Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. @Bradley432 re: church wardens

The church warden had a counterpart in the business world up to a few years ago.

There was a store in Broad Street which sold musical instruments, and on Saturday mornings prospective buyers would try out the pianos, organs, guitars and so on, with the permission of the sales persons. I actually bought two organs (the second one was an upgrade – the first was taken back as a trade-in) after being impressed with what I heard at these Saturday morning sessions. I later discovered that some of the players were actually paid to show off the instruments.

However, one morning an older black man, wearing a suit of khaki and a “Cork Hat”, (he was apparently employed by the owners/directors at their home and had not seen this type of thing before) started to berate those playing the instruments: “Wunnah come in hay mashing up de white people things”. He went to the sales persons, who were also black, and insisted that they put an end to this at once.

A lifetime spent in servitude around the plantation had convinced him that the “white people” needed protection from the likes of us black upstarts. This was in the mid– eighties.

2. @ac, at that tender age I had to take my cue from the older people.We were all conditioned to think that this was the norm. Actually when the planter class fled from that church after the black priest came ,so too did the majority of blacks.

3. What about the church organs I was told that in order for them toplay an individual had to go in the back room where the pipes werelocated and pump them manually and in that way the organ would make sound.
    Another instrument that intrigued me was the “MusicalSaw”. I always looked forwarded at the church recital programs to hearing that instrument being played never understood how it was done.
    Remember when as children we would place paper over a hair comb and it would become almost a musical instrument, some of us actually woud play some sort of nursery rhymn or another.

4. ac
    I was about to mention the ‘musical-comb’ but you beat me to it.

I remember going to church as a lil gal and dis ol boy would always get up and play a tune or two on his accordion. Talk bout sweet.

There was a gospel group called the Gospel Comforters, I think. Dem fellas could sing gooddddddddd. The lead singer was a dark, handsome fella, I think his name was Victor. Talk bout cute. And on the guitar was a fat,fat, fat, light-skinned fella. Wonder what ever became of this Victor.
    I would go to church just to see him. Didn’t care much about de other goings-on really. I was but a whippa-snappa den n he was a young man.

Joseph Niles and his band, can’t remember the name now, was a biggggg hit at church concerts or Revivals in de late 60’s too. Then along came Sister Marshall. Still popular today.

5. That would be Joseph Niles & the Consolers

6. If memory serves one of the members of the Consolers was Peter Clarke who unfortunately had to get a leg removed. He was a guitarist.

7. One of the things that I would never forget is the Afro hair style. I saw a lady the other day who has kept her Afro. It was such a pleasing sight.

What came with the Afro was what we called razzy. Today that is replaced with the pants hanging “down low”. LOL.

I remember when the bell bottoms and flair pants were in style. One day, a fellow under the street light started attacking his friend (in jest of course) about his tight pants (which were on the way out). His friend retorted, “you know that you costing your mother extra money for that flair pants? The amount of cloth you got on could make two pants.”

I found this Billy Preston which brought back some good memories. I believe that the Afro gone out because the youngsters of today getting bald early. Wonder why?

8. It’s Saturday, time to relax with some music……..an oldie from Kitch

9. I still have my afro and still use my afro pick although my hair is greying.

Does any one remember the fracas with Bishop Gomez and the Rector of St Andrew about 20 years ago?

I am told of a story where a lady left the flock at St Andrew Parish Church, but when the funeral was held there, Gatherer announced the hymn, “I was a wandering sheep……………”

Sort of like the story I heard of a chap who was chatting foolishness in a meeting. When he sat down, one of the elders announced the hymn ” Dear Lord and Father of Mankind, forgive our foolish ways.”

10. Good one Sargeant but beat this one:

11. And this is for all of us who have “gone way”

12. After watching the last video does anybody eat coconut jelly any more?

There was a time when that jelly save a man belly from touching his back :-).

13. ROK
    My darlin, as much as I love you and you know I do, I ain’t wearing na afrooo a’ tall. Hair too soft bosey. But I could always don a afro wig.
    But the low-waist pants were made with a shorter crotch to accommodate the length. We called them ‘hipsters’.

