Submitted by C Newton

Dr. James (l), Minister of Health Donville Inniss (r) – Image/Barbados Advocate

The pending industrial action at the QEH can only be about greed by the doctors and sensational behaviour of the NUPW. Speaking to a union delegate to the issue, it is a case of  relief workers  who are also called casual workers. These are only called  in by management to fill in when someone is on holiday or sick leave.

The NUPW is claiming that they have an expectation to fill any suitable vacancies over anyone else. QEH Board has taken the position that it must hire the best persons at all levels, like private sector companies do, and are seeking to put clear recruitment policies in place.

As a former Salesman of Hospital Supplies, I will give an example. Meal carts being sold to QEH for as much as $10,000 when the real cost was $2,500 unpadded. Mr Dexter James, the Minister and Board must stop people from outsourcing to themselves. The mafia style syndicate must be broken up among QEH doctors and employees. Consultants cannot continue to give private patients priority over public ones. The QEH must  work on a formula on consultants public private consultations, thus the resistance to accountability.

My girlfriend works in the Lab and has told me that many a times they are limited reagents. Yet some doctors would drop off their specimens from their private practice to be tested. Can these things be fair to the tax payers of Barbados? If the doctors want to strike let the greedy ones strike. I will give the Ministry of Health my support if they fire them for withholding services to the poor.

Some doctors even got the gall to charge more for first visits, thus pushing health care inflation to be the highest in the Caribbean. Mr Minister, you have my support, the QEH is ailing, you need to take corrective measures before it goes on life support.
Please give a chance to  younger but often times better trained doctors, the chance to move up.

227 responses to “Are Doctors Fighting To Protect Turf At Queen Elizabeth Hospital?”

1. Fairplay is certainly not fair. GP has not defended anyone, neither doctors nor QEH administration. He has merely predicted their behaviour based on his experiences. In the light of today’s headlines he seems to be “on the money”. GP has consistently pointed out that doctors are human and as such are capable of being wicked and wrong (as well as just and right). However, since plumbers can’t fix my leaky heart valves, we still need to engage these same doctors. The challenge is to find the appropriate arrangements which will generally satisfy both patients and doctors.

2. Man, What kind of right thinking bajans are you? Dr.Rambarat does need no appropriate arrangement. He needs to get out of the system so that poor working class bajans can get adequate health care.

3. I know we can find well trained radiographers in Cuba who want to work. The problem is the medical board does not accept Cuban trained doctors unless they take some exam. Patrick Manning former T&T PM got all his heart and kidney treatment in Cuba and he is doing very well .There are many Cuban doctors working in T&T hospitals, why not here.
    The national development scholarship should have as priority, specialty areas such as radiography, urology, and neurology. No students should be given
    any scholarship for actuarial science. Every year one of those scholarship winners says they are doing actuarial science. Over the years most of them may have graduated. Lets concentrate on other areas of development such as health care

4. Fairplay
    by ‘appropriate arrangements” I am referring to the development and improvement of the health care system not to an individual case. There is another consultant (specialty: think of an organ in the chest) at the hospital who is also very tardy in providing reports and even in turning up for work at the QEH. Yet I don’t hear of him being fired but then again his party is in power.

5. Anonymous
    It seems that you and Enuff are among the few who can understand the information I have sought to share I have certainly not defended the doctors, but merely predicted their behaviour based on my experiences with my colleagues over the years. Youu have again understood what I have pointed out when you posit “GP has consistently pointed out that doctors are human and as such are capable of being wicked and wrong (as well as just and right).
    Your conclusion is also correct ……. . The challenge is to find the appropriate arrangements which will generally satisfy both patients and doctors.
    This certainly will not happen if a politically positioned priest thinks that he has more balls and guts than BAMP balls and guts!

Balls and guts WILL NOT WIN THIS BATTLE. He WILL NOT CONTROL THE DOCTORS BY CONFLICT. HE WILL FIND THAT BAMP WILL SQUEEZE HIS BALLS! And if you know Any thing about the nerve supply of the balls, you will know that squeezing the balls hurts even at the heart- as is now figuratively and literally the case! Ah lie?

6. The latest furor in a statement made by Dr Carlos Chase this morning claiming that the Chairman Guy Hewitt was out of line on a TV Show last night.

Also it appears Minister Donville Innis is very much in Barbados. Who is the liar?

