Submitted by Crusoe (as a comment on the Haiti We Are Sorry blog

You list some good ideas for the structural retransformation of Haiti [Responding to Commenter Dictionary on the Haiti We Are Sorry blog]. Each in of themselves they do not depend on improved education but do depend on improved technical training (farming etc). However, for all, the long-term success of those initiatives individually and collectively leading to a successful Haiti will certainly also depend on improved education, if as we have been informed, the literacy level is so low.

This has two implications.

Firstly, immediately after initial search, rescue, medical, temporary (short and medium term) and security issues have been addressed as priority, the early reformation must include an immediate education programme, for adult and youth, such thatย  the transformation of Haiti can begin with the active participation of her people, not as ‘serfs’ but as active individuals and communities with an understanding of the reasoning behind the methods and the aim of the methods.

I must add, that ‘transformation’ in this context is not meant to refer to bringing Haiti to the same philosophical outlook as anyone other specific group. In this context it is meant to refer to bringing Haiti to a level of self-capability and self-determination. Now, to expect say a three or four year ‘crash course’ in education and technical skills may seem either impossible or unrealistic, but unfortunately, if this is not done as one of the foundations of the rebuilding (in the context of not only structural, but as a nation of people), than all else may eventually prove futile.

This is obviously along the lines of the old phrase of teaching a man to fish instead of giving him the fish. Merely putting up structures, farms etc may certainly alleviate some misery, but while in the short term foreign contractors etc may gain much from the aid given for this purpose, the long-term goal should be to have Haitians and not only elite, but the everyday Haitian, benefit from money flows and thus create an independent people and a vibrant economy.

It is my view therefore Caricom leaders, should address the education of Haiti, as a priority, as much a priority as any other redevelopment effort.
To reinforce a point, the initial effort must not only be to set up an improved schooling system, but implement as an interim measure, an ’emergency education programme’, with the help of international authorities and the Haitian authorities. If one wants a long-term Haiti, this is essential.

We must give thanks yet again, that Errol Barrow saw the necessity of education as a developmental tool. And, we must forever resist ANY attempts to take free education from Barbadians. Indeed, those of us who wish for an improved world, must seek the furtherance of a sound even if basic education, for all peoples, as a necessity for development.

1,421 responses to “The Reconstruction And Transformation Of Haiti: A Global-Moral Imperative”

1. Onlookers:

Came by to get some links to possible partners from upthread, while working on the Gantt timeline for the discussion draft project concept paper.

(Current state: main body is on target at 5 pp, summary and timelines are WIP at front, modified Log Frame, another WIP, will be appended. )

It should be plain that, sadly, Hopi et al, sadly, plainly have no ability to make a positive contribution.

But, for reasons of anti-Christian hostility — NB: Hopi has called for arson against churches on the slander of how we allegedly worship a blondy, blue eyed white man’s god [odd, I just went through Ac 8:26 ff with my kids; on the roots of the first national church, in Ethiopia . . . (the church, by direct divine action, came to Africa before it went to Europe)] — they are busily carping away; having already contemptuously tossed aside the opportunity to learn by doing on how to develop a strategic level project proposal.

As to “who is this guy” to dare to suggest a positive way forward, well I happen to be a Caricom Citizen [last I checked there was a right of petition as an acknowledged democratic right . . . ], who happens to have the experience of being a Project Cycle Management consultant, with a particular focus on capacity building and creation of educational programmes, e.g. I have designed degree programmes (including programmes that are helping to make a positive difference for the Ja that would have been better off had it heeded the counsel of my forebears).

Apart from my training and experience, I happen to take seriously the Biblical mandate that one should not love in words but moreso in deeds, here by seeing and reaching out to an evident opportunity for educational transformation and community upliftment.

I also — as just alluded to –have the privilege to have grown up at the feet of one who was involved in strategic level development planning and implementation in our region, whose track record speaks for itself.

In short, this sort of thing is in my bones.

And, since the first step is to approach the relevant governments and partners with a discussion draft concept paper, it should be plain — save to those animated by deep hostility and contempt — that this is a presentation of an idea for consideration by our regional group of countries; not an imposition from outside. (In fact, the proposed key actors for the initial phase of coming to an agreement are: C/C, GOH, ACTI, NGOs, Intโ€™l Govts.)

So, the real focal issues are the Mordecai moment questions:

If not now, then, when?

If not here, then, where?

If not us, then, who?

In short, I cannot stand by idly and carp when I could do something positive . . .

G’day

Dictionary

2. PS: had the carpers above bothered to notice, the SOH idea is intended to be a pilot and demonstration for a wider effort. In that context — thanks to the power of digitalisation and the potential of modular, sustainable construction techniques — it has been initially rough- costed at about US$ 4/non-Haitian Caricom member, across a five year period. Surely, about US$ 1/yr would be a modest and affordable contribution on the debt of honour we owe to the nation whose forebears accelerated the abolition of slavery by a generation, through their blood?

[Going beyond that, once success is demonstrated, a good slice of the US$ 21 billion + 900 million due to Haiti as repayment and compensation, could be in the form of the full-scale development of the world’s first full bore C21 digital age education system, from primary to Comm Coll level? A system integrated with business incubation, micro financing, health services, agri extension and coop towards sustainable high value production, and community micro-power radio — this one is really cheap to do! — with associated open campus learning opportunities, from basic literacy on up, to foster lifelong learning as a new paradigm.]

3. Onlookers:

As promised — and after a most inopportune power cut and some dodgy software issues — I link the substance of the Schools of Hope Haiti proposal, and give a PDF link to the actual full document, which has live links. (Especially note those on the timeline chart page, after the summary.)

Technician will see that I have acknowledged his contribution.

G’day

D

PS: Detractors, I think you may find it worthwhile to read here.

