Submitted by C Newton

Dr. James (l), Minister of Health Donville Inniss (r) – Image/Barbados Advocate

The pending industrial action at the QEH can only be about greed by the doctors and sensational behaviour of the NUPW. Speaking to a union delegate to the issue, it is a case of  relief workers  who are also called casual workers. These are only called  in by management to fill in when someone is on holiday or sick leave.

The NUPW is claiming that they have an expectation to fill any suitable vacancies over anyone else. QEH Board has taken the position that it must hire the best persons at all levels, like private sector companies do, and are seeking to put clear recruitment policies in place.

As a former Salesman of Hospital Supplies, I will give an example. Meal carts being sold to QEH for as much as $10,000 when the real cost was $2,500 unpadded. Mr Dexter James, the Minister and Board must stop people from outsourcing to themselves. The mafia style syndicate must be broken up among QEH doctors and employees. Consultants cannot continue to give private patients priority over public ones. The QEH must  work on a formula on consultants public private consultations, thus the resistance to accountability.

My girlfriend works in the Lab and has told me that many a times they are limited reagents. Yet some doctors would drop off their specimens from their private practice to be tested. Can these things be fair to the tax payers of Barbados? If the doctors want to strike let the greedy ones strike. I will give the Ministry of Health my support if they fire them for withholding services to the poor.

Some doctors even got the gall to charge more for first visits, thus pushing health care inflation to be the highest in the Caribbean. Mr Minister, you have my support, the QEH is ailing, you need to take corrective measures before it goes on life support.
Please give a chance to  younger but often times better trained doctors, the chance to move up.

227 responses to “Are Doctors Fighting To Protect Turf At Queen Elizabeth Hospital?”

1. David /Bush Tea

I don’t care if the priest worked at CXC or travelled to Mars or Timbuktu, or if his abdominal appendages and accessories are of great magnitude, I predict that the doctors will close ranks. I predict that they will not be intimidated by him either. Watch and see. I am trying to tell you guys how these guys think, but you call me arrogant and seek to insult me and opine on my wisdom or lack thereof.

I don’t think that Donville’s pedigree will save the day either.

I hear all this BS about the PEOPLE of Barbados pays for the education of 95% of all our doctors, but then the POLITICIANS decide who should work and who should not work…NOT THE PEOPLE! LOL

And whereas I don’t have any great love or respect for Mr Emtage, his peers who matter, do! And it seems that they think he should be around. So they have closed ranks versus the priest and Donville, just as I predicted months ago. You can decide if they are right or wrong. But my predictions have proven to be correct.
    Re what the man said essentially was that the Board was, as a matter of POLICY, seeking to change the hospital from being DOCTOR centric to being PATIENT centric.”
    Well then he can run the hospital without doctors then! LOL He can also bring more priests too! LOL!

All that is a lot of talk. Sounds very good. When I trained and worked at QEH, doctors cared for patients. That’s what doctors and hospitals do. I cant speak for the so called “demons” of the day, except to tell you that if the fellas continue to close ranks they will run the priest, Donville and all wunnah ragged. (BTW I have never participated in a strike, while a doctor)

I will talk what I like because Bajans DO NOT know what is needed , or how the system works.

David it is all this board and management structure that messing up things. No board or management structure can account for greed and self ceteredness. I can tell you all about it from the old St Joseph Hospital days. Doctors are men. Bajan doctors are Bajan men , and greedy like much of the men in the society from top to bottom.

2. @Brutus

BU has asked about Dr. Dexter James’ appoint in an earlier blog.

3. From the Barbados Advocate

5/30/2010

Prevention is better than cure.

This proverb should be kept in mind when reviewing the structure of the public health care system in Barbados, with a view to placing more importance on primary care networks than on intervention care.

CEO of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Dr. Dexter James, told the Barbados Advocate in an exclusive interview last week that not only is it necessary for polyclinics to be better utilised, but given the trends in hospital care in the 21st century, it is also time to redefine the hospital model in Barbados.

“We have to take a real hard look at it and redefine the model and package of health care services we want to provide that is affordable and sustainable,” said the health care administrator.

Dr. James also made the point that individuals must show some regard for their health and avoid having to reach the stage of needing hospital intervention wherever possible. Giving the example of serious diabetic cases that lead to amputations or renal failure requiring dialysis, James maintained that controllable diseases could be prevented from progressing to hospital care if there was a good primary care network. In addition, he pointed to the rising number of injuries sustained in motor vehicle accidents which increase the workload of the A&E, causing delays and which incur a series of costs to the hospital.

Basic treatment
    At the helm of the island’s main medical facility since June 2009, James holds that much of the inefficiencies in the QEH Accident & Emergency (A&E) Department could be reduced significantly if the non-urgent cases which present to the A&E were successfully treated at the island’s polyclinics.

“In my view, not enough attention and focus is being given to the polyclinic network. These non-urgent cases I refer to take up just about 20 – 25 percent of that 44 000 patients that come into the A&E,” he informed. “If we had the polyclinic network set up properly to do basic, first-line diagnostics, it means that we improve the efficiency of the casualty by 25 percent patients less coming through.”

Giving a scenario of how backlog occurs in the A&E waiting room, he explained, “These patients ought to have been seen at the polyclinic, but of course, you get a sprained ankle and you go to the polyclinic and they can’t do an X-ray for you; you present to A&E. But having presented to A&E, you’re classified as non-urgent, but require some investigation – and they are the ones who would stay in A&E for 8 and 9 hours because we’re going to have to see those emergency and urgent patients first before we really move into non-urgent patients.”