7. Fair Play
    Dr.Rambarat IS NOT STOPPING poor working class Bajans from gettting adequate health care. He might be guilty of not coming out at night, but that alone does not prevent Bajans from getting health Care.

Answer this question? Does he not gave a Registrar? If not why not? Is he the only Consultant for Radiology? If so, why so?

Are they no Bajan Radiology consultants since Decaires and the late Dalton Durant?
    If not why not? Is it because Bajan doctors don’t like to practice Radiology? You talk about scholarships. How will you get Bajan doctors to pursue training in Radiology if such a scholarship is available? Will Donville and the silly sacerdote display their BALLS & GUTS and intimidate them and force them to go ?
    . Why has NO VISION BEEN DISPLAYED IN HAVING SOME PERSONS TRAINED.

Re I know we can find well trained radiographers in Cuba who want to work WELL GO GET THEM, man.
    The problem is the medical board does not accept Cuban trained doctors unless they take some exam. Why is this a problem Sir? You think you can do a residency in the US before taking USMLE steps 1 2 &3? You think you can practice in the USA without serving as a Resident for at least three years (and more in some disciplines) and then passing the Board exam?

Re The national development scholarship should have as priority, specialty areas such as radiography, urology, and neurology. GREAT! Then we will get Donville and the silly sacerdote to display their BALLS & GUTS and intimidate and force our doctors to go and study these areas against their will?

Hello friend, we still have free choice in Bim. It is not a dictatorrship yet man.

There are many Cuban doctors working in T&T hospitals, why not here. Maybe its because we train our own doctors? You do know too that the training at our Medical School is highly rated by the External Examiners who see our examination process annually for over 60 years.

are many Cuban doctors working in T&T hospitals, why not here.? Donville and the silly sacerdote display their BALLS & GUTS and intimidate them and force them to go ?

Do you know anything at all….ANYTHING about what you are saying Sir?

8. What will they think of next Avatar
    What will they think of next

If Dr.Rambarat is being paid to be on call and then he refuses to come out at night when he is called then he should be charged with fraud. He is receiving money under false pretenses. I wonder how many more consultants are like this.

9. Re Fair Play | August 16, 2010 at 7:52 AM | and
    After reading the headline of the Nation news today GP and Mia are now looking real foolish.

This moron with betzpaenia and the inability to comprehend sounds off again!

Now tell us Sir What did Mia say in this extract below that is not sound, sane, sober, and sensible?

MIA MOTTLEY says if she was Prime Minister of Barbados, she would have met with the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) day and night to resolve the impasse between them and the Board of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

Mottley, the Opposition Leader and long-standing member for St Michael East, told a Press conference on Saturday that the dispute was unfortunate.

She said that BAMP had legitimate concerns and had chosen to take a path to protect those cases which they believed to be life-threatening.

“I believe that the whole episode is unfortunate and if I were there, I would have to be meeting with them all day and night such that the circumstances of regularity can obtain back at the hospital.

“This is a matter that should have been the subject of bringing all the parties together to get back a situation of normalcy as a matter of urgency from Friday lunchtime when it was clear that an industrial impasse was at hand,” she said.

Mottley was of the view that Governments were not the ideal entities to manage health care institutions.

Certainly the conflict might be resolved by discussion1
    Surely It has not been resolved by a display of BALLS & GUTS!

Now Mr Fairplay goes into fantasy land. He says . Now from watching ER on television it looks like CT scans and X-rays are crucial for the survival of some patients.

My Twit Sir Do you really think that CT scans and X-rays are crucial for the survival of some patients . CT scans and X-rays are DIAGNOSTIC TOOLS TO FACILITATE DIAGNOSIS.

Do you know that UWI students are trained to make the diagnosis BEFORE ordering tests.

I recently read a post on Value MD by an American student who had the privilege of spending some time training at UWI. He said they put you in a room and expect to come up with the diagnosis with only your stethoscope.

Mr bumbling bird brain betzpenis babbler DO YOU KNOW THAT THERE ARE STUDIES THAT INDICATE THAT THE TECHNOLOGY DOES NOT IMPROVE RESULTS OR PATIENT OUTCOMES COMPARED TO THOSE ACHIEVED AT INSTITUTIONS ELSEWHWERE WHERE THE TECHNOLOGY IS UNAVAILABLE?

