Johan Bjerkhamn

On behalf of the BU household we express our deep sadness at the unfortunate death of 11 year old Luke Bjerkhamn. Luke  was allegedly shot by his father Johan Bjerkhamn a couple weeks ago at his father’s residence. This is a matter which BU has been reluctant to offer public comment in deference to the the grieving family. However, in light of the recent development that Johan Bjerkhamn evaded police questioning by waltzing out of Barbados on a private jet yesterday, we have been driven to comment on the matter.

Firstly, there is the erroneous position which has been propagated by the traditional media that Johan  Bjerkhamn has been under 24-hour police guard at the Bayview Hospital. Our source indicates it was his doctor who played a pivotal role to keep the police from questioning Johan  Bjerkhamn. It has been said that his doctor kept him heavily sedated. Keeping him in a drowsy state the doctor was able to feed the Police the story that Bjerkhamn was not medically fit to give a statement. Why the Royal Barbados Police Force would leave  Johan  Bjerkhamn unguarded at Bayview Hospital is highly questionable.

The breakdown in communication between Commissioner Dottin and his Deputy over the recent Movada Kartel Show merits probing questions about Dottin’s competence to manage the Police Force. We suggest had the alleged perpetrator of this incident been Black the statement would have been taken and the charge laid in quick time.

Interestingly, it is Sir Richard Cheltenham who is at the forefront of this matter. Didn’t he successfully keep Jippy Doyle out of prison for almost seven years? It was reported by the media that Sir Richard accompanied Johan Bjerkhamn to the private hangar at the Grantley Adams Airport yesterday. Again, isn’t it amazing that in a very high profile Police matter we are witnessing such a  high level of incompetence by our Police Force?

We are left to speculate about what happened two weeks ago at the house of Johan Bjerkhamn. What we do know from our source is that the recent incident of gun play is not the first to have been heard by neighbours. There is the unconfirmed report that Luke was the victim of a family squabble. The question now remains, will the Royal Barbados Police Force ever get the opportunity to interrogate Jonan Bjerkhamn.

An upset BU commenter posted the following comment on the matter:

Now I shifting from BFS to Barbadians in general. I am writing this article as a chance to vent before I BLEVE . Them corrupt, nasty sorcerers who are in charge of law and security in this country , Responded to a suspicious call about a rasta man ‘in quick time’ resulting in him ending up over a cliff on sharp rocks to die some moments later.

This same security dept. took a subtle and ‘hands off’, luke warm approach to deal with a shooting death of a little boy. Questions I must ask myself,What if Mr. Bjerkhamn was driving the crash tender and his service number was 109, would he he be dragged violently from behind the steering wheel by police?

Would Mr Bjerkhamn be treated with the same ROYALTY if he was a black rasta whose son was shot? Why was he discharged and the police not notified by the hospital pending an investigation? Who gave the order to withdraw police presence creating that window of opportunity? Why is it that someone from the  health care profession not wearing HMP silver bangles? And the list goes on. My conclusion is that commissioner Dottin is a Mock face , hard face ass and he need to be removed from office like yesterday.

The white people in this country are more powerful than Castro is in Cuba. We have two laws in this country, the extreme one which serves the blacks and not so fortunate and the other customized “we would make up as we go along one” which serves the whites and people from higher echelons. Where are the Hamas and Hezbollah when you really need them?

995 responses to “One Law For The Medes And Another For The Persians: The Johan Bjerkhamn Affair”

1. Atman
    Bonny is crier, hear? When i see persons hurt and in pain, I get all wrapped up in their emotions and my emotions get the better of me every time. The pain is etched all over this man’s face and I can just imagine how he is hurting inside. Whether it was an accident or incident, is a matter for the law courts. I see a man hurting and I am sharing his hurt. And if I see him cry, I will help him cry too. Just me Atman.

I know of the incident with the too youngsters who drowned in the father’s pond. I cried with the parents too. I attended the funeral at Whitepark Tabernacle and couldn’t even get to St. Philip for the burial. My tears had me too blind to see to drive. I used to call the parents and give them words of encouragement too.Didn’t know them.