Polyclinic or health centre?
    “So really and truly, polyclinic is a misnomer in the Barbados context; what you really have there are health centres, not polyclinics. The way some are set up, we should have basic diagnostics, portable X-ray and basic laboratory services, emergency services and some ability to do minor procedures… None of our polyclinics right now provide that service,” said James.

“If we’re really looking at efficiency, one might argue that some of the spotlight needs to be thrown on the polyclinic network. What are they really doing out there? What is happening? What is the scope or role they provide? What is the package of services that they provide out there? Can they provide it on a sustainable basis?” he queried.
    Speaking at a DLP St. Lucy branch meeting in October 2009, Minister of Health, Donville Inniss, had revealed that his Ministry was working on a fresh mandate for the island’s polyclinics. He had acknowledged the need to raise public awareness of accessing polyclinics for treatment instead of the A&E Department. He had also recognised the need for more diagnostic equipment and noted that was an obstacle to the polyclinics functioning at the desired level.

21st century hospital
    Beyond the issue of preventative versus interventional care, Dr James believes that there also needs to be some discussion about the type of services expected from a public hospital.

He explained that hospitals of the 21st century are heading in the direction of ambulatory care, diagnostic services and out-patient services. The benefits, he said, include reduced lengths of stay, reduced opportunity for cross-infection, persons returning to work faster and keeping hospital administration costs down.

“No longer are we talking about beds; we’re talking about services because beds presupposes a lot of in-patient care and if we’re going with ambulatory care, it’s in and out; so beds are the least of our concerns. But at some point in time, I don’t know which government will do it, but we’re going to have to address how we’re going to finance the health services and the packages of services that the Barbadian public desires, and how we’re going to finance it sustainably. If we don’t address that, the system is going to crash,” Dr James warned. (YA)

4. “$30,000 fuh bracatheraphy he charging for an hour procedure. How much should he charge? Do I detect a hint of envy? Some of your average classmates … dare to charge such fees? …Well call the priest to do the surgery and the healing nuh! ”

NO NO GP;

You must not say these things… for now I NOT recommend you to teach in Barbados … in fact I NOT recommend you to teach in East either …

Doctor cannot be healing citizen body and deplete citizen livinghood … Very bad appreciation for citizen true well being ..no? Very very bad …Capitalism gone mad in little country Barbados … You cannot be teaching students these things … NO NO NO…!

Government MUST consider Eastern solution or ALBA ….

Very NOT good ..!

5. @GP

Read what you are saying and agree to some extent. Let us see how this showdown goes. Remember Dr. Brian Charles had to go. Also GP because we may disagree it does not mean we don’t respect you, relax Doc.

6. @David,

Dr. James has been very visible in the press since his appointment and CEO, and if you ask me he seems to be making a lot more sense than Georgie Porgie who is all over the place in his arguments. I really can’t understand what GP is trying to say.

So, I think you can be a brilliant doctor but that does not make you a great hospital administrator.

7. NO NO David;

Doctor BIG Capitalist … probably train with help from tax payer … NO NO.. David must NOT respect this … Doctor must make feel uncomfortable … Not good for health of country when Doctor see doctor as normal greedy citizen … no?

8. You are not doing well in this argument. You are on the back foot as the balls are flying all around your head.
    Your defense is so weak that you went to the safe position of saying well you cannot do without us.
    Similarly
    If your house is broken into you turn to the police. Cannot do without them
    If your house is on fire you call the fire service. Cannot do without them
    Re
    They have no importance at all to you………until the day you or your relatives get sick.
    I already had the experience and was sorry that my mother and father were not living in Cuba because they may have live longer.

9. Man GP it look like I shudda gone back to babadus an nuse muh DLP harsun an familial conexions and my athsmatic,degenerative discs,high cholesteral “experience to get a pick pun de horspital board.

GP man yuh boy Hants even got lill experience designing de interior of portable temporary buildins fuh when a horsepital renovatin duh Cancer treatment rooms. Actu ally I do uh tink four in de states, one in ingalan an one fuh a clinic in south amurca.
    I din enjoy de work doh except fuh 2 trips to Miami to get direction from de muguffes and to draw wuh duh did want pun de computa.

GP you doan have to tell nuh body bout you workin in Babadus as pay back fuh you edication.
    Eff you did leff strait fron UWI an gone an wuk in de states or kanader you wudda still de sennin money back to buil a retirement home in Fort George Highs.

10. David
    I don’t know why Dr. Brian Charles had to go. But I know he made a great contribution to A& E Dept

Brutus
    Because you don’t understand what I am saying, that does not mean that I don’t know what I am saying. Like all of you emotional opiners I am actually a doctor who worked in the system and understand how it works and how the men think.

