Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

No one seems willing to talk about it, so at the risk of having my email re-hacked and further untruths concocted, I shall today comment on a few recent slip ups in judgment by the leader of the opposition Barbados Labour Party, Mia Mottley.

Under normal circumstances, and using my preferred Bajan vernacular, I would say to Ms Mottley that her political ‘slip is showing’. But that somehow does not ring well with this particular politician, so I would merely wish to point out that on current course, she is on the wrong track; moving the Barbados Labour Party in the wrong direction.

Firstly, Mottley was wrong for not chastising Trevor Prescod, there and then, over his very uncharitable comments in relation to a former leader of this country. Even the other newspaper found it necessary to rap her on the knuckles for this letdown. As leader, she must not fail to rein in her charges, even if it means not being always in their good books.

Secondly, the media has made light work of the failed attempt by Ms Mottley and the Barbados Labour Party to launch their 2013 general elections campaign. Mottley announced at that same St Michael East meeting that she would be leading her party onto the battle field last Wednesday evening and would in effect be launching her party’s re-election campaign.

True to form, she persisted with this il-advised and ill-conceived strategy and attracted a whopping five score and 16 persons to the grand stepping out meeting in Waterhall Land. The fact that by the time Mottley herself rose to speak the “crowd” had dwindled to 86, speaks volumes about the appeal, resonance and impact of previous speakers Prescod, Liz Thompson, Arthur Holder and Ian Gooding-Edghill.

Someone should whisper in Mottley’s ear that the role of Opposition Leader and opposition party is a serious one and you cannot simply abrogate such responsibilities merely on the altar of political expedience. General elections are due in Barbados in the year 2013 and when that time comes or draws nigh, partisan political lines will be drawn and the battle shall begin. Until then, political operatives in Barbados have a people to mould and a country to build. We must not lose focus of our purpose for being in politics and public life. It ought and must be about service to the people. Now is the time for leaders of Barbados to focus on Project Barbados!

Mia Mottley needs to earn her keep and pay her dues as Leader of the Opposition in this country. If she does not wish to be an Opposition Leader, and an effective one at this critical juncture in our history, then she should step aside and permit someone else to perform that function. There is nothing wrong with her as party leader, focusing exclusively on overhauling and readying her party’s election machinery, but uninspired and uninspiring leadership in the role of Leader of the Opposition is definitely not on.

Her first two years at the helm of the parliamentary team of the BLP has been characterized by mediocrity and a series of blunders. She has been far too negative and pessimistic. She has failed to raise her discussion above and beyond that of narrow partisan sniping. Her economic forecasts have been extreme and her advice in most instances illogical and targeted at benefitting only a select few.

It must be borne in mind that having received as much as ten seats and voices in the Parliament of Barbados after the last general elections, Mottley’s realistic strength has now whittled to seven on any normal day, with one member having exited the party, another effectively exiting the country and a third making clear, his discomfort with and lack of confidence in her leadership. If ever a Leader of the Opposition needed to stop and regroup, it is Mia Amor Mottley. Her good friends should tell her she is not cutting it!

Added to these ‘at home’ embarrassments is her failed and continuously failing attempt to position and reposition the Barbados Labour Party in regional political circles. Say what you will about Owen Arthur, he was for the most part ‘friends of all and satellites of none’ in the politics of the English speaking Caribbean. I knew over the past 15 years, where Owen Arthur and his key fundraisers stood in relation to every general elections campaign contested in this region.

Arthur would have his sidekick, who plays a mean game of dominoes, make the odd call here and there to solicit a little financial and other support for a comrade party leader, but never would he, Arthur, get actively involved in the politics of a sister nation, especially at election time. Indeed, I cannot recall Arthur ever even addressing a party political conference in the period leading up to or during an election. That principled position earned him much respect across the Caribbean, to the extent that even in the event of the party not of his preference winning, relations with Barbados were never in jeopardy.

What many Barbadians do not know of late, is the continuous black eye being suffered and experienced by the Barbados Labour Party under the leadership of Mia Mottley through her failings to ‘land a winner’ in the Caribbean.

Mottley has aligned the BLP to a set of nuisance parties around the region. Just this week, the People’s Action Movement, whose leader was a Guest Speaker at Mottley’s candidate nomination meeting in St. Philip North, suffered a fourth consecutive, humiliating defeat, with Lindsay Grant himself failing for the third time to win a seat in the parliament of St. Kitts and Nevis.

