — or even fellow doctors — might be less than comfortable with a foreign-born physician who didn’t graduate from a U.S. medical school. They shouldn’t be, a new study suggests.
Patients treated for congestive heart failure or heart attack had similar mortality rates regardless of whether they were cared for by graduates of U.S. medical schools or non-U.S. medical schools, concludes an analysis published today in the journal Health Affairs. Further, patients of non-U.S. citizens who graduated from a foreign medical school had lower mortality rates while in the hospital — a fairly important marker, most people would agree — than did patients of U.S. citizens who graduated from U.S. medical schools.
Of note, patients cared for by U.S. citizens who received their medical degrees abroad fared relatively poorly in terms of mortality while in the hospital.
Such findings, and reassurances (except for that previous paragraph), are important now more than ever. As the researchers note in the first sentence of their study: “Graduates of international medical schools make up approximately one-quarter of U.S. practicing physicians.”
And a fuller (and readily available) picture as presented in Health Affairs a couple of years back — in case you’re sufficiently intrigued to do further reading: The International Medical Graduate Pipeline: Recent Trends in Certification and Residency Training.
— Tami Dennis
Evaluating The Quality Of Care Provided By Graduates Of International Medical Schools
John J. Norcini1,*, John R. Boulet2, W. Dale Dauphinee3, Amy Opalek4, Ian D. Krantz5 and Suzanne T. Anderson6
1 John J. Norcini (jnorcini@FAIMER.org ) is president and chief executive officer of the Foundation for Advancement of International Medical Education and Research (FAIMER), in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
2 John R. Boulet is associate vice president for research and data resources at FAIMER.
3 W. Dale Dauphinee is a senior scholar at FAIMER.
4 Amy Opalek is a data resource specialist at FAIMER.
5 Ian D. Krantz is an associate professor of pediatrics at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia and the Division of Human Genetics and Molecular Biology at the University of Pennsylvania, in Philadelphia.
6 Suzanne T. Anderson is senior vice president, chief financial officer, and chief information officer at the Virginia Mason Medical Center, in Seattle, Washington.
One-quarter of practicing physicians in the United States are graduates of international medical schools. The quality of care provided by doctors educated abroad has been the subject of ongoing concern. Our analysis of 244,153 hospitalizations in Pennsylvania found that patients of doctors who graduated from international medical schools and were not U.S. citizens at the time they entered medical school had significantly lower mortality rates than patients cared for by doctors who graduated from U.S. medical schools or who were U.S. citizens and received their degrees abroad. The patient population consisted of those with congestive heart failure or acute myocardial infarction. We found no significant mortality difference when comparing all international medical graduates with all U.S. medical school graduates.
http://content.healthaffairs.org/cgi/content/abstract/29/8/1461
BAFBFP wrote” Hants; What is your profession… my superiors shoe interest in you …. ”
I do not have a profession.
DAVID
“Don’t we have any issues in the last 21/2 years where the opposition out of national interest would want to support government?”
Are you willing to ask this question again?
The orders for this strike did not come the doctors, it came from the Barbados Labour Party through its operatives.
Check the pedigree of Dr. Belle.
For a body like BAMP to call a strike with such immediacy, and without any call for prior dialogue or discussion; and without any attempt to put its case to the public (who they will be putting in danger with their strike) is highly suspicious at the very least…. it is also highly UN-professional.
Now were bush tea the chairman of the QEH Board; urgent action in the High Court of Barbados seeking to censure the threatened action of BAMP and to hold that organization DIRECTLY responsible – both financially and otherwise, for any fallout from said threatened strike action by doctors would be my next move.
Unless these union cliques are held responsible for their childish and disruptive actions, such bullying will continue to dominate industrial relations in this country…
…just saying.
If someone dies as a result of the doctors strike can the family of the decease sue BAMP?
Where is M/S Sandiford Garner in this situation,I thought that she held some responsibility for the QEH i.e Min of Health like Mr Boyce for financial and economic matters.
Can someone keep us up to date with the number of deaths at the QEH as a result of the doctors strike?