4. Haiti has for the longest time been suffering from one quake or another. You can re-construct as much as you wish [and yes she needs it] but unless the VIRUS that has been eating away at that society since her ancestors whipped Napoleon is totally destroyed, your buildings will yet again crumble. I’m not easily impressed with the obvious or with appearances, for beneath such facades lies a CANCEROUS foundation, which if not totally deracinated, will yet again spring up and lay a hold of the jugular of that nation and suffocate her.

Haiti didn’t suffer because she didn’t know how to construct a building, or because her children were ‘illiterate’. She has suffered because of external influences which fed internal influences and unless such influences are addressed Haiti will always be ‘quake prone’ in spite of the edifices.

Again I have NOTHING to contribute to your flamboyance, my contribution is to the immediate need of the people via an org which works directly with the people on the ground. They actually take a plane and take the ‘aid’ there themselves.

And as you continue ‘in’ your incubator, the Haitians are dying for a lack of IMMEDIATE assistance.

So again, come January 13, 2011 kindly return with the fruits of your labor.

————————————————-

C21st life
    I got swept away
    21k things that I got to do today
    C21st life………

And we miss the whole point of our being here!

5. Hopi:

Sour grapes.

G’day

D

6. Sour grapes to who? You?

Cause it ain’t no damn sour grapes to right thinking black people?

7. Onlookers:

You will observe the set theme for the thread:

The Reconstruction And Transformation Of Haiti: A Global-Moral Imperative

In response to this, I decided to do a project development exercise in this thread, on what is a known powerful strategy for development and transformation: community based schools used as centres of leadership and upliftment including as catalysts for agri education, extension and coop building, as well as other similar efforts.

Let us remind ourselves, from a case in India, paying particular attention to what the students themselves have to say:

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gYi-yGJYz2M&hl=en_US&fs=1&]

I have put up the substance of the proposal here, with onward links to the complete and formatted document with summary, timelines chart and log frame.

In the end, too much of what went on is the typical crabs in a barrel game, especially on the part of what are now ever so plainly virulently and in some cases venomously and even vulgar anti-Christian commenters. (From that quarter there were very few positive contributions, but abundant rhetorical sniping and the Alinsky presumption that they have cornered the market on being angels, sot hat all who do not neatly line up with their partyline are necessarily devils. [The actual evidence is that Solzhenitsyn is right, and Alinsky wrong.])

Now, at length, the proposal worked through above is complete as a discussion draft for use by Caricom (and is beginning to go out to potential implementers of an initiative).

In short summary, it seeks to be:

A proposal for creating a network of 25 digitally integrated community-transforming Schools of Hope in Haiti. These schools, from primary to Associate Degree level Community Colleges, would help create a digital age education system connected to business incubation, agriculture development, balanced rural-urban development, and sustainability initiatives, starting with demonstration of low-cost sustainable construction technologies.

This, as a collective act of the Caricom region acting jointly with the Government and communities of Haiti, in response to the needs of one of our sister states, at an initially estimated cost of about US$ 1 per year across five years, for non-Haitian Caricomers.

The reactions above from Hopi and Anonymous are, on “crabs in a barrel” track record sadly predictable, and are plainly part of the problem, not the solution.

It is time that we understood that, and it is time that we faced what the rise of such venomous, slanderous anti-Christian bigotry means, and it is time that we do something about it.

As a few first steps, I observe and suggest:

1 –> The attempt to label the Christian church as worshipping a blondy, blue eyed white man’s god — premised on sunday school art from many decades ago, art that in sensible churches, was accompanied by specific disclaimers that it was in any way an accurate portrayal — there is no known correct description or portrait of our Lord; though if the Shroud of Turin has some substance to it, recent representations that correct the image for distortions might begin to be close: typically middle eastern — is a slander, that is insisted on in the teeth of correction.

2 –> The blatant, insistent disregard for fairness, accuracy, and correction evident in previous threads is, unsurprisingly, connected to actual calls for arson against churches, on the grounds that the chruches are a part of a white conspiracy of bloodsuckers against the black man.

3 –> So strongly is this perceived that above Hopi had to be corrected for implying that ALL whites are bloodsuckers. (All whites struggle with sin, as do all “browns” and all “reds” and all “yellows” and all “blacks” — and if these were available, all purples, grees and blues too. Some whites — just as some blacks — are decent good hearted and positive people who seek to turn from evil to good, and some are given over to evil. And, as Rom 2:6 – 8 points out, this reflects two very different responses to the moral and spiritual light that God gives to every man that cometh into the world. As Locke summed up (with explicit biblical citations from 2 Pet 1 and Prov 20:27) in the introduction to his Essay on Human Understanding: the candle that is set up in us suffices for all our purposes, for from it we may learn “the comfortable provision for this life, and the way that leads to a better.”)

4 –> So, let us all, instead, recall the warning of the great Russian author, Solzhenitsyn: the line between good and evil passes, not between classes and nations [which includes races], but right through the individual human heart.

5 –> So also, the correct remedy — cf, Our Lord in the Sermon on the Mount, Mt 7:1 – 5 — for would-be reformers of the evils of any given day, is to first take the planks out of our own eyes, then we can see clearly and understand how to help our brothers and sisters with the sawdust that has got into their eyes.

6 –> That slander is also plainly the context for the “Anonymous” remark above on “right thinking black people” — i.e., in actuality, those who believe the slander [And remember here the implications of Ac 8:26 – 40 — the first national Christian Church was in Ethiopia] — that sounds ever so familiar to those who have had to address say the fulminations of both ROK and Hopi. (The former of these, sadly, openly said that he has padlocked his mind on the subject some 30 years ago.)

7 –> For those desiring to find the truth about the Christian faith in the teeth of sharp skeptical attacks, I suggest that you have a read here. (Notice onlookers, the virulent skeptical objectors in this blog — for months now– have never once seriously and cogently addressed the substance of this corrective to their behaviour. That should tell you something about the true state of the case on the merits.)