Operatives of the Barbados Labour Party were highly visible in that campaign and businessmen in Barbados can attest to the personal calls that were made by leading officials in the Barbados Labour Party soliciting financial support for the People’s Action Movement. Interestingly, Owen Arthur as Prime Minister and leader of the Barbados Labour Party public associated with and supported the victorious Denzil Douglas led St. Kitts and Nevis Labour Party.

Mottley’s thrashing last Monday in St. Kitts came on the heels of another humiliating defeat in Dominica six weeks ago, when again the party she addressed a few months earlier and for which financial support was solicited from the Barbados business community failed, not only to win a seat but to regain a single deposit among its 11 candidates, including Political Leader Judith Pestaina. Once again, Owen Arthur as Prime Minister and Leader of the Barbados Labour Party publicly associated with and endorsed the leadership of the victorious Roosevelt Skerrit-led Dominica Labour Party.

All this points to a series of strategic blunders by Mottley that I predict will cost her dearly in the long run. I am not a supporter of the BLP, but I am a student of politics and it is really irritating to see such fundamental errors being made by a person who hails from what is touted as good political blood stock.

With her every blunder, I fear Mia Mottley is proving Owen Arthur correct in his publicly stated apprehension about her suitability to lead the party at this time.

The question therefore is how long will it take others in the party to realize that Arthur is right, in respect of Mottley, and, more importantly, what will they do about it?

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

44 responses to “Mottley Should Stop And Take Fresh Guard”

1. All I could say is Oh God uh love it. lol!

2. I am not impressed with this diatribe coming from Hartlry Henrey. I am not impressed at all. Really not impressed. MIA does not need H H to advise her on anything. HH’s advice shoiuld be reserved for David Thompson because WHAT THE TWO OF THEM THINK IS GOLD eill eventually be revealed as dust.

3. No!!! Hartley and the Government are the ones that need to stop and take a fresh guard.

The economy is tottering and the government’s Chief Political Advisor is busy giving ‘advice’ to the Opposition.

One hundred and sixteen people for a ‘conversation’ in a tightly knit Waterhall Land is the right size. The size is irrelevant once the message is resonating. Then again, I forgot HH only knows about reggae concerts–Barbados, Dominica and St. Kitts.

Your time would be better spent helping the PM define his ‘nine point plan’ of objectives. All eyes on you not the Opposition.

4. The constant reminders by H H about the ills of the last government are only allowing voters to focus on the non-performance of the present government. The DLP would not win the nextr elections by trying to remind voters of the ills of the last government. there is a groundswell coming from the grassroot that the DLP has disappointed them. It is time the party wake up and realise the holiday period is over and it is time them start fulfilling some of the promises that were made at elections. Don’t talk about the world economy, there were signs that this would happen and yet bajans were promised sweetlife. We are now returning to the days of the early 980’s and if nothing happens by the end of this year, the DLP is going to have a fight on their hands to win the next elections. I personally would not like to see Mia become P.M and I have my doubts about Arthur too. I think we in trouble. We want the Dipper Duppy

5. Don’t miss HH’s strategy. By offering so-called advice he is stoking issues which he believes to be BLP-negative.

6. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Oh no Scout.

The DLP as a political party must remind the country of the evil deeds of the BLP party which is seeking to assume office once again.

Politicians say the people have short memories so they must not be allowed to forget.

Reminding the people does not stop the DLP from working hard at the same time.

7. Tell them Mash up, tell them. In 2008 the BLP was still telling Barbadians about the DLP, Sandi and the 8 % cut. Wuh year that was? In fact Barbados pre 1994 will still feature in the BLP 2013 election campaign. The US Democrats are still reminding Americans about GW’s 8 yrs. Good points and arguments from HH.

8. This is a simple message to prospective/ voters in the next two elections in Barbados coming from the People’s Democratic Congress (PDC):

That both the DLP and the BLP must be VOTED OUT of the parliament of this country within the next 7 years or over the next two general elections.

Indeed, we send this message against the backdrop that it makes eminently more sense to look towards a forseeable future that is far better for the country WITH the coming into higher governmental office of new serious people-centered parties that will take this country to higher levels constitutionally, politically, materially and financially, than continue with the DLP and the BLP and their massive problems.

Moreover, these two parties have clearly shown that they will never lead this country to higher constitutional political material financial levels, and that they will NEVER STOP give you fundamental problems, partly because they foolishly think that the broad masses of voters will NOT any time in the forseeable future vote en masse for other parties.

