Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. Just a short note to let all my friends n comrades know:
    I am out of commission. My ADSL is down. Here by a friend asking a favour to use his computer. Hope he doesn’t want a ‘favour’ in return.
    I bring along one of my sons though, just in case. Just kidding.

Hope to be up n running soon.

Bye to all for now.

2. Just a short note to let all my friends n comrades know:
    My ADSL isn’t working so I am out of commission. Don’t know for how long.
    I am here by a friend asking a favour to use his computer. I gone before he want a ‘favour’ in return. Just kidding.

Hope to be up n running soon.

Bye to all of you for now.

Mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

3. Sorry about the duplicate.

Mussy nervous.

4. Recently a Prime Minister in Ba’bados refer to Parliamentarians as “Wild Boys”
    … well lemmah tell ya, dey had some serious wild boys ‘roun St Giles School. I remembah on my firs’ day at school a teacher try tah stop two ah dem from fighting and one turn roun’ wid a rock in he hand an tell de teacher dah dey don’ stop till see blood..! Praise de lard dey din nah guns back den.

5. Bonny ADSL ain’ wukkin so all wanna ol’ men dat like lil titilation gun have tah wait fah a couple days… BUSH TEAT…?

6. @ ROK

Songwriter for “Loving Arms”.

7. @ ROK

Songwriter for “Loving Arms”:

http://www.tomjans.com/TJ-disc.htm

8. Of course you are right about the URT viruses.

You are also correct about the discovery of VOD in Jamaica at UWI by Prof Bras. Put the UWI in the text books.

I think we used the same senecia species in Bdos to make bush tea, but this was discontinued when the research came out.

All bush tea aint good! LOL

I had him for external examiner in my oral Pathology exam. I was a bit overwhelmed when the men handed me a pot with a liver. LOL

9. Now that xmas is coming I am reminded of seeing the rolls of linoleum outside the stores in swan street.I can still remember the smell of it on xmas eve night after it was evenly placed on the floor.

10. @ac…

For me, Xmas had a smell. When I couldn’t ‘smell Xmas anymore was when I gave up on it.

11. Praise de Lard dis t’reas come to a’ end. Fah a moment I thought dat it was goin’ tah pass de record number ah comments…! No dat privilege should be left to a subject dat carries a bit more wieght dan jus’ ol’ talk.

12. the internet crash and mash up bonny’s
    love life

Just Like A River
    http://555dubstreet.wordpress.com/2009/11/19/just-like-a-river-2/

13. @Technician

Interesting comment.Question ? What kinda yuh smell ou had .I hope i wasn’t coming from your pants. POOP————————

@
    BAFBFP

What is your hurry to end the thread
    Question? Are you jealous

14. @Technician.

Interesting comment.Question? What kinda smell you had I hope it wasn’t coming from your pants.Enough reason to give up on Xmas Poop———————-

15. @ac

Technician is right. There was a special smell around Christmas time. I think it was from some type of plants or flowers that bloom at that time. I notice it is not there anymore. Too much destruction of the environment to grow concrete. The sea also had a smell around Christmas.

16. BONNY IS BACK.

BAFBFP
    Ya gangsta.
    Every village had its share a ‘wild-boys’. And dese wild-boys would do evryting imaginable; gine ta de sea widout permission, lickin down fowls, setting fly-sticks, ‘troublin’ sheeps an even ‘cock-nuckin’. A wonda wah dah is.
    BAFBFP, you cud help me? Wah is ‘cock-nuckin’? Ya demon

you fancying up de name man. We use ta call it congolium not linoleum. Now it is called vinyl, if ya please. Then we had the ‘oil-skin’ to cover de table. I tink dat is wah it did name.

Kiki
    It will take more than de internet crash ta ‘mash-up’ me n my boo ROK.
    Post dis tune fa me Selecta to you know who: “That’s how strong my love is’ sung by Judy Mowat.

Technician
    You correct. Christmas had a different feeling altogether. It is still so for me. I wouldn’t trade Christmas for any other day. I just love de season man. I smile from Dec. 1st thru to 31st. I serious.

Pat
    De flower/plant is ‘lady in de night’ or snow-on-de-mountain.
    Pat you like Christmas too? I am like a child with a new toy when it comes to Christmas man.

Bradley432,
    Wah happen? I in seeing nutton recently.