Where was Dr. James in 1985 when the polyclinic system was designed? And I guess you don’t know but much of what you have copied from the Advocate August 14, 2010 at 12:30 PM has been presented right here on BU by the same GP that you really can’t understand what he is saying
    You see we don’t have to bring the Dr James’ from overseas with their bif qualifications to work out for our people what should be done in Barbados (and what they don’t have in their own countries.)
    1. Fair Play
    I am not arguing with you all at all I playing the devils advocate, because there are two sides to the story.
    I am telling you that what I predicted months ago has happened- and why.
    I don’t have to defend anything. I am here cool calm and collected in my little place of abode
    RE I already had the experience and was sorry that my mother and father were not living in Cuba because they may have live longer.
    We have well trained doctors in Bim. The time for your mother and father was up. It is appointed unto all of us once to die. The soul that sinneth it shall die. They sinned right? And they died, when their time was up– doctor or no doctor! Ah lie?

11. So if the Board is to set policy and direction for the Health care system, it should be made up of people who have experience in the various fields related to Health care and to Business and finance.
    Hospitals in the Caribbean require bigger budgets than most businesses.

As or arrogant igrunt doctors, I am ok with dem kinda people cause I want a competent Doctor to treat my Health problem.
    I en lookin fuh nuh frien.

12. You people really accept some nonsense. What does ‘patientcentric’ means?

13. Alright so the Doctor playing Advocate of Devil … now this better understanding …

14. @Enuff

It means delivering a healthcare system where decisions are driven by patient interest and not the other players in the system.

15. @ Brutus
    August 14, 2010 at 12:30 PM |
    Re From the Barbados Advocate
    This proverb should be kept in mind when reviewing the structure of the public health care system in Barbados, with a view to placing more importance on primary care networks than on intervention care.

I SAID ALL THIS ON BU IN EARLY 2008 NOTHING NEW , and I don’t have no big job Gave it as free advice

WE PREFER TO BRING SOME ONE FROM OVERSEAS AND PAY THEM A BIG SALARY TO TELL THEM WHAT A BAJAN TOLD THEM EARLY IN 2008

CEO of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Dr. Dexter James, told the Barbados Advocate in an exclusive interview last week that not only is it necessary for polyclinics to be better utilised, but given the trends in hospital care in the 21st century, it is also time to redefine the hospital model in Barbados.

I SAID ALL THIS ON BU IN EARLY 2008 NOTHING NEW , and I don’t have no big job Gave it as free advice

WE PREFER TO BRING SOME ONE FROM OVERSEAS AND PAY THEM A BIG SALARY TO TELL THEM WHAT A BAJAN TOLD THEM EARLY IN 2008

“We have to take a real hard look at it and redefine the model and package of health care services we want to provide that is affordable and sustainable,” said the health care administrator.

James maintained that controllable diseases could be prevented from progressing to hospital care if there was a good primary care network. In addition, he pointed to the rising number of injuries sustained in motor vehicle accidents which increase the workload of the A&E, causing delays and which incur a series of costs to the hospital.

Basic treatment
    At the helm of the island’s main medical facility since June 2009, James holds that much of the inefficiencies in the QEH Accident & Emergency (A&E) Department could be reduced significantly if the non-urgent cases which present to the A&E were successfully treated at the island’s polyclinics.

“In my view, not enough attention and focus is being given to the polyclinic network. These non-urgent cases I refer to take up just about 20 – 25 percent of that 44 000 patients that come into the A&E,” he informed. “If we had the polyclinic network set up properly to do basic, first-line diagnostics, it means that we improve the efficiency of the casualty by 25 percent patients less coming through.”

Giving a scenario of how backlog occurs in the A&E waiting room, he explained, “These patients ought to have been seen at the polyclinic, but of course, you get a sprained ankle and you go to the polyclinic and they can’t do an X-ray for you; you present to A&E. But having presented to A&E, you’re classified as non-urgent, but require some investigation – and they are the ones who would stay in A&E for 8 and 9 hours because we’re going to have to see those emergency and urgent patients first before we really move into non-urgent patients.”

Polyclinic or health centre?
    “So really and truly, polyclinic is a misnomer in the Barbados context; what you really have there are health centres, not polyclinics. The way some are set up, we should have basic diagnostics, portable X-ray and basic laboratory services, emergency services and some ability to do minor procedures… None of our polyclinics right now provide that service,” said James.

“If we’re really looking at efficiency, one might argue that some of the spotlight needs to be thrown on the polyclinic network. What are they really doing out there? What is happening? What is the scope or role they provide? What is the package of services that they provide out there? Can they provide it on a sustainable basis?” he queried.
    Speaking at a DLP St. Lucy branch meeting in October 2009, Minister of Health, Donville Inniss, had revealed that his Ministry was working on a fresh mandate for the island’s polyclinics. He had acknowledged the need to raise public awareness of accessing polyclinics for treatment instead of the A&E Department. He had also recognised the need for more diagnostic equipment and noted that was an obstacle to the polyclinics functioning at the desired level.

Now David I am sure you will produce the evidence for Brutus!
    ah gone.

16. Dear GP:

You telling us then in plain Bajan that the doctor’s at the QEH wufless and own way and don’t want nobody to tell tham what to do?

That it?

And they don’t care that our taxes paid for their education? and they don’t care that the tax man got us so much by the balls that we have to ketch ZR vans while the young docors whose education we supported driving a big rides?

If this is so then I real, real depressed. Can you write a prescription for me?

17. GP wrote “You see we don’t have to bring the Dr James’ from overseas.”

GP you is a Bajan dat went way too long yuh. You en kno dat eff it en come from ova an away it ent nuh good.

What I still don’t understand is that some of the Bajan doctors went to the same Universities as de forennuhs but Bajans still prefer de forennuhs.

