Click image to read related blog

In recent days BU sense a quickening of the political pace in Barbados. We have had the statement floated by Minister responsible for economic affairs David Estwick about the necessity for a wage freeze and all hell has broken lose. Prime Minister David Thompson and Minister of Agriculture Haynesley Benn have declared support for the wage freeze initiative. To be predicted the cries of the unions, an IMF official, and the media houses have joined the fray, John Public has been given another reason to sit up and take note regarding the tottering economy.

What should be clear to most Barbadians on both sides of the political divide is the recognition the pace has quickened because the economy has started to spiral. It will take a a vision filled captain supported by a dedicated team to keep Barbados from running aground. Forget about restructuring the economy it has now become all about survival.

To add to the excitement, news reaching BU suggests veteran journalist David Ellis has resigned from STARCOM Network. Ellis has always attracted heavy criticism from BU because he is the lone journalist in Barbados who has the breath of knowledge and experience to qualify as a proper journalist. On the flip side, we understand he would have had to curtail and sacrifice his creative skills and dampened his journalistic curiosity at the altar of pure economic considerations during his tenure at STARCOM. Vic Fernandez along with his former Chief Operating Officer Alex Macdonald would have provided little wriggle room on that front. If our source is correct Ellis’ resignation seems the honourable thing for the veteran journalist to do. The fact he occupies the position as the only bona fide journalist in Barbados should still recommend him for a job. His former colleague Roy Morris seems to have bounced back with the recent launch of an online newspaper Barbados Today. God help Barbados if we are to assume Stetson ‘ the tueeesday edition’ Babb is the one groomed to fill Ellis’ shoes.

It will be business as usual on River Road, Vic will continue to drive his top of the line Audi to the office while his foot soldiers are sent home or harassed into leaving. Never a dull moment in Barbados.

Opposition Leader Mia Mottley has decided to make political mileage fuelled by the current confusion surrounding how the Thompson government has been managing the economy; and rightly so. The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) has slated a national meeting for St. Patricks on Sunday at 7PM. Barbadians are being encouraged to attend the meeting to demonstrate concern about the plan to make civil servants suffer some more by enduring a wage freeze. Bear in mind Barbadians have had to accommodate increases from all the major utilities of water, electricity and telephone in a relatively short time. Additionally, the incumbent government has instituted a policy of passing on fuel increases to the consumer, a departure from its predecessor. We have even had the questionable situation where rum shops have seen the rum license moved to $1,000.00. Most Barbadians would agree the rum shop in Barbados serves as an outlet for Bajans to socialize and not only for people to get drunk. The timing of the meeting maybe an issue if the BLP hopes to attract young and middleclass Barbados, Super Bowl XLLIV is scheduled to start at 7PM! Some may opine the foregoing statement points to what ails our little country.

The meeting at St. Patricks may still attract a good crowd given how some Barbadians are attracted by the salacious. BU in earlier blogs exposed the fact Mottley has a centipede in her bed. In the last 48 hours Barbadians have been treated to the news that there is disquiet in the BLP camp, a constituency meeting in St. Peter on Sunday night has been cancelled in deference to the national meeting slated in St. Patricks. On the surface, the explanation by BLP officials seems reasonable given the need for the BLP to want to respond nationally to talk about a wage freeze. However the fact veteran BLP member George Griffith feels the need to go public about the cancelation suggests there is more to the motar than the pestle. Whatever happens BU remains convinced the Arthur versus Mottley struggle will make for interesting theatre in the coming weeks and months.

Never a dull moment in Bim!

79 responses to “Never A Dull Moment In Barbados: Veteran Journalist David Ellis Squeezed Out From STARCOM Network?”

1. @GP
    Finally someting we agree on.Corned Beef LOL!

2. The Now Generation
    How far can a message board following really take a career?
    “You got to go further than the internet. It begins with the internet, but it ends with taking over the whole world.”

3. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

David/BU

David ellis is on the call in show today.

Is his resignation off?

He has not mentioned anything so far.

4. Off topic but interesting from Nationnews.
    “”[George] Griffith is totally out of place making a comment like that just to keep the flames burning for Mr Arthur,” Clyde Griffith said.

He added: “Let’s be honest. Arthur is a spent force . . . . If you look at Arthur’s last five years in office, he made a lot of mistakes . . . . ”

Griffith advised Arthur to instruct the likes of George Griffith to allow the “youthful, intelligent and energetic” Mottley to fulfil her leadership mandate.

5. Stimulus packages to get us back to where?
    To the funny money dreamland of 2007.

The system is broken (and broke).

It relied on increasing debt to annually inflate company profits, which incurred more bubbles and debt to sustain itself, and we are spending trillions to return there.

Once it is accepted that the whole western system of economics is a charade, fabricated for upward wealth transference, we may then abandon conventional “economics” and start talking real wealth accumulation.