Isn’t Senator Irene-Sandiford responsible for project i.e. the refurbishing/building of a new hospital?
Leave Irene out a dis. Not her responsibility.
@Bush Tea, “Now were bush tea the chairman of the QEH Board” you would probably provoke a Nationwide strike.
Like it or not Unions are very powerful in Babados so doan gih nuhbody nuh ideas.
Many may question the above. We still remember the Royal Shop/ Sandy Lane matter.
We still remember LIME sending home people recently against the understanding of the BWU and wish of the PM.
BU vaguely remembers Sir Roy and Bobby Morris standing on the back of a truck a few years ago in protest of a Harbour Road company sending home people. To no avail.
There are others…
BushTea
I am in your corner on this one there really ought to be a law about these “wild cat” walk outs. Every time there is a grievance the first thing the leaders of these various unions do is threaten to strike. Last year when I was in Bim Sir Roy threaten to shut down the island over the Royal Shop & Sandy Lane imbroglio. (BTW whatever happened to that issue?)
Some Departments should be classified as essential services e.g The Police; The Fire Service & The QEH where the leaders of the unions would be subject to jail and/ or fines if they lead their workers on strike.
Now that I have the attention of some doctors I want you to repeat the Physician’s Oath…… I can’t hear you….. What’s that?…. Some of you don’t seem to know the difference between Gordon Gekko and Hippocrates …. No! No!!! He didn’t say “Greed is Good”.
@ David,
My statement is still true. Just that we currently appear to have Government friendly union leaders.
We should not provoke them.
We does get and lambaste the lawyers in Buhbayduz – and rightfully so – but de doctors in Buhbayduz jes as terrble, bofe in the public horspittles and in private practice! De only difference is that we frighten tuh cuss de wufless doctors openly and too loud cos when de sickness and pain jook we we does still ha’ tuh run back tuh dem. But deep in we heart we know most of de doctors in Buhbayduz aint nuh balsted use – unprofessional, deceptive, theifing and greedy as France!!
Law Sargeant? Suing? YOu guys sound real real funny man. LOL
So what happen when the “allegedly striking docs” appear with sick leave notes signed by duly registered medical practitioners?
Should be fun to see you and BT & CCC prosecuting these cases, and proving that these “alleged strikers” were not “sick” IN THE OPINION OF THOSE WHO WROTE THE CERTIFICATES?.
How will you prove that the female doctors dont have “a gynaecological malady for further investigation”? Will you look under their bonnet to see? LOL
What about a chap diagnosed with proctalgia fugax? LOL
You see there is a particular element that is lacking for you guys to succeed here. LOL
In the interim it seems that the BAMP personel have struck, and that the hospital personel complete which their heavy and large balls are impotent. With all the adipose tissue overlying their greater omentum, its seems that the politically positioned priest or silly sacerdote, and the Minister on his Mediteranean cruise are stuck as BAMP has struck. And the chappie who is giving the Advocate my ideas. as if their were his does not know what to say next. And I wont be telling these boys anything else new until Hants & I set up this Consulting Company he talking about. JC can double as wife and sexytree.
These guys balls are so big that they have bilateral inguinal herniae- one cause of what we used to one time call goadies.
These are just a few thoughts OK I am enjoying myself in all this.
You see all this is is a diversion . The jokers do not know how to implement the ideas given to them BEFORE THE ELECTIONS. Remember when their website used to be up and running and all the email addresses of the candidates were well displayed? LOL
I swear by Apollo the Physician and Asclepius and Hygieia and Panaceia and all the gods, and goddesses, making them my witnesses, that I will fulfill according to my ability and judgment this oath and this covenant:
To hold him who has taught me this art as equal to my parents and to live my life in partnership with him, and if he is in need of money to give him a share of mine, and to regard his offspring as equal to my brothers in male lineage and to teach them this art–if they desire to learn it–without fee and covenant; to give a share of precepts and oral instruction and all the other learning to my sons and to the sons of him who has instructed me and to pupils who have signed the covenant and have taken the oath according to medical law, but to no one else.