This goes for the other professionals as well. Architects,Engineers etc.

It is at times like this that I am glad that I have put myself in a situation that I have the option to stay the puck away from Babadus. I guess I will be doing some uh wanna a favuh.

Here is Doc GP’s submission on solutions to the healthcare delivery in Barbados submitted a couple years ago. BU has added a couple other links as well. Readers can do a search ‘QEH’ to turn up the multiple blogs on the subject of QEH.

Here is Doc GP’s link.

Here is Crusoe’s link.

Here is a Bush Tea link.

19. What patient centric what?
    How can there be a need for physicians without patients?
    The teaching and practice of medicine has always been, and will always be PATIENT centric. We dont need politically positioned priests or highly paid expatriates to tell us what we al ready know.

The same thing that is happening now happened in 76-77, when highly paid consultants were brought in to design the National Health System. They knew nothing of our system. They had to get the information from folk on the ground. They left leaving a buly manual that was unusable. The problem was solved by a young Bajan doctor who barely got through medical school, and who passed his exams Fair Play by referring to past exam papers and by the labs.

BU Praise God on 1 September 1985 the polyclinic system began to be adopted as our NHS- even though it was not incorporated as designed. Because the proposals presented on BU in early 2008 were also in the original presentations. I didnt get one red cent then, nor have I got a cent for the ideas being touted around Barbados today as the original ideas of others.

And BT this was all done by a 3/10 teacher without power point! LOL

20. J

Oh Dear … You say somebody has you by balls … Interesting you have balls … My people very interested … give a price, we have serious conversation ..no?

21. @ David
    Well good luck with that approach, I thought the way to go was ‘CUSTOMERCENTRIC’ where your decisions are driven by a balancing of both your internal and external customers’ interests. Policy must be about practicality.

22. circa 1980.
    Foriner Architec $6000 a munt plus allowances

Foriner Engineer $6000 a munt plus allowances

Bajan Architec $2300 a munt an nuttin else.

De Civil service gorilliphants will tell we it is enshrined in de civil service rules or some ssss like dat.

23. STATEMENT BY HON MIA AMOR MOTTLEY Q.C., M.P.
    LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION &
    POLITICAL LEADER OF THE BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY

“COUNTRY ADRIFT”

There is an alarming sense that Barbados is dangerously adrift.

The country is facing very clear and difficult economic problems that in and of themselves are sufficient to occupy our full attention and energy.

That we should now be distracted to deal with a number of issues that affect the access to healthcare by Barbadians and the quality of our governance is disturbing.

I refer specifically to the decision by the QEH Board in respect of the dismissal of consultant physicians and the termination of the Chairman of National Housing Corporation.

There is a deafening silence from both of the Ministers responsible for these entities – the Minister of Health and the Minister of Housing.

The news on Friday of the dismissal of one consultant physician and the attempt to dismiss another from the QEH is but another episode in the sad saga of the harassment and persecution of healthcare workers at all levels at the QEH.

A few months ago it was temporary workers and the NUPW is still battling this issue on their behalf. Now it is the consultant physicians. BAMP has announced industrial action and that it will only handle emergency cases until this matter is properly resolved.

Barbadians need the assurance that they can access quality health care. They do not want to be at the centre of industrial disputes or quarrels when they are sick. They want simply to be treated.

The QEH Board must be made aware that whatever action it wants to take, it cannot do so in a manner that jeopardizes patient care. Reports that a consultant physician was effectively denied access for 2 days to his patients, some of whom were operated on this week, are shocking and unconscionable.

To refuse to renew contracts for doctors who have been employed for more than 2 decades without giving reasons or having warning letters on their files must inevitably lead to controversy.

To seek to dismiss your only urologist when he had filed legal proceedings of which they were aware (and when he is on call until August and is rostered until the end of September) is to ignore the needs of your patients and to be contemptuous of the Court.

To do so while in the middle of industrial negotiations with BAMP on this issue is deplorable. These decisions defy common sense and the basic tenets of sound administrative and industrial practice. However, they also place at risk the care of your patients whose only interest is to get better.

I am appalled that in the middle of a medical crisis that the Minister of Health left Barbados yesterday for a vacation –a Mediterranean cruise.

Therefore, the Acting Prime Minister must seek to have this situation resolved as a matter of urgency and have the Minister return to Barbados and defer his vacation.

Barbadians know that a patient can be in pain and in serious need of treatment without their case being categorized as an emergency. However, they will not understand why they must be the victims of this industrial impasse triggered by the precipitous and reckless decisions of the Board.

In respect of the NHC, serious issues have been placed in the public domain by the former Chairman. Rather than having these matters addressed, the normally talkative Minister has not opened his mouth to utter a single comment, not even in the debate on Housing in Parliament last Tuesday.

Instead, an unnamed source has sought to change the debate by attacking the former Chairman personally on decisions taken months ago.

This vilification of persons who speak out or offer a different opinion to that of the government MUST stop.

The Minster has a duty to answer the serious charges laid against him by the former Chairman – whom he appointed. Contempt is being displayed for the public and the public’s right to be given the full facts surrounding the Minister’s role and the issuing of contracts by the NHC.

This government promised full transparency and accountability in their Manifesto and a new Freedom of Information Act.

