Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.ย  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.ย  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.ย  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.ย  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.ย  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphreyโ€™s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snacketteย  & Jeffโ€™sโ€™ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphreyโ€™s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.ย  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.ย  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.ย  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.ย  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.ย  There was a rhyme many of us would say, โ€œgo to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.โ€ย  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boysโ€™ a teacher was nicknamed โ€œsquare head Smithyโ€ even though his head was shaped like a cone.ย  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.โ€
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy โ€œblack b!tchโ€ โ€œglassy,โ€ combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.ย  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.ย  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.ย  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptationโ€ & โ€œKhus Khusโ€ used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.ย  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High โ€“ Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.ย  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.ย  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. Some Trades which have disappeared over the years,or rebranded
    Cooper (Kuh-per)
    Speculator
    Shoemekker
    Rose Tree Trimmer
    Cantoneer
    Longshoreman
    Lighterman
    Factory “Engineer”
    Needle Worker
    Black Smith.
    Speaking of the men they used to called Engineers at the factory. One night one of these engineers was servicing a scrambler hoist, thats the tall one that used to rotate.He was working on the far end when he slipped and fell to the ground. He got up.Not a scratch ,no pain. Later the factory manager approached him, surprised that he was not injured after such a fall. He enquired how the accident occured, “Man leh me show you how it happened,” And the “engineer climbed to the top of the hoist,and said, ” I was standing right here when I slipped like this and fall down.”
    Unlucky for the engineer he demonstrated a bit too good, for he really slipped off the hoist again, but this time broke both knee caps.

2. @bradley432

It seems despite the fancy trucks which haul the waste from the wells we still need the human body to enter many of the shit-wells to clean them.

3. @ ROK

I often wondered why there was no reference to Christ when we were reading about the Romans. After all, it was during the same time as Christ.

Why should they be mention of Christ in Roman History?
    Was he a Roman warrior, or emperor?
    Was he part of the Roman way of life?
    How did he impact on Roman life?

Why are you such an ass?
    Why do you talk so much (to quote GP) bovine excrement?

4. Why should they be mention of Christ in Roman History?
    Was he a Roman warrior, or emperor?
    Was he part of the Roman way of life?
    How did he impact on Roman life?

Why are you such an ass?
    Why do you talk so much (to quote GP) bovine excrement?

Really? Who is the real ass? A man that supposedly caused the Romans so much headache… your real purpose is malicious. I am sure that as a young boy you got some thoughts wrong too. Who do you think you are? Like you jealous of me or something. What you nip picking about? Find somebody else to pick at. Only showing up your ignorance.

5. ROK
    Mawnin, my toffee.
    I want you to pick pun me n at me nabody else. Doan worry wid anon. Come n ‘pick’ at me.
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

6. Yes really. You are the real ass! And it is you that demonstrate your ignorance.

As I remember the story from my Sunday School days in the Anglican church, Christ did not supposedly cause the Romans any headache at all!

Because the Jewish leaders handed him over to Pilate, who had him crucified promptly, with little ado, even though he repeatedly said that Christ had not committed a capital offence!

If you will recall from the stories chosen by Patterson and McNaughton and the other Latin texts commonly used in our day, the emphasis was on wars and glory of Pompei and Caesar. Since Christ was not a Roman warrior or emperor , he had no impact on Roman life, and would not appear in these epics.

Even a nobody like me understandfs that man.

Your hatred for Christ and his world wide influence demonstrated repeatredly on BU caused YOU to ever always slip in some nonsense about this one in whom you do not BELIEVE or KNOW! You thereby demonstrate your malice!

I am no body Sir. No body at all. Neither am I nit picking or jealous of you? As a young boy I certainly got some thoughts wrong too, but when I became a man I put away childish things…..as recommended in the passage that used to be read at prayers in my primary school.

All I have done is corrected your folly, because I cant understand how you would expect to find Christ mentioned in Caesar Gallic Wars, or Livy or in Virgilโ€™s the Aenid. Was Christ on earth then? I doubt it!

You may now carry on to secrete bovine excrement from between your orifice surrounded by hair resembling a โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..

Go deal with BP. You are both at the same level of intelligence.

7. And you got a load off your chest. I am happy for you.

8. Anon!

What memories you bring back with your remark about Approach to Latin I & II by Patterson & McNaugton, and the Latin Primer by Kennedy!!!

And about Caesar Gallic Wars books IV & V.