I cried for the little girl that drowned recently too. Another tragedy. And I am no christian but I always ask the Lord to give the family strength. Just my way Atman.

And should you die tragically, I will help your family shed a tear too. Just me Atman.

2. sorry, I meant two youngsters not ‘too’. oopssssssssssss.

3. @ Bonny Peppa

Hi Bonny, It’s so good to see you here once more. I agree with you here, what affects one affects all. Aren’t we all part of a complete whole (being?)?
    Your old friend, bruno. 🙂

4. @Bonny,

I have no problem with you being you Bonny. I’m not trying to tell anybody how they should feel or not feel. You told me how you feel about the situation, and I told you how I feel about it…and that’s all there is to it. You don’t have to justify to me why you feel how you feel.

5. Bonny said:

“When I saw this man on the CBC News tonight, I was almost moved to tears. I feel very sorry for him. That is the truth. My heart hurt me when I saw him. He could be one of my brothers, you understand? And I know how my brothers care for their children. If I had one wish tonight it would be that I could spend just 5 minutes with him. I would give him a strong embrace and reassure him that everything is going to be alright. I feel like I would cry for him Atman. That is the truth. Such a tragedy.”

I agree wholeheartedly with Bonnny’s sentiment here.

I am actually surprised that Mr Bjerkhamn was charged at all. I suppose it depends on what the investigations revealed, but the fact that the police delayed so long without charging him suggests that they were not sure that they could make a case against him for gross negligence manslaughter.

Quite frankly, I am not sure that they will be able to prove this and if I were the defence I would make a no case submission at the preliminary enquiry (even though I have never seen that happen in Barbados). Some persons (like atman) may argue that cleaning a gun while your son is in the room may be negligent or careless and they may have a point. However, I am not sure that this meets the threshold of recklessness (which is the requirement for this type of manslaughter). The deceased person’s age didn’t make Mr Bjerkhamn actions any more or less reckless.

Whether the deceased was an 11 year old high school student or a 35 year marksman, this accident could just have easily happened the same way.

From what I read online, it seems to be very important to keep one’s gun clean and considering that this man was a gun store owner, I suppose this was something he did all the time.

If there are any gun owners that post on this blog maybe they can enlighten us as to whether it is common practice to ensure that a room is empty before one starts to clean a gun (I am clueless when it comes to guns because I hate the things).

Anyway, this is a tragic story and my heart goes out to Mr Bjerkhamn and his family.

6. @ 5-O are phasing the buffalo soldiers with legalities
    kymani marley – warriors

7. @BFP propagandists
    – Barbados should implement a space program to build a rocket ship to Mars to help the economy and local community
    – The wisest of the BU elders should be selected for space migration missions to continue the good work in S.M.I2.L.E (Space Migration= Intelligence Increase + Life Extension)
    – However, the lesser darker locals who are the Descendant’s of the African Slave Race are still misinterpreting issues by the historical legacy of the old world order of Racism, World domination by European Colonialisation to steal world resources, coupled with New World Order Theories of One World Government, Banking Conspiracies by the Rockerfellers etc
    – For the record all local and Global and political issues are really about the Rich exploiting the Poor and not the Whites exploiting the Blacks, (which is a subtle difference)
    – The real situation is in fact a lot more complex, where for example the Crooked Cocaine Industry is run by Whites and the preferable Weed industry run by Blacks. But drug arrests are disproportionate against Blacks and so is the distribution and control of wealth which is stacked in favour of the minority white cash money power mongers operating freely in BIM with dirty drug money using offshore banking facilities
    —————————————————————————————————-
    Young Keno feat TK, Ya Boy & Tyga – Tattoos & Jewelry Remix + Young Keno feat Jim Jones – Fast Life

8. I agree completely with Bonny and Anonlegal. I don’t think that the Police can make their case either. I do think, however, that they had to charge him, but that those charges, after full investigation, will be dropped. Ought to be dropped. His life is seriously compromised now and this is very deep shadow that will always be hovering over it. To the end of his life, he will be haunted by this spectre. I would imagine that he would be happy to spend the rest of his life in prison just to make it all go away and have his son back. No punishment that we individually or as a society can think up for him can possibly be any worse than the one he is currently undergoing and will ALWAYS undergo. He will willingly, I am sure, hand himself over to the Police for whatever punishment they choose in the courts, if it gets that far, which I am convinced it should not – waste of taxpayers’ money.