I have submitted a private member’s resolution to ask the House of Assembly to refer the matters pertaining to the award of contracts at the NHC between December 2008 and July 31st, 2010 to the Public Accounts Committee pursuant to Section 7(e) of the Public Accounts Committee Act in the interest of achieving full transparency and accountability.

What are the arrangements with the Jada Group (Housing Concepts) and the NHC at Coverley and Country Road? Who carries the risk if the zero lot line houses are not sold?

Did the NHC sell the land to the Jada Group (Housing Concepts) at Coverley for $3.00 per square foot while boasting about wanting to sell lots to poor and low income Barbadians for $5.00 per square foot?

Did any of the Jada Group of companies pay for and/or apply for the Planning Permission for the units to be constructed at Valerie? Have there been discussions with the Jada group in respect of the more than 1000 houses to be built at Bushy Park?

Why is there no contract in place with Clico for the housing project with the NHC at Constant? There are more questions than answers!

Let us get the facts!

Barbadians are being made the victim of this absolute lack of leadership from these Ministers and the Acting Prime Minister. People are now asking who is in charge of these Ministries – not only who is in charge at the Ministry of Finance.

The country accepts that Prime Minister Thompson is unwell but they expect his Cabinet to step up to the crease. It is time for Freundel Stuart to face the Barbadian public and provide leadership as he was given the authority to do during these 2 months.

Mr. Stuart, give the country the calm assurance that there is a Government in charge of the affairs of the country, and particularly at this time, with the discomfiting state of affairs at the QEH.

14th August 2010

The above is an edited transcribed version of what was said by the Leader of the Opposition of Barbados – The Hon. Mia Amor Mottley, Q.C., M.P., at her West Wing, Parliament Building Office earlier today.

24. @ enuff
    I thought the way to go was ‘CUSTOMERCENTRIC’ where your decisions are driven by a balancing of both your internal and external customers’ interests. Policy must be about practicality.
    ‘Patient-centric’ means that the purpose of having a hospital is to facilitate sick Bajans getting well. It is not primarily there so that doctors, educated at the country’s expense, can become millionaires in record time.
    This focus has implications for the setting of certain PRIORITIES .

‘Customer centric’ is different again! Customers also include other peripheral players like suppliers, drug dealers (LOL), food people, equipment suppliers who are SECONDARY to the fundamental purpose of having the institution.

The Board is on the right track.

25. “It is not primarily there so that doctors, educated at the country’s expense, can become millionaires in record time.”

Wanna want some “cost effective” Doctors.
    Start recruiting from the Toronto or Ottawa Taxi services. Duh got nuff Doctors driving Cab in Canada dat wud probly love to work in Babadus.

I always new Jerry Emptage was a idiot. He cud be up in taronta mekkin half million dollas a yeah in jenuine canadian currency wid nuff fillipino nurses runnin bout behine he.

I does doan onstan fellas like he dat down saving men from suffarin and den gettin cuss cause he mekkin a good piece a change.
    Mebbe de men prefer to get de finga from a forennah.

26. “I always new Jerry Emptage was a idiot”

NO no you must not say these things ..no no…! Not very nice … He be BIG mout’ idiot .. no?

What is point in saving life and leaving patient destitute .. better off dead ..no?

27. @ Bush Tea
    And are patients the only customers in a hospital?

28. Hants
    I am sure that you can find some good doctors from developing countries driving taxi in Toronto dat wud probly love to work in Babadus. I taught with such a doctor from Kenya who had to return home because he could not find work in Canada despite his vast experience as a surgeon

I don’t think that Jerry Emptage is an idiot because he chose to return home instead of mekkin half million dollas a yeah in jenuine canadian currency wid nuff fillipino nurses runnin bout behine he Jerry was one of the best students in the 1980 class He is a bright boy and a competent doctor despite his love for filthy lucre, as Peter calls it.
    Like you “ I does doan onstan how fellas like he dat down saving men from suffarin and den gettin cuss cause he mekkin a good piece a change.” Of coure Bajans prefer to get de finga from a forennah.

However, Hants, Jerry’s mammer might have ticked off some.

I know for a fact that some of the junior doctors don’t like him because of his treatment of them as students BUT NOTE THAT THEY HAVE CLOSED RANKS AND ARE BACKING HIM ALONG WITH THE REST OF BAMP….as predicted and expected.
    Whether you like it or not, whether right or wrong, the men have closed ranks. The Minister ON HOLIDAY AND THE PRIEST AT MATTINS OR EVENING PRAYER complete with their guts and their balls! LOL !

29. @Georgie Porgie,

I have no doubt that you know what you are saying – I just think you could articulate it a lot more clearly. And do you really think that you are the first, or the only one, in Barbados, to have come up with the recommendations you noted above? I find that a bit arrogant . In any event I would be a lot more comfortable hearing those things said of you by others, than hearing you say them of yourself.

I think that knowing what to do is often a small part of the battle. You also have to be able to get the job done which is where a skilled administrator (as opposed to a doctor) may have a role to play.

I don’t know very much about Dr. James’ skills as an administrator, but I was very interested in the extracts below from the media reports. I think this goes right to the crux of what is needed at the QEH right now, and I think the impasse with the consultants is evidence of what Dr. James is trying to do.
    ________

Dr. James has a special interest in performance management, organisational transformation and strategic management.

According to Dr. James, his vision for the QEH is “to further the implementation of the health reform programme, while at the same time re-orienting the hospital around performance.