Remember Chapter 20 I think it is of Chapter IV where we started

Exigua partis eastatis reliqua, Caesar…..
    Which I think meant ” Since the better part of the summer was gone, Caesar etc.

I think it was followed by a futurm esse and then a futurum iri about 20 lines down the page.

I met a cousin at his prestigious boarding school in Boston in 1995, who boasted that they were readind Virgil’s Aenid in English as a set book.

I told him “Dear boy, in my day at school in Barbados, we read it in Latin!”

“Arma virumque cano!’ I sing of arms and of a man!

I had a classmate at HC, just over 41 years ago – one Trevor Campbell, who when lesser Latin lights would struggle to translate the following sentence once, would do it in three ways in the same time period.

The beginning of the sentence was ‘ When Caesar came,…”

Here Trevor.

Caesar advento, (ablative absolute)

Quae cum Caesar advenisset ( quae cum with the subjunctive)

Ubi Caesar advenit ( ubi with the indicative)

There was also in the class a chap called Owens (whom we nick named “Jesse”) who was equally as good in Latin, Spanish and French, but did nothing else.

These men wre referrecd to as ” Latin gods!”

Good ole days them!

9. Got some pics of the Old Seawell Airport which I uploaded to youtube as a slide show. Hope it works:

10. Poor Rok.

You must admit that anon’s rebuttal of your “bovine excrement” is pertinent, poignant, perceptive and pretty accurate.

My husband calls that “good fast bowling!”

11. @Margaret

Poor you. Hahahahahahahaha

What good fast bowling what? Just yours and his good christian ways coming out.

Ridicule, discrimination, stigmatisation and deprivation; at any cost… and your victims are supposed to scream, whimper or wail and everybody is supposed to avoid them like the plague. I could see how wunna moving in for the kill now. Carry on smaartly.

We have been talking about it in these threads, did you miss them?

12. anon,Margret
    This thread was moving along just fine til y’all came along. Now just move alonggggggggg smartly, OK? Shoooooo.

But wait a minute, Anon, thanks for elevating me to the same level of intelligence as ROK. You know and we all know that he’s one smart, intelligent, sexy, studious,sexy again,lovable, lickable, sexy again brotha. So thanks chap.
    Did I tell you how much I Love this man? I love him to every fault. I do.

Ya can’t kill a brotha for his own ‘beliefs’ my friend. He’s not alone.
    But I wanna tell you again, I love him.
    You n Margret can XHALEEEEEE now.
    I love ROK sooooooooooooo much.Tell him for ma Anon. (you like you good miserable doe)

13. Bradlely432
    Amusing n amazing all in one breath, as usual.
    2 more school hymns:
    ‘Christ who once amongst us’
    ‘Now that the daylight fills the sky’.

My favourite hymn at secondary school:
    ‘Through all the changing scenes of life’

Please explain the function of these trades:
    Cooper,Rose Tree Trimmer,Cantooner,Lighterman.
    Think I know the others.

ROK
    Thanks for the old airport slide, darling.
    You so sweet,kind, generous n sweet again, doe.

(anon, ya hear mah?)

14. Ablative absolute

Ut or ne plus the subjunctive

Conjunctive?

Livy Book IV

I was a mediocre Latin student, in fact my teachers would probably use much stronger language. Personally I think it should have been introduced when I was 15 years old instead of when I was 10, however others were able to cope at 10 so I canโ€™t blame anyone. Latin is the root of many English words that we use everyday without thinking of origin. There was a building around Queens Park that if memory serves had a name over the door that read โ€œRus en Urbeโ€ or something similar which loosely translated means โ€œThe country in the cityโ€. Rural and Urban is derived from the Latin words.

In light of all the wars and rumours of wars todayโ€™s Latin word is โ€œHostesโ€ or โ€œEnemiesโ€ which gave root to the English word โ€œHostileโ€.

Of course the above is subject to correction by Latin scholars.

15. Sargeant

You dont seem to have done too badly.
    You are at least able to realize that Latin was useful for your English vocabulary.

Unfortunately, in our day, these kind of things were not pointed out. Perhaps, if they had, the learning process might have been more meaningful.

I particularly enjoyed the singing of hymns at “prayers” in both my primary and secondary school days.

BP

I loved the children’s hymns that we sang at school and Sunday school starting around 329 with Mrs Alexander’s Once in Royal David’s city, and including “Christ who once amongst us.”

I have recently been learning on this blog that this person of whom we sang has never existed. I wonder why they taught as such things at school.