I will apply dietic measures for the benefit of the sick according to my ability and judgment; I will keep them from harm and injustice.
I will neither give a deadly drug to anybody if asked for it, nor will I make a suggestion to this effect. Similarly I will not give to a woman an abortive remedy. In purity and holiness I will guard my life and my art.
I will not use the knife, not even on sufferers from stone, but will withdraw in favor of such men as are engaged in this work.
Whatever houses I may visit, I will come for the benefit of the sick, remaining free of all intentional injustice, of all mischief and in particular of sexual relations with both female and male persons, be they free or slaves.
What I may see or hear in the course of treatment or even outside of the treatment in regard to the life of men, which on no account one must spread abroad, I will keep myself holding such things shameful to be spoken about.
If I fulfill this oath and do not violate it, may it be granted to me to enjoy life and art, being honoured with fame among all men for all time to come; if I transgress it and swear falsely, may the opposite of all this be my lot.
”
BAFBFP
It is ironic that your country is the fastest growing economy in the world. You are the now the financial super power. Is it your type of Government, where no one can strike? Or someone will get a high velocity object to back of head.
I recognized that you become irritated and frustrated when challenged. Now you are gloating that the doctors have the QEH by the balls. I hope that you and the doctors do not get the last laugh.
From your writings it seems that junior doctors must follow instructions from BAMP because they are beholden to the consultants who must sign them up as you said. That seems like blackmail. Not all the junior doctors want to strike.
Fair play
I am just telling you what I know
You can call it blackmail if you wish
But there is a document that Consultants must sign. Then you take it t the Registry to become fully registered.
Also as I understand it when you do post grad exams these guys also have to sign.
Doctors dont have to be members of BAMP although it has its benefits.
And junior doctors dont take instructions from BAMP
Doctors might attend BAMP meetings and follow the comsensus or chose to do what in their best wishes.
In the 2o years or so I practiced at home doctors striked twice. In both cases I chose not to join them OK
Not frustrated at all but medical illiterates who can not aor will not understand are irritants.
There is much more that can be said, but why bother. You expect me to say what you think I should say. Others have a penchant on BU to dosobey the tenets of Proverbs 3:27 sUCH ARE HELD IN CONTEMPT. lol
In the spirit of fair play, why are you guys not holding the Ministry of Health and the GOB to account for failing to put into place any of the policies known to them and given to them on a platter- as they had no measures that looked like a healh plan in thier manifesto.
Instead we have men here talking about administrators with guts and balls. Why not used their guts and balls and high testerone levels to quietly implement what they know (having been taught) ought to be done. Nust they be tolld everything?
Fortunately for us, most of the doctors in Barbados are not like GP. Most actually are interested in the welfare of their patients and of the country as a whole. (for one thing they have CHOSEN to remain here and contribute their skills unlike some others who ran away when faced with a simple challenge).
Most offer ideas willingly for improvements in our health system without expecting to be worshiped in return… like Dr Gale fighting against smoking for decades until success finally came…
What is at issue is the use of the ORGANIZATION of doctors, controlled by a few, to hold the sick of the country to ransom and to intimidate those doctors who may disagree with the tactics being employed.
My personal doctor for example is a completely different personality to the character perpetrated by our friend GP. Caring, selfless and dedicated are the kind of words that comes to mind in his case, as well as with personal friends who are doctors, so the bushman will continue to assume that the problem lies with a select set in the medical field.
The problem with our ‘we’ versus ‘them’ system of government is the inclination of those of opposition persuasion to act to sabotage genuine national efforts for party political purposes.
The point made by BU David about the lack of BLP support for ANY government initiatives is instructive.
…indeed, the bushman is amused at the alacrity with which the right honourable Mia, (through the reliable Alex Fergusson) is always ready with a prepared press release right after these ‘events’…… hmmmmm
@ Hants
….were Bush Tea the chairman of the QEH Board, all hell would probably break loose bout here….. indeed, were BT in charge of anything, you would be sure to see some degree of disruption (cause BT have a severe problem with foolishness…)
….but rest assured that the end result would be top performance.