17. Bonny you fuget ponsettia.

18. @ ac…

I really can’t explain but all I know, is that it smelled different. As Pat said, maybe it was the plants in bloom, especially the snow on the mountain or maybe it was the brand new linoleum…who knows…it just had a fresh (so much for the poop theory) smell about it. Funny thing….every time I smell gramoxone, that too reminds me of Xmas…weird huh?

19. @Bonny Peppa

Glad to huv yuh buk .Rok can sleep at nit now and stop de worrying fuh yuh.

@technician just had to add a little humour on the thread since BP was out of commission for a while .Nothing personnel.

I have “The lady of the night plant and around Xmas time the smell is very strong inside and outside my home.

I for got the name was congoleum. I had many beautiful patterns. Don’t forget the smell of the paint and the o’cedar oil.

How about the music .Some of the Xmas music of today is much different tempo wise

20. @ac….

It’s all good…congoleum..lmao!! just couldn’t remember that name.
    Iremember you had to line the floor with newspaper first then put it down..lol.
    The one Xmas song that stuck in my head for lots of reasons is Xmas Time by The Merry Men. It went something like ……I’ve got that old feeling, of something in the air. It’s Xmas time again throughout the land. Although there is no snow or sleigh bells to be heard, this feeling is oh so grand…..
    Oh …when Xmas had a smell. I really miss those days!

21. @ BP

That congoleum, aka linoleum, is now known as “cushion floor”. I have it in my kitchen and bathrooms. It is 26 years old and still shining like new. The pattern I have is called terracotta. It beautiful. If I could find the same pattern I would install it again as it would blend with my decor, especially the wood floors.

Neighbours have installed ceramic tiles but in this cold country you have to put radiant heating underneath so as not to freeze the pinkies in winter. Then, it is very hard on the feet walking on tiles, so that is not an option for me. Maybe I will try laminate or engineered wood, or even cork!

22. “cock-nuckin” or cock fighting is two fellas each tekin’ a section ah mahogany pod (de tree would drop pods that would break in four) and pulling the hooked ends against each other until one broke. Of course dey might have been another type ah cock-nuckin …. …. dat involved roosters Bonny… wha de hell was you t’inkin’?

Snow-on-de-mountain smell like stale pis…!

Christmas smell like new paint..!

23. @ac…

Found this just for you…

24. @Technician
    Awwwww——never heard it before but love it .So nice of you.

I remember the closness of family and strangers getting to together. I can not forget having to go to midnight mass on xmas eve night after along day of helping to scrub the floor and change the window curtains .The newness of the material had a special smell also.

25. I remember the closness of family and strangers getting to together. I can not forget having to go to midnight mass on xmas eve night after along day of helping to scrub the floor and change the window curtains .The newness of the material had a special smell also.

@ac….
    My sentiments exactly!!
    Dont forget the bringing of marl and white-washing of the stones to line the garden. Couldnt wait for church to finish to get home and lick the mixing bowl.
    Remember a drink called a coconut cooler?
    The drying of sorrel?
    Oh … to have those days again… *sigh*.

26. If There Is A Hell Below, Were All Going To Go

27. Back Down Memory Lane by Minnie
    Riperton

The Gems Happy New Love

Inside my love

28. @technician
    The skin of the sorrel would itch my hand when I removed the seed inside but that didn’t bother me much because I was too excited having Xmas and all that good good food.
    I also remember Dunks being plentiful that time of the year and I love them
    My favourite drinks were Koola Tonic and falernum.Yummmm

29. @ ac
    You talk about falernum.

I had an aunt who would line my brother and I and her grandson to give us a swig of falernum.

My brother was her favorite, so he always got his first.

Once she had lard oil from the shop in a falernum bottle, and she tek up de wrong bottle, and the poor lad had a swig of lard oil.

Re Midnight mass.
    We went to mid night mass for Old Years, but om Christmas morning we went to 5 o clock service, because those were the services for which the choir “robed.”

At Ch Ch Parish Ch in those days (when A I Johnson was rector) we always started with # 55 Christians awake, salute the happy morn.

On such occasions my mother would have my sirplice washed “lilly white” and starched stiff!

I would be willing to fight if any man touched my sirplice man!

30. @GP
    Xmas also had a special feelingto me.It felt as if the whole world was enjoying Xmas.
    I also remember all those green peas i shelled and making sure that every grain of rice wasgood before cooking it
    The Xmas hymn preferably at St.Paul’s Ch. was “hark the hearld angels sing”

31. A few years ago, a Canadian client asked me if I knew what corn and oil was.

I told him rum and falernum and that I would get some for him.

