Click image to read related blog

In recent days BU sense a quickening of the political pace in Barbados. We have had the statement floated by Minister responsible for economic affairs David Estwick about the necessity for a wage freeze and all hell has broken lose. Prime Minister David Thompson and Minister of Agriculture Haynesley Benn have declared support for the wage freeze initiative. To be predicted the cries of the unions, an IMF official, and the media houses have joined the fray, John Public has been given another reason to sit up and take note regarding the tottering economy.

What should be clear to most Barbadians on both sides of the political divide is the recognition the pace has quickened because the economy has started to spiral. It will take a a vision filled captain supported by a dedicated team to keep Barbados from running aground. Forget about restructuring the economy it has now become all about survival.

To add to the excitement, news reaching BU suggests veteran journalist David Ellis has resigned from STARCOM Network. Ellis has always attracted heavy criticism from BU because he is the lone journalist in Barbados who has the breath of knowledge and experience to qualify as a proper journalist. On the flip side, we understand he would have had to curtail and sacrifice his creative skills and dampened his journalistic curiosity at the altar of pure economic considerations during his tenure at STARCOM. Vic Fernandez along with his former Chief Operating Officer Alex Macdonald would have provided little wriggle room on that front. If our source is correct Ellis’ resignation seems the honourable thing for the veteran journalist to do. The fact he occupies the position as the only bona fide journalist in Barbados should still recommend him for a job. His former colleague Roy Morris seems to have bounced back with the recent launch of an online newspaper Barbados Today. God help Barbados if we are to assume Stetson ‘ the tueeesday edition’ Babb is the one groomed to fill Ellis’ shoes.

It will be business as usual on River Road, Vic will continue to drive his top of the line Audi to the office while his foot soldiers are sent home or harassed into leaving. Never a dull moment in Barbados.

Opposition Leader Mia Mottley has decided to make political mileage fuelled by the current confusion surrounding how the Thompson government has been managing the economy; and rightly so. The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) has slated a national meeting for St. Patricks on Sunday at 7PM. Barbadians are being encouraged to attend the meeting to demonstrate concern about the plan to make civil servants suffer some more by enduring a wage freeze. Bear in mind Barbadians have had to accommodate increases from all the major utilities of water, electricity and telephone in a relatively short time. Additionally, the incumbent government has instituted a policy of passing on fuel increases to the consumer, a departure from its predecessor. We have even had the questionable situation where rum shops have seen the rum license moved to $1,000.00. Most Barbadians would agree the rum shop in Barbados serves as an outlet for Bajans to socialize and not only for people to get drunk. The timing of the meeting maybe an issue if the BLP hopes to attract young and middleclass Barbados, Super Bowl XLLIV is scheduled to start at 7PM! Some may opine the foregoing statement points to what ails our little country.

The meeting at St. Patricks may still attract a good crowd given how some Barbadians are attracted by the salacious. BU in earlier blogs exposed the fact Mottley has a centipede in her bed. In the last 48 hours Barbadians have been treated to the news that there is disquiet in the BLP camp, a constituency meeting in St. Peter on Sunday night has been cancelled in deference to the national meeting slated in St. Patricks. On the surface, the explanation by BLP officials seems reasonable given the need for the BLP to want to respond nationally to talk about a wage freeze. However the fact veteran BLP member George Griffith feels the need to go public about the cancelation suggests there is more to the motar than the pestle. Whatever happens BU remains convinced the Arthur versus Mottley struggle will make for interesting theatre in the coming weeks and months.

Never a dull moment in Bim!

79 responses to “Never A Dull Moment In Barbados: Veteran Journalist David Ellis Squeezed Out From STARCOM Network?”

1. Wishing In Vain Avatar

David on the matter of never being a dull moment you fail to mention the blatant divide being exposed in the public domain with the two opposition parties, one being led by Owing See Thru Athur and the other Mia the biter sorry fighter Mottley.

There was a time that every snarl within the DLP made it to the Nation Newspaper this is no snarl this is an all out war between these two and there is not a word to been seen or heard on One Media.

This one has more to come if Mottley is so scared of Owing to refuse him time and opportunity the BLP and its supporters are in serious trouble.

2. Do you mean a CDB official, not an IMF official, commenting on a wage freeze? Also, the government passes on CHANGES in fuel prices, not just increases: the formula has produced reductions and increases.

3. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar
    Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados)

Do you mean a Caribbean Development Bank, rather than an IMF, official commenting on the idea of a wage freeze?

The government has actually been passing on CHANGES in oil prices: the formula used has given decreases and increases.

4. Wishing In Vain Avatar

David on the matter of never being a dull moment you fail to mention the blatant divide being exposed in the public domain with the two opposition parties, one being led by Owing See Thru Athur and the other Mia the biter sorry fighter Mottley.

There was a time that every snarl within the DLP made it to the Nation Newspaper this is no snarl this is an all out war between these two and there is not a word to been seen or heard on One Media.

This one has more to come if Mottley is so scared of Owing to refuse him time and opportunity to speak on matters affecting the party and its people, the BLP and its supporters are in serious trouble.

Well done Geoge Griffith at least he is one BLP with the guts to stand up and say to Mottley you are wrong, you are out of place.

5. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I disagree with the above statement of encouraging bajans to go and hear mia talk crap at some public meeting.

The financial crisis we are experiencing in barbados is ALL of Mia and the BLP”s doing.

Persons in the private sector who are also experiencing the utility increases are being asked to hold strain and take a wage freeze or wage cut,ie a shorten work week,so why can’t the oversized public sector employees not do the same.

David ellis leaving Starcom,I will believe that when I hear it on the news.

Other than reusdon eversley,he is the only remaining journalist in Barbados.

We will now be entertained by on air personalities and wannabes stars.

6. “David Ellis has resigned from STARCOM Network.” Not possible. The man lacks the balls and talent to do that. Sorry, he ain’t dat marketable…!

“Ellis has always attracted heavy criticism from BU because he is the lone journalist in Barbados who has the breath of knowledge and experience to qualify as a proper journalist.” Which side of the bed did you wake up on this morning David? The man lost that any claim to that accolade over twenty years ago…!

” On the flip side, we understand he would have had to curtail and sacrifice his creative skills and dampened his journalistic curiosity at the altar of pure economic considerations during his tenure at STARCOM” Sorry to dampen your enthusiasm but there is no flip side… what you saw was definitely all that there ever was…!

David Ellis is as much a Vic Fernands stooge as there ever was, full stop! He din’ resign, not in dis life…!

7. A few notes on the dicussion above and related discussions.

On the USA – Bush Tea and Freewilly are quite right, that the USA is in serious economic trouble.

Latest indicators would bear out (no pun intended) the fact, that this recession will be slow and painful.

There is no magic bullet and with the USA still embroiled in two wars, one cannot expect any sort of recovery anytime soon.

This is now aggravated by the republican media, pushing their puppet candidate, obviously with the next election in mind.

Amazing to think that anyone could even begin to think that Pain could be a Presidential candidate, but then, it proves the contempt that the republicans have for the USA voters, to do so.

Nevertheless, it seems that the republicans strategy machine may actually have some basis for thinking that the USA voters are not quite up to the task of discernment, if the recent stories are to be believed, that they wanted more, sooner.

We must take this with a pinch of salt however, as anything that comes out of the US media is somewhat biased to the republicans.

On the local front, commenter ‘Pearl’ expresses some concern towards an increased VAT.

Consider however, that VAT is truly a fair tax. It taxes expenditures, not income further.

Thus, as long as a basket of goods is exempted, only those who can afford to pay for other goods, are taxed.

The more you can pay, the more tax you do pay.

What exactly is wrong with that?

Therefore if you want a luxury item, you pay more VAT.

To allay concerns, one may actually exempt certain utilities such as electricity and water from VAT.

This will ensure that the poorer persons do not suffer unduly from increased VAT.

Similarly to capital gains, as long as it is structured correctly, this VAT therefore taxes the wealthy in greater incidence to the poor.

Note that this is preferable to a wage freeze, which adversely affects the poor and middle income, but NOT the wealthy.

Finally, generally the fuel charges do not need changing, as Barbadians are still driving up a storm, every evening the roads are full. The only caveat to make is that diesel could be eased, to assist business costs.

Moving on, measures that would seem prudent at this time:

– VAT to 17.5%

– Capital gains tax of 25%, on real estate holdings and shareholdings, with primary residence exempted and one piece of real estate per child exempted.

– A campaign and monitoring of all Government premises, to keep costs to a minimum, such that all electricity apart from critical and emergency power, is off after five pm every day, unless a specific worker or Minister is working late of course.