Back on topic, I invite onlookers to read and discuss the discussion draft project proposal concept paper.

G’day

Dictionary

8. Ride the Fence

so I pose a proposition
    take a look, be in support of opposition
    then be proactive proceed with confidence
    ’cause you know that you can’t change shit by ridin’ the fence
    Ride the fence
    now you don’t really wanna
    ride the fence
    now do you really wanna
    ride the fence?

9. Footnote:

Good chess players are 3 – 5 moves ahead of the board in their heads. Good strategic level executives are a decade ahead of he events on the ground.

On the lingering experience of how hard it has been to get redevelopment going here in Montserrat [13 years after the peak point of the disasters . . . ], I am advocating a strategic regional initiative for our sister Caricom country, Haiti.

the time to begin moving on such is while stabilisation is underway, now that the first response phase is more or less over.

And, yes, Haiti is suffering serious problems and there is still a lot of triaging, planned and unplanned; as the magnitude of what has happened is overwhelming: the equivalent of a nuclear blast hitting a city. That does not undercut the currency of the need for the sort of contribution being made in this thread through the proposal, and through those to whom it is going behind the scenes.

That is, if we intend to move beyond being reactive to being proactive.

And, that happens to be an area where I can help out.

So I am doing so.

G’day

D

10. Like gas stations in rural Texas after 10 pm, comments are closed.

11. Uh oh.

Sorry, no posts matched your criteria. Wanna search instead?

to search

type

hit

?

12. Selassie I liveth everytime, Emmanuel liveth everytime, Marcus Gravey liveth everytime… Boy if yuh dis Marcus, then you must bite the dust… And If you dis Selassie I, boy yuh_ gwan die… Dis Emmanuel gawn dung a hell…

Donโ€™t Dis The Trinity

13. David,

The following excerpt was copied from an article on MSNBC-World today.
    Maybe there is a lesson here for us re Haiti.
    …………………………………………………..
    NBC, msnbc.com and news services
    updated 3:42 a.m. PT, Sat., Feb. 27, 2010

SANTIAGO, Chile – A massive magnitude-8.8 earthquake struck Chile early Saturday, killing at least 64 people, triggering a tsunami and rattling buildings more than 200 miles away.

“Santiago has got a history of earthquakes and basically there’s not a lot of old construction in Santiago because of these earthquakes.

“The new buildings in Santiago are designed to withstand fairly strong quakes and they probably held up pretty well.”

14. @the hood

Funny thing about this earthquake. Its magnitude is in dispute. It also happened 35km below ground. I get the funny feeling that this is another attempt to undermine Haiti.

15. @ the ROK

OK, ROKie, I I am not too into the technicalites of it or lack thereof, what I found interesting is that the actual structural damage was greatly reduced here compared with Haiti. Follow me?

16. @the hood

i follow you alright. We say that this is an age of information but the way that things work, it is also the age of misinformation.

I heard a report which stated that the shocks felt were 4.4 but that report soon disappeared and then i heard 8.8 and now 8.3. Never have such disputed figures arise over an earthquake.

When things like this happen, you know that conspiracy is in the air.

17. @ ROK

I get the point now. What you are saying is that because the intensity is disputed then we cannot be sure whether or not it was as strong as the one that struck in Haiti. OK, point taken. Therefore at this time we cannot really compare the damage in the respective countries.

18. The BU ‘Slanderous Satanic Snipers’ *SSS* as true to form, consistently incoherent, virtually unable to contribute any sensible meaningful thought, continue to rant on in visionless, blind, vitriolic, hostile ignorance!!!

19. The BU Trinity renamed the BU triple ‘S’ – โ€˜Slanderous Satanic Snipersโ€™ *SSS* “.

20. i’m sure all debaters and haters
    are working as independents
    not nutty extremists

Iโ€™ll Be There โ€“ The Stripped Mixes

Who Dem?

21. @ ROK

Are you really serious?

It is inevitable at such an early stage (within hours) there will be conflicting reports.
    How do you get this to be a conspiracy?

I think you should concentrate on your BL&P appeal yuh.

@ Zoe
    You don’t think that as a christian you could have ask ROK nicely how he could be so judgmental so soon?
    …You have to start out cussing?
    How do you think that makes you look…???

stuppppppes!!

22. @BT

I can only tell you that the red flag is up. Time will tell. Yes I am very serious. I have found that when it comes to profit, dishonesty has no bounds.

23. theories are out there for people to think
    for themselves and challenge what they
    are told and to make their own informed
    decisions… and not always to be believed
    100% at face value
    โ€œNever Can Say Goodbyeโ€

Rok mistrusts authority and greed
    and thinks out loud for discussion

24. @BT

Zoe better “chill out” likkle bit (according to the youth) otherwise he soon gine buss a aortic artery!

25. @Hopi Feb 25, 2010 @11:34AM, an ardent member of the BU *SSS* wrote the following, which essentially ‘missed’ the historic reality of WHY Haiti was/is so devastated, I’ll insert the TRUE reasons in the quote:

“Haiti has for the longest time been suffering from one quake or another, you can re-contruct as much as you wish [and yes she needs it] but unless the VIRUS ( ‘…Hatian, it IS the VODOU which IS for YOU. It IS your GUTS, in your ancestors, in your BLOOD, in your VEINS. It is ‘vasksin’ (musical instruments, drums…which IS your culture…’ Vodou priest outside Jacmel) that has been eating away at that society since her ancestors wipped Napolean is totally destroyed, your buildings will crumble yet again…for beneath such facades lies a CANCEROUS foundation, (Yes, VODOU, ‘Because when you say ‘Haiti’ you say ‘Vodou,’ When you say ‘Vodou,’ you say ‘Haiti,’ Because this little terrain, this little piece of earth right here…Vodou gave it its independence… Vodou leader and priest in Cayes-Jacmel), which if not totally deracinated, (VODOU) will yet again spring up and lay hold of the jugular of that nation and suffocate her.”