However, it is like in a relationship with a person and there are a few happy moments, but ever so often that are major feuds and problems involving you and the person so much so that these problems are affecting the way how you think and how you develop overall.

But you have clearly reached a point n the relationship where you realize that this relationship is taking you NO where forward – which is what you really wish, however.

Too, what this other person actually thinks too is that you will NOT have another relationship with another person so easily.

But there comes a point in time when you have firmly to decide that it makes NO sense whatsoever continuing with this acrimonious bitter relationship and that you must bring it to an end for better sake. So, you think and time carefully bringing this relationship to an end ( but if you were someone else you would simply bring it to an end). But, anyhow in the final analysis, and having learned from the last relationship, you successfully look for and enter into a relationship with a person that is better on the whole that is more exciting, appealing, thoughtful, and trustworthy at the time. And you begin to build that better relationship for the future with that person.

BUT, THE KEY MORAL TO MOVING OVER TO THE NEW RELATIONSHIP IS THAT YOU REALIZED THAT YOU DID MAKE IT OUT OF THE LAST BITTER RELATIONSHIP, SOMETHING WHICH YOU THOUGHT AT ONE STAGE YOU COULD NEVER HAVE DONE AND THAT YOU COULD NEVER HAVE SEEN YOURSELF DOING WITHOUT THAT OTHER PERSON. BUT IN THE END YOU DID SUCCESSFULLY GET OVER THEM. THAT IS FUNDAMENTAL.

So, the same kind of principles apply to these two old inept parties that have been providing little good but also providing monumental severe problems for the individual citizen and the country.

But the time has already come for the broad mass of voters in Barbados TO SERIOUSLY BREAK OFF their parliamentary and political relations with them, to a point where they unreservedly put their confidence in parties like the PDC, the PEP, or any other new party that does NOT do things like the DLP and BLP, and to a point where they resolve to so help build and build and develop and develop them further over the next five or so years – until it reaches a stage whereby they ( the broad mass of voters ) are sure enough that they can properly run the affairs of this country at the highest levels, and thus to at the right time ( at the next two elections ) resolve to electing representatives of these parties only into the House of Assembly of the Parliament of this country for the entire betterment of the future development of Barbados.

As in the above example, the fact of the matter is that – having put the DLP and BLP out of the parliament of this country, the mass of voters who some time ago would have been thinking that they could not have finished with the DLP/BLP, and thinking how they could not have done without the DLP/BLP, would be realizing sometime in the future that this would not have been the case – where they would actually have gone and dumped them in the forseeable future.

So, Vote the Damn DLP and the Blasted BLP OUT!!

9. Blah Blah Blah HH needs to spend more time advising David on how to stop the ROT of this present adminsitration…. he aint fooling anyone. Most people are not distracted by his excuses

10. Adrian Hinds… this is Barbados not the USA… dont forget that. And look at what happened to the Ted Kennedy’s democratic seat

11. Surely Hartley Henry is trying to impress the politically naive that he is the Caribbean’s top political strategist ,whatever that is.
    Instead of being the region’s top tipster he should go and qualify in some discipline and be a truly productive member of the Barbadian society instead of feeding at the public trough.
    He is a relatively young man and should go and enroll at the Cave Hill Campus and pursue a degree programme in computer science or a related discipline, and make a meaningful contribution to the development of Caribbean civilisation.
    At a time when India and China are churning out thousands of engineers, IT specialists, accountants, managers and physicists a year, Henry prides himself on being the region’s “top political strategist”.
    Barbados should be producing scientists like the British national, Sir Tim Berners-Lee, who gave the world the World Wide Web. What has Henry contributed to human civilisation?
    You may recall that some years ago, Miss Mottley used her training in the law to successfully present Barbados’ case before the British Law Lords in our maritime dispute with Trinidad and Tobago.

12. I tend to agree that HH should focus on what the DLP is doing or plans to do and leave Mia alone. If Mia and the BLP is the gift that keeps on giving to the DLP, the DLP operatives should be rolling around in mirth.

What struck me about Mia is the recent statement that she will be presenting new alternatives to the people of Barbados, hmmmmmnnnn let me see… a lifelong member of the BLP, a Minister and senior member of the Gov’t for fourteen years; what can she present that would conjure up the word “new”? Does Mia have a different hairdo?

On another note a li’l bird told me that Owen was getting ready or has started to write his memoirs. Now that should be interesting, we haven’t had a memoir or biography from any political leader in Barbados and the articles that have been written about them tend to be as thin as yesterday’s consommé.