Hopefully this will save substantial electricity costs if done as a national policy, across all Government premises.

– a review and cutting of expenditures at all International Offices / Missions costs overseas, including rentals, staffing as well as consulting costs.

– a reduction in overseas travel for Government business, to essential travel only

These are just a few recommended measures.

No doubt some will question these, but the reality is that just as the USA public is refusing to face the reality, we actually must face the reality, that the time is well nigh to tighten our belts, indeed, some of these measures should have been implemented ages ago.

Finally, on the BLP issue, there is little doubt that the consternation in that camp shows clearly, at a time when a strong Opposition is not only preferable, but needed.

Unfortunately, they have not much improved their slate of candidates and hence do not appear concerned with bringing a new look to the next election platform.

Average citizen gets the perception of ‘same old’.

So, what would one do, but walk away?

Despite the current challenges, it looks as if the DLP will have to settle for 2018, if it ‘settles’ for ‘same old’.

Unless of course, another political party comes into the fray.

I will say this only once, now is the time, if any of you are intent.

8. Oops, should read ‘Despite the current challenges, it looks as if the BLP will have to settle for 2018, if it ’settles’ for ’same old’.

9. Four Seasons project is in trouble again. May take another year to start! The reason? Insistence on party supporters getting contracts.

Will someone do a little research on the one time project with Rosewood Hotels of Canada? Another botch job!

Why is the formerly much maligned Jada group getting so much work, especially NHC work?

Private sector vultures are circling the Warrens building that may be soon Al Barrack’s.

Let’s face it, the DLP appears to be not only incompetent but selling out to those it criticised when in opposition. Wow, treacherous and incompetent.

Heard in a rum shop, “the DLP said priority number one, two and three is the cost of living. Well dey like a motor car shifting gears, first, second, third … ah can’t tek no more especially if dey shift to four!”

10. @Anonymous // February 6, 2010 at 9:15 PM

You really need to expand on this statement:

Four Seasons project is in trouble again. May take another year to start! The reason? Insistence on party supporters getting contracts. Will someone do a little research on the one time project with Rosewood Hotels of Canada? Another botch job!

@mash up

Like you we will wait until your traditional media confirms the Ellis matter, we will say more then.

@LIB

VOB carried an extract last week where an IMF official commented that a wage freeze for Barbados is a short term measure and should not pre-empt public sector reforms which is required. It was during one of those IMF briefings

11. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@David, thanks for the clarification: had not heard or seen such reference. It seems to be little more than the advice in the Article IV consultation: ‘Continue to moderate wages to
    bring down the central government wage bill to about 10 percent of GDP over five years…’

The comments by CDB’s Compton Bourne in yesterday’s papers was what I had seen.

12. One last issue on Government spending.

Since the last election we have not heard a peep on the management process for projects.

With the repeated overruns on projects, it was suggested that the project management process and oversight needs reviewing and changing, to prevent recurrenence of large overruns.

What has been done, how have the rules changed to improve transparency and force restrictions on Government spending?

The readers can take it that nothing has been done, as there has been no word from Government that anything has been done.

And to rebut with ‘this done and that done..’ is irrelevant, because the important issue is that the citizens have not been *informed* of actions taken.

Remember, the new way of business is *transparency*. (Thanks Mr.Halsall, I like your asterisk highlighting so much I am now using it).

One cannot increase taxes without looking at the process governing significant expenditures and this must be done immediately, if the Government is to remain to be seen to be viable.

Take my advice in the best of intentions.

13. @Crusoe
    You are right in your assessment.

The challenge of management is not one of ‘intentions’ but of ‘achievements’.
    The present government demonstrates a lack of ability to set realistic goals and then to complete them. They are easily distracted from their stated mission and hence will suffer as underachievers.

The Barack issue is a case in point. A PM must never get involved in such a major issue and then ‘chicken’ out. Once involved, a fair, principled stand must be established and then effectively acted upon.

The DLP met (predictable) opposition on integrity legislation and quickly broke their commitments; on immigration – and appears to be waffling; etc etc

Even in replacing obstructive BLP operatives they have taken a soft, sissy stance which is guaranteed to ensure that no effective results will be achieved.

Bush Tea would have required a written and signed commitment to my program as a government from all such operatives (upon penalty of immediate resignation) – or I would have replaced them ON THE SPOT. “Foolishness ain’t sense” and success is not ever achieved by ‘mamby pamby’ jokers.