Mr Clown STOP WATCHING ER! A LOT OF BAD MEDICINE IS DISPLAYED THEREON. YOU KNOW NO MEDICINE SO THE TECHNOLOGY AND THE JUNK YOU SEE CAPTIVATES YOUR PEA SIZED IMAGINATION DOESN’T IT?
    WHAT DO YOU WANT WHEN YOU ARE ILL FICTION AND FANTASY OR FACT.

Go back and read the news papers again, and note that the CARING DOCTORS ARE CARING ABOUT THEMSELVES WHEN THEY CANT GET THE TECHNOLOGY AT NIGHT! THEY WANT TO COVER THEIR ASSES FOR MEDICO LEGAL REASONS! LOL AND I DON’T BLAME THEM! WHO WANTS TO BE SUED?

Here you Mr dimwit dummy The caring doctors at the QEH complain about the uncaring Dr. Rambarat not coming out to do CT scans at night compromising patient care

Do you understand why now? Do you think that Frank Ward and Mickey Walrond and Spotty Clark and others of that ilk had CT scans at night?…or at all in the 70’s?

PATIENTS ARE TREATED BY FDOCTORS NOT CT SCANS.
    IN MANY PLACES IN THE WORLD THEY DON’T HAVE THEM AND THEY GET GOOD RESULTS!

You say . Patients cannot get X-rays
    Really? And this is the Consultants fault?
    Seems to me that THE MINISTER AND THE PRIEST WITH BALLS IS AT FAULT HERE SIR. THERE SEEMS TO BE A WOEFUL LACK OF PROVISION not just an uncaring doctor.

Do you think that a Consultant Radiologist should come out at night to do routine X rays?
    Where are the Radiographers ? Why doesn’t the Consultant have a Registrar?

I don’t know Dr. Rambarat Nor do I know the facts in the case. So have not defended him at all Nor can I or will I defend him If he gets fired that is his business. And I do not have to put forward a reason why he should not be fired.

But from this distance though it seems as if he is the Radiology Dept. He has no Registrar or House men. And apparently not enough Radiographers working at night?
    IT SEEMS THAT THE MINISTER AND THE PRIEST WITH BALLS EVINCE A WOEFUL LACK OF PROVISION WOEFUL LACK OF PROVISION

What ever Rambarat’s fault is, if he is not given up by BAMP, you or none of the emotional ranters on BU cant touch him.

Why should Mia call Rambarat and curse he stink for putting Barbadian lives at risk.
    You think that lives are at risk because some one does not get a CT scan. What happened before their availability. DIS PATIENTS DIE EN MASSE?

Let me tell you a big secret about that dummy…..THEY DID NOT! LOL

You are an under 15 cricketer trying to play in a test match!

10. This section from Mia’s submission as reported in the newspapers is PURE JUNK, in my humble opinion!

But I am a crimminal because I dont rant and rave because BAMP has gone on strike, and because I dont believe that GUTS & BALLS is the way to resolve the situation. But I have always been independent of thought, and usually above the herd- amd I make no apology for telling the truth.

11. @ Georgie Porgie
    I have been saying for months that too many of the BU ‘intelligentsia’ are very good at copying, pasting and reading BUT extremely poor at analysis.

12. @Anonymous

Who is the other Consultant who does not come out on call?

It appears public opinion is mounting against the doctors. The Chairman i.e. the one with balls is waging a PR campaign which is highly effective. Nothing like a man in a collar to evoke the sympathy of a frustrated public.

Hell he forced BAMP to come to the airwaves today. BU sources had long ago confirmed that BAMP had placed a blackout on media interviews.

13. Enuff writes and CORRECTLY SO
    I have been saying for months that too many of the BU ‘intelligentsia’ are very good at copying, pasting and reading BUT extremely poor at analysis.

14. Enuff
    You have correctly opined that too many of the BU ‘intelligentsia’ are very good at copying, pasting and reading BUT extremely poor at analysis

BAMP HAS STRUK FACT !
    THE Y DON’T OFTEN DO THIS FACT!
    Question is why? Why now?

I am hearing nothing about this

Now we hearing that the priest with maximus balls has gone BALL-istic!

When he is finished appealing to the public David, he will still have to sit down and TALK TO BAMP. LOL.

They will fix his herniae and his goadies

Is public opinion mounting because the public thinks that junior doctors are rich? And taking advantage of the populace? Check the Gazette and see their salaries.