Sir Grantley, Dipper, Tom, Bree, all gone and not a word although Tom’s demise was sudden, however Sandi is still so he could write something. Here is support from this corner for OSA, let us know what you think of David and what you really think of Mia. If you hurry publication could be just in time for the next Bassa Bassa (General Election), and if you want a proof reader I am available.

13. huh???? // January 27, 2010 at 8:23 AM

Adrian Hinds… this is Barbados not the USA… dont forget that. And look at what happened to the Ted Kennedy’s democratic seat
    ———————————————-
    So noted,….but you want to tell me wuh took place up here?
    I wasn’t aware that Ted Kennedy had a seat, and apparently so did the majority Massachusetts voters.

Anyway I aint gine argue politics wid you. You aint demonstrate that you ready yet. lol!

14. @ Mash up & Buy Back and A. Hinds

There is no way a comparison can be made between the structural adjustment of the Sandiford tenure and Owen’s 14 years. Because the BLP was able to contrast the early 90’s with their stewardship is what made reminding people an advantage, especially given that anyone could relate to and understand the difference.

What is it that they are really reminding the electorate about the BLP?

In fact it may be better, if they refrain from such a tactic because in two years the government has not been able to prove that they can match far less eclipse the ‘bad’ BLP in managing the country.

@ The Scout

If the current PM after 15+ years in politics, 2 failed attempts at elections and a key Minister involved in the debacle of the 1990’s can be elected on a Change platform, why not Mia?

15. @Enuff
    I made no comparision to Sandi’s tenure and Owen’s 14 years. Sandi one simply wasn’t corrupt, and Owen’s was way too long.

I compared the political tactic of the governing party. The tactic of reminding the voter citizen of the last government is contant, while the governing party changes.

You like aint ready to argue either. lol!

16. Doan try that one

17. Sharp article.

18. Gaw Blimah. If Barbadians were not a bunch of hypocrites, just like the political parties that govern them, I tell ya now, neither the DLP or BLP would win the next election. But we know money talks and this make bajans do de walk.

Rather it is DLPite commenting on the poor-rakey leadership of the oppostion leader, or a BLPite talking about the ‘blinkered’ governace of the Thompson administration, both these parties seem united on two fronts: (1) A lot for some and very little for all and (2) More talk (with plenty of red tape) and less action. However my confidence is a little stronger in the Thompson administration than for the administration being led by Miss Mottley only because the DLP have done a little better looking after the poor people. And they have not yet been labeled with extensive corruption like the other party. But that being said and done, both parties, especially the BLP, are money hungry and power foolish. I Johnny Postle say so.

19. you all are a bunch of shite talkers
    hiding behind a computer screen and keyboard.

you all are not serious. I believe that most of you are civil servants. The mentality suggests such. Afraid to do just talk shite day after day after day. And so real shite too

20. Looks like the losing party in St. Kitts is not taking the defeat well.

21. David some would go further to suggest that the same applies to BLP and how they are handling their defeat, ask Mottley and Owing if either of them are happy or have they resigned themselves to the opposition benches as yet ???

22. Here are 19 reasons why the masses of voters of people in Barbados must refuse to VOTE for the DLP and the BLP in the Next Elections in the country:

1) For the DLP and the BLP’s recklessness foolhardiness in bringing about – within the last 16 years or so – staggering and massive increases in the Government Debt ( According to Mr. Dennis Jones citing the IMF Article IV consultation Report in his recent contribution to a popular business newspaper – at the end of 2009 the public sector was to be 116 per cent of GDP);

2) For their atrocious and excessive domestic and foreign borrowings (just recently BDS $ 240 Million raised in a bond issue on the Trinidad and Tobago capital markets);

3) For their role in helping to make the state too big, too inefficient and too unrational, and at the same time their making sure that it is so expensive to run the state ( it takes about BDS $ 4.0 billion to run the state now in a roughly eight billion dollar economy – What madness!!!);

4) For amassing huge and unmanageable fiscal deficits from time to time;

5) For their tendencies to go and build too quickly too many huge non-income generating physical development projects, while at the same time refusing to have a structured program for the converting of many some times old, and many some times not so old abandoned “government owned” properties into good and useful purposes;

6) For the DLP and BLP’s evil intention to continue TAXING individuals, businesses and other entities in this country;

6) For the DLP and the BLP’ nefarious intention to continue with these very evil Interest Rates and Repayable Institutional Productive Loans Regimes in the country;