True leadership is indeed a blessed gift from above….

14. @Crusoe

Re: increase in VAT

My comment was “I personally hope we do not go to 17.5% on VAT, that would be the final nail in the coffin for many a person.”

I agree with your comment in that it is an across the board way of tax and affects everyone. Unfortunately and understandably the basket of goods is limited, so much so that many of the basic items consumers purchase are subject to VAT. I know many may disagree and suggest alternatives but I do not classify tin foil and sanitary items as luxury, Sweet & Dandy Mauby maybe, as I can drink water, but wait don’t we pay VAT on that too? VAT increase will also affect services and goods other than those in the supermarket.

Unfortunately if the Government is crying out due to lack of money removal of VAT from electricity & water does not make sense.

In relation to my comment on fuel:

“One thing the Government could do is to stop messing around with fuel prices. What’s the point in reducing the cost of petrol by 1 Cent?. Why not keep that 1 cent per litre and put it into the economy. Every little helps.”

I agree there are many vehicles on our roads but a 1 cent reduction on petrol is not going to make much difference to my petrol bill but to the Government 1 cent gained for every litre of petrol sold, that would make a big difference. The money could be put towards say the hospital or something worthwhile.

Another thing the Government could do as I said in my previous blog is to hold fire on the Constituency Councils. This is a nice to have not a necessity. If the 6? are set up already let them keep going, the money is spent already. (However, I am curious as to what they have achieved in the 6 months trial, the article in the Nation nor the Advocate did not specify. Hopefully someone can enlighten me.) The remaining ones to be set up can be put on hold until things get better. According to the Nation Newspaper, the budget allocated to Constituency Councils is $6 million and $2.5 to $3 million has been spent. In my humble opinion if there is still $3 million left it can be put to better use.

15. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Pearl

Don’t forget that we are still expecting the environmental levy to be charged on locally manufactured goods such as mauby. This was planned in the 2008 budget.

16. “There is no magic bullet and with the USA still embroiled in two wars, one cannot expect any sort of recovery anytime soon.”

Excuse me Crusoe but was there ever a time in the past one hundred and twenty years that the USA was NOT embroiled in some war? Ah don’ think dis recession got much tah do wid nah war…!

17. Now, Billie Miller was the most travelled MP in history, now Maxine lookin’ tah excede dat. How can yah curb dat before it happens? An’ how do you tell a PS like Teresa (the most travelled in the History ah de Caribbean) tah brek de habit…?

18. Would now be a good time to examine the effectiveness of our civil service?

Would now be a good time explore the mechanisms which can deal with incompetence in the civil service as well as known grievances between the politico?

Yes Minister comes to mind.

A good case study is the ministry of agriculture where the much touted Benn seems to have hit a brick wall. What will the leader do? He did get a scorecard of his minister’s performance as part of the DLP commissioned CADRES poll. Couldn’t have been all good but we have not seen a reshuffle. Time is running out PM Thompson.

Accountability in the public service will only come about if these political parties know they staring at one term if they badly disappoint.

19. If I sell you my house. how realistic is it for my wife to expect that you will allow her mother to continue living there, while you keep your wife and children in a shack in the yard?

David Ellis and probably all Bajan members of staff of OMC are on probation. If the T&T bosses can get someone else to do your job for less then sooner or later crapaud smoke yuh pipe.

Can anyone remember who used to work in VOB’s Sports Department?
    Is sports news still being read everyday?

The writing is on the wall for all to see, read it please!

20. The Rt Hon His Ecel Errol Barrow used to travel in economy class on many occasions, now our guys must travel 1st class and with a big entourage for just simple meetings/conferences, if we are serious about cutting cost, we must spot this practice.

21. Accountability in the public service will only come about if these political parties know they staring at one term if they badly disappoint.

This would be true if most of the old boys and girls had not already qualified for their pensions.

Whenever we get the chance to elect a complete set of neophytes who are untaitnted, then and only then, will we see real change.

Right now we are just recycling garbage and hoping for the best.

22. Why at this time is another overseas agency being set up, this time in China, and headed by an old, tired ineffective ex-Prime Minister? Why is it so necessary to “press” the ex-Central Bank head into overseas service? Adding to what David and Crusoe are saying therefore, why is it so necessary to create unnecessary jobs that cost hard currency… AT THIS TIME?