“This will require a comprehensive review of operating systems and processes and the involvement of all stakeholders, which it is anticipated, will lead to the improvement in the operations and management of the hospital and quality patient-centred care,” he said.

30. Re @ J
    Dear GP: You telling us then in plain Bajan that the doctor’s at the QEH wufless and own way and don’t want nobody to tell tham what to do? That it?
    No I am telling you that the fellas close ranks in the matter under consideration.
    I am saying that hospitals are best led by caring doctors who know what is needed and who can convince their colleagues to participate in doing that which is right. It can happen It used to happen

I don’t know if they care that our taxes paid for their education, but
    I have wondered if the politicians care that our taxes paid for their education our taxes paid for their education, when they give jobs that people worked hard at diligently with due diligence to foreigners.

Why are they paying a man top dollar to tell them what I told them before the elections?

If I were you I wont worry about young doctors whose education we supported driving a big rides. Those cars belong to their parents and they have been driving those cars in some cases since they were doing their A levels in some cases.

An no, I cant write you a prescription because I have not paid my registration fees , since I am not practicing. Sorry.

31. Much as I personally think that the previous administration was guilty of some of the same ‘actions or lack thereof’, I must say, that the statement attributed to Mia Mottley above, is appropriate and in terms of transparency, fair.

There are two significant issues, aside from the obvious necessity to maintain heathcare services, that arise.

The first is leadership. A strong and defined leadershi provides strong and defined guidelines and approach ans if such is not communicated effectively, in of itself indicates weak leadership.

Secondly, in terms of transparency, this was a major voting point for the last election.

The populace demands transparency of decisions and actions, such that all major decisions are clearly presented.

Whilethe populace does not expect to micromanage the actions of the Government and officers, certain decisions and actions have national and in particular, policy implications.

As such, Ms.Mottley has done her job in officially noting the issue.

32. I am not a fan of the LOO but there is much merit in her statement as presented.

Something must be wrong that “ BAMP has announced industrial action and that it will only handle emergency cases until this matter is properly resolved.”
    BAMP does not easily sanction strikes.

Re “ Reports that a consultant physician was effectively denied access for 2 days to his patients, some of whom were operated on this week, are shocking and unconscionable.”

Clearly the Board with all its guts and balls is very wrong here!

Re To refuse to renew contracts for doctors who have been employed for more than 2 decades without giving reasons or having warning letters on their files must inevitably lead to controversy.’ Well Mia must know that this was done before under BLP admin – not that this makes it right!

Re I am appalled that in the middle of a medical crisis that the Minister of Health left Barbados yesterday for a vacation –a Mediterranean cruise.”

I am appalled too but this what men with guts and balls do when they are non medical who do not know what they are doing or what to do next.

Re Therefore, the Acting Prime Minister must seek to have this situation resolved as a matter of urgency and have the Minister return to Barbados and defer his vacation.
    Mia has delusions of grandeur here. How will Frundel get a man with balls and guts to defer his Mediterranean cruise?
    It is noteworthy that none of wunnuh in got nuttin to say bout Mia’s comments except to call it political football.

Re To dismiss your only urologist will just create more private patients for him at Bay view.
    There is much food for thought in Mia’s offering. Much that is worthy of consideration. I think thatthat brief spell of bowkling from Mia has struck some of these folks either in their guts or on their well developed balls.

This is bare fun!

Leh me go back to setting this exam do!

33. GP. Calling Jerry an Idiot was meant to be sarcasm. The point I am making is that I Hants have noticed that Bajan professionals in Canada are respected in their work environments but in Barbados they are treated like crap.

Jerry was always an abrasive personality and is probably misunderstood and you GP should understand.

A lot of Bajans envy people who are accomplished.

I doan have dah problem cause I en accomplish much and to Bajans I is just “dah red fella who does be down hey regula wid de fellas unda de tree by de riva mout.”lol

In Babadus eff yuh en got nuh decree yuh en nuhbody an eff yuh eff yuh edicated with nuff papers an mekkin muney duh vex.

34. Is it possible that positions are being created for “returning nationals”?
    GP you know any other Bajan Urologists or Radiologists that might be “replacements”?

GP if you wanted to make money for your ideas, you could have teamed with two (rhymes with rite ) doctors,form a Hospital consulting company and charge the government kazillions for the information you gave for free.

Then Brutus would not be writing “And do you really think that you are the first, or the only one, in Barbados, to have come up with the recommendations you noted above? I find that a bit arrogant ”

Yuh got tummuch edication GP. duh vex.

Wait GP. I like dis Horsepital Consultancy ting man. Name it HC International.

35. Mr Brutus
    I certainly have no doubt that I know what I am saying – I think I articulated it very well in 1985 when the NHS was started from the polyclinics instead of via the British model which had so captivated the young Tom Adams when he saw it in operation in the early 50’s.
    When I articulated the things James is spouting on BU in early it was articulated well enough that those who read it understood what I wrote OK

I don’t think I KNOW that I am the in Barbados, to have come up with the recommendations I noted above. And know that is not being arrogant Sir,, but FACTUAL!

And my sharing my ideas on BU was not for your comfort but the enlightenment of the Bajan populace and its leadership It was an example of giving back. And I don’t want wunnah so to blow my trumpet cause none a wunnah not going to give me tb!