16. BP

I note that you say and think that you โ€œ canโ€™t kill a brotha for his own โ€˜beliefsโ€™, but yet you assert that Anon is miserable.

Au contraire! Anon is perceptive, I think!

He has clearly corrected what Rock was trying to say, and he was/is not alone, because during my Sunday School days in the Anglican church back on the rock in the 50โ€™s and 60โ€™s I was also taught that

a- โ€œChrist did not cause the Romans any headache at allโ€, as Rok stated! (How could he? After all he did not exist.)
    b- the Jewish leaders handed him over to Pilate, who had him crucified promptly, with little ado, even though he repeatedly said that Christ had not committed a capital offence! (as pointed out by anon)

I aint no Christian, I does only read the blogs (with few comments here and there). But I have to agree also with anonโ€™s point that in โ€œthe stories chosen by Patterson and McNaughton and the other Latin texts commonly used in our day, the emphasis was on wars and glory of Pompei and Caesar. Since Christ was not a Roman warrior or emperor , he had no impact on Roman life, and would not appear in these epics.โ€

What did anno say that was incorrect?
    Where was the โ€œnit picking or jealousyโ€ for which he was accused? Or the maliciousness?
    I have to agree also with anonโ€™s point also that he has corrected the junk that Rok injected into the thread because I can not understand either how you would expect to find Christ mentioned in Caesar Gallic Wars, or Livy or in Virgilโ€™s the Aenid.
    I can not see how the posts by either anon or Margret has stopped the thread from moving along. Why cant they have their say too? Donโ€™t you have yours?
    After all, according to you โ€œyou canโ€™t kill a brotha for his own โ€˜beliefsโ€™! Ah lie?
    Cant you see that it was Rok who started the โ€œRidicule, discrimination, stigmatisation and deprivation; at any costโ€ฆ.โ€? LOL
    Why cant he just say for once. I am wrong. The Latin texts books we used had a different focus?

17. One of the fascinating things about Latin and Greek was a rhythm called the Iambic pentameter which was applied to poetry. It was somewhat like how our rhythm poets deliver their work.

A number of long and short syllables make up a foot and pentameter means each line had five feet. Used to go something like: dum di di dum di di dum or dum di dum di dum di dum di dum di. Used to be a wizard at it but that is so long ago, like shades of memory.

18. Well my bobbie enemy and other enemies, hindsight is 20/20 vision… but saying that I could not understand at the time is pretty much saying that I was wrong. What is the big hype? Why did you not challenge me on thinking that Egypt and Bethlehem was part of Barbados too? Is that not equally stupid now that you know better?

19. @PAT

ac betta have pokie hidden somewhere or the Professor closet jus’ get open…!

But if you t’ink that the Professor don’ lose he cool, talk medicine an’ see wha’ gun happen tah yah..! He gun parade … an’ don’ challenge he…HAH AHHA AHA.. I chokin’.. HA HA HAAAAAA

20. bobbie
    ‘Much ado about nuffin’, Bro.

Let’s move along nicely.

Contribute something to the ‘thread’ and lemme get a good laff, my brotha.

‘Much ado about nothing’.

21. Georgie

Lemme give yah fair warning… If eveh you decide to talk ’bout Rocket Science it is I BAFBFP dat gun read de Riot Act…yah hear…?

22. Sargeant
    I rememba Rus en Urbe only too well. Had me hairdo done there for a wedding many moons ago? You ask me if my wedding? Ya too nosey.
    murdaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

23. Sarge

Ut with the subjunctive is correct. I started remembering the declensions: Nom, Voc, Acc, Gen, Dat (to/for), Abl (by/with/from).

24. Georgie Porgie // November 8, 2009 at 10:43 PM

Pat

Did you learn the ditty

Its a fact! Dickโ€s Duck has no fir on its back?

Do you remember its significance? LOL

No. Dr. Georgie, I do not know it at all. Please publish it with explanations if possible (if it is clean).

@ALL

There used to be a ditty that we either skipped to or clapped hands to which included these line:

” Send for the Doctor,
    Send for the lady with the alligator purse”.

I always thought, this lady must have been important and if I could not become a Doctor, I would like to have me an alligator purse when I grew up. Well, I got me the alligator purse and matching shoes and dont feel anymore important than before I acquired them.
    LOL!

Does anyone know the ditty. If so, could you publish it here. Thanks.

25. @Pat

You mean the one about “shut your lap tight”?