Vodou which was/is so intertwined culturally in Haiti, that the identity of that society, cannot be separated from the DEEP seated day by day practice of Vodou, plus the paganistic, ritual of Roman Catholicism, also intertwined in the Haitian society, a MIX of Satanic subterfuge, that has been the very ROOT cause of all her devastating pain, poverty and destruction, and, yes, no matter how much you re-contruct Haiti structually, unless and UNTIL, this CURSE that has rested upon Haiti, Vodou, there can be NO true liberty peace NOR properiety for Haiti and its people.

“Our Government is in Bwa Kayiman:” A Vodou Ceremony in 1791 and its Contemporary Significations.’

“In Haiti in 2007, I heard the “Boukman prayer” proclaimed to the gathered media at the opening of a press conference organized by the Vodou organization Association…the account of the Bwa Kayiman ceremony is today definitely *widespread* among the ranks of Vodouisants and has been integrated into Vodou’s lore. The issue of the ceremony, as well as the general inportance of Vodou to liberate Haiti, was often raised when I spoke with people about Vodou. By portraying Vodou as a cultural and religious heritage *inextricably* merged with the history and independence of Haiti, practitioners also legitimize Vodou and its place in Haitian society. In 2006 and 2007, for example, I attended three press conferences with VODOU representatives and the issue of Bwa Kayiman was mentioned at each of these occasions (cf. Platfom Milokan, 2007). (Stockholm Review of Latin American Studies, Issue No. 4, March 2009) emphasis added.

The central and foundational point, FACT, is, no matter how much AID, comes in from across the world, it could be in the BILLIONS or TRILLIONS, you could BUILD the greatest and most technologically advanced structures EVER, “IF” the widespread adherence TO, and practice of VODOU and other false religions are NOT fought against and rooted out by the truth, Haiti will NOT ever stand liberated!

26. @ Zoe

No doubt you are sincere in your conviction re your above post.

You will however experience some difficulties when you seek to similarly explain destruction and chaos imposed by nature in many other various cultures, countries and places.

Even if all you say about voodoo is true, who is to say that this is any worse than the myriad of other false religions, cults and practices out there – including ours?

What exactly is it that allows you to judge others when you cannot even justify your own spirituality through your displayed actions here on BU?

The other point I would like to throw out is that -the fact that a people endures multiple instances of ongoing suffering may only say that this is a strong people, who are being further strengthened spiritually.

Why do you think that Jesus could declare it a blessing to be poor….?

27. @ BT
    For that matter let’s extend that analogy to the people of old testament times-the Israelites- look how they suffered and were chastened, suffered and were again chastened, repeatedly, by God (BBE?) Wasn’t that so that they could be spiritually re-awakened?

28. @Bush Tea, It is a Biblical and historic fact, that every ancient civilization, that went after ‘strange’ god’s, god’s that do NOT exist, but are Satanic deceptions, *Idolatry* felt the wrath and judgment of Almighty God, one way or the other; including His Covenanted people ‘Isreal’ for whenever they ‘turned’ their backs on HIM, they suffered terribly, Crops, Cattle and people, i.e., the Assyrian and Babylonian captivities, and dispersion throughout the nations of the world.

Almighty God, the ONLY true and living God, uses different ways of punishing people (Nations).

BTW, when Jesus said: “Blessed are the poor in spirit, For theirs is the kingdom of heaven’ (Matt. 5:3), Each Beatitude includes a pronouncement of blessing, a description of the ones considered as blessed, and an explanation (for) of the blessing. ‘The poor in spirit’ are those who recognize their spiritual poverty and, casting aside all self-dependence, seeking and depending on God’s grace, in Christ Jesus. But, there are also ‘poor’ people financially, WHO DO NOT seek and trust God or Jesus; I know some wonderfully ‘blessed’ poor folks in B,dos, they do not have much materially, BUT, they love God, and and His Son, Jesus Christ, and have a joy and peace about them, that can only come from Him.

The word ‘blessed’ is from the Greek word, ‘makarios’ from the root ‘mak’ indicating large or of long duration. the word is an adjective, suggesting happy, supremely blessed, a condition in which congratulations are in order. It is a ‘grace’ word that expresses the special joys and satisfaction granted the person who experiences salvation, in, by, and through Jesus Christ.

Some of the most miserable people are those who are ‘rich’ materialistically, they have everything money can buy, BUT, they DON’T HAVE, the joy, peace and inner fulfillment that the ‘poor’ in spirit, have from knowing Almighty God in the face of Christ.

If you were to look carefully at the nations, people over the last 500 years that prospered educationally, good standard of living, democratic governance and so on, notwithstanding the evil that still reigns in some people, they all honoured generally speaking, the God of historic divine revelation, in the Bible, and His Son, Jesus Christ; if you looked at those nations over the same period of time, that have constantly struggled with poverty, poor health, low standard of education, some form of dictatorship, etc, you will find that every one of these countries, believed in some ‘false’ god(s) or other.

Think about it!

29. Exactly Mr Hood.
    Indeed, according to Zoe’s bible, the very people that God selected to be ‘his people’ were, as you said, subjected to repeated stresses and strains….. a fact that no doubt continues to this day.

It is a very challenging task to judge others….. particularly when one is themselves not fully cognizant of the rules of the game.

..a really good parent could well be specially harsh with a favorite child – precisely because of a special interest in that child’s long term well being…

30. @Mr Zoe,
    I hear your explanation of the ‘poor in spirit’, but do you not think that the meaning could be a bit different to the one that you propose?

How could being ‘of poor spirit’ be a blessing?

What I, (as a simple bushman who cannot do exegeses,) would suggest that Jesus ACTUALLY said was “Blessed are the poor SPIRITUALLY, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Is that not a similar phrase as in Luke 10, 21 where it said that “in that hour, Jesus rejoiced in spirit” – which surely meant that Jesus rejoiced SPIRITUALLY….