You have now gone on not only to denigrate my contribution but to suggest that I can not get my ideas implemented, and that it takes an expatriate “skilled administrator” to do so. Again I ask you where was this man in 1985 when a young mere doctor persuaded the government of the day to abandon the stupid plans proposed by the high cost consultants.

You are doing a lot of thinking Sir I think I think but what with?

I like this piece of junk that you “thought up”

You wrote “
    I think that knowing what to do is often a small part of the battle. You also have to be able to get the job done which is where a skilled administrator (as opposed to a doctor) may have a role to play.” Were doctors like Maurice Byer KR Rao, Vaugh Wells ER Walrond and others poor administrators? Does being a good doctor precludes one from being a geat administrator?

You don’t know very much about Dr. James’ skills as an administrator, and you were very interested in the extracts from the media reports. You thought again ! You say “I think this goes right to the crux of what is needed at the QEH right now, BUT YOU WERE SHOCKED TO KNOW THAT IT WAS ALREADY STATED RIGHT HERE ON BU YEARS AGO and that James is probably ready from a coppy in the hands of certain folk before the elast elections.

You make me laugh Sir.

But the greatest teacher THOUGHT & TAUGHT that A prophet is not without honor save in his own country!
    Dr James can have all sorts of visions. He can even have nocturnal emissions, BUT HE CANT DO IT WITHOUT THE CONSULTANTS HE FIGHTING WITH OR THE REST OF THE FELLAS.
    THE FACT THAT HE IS GOING DOWN THE WRONG LINE IS EVINCED BY THE FACT THAT BAMP HAS RESORTED TO INDUSTRIAL ACTION———A VERY VERY RARE THING!

Maybe Dr James should be clearer in articulating his ideas. LOL
    Maybe the Consultants cant understand his fancy jargon.
    Maybe his balls and his guts are too big! LOL

36. My intelligent agent acting on best information available inform that Medical facility under construction at Brittons Hill (after change of use of lanf granted) when Arch Cot cave gave way was in ownership of Jerry Emtage …!

37. Hants
    I know that you were being sarcastic when you called Jerry an Idiot
    I know too that abroad Bajan professionals are respected in their work environments but in Barbados they are treated like crap.
    I know too and I do understand that Jerry was always an abrasive personality and is probably misunderstood.
    I know too that a lot of Bajans envy people who are accomplished.

You asked …..Is it possible that positions are being created for “returning nationals”? You have to have nuff papers and got FRCS FACS MRCP etc

Re GP you know any other Bajan Urologists or Radiologists that might be “replacements”? Know I don’t!

Hants we could probably set up this thing we can grow beards and look Extinguished LOL er I mean distinguished and get into this Horsepital Consultancy ting man
    Unfortunately I don’t have all dat education. I just a doctor. Bit I have always been interested in Public Health issues
    Brutus could write what he like. I know what I was able to accomplish. And I know I was often forced out from early because I was thought to be a threat, because I thought about things for the common good. But that is my lot.

38. Hants must remain in Canada … do not, I repeat do not return … No space for Capitalist infidel. This problem NOT occur in East for solution simple … Like police, army and others, all medical workers that pay from tax payer are emergency service and NOT ALLOWED TO STRIKE …!

Failure to comply spend sentence of one night with Mia Mottley in bedroom or high velocity projectile to back of head…no?

39. @Georgie Porgie,

You really need to take your own advice against emotional rants.

I do not know what you mean when you say that I denigrated your contribution, but I would like to you to show me exactly where I said that YOU could not implement your ideas or that it takes an EXPATRIATE skilled administrator to do so. Being a good doctor certainly does not preclude one from being a good administrator, but surely it takes more than a medical degree to run the hospital.

I doubt that Dr. James took up the position and in a few months came up with all of those ideas he was spouting, so I absolutely believe that the ideas were fed to him. His job as CEO is primarily to ensure that the strategy and policy of the Board and the Ministry are implemented successfully.

Nobody will argue with you that the hospital can not function without doctors, but is it true that it can not function without the specific consultants that they are trying to break ties with? Do you think these two were picked at random? Because the hospital has issues with these particular consultants does it now mean they are fighting against all consultants?

Now you have told us that it will mainly be junior doctors striking, because consultants and GP’s will not strike as it is not to their benefit. You have also told us that “No board or management structure can account for greed and self ceteredness. I can tell you all about it from the old St Joseph Hospital days. Doctors are men. Bajan doctors are Bajan men , and greedy like much of the men in the society from top to bottom.”

Yet you now want us to believe that something must be wrong because BAMP has called for industrial action. Is it possible that BAMP and the junior doctors are acting mainly in their own self-interests?

We do not have all the facts, so we will have to see if the Board acted improperly in dismissing the consultants. However we can not accept that the consultants must be allowed to run things at the QEH, especially if some of them are found to be doing nonsense or not performing.

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Going through this thread I noticed that Georgie Porgie is having a field day.
    I expect him to defend the doctors after all as a doctor he reaped a lot of sweets from the same QEH. He is a part of the status quo. He is part of the problem. He has absolutely no interest in seeing any type of change at the QEH or any of the other govt. healthcare institutions.

These crazy doctors seem to believe that the QEH is theirs to do as they like with. They all have their private practice and still they hold the QEH up to ransom. It is ti run how they want it to run or it will not run at all they seem to be saying. But I have news for them, those days are over. They will be accountable like every body.