7) For refusing to seriously reform the present Hire Purchase system in Barbados;

8) For their dirty and reckless role over the years in helping to diminish, stagnate and weaken the manufacturing sector in Barbados;

9) For their dastard role in helping over the years to diminish, stagnate and weaken the Agriculture Sector in Barbados;

10) For starkly failing for a long time to remove the country’s largely contrived but unwholesome chronic dependence on the Tourism Sector, while refusing to listen to many cries for DLP and BLP Governments to diversify into other sub/sectors ( heavy duty manufacturing) and away from this type of dependence on that particular sector;

11) For their promoting of this foolishness and stupidness called the CSME;

12) For both the DLP and BLP’s outright refusal to totally stop our land spaces rights from being sold to foreigners – rather than leasing such land space rights to them for a relatively short period of time, say 10 – 15 years – subject to renewal and esp., when so many many Barbadians are without their own land spaces;

13) For doing absolutely NOTHING to stop the costs of purchasing and building houses from going skyrocketing high in this country, and far out of the reaches of the ordinary man and woman;

14) For their catastrophic failures in removing the great amount of traffic congestion that is seen on our many roads in the morning and afternoon during the week;

15) For their downright failures to seriously arrest the pervasive and deeprooted problems at the QEH and throughout the wider health care system – having made many promises in the past to do so;

16) For their gross and deliberate failure to Abolish this damn iniquitous Common Entrance Examination and to put in its place an appropriate National Continuous Assessment Program;

17) For these two factions’ refusal to seriously restrain and control many of these negative destructive foreign/alien influences and encroachments, esp cultural ones, from affecting our realm;

18) For refusing to Abolish the role of the Queen as Head of State of this a supposed independent sovereign country and to replace her with a local Head of State, an Executive President of the People’s Republic of Barbados; and,

19) For their blunt refusal to grant greater sovereign power and authority to the people of this country over the entire affairs of this country.

For sure, these are some of the real reasons why thousands upon thousands of people must REFUSE TO VOTE at the Next Election for the DLP and the BLP in this country, and instead VOTE for the PDC to redress such wrongs, where necessary, and to put in place the right modern systems and strategies, where necessary, to replace these very ineffective wicked systems and strategies that already have done so much damage to our people and to the country’s affairs.

23. Inadvertence – Reason 4 – line 3, the about BDS $ 4. 0 Billion must be described per year.

There are 20 reasons NOT 19, as originally stated and as miscounted along the way down.

Thank You.

24. @ David
    Re Looks like the losing party in St. Kitts is not taking the defeat well.

Well I am not surprised about that. Having followed thier chatter in thier weekly newspaper over the last 8 years or so, and especially in the last year one sensed that PAM expected and were very confident that they would win!

They must be more than shell shocked!

But they ought to know that thier people are VERY SUBTLE! LOL!

25. B 4 Dawn,

And IF we are civil servants, what is the problem with that? You got a problem with civil servants? You arrogant or what? Even so, civil servants is who really run the country, the Permanent Secretaries carry out policy, that Ministers rabbit on about on tv, then leave the work elsewhere, no?

Others,

Hartley Henry did raise a couple of points, one being Prescod’s out of place, strange and irrelevant outburst.

If THAT is what the Opposition is seen to have to offer, he is right that Prescod should have been corrected. But maybe their strategy was the same old of ‘remind, remind, remind’ i.e. nothing new.

Henry notes the main speakers at the mentioned meeting.

Trevor Prescod, Liz Thompson…

Same old. Where are the vibrant young newcomers with new ideas and drive?

Oh, they are in the DLP candidate list.

As long as the DLP makes no serious political and economic gaffe’s over the coming two years, it looks as if the BLP will have a tall ask for 2013, before they realise that their candidate list is severely lacking.

I am not a member of either party, but clearly see the writing on the wall.

Honestly, look at the ‘poor-rakey’ cabinet that would assemble under a BLP administration at this moment!

No, if I was annoyed at the DLP for a reason, I would look to PDC before voting for that candidate list, honestly.