Yes and Peter Clarke passed away too, I think. He had a beautiful voice. Better than Jo Niles to me.

Sargeant,
    Thanks for the reminder. Could not remember the Consolers for all the tea in China.

ROK
    Can you sing? I would love you to serenade me.

There’s a gentleman with ‘dread-locks’ that sings in the St.Mary’s Church Choir. My Godddddddddd, he can singgggggggggggggggg. He sang at one of my sisters-in-law’s funeral. My Lorddddddddd, he almost killed me too.I plan ta start gine church down day when de Sundee come but for one reason only. (ROK, no need to fear Sweetie) 🙂

14. Well I still have my afro pick too but the hair gone… but what hair greying what? The best Afros was the salt& pepper ones.

I always remember the story of Tank and the fellow that came school with an Afro. Tank’s famous words were, “If you want to have an Afro you have to cut it.” Lol!

15. Bonny

The “down low” pants I talking about ain’t got no short crouch. The crouch does be down to their knees.

I can’t sing to save my life… but I would sing for you too. My song would be oooonnlyyyyyyyy youuuuuuuuu, can make my dreams come trueeeeeee.

Well, I would croak it then. LOL!

16. Bonny, I know the Rastaman you talking about. He sing with some others like David “Bumpy” Jordan. Is it a quartet? or a quintet… lol! A tall greying, clear shinned Rasta.

17. Sargeant,
    Not familiar with this one “Coconut Jelly” at all. First time hearing it.

‘Pan in minor’ is a classic. No maybes.

Dr.Porgie,
    Don’t think that spat was ever resolved with those two ‘men a de cloth’. Amazing how their ‘brotherly-love’ was demonstrated for all to see.

I would still love to see your ‘fro’, be it grey or black.

‘Dear Lord and Father of mankind…….’
    Dat is a classic. Luv um.

Sarge, please source ‘Bendwood dick’ for ma pleezzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

18. ROK
    Oh my Godddddddddd, you just brang a tear to my eyes. You would sing dat for me fa tru? Awwwwwwwwwwwww, I’m gettin so emotionallllllllllllllllllllllll.
    You’ve made my day complete.
    No one’s perfect, so if your ONLY flaw is that you can’t sing, then croak on hon.Why it’ll be de best croakkkkkk I’ve ever hearddddddddd.

BAFBFP, this is what I call ‘lovin unconditional’. Tek dah. Mawnin sweets.

“If you want to have an afro, you have to cut it”.
    Tank, whoever he is, was a real serious fella. Doan mek sport,’ ya have to cut um first, starboy”. murdaaaaaaaaaaa. Dah bad.

ROK
    I don’t know if it is a ‘quartet, quintet or quadruplet. All I know is that this fella cud singggggggggggg man.
    I would like he ta sing ‘Ava Maria” when WE comin down de isle/aisle. Or betta yet, when WE signing de book. How a sound? Dah cud work?

19. @ac , I can tell you a story of the church organ that you had to pump. At that particular church it was easier to sit in the large window behind the organ, out of sight of most ,and pump the organ with your feet,one on either side of this long bar. One day this fellow took me to that church to pump the organ as he wanted some practice on the organ. There was a ball on a piece of cord that went up and down indicating the air stored in the system,and allowing you a bit of a breather.When it was down , you could relax until it rose to the top. So being a smart fellow , I decided to stop pumping and hold on tight to the ball and keep it down. Next thing I knew that fellow came behind,as the organ ran out of air,and stop playing, and there was me with the indicator ball and string, popped off in my hand. That’s the last time he took me with him. He did end up an organist at one of the St Michael Churches.

20. @BP re If you want to have an afro, you have to cut it”.
    Tank, whoever he is, was a real serious fella.

You never hear about Tank? He was a former Maths teacher and then the first coloured man to be Head Master at HC from 1965 until ???.

His utterances are legendary- usually prefaced by “Please and ending with please!”

e.g “Please if you want to have an afro, you will have to cut it please”.