No one doubts that doctors can be nasty if they really want to be.
We were all under the impression that very very few would want to be so, and that all of the others would never stand for such from those few……thanks for wising us up.
A listen to the talk shows and a scan of the press suggest public opinion is one of disgust i.e. why can’t these people get it together. The BLP does not have any credibility on the issue of the QEH. If I were the Minister of Health I would be on my way to Cuba right now to barter for 30-40 doctors to work contract for 6-12 months. It is time this crap is halted.
Do not underestimate the pressure that can be brought to bear on the junior doctors to break ranks and go back to work tomorrow. There will be pressure from government, from the hospital administration, from patients, from friends and family of patients, from friends and families of the doctors themselves, from all conceivable sources. Most of all each one will face the weight of his/her own conscience. The doctors will have to REALLY believe that what they are striking for for is more important than the pain and suffering of their patients.
How long, in the face of this pressure, does GP think the junior doctors will be prepared to hold out?
Look for the industrial action to be halted tomorrow, pending further discussion with the hospital administration.
Somehow I doubt they are striking because of Dr. Emtage, since according to media reports he has filed an injunction and the QEH has not yet been able to take action against him.
So they must be striking because they do not approve of the way Dr. Rambarat was dismissed. That is a simple matter to resolve, and if the dismissal was done inappropriately I would hope that the Chairman of the Board is a big enough man to admit that and do it the right way. That will give BAMP a small victory and at the same time take the wind out of their sails. But I suspect that Rambarat will still have to go, and I really doubt that BAMP will insist that he gets his job back.
That there is a QEH Board is a result of the BLP policy. The DLP has been in office over 2 years and other than the “discovery” of room in A and E by Estwick when he was Minister of Health, pray tell us what initiative have the DLP made at the QEH? Doctors as a group are among the most educationally accomplished and thus probably among the most intelligent Bajans yet some would have us believe that this group takes its cue from Mia Mottley!! So despite the fact that there are many doctors who are known supporters even leaders of the DLP, we are told they as group march on the orders of Mia Mottley. Well I wasn’t impressed with Mia before but now I am in a veritable awe of her.
I can’t believe people are still paying attention to GEORGIE PORGIE.
What I think that he is doing in a diplomatic way is telling these greedy
doctors what they should do.
As I said before he is part of the problem.
Anonymous | August 15, 2010 at 6:37 PM
“I wasn’t impressed with Mia before but now I am in a veritable awe of her.”
It does not take much to impress you does it? Mia is always on the wrong side of issues. The last big issue she came down on the side of illegal Guyanese in Barbados.
“… If I were the Minister of Health I would be on my way to Cuba right now to barter for 30-40 doctors to work contract for 6-12 months…”
That be spirit Davey, that be spirit …
Anonymous
“… Doctors as a group are among the most educationally accomplished and thus probably among the most intelligent …”
Wit respect, maybe it time, now more than ever, to give serious look at forming working group to draft white paper on modern day definition in Barbadian context of word “Intelligent” … no?
Mr Wickham not read email …Mr Wickham not read email … Not very professional … But Chairman put on very impressive performance, very impressive … Maybe Chairman run for praty president and then seat in House and then Prime Minister ..no? Better attractive than Sinkler and Fumble …no?
CCC
How can I be part of a problem from which I am far removed?
Didn’t Eustine teach you common sense. You said that Mia controlling BAMP and ordering the doctors, now you suggesting that I telling the doctors what to do in a diplomatic way
You are so amusing. Thanks.
Why dont you get the Minister and the DLP to fix Health in Barbados?
and the solution does not lie in fixing only the hospital and firing doctors. LOL
And by the way I have as much right as any one on BU to comment on matters of Health.
And your attemptrs to discredit me will not stop me from laughing at the chaos caused by these men WITH GUTS AND BALLS!
Perhaps the doctors have guts and balls too NO? LOL.
You not cussing the Minister who is on his Mediteranean cruise. He has had almost two years. So far he has excelled in photo ops and teaching Dr James the information he recieved via email prior to the last election. You make me laugh.
