Submitted by Crusoe

From the CBC News (Barbados) Website we see a news item that the NUPW may call industrial action at the principal  healthcare institution the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, next week. The reason given, according to the news article, is that the QEH Management has failed to meet a June 16 deadline of meeting with the National Union of Public Workers, to address job appointments at the institution. The article further notes that the QEH Management is reported to have expressed disappointment at the action, noting that the union failed to accept a mediation by the Chief Labour Officer.

My question is, why the QEH Management refused to even meet with the NUPW, even as a preliminary action, in order to establish some discussion and points of contention, prior to seeking a mediation by the Chief Labour Officer. I suggest that if these are the facts, then the QEH Management is not addressing the situation with practicality, efficiency nor really, a sound moral base. One must accept that the QEH is a national institution, paid for by the taxpayers of the country, not a private institution.

While management of an organisation acts within the scope of the best interests of stakeholders including, to varying degrees, the shareholders, note that the shareholders in this case are the taxpayers, the same individuals as the clients of the institution. As such, management should accept that it is in the interests of the stakeholders to accomplish the goals of the organisation via amicable means, refraining from means that seem combative and merely for the purpose of adhering to ‘rules’.

While we must follow due process, there should also be some flexibility involved and means that appear combative can only be detrimental to the stakeholders of the institution, leading to further decline in perceived status of the institution and the service offered. We must note also that this perception is not isolated to this situation, but can be seen in many areas.

Areas such as cost overruns, contract tendering, discipline of minibus drivers etc, can all be seen to be handled in terms of strict ‘legal terms’, but unfortunately, while ‘satisfying’ matters in form, has not addressed the issues in substance. The missing factor appears to be one of transparency and accountability, in some cases of buck-passing, of doing what is permitted and required, without addressing the underlying issues and achieving a real solution.

Is this what our society has come to, a nation of paper-pushers, insensitive to the real issues and real solutions?

We must focus on bridging gaps in expectations wherever they may exist, between voters and those to be elected, between employees and employers, between representatives of authority and the average citizen. To do this we first need transparency and accountability, which will facilitate understanding, because without understanding by all parties, there can be no agreement.

Most of all, we must answer two related questions. Is our motive ‘true’ and is our subsequent action ‘right’?

15 responses to “Oh The Idiocy Of It All, Queen Elizabeth Hospital Could Follow LIAT Pilots,”

1. I remember three to four years ago, there was much said abut QEH everyday, newspaper, call-in programmes. it was the worst, the minister should resign, people waiting too long etc. Whatever was changed as long a sit did not relate to A & E it was a mess, the minister incompetent. DLP supporters had a field day, and we Bajans joined in the chorus. One day an lod lady said, anyone can pass by and criticise how a hose buil’ but dat don mean they can buil’ one or buil’ one better. Time is showing that this is true.

2. It is recklessly irresponsible that key stakeholders in the QEH affair would manage the industrial relations climate in such an offhanded manner as to lead to possible strike action. We are living in perilous economic times for many. Healthcare delivery from our primary healthcare facility should be on someone’s radar labelled priority A.

If there is a strike will the people be able to hold someone accountable?

3. The DLP is not protecting or even empowering the youth–it is exposing them to the elements.

But while young people and their parents are struggling – DLP Ministers and its members are getting obese on the fatted calf. How could that be fair?

And, in share disrespect – the DLP tries to buy the loyalty and silence of young people with a free Fete this week end.

It is why we need a new politic in Barbados. The DLP has created this fiscal crisis but does not know how the fix it.

4. People are taking notice, it’s blarring in our faces.

5. The QEH is making a mistake by not meeting the Union.You only call in the labour department when talks breakdown but they went straight to the Labour D

BARE —IGNORANCE !

6. At all those who criticize BU for giving a hearing to the Barbados Equestrian Association matter. Here is a very important topic but guess what…?

There is another blog above this one as well.

7. David,

Incidentally, the interesting thing is that there is a common link between the BEA article and the Westminster etc articel written by Looking Glass.

That link is ‘governance’ to wit, transparency and accountability.

Is there a message here?

8. @Crusoe

Perhaps what it says is the governance issue is not sexy enough to mobilise mass support.

This conclusion when correlated with our reputed level of education should make for interesting discussion.

Maybe you and LG are a little ahead of the pack.

9. ‘Governance’ is bandied about much, although you appear right that it does not get the attention it deserves.

Not to be limited to us however, we see it yet again in new accusations on the BP oil spill matter.

US news agencies now report that, allegedly, shortly before the spill, there was an argument between a senior BP executive and the owner of the platform rig, on the ,ethod used to reduce pressure on the well.

The BP executive is alleged to have ordered, against the opinion and wishes of the oil platform owner representative, a change from the ‘standard’ process using thick mud in reducing pressure in the drilling process, to using saltwater instead, thereby increasing drilling speed and timetable, but creating greater risk of a problem occurring in drilling i.e. a disaster.

If this is true, this would show the importance of ensuring adequate governance standards of assessment and controls, in whatever situation the governance refers to.

If true also, it would mean that the US Courts will be busy for some time to come.

10. A question not asked in the discussion so far is the role of new CEO Dexter James. He would have been brought in to right the ship at the QEH. Is this a clear an deliberate strategy on his part? What is his experience managing in a unionised environment.

11. The irony is that a new CEO would normally be expected to handle issues like this without severe dislocation.

That the administration is running to a last resort process, as a first resort, if true, is worrying as to the capability of management to deal with the organisation effectively.

Otherwise, what is the purpose of the CEO and management team?

12. More in the mortar..... Avatar
    More in the mortar…..

Crusoe seems to know quite a bit.
    Listen carefully and let him/her speak, David.

13. Today is D-day for the QEH-NUPW matter.

14. A current full time minister of health and a half minister of health and that is what is the outcome. Where are the chronic complainers who day and night complained on the call in programmes in the recent past? Have they gone to Trinbago? Oh Lord man! things bad. Fire the board of QEH case of ref the previous minister was fired, Lord have mercy free Don from the milestone around his neck. D Day of reckoning will come . Where are nurses who were very pleased with Dr Estick , no more welcoming parties and presents.

Oh what a tangled web we weave what we practice to deceive. My QEH whats wrong I dreamed that things were better but nooooooh, nope , Whats wrong ?

15. @More in ‘More in the mortar….. // June 19, 2010 at 9:05 PM

—–

Just to be clear here, I ENT NOBODY.

I am a simple Barbadian, just got ability analyse, think and mostly, to apply commonsense where it needs to be.

I have no more information than anyone else.

Thus, anything you read is an interpretation from a simple-minded average Barbadian voter, who wants my tax dollars spent wisely, my country run properly and the major healthcare institution run well for the benefit of patients.

No more, no less.

That said, if anytime I am seen as unfair, then the simple answer is that where information and communication is lacking, conclusions will be drawn from what is available.

Thus, we voters can only make decisions based on what is made public, made transparent.

You savvy?