Why does Reverend Maxy Balls not tell the Public about the Board’s and the Ministries deficiencies?
    Why does Reverend Maxy Balls NOT go and pray or better read Joshua 7
    THERE IS A PROBLEM IN THE CAMP MAXY BALLS
    Ermine has no balls or testosterone David, but she got Reverend Maxy Balls by the balls and it hurting!
    THE DLP IN OFFICE THREE YEARS
    THEY HAD PRIVATE LESSONS ON HOW TO FIX THE HOSPITAL BY EASING UP THE PRESSURE ON THE HOSPITAL
    WHAT HAVE THEY DONE ABOUT IT? NOTHING except BRING Rev Maxy Balls to fire doctors. And a Trini to tell the public the stuff he learned from the current Minister , who had the private lessons first……long before it appeared on BU.

15. Can’ get blasted survey to work … instructions not in Putonghua ..#$@$..!

16. It has to be said. GP, for a doctor, you are one sickening idiot! Everything you post on BU is about YOU, YOU, YOU. Yuh blasted pompous shite!
    Your ideas. Your this. Your that. Stupse! Like ef you got a blasted monoply on ideas. And all ideas aint good ideas anyway.
    You went Harsun College fuh trute? Cos Harsonians don’t get-on lik idiots like you!! Yuh behavin like yuh went waterfurd. Keep blasted huffing and puffing pon is blog all day every day. Ah hope yuh gi’ yuhself a stroke or burst a vessel in that kiss-me-ass swell head o’ yours! Sick o’ you like shite! And I in wanna hear nuffin from u cos, nuffin u could got to say worth me wastin any more uh my time pon u. Yuh aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaassssssssssssss! Ah gone!

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Don’t you realise that no one is taking you seriously. You are coming over as a buffoon.

18. LOL
    HA HA HA
    huffin and puffin LOL

Man I hear calmly doing a likkle work , and in between I likes to laff at the bovine excrement wunnah does write pun BU LOL

Yes my ideas are stupid I know but the Consultant spewing them to the press. LOL

SO THEN YOU PAYING A CONSULTANT TO GIVE STIPID IDEAS TO THE POPULACE

Why dont you and others of your ilk come up with some good ones or better ones? LOL HA HA ROTFLMAO

This ass has given more of an opinion than the hired help or you Sir. LOL
    Dont worry I wont be giving more.

And BTW I will blow my trumpet here when I like I not giving my trumpet to anyone to blow for them to give me TB LOL ROTFLMAO.

Why dont you go help the priest man? Cause you like you gone BALL -stic too

Now look at you. You have no solutions.

You can only try to curse me.

THE DLP HAD NO HEALTH PLAN AT ELECTION TIME

THEY STILL HAVE NONE

AND THEY DONT KNOW HOW TO WORK WITH THE PRIVATE LESSONS OR THE PUBLIC LESSONS THEY GOT ON BU

Now that you have cussed me, HAS BAMP CALLED OFF THE STRIKE YET?

Or is ERMINE STILL SQUEEZING THE POLITICALLY POSITIONED PRIEST’S MAXY BALLS?

19. GP
    I am really mashing your corns, if you have any. You are getting all rile up and shouting.
    It was not me who accuse Dr.Rambarat of not coming at night and doing CT scans and compromising patient care. It was two of your colleagues who are well trained doctors who said that at a medical staff committee meeting. Why don’t you quarrel with them that CT scans are not important?
    Those two doctors are caring doctors because they brought to light at their meeting the problems that are affecting them and their patients.
    Future governments will solve these problems by legislating that to be employed as a health worker in the government health sector you cannot go on strike. It will be considered an essential service.
    Now Mia had fourteen years in government and the health sector when from bad to worst. Prime Minister Owen Arthur got vex and fired three managers. The public see her intervention as strictly political posturing.

20. Annonymous Sir

Can I now give my advice to final year medical students and interns.

Youngsters prepare and take the USMLE exams around the time or soon after you take yor finals at UWI

At this time you are at your peak in all areas. You will past easily even though you have not prepared for the exam as the Americans do.

when you finish your internship GO AND DO YOUR RESIDENCY IN THE USA

EVERYPLACE IN THE WORLD LOVE THESE US QULIFICATIONS MAN

Dont hang around to be replaced by CUBANS OR CONTROLLED BY PRIESTS OR A MOTTLEY BU NCH

Dont stay around to be cussed by every Tom Dick & Harry in Bim. YOU CAN DO BETTER.

These days you can do a Masfters in the Basic Sciences at Cave Hill. This will help yopu to get a teaching job on the side.