26. Crusoe // January 28, 2010 at 5:25 AM. Agreed. Well stated. And I am not holding brief for either party either.

27. @ B 4 Dawn
    Somebody like they rattle your nerves a bit. I bet ya the truth does really cut away at wunna type a people like a sharped two sided axe. Wunna just do not want no one to expose wunna blatant show of power hunger and money foolish ways. If there is a lot of shite talk being said here and we are hiding behind aliases, it is for a good reason. You want to know what the reasons are, I will tell you. In Barbados there is exist justice for a few and injustices for the many. In Barbados, exploitation of the masses is obvious and you the corrupt government (pass and present) continue to allow it because the piper paid you and so he gets to pic the tune. You cater to the rich whilst hardly acknowledging the poor in the name of so called investment. The only ones I see getting rich and prosperous is wunna corrupt politicians. And you come on here tooting your version of shite talk only because you can’t gag bajans like before but dare to tell upset bajans (on here) that we talking shite. You low life money grabbing corrupt son of itch. Why you think bajans cannot use their real names because the system would rip our asses to pieces and take away what little we honest hard working bajans have labour long and hard for. IF there is alot of shite talk being said here than prove to us that governments pass and present and their lackeys are all honest and have not dabble in extensive money grabbing schemes and collusions. Explain to us how some politicians and their friends get to be so rich so fast. Chuuuuuuuuuupse I gone before I doan really start cussing stink!!! F….ing joker

28. WHAT if David Thompson was really genuine ?

WHAT if the deputy Prime Minister was Kellman ?

WHAT if we had to pick between MIA and Mascoll or MIA and Thompson ?
    on another note —-

Civil Servants should be allowed to speak out. Is this a democracy or WHAT ?

29. Civil Servants should not have to hide behind blogs etc if that is so , they should be able to come to the people. To his credit David Thompson seems to think so too and Freudel Stuart seem to be the kind of chap to endorse such a thing.

30. SHUT UP —PDC SHUT -UP.Talking about no DLP no BLP. That is nonsense !

PDC NEEDS TO JOIN ONE OF THE PARTIES AND CONTRIBUTE. WHAT IS PDC AFRAID OF ? Shut the (P)uck up PDC

31. Wishing in Vain has returned hmmmmmmm

32. The BLP and the people are one. It is why ordinary Barbadians have a direct line to us: our ‘Live and Direct COMMUNITY Meetings.’
    +++++++++++++++++++

The Barbados Labour Party is on the ground, among and with the people – in communities all across Barbados.

We are listening and can hear your cries for relief from the unnecessary economic pain being caused by the ruling party that keeps on taxing and taking from the poor.

This is why we are giving the people a direct line to us and why we are therefore having our: ‘Live and Direct Community Meetings!’

It is because we care and want to stay connected to you and your community, as never before.

We may very well be in your community soon.

Many are rightly saying that the Barbados Labour Party remains a beacon of hope and the real solution to this country’s economic crisis.

We thank you for your vote-of-confidence and wish to inform you that: ‘You are not ‘bellyaching!’

We are listening and can hear you and want to continue to hear from you.

33. I agree with Mr. Henry.

David Thompson has had a tough time since coming to office. But I have confidence in him.

Mia is not on for me under any circumstances.

34. I actually went to the meeting and it was awful. Thank goodness the crowd was so small. I don’t think it was over 100 looked more like about 50 to me.

I was a little shocked that so many people walked away when Mia was speaking.

35. Can anyone tell me if it is true that one of Barbados’ ambassadors has been recalled or is about to be recalled.

36. Please don’t get me wrong, I’m afraid of the Mottley clan running this country, plus the dark clouds over Mia’s head are still there. I am afraid that some lapsed moral laws will be introduced under her leadership. However, the DLP has not really impressed me since elections, unlike many bajans I didn’t expect the P.M to deliver half of what he promised but what I’m seeing that unless you are from Caw’mere your chance of getting a job is slim; even BLP members who attended Caw’mere are getting jobs before staunch DLP diehards.

37. I didnt go to Caw’mere, but wuh wrong wid dat. Before that it was de fellas from CP and de north who were getting de wuk.

38. Anon
    Oh, so I see, it is tit for tat. This is a serious level of immaturity. It is time both parties move beyond this level of administration. One party canvass against something and then do the same thing when they get in, this is frustrating the voters, no wonder less and less voters are going to the polls. Young people are seeing this and if you talk to many young people you would find that they have little confidence in politicians.

39. Scout wrote “I am afraid that some lapsed moral laws will be introduced under her leadership”. Tell me something did you have any fear when Cameron Tudor was Deputy Prime Minister of Barbados? Did he introduced any “laspse moral laws” under that regime.

Stop talking foolishness and focus on the real issues affecting the country. At a time when Barbadians are expressing real fear at the added burden they will have to bear with the increase of electricity rate following the increase in water you are here spreading malicious gossip.