Once at prayers he made one of his most profound and memorable sayings……and yes he was quite serious….very serious.

” It has been brought to my attention, that some of you buys have been getting off stationary buses while they are still in motion. Please this will have to stop please!”

This was as a result of a report that the lads were hopping off buses while they were slowing down.

Despite his eccentricities, i his tenure HC became filled with lovely gardens, and music begun to be taught seriously. Some good local musicians have evolved from the music program he designed with Peter Billington, Doris Provencal, Cynthia Austin and Janice Millington plus members of the RBPBand.

Once a lad complained that his lunch had been stolen, so Tank sent him to the secretary, Mrs Hinds for whipped cream and milk.

The next day, another lad decided to try his luck.

Tank is alleged to have declared “Mrs Hinds please give him a dose of salts please!”

21. Heard the older folk spoke of this one.
    This guy was courting this woman, and decided to get married.On the way up to the altar he kept hearing this ,Bup..Bop..Bup..Bop sound ,and he asked his intended what that sound was.”Dah is mah wood foot, I only got one leg, and ya too late now.”
    Dah cahn happen to any Bajan man these days.

22. Dr.Porgie
    Tank was a real character. He is probably dead by now but his memories still live on.
    “Mrs. Hinds, please give him a dose of salts please”.
    Dah badddddddddd, ya got ma cryinnn.
    Guess we could say, ‘Tank you Tank.
    murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

Bradley432
    A wonda wah happen when she get home n tek out she glass-eye, she false-teet n she wig?
    Murdahhhhhhhh in de dance-hall.

23. GP

How about the priest at Carew’s funeral? The story goes that after his house had been swept out to sea and Carew drowned, the priest started the homily by saying something along the lines of “some men build their houses on rocks others build their’s on sand’…….. ..etc.

24. Tank still alive and driving. He was playing tennis up to a couple years back.

He left HC around 81 or 82.

25. ROK mentioned afo, bell bottom pants earlier.

For those who have forgotten the look have a look at the video 🙂

There are platform shoes, plaid pants and the lot.

Seems many of the sisters use to carry the hair style as well.

26. Sargeant
    Carew lived in a house close to the sea shore at Weston near the Fire Station.

In a storm in 1995 that area was flooded because of mismanagement of the gully which mormally exits in this area. (This is a poit worthy of debate in itself.)

It is alleged that Carew had his money hid in an unatteached Solar water heater on his house that he had won. While trying to retrieve such a surge of water took his wooden house out to sea with Carew perched on top, when last seen alive.

Some say that he could next not swim. He was next seen at the Coast Yard Headquarters down the Perhead where he was certified dead.

There was a lot of flack when the recently departed Mr Cuke of the Abundant choose what was indeed the only text in the Bible suitable in the context of the man’s death.

Bible illiterates thougfht that Cuke was insensitive to Carew, but funerals are not for the dead ; but for the living.S on my view I sided with Cuke then, and I still do. And I dont care what anyone says.

I remember listening to his sermmon on the radio, and thought that it was both hermeneutically and homeletically sound.

Sis text was the best one in the circumstances, and he preached the gospel to those present whose lives were definitily built on the sifting sands of circumstances, inter alia.

27. Sargeant
    I think that that sermon was inappropriate and insensitive on that occasion
    There is a time n place for everything under God’s sun.
    Oft times, it is not what is said but when, where and how it is said.

Your back-in-time Soul Trainnnnnnnn had me cryinggggg. De fellas had me crying. Dancing n kicking dem foot high, high, high. Like they wanted to kick the camera-man.
    I was on de ground froffinnnnnn.
    I can’t believe that is how we dressed. De fellas had on moe plaid n checkered pants than ‘John read ’bout’.
    And de afros, Lord mek peaceeeeeeee.

Oh what a night, what a nightttttttt.

28. @Bradley432
    I still laughing at yuh storyha————
    Can’t ever remember using a church restroom back then either.The only thing I know for sure is going outside next to a grave in the back of the church and doing me peeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
    I remember the old folks doing likewise.
    Guess nobody worry about washing hands after such an event.