On the other hand I take your point that not all poor will inherit the kingdom, but what he actually said was that the kingdom was theirs (for the taking – so what poor what?!!)

…just my layman interpretation….for what it is worth.

With respect to your assessment of the consequences of idolatry – I agree with you. However many of God’s people and even his prophets were thought great lessons through suffering and pain…

In the process of building character, the more advanced you become, the more challenging and stressful must be the conditions needed for further improvements…

It is when the going gets tough that the tough really gets going.

31. So what is the Chileans punishment for this time?

Can Zoe explain?

Here we have another tragedy and true to form Zoe has not one word of sympathy…only condemnation !

What Christian what?!?

One Question I would like answered by any one…..This Israel that Zoe talks about as the chosen people of God, is the Bible the last authority for them or do they have their own version or other books that take precedent over the bible?

32. @Technician

“This Israel that Zoe talks about as the chosen people of God, is the Bible the last authority for them or do they have their own version or other books that take precedent over the bible?”

Yuh Bad!

33. Not really ya know ROK.

I want to understand the Torah, Talmud, Hebrew Bible etc.
    You see, I am confused as hell (no pun intended) when I hear Zoe rebuking others for their books and him saying the bible is the SOLE authority on God’s word.
    Yet there are other books used by the chosen people.
    Are these books complimentary?
    What is the final authority and what role does these other books play according to the scriptures?
    I thought the Bible was it, full stop.
    Can someone out there explain this to me….in laymans terms please.

34. """ FIRE """ Avatar
    “”” FIRE “””

Only Sir Hilary could put this in perspective.

Enlighthenment for the asses who write shite on this blog about Owen Arthur and the other great leaders of this country from a partisan political perspective.

Leaders including David Thompson who want the best for this country. Blacks have not had it easy and much of what we struggle with as a people have been thrusted upon us by the WICKED Europeans.

We need to love and cherish our people and work together for the good of all people in this nation. The two party system and the artificial posturings by party affiliates that was copied and imitated and imposed on us by the British must be done away with as soon as yesterday.

We as black people should love and cherished our own everytime and not assist the Europeans in denigration of each other for I tell you that what Sir Hilary has outlined here is still very much in evidence throughout Africa and the Caribbean and every black diaspora

35. Ethiopian Jews !Yeah ! they the real jews
    all others imposters.

36. @ ROK

But ROKie just getting a likkle personal now, wha ‘appen wid yuh BU squeeze Bonny “Hottie” Peppa? I ain’t hearing a ting from her lately. Effen yuh hear sumpting let her know her favorite pet here “Bruno” askin bout her. Yuh would remember that she christen me “Bruno” a long time ago!!

37. @Bush Tea, “What I…….would suggest that Jesus ACTUALLY said was “Blessed are the poor SPIRITUALLY, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.”

BT, first, we must never add or take away from God’s Word, which you are doing, by suggesting what you THINK Jesus said, which is NOT what the Holy Spirit HAS recorded in His Word; which is:

“Blessed are *the poor in spirit* from the Greek, ‘hoi ptochoi toi pneumati’ which carries an entirely different meaning, to what you want to suggest or read into the Inspired text, which we must NEVER do.

The Word of God, states, ‘the poor in spirit’ NOT ‘the poor SPIRITUALLY’ to be ‘poor spiritually’ from an strictly Biblical perspective, is to be ‘spiritually barren’ dry, and yes, ‘spiritually DEAD’ which is the condition of the majority of people who walk this earth, because, if one is not ‘Born Again’ Justified, of the Holy Spirit, He does NOT come and take up residence within them, so that they are ‘poor spiritually’ this is what the Word of God, the Bible teaches, and is in fact so.

Now, on the other hand, what Jesus said and meant in the beatitudes, specifically in, “Blessed are the POOR IN SPIRIT…’ carries an completely different meaning, to being ‘spiritually poor’.

The world judges a man by his material wealth and so on; who, if they don’t KNOW Christ, are SPIRITUALLY *poor* destitute spiritually; wheras, those who KNOW Jesus Christ, personally, while in many cases are poor in material comforts, etc, are *rich* spiritually.

As Matthew Henry says in his great commentary on the whole Bible in one volume.

“Christ begins His sermon with blessings, for ‘He came into the world to bless us (Acts. 3:26). Each of the blessings Christ here pronounces has a double intention: 1. To show who they are that are to be accounted. 2. What this is wherein TRUE happiness consist.”

“This is designed to rectify the ruinous mistakes of a blind and carnal world. Blessedness is the thing which men pretend to pursue; ‘Who will make to see good? Psa. 4:6). But most mistake the end, and form a wrong notion of happiness; and then no wonder that they miss the way. The general opinion is, ‘Blessed are they that are rich, and great, and honorable in the world; that spend their days in mirth, and their years in pleasure; that eat the fat, and drink the sweet, and carry all before them with a hugh hand. Now our Lord Jesus comes to give us quite another notion of *blessedness* and blessed people. The beginning of a Christian’s practice must be to take his measures of happiness from those maxims, and to direct his pursuits accordingly. It is designed to remove the discouragements of the weak and poor who receive the Gospel. Even the least in the kingdom of heaven, whose heart was upright with God, was HAPPY in the honours and privileleges of that kingdom.”

Here is where Matthew Henry brings out the point I stressed above.