23. BAFBFP ‘Adding to what David and Crusoe are saying therefore, why is it so necessary to create unnecessary jobs that cost hard currency… AT THIS TIME?’

Your guess will be better than mine, lol!

I want a plantation……la,la,la

BAF,

On the US issue, the wars are economically crippling the US.

No doubt they are not the only reason, but they are a major weight at a desperate time, affecting the ability to be flexible with fiscal policy.

24. Crousoe

Yah gotta allow me to disagree wid yah man… I see it as follows:-

It is “because” of the US military campaigns overseas that a lot of people get contracts and a orders of magnitude more of otherwise useless people get employment. In any event should the US stop declaring war on some hapless territory what on Earth will they do with all those trained mercenaries..?

25. Fair enough, agree to disagree. I know that was the one point I could be challenged on, job creation of a war.

But, it is also opportunity costs.

26. It is said to say but I believe wars are also used to control population numbers and reduce unemployment. Send a few thousand soldiers of to war in another country (employment) 500 get killed, 500 jobs to fill. Some poor unemployed person with bills to pay, mortgage, family to support may see this as the only way out, signs up …….ta da! A reduction in unemployment figures.

@David your point re the effectiveness of the Public Service. The comment made by Undertaker under the topic ‘Is the ship sinking Captain Thompson?’ makes interesting reading and if true is a real cause for concern.

27. Barbados is currently being sold on the success of the recent Jamaica debt restructuring entered with the IMF on VOB call in today. How will the current Barbados deficit (gap between budgeted revenue and expenditure) be managed in 2010 and how do we propose to meet some heavy debt obligations which loom. It is no secret Barbados debt to gdp ratio has mounted to uncomfortable proportion. While the lady from Therese Turner-Jones, program coordinator at Cartec in Barbados speaks with a world view and seems knowledgeable and comfortable in the subject matter the solutions she presented will conflict mightily with Barbados mindset.

Another discussion we need to have in Barbados, is the FTC delivering on its mandate.

28. David, the other day you said I was showing my age. Fair comment.

However, there are two solutions to this continuing economic crisis in Barbados.

There is the personal solution. Do like we Bajans living in North America have had to for most of our time up here.
    Cut corners to make ends meet.

Bajans will soon face the reality that their lifstyles must change.

There will be no economic boom for years to come.

There is also a Government solution but I am a lowly Design Business owner and I don’t have a clue about economics.

I will try to learn from our learned fellow bloggers like Dennis Jones et al.

I in Canada an I had coucou an corn beef fuh dinner las night.
    It went down real good.

29. LOL! and I’m cooking my non VAT salt fish. Over and out food smelling too good….

30. @Hants

No arguments from BU on what we must do. The issue as we see it is the process to get to where as a people we need to get. For example, Economist Tony Johnson reference this point this morning on the VOB callin, there is the solid economic argument but it must be supported by a political position which makes it an argument accepted by Bajans. We already have the BLP, our loyal opposition telling the nation whenever the DLP is in charge they mash up the economy. There is of course the global economic challenge. Which position do you think will resonate with Barbadians who have been living the good life in a post independence period and have become fat and lazy with old ways of doing things? BU suggest to you Hants something will have to shock Bajans to come around to your sensible suggestion, our dependence on debt has run out.

31. I in Canada an I had coucou an corn beef fuh dinner las night.

Man Hants, you really cutting corners yeah!..wid corned beef?!?….LOL!

32. Barbados Ambassador to Venezuela recalled…

“It cannot be in the best interest of any country for its diplomatic missions to be regarded as a pasture to send unwanted nuisances or reward political friends. Diplomacy is a vital tool for small countries and its best brains should be appointed to its service.”

Sir Ronald Sanders

33. @ Bush Tea

“Even in replacing obstructive BLP operatives they have taken a soft, sissy stance which is guaranteed to ensure that no effective results will be achieved.”

Clearly the issue can’t be obstructionism but incompetence. By the way if obstructive behaviour was not at play in the Barrack case, maybe, just maybe the Warrens building would not be up for sale or confiscation.

@ BAFBFP

I agree with you.

Furthermore, how can the government talk about wage freeze yet Minister Sinckler in today’s newspaper still pressing ahead with the constituency councils which would cost between $18 and $30 million?

34. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

The basic issue of dealing with a fiscal deficit are the same for any country. The US fiscal problems pose major problems for the rest of the world, and have different political and historical origins. But what has to be done is much the same what country is involved. So I recommend today’s New York Times editorial, The Truth About the Deficit, http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/07/opinion/07sun1.html?pagewanted=1. In Barbados, what can be politicized will be politicized, but I note the NYT comment about the US situation: ‘But more posturing and sniping is not going to make the economy better or solve the deficit problem.’

35. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

This ms therese jones lady who may be related to the other jones fella,talked in that genralization fashion that does not directly deal with the issue.

Quickly turned off the show.

One day I would really like to hear from real ‘experts’ who can speak on point to issues with a healthy knowledge of local situation.

36. @Technician,

I buy a large tin a Hereford corned for $2.28canadian.

At this point in time I am not eating corn beef to cut corners. I really like it but if I had to I could invoke my personal survival skills by doing what Bajans did before we move to the terraces.

If you don’t remember when the only time you ate meat was on Sunday then you are no more than 40 years old or your family were big ups.

The truth is that I still prefer Bajan food even though I have lived in Canada for over 30 years.

The supermarkets up here sell almost everything you get in Barbados.

Yam,cassava,sweet potatoes,green bananas,plaintain,breadfruit,eddoes,okras etc.(imported from south america)
    We get Kingfish,dolphin(mahi mahi)shark,snapper ( imported from mexico and India).

I hope that the recession will end before Bajan youngsters have to eat rice with piece a sweet potato and onion gravy.

37. At this point in time I am not eating corn beef to cut corners.

Hants ..chill, it was meant as a joke, just never heard that combination. Usually it was salt fish or red herring.
    You preaching to the choir.
    Meat on Sundays?..you lucky, we got it when mum got her meeting turn…and she cut canes and worked on the plantation…..and I aint 40 yet …go figure.

38. @ David
    I think Bajans will soon realise that they have to use personal survival skills as the recession worsens for Barbados.

Have you noticed that the USA and Canada are still waiting for the normal boom that follows a recession but it is just not happening/

I use personal experience to balance what I hear on the news.

Sale to Barbados on Air Canada
    from $373.00 + taxes of $76.25
    for a total of $449.25
    That is a “recession special”

I will continue to read Dennis Jones et al for his expert opinions.

39. @mash up

The Program Director of Cartec was on the callin to present a world view. Economist Anthony Johnson would have been on to present the local view you referred. Afterall we don’t live in a glass bowl. To be honest we did not hear Tony Johnson disagreeing with the lady.

40. @Technician
    Good that you acquired the “old time Bajan” skills.

Coucou with saltfish or red herring sweet too but takes more time to prepare.

Coucou with corn beef, tin mackerel or sardines is quick. Takes less than 15 minutes in a microwave.

41. We in the People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) call on as many patriotic Barbadian citizens as possible to rally to the call to save the nation at this a very critical time in this country’s history.

NOW must be a redefining juncture in the politics and governance of this country. This is a time to inaugurate and institute a new kind of political thinking and attitude and action building requisite for a new and higher stage of development of this country called Barbados.

This is a time to begin clearing the Aegean stables of the fools and charlatans that have vowed to despoil the fate of the broad masses and middle classes of people of Barbados.

For, now is not the time to get behind those that have already used the name and place of the broad masses and middle classes and that of the country to mainly advance their cause.

If ever there was a time for us – our broad masses and middle classes – to properly take charge of our own affairs it is now. Now is the time to be our own leaders and to disburden ourselves of those wicked corrupt villians and their accomplices.

Not is NOT the time for members of our social ranks to demonstrate political spinelessness or to orchestrate intellectual games or even pay so much attention to words of so-called leaders – at least not when the lives of men, women and children are at stake.

For, this is a time of “war” – a time when political swords must clash, and political chariots tumble when the so-called poor and marginalized will rise up and vote for their own so that the once mighty will definitely fall.

Down with the damn DLP and the blasted BLP!!!!

42. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@Hants, initially (as you cited me)

I am wondering who or what are ‘real ‘experts’ sought by ‘mash up @ buy back’ who “can speak on point to issues with a healthy knowledge of local situation”. As I have noted many times before and Sir Hilary Beckles has noted very recently in public, local experts seem reluctant to engage on issues, so I am wondering if it is a matter of waiting in vain.