If Ronald Jones and Patrick Todd and the other closets have not posed a problem to the laws of Barbados yet then you should have no fear about Ms Mottley. She has been a lawmaker in Barbados for almost thirty years and never once has she caused us any concern. Cut out the rumour let us deal with facts and reality.

40. Having read the crass ignorance purporting to be a column from the region’s political Al Capone, Hartley “Scarface” Henry, I hope Sylvan Greenidge or Alex Fergusson will offer a full response.

41. It is a pity that probably only a small minority of people in Barbados ( at most a couple thousands) take seriously what is sometimes said in the DLP and the BLP columns in the Advocate newspapers.

It is a good thing that the vast majority of people either dont take these particular columns seriously or simply dont read them at all.

For, the amount of collossal nonsense that is spewed out in these columns from time to time makes one wonder what are the real purposes for these news publishing companies actually giving these two old archaic irrelevant parties spaces in their weekend newspapers.

However, the PDC does NOT know if the DLP still refuses to have a column in the other newspaper and the PEP is the exception to the two traditional parties, in that, what it SOME TIMES has published in its column in the other newspaper is a far better and informed content.

Whatever the real purposes are still, these parties surely are contributing to the many falling standards in journalism in Barbados, generally speaking.

Take for example the DLP’s column in the Advocate Newspaper, Friday January 29, 2010, where in the DLP column it is stated that the DLP has embarked on a mission of restoring public trust in elected officials.

What colossal ignorance of the most objectionable kind! For, any serious politically inspired person can simply go to the DLP Manifesto of 2008 and read about the great number of promises that have not been kept by this party and therefore the amount of public confidence and trust in the DLP that has been lost by the DLP as a result thereof.

From promises to remove VAT from off building material valued up to BDS $400 000, to bringing about changes to the Defamation Act, to the enacting of an Agricultural Development Act to bringing about 500 homes in 500 days – all and more of which have remained unimplemented in this country; and NOT forgetting the associated time lines for some of these promises that came and went without NOTHING BEING DONE. Full stop.

No serious political individuals will continue to believe that this DLP Government is really on a mission to restore public trust in elected individuals. NONE!!

Not when in April of 2008 this unfaithful disloyal unruly wild DLP Government would have gone and increased the cost of fuel in this country and would have therefore gone and made sure that as a result of such increases greater hardship and misery were visited upon the broad masses and middle classes in this country.

Not when in July of the same 2008 this same wicked DLP Government would have gone and increased TAXATION on the backs of the broad masses and middle classes in the amount of at least BDS $ 150 Million – with draconian increases so-called Road Taxes, professional registration fees, liquor licenses, etc.. And which up to today 2010 have still remained in place.

Moreover, in July of 2009, the public in whom this DLP seeks their trust saw water rates went up by 60%, and now effective March 1, 2010, they are going to realize that electricity bills are going to up.

More and more burdens being piled up on the backs of the impoverished and marginalized in this country, yet this DLP claims to be the party of the poor in this country. What unbridled nonsense!!

For neither the DLP and the BLP represent on the whole the interests of the broad masses and middle classes of people in this country – and they will NEVER again. The leaders and the principals of these parties muchly represent the elites and themselves and a few some others in this country.

So, right away this nuisance party – the DLP – will fail in its so-called mission to restore public trust in elected officials in this country, since most of the public believe that there is much wheeling and dealing behind the scenes involving, esp. many elite in corporate Barbados and the many leaders and principals of the DLP and BLP.

And, with thousands and thousands of people of Barbados complaining more and more on a daily basis that this spiteful DLP government is terribly mismanaging many of the POLITICAL MATERIAL FINANCIAL AFFAIRS of this country, and to which the Prime Minister’s response is a most ignorant insensitive callous unforgivable utterance that Barbadian must stop moaning and bellyaching, this situation must be a sure sign of the uncaring nature of the political animal that is the Prime Minister.

For, surely the demonstration of an uncaring attitude by anybody far less a Prime Minister is one of the first steps in acknowleging further breaches of trust between the person, the prime minister whatever and the person to whom they seek to get the trust of.

Who the Hell though is he to state such foolishness??!!!

He really does NOT know, or pretend NOT to know, the pain and suffering that the broad masses and middle classes of people are going through right now in this country, esp when they lose their jobs, when they see sizeable reductions in their disposable incomes through the cost of living that he foolishly said he would reduce, still being so high up in the air, when their properties are being dispossesed at a very fast rate, and yet when they have families to maintain.