“‘The poor in Spirit’ are happy, v. 3. There IS a *poor-spiritedness* that IS so far from making men blessed that it is a sin and a snare – cowardice and base fear. To be ‘poor in spirit’ IS, 1. To be contentedly poor, willing to be empty of the worldly wealth, if God orders that to be our lot. Many are poor in the world, but HIGH in spirit, poor and PROUD, but we must accomodate ourselves to our poverty, must ‘know how to be abased,’ Phil. 4: 12. It is to sit loose to all worldly wealth, and NOT set our hearts upon it. It is not, in pride or pretense, to make ourselves poor, by throwing away what God has given us. If we be rich in the world, we must be ‘poor in spirit’, this IS, we must give to the poor and sympathize with them, as being touched with the feelings of their infirmities; we must expect and prepare for poverty; and must not inordinately fear or shun it, but must bid it welcome, especially when it comes upon us for keeping a good conscience. Heb. 10:34, Job was ‘poor in spirit’ when he blessed God in ‘taking away,’ as well, as giving. To be humble and lowly in our own eyes. To be ‘poor in spirit’ is to think meanly of ourselves, of what we are, and have, and do, it is to be as little children in our opinion of ourselves. The Apostle Paul was rich *spiritually* excelling most in gifts and graces, and YET, he was ‘POOR IN SPIRIT’ considered himself, ‘the least of the apostles, less than the least of all saints, and nothing in his own account.”

To be ‘poor in spirit’ is to depend ONLY upon the *merit* of Christ, and the Spirit and grace of The Lord Jesus Christ.

BT, I trust that the forgoing, will enable you to understand the vast difference between what you suggest that Jesus meant, and what HE did in fact say, as divinely Inspired and recorded in His Word, the Bible, as so well explained from Matthew Henry’s Commentary.

38. For the record, the Chile earthquake although much stronger than the Haiti quake, was further away from cities and deeper than the Haiti quake.

Port-Au-Prince was virtually right on the epicentre of the Haiti quake (15 miles), while the closest city to the Chile quake was 70 miles.

Secondly, the Haiti quake at a depth of 8 miles, meant that the intensity was focused on areas in close proximity to the epicentre.

The roughly 22 mile depth for the Chile quake means that the energy will be somewhat more dissipated over a larger area, at least than the Haiti quake.

While still fairly near the surface, relatively, it neverthelesss indicates much more energy dispersion over a wider area than the Haiti quake.

Finally, despite that, according to reports, there is significant building damage, in many cases, total.

That was the point of some of my previous posts, when I indicated that one cannot build against every quake eventuality, that the Haiti incident was more than just poor standards.

Are we now going to say that Chile also has poor standards?

The reality is that while there are valid considerations in building safety, one cannot prevent natural catastrophe, only mitigate, which will not be any guarantee in any case.

That said, 8.8 quake is insane.

Unfortunately, I am convinced that the Earth is substantially unstable at this time and that there will be some more of these on the way soon.

I am not a geologist, only someone who reads a bit and who has followed these things for a while.

Best wishes to the Chilean people.

39. @ The Christians on BU..

Does the Talmud, Torah, Hebrew Bible etc..takes away or adds to Gods word the Bible.

40. @Technician, I really do understand your state of confusion, re the Torah, Talmud, Hebrew Bible, etc. and the questions you seriously posed.

It is extremely interesting, that only a few days ago, I received a book I ordered, written by a Jewish Rabbi, Menachem Kohen, titled “Prophecies For The Era Of Muslim Terror, A Torah Perspective On World Events.”

I’ve only read about half of this book so far, but, what this Jewish Rabbi has brought out as a Jew, bearing in mind, that the Torah of Judiasm, consist of the five books of Moses, that is, Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy, which is what they refer to as the ‘written’ Torah, which like Christians, they also believe was Divinely inspired by Almighty God.

But, they the Jews, also believe very strongly in what they call, the ‘Oral’ Torah, as Rabbi Kohen explains:

“But, there is much more to Torah that was not initially recorded- an entire body of knowledge that was not transcribed UNTIL world events became so unbearable and oppressive for the Jews. Written Torah is only an introduction, and overview, and a summary. Another huge component of Torah knowledge was transmitted ‘orally’ from the days of Sanai until environmental conditions were such that Jews were preculded from intensive and relaxed study with their teachers, for the usual 30-40 year period of time. This body of Torah information came to be written down because the cruel nations who governed the Jews were preventing Jews from studying Torah. Jews were constantly fleeing their muderers; others were being forcibly uprooted and exiled. No longer could Jews study in a serene setting for the required period of time. (See Babylonian Talmud, Sanhedrin 88B). This body of Torah knowledge had to be written down if the vast body of knowledge was to survive. This enormous compilation of information is known as ‘Torah She’b’al Peh, Oral Torah – the body of knowledge that had to be memorized for 1400 years because, during that period, it was being transmitted orally from teacher to student, uninterruptedly from the time of the giving of the Torah at Sinai in the year 2448 BC (1312 B.C.E). (pp. 13,14)

This Jewish Rabbinical perspective written by this Jewish Rabbi, who is obviously a very learned man in Judaism, seeks to explain the devout seriousness, and intent, that prevailed throughout the history of Judaism, and it IS a fact, that the Jews took their memorization to heart, and still do, and are very bright people, attested to by the vastness of their accomplishments, in so many fields of endeavor, with so many patents, etc, etc, ascribed to them, throughout the world.

What has amazed me thus far in reading this book, is the precision with which this Jewish Rabbi, has taken Prophecies from the Old Testament, specifically dealing with the Jews, Israel, all of which, as a Christian I firmly believe in and understand, and brought out the historical facts and evidence, in certain areas of their the Jews history, and the ‘Promised’ land, that are confirmed historically, re the ‘Land’ promised to Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, and their descendants, the Jews, and ‘The Prophecy of ‘Depravation, Deficiency & Drought’ that the ‘Land’ experienced every time, the Jews, ‘Isreal’ were dispersed, for a period of up to 1800 years of ‘drought’ 660,000 days, there was virtually no rain…then as God’s Word predicts, in anticipation of many, many returing Jews, starting in earnest at the turn of the 20th Century, the hills began blossoming when ‘Only’ the Jews begun returing to their ancient ‘homeland’ exactly as prophecied by the Old Testament prophets.