This, most sadly, is the perfect forum to discuss the issue of firearms and firearm safety, which I urge. However, in my respectful opinion, the discussion should be limited to that.

9. Iam moved to tears for a system of justice that shows how one class can be treated differently and another class indifferently.

10. Another Legacy of the European Global Power Systems of Colonialism and Capitalism is corrupted political power networking by Freemasons and Big Business Lobbies is rife in third world countries in the Caribbean and Indian Sub-Continent, (because money and power corrupts absolutely)

Tyga – Live Forever

11. When you are rich(and white) in Barbados you will know the outcome of your court case even if you up and leave and then come back,these kiss asses knew that he was going to get bail even before the plane landed,a less fortunate person now would have been in the court dock biting their lips or grinding their teeth to see the outcome which most likely would have been getting remanded to Dodds.

12. Until this two Barbados’ shite done and all bajans black,white,indian,chinese,whoever are all treated fairly in the eyes of the law black bajans that are at the receiving end mostly by the thug police in this country will always have fuel to add to the fire and the ones in authority will always look like kiss ass scum dogs to us,this case has opened a lot of eyes and it shows that money with connections definitely buys freedom in the third world.

13. @ Anonlegal

I am rather surprised that you would advocate a no case to answer “now.” Perhaps you know more than I do about the facts. However, the no case submission would have to be made after the prosecution have outlined their case and it is possible and I say only “possible” they know more than has been reported in the media. The above relates only to your point of a no case to answer submission “now”.

A no case submission can obviously be rejected by the court but at trial the other points you have made could be pertinent. As regards “carelessness” it could be defined as “deliberately doing something knowing that there was a risk.” I would put it to you a “competent” gun dealer should have been aware of that risk.

My views on a conviction have previously been stated.

14. Where on the law books in Barbados does it say that a black person can’t get bail and only a white person can get bail.
    An Example of a case where in the USA a wealthy black man did get bail one OJ Simpson.
    What about Hilary Beckles son that murdered someone in Jamaica and now roams the streets of Barbados non chalant.
    What about Ruel Ward ( who teifed 4 million from Sagicor who is out on bond/bail fled to France ) now is co owner of a business living the life of luxury last time I saw Ruel he was what one would consider a black man ( he comes from the Mount Gay rum family if this was a poor person of any colour, creed , and or race they would have the book thrown at them and be under lock and key, NO the key would be thrown away.
    Please social injustices effect all in life.
    Do not make this a race issue because this is not .

15. when yuh all find time to stop crying take a look at the facts.
    A murder was committed on April 11 2010.The suspect was able to leave the country .Twelve days latter the suspect was booked. What is wrong with this picture?

16. Also what is also wrong wit de picture when Ruel Ward skipped bail/bond fled to France for a year was arrested upon returning to Barbados and was able while still on bond which he is ( his case is being adjourned by clever lawyers ) He has to surrender his Barbados passport .His US visa expires and under his counsel they argue to get him his US Visa back here is a man who was charged for embezzlement, etc etc who jumped bail is a flight risk and fled getting his visa back to travel which he does all over the map.
    I remind you Johan at the time he left had not been charged with a crime he came back after his surgery and faced the music .
    Where as In Mr ( Ruel Mount Gay Wards case he fled was a fugitive for a year he was the one who waltzed his was back into Barbados and was given carte blanche the charges are still pending his case hasn’t been heard yet ..Delays after delays but whilst this is happening when he has proven he was indeed a flight risk this wealthy black man was allowed to get his travel documents passport and given permission to renew his US visa someone explain how this could happen .,Charges are still pending case hasn;t been heard yet …

17. Cheese on bread we have come to the conclusion that money buys freedom no matter the colour here in Bim,what we are saying is most people that don’t have it which just happens to be the blacks the outcome can be quite different,by the way what is your beef with Ruel Ward..he did not kill anyone nor his son by accidental gunfire and then whisked away by Pilly and Johnny,the facts stated he was involved with the theft of money with Michael Pooller (a white man)and another of his brothers who has since lost his job,what more do you want,we have politicians that have stolen millions and drive around Barbados free like birds,look leave the man alone yah,seems like he screw one of your women or something and you can’t handle it.