Did any one ever play hookie from school. One day I play hookie ,went to my friends house . but made the mistake of going ouside to play .Guess what my aunt drove by in the bus saw me and told my mother.I never did that again too many licks. Ouch——–

29. @Ceorgie Porgie.

I agree with you on the sermon for Carew funeral. Even in today society where so many kids are shooting each other . The sermon should be one of message sent to the parents i.e”Train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old he would not depart from it

By the way have any of you read the Blog on comprehensive immigration policy. Check

30. Come on yuh all .Don’t forget to tell smoe of the naughty (bad) things you did to get you in trouble , and the kind of puishment you got . Make me laugh.

31. Anyone remembered Lindy, a master guitar player. As a plectrum, he used a drinking glass, a rum bottle anything.He could play the guitar above his head or behind his back. But he liked his liquor a bit too much.

32. A cure for the hooping Cough in the old days was to tie a piece of red cloth around the persons neck.

33. ac
    Perhaps you don’t know the story behind Carew’s drowning or you too would understand how insensitive the text was.
    The drowning was most unfortunate and emotions were running high at the time. Then to go to the funeral and hear of the ‘foolish man building his house on the sand’ was most insensitive.
    This is why some persons distance themselves from these so-called christians because they are some of the most badminded, selfish, snobbish human beings to walk the face of the earth. The complete opposite of what Christ stands for.
    I was hungry and you didn’t feed me, I was naked and you didn’t clothe me, i was sick and you didn’t visit me.
    Many of them are guilty of these practises. Gimme a break do.

Anyway, on the comical side, I was cooking dolly-food under de cellar one day and almost burn down our home.
    I get lashes, licks, kicks, cuffs, n bites from my mother.
    I couldn’t sit on my ass for a whole week man. Talk ’bout sore.
    Phewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

34. Bradley432
    I didn’t know Lindy but Eric ‘Fingers’ Alleyne was my neighbour when I was a girl. He liked me as a child and he would always whistle a tune for me. Was really sad when he passed.

And for asthma, they said to stand next to a paw-paw tree and mark off your height on the tree and as the tree grow, your asthma was supposed to go away.
    A bare myth Bradley. Dah is all.

35. @ BP – re: “Fingers” Alleyne

Did he live in Wavell Ave? I played in a band with him sometime in the late sixties. Heard him a few days ago on Q-FM singing “Lost Without You” as a member of the Troubadours.
    How did he die?

36. @Bonny Peppa.
    Some messages can have double meaning and the way in which it is deliverd can affect a person thinking differently as per this conversation e.g Bradley YOU , and myself.
    Speakng for myself in that sermon I would have seen it as a guidance to avoid similar pitfalls of live but not necessarily pertaining to where I build a home but to how I build or conduct mylife.

Nuf respect to you anyhow It is conversations like these that gives life much clarity.

One day my mother told me I was not to go out of the house when she went shopping, but did I listenNo————
    The night while I was sleeping I thought I was dreaming but instead there she was with tamarind stick .licks fuh days.Never did that again.

Does any one remember the old retired teachers .I remember when I was a tiny tot even before i went to school going to their home for private lesson I think my mother paid 25cents per lesson

37. Bonny Peppa

I do know about Carew’s death. Also I certified him to be dead at Fort Willoughby.

Rev Cuke had every right to choose the text he did, because it was the only or most appropriate text that he could use in the circumstance.

No other Biblical text suited the occasion more appropriately. There is no other text in the Bible that speaks to building one’s house on the sand.

Cuke’s sermon was thus both hermeneutically and homilectically sound. He spoke to the moment, and he addressed the fact that Bajans are generally building thier lives not on the ROCK OF AGES OR THE CHIEF CORNER STONE OR THE STONE THAT THE BUILDER REFUSED OR THE STONE MADE WITHOUT HANDS THAT YOU DONT WANT TO FALL ON YOU but Bajans are buildng their lives on the sands of materialism, and every other ism.