The historic facts, regarding this miraculous happening, are all there, scientist cannot explain, the ‘drought’ of 1800 years, 660,000 days. BUT, the Word of God’ the Bible does, as HE, controls all His weather patterns, He can make a land suffer ‘drought’ as long as He wishes, after all, IT IS *His* land, and what most people just refer to as ‘nature’ hurricans, tsunami, earth quakes, etc, are ALL under His control, as the EARTH, and the fulness thereof are HIS, don’t ever think that Almight God, who Created the Universe, does not know and control, every single Atom, in every thing, for he does.

I’ll share more of this facinating book, and some of the factual details, that once again, resolutely confirm, what I already believe, re the Nation of Israel, and their God given right to their ancient land, after 1800 years of drought, where NO other people could prosper there, because IT WAS barren land, UNTIL, the Jews started returing, as Almighty God promised He would bring them back from their dispersion throughout the nations of the world, and this HE did beginning in the 2oth Century, finally cementing them as a Nation State, on May 15th, 1948.

“Behold, the days are comimg, says the Lord God Almighty…the mountains will DRIP the nectar fruits…I WILL BRING BACK THE CAPTIVES OF MY PEOPLE Israel, and they will rebuild desolute cities and settle them; they will plant vineyards and drink their wine; they will cultivate gardens and eat their fruits. I will plant them upon THEIR LAND and they will NEVER again be uprooted from their LAND that I HAVE GIVEN THEM.” (Amos 9: 13-15) emphasis added.

This prophecy from Amos in the Old Testament, was given over 2000 years before the reality of this promise from Almighty God, became a historic FACT, in 1948, and today, dispite the Arabs continuous onslaught against the Jews and their state of Israel, to wipe them off the face of the earth, Israel, IS the most vibrant, prosporous Nation in the Middle East, the ONLY democratic nation, blossoming exactly as stated in God’s Word, to the vehement HATRED of its Arab neighbours!

One can deny these facts, redicule and hate the Jews, as much as you like, but, you cannot REFUTE the Biblical and historic reality of exactly what Almighty God foretold through His prophets, that has come to pass exactly as His Word, the Bible said!

41. Onlookers:

Ah boy . . .

Gentlemen, kindly remember that this thread should be about the need to help our sister Caribbean nation, Haiti.

On the substantial issue, the quake intensity, the basic Moment magnitude formula [~ modernised Richter, never mind what he technicos will say on hair-splitting details . . . ):

Mw = 2/3 * lg M0 – 10.7

[lg — Log to base ten; the minus 10.7 and 2/3 multiple align this scale with the classic Richter scale, especially for medium mag quakes]

As a result, each step up in the scale contributes ~ 31.6 X in energy.

Thus, the 8.8 Chili quake — a bit less than two steps up — had several hundred to a bit under a thousand times the energy of the Haiti 7.0 quake. Objective fact, based on the analysis of the instrument data.

Moreover, a simple check at the 101 first look — basic due diligence — reference wiki, through an examination of the observed and estimated magnitudes of historical quakes in Chile — part of the notorious Pacific Ring of Fire of major tectonic forces, quakes and brutally explosive volcanoes — shows that quakes well in excess of mag-8 are an unfortunate commonplace across its history. (Wiki has bias problems linked to the secularist, evolutionary materialist, relativist, statist- “liberal” views that dominate its leadership, but is useful for a first look at conventional wisdom, and a point of departure for deeper analysis.)

And while focal depth and distance to urban centres heavily affected are different, it is clear that the Chile quake was a much larger energetic event.

Now also, Chile of course is not an oppressor nation historically, but a former colony of Spain, and which up to a few decades ago was under serious dictatorship. However, it is a more developed country, and has been in recent decades moving to the level of development characteristic of middle of the pack European countries; similar to China.

A major part of that is good governance, including well thought through, well enforced building codes. Conspiracism (as popped up above) notwithstanding, that — multiplied by the obvious “survival of the fittest architecture” environment; given their quake history — is why their buildings seem to have on the whole done better than in Haiti, and it is why the casualties are orders of magnitude lower.

I therefore respectfully suggest we should be seeking to learn from the Chileans [and the Chinese and the Indians — cf here again, from the Auroville Earth Institute], rather than indulging in conspiracism.

Which of course berings up the issue of the need to move to sustainable construciton in Haiti, and across the region.

[Jamaica — officially — has a particularly strong building standard (steel in EVERY block); but I have been hearing of a lot of corner-cutting and cheating by unscrupulous contractors — Kgn was flattened by the 1907 quake, and Port Royal slid inot he sea in 1692. Let us hope that if Kingston comes in for a blow from the Enriquillio Plantain Garden fault, it will by and large perform like Chile . . . ]

I am particularly impressed with three building technologies, as should be well known by now:

a –> The Auroville Auram based compressed, stabilised earth brick, block and tile system, especially their interlocking blocks that have room for rebars. (Notice their technical analysis here. My thought on this is focussed on Haiti, but I think that the low energy adequate strength, low cost featured of this system are applicable across the region and beyond. BTW, half the world builds with earth . . . )

b –> The modernised Bamboo-framed [and wattled] hollow bahareque 2″ meshed concrete buildign system

c –> Moladi’s plastic mould, rapid build reinforced foamed concrete casting system. (For bigger, more particular buildings, I have thought the Hebel type autoclaved aerated concrete modular building member — in effect, artificial, reinforced “coral limestone” — building system is well worth a look.)

Earthquake-proof construction may be an unattainable ideal [for cost if for no other reasons] but earthquake resistant construction is very achievable and feasible.

As the two big quakes in a few weeks [shades of Mt 24!] have shown, quake resistant construction can save a lot of lives. (Of course, Schools of Hope would be a good way to disseminate knowledge and skills for such construction.)

So, as we help Haiti to rebuild, let us work on that premise.

G’day

D

42. David: Sorry, something in the mod pile. D

43. @ Zoe…

With all due respect…..
    You are yet to answer my questions.