18. I will not be oppossed if anyone feels that wealthy people get privelages that others do not because this does ring true in all races, colours and creed of people,
    Apparently ,BS walks and money talks.
    Money when it gets in some peoples hands they care less where it came from just that it got in der hands.

I believe that many times minorities esp in the USA are wrongfully charged , convicted and incarcerated.
    Many times esp in capital crimes such as aggravated robberies, rapes and even murders a po mon can only get the councel the state provides which are your over worked underpaid state provided attorneys who do not have the resources often time to do a more thorough investigation and afford expert witnesses further DNA testing .IT’s a tragedy but I support the innocent project which is giving the wrongfully accused a second chance at freedom and life

19. I didn’t know it was women Ruel especially liked to screw.You do not know if I am a man a woman or both LOL so let’s keep it tat way. Maybe it was my man he dun wen a screwed Ha

20. I don’t think this is the first time someone was “accidentally” killed, (alleged). My question is, how were the other “averaged” accused treated? Are we now setting a precedent for all accidental deaths? We must be very careful about these matters. What was the relationship between the child’s mother and father? could there be other reasons that are being swept under the carpet through sympathy? All these questions must be answered. Remember, the accused is innocent until proven guilty. In law he is not condemned but must answer hard question to prove his innocence.

21. If you are angry because you feel that the scales of justice only have positive outcomes for the wealthy, elite of society and the poor man gets rushed through railroaded I am wit ya mon.
    Let’s make this a class socioeconomic issue that impovershed get shafted but this is more about wealth carrying clout and special privelages that the rules differ depending on the size of your bank account and wallets.

22. @BFP False Accusations Etched In Stone and Removed from Above
    ———————————————————————————————-
    The BFP must be tripping and the BU (whoever they are) will vigorously defend themselves against false rumours of terrorism racism

Akbar – Space oddysey

Freestyle – See No Hear No

23. Cheese on bread for your info there is another Ruel Ward in Barbados and he is rumoured to be of the She -She persuasion,not the Ruel Ward of Mount Gay,get your facts straight,maybe it is him you are referring to,don’t mind i can’t swear for anyone but remember there are more persons that go by that name,your obsession meter is way up.

24. u know i have read this thread for a couple days and i had promised not to comment as some of u on here are REALLY SICK PEOPLE, this is not a race issue as u idiots would want it to be, IT MAY be a class issue, but in the end the kid is dead, that’s tragic isn’t it ? killed by his father, he killed his only son @ 11 years old, a family is suffering, does it matter if they are black, white or asian ? i am really concerned for some of ur kids, what are u teaching them ?

All these stupid conspiracy theories , drug use, family quarrel , stupse…that man is going through a living hell, i just hope that him or his family never reads this blog !

AGAIN I AM ASHAMED !

IMBECILES !

25. THAT COMMENT ABOVE IS MINE

26. Anoymous well said indeed thanks
    Freewilly I have no beef with Ruel, Hillary Beckles son just that they were given special treatment and they are both black men. The problem I have is people with contacts , the connections are able to be criminals and nut one thing is done.
    I know Johans case is a alledged accidental murder where the charges are manslaughter which we have to wait and see all the facts .
    His lawyers did advise him he had the green light to leave they personally escorted him so therefore ( Johan) had felt his i’s were dotted and his t’s crossed though Ruels charges should carry some serious jail time considering the amount that was stolen I doubt his lawyers advised him to flee he perhaps did this himself and here was all these posters so sure that Johan was going to Belize and Brazil when he had the courage to face his charges.
    That is the parallel I make.
    You must if you are upset be at the system that protects the wealthy and crusifies the poor both beckles and ward from wealthy families need me say more mon?

27. All of the above mentioned cases indicates how much power the filthy rich has in Bim.The people should be more focused on this type of injustice because if or when their time come the system ain’t going to show no mercy.No need to cry for Johnwhen all is said and done he would go back to his high foluted life surrounded by his inner circle of friends and the poor bajan would still haveto deal with a justice sytem who don’t know how to treat its citizens fairly.