Proper preachers like Whitfield, Spurgeon, Moody, Billy Sunday, Billy Graham etc preached in like manner. They preached the BIble. They preached the Gospel and the messages that God laid on their hearts, as a proper preacher should….and as Cuke did that day.

Preachers dont have to be POLITICALLY CORRECT or please the general public. Their job is to preach the WORD, in season and out of season. They are to exhort, reprove etc. A good preacher does not preach to please his audience.

That is what is wrong with the world today, We have to be politically correct. We must not be insensitive. There are no longer absolutes. No longer right and wrong, or black and white (except when you are talking race.) Every thing is grey. Eveyone sits on the fence, fearing whom they will displease.

That is what is wrong with the church today and the world at large. We live in a world that has lost its standards and principles. Where mediocrity is prized. And every one is free to do what they like, say what they like– once it does not displease you.

When boys get flogged for coming school late is it is cause for an uproar. Getting licks for getting to school late was routine in my days at school.

Children dress as they like. PSV drivers do as they like. Police are now being locked up. Because no one has any standards. And it is insensitive to speak to them and correct them. It was insensitive for Cuke to tell Bajans to build on Christ, the ROCK!

The day Cuke preached, so called celebrities in this islandshowed bad behavior and walked out the church, rather than recieve the word as it was taught as is the avice and requirment of i Thes chapter 2.

What does the paable Jesus taught meant? Did it speak to literal sand and rock or was Jesus speaking of something else on a higher plane?

Did Cuke rightly divide the Word or not? That was the point. And I thought he did, based on my Theological training.

I applaud men who preach the world and tell it like it is, with out fear of reprisals. After all preachers have to answer to God not to the populace.

38. BP vs GP

Let de games begin.

Tah be honest I t’ought de sermon was preached by The Rt Hon Apostle Dr Holmes Williams. I ain’ nah Christian but Williams to my mind is de mos’ relevant and clear of all preachers in B’bados, judging from de few sermons dah I hear. What I hear dah day was crystal clear, but I got tah agree, the selection ah de topic showed a lack of insensitivity tah the friends an’ relatives of de deceased…!

39. BAFBFP

I have to agree with you but at the same time if you want to consider suitability, it is not what you say but how you say it.

Just in order to teach a lesson, you would be so insensitive as to leave people with the impression that Carew build his house on sand is nothing short of usury. Downright dishonest because I am fairly sure that the man did not build his house on sand. Typically like any chattel house anywhere, the house is built on rocks but usually, there is no attempt to pin the house to the stone or the stones into the earth.

If Carew’s house was anywhere else or any chattel house similarly built and the same rush of waters had happened the house would have floated away in the same manner; in terms of construction code.

But typical as we are to sensationalise… because the man built his house near the beach, you say he built it on sand just to hammer home a lesson and don’t care that you hurt relatives and leave others with the impression that Carew was an ignorant man. As apt as the text was, that part was totally wrong.

Had the preacher first acknowledged the truth and then went on to say that the incident may be a lesson in disguise, I think the appropriateness of the text would have been more appreciated.

I do not know why these preachers think they have to make people feel guilty. I think the goal should be to open peoples eyes and consciousness and when you have to resort to techniques that impart guilt, shame and stigma in order to convey spiritual lessons, not only are you doing it wrong but it is a sign of the lack of creativity and oratorical skill. It is also a lack of consciousness. Like the blind leading the blind.

40. GP says…

..’In a storm in 1995 that area was flooded because of mismanagement of the gully which normally exits in this area. (This is a point worthy of debate in itself.)

So true but aren’t you being politically correct here?
    Mismanagement of a gully?
    All now somebody should be in prison.

41. Dr.Porgie
    I am talking about the appropriateness of the ‘foolish man building on sand’ text.
    And because we all know that Carew was a simple (not being derogatory) sorta fella,persons were offended by such.
    Tell me something, couldn’t he have preached on the flood in Noah’s Ark time?
    Couldn’t that have been used to ‘drive home a message’ too, knowing that Carew’s mishap was due to a flash-flooding?
    Preachers cannot afford to be this callous, cold and insensitive. After all, they’re supposedly patterning themselves to be Christ-like. True or true?