He found out about it from a neighbour who used to be a merchant seaman and Barbados was one of his ports of call.

I give him a few bottles which he and his neighbour enjoy during the summer barbeque sessions.

Falernum is sold in West Indian food stores in Toronto.

32. @David

I notice a new system that wipe out all the previous subscriptions. Is that correct?

33. @ROK

What system are you referring?
    No change made at our end, please elaborate.

34. @Rok
    What happen to Bonny Peppa? Did the both of you eloped.

Iwant to say merry Xmas to everyone who contributed to the blog.

For me I”ll close shop and turn the lights out.

Love you BARBADOS.

35. @David

It may be my location. I am receiving the post in a different looking format. Lost all my subscriptions too.

36. @ac

Well Bonny is not with me so if she eloped she either eloped by herself or with somebody else. lol. Maybe Bonny is going through some personal issues.

37. ROK
    How do you mend a broken heart? Mine is shattered. I’m not lol.

I’m having major problems with this ADSL. But hopefully it will soon be back in peak condition.

Thanks for the selection Kiki. Hope ROK

38. Thanks for the selection Kiki. Hope ROK was listening.

My favourite Christmas carol is ‘Oh come all ye faithful. And my favourite Christmas song is “An old Christmas card” by Jim Reeves. It brings a tear to my eye everytime.

ROK
    Love you Honeyyyyyyyyyy.

39. BAFBFP
    My ‘cock-nuckin’ in got a ting ta do wid na mahogany pods nor roosters. Is mo ta do wid two nawty lil boys. Ya demon.

Bradley432
    You rememba ‘mod watches’? If ya din had on one a dem, ya din fully dress. Dem watches use ta tek up ya whole wrist.
    Murtherrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

40. Bradley432
    You rememba de ‘fancy-basket’ woman?

We ever had penny-fathin (sp) bicycles bout hay?

41. Dat man Hatch who sum people called Fadda Hatch, a forma host of de morning call-in program, Down tuh Brass Taks, was a turn off to me and many mo. Fuh sumone dat profess to be a man of the cloth he came across ruthless pun de radio. Most of what he did and did well, de sarcasm, was to get on the radio program and criticized but offered no solution. So much fuh dat.

Now, wid Xmus aroun de corna how many people frum bak in de day rememba caining de chairs and varnishing de furniture, stripping de front house by putting way de ornamunts and putting de furniture in a corna bout 3 weeks befo de big day, and on Xmus eve nite fixing bak de house tuh luk new and fresh wid de marquizette curtains. Wuh bout stringing de Xmus cards in de cornas o de front house. We dint use to call it nuh living room den.

42. Kissmus
    Ya got ma cryinnn. Ya hilarious.
    I rememba doing all dem tings you mention befoe Christmas. Pullin down n ranflin up de whole house. Dat was Christmas fa me man. An peepin outside ta mek sure all de neighbas house in darkness befo puttin up de blinds.(we call dem curtains now, if ya pleeze.) I still put up my ‘blinds’ now when ‘all is dark’.(teeheeeeee)
    My motha was we needleworker (seamstress now, if ya pleeze) and if me or any a my otha sistas did evva dream bout carryin a lil scrap offa we Christmas-morning frock outside ta play ‘dolly-house’ wid, she would holla at we real hard or gih we a lash.’I doan want nabody see wah wunna wearing befoe I done mek um, bring dah piece a clawt back in hay fa ma’.

Kissmus, wah is marquizette curtains? Ya got ma day.
    Or ya would put de Christmas cards in a pattern pun de center-table (coffee-table now, if ya pleeze) round de vaSe (vaZe now, if ya pleeze). stupseeeeee.
    De ornamunts (figurines now, if ya pleeze) were placed on a bracket dat was nailed to the partition. If ya evva miss n ‘brek’ one, ya ass is grass.

I still love Christmas wid a passion man.
    Doan faget Queens Park pun Christmas morning. A real fashion parade man. Too sweettttttttt.

BAFBFP
    ‘Bout 12 away from anudda bammm, bammm. Ya swoiteeeee thang ya.

ROK
    Mawnin SweetP.
    Missin you.
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

43. AC

Stevie Wonder

44. @Bonny Peppa……How you doing hun?

Don’t faget to put out de white marl on de lawn grass. Can’t say wanna en had no snow fa christmas!