Dont be all so patriotic like I was. When they dont want to pay you because they can get an intern or some one from Cuba or God knows where to work for less they will fire you in just the same way these Consultants were fired WITHOUT EXPLANATION OR REASDON.

Now BT you and others can cuss me some more.

When the NHS came into being in 1985 VERY FEW BAJANS JOINED THEY WENT AND DID PRIVATE PRACTICE

12 YEARS LATER WHEN I WAS RECIEVING CONSULTANT PAY THEY FELT THAT WAS TOO MUCH FOR ME

I HAD TO GO QUIETLY BECAUSE I WAS NOT A BAMP MEMBER!

WHAT EVER YOU DO JOIN BAMP

THERE ARE TWO SIDES TO EVERY STORY

THE DOCTORS ALSO HAVE THEIR SIDE.

Sort your selves out! ASSURE YOUR SALVATION BEFORE MAXY BALLS AND OTHERS OF HIS ILK SQUEZZE YOUR BALLS.

If there was not a God in heaven to provide for me daily I would be destitute.

Watch the herd come out in full force now! LOL ROTFLMAO

The so called BU family members dont like to hear the truth. Only those they approve must have balls and guts and defy the opinion of the herd.

21. Man David help me get survey to work …nuh?

22. Fair Play

Let me assure you that if you think that you are mashing my corns that you have DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR! And no I have no corns.

Secondly I am not at all riled up. I am just mocking you

And I am NOT shouting I do not consider typing in capitals SHOUTING . I type in capitals for EMPHASIS and to get across the intensity of my HILARITY.

I don’t think that you realize that I don’t care two hoots about either Ram RAT or Empty- age!

Did you not read in the newspapers that the doctors were concerned about not having CT scans because OF ITS MEDICO LEGAL IMPORTANCE!

You seem not to understand that there WAS MEDICINE BEFORE CT SCANS and in some parts of the world still CT SCANS ARE NOT AVAILABLE. DO YOU THINK THAT ALL THE PATIENTS THAT DON’T GET A CT SCAN DIE?

Do you think that because you are a medical illiterate that I don’t know what I am saying?

Do you think that because your bias precluded your unwillingness and your betzpaenia your ability to understand, that I don’t know of which I speak?

Do you think that I am unaware of all the nonsense that Owen Arthur and Mia did? I do not care what the public sees about Mia’s statement. I thought that some were accurate and I said so. I thought that some was junk and I said so too.

Wist thou not that I myself confronted Arthur and Mia and others of their ilk in the late 90’s.

Re Future governments will solve these problems by legislating that to be employed as a health worker in the government health sector you cannot go on strike. It will be considered an essential service. Great ! And how will they police it. How will they stop folk from being at work, and not working, or from getting sick notes signed by duly registered medical practicioners, who in their opinion think that their colleagues are ill.

WHEN WILL YOU TAKE YOUR MYOPIC GLAUCOMIS CATARAC EYES OF THE DOCTORS AND DEAL WITH THE ISSUES. THE REAL ISSUES? Is it because you lack the necessary neurons to cerebrate?

I am not defending doctors nor ram rat or empty age or a soul

I am having fun mocking your poor pithy puerile pedantic efforts at lashing the doctors.

These men can not be touched UNLESS BAMP GIVES THEM OVER.

Don’t knock me go and join with the priest for this mess to be over. Pray that he forgets his testosterone and talk to BAMP man.

23. @BAFBFP

Not sure what you are attempting.

24. this is the section of the news paper article that quotes Mia that I consider to be nonsense.

The first half was true.

We have to have a coalition of health care professionals as well as representation from the patients perspective, be at the centre of the management of medical institutions in this country.

“The truth is that the bureaucracy of Government, and we tried to allay some of it when we created the Board, but unfortunately this Government seems to be running the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Board as if it is still a department of the ministry and that is where the problems come,” she said.

The Opposition Leader thinks that more might have to be done to place distance between management of the hospital and the ministry of health.

“We may well be coming to the point where the Government should simply accept what is the per capita costs of the treatment of patients in the hospital, placed a cap on it and provide that money without seeking to get into the finer details of the management of the hospital on a day to day basis and leave it to the health care professionals to do.”

25. Continue to make your comments HERE.

26. smooth chocolate Avatar
    smooth chocolate

I think the consultants should be removed. They have been too comfortable for too long. I guess they assumed that they were invincible well they are not.