44. @Crusoe

Good intervention. They getting ready to blast Haiti again. The apologists at work again trying to find reasons to further condemn Haiti….

but noting that Chile has experienced several earthquakes and that building construction over the years has been to try to resist earthquakes. What are the results?

45. @Technician, “Does the Talmud, Torah, Hebrew Bible, etc, takes away or adds to God’s Word the Bible?”

First, the Torah, the first five books of the Old Testament, Genesis through Deuteronomy, are in Judaism, like Christianity the Word of God, so that the Torah for Jews, does not add or take away from God’s Word.

But, the Talmud, which is a vast collection of writings, thousands of pages, taken from what Jews call, the ‘Oral’ tradition of the ‘Torah’ which I have never read or seen, obviously, as Jesus rebuked the Scribes and Pharisees for in Matthew 15:

“Then the scribes and Pharisees who were from Jerusalem came to Jesus saying. Why do your disciples transgress the ‘Tradition’ of the Elders? For they do not wash their hands when they eat bread.”(Matt. 15:2)

Yes, they were dealing with external ritual, but Jesus gets to the heart of the matter.

“He answered and said to them. ‘Why do you also transgress the commandments of God because of your tradition…Thus have you made the commandments of God of no effect, by your tradition.” (vv. 3, 6b).

The ‘Tradition of the Elders’ refers to the Jewish Oral tradition, taken from such writings as the Talmud, which clearly added to and took away from the Word of God, as written in the Torah, the Hebrew Scriptures.

These oral traditions, were believed by the Pharisses to be equally binding as the Written Law, the Torah, God’s Word.

This adherence to the ‘Oral’ tradition, the Talmud, which flew into the face of God’s Word, Torah, the Commandments, is such a striking parallelism, and analogous to what Roman Catholicism has done with the Word of God, the Bible, by her so-called ‘Sacred Tradition’ which contravene, contradicts, and invalidates the Truth of God’s Word.

Another case in point, as recently posted on BU, is the LDS, Mormons, who have done the same kind of thing, by vitiating the authority of God’s Word, the Bible, with the suprious writings of Joseph Smith et al, the SDA, JWs and many others are also guilty of the same travesty.

46. @All, I am NOT against the Haitian people, not at all, neither am I against the Chilian folks, in their crisis with earth quakes.

But, I can only view this world’s chaotic, crisis ridden problems through the prism of God’s Word, the Bible, without which one cannot make any sense of the rapidity with which the summary of world-wide events, as outlined by Jesus to His disciples in Matthew 24, are staring humanity in ITS FACE.

Hear HIM:

“And you will hear of wars and rumors of wars. See that you are NOT troubled; for ALL these things MUST come to past, but the end is not yet.”

“For nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom. And there will be famines, pestilences, and EARTHQUAKES in various places. All these ARE the beginning of sorrows.” (Matt. 24: 6-8) emphasis added.

The foundation upon which ANY *Nation* is built, IS its spiritual ROCK, who alone IS The Lord Jesus Christ, if HE is NOT that foundation, no matter how much natural resources, etc, a country may have, IF its *spiritual* foundation IS other than the Rock of Ages, Christ, it will be subject to Almighty God’s judgment, one way or the other, this IS Biblical, confirmed througout history, by those who choose NOT to have HIM as their Solid Rock.

Isn’t it interesting that Chile, last census taken in 2002, revealed that 70% of its population over age 14, identified as Roman Catholics, and 15% as Evangelical, Atheism and Agnostics been around 8%, with JWs, LDS, SDA and others making up the balance.

The government gives a priviledge status, naturally to the Catholics, honouring a number of paganistic festivals, to Catholicism’s blatant, false, unscriptural heresies. (Wiki Encyl).

Now, the Word of God, the Bible, is very clear on this:

Laboring and Prospering with the Lord.

“UNLESS the LORD builds the house, (Nation) They labor in VAIN who build it; UNLESS the LORD guards the city, The watchman stays awake in vain.” (Psa. 127: 1) emphasis added.

I understand that this thread is not dealing with ‘spiritual’ matters, re the rebuilding of Haiti, BUT, ‘Unless the Lord BUILDS the house (Nation) They labor in VAIN who…’ Seek to rebuild Haiti!

47. โž€ OMG
    โž OWG
    โž‚ NWO

48. @ Zoe

I would like to suggest something to you, Sir.

At the moment there is a guy by the name of Junior Knight who is walking around the traffic circles (roundabouts) in Barbados, Maybe you and the rest of the “BU trinity” could join with him to redeem all of Barbados!

Actually, at one point I wondered if you were JUNIOR KNIGHT>

49. @ Zoe

**Another case in point, as recently posted on BU, is the LDS, Mormons, who have done the same kind of thing, by vitiating the authority of Godโ€™s Word, the Bible, with the suprious writings of Joseph Smith**
    …………………………………………………..

Actually, Sir, Joseph Smith jr. never added anything to God’s word!
    Hint, hint!

Go see if you can figure that one out!

50. @the hood, I have never heard of any Junior Knight, nor of his exploits at ’roundabouts.’!

I have not being called by the Lord to redeem B’dos, or for that matter any other people; rather, as the Word of God exhorts, ‘Preach the word! Be ready in season (and) out of season. Convince, rebuke, exhort, with all longsuffering and teaching. For the time will come when they will NOT endure sound *doctrine* but according to their own desires, because they have *itching* ears they will heap up for themselves teachers; and they will TURN their ears away from the TRUTH, and be turned aside to fables” (2 Tim. 4: 2-4) emphasis added.

Coupled with Jude, ‘…exhorting you to *contend* earnestly for the faith, which was *once* for ALL delivered to the saints.” (v.3b) When this is faithfully done, it IS the Holy Spirit’s work, not mine, to convict through the preached and taught Word of God, for He is the One, not any man, who can save! anyone!