28. No the Ruel Ward I speak of is Mount Gay Ruel why you defending him so much he your lover boy free willy mon you got it bad for Ruel Ha

29. The question of bail has repeatedly been mentioned here and some have said put him in Dodds, as they do to others…that is a separate issue.

The starting point for “most” bail decisions is that the defendant has a “right” to bail.

In some cases the above would not apply, because of the nature of the offence. However, if the circumstances are exceptional bail could still be granted. Most people “at this stage” would agree these are exceptional circumstances. The Court on granting bail would naturally have to state what are the exceptional circumstances.

We must remember the witholding of bail is not a punishment…the accused is only that “accused” he/she has not been convicted.

In the refusal of bail substantial grounds must exist for believing that if bailed ( with or without conditions) the defendant would:

* fail to surrender to custody, and/or
    * committ an offence on bail, and/or
    * interfere with witnesses or obstruct the course of justice.

It is true that in considering the above the Court must also consider the strength of the prosecution’s evidence.

30. I feel Johan is innocent !I This was a tragic accident! I am merely showing those who want to cruicy him unfairly that his wealth should not be used against him
    But I am only debating to show that please the man followed protocal , was advised he could leave .
    He through his lawyers contacted the commisioner of police of his pending travel ( the police that houvered around him left his hospital room Saturday he didn’t leave until midday Monday as he told the commisioner of police he was doing so.
    He was cleared to travel this was not a trip to Disney world..
    He went from the Miami airport to a Miami hospital
    INo fault of his that he needed surgery more advanced in the USA.
    Look at all the polticians who go abroad esp to the USA for surgeries why because many times they do not have the facilities here to do special more intensified surgeries.
    The poor man lost his child you want him to lose his hand to.
    What is wrong he came back as he said he would.
    I am trying to tell many here Yes he was fortunate to be able to afford to do this but do not condemn him for this he came back and turned himself in what mo ya want mon?

31. Not really COB its pussies like you that like to scandal peoples names without facts,you ever see the man bulling or is it a rumour just like i said of the other :rumoured”…seems like you have hard facts..which tells me if he is one then you are no different because it is of interest to you..lol.

32. Damn you people think his wealth is going to make him mourn less than a poor man would for his child are a bunch of sick individuals.
    I feel he is so innocent of everything accept he naively sadly tragically had poor judgement.
    Johan would give all his money back to have Luke back.
    You know that money many of ya haters hate him for having don’t mean jack shite when you have lost your only son.
    A man crying in a shack or a man crying in a mansion for his son their tears their pain the same.
    What is wrong wit ya people mon.
    You hate people so much wit money that you ridicule his mourning sick sick freaks that do that.
    Where’s your heart do ya even have any hearts …
    Look at Kayne West example he lost his Mom the only family person he was close to or had . I saw him in intervies whaling, crying sayin I at times most of the time my success wealth came with a price tag I can’t accept I wish I had never been successful or rich I want my mom back/
    because my mom died having a plastic surgery to fit into hollywood clebrity look.
    Since his moms sudden death this multi Millionare has been freaking out getting arrested .lashing out in pain.
    So Kayne is rich so he should suffer like johan what a bunch of asses here.
    What does his money have to do with his mourning . Kayne said he would give it all back walk away from fame fortune to have momma back.
    Don’t you know Johan would give everything back to have Luke back it’s impossible.
    We all bleed red blood we all cry tears that taste like salt.
    I am moved by others tears don’t care of your poor rich purple…have some compassion peeps

33. Freewilly stop protesting the more you draw attention the more credibility that the rumors are true . let it die it has no room here and you can’t castigate Johans wealth without being able to take it back on Beckles son and Mr mount GAY ward. fitting be the name

34. I watched bjorn johan Bkeckhamn on TV . He clearly was in a state of dismay, distraught and deeply effected at the loss of his only son.
    Give him some much deserved space to mourn in peace.
    Let the police finish a proper investigation and let the lawyers everyone do their work. But respect the man he is a fellow brother in the eyes of Jah

35. All caring human beings in Barbados must sympathize with the Bjerkhamn family at this time of sadness, especially parents. This sentiment must not be confused with how many Barbadians feel about how the justice process has unfolded so far in this matter. An indecisive police force believed to have been co-opted and manipulated in this matter. Interesting is the public message in the media yesterday that Johan was expected to get bail, interesting indeed.