I have noticed that Dr.Belle has come out swinging. I expect that. As supporters of the Barbados Labour Party, she and her brother George Belle will do anything to bring down this Democratic Labour Party. Dr. Belle the people will not be fooled, we smell a Barbados Labour Party rat. We know what this all about. The people of Barbados will not stand idly by and watch you and your cronies destroy a fine institution in your quest to have the Barbados Labour Party returned to office.

41. It is interesting that every issue which has surfaced our opposition has to support the other side. Don’t we have any issues in the last 21/2 years where the opposition out of national interest would want to support government? The QEH has been a hotbed issue going back to Branford Taitt. Does anyone remember when Arthur fired 3 senior people from the QEH in admin? It has always been a problem, when do we intend to fix it?

Doc GP the fact you admit that the junior doctors will collude by closing ranks exposes the problem right there.

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The government should fire most of them. A lot of useless doctors who only care about the almighty dollar.

43. When you sign on to work at hospital or polyclinic you agree that you CANNOT strike …Emergency service something … maybe time to wake up now…!

44. As a proud braying jackass, may I dissent from the glorification of the ridiculous GP’s analysis upon anything happening upon this blessed isle.
    He is but a twisted soul, rent by modern rejection, but soothed by the solace of ancient prophecy.
    Not an original thought in his head that is not programmed by others, ancient or modern.
    Shame that, he means well, but his patent misplaced elitism with so little substance, leaves him so exposed as the charlatan he really is.
    Love you, GP please get over your bombastic shortcomings…

45. DLP promise …Cost of Living, Cost of Living, Cost of living

Now we see problem tackled, finally..! …no?

46. David
    Re Doc GP the fact you admit that the junior doctors will collude by closing ranks exposes the problem right there.
    What can the Junior doctors do David? They are still at the stage where they need the Consultants. They are not weaned yet LOL They got to get signed up. And you or the Priest or Donville or the erratic errant opiners on BU cant sign them up! I told you what would happen months ago that was a futurum iri followed by a futurum esse as per Caesar Gallic war book IV chap 24 I think it is LOL

47. What are the facts in this issue?

Why are the contracts of Emptage and the Radiologist apparently being terminated ?

De lotta long talk bout Consultants power is just talk. What is the truth?
    Are Consultants responsible for the decrepit state of the Hospital?

Are they abusing their privilages as consultants at the Hospital by treating their Private Patients as a priority while working at the Hospital.

What is the truth about this situation?

And if I in Barbados an my dicktatory elements block up and duh rush me to QEH, I hope duh got nuff nuff Demerol.
    Uh betta fine out whey Emptage private clinic is an get he phone numba befo I leff up hey nex time.
    If somebody gine shove dah long steel ting up my dictatory element again I want a expurt to do it boh. Not some fella wid good intentions.

48. @Doc GP

Let us understand you.

Are you saying if the QEH management has decided to deal with a couple consultants who have become Czars by making the QEH their fiefdom there is absolutely nothing that can be done?

49. Brutus
    Re You really need to take your own advice against emotional rants.
    Trust me. I am here having fun not engaging in emotional rants. I am watching from a far as my predictions unfold.
    I am glad that you concede that “ Being a good doctor certainly does not preclude one from being a good administrator,
    You say surely it takes more than a medical degree to run the hospital. How was the hospital run all along I its hey day?
    Re I doubt that Dr. James took up the position and in a few months came up with all of those ideas he was spouting, so I absolutely believe that the ideas were fed to him. WE ON BU KNOW WHO FED HIM THE IDEAS AND FROM WHENCE THEY ORIGINATED
    ITS ALL ON BU LOL
    Nobody will argue with me that the hospital can not function without doctors, because you at least know that it can not. LOL
    Re is it true that it can not function without the specific consultants that they are trying to break ties with? Do you think these two were picked at random? Because the hospital has issues with these particular consultants does it now mean they are fighting against all consultants?
    ASK BAMP ITS BAMP THAT CALL THE STRIKE NOT ME I HAVE NEVER STRUCK!
    Re Now you have told us that it will mainly be junior doctors striking, because consultants and GP’s will not strike as it is not to their benefit. You have also told us that “No board or management structure can account for greed and self ceteredness. I can tell you all about it from the old St Joseph Hospital days. Doctors are men. Bajan doctors are Bajan men , and greedy like much of the men in the society from top to bottom.”
    THAT IS THE TRUTH IS IT NOT?
    Re Yet you now want us to believe that something must be wrong because BAMP has called for industrial action. Is it possible that BAMP and the junior doctors are acting mainly in their own self-interests?
    YOU CAN BELIEVE WHAT YOU WANT TO BUT I KNOW, AND THE HISTORICAL RECORDS WILL SHOW THAT BAMP DOES NOT RUSH TO STRIKE ACT ION
    We do not have all the facts, so we will have to see if the Board acted improperly in dismissing the consultants. I AGREE
    However we can not accept that the consultants must be allowed to run things at the QEH, especially if some of them are found to be doing nonsense or not performing. IT SEEMS THAT BAMP DISAGREES WITH YOU AND THEY HAVE THE CON LOL
    Why are the Minister and Dr James and the Priest not covering the wards to night man? With all their balls and their guts? LOL
    This is so funny.

50. @GP, de nurses and orderlies coverin de wards. Eff a patient code blue de gine gih he a red JuC to save he.