6. Agreed Straight Talk

7. @Straight Talk: “Stimulus packages to get us back to where? To the funny money dreamland of 2007.

It’s kinda weird, isn’t it?

Every time one turns on the TV, there’s fear, uncertainty and doubt (FUD).

Turn on your computer, and it’s the same thing.

Do you think there might be an agenda here?

8. I dunno Chris about agendas.

I just observe the world’s strange twists and turns, the contrived media emphases and their blatant ignorance, and wonder WHY?

After scratching my arse a bit, and really analysing the situation it does smack you with the clarity of a frozen haddock round the chops.

We know we’re being had, and we like it so.

9. ‘He added: “Let’s be honest. Arthur is a spent force . . . . If you look at Arthur’s last five years in office, he made a lot of mistakes . . . . ”

Griffith advised Arthur to instruct the likes of George Griffith to allow the “youthful, intelligent and energetic” Mottley to fulfil her leadership mandate.’

At least Mr.Arthur has the testicular fortitude to live by his words and opinion (whether right or wrong) and not support the existing ‘leadership’.

At least he is showing that he is not a fly-by-night grasshopper, option to support whomever be the leader at this particular point in time.

Mia should beware of the charlatans and political opportunists, who support whomoever carries the chequebook.

Indeed, where were Mr.Griffith opinions when cabinet made the decisions that he alludes to?

Speaking up or sitting and ‘Aye-ing’?

One thing one must remember, that something is only as good as the foundation.

If, according to alleged reports the bassa-bassa in Roevuck Street that followed the election actually occurred, which the current actions would tend to point to, then the foundation of the current status was not sound.

That said, the constant harping about Arthur by members of his own Government, whom he overshadowed by far, reflects less on him and more on their poor quality.

And their poor quality is what is going to cost the BLP in future.

10. @Crusoe…

Can we *please* get *really* serious for just a little while?

Was not Mr. Owen Arthur *intimately* responsible with all aspects of the FTC’s creation?

Please let me (and everyone) know if I’m wrong.

I (we) welcome your answer.

11. I can’ believe dat wanna discussin’ dat convient rat Clyde Girffith with any degree ah seriousness pun dis t’read…! I knew dat somet’ing din smell right pun dis PC when I turn it on…!

You good …?

12. news at its best Avatar
    news at its best

Have you listen to starcom news you tell me mean recently.

Excellent Indepth work

13. Halsall ???

What? The point in this issue, is not whether the Arthur Cabinet made mistakes. That has been and is a discussion of another nature.

You have gone off on a tangent.

The point on this is that members of the Arthur Cabinet, now wish their leader to take the rap for all, now that things are against them.

This is pretty clear, that they are in deep trouble.

As for *we*, who is we?

You sounding like Dictionary with his *onlookers* nonsense.

14. Crusoe

Haha yah killing me. I agree man, Chris you trying tah make up de BU Foursome or wah..?

15. Did David Ellis resign?

16. @Hants

Our sources tell us his resignation is still on the table but the big ups are working feverishly to change his mind.

17. Well well, please tell me what David Elllis brings to the table that is so important to protect? Seriously, what level of respect does he attract from public personalities? David Thompson like Owen Arthur think nothing of him, or Stetson Babb for that matter…! Your sources David are corrupt… unreliable! I don’t even think Harold Hoyte likes him that much. Come on the man is extremely limited.

18. The latest economist to speakout about the state of the Barbados economy is Professor Michael Howard. He seems resigned to the view that a wage freeze is the right decision given the widenning deficit. Bear in mind the government wage bill is a significant part of the national expenditure.

On a related note is Mottley politically reckless to tell civil servants that the government should not freeze salaries?

19. On a related note is Mottley politically reckless to tell civil servants that the government should not freeze salaries?

How could that be, when she is telling the masses what they want to hear?

The choices are very simple for public workers:
    Wage freeze = All keep jobs (for now)
    Wage increase = Some keep jobs (for now)others get green paper.

The P.M. is on record saying that they will be not job or wage cuts, I think he is the one that is being politically reckless.

20. I will never forget when Earskine Sandiford increased his salary and that of other MP’s by just over eight percent and within two weeks of doing so, cut the salaries of all other civil servants. It was at that point that I truly realised that there were no great people in this world, just people who understood the bigger picture and who realised that people’s memories were prone to be very short..!

21. Starcom has an employee that’s got three degrees (including law), can fluently speak four languages and has mastered five musical instruments… why would that company be concerned about keeping anyone else?

22. Well, if we can describe David Ellis as limited then there’s really not a shadow of a hope for journalism in Barbados.
    The guy is clearly the only one you can depend on not to feed the political gurus the pap they are so generously served by other JournalESS.

23. Leave Vic alone with his AUDI…this is a long way from those “Mauby Cooler” days of climbing the Pine Hill to CBC. Peddaling that thing like a juice gringer all the way up the hill.