Mr. Prime Minister you are the servant of the people NOT the master of our people!!

The Prime Minister must listen to the cries of those who have been profoundly affected by many of the brutal effects of those policies that he and his government have put in place to help make sure that recession was to come about in Barbados and that recession was a great way of making persons in Barbados more poor and poverty stricken and weak and more dependent.

To NOT listen to the cries of the people and moreso to respond to them in the very henious way in which the Prime Minister did by telling them to stop moaning and bellyaching, is to help create or foster in the minds of many people of there being a divide between the political leader of this county and his party, and they themselves – which is a situation which will surely NOT encourage public trust in elected public officials.

So, as we talk with so many people of varying social political and religious backgrounds on a daily basis as they live through what has now become a depression from a recession, they talk about NOT having faith any more in so-called politicians including DLP ones and stating how they have been given the run around in this country by so-called DLP politicians and names like these normally figure Dr. Dennis Lowe, Mrs. Irene Sandiford Garner, Dr. Ester Byer Suckoo and Mr. Patrick Todd.

One ordinary poor member of the DLP even told the PDC yesterday that he deliberately stayed away from the DLP lunch time lecture because of the fact that he is in serious disagreement with the increases in water rates.

As a result of those increases in electricity rates, he certainly could NOT believe that the DLP did all its power to stop the BL&P from getting those increases at this time. Moreover, he believes that the DLP conspired with the FTC to increase electricity rates .

So, finally, no serious politically conscious individuals in Barbados including that ordinary poor member of the DLP are going to believe that this DLP Government is really on a mission to restore PUBLIC TRUST IN ELECTED OFFICIALS. NONE whatsoever, given the failing track record of this DLP Government in that regard.

42. @RoyalRumble
    Tell me something did you have any fear when Cameron Tudor was Deputy Prime Minister of Barbados? Did he introduced any “laspse moral laws” under that regime.

WHY ARE YOU COMPARING MIA MOTTLEY TO CAMERON TUDOR, RONALD JONES, AND PATRICK TODD WITH REFERENCE TO MORAL LAW?

Are you wanting to suggest that Cameron Tudor, Ronald Jones and Patrick Todd, are same sex oriented individual who have served and are serving in our parliament and therefore Mia Mottley being of liked orientation should be according the same RIGHTS? Speakup man I am not getting the comparison at all.

Truth be told I wasn’t aware of such or rumours of such about the three fellas you mention, but there is’nt a person in the caribbean that is not aware of the rumours about Mia. Put them to bed or come clean if you dare.

43. West African history records that slave traders anchored off the African coastline often encouraged African quislings to imbibe alcoholic beverages before they sold their compatriots into slavery for trinkets.
    This sordid phase of African history sprang to mind after reading Hartley Henry’s offerings in the Barbados Advocate of February, 4, 2010.
    Henry spoke glowingly of the camaraderie which existed among the guests who attended a party held at Bagatelle by Paul and Sue who evidently are Caucasian. In fact, Henry said the hostess, Sue “insisted that everyone, black, white and in between put away their stiffness and join in the fun.”
    Just a mere two years ago DLP spokespersons were castigating BLP operatives and charging there was an unholy alliance between the owners of capital and the BLP.
    One notes with some concern that three of our calypsonians who are noted for their biting social commentary treated the well heeled guests to some of their calypsos. Are we witnessing a conscious attempt being made by the elite in Barbados to blunt the incisive social commentary which issues from their pens at Crop Over?
    Owners of capital are not naive and recognise that popular social commentaries can unnerve an administration and the ruling class. They are also aware that Henry has the ear of the current Prime Minister, hence his presence at the function.
    Henry, manipulator that he is, should acknowledge that the other social groups do not see social functions as occasions to get “drunk and disorderly ” but as events to strike business deals and network.
    He should recognise that generally businessmen hold views similar to those expressed by former American Secretary of State, Henry Kissinger, who was reported to have said: ” America does not have permanent friends, but permanent interests”.
    Henry should acknowledge that former “movers and shakers” in the Owen Arthur administration no longer appear on the list of invitees to such functions, neither do they receive those calls in the wee hours of the morning soliciting assistance on some deal. The pendulum has now swung in the direction of the DLP. Enjoy your short flight in the land of the privileged Hartley.

44. Flavour of the Month Avatar
    Flavour of the Month

RONALD JONES WAS A MARRIED MAN

HOW COULD HE BE SAME SEX ORIENTED