26. Its a fact! Dickโ€s Duck has no fir on its back?

This ditty was used to remember some irreguar Latin verbs

Dick stood for dico dicere dixi dictum to speak or say (we get words like diction, dictum etc from this verb)

Duck stood for duc0 to lead ( from which we get seduce, deduce, adduce etc)

fir was for my favorite ferro ferre tuli latum the most irregular of all It means to bear or carry. We get words from this verb like trans-fer de-fer con-fer in-fer trans- late pre-late ab-late etc

I enjoyed my 5 years of Latin at HC. My teachers were Heads Marshall for three years and LS “Bulldog: Wellington for the last two.

Great days.

27. November 11th is Remembrance Day. We know that Barbadosโ€™ most famous son Errol Barrow flew as a navigator in the RAF on bombing missions over Germany during the WW11. Other Bajans served and died in WW1& WW11 to lesser acclaim. Is there anyone on this thread who can tell about life during the War years. I recall my grandmother telling me of the time when the Canadian registered SS Cornwallis was struck by a torpedo in Carlisle Bay, this happened on September 11,1942. The Cornwallis was repaired but I found out it was sunk by the Germans in 1943. Many bajans of a certain age will tell you they heard the sound of the explosion when the Cornwallis was struck and they will also tell you what they were doing.

28. Rus en Urbe is in Crumpton Street and was the location of the office of Doctors Norris Procope & Frank Ramsay (now both deceased) for many years dating back to the 60โ€™s .

@ BAFBFP I donโ€™t know anything about Rocket Science, nor do I care about the subject.

And I donโ€™t lose my cool when some talks nonsense about Bible or Medicine on this blog. I just correct them nicely. LOL. You donโ€™t have to lose your cool to do that. LOL Challenges are met with the same clinical efficiency and accuracy, and insight. I do have a penchant for not suffering fools gladly.

I also know from being an ardent cricket fan, that one does not have to play at every ball! LOL! If I dint know that I would have to say , and I quote โ€œ Ridicule, discrimination, stigmatisation and deprivation; at any costโ€ฆ and your victims are supposed to scream, whimper or wail and everybody is supposed to avoid them like the plague. I could see how wunna moving in for the kill now. โ€œ LOL Murder ROTFLMAO

@ BP are you saying that bobbie et aliter have not contributed to the thread? Or are you saying that contributions must only evoke laughter? Or are you suggestion that correction of some one on this blog is โ€˜Much ado about nothing?โ€™. Or all of the above.

29. @Bonny Peppa.

You better do something quick they are some mean talking encyclopedia on the thread after yuh man Rok .Helpp………………..

BAFBFP.

Why are yuh so all up in Dr. Georgie pokie business.

@All
    I think it went something like this

Down in the meadow where the green grow
    To see little Janie.
    All in a row.
    And she sing !
    And she sing!
    And she sing so sweet.
    So get up little Janie .
    And stand on your feet.
    When you are sick.
    She would put you to bed.
    And send for the doctor .
    To stand by your bed.
    Here comes the doctor.
    Here comes the nurse.
    Here comes the lawyer’
    With a big fat purse

Now for all you intellectual maybe you can interpret this in Latin.

30. @ac

You good to remember all that. I remember the last part only starting from here comes the doctor. I think we used to sing the top part differently… but you probably got the original words. There was another one about two dickie birds. One flew away??

31. Bonny Peppa can’ fool me. Some ah wanna believe dat dis woman got a screw lose. Lemma tell yah, GP ain’ de onliest Proffesor pun this t’read… mark my word

Bradley xxx

“During all of this a lady in the next village gave birth to a baby,who is now a Captain of Industry if Barbados”

Who is dis Captain dat you refering too?

Sargeant

As man, in dis day and age you really feel dat Black people got any right getting tangle up in da’ Rememberance Day foolishness?

32. Georgie

Are you aquainted with (see how I got tah be talkin’ important like..? ..Din get na kin’ ah Latin other than from St Giles) Oliver Jackman? Was he not the Latin king of Ba’bados? I hear dat, sorry, I heard that he was promoted four classes to six form and graduated HC at fifteen. Is that true?

33. Bradley

At Mount Gay back in your time they were cleaning a vat of molasses and some man decided to go to the bottom to check on what was left in the bottom. Apparently he did not respond to calls so another one was sent behind him, and he too did not respond to any calls. No one else went in after them. How the bodies retrieved and what was it that killed them? Man you musse know this storyโ€ฆ

34. David

I don’ like all those decorations that you got up in yah yard sa soon…! Wanna dilutin’ Christmas and I in ga’ing in at you…! Dis is Novemba and you had dem up since Octoba… You gettin’ boycot dis year. I going somewhere else fah my stuff man…!