Personal survival methods will help individuals get through their particular problems. But part of the problem many will find is moving their expectations to fit the new reality. If I can simplify.

At one point, someone without much education and no job and with a family, say, has to realise that another job may not come along, so he/she has to deal with the reality of obligations with little prospect of financial support. We can berate the person for not having been smart to have a family and little prospect for work, but it does not take us far. But,. we can all imagine what options may appear tempting to the person to fix that problem.

At another point, those with good eduation and stable employment may not see any prospects of that education and job offering much by way of career progression and/or pay increase, yet face a series of aspirational demands on their lives and rising costs. They have to make choices–perhaps ones they believed they would never have to. Not terrible choices, maybe, but a lessening of expectations: maybe no overseas travel, no private school, no new car. If they refuse to move their expectations, they may take on more debt hoping that things will improve and they will never sink under that. The US/UK experience recently tells us that their prospects may be poor and they are merely putting off the hard decision and may sink badly financially and have very hard choices forced on them.

We may have at another point those who are financially secure and have no constraints on their earnings rising–these may be few, may be public servants or in the private sector, but they do exist. They may still feel the need for choices because now they believe that this situation is fortunate and may not last. They take better care of their money. They may weigh their options for a move.

These are just examples. We’ll see a series of such adjustments at the personal level.

But that still leaves the government and private companies to deal with the current environment and plan for the future. While it may seem like a generalisation, one real question is whether they can plan, in terms of readiness and capability to do so. Planning is not really possible if you do not have much control. For both private companies and government, they have some control over one thing, and that’s spending, and the debate is really whether they want to use that control or not and how.

With Dr. Estwick’s comments about a wage freeze, the debate seems to have turned toward the government saying ‘we must control a large element of spending’, and that seems to be expressed in tackling the thorny issue of the wage bill. It might have picked the wrong fight and in the wrong way, but it’s put up its dukes, and now has to decide whether it will punch or dance around the ring (sorry about the metaphor–I see this as a start to something and no end).

I understand that the PM/Finance Minister will address the issue more fully in coming days in a periodic review/press conference. We should all keep watching this space.

43. A point to ponder from the NYT article is the option which the USA has to inject billions into its economy to act as stimulus, in Barbados the analysts seem to agree we cannot be that aggressive with stimulus packages because of the outflow in foreign exchange which would result given our high import model and very scare foreign reserves.

44. Hants

I can’ afford corn beef at dah Canadian price LOL…!

De problem wid reduced spending (cutting corners) is that Government can’ collect de kinda taxes dat dey need tah pay de fat ass Permanent Secretaries, Senior Research Officers, Program Managers, Senior Assistant Secretaries, Deputy Permanent Secretaries, Gove’ment Ministers, Clerk of Parliament, Consultants….wait I touch any productive people yet? ya ya time to sleep, I jus’ bore myself…!

45. @ Hants

Man why you had to go mention corn beef? My mout wateringing. I think I will cook up some tomorrow with pasta. I eat all the bajan stuff. I have canned mackerel, sardines, oodles of salt fish and of course corned beef in storage.

Things already tough in Bim. My cousin who was planning a visit to Canada in May told me, yesterday, she is sending me the money to send down a barrel of food. This will be from her meeting money. Food more important than travel. All should think like she does.

46. Man Pat tell your cousin to buy she food from Bim so dat VAT could get collect and de Civil Servents could get pay…!

47. @BAFBFP

Wait, you want she to eat only one meal a day? Do you shop? Two shopping bags cost $100 Bajan.

48. @ BAFBFP

My cousin, she be diabetic and cant eat too many bakes. I have to send her the whole wheat and brown rice pastas, brown natural rice, olive oils, whole oats, Red River cereal, natural raw nuts like walmuts and pecans, etc. etc. etc.

Give her a break. She may not have long with us. She also suffers from lupus.

49. Yes folk
    There is indeed something special about corned beef.

Dont care what you do with it.

My mom cuts up raw onion fine and some peper and it is a great little treat with sodabix or eclipse!

50. Technician // February 7, 2010 at 2:38 PM

I in Canada an I had coucou an corn beef fuh dinner las night.
    ………………………………………………………
    Tech. You ain’t even tell me you ‘over in away’. Nuh wonder I ain’t see yuh.
    Give me a call buddy.