BAFBFP
    Ya instigata. You in gun change? Like um or not we nearing de 1000….bramm. Tek dah, bram, bram.

Anonymous,
    Yes, Eric “Fingers” Alleyne lived in Wavell Ave. with his mother and a niece Vicki. His mother had a lil shop in her house. Sold biscuits, drinks, sweets etc.
    He was a very slim fella and he was a heavy smoker. I was but a whippa-snappa when he passed. He liked to whistle. I had long plaits and he would always pull them. Not too hard, just playful.
    I heard mention of him on Q-FM last week too and it jogged my memory.
    He was a very cool fella.
    I also grew up with Prince Cave Jr. when they lived in Seclusion Gdns. His father was a real gentleman, hear?

Lashes worked then and continue to work now as far as I”m concerned. I’m not talking child abuse. I was lashed as a child, I lashed my children and lash my grans now if need be. I have little or no patience when dealing with children. They know how to manipulate. Betta believe it.

ROK
    mawnin dawlink. talking ’bout lashes, I have some good ‘licks’ fa you. When ya want dem?

42. Dr.Porgie
    One of my brothers, a member of the Coast Guard, helped to retrieve the body too. When I heard of the condition his body was in, I cried like a baby. My family had a good laugh at me. I get all emotional n sad when I see others in pain or hurting. Don’t have to be related. Just my way. I’m trying hard to change it.

43. Technician
    I think it was something to do with one of these construction companies either removing or placing boulders in the path of the water course, hence the flash-flooding in Weston. I visited the aftermath and was horrified at the destruction.I saw a boulder as big as Barbados resting comfortably in someone’s house. Lord, have mercy.
    Carew’s death was a result of the price of progress.
    Was Sandy Lane golf-course that ‘progress’? Can’t remember.

44. @ Bonny…
    it is more like negligence … but s GP says…that’s a topic for another day.

45. GP

Thanks for the interpretation of the sermon which was preached was preached at Carew’s funeral. I had been away from Barbados for some time prior to the event (one visit in 18 years) and only heard about the homily as it related to the disrespect shown to the deceased. What I’ve gathered from the responses here and from other sources is that Carew lived in his home for several years without a problem when suddenly as a result of a significant rainfall his home was swept away and he lost his life. A contributing factor to the incident was the work being done at a nearby development which caused an excessive amount of water to be delivered in large torrents and which carried several large boulders to the area to the detriment of Carew’s home.

There is a history in Barbados of “important” organisations or people committing acts contrary to good public order and escaping justice or censure. In this situation there were ostensibly people or organizations who made errors and were responsible if not criminally at least civilly and who were unlikely to face any tribunal. People knew if “X” didn’t do this then “Y” would not have followed and Carew would still be alive. Thus when the Priest made his statement it was seen as a “piling on” on a poor man without any condemnation of the guilty.

While the good Reverend may have been on a good spiritual foundation, in my opinion he was not on a strong moral foundation.

Context is everything.

46. @GP

There is merit in both sides of the Carew Cuke debate BUT we have to agree with those who suggest that education gives us the opportunity to communicate in appropriate/relevant ways. Any way GP it looks like Cuke has had him problems. Article posted below without prejudice.

Pastor William Cuke is now back into the light after overcoming a period of clinical depression.

By MELISSA WICKHAM

“I DIDN’T even want to pray or read The Bible.”

This isn’t the confession of a back-slidden Christian or heathen, but of a respected and seasoned Christian minister, who founded one of Barbados’ most popular churches.

Reverend William Cuke was speaking candidly to the SUNDAY SUN last week about one of the darkest periods in his life – when for eight years he lived in a terrifying cavern of clinical depression.

When the 65-year-old founder of Abundant Life Assembly (ALA), one of the biggest churches on the island, hit rock-bottom mentally and spiritually, people wondered how a devoted man of God falls into depression?