35. @BAFBP

I knew Oliver Jackman well. He was fluent in several languages including one or two from Africa.

I enjoyed Latin too, but did not like any of the teachers. I wanted to drop it in high school and the Headmaster gave me a lecture about its importance. He told me I was lucky I had not started high school a few years earlier or I would have been expected to learn Greek. This was in the early sixties, all schools taught Latin.

36. Dr.Porgie
    With all due respect Sir, if we all agreed with everything and everyone, there would be no need for words like, argument,opinion, prison etc.
    ROK made a statement and because Anon didn’t agree with him, he called my Sweetheart an ass. You know how that hurt me? Well if my cotton-candy is an ass, he is the ‘hole’ behind.
    If ROK feels to call a sheep a goat, who am I or you to argue otherwise?
    This thread was created to ol-talk and have fun, not come on like a Correction’s Officer.Gimme a break.
    ROK can say what he wants without being ridiculed like that man. C’mon.
    My thing is to come, make a lil joke and go on my way. Who cares to insult or belittle Bonny, bothers me none.
    And so, I repeat, ‘Much ado about nutton”. Interpret how, whichever way.

ac,
    My Candy-apple ROK isn’t so easily ruffled. He’s as strong as they come. He can represent, have no fear. That’s why I love him so.

BAFBFP
    Some a dem believe dat I got a screw loose?
    Ya instigata.
    I just love ROK wid real passionnnnnn.
    Dah is all um is.
    If I mad fa loving he sa bad, den Jinkins here I cum.

“Rememberance Day Foolishness”
    You is bare trouble, nutton moe.

Post dis whun from You tube fa ma do. I in dedicate nutton ta my Heart-throb fa long. Here goes:
    The Shuffles, ‘Sha la la, I love you”.

Ya devil.

37. @ BAFBFP // November 9, 2009 at 9:48 PM

Propa…!

AAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhhhh

38. Bradley432
    There was an incident a few years ago, about 15 or more years, involving a Water Authority truck exploding somewhere in St.George or St.John, don’t remember exactly, but a few citizens were killed and also the driver was either killed or seriously injured. You remember?
    Ya memory-bank.

39. BAFBFP

I aint no Proffesor, man. To me a Proffesor is a fella that has been teaching over 20-30nyears man. O only do a few years on and off since 2002. So I donโ€™t consider myself nothing man.

Oliver Jackman left school before my time, I believe.
    I hear that Sir Henry Forde and Oscar Jordan were good at Latin, also.

So Pat where did you learn your Latin?

BP

If some one calls a sheep a goat, with all due respect, they ought to be corrected. I believe that we can old talk, have fun and be accurate, simultaneously.

40. @Rok
    Ithink dat one went like this.

Two little birdies sitting on a wall.
    One name Peter.
    One name Paul.
    Fly away Peter.
    Fly away Paul.
    Come back Peter.
    Come back Paul.

This however was done with action.That is you put a small piece of paper onthe finger nails of the index fingers with were to represent the birds .Then you action to make the paer disappear and return as if they had flew away and return.
    Maybe this would bring it back to your rememberance.

I remember their used to be a newspaper paper called The Beacon. Can that be verified for me.

41. @BAFBFP .Should black people be tangle up in this remembrance foolishness.
    First they came for the Gypsies , I was not a Gypsy,so I stood by and did nothing.
    Next they came for the Jews, I was not a Jew ,so I stood by and did nothing.
    But luckily for us blacks, before they got to us , the British, the Americans and the Allies and some of our very own men stepped in and saved our bacon.
    Places like Bergen-Belsen ,with mass graves ,some holding 1000 bodies,could have been awaiting us.
    http://panoramio.com/photos/original/28724828.jpg
    In the days when a cane fire was a spectacle to behold , and people used to walk miles to observe, a lady went some 5 miles from her home to watch a fire,and it began to threatened a home nearby. People were called upon to help in saving this home.This particular lady refused to give a hand ,and shouted , “Not me boah, my house far from here!.” Lo and behold the wind shifted and picked up speed and very soon, this same woman’s house was in the path of the raging fire.She balled for murder calling on God and every body around to save her house.
    @ Bonny
    Cooper. That was a fellow employed by those factories which produced syrrup, to make barrels .
    Rose Tree Trimmer, as David hinted, was the fellow who used to go down in the Shit hole or pit and clean it out.
    A Cantoneer, was those employed by MTW (or H&T as it were) to build and maintain roads.
    Before we had the Bridgetown Port or Deep Water Harbour, the sugar in bags were transported from the Bond House on these barges,called a Lighter, pulled by a launch, to the cargo ship at anchor in Carlisle Bay, the men who operated on those barges were known as Lightermen,
    So tell me Bonny, is ROK a Lighterman or a Heavyweight?