45. Bonny Peppa // November 26, 2009 at 8:07 AM “Kissmus, wah is marquizette curtains? Ya got ma day.”

I was telling a lil wun bout dayz gone by and bout sum o de stories I read. She was fastinate and ask muh if I wud rite sumting and mekup a name fuh she to type it. LOL.

Marquizette (not sure if I spelled correctly) curtains came out in the early ’60’s. Some kinda fancy material that had come on the scene when it was getting close to the holidays. (Yuh know we bajans doz give name tuh everyting, rite or rong) It was selling like hotcakes in Swan/Broad Streets. Mostly every house yuh pass by frun Xmus forward was showing off dey curtains mek outta dah material, and windows open wider than usual for all to see. (Speaking under correction) I think the material was some kinda of sheer in various colors wid a floral border; there were different designs to choose frum.

I rememba blowing up the balloons and tying 2 or 3 together wid some twine, and putting between the two halves of the curtain. I use to feel real fussy when I was asked to blow up the balloons and help fix bak de house.

I use to get excited when my mudda wud take me in town to see de lites and walk up Broad St looking in the showcases. Cave Shepards and Fogarty Show case use to be decorated wid a Santa; gifts, which as I grew olda get to realize they were nothing more than empty boxes wrapped in Xmas paypa; (hahaha) and other sundry items. also in de show window was a fridge full o wuh we use to call English Apples and other foods. Foolish me at the time, I believed I smell the apples in the fridge, smelling real sweet. But I use to luk forward to dunks and golden apples.

I rememba one Xmas, de neddleworker did not finish my dress in time and I had to wear the dress I wore to the Exhibition to go in the park. Aldoe I did not wear it since the exhibition, I did not want to put it on. My mudda told me, I shud be thankful dat I had sumting else to put on, and if I did not want to go, I would not be allowed to go outside and play as usual wen de evening come. Dem last few words mek me bakpeddle and in 2-2’s I had that dress ova my head and off to the park I went with relatives.

46. @ Bonny Peppa:

Marquisette:
    : a sheer meshed fabric used for clothing, curtains, and mosquito nets. Invented in 1908.

Man, it seems everthing in Bim has changed names since I left. At least you would not get confounded as you still know what is what, when the new fancy speak takes over. ha ha ha!

blinds – curtains
    partition – walls
    centre table – coffee table
    needleworker – seamstress.

47. @Sergant
    thanks but that was for the other blog.
    However see if you can do the same for this blog”Yesterme Yester-you Yesterday” by Stevie Wonder they are various selections to choose from.Choosea nostalga.Looking foward to seeing it.

48. Hopi
    I still hay hanging on. Doan kno fa how long but I hanging on. 🙂
    I in got nah ‘lawn’ so I gun got ta spred de marl pun de cement. Wah ya tink?
    Do you still celebrate our Independence though you’re ova n away? Hope so.

Sapadillo
    I always taut you fa a male not a fe….male. Ya trick ma man.
    Talkin bout gine in town ta see de lites, we use ta call it ‘window-shopping or winter-shopping? Seeing dat it was mostly at Christmas when we parents would cah we in town at nite. Which it really is? Window or winter?
    We probably had sum a de marquizette curtains too cause my motha was a bad needle-wukka.
    De best ting bout Christmas for me as a child, was opening my presents boy, few as they were. Guess that is still the best part of Christmas for kids.
    For me now de best part a Christmas is getting up de morning ( after gine sleep bout 4 a.m) and getting a cup a black green tea (don’t use milk) a slice a ham, sweetbread n a hearty slice a puddin. Afta a good belchhhhhh, den top it off wid a slice a great cake. Den relax for a hour or two befoe getting down ta brasstax in de galley. I have all my siblings living here, over for a nice lunch, some good jokes and sleep de whole day Boxing day. Dat is Christmas for me now.

Dis Christmas I would love to ‘have’ ROK unda my tree, clad only in birth-suit and a red bow-tie.
    Murdaaaaaaaaaa, somebody deadddd.

Pat
    Howdydo Sweets? You killz me ya kno.
    Yes child, names changing nowadays:
    Gravedigger – Soil technician
    Congolium – Vinly
    VaSe – VaZe
    Headmaster/mistress – Principal

Bradley432 could add some more but he is reallly scarce here of late.

BAFBFP
    You still checkin fa de ‘tings’ dat me n Pat n ac got?
    Bet ya din kno dat Sapadillo got one a dem tu?
    Ya ring-neck-vagabon. Luvs ya.