Oh BTW CCC
Didnt you say that the QEH is an excellent institution in a previous post on this thread? Was this BEFORE or after the political posting of the priest with scrotal magnitude?
BAFBFP
re: the intelligence of doctors; note the caveat “probably”.
Cadogan:
re: in awe of Mia; please note the use of sarcasm. However, I am not so sure that you are not in awe of her given that you suggest that she is controlling the doctors.
Anonymous
Re
The DLP has been in office over 2 years and other than the “discovery” of room in A and E by Estwick when he was Minister of Health, pray tell us what initiative have the DLP made at the QEH?
This is a question that is worthy of note.
This is part of the crux of the matter.
FAILURE TO ADDRESS THE ISSUES IN HEALTH IN BARBADOS IS THE REASON FOR THE DIVERSIONS WE ARE SEEING HERE
AND THE SOLUTION?
I THINK THEY SHOULD FIRE ALL THE DOCTORS. THE WHOLE LOT OF THEM. AFTER ALL WE PAID FOR THEIR EDUCATION.
Having paid for their education SUE THEM AND REPLACE THEM BY CUBANS! LOL
do as David suggests David Let Donville go to Cuba right now to barter for 30-40 doctors to work contract for 6-12 months…”
And after the six months. THE WHOLE PROBLEM WILL BE SOLVED.! HILARIOUS!
And I must agree with you the person who opined that BAMP & the doctors march to the tune of Mia’s drum is the height of PARANOIA. HILARIOUS!
This is just a case of BAMP BALLS & GUTS versus that of DONVILLE son of the fisherman (and I quote David here) and that of the politically positioned priest. Why doesn’t the priest PRAY on the matter? Can he not cast out the demons?
I hope that all of the Junior doctors have taken the ECFMG exams or are working thereon, so that they can go elsewhere after their internships are over. For they have no guaranrteed jobs adfter internship. When the Cuban doctors arrive and all the testosterone is demonstrated, and the proposed suing is complete they must prepare for their future.
You guys seeing one side of the equation.
Brutus
Parts of your post of August 15, 2010 at 6:09 PM makes some sense.
I don’t think they are striking about Emptage’ s departure, because I understand that he is not particularly loved by them because he is abrasive.
Re Do not underestimate the pressure that can be brought to bear on the junior doctors to break ranks and go back to work tomorrow. There will be pressure from government, from the hospital administration, from patients, from friends and family of patients, from friends and families of the doctors themselves, from all conceivable sources. Most of all each one will face the weight of his/her own conscience. The doctors will have to REALLY believe that what they are striking for is more important than the pain and suffering of their patients.
How long, in the face of this pressure, does GP think the junior doctors will be prepared to hold out?
I have seen the boys strike for about a week in 1980! And if they are just doing emergencies they can hold out. You or I do not know exactly why the doctors are striking. As I have said before I can only think of the strike in 1980 and the strike re the 8 % cut in 1991 0r 1992 when the doctors have taken such action in the last 30 years. Maybe some one can remind me of any occasions that I have forgotten!
SO ALL THE NASTY HATEFUL REMARKS ARE UNWARRANTED!
Re Look for the industrial action to be halted tomorrow, pending further discussion with the hospital administration. ………..That is a simple matter to resolve, and if the dismissal was done inappropriately I would hope that the Chairman of the Board is a big enough man to admit that and do it the right way.
Yes I would hope that he would handle his BALLS & GUTS more appropriately. LOL
I am sure that the sacerdote has found out that BAMP has balls too! Dont you think?
I believe you may be underestimating the significance of the discovery of that room. (I am not sure about it myself but the PM actually mentioned this as an achievement in health care). To be fair, it was also recommended that some potted plants be placed in A and E. This contributed immeasurably to improved patient care, we were told. We have been told that Minister Inniss is off cruising (lucky fellow) but what of Senator Sandiford-Garner? Wasn’t she assigned special responsibility for the QEH? Is it that the issue does not involve organising a fete or a celebration so it is not a good fit with her skill set? Weren’t we told that all the problems at the QEH were due to the BLP? Well we got rid of the BLP and (surprise) the problems are still there. According to Cadogan, it is still the BLP, who is really behind it all! Anyway since we can’t get the doctors out of the clutches of the BLP, let’s get them out of the QEH. With a priest as chairman, the healing power of prayer is really all we need.