42. Here is another Fairchild Street Bus Stand
    oldie, probably around 1979 when the Transport Board was changing its livery.

http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28724813.jpg

43. @ Georgie Porgie

At Louis Lynch’s Modern High School.

Did you know Wayne Tudor, Michael Jordan and a handsome half white guy called Dave Fields? They joined me in 5A from Harrison’s College.

Wayne was a dumb ass who let all the girls beat and out shine him. Michael had some brains – not more than us girls but enough to command a lil respect. Dave was quiet, never got to know him well, not too smart either, but in those days he would have gotten by with his skin.

44. No Pat I dont recal these lads. I think they were senior to me. Lots of Modernites lived on the 15 Bus Route, and so on evenings I often caught the bus by the Modern gate.

The bus would then go up Tweedside Rd, through ” Belleville” and Culloden Rd and then follow the usual 15 Bus Route.

I see that you say you attended St Elizabeth Gospel Hall . Can you comment on your time amongst the Brethren?

45. Dr.Porgie
    ‘if someone calls a sheep a goat……..’
    I was speaking figuratively and not literally so I don’t see why all de hullabaloo.
    Let’s move along smartly nowwwwww.

Bradley432
    Is that you all bedecked in photo?
    I’m not sure YET if ROK is a lightweight or heavyweight but what I know, is that he’s all I’m looking for bound up in one nice package. Love ‘im.
    I love these ol’ pics that you generate evry once in a while. Always a breath of fresh air.
    Ya din respond bout de incident in de 80’s bout de explosion with the Water Authority truck in St.George or sumway.

ROK
    Mawning, my lumpa-sugga.
    smoochhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

46. @ BP

Dont you think that the good Dr knows that you were speaking figuratively?

You are defending the indefensible! People who seek to influence the sheeple as rok does ought to be accurate! And not spout so much bovine excreta.

47. @Bonny , I vaguely remember that incident with the Water Works truck back in 1980. I believe it happened somewhere in St John, while the truck was transporting Chlorine. I believe that it was only a school girl who died from the explosion.
    I recall back in the ’60’s an explosion on a motor vessel tied up alongside the Careenage on the Wharf Road in which a crew member was killed.

48. Anonymous
    Glad that you remembered but more than one person was killed, I could swear.
    Bradlely432 should know. He knows everything. Trust me.

bobbie shaftoe,
    how could you know what the good doc is thinking? Are you him? Probably.
    ROK don’t try to influence no one. He speaks what he thinks. it’s up to the ‘sheeple’ to believe or doubt.
    I believe everything he says because I love him so,so, so, so, muchhhhhhhhhh.
    Ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.
    Now let it goooooooo, plzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

49. @BAFBFP , I heard some older folf spoke of an incident where either 2 0r 3 men were killed in a well somewhere , but it was due to natural gas deposits in the well.
    Perhaps one of the most dangerous jobs in a sugar factory was cleaning the boilers. The factory ceased grinding canes either late on Saturday night or early Sunday morning, and quickly after, a man had to go inside those still very hot boilers and cleaned them out. These men, not very much later suffered much health problems.The old people said the hot boilers used to dry up thier blood. I knew one of these men, who while still relatively young,and he was fairly tall, had to walk with two sticks, as both of his feet angled out from the knee some 45 degrees from the ground. And don’t ask about compensation, there was none. Correction very little,as this woman who lost an arm in the same sugar factory got compensated. As she was walking past one of those great revolving wheels, it grabbed her arm and wrenched it off.Her grand compensation amounted to 1Penny (2 cents) per week. The price of a salt bread at that time was 3 cents each.
    Its a pity in later years that some of our enterprising lawyers did not take up these people’s cases and either get them or their family their just rewards.

50. Anonymous,
    I knew one of the two fella who died in that gas well incident about 4-5 yrs ago. His name was Hector from Licorish Vlge,My Lord’s Hill. He could be a humbug at times but was always willing to assist anyone in distress.