Today, Cuke, back to his sprightly self, offers an explanation:

“We’re human and God doesn’t promise that we wouldn’t go through these things. I think we have the wrong concept that because you’re a pastor or a Christian serving God, certain things shouldn’t happen to you; but we’re all human,” he said from his office at the Bank Hall, St Michael church where he has relinquished his role as senior pastor.

Dark world

The once out-going, persuasive and even-tempered pastor – most well known for his controversial ‘foolish-man-built-his-house-upon-the-sand sermon’ at the funeral service of the late calypsonian De Great Carew back in August, 1995 – slipped into a dark, lonely world where he would be set on edge by the incessant ringing of a phone.

As far as he can recall, he realised a change in his behaviour from November 1997.

His zeal for his church and flock waned to the point where he thought church had become too crowded and he lost most, if not all interest in church-related activities.

He also found some of his pastoral duties like counselling “a nuisance”. To compound matters, Cuke felt an overwhelming sense of guilt for feeling this way. But no matter how hard he tried to reverse these feelings, he just could not. In addition, he realised he was constantly tired and lacked concentration.

“I would read a book and at the end of the day couldn’t even remember what I read,” he said.

“It really came to a head when I was unable to sleep and stayed awake at night worrying about all sorts of unnecessary things. I wondered if I would lose my mind. I even pictured myself looking through the railings at the Psychiatric Hospital at Black Rock watching the world go by,” he added.

Out of frustration, he paid a visit to his family doctor who ran a series of tests and X-rays but found nothing physically wrong with him. The only conclusion he reached was that the goodly reverend was suffering from depression.

On his doctor’s advice, Cuke decided to take a three-month sabbatical. He made the announcement to the church board and they agreed a break would probably do him some good.

He and his wife Joy headed to England hoping some rest and relaxation would be the answer to his problems.

However, instead of getting better, he got worse.

Cuke returned home and got a second opinion from another doctor who ran more tests. Again, they found nothing physically wrong with the pastor.

This time, however, the doctor found out he was suffering from clinical depression – a more serious form of depression. He travelled to Philadelphia in the United States to see a Christian psychologist for counselling and therapy. They did some tests and concluded that he had a chemical imbalance in his brain which was the cause of his depression.

“I was put on a well known medication for such conditions which I believe has since been withdrawn from the American market because of some negative results. The doctor said the medication would ‘kick in’ in two weeks but each day I got worse.”

Soon paranoia started to manifest. The first incident occurred one Sunday morning whilst attending a church service in Philadelphia.

I was sitting [in the pews] and I looked up as the choir was about to sing and saw some of the choir members looking at me as if they were saying to themselves: ‘There he is’. I was paranoid and I didn’t know what to do about it.

“On a different occasion, my wife Joy and I were on the front lawn outside of the house where we were staying. She went around to the side to check on something, and when I looked around for her it seemed she had vanished. I panicked and cried out for her. She came running and asked me what happened and I told her I didn’t know, I just thought she disappeared. It was weird and frightening. I felt helpless and was sure I was going out of my mind.

“A couple days later, I was due to see the psychiatrist for my usual weekly appointment but didn’t want to go. I sat in a chair and wouldn’t budge. I said to myself: ‘I will sit here ’til I die,’” he recounted.

Not long after that episode, Cuke was admitted to the Philadelphia Psychiatric Hospital – his worst fear had come true. He ended up spending 10 to 12 days there.

“Those days in the [psychiatric] hospital were a bit hazy in my mind. It wasn’t until the seventh or eighth day that I asked myself: ‘What am I doing in this place?’ That was the beginning of my recovery. I was even able to sign myself out of hospital,” he said.

Praying for Cuke

Little did Cuke know that around that time, thousands of miles back in Barbados, an entire congregation was praying for his recovery. However, others were convinced that he had “demons” which needed exorcising, and they didn’t hesitate to let Cuke or his wife know this.

After a few weeks of observation he and Joy returned to Barbados on November 30, 1998. He was far from out of the woods, but he did feel much better, and for a while, things started to return to normal; he started feeling like his old self again and even decided to gradually resumed his pastoral duties. But it was short lived.