Bush Tea
Re
Fortunately for us, most of the doctors in Barbados are not like GP. Most actually are interested in the welfare of their patients and of the country as a whole. (for one thing they have CHOSEN to remain here and contribute their skills unlike some others who ran away when faced with a simple challenge).
You didn’t take long before you took a nasty shot at me, could you? You cant help it can’t you? LOL Fortunately God is my judge.
Are you willing to go to court and defend the statement that I did not care for my patients?
There were 5 Bajans in my class at UWI. How many of them are practicing in Barbados today? 1
How many served 100% of their time practicing in Barbados when they practiced 1 ME.
I contributed my skills when allowed to do so. And I left to go overseas when it pleased me. And you do not know of the challenges I faced. You keep adjudicating without the facts. But you will not stop me from saying what I feel like on BU.
If you are satisfied with your caring, selfless and dedicated personal doctor why don’t you get him to solve the health situation?
Do you think that I am less caring, selfless and dedicated as a teacher of Basic Sciences?
RE What is at issue is the use of the ORGANIZATION of doctors, controlled by a few, to hold the sick of the country to ransom and to intimidate those doctors who may disagree with the tactics being employed.
This BS! You made it very clear earlier that it was about BALLS & GUTS! Again you indicate that the MOH seeks to “to intimidate those doctors who may disagree with the tactics being employed.”
INSTEAD OF GETTING A PROPER PROGRAM IN PLACE THEY SEEK TO INTIMIDATE BY BALLS & GUTS. What did they expect? Not BALLS & GUTS IN RETURN?
The Health system in Barbados is controlled by A FE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH NOT BY THE DOCTORS IN HOSPITAL
Junior doctors come and go . The system does not promote their lengthy stay. And a few consultants DO NOT CONTROL THE HOSPITAL! THERE IS A BOARD LED BY A PRIEST WITH BALLS & GUTS! LOL
The DLP presented little about Health in their manifesto!
They obviously had NO plans for health, except to build the polyclinic in Gall Hill.
They had no Public Health policy.
They have no persons employed with a VISION for the Public Health of Barbados, despite that there are a few doctors and nurses with MPH degrees.
THEY HAVE NO PLAN NO POLICY
EVERYTHING REVOLVES AROUND HOSPITAL REFORM
IS THAT NOT CLEAR TO YOU? AND CCC?
Re No one doubts that doctors can be nasty if they really want to be.
We were all under the impression that very very few would want to be so, and that all of the others would never stand for such from those few……thanks for wising us up.
Please kindly note that doctors are part of the Bajan society, and they mirror all the traits of our society
And you are a stinking liar! None of you were under any impression that that very very few would want to be nasty. If you are, you are down right stupid BECAUSE IT IS KNOWN THAT ALL MEN ARE SINNERS, and the heart of men is deceitful above all things and desperately wicked, as written.
If the Chairman of the Board and Donville as Bajans can display their BALLS & GUTS in public why do you suppose that BAMP can not do the same? Don’t BAMP members also have testosterone levels too? Or have they had bilateral orchidectomies?
Re ….were Bush Tea the chairman of the QEH Board, all hell would probably break loose bout here….. indeed, were BT in charge of anything, you would be sure to see some degree of disruption (cause BT have a severe problem with foolishness…) ….but rest assured that the end result would be top performance.
LOL It seems that BAMP have a similar severe problem with foolishness hence their action. LOL The Board’s BALLS AND GUTS vs BAMP BALLS & GUTS. I am getting the impression that the QEH Board and BT are arrogant dictators of some sort ! LOL Seems BAMP have called their bluff!
You have brought in a Consultant to fix the hospital
He has been taught about the existing resources in the periphery and how they ought to be used. Can he do it sitting on his BACKTERIUM in the hospital or Jemmots Lane.