36. BFP posers have the cheek to come to the BU competitors site and preach and teach tolerance and peace in communities when they strategically and hatefully (falsely) accuse anonymous BU commentators of starting an Islam Hizbolah Hamas fundamentalist style revolution. The BU regularly hate those type of peoples. For the record BU posters are (most probably) armchair activists who stay indoors blogging and are not professionally involved in any pay-rolled police, legal, immigration, business or governmental activities.
    ——————————————————————————————————-
    DJ ?

37. Regrettable as it is, it is only after terrible tragedies like this one that laws are changed.

The suggestion that this father should now start a campaign to get our gun laws changed seems supremely sensible, I hope he considers it.

My suggestion for gun laws is that only the BDF, the armed police, and fully registered and controlled sporting clubs should possess firearms. In a small island like Barbados, there is no need for private citizens, not even farmers (where stray dogs and centipedes seem to be the most dangerous creatures) to possess a gun.

In the sporting clubs, the guns or ammunition could not be removed from the premises, and members would be strictly controlled within.

We do not allow casinos, domestic abuse or other criminality. We know these things occur, but if caught the culprits should feel the full weight of the law, with appropriate punishments.

38. Yardbroom
    A blessed good morning to your good self Sir. I have the utmost respect for you above all others. You seem so genuine and pleasant. YOu make my heart go ‘titty-bum”. Can I propose to you or you’re already ‘spoken for’?
    Anyway, help me out here:
    Luke lost his life because of negligence. The little girl that drowned at Miami lost her life because of negligence too, I would say. Are these two cases one and the same? Or the same difference?
    If you take my child from my home, you are responsible for his/her safe return?
    I’m not condemning anyone because no one would wilfully harm a child but accidents happen and there’s always that unguarded moment when we wish that we could ‘turn back the hands of time’.
    I feel very sorry for Johan and I also feel just as sorry for the lady that took that little girl to the beach.
    They both have a heavy burden to carry.

when i stop crying, I gun cry sum moe girl. Mekkin sport or wah? bonny is a crier.

39. Also uniformed security personnel could have an armed division, but not the proprietors of the businesses they are protecting. How many small shop keepers keep a gun under their counter in Barbados? Why?

40. Just curious. What type of medical attention does Johan needs that is not available in Barbados? Could it be that the medical care he requires is not even available at a Private Institution such as Bayview Hospital? I assume he is probably being viewed as having the financial backing to take care of himself, unlike some of our citizens who would not have the funds to seek help somewhere else.

I just hope that Johan is not so distraught to the point of no return. What a laughing stock that would be at our Judicial System. I am in no way saying that he should not be allowed to get medical attention somewhere else, especially if it could be life threatening.

My concern is, our Judicial system seems to have no pity for the poor who commit or allegedly commit crimes, should a serious health issue arise. To me, the system seems to think that the poor people needs not to have any leniency whatsoever for wrong doing. Our system fails miserably in applying “what is good for the goose is good for the gander” belief. I have to keep reminding myself that classism is alive and well in Barbados and will be to the end of time.

I just hope that Johan holds up his end of the bargain, so we don’t have to be chanting, “who believed he was just like he.” No disrespect.

May his son rest in peace and Johan gets the help he needs, which might help to overcome his pain and loss.

41. permres
    Look, I would like David or Donville ta ‘shoot’ me wid dem gun so ya got ta leh dem keep dem guns, hear?

42. Dr. Jerry Thorne our top Orthopaedic Surgeon attended Johan Bjerkhamn and was a witness to the Affadavit published in the Press this week on the matter. To ask if the medical attention required by Johan is not available in Barbados is to question Thorne.

43. @ ac // April 24, 2010 at 7:24 AM
    …. the poor bajan would still have to deal with a justice system who don’t know how to treat its citizens fairly.