In late March 1999, he started slipping back into that familiar black hole and “my life became an emotional ‘yo-yo’ until November 2005” when he eventually came out of it.

The healing process didn’t happen overnight, it was more of a gradual process and today – a year and six months down the road – Cuke believes he is completely healed.

The entire ordeal was all a bit too much for even a pastor and at one point, he wondered what unpardonable sin he could have committed to warrant such a tribulation.

“I knew I hadn’t [committed such a sin] but that is how I felt. I wondered, where is God in all of this? It was like a lonely dark tunnel. I didn’t even want to read my Bible, I couldn’t pray. My wife and friends did it for me.

“If you ask me what was responsible for my recovery, I can’t say it was any one particular thing. I can’t say it was my faith or my spiritual strength. It certainly wasn’t the medication because that didn’t work and after a while I stopped taking it. But there are three things I’ve always said had a lot to do with it: God’s grace, people praying for me and a faithful and godly wife,” said Cuke who has been an ordained minister for the past 40 years and has always been with the ALA, now in its 27th year.

Although he is back at work, he’s only there to offer any assistance he can provide. His first time back at the pulpit was Father’s Day last year when he shared his testimony with the entire congregation.

“I never thought I would be back on the platform preaching again. It is just like eight years have passed me by. I know God deeper now; the scriptures have come alive in a way I had not known in the past. I believe my greatest years are ahead of me,” said Cuke.

WHAT IS CLINICAL DEPRESSION?

Clinical depression (also called major depressive disorder, or unipolar depression when compared to bipolar disorder) is a state of intense sadness, melancholia or despair that has advanced to the point of being disruptive to an individual’s social functioning and or activities of daily living.

Although a low mood or state of dejection that does not affect functioning is often colloquially referred to as depression, clinical depression is a clinical diagnosis and may be different from the everyday meaning of “being depressed”.

Clinical depression is generally acknowledged to be more serious than normal depressed feelings. It often leads to constant negative thinking and sometimes substance abuse. Extreme depression can culminate in its sufferers attempting or committing suicide.

Prevalence

Clinical depression affects about seven per cent to 18 per cent of the population on at least one occasion in their lives, before the age of 40.

About twice as many females as males report or receive treatment for clinical depression, due to stress and adversity, though this imbalance is shrinking over the course of recent history; this difference seems to completely disappear after the age of 50–55. Sourced from Wikipedia.com

melissawickham@nationnews.com

47. @David

If I was a good Christian I would be tempted to say that Pastor Cuke paid dearly for that sermon.

48. My Mudda use tah work at Sohalies in de fifties so yah know she be a High Brown… and all de people dat she call dat work wid she back den, all de people dat I grow up callin’ auntie, all when I tink ’bout it in de same catagory a’ Brown. Incidentally my Fadah also work on Broad Street, Cave Shepherd and according tah he yah had to be Brown tah stick aroun’…! My God dey din have nah Black people wukin’ pun Broad Street. I come out Black… ca dear, somebody mussa step out! HA HA HA

@ Bradley
    About dah Captain ah Industry.. wah happen man.. you ain’ tekkin’ me on..?

ROK

You are a call in personality now.. do you know that when Carew was begging fah help a man call into Fada Andrew Hatch on Brass Tacks trying tah draw de idiots attention that a man was out tah sea on a chattle house and needed assistance. You would believe dat Hatch proceded tah force a discourse on some Chattle house development by some expatriat dat look so nice along de West Coast and refuse tah tek de man on..? My God…! Carew come back an’ mek Cuke shite, he should come back fah Hatch too..!

I serious. I ani’t shopping by you or anybody who get involved in dis Christmas advertisin’ in November. Wanna dilutin’ Christmas and I ain’ even Christian… Wah you say Georgie..?

49. Discovery bay hotel was built on a swamp.
    Some of the houses in Jamestown park were built on “sand” in 1980 using modified raft foundations.They are still standing.

The Biblical reference to building on sand should not be taken literally.