You who are omniscient and all wise, why don’t you sit with your caring, selfless and dedicated personal doctor and why don’t you get him to help solve the health situation?
I will stay here and do some 3/10 teaching and see if I can make a likkle living until God ready for me. In the interim I will have a ball laughing at the nonsense I read on BU.
Let me have a BALL reading about the doctors of Barbados are INTIMIDATED and controlled by a priest with BALLS & GUTS. LOL Its hilarious BT. Simply hilarious
Let me read about how Mia controlling BAMP! Mu
Alot of what you are responding to is political posturing, frustration or both. People are just fedup with what has been going at the QEH for the last 30 years.
This is an interesting article.
http://www.torontosun.com/comment/columnists/peter_worthington/2010/08/13/15019241.html
“BALLS & GUTS in public why do you suppose that BAMP can not do the same? Don’t BAMP members also have testosterone levels too? ”
Aha … Now if medics in government employ considered to be part of emergency service (or what ever it called) and not allowed to strike … I see great promise for future … No more “BALLA & GUTS ! LOL” …no?
One of the solutions as clearly articulated on BU in 2008 is to take the weight off the hospital.
It requires WILL
WORK
UNDERSTANDING OF HOW TO GO ABOUT IT
FUNDS
EQUIPMENT
SOME TRAINING
Not square pegs in round holes or hospital boards with balls
Nor does it require expatraire hospital directors
HE IS NOT TRAINED NOR DOES HE HAVE THE VISION TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM
I dont have a MPH or a PhD nor nuttin so
But I didnt have nuttin so in 1985 either MY GUTS WAS NOT BIG YET LOL!
But I had the courage to go against the plan that was paid for from the overseas consultants At that time BT’s doctor and the rest were closing ranks not to work for Government 24/7, and they were closing ranks and preparing to fight Adams on the issue.
I wrote PM Adams, and I have his reponse up to today. But he soon died. Or things might have been different, because he really loved the British NHS. He saw it as a younster in the early 50’s soon after its inception and it really impressed him. But I had been reading about it for three years in the Journal of the GP association of the UK and realised that it could not work for us 35 years later.
Many on this blog are engaging in emotional rants. They dont know at all the amount of distress the doctors go through before deciding to strike. And I know what I am speaking about. I am here joking, but whether you believe me or not, I dont thinlk that they have taken this decision lightly.
And as much as we complain, even with high priced insurance even US residents do not have the comprehensive system we have n nor with with as easy access
What we need now David is a MAN or men of action! And freedom to act……..not men with big balls and guts.
You might say we had two doctors at the helm recently but did they have the WILL OR WISDOM OR VISION.
WHERE THERE IS NO VISION THE PEOPLE PERISH!
It is laughable to have some likkle girl from St Andrew in charge of some Hospital Project.
I going to sleep hear? LOL
@ Hants
Reads like rich man argument … We in East very envious of Canadian model …!
I just love how GP, consistent with his arguments, rips into the rubbish posted by some who with their myopic, hypocritical and unsound arguments often vacillate then capitulate.
Enuff
After reading the headline of the Nation news today GP and Mia are now looking real foolish. The caring doctors at the QEH complain about the uncaring Dr. Rambarat not coming out to do CT scans at night compromising patient care. Patients cannot get X-rays. Now from watching ER on television it looks like CT scans and X-rays are crucial for the survival of some patients.
Now GP put forward your long drawn out reasons why Dr. Rambarat should not be fired. Maybe some persons would have died with his uncaring behavior.
Mia Mottley has a problem trying to match Owen Arthur statement for statement. Mia said she would talk to BAMP all night until the problem is rectified. Her problem would be that Dr. Rambarat DON’T COME OUT AT NIGHT.
I think Mia quest to be in the news is hurting her image. She is taking sides with the rich doctors against poor Barbadians. She should call Dr.Rambarat and curse he stink for putting Barbadian lives at risk.
http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/doctors-at-odds/
@ Fairplay
Even proves GP’s thesis more!!!!