Among all other statements, WELL SAID!!

44. Melancholy
    ‘Classism’ is a WORLD-WIDE thing. And will be ’til de end of time’.

Anyway, about 12 or so years ago two German friends of mine who were vacationing here with me and my family were involved in a reallly serious accident on the Spring Garden Highway. They were taken to QEH by ambulance. She was unconscious, he wasn’t. She suffered severe head injuries, he, a broken pelvis among other serious injuries. She had to have some emergency x-ray or some shite so and it had to be done somewhere in B/ville. Would you believe that the clinic in B/ville said that they had just closed for the day and couldn’t accommodate her? The doc at QEH had to beg for their assistance. Anyway, to make a long story longer, eventually, we had to arrange for both of them to be air-lifted by the air-ambulance to Puerto Rico for emergency procedures the following day. They spent about 6-8 weeks there and then were air-lifted back to Germany. All this time she was in a coma.
    Well the story had a happy ending. They’re both very much alive. She was like a new born baby. Had to learn to do everything all over again from scratch. She couldn’t even remember her name.
    The outcome of the accident was ruled as ‘they crossed the highway at their own risk’.
    They were struck by a taxi-car. And we all know how they drive. Not much better than the condemned ZR’S.

So I’m just trying to show that QEH can only do so much but there’s better elsewhere, providing you have the ‘legal tender’.

45. What medical services he couldn get in BIM are you kidding me Owen Arthur , Gline Clark went overseas as well as countless over politicians ( Johan is seeing a team of nuerosurgeons in Miami USA,
    There is nothing cynical or is there a conspiracy here just a man trying to save his hand/ Nothing more nothing less!
    The Britsih high Commision tells the British women to have their babies when pregnant in * Great Britian verses here. The medical care here is not up to par great doctors though

46. If a similar incident had happened in a major city in Canada, the house where it occurred would have been treated as a crime scene and the investigators would explore enough “possibilites” to satisfy the public.

Barbados is different. We are a kinder,gentler caring society.

I hope future “incidents” will see those involved treated in the same kinder,gentler manner by our nice accomodating Police officers.

47. @soca4ever “seeing a team of nuerosurgeons in Miami USA”

He got a Brain injury?

lmrao

48. It would seem that posters do not understand the damage a gunshot can do to limbs.

I have a friend who got shot in his shin and the bullet lodged somewhere near the ankle. He spend nearly a year in hospital. He ended up with steel in his foot and several operations on nerves, bones, etc. After two years he was still limping, foot in some kind of traction and foot still numb. Five years later, he is much better but still with a limp.

Many Bajans in recent times have been shot. They don’t have the money so they stay in the hospital or at home and suffer. There is the injustice. Check for yourselves.

49. inmypj'sblogger Avatar
    inmypj’sblogger

from The Nation news Sat 24th April,father Bjorn BJerkhamn
    Reflecting on his son’s hand injury, he said that although Johan knew he had to go overseas to seek treatment as soon as possible,he refused to go until he had buried his son.
    The doctors said had we not gotten him up there when we did , he would have lost his hand!
    As is is now, he has lost a considerable portion of it, because it had gangrene and was rotting.
    “The doctors here did a good job of stabalising it, but he should have gone sooner but he wouldn’t go.
    “he said he was not leaving until he buried his son and the earliest we could have had the funeral after all the formalities was Saturday,” said Bjerkhamn.
    “he will never regain the full use of his hand.
    The hand is going to damaged for life, but there are still a couple more operations to be done, and he will only get 50 percent use of it.” he added.

Further diwb Bjorn said that currentlt the family still feared for Johans state of mind, and said he was never left alone at any time.” We have been working around the clock. That was his only son and we cannot leave him aline. A Family member is with him 24 houts a day he added.

The man suffers enough let him heal in peace please and as well as his family!

50. One other thing. Don’t you think that if a doctor knows that a patient has the money that would prevent him/her from suffering that the doctor would not arrange for him to be spared the suffering? If you have no money, or the state can’t pay, what do you think will happen? Yes, you will stay there and suffer for years. Doctor can’t do a thing for you.