Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. @BAFBFP, that captain of industry is Vince Yearwood
    Discovery Bay hotel, I believe was built near the spot where the Leeward Bus Company was located,before it was taken over by the Transport Board. I recall passing there coming back from an excursion at Half Moon Fort and seeing the red buses parked among the coconut trees.
    About Carew’s incident,I understand that there was one of these old type plantation roads in the area above , with a culvert forming part or the natural water course. This culvert was blocked up,through fear that the road may collapsed now that heavy construction equipment was using it. When the rains came, the area was dammed up due to the bolder in the culvert.The force of the water then overcame the bridge driving the bolder,seawards.

2. @BAFBFP ,that’s not strictly true ,they had a lot of black people working on Broad Street. You ferget that every store on Broad Street had a watchman, usually a retired policeman, who used to sleep under the store front in an easy chair or on card board. Then some of the sweetie and nut sellers used to set up their trays along Broad Street at nights.But during the day it was a different story.

3. @ Bradley432
    The bodies of the buses were built by the late mr.Seale opposite the road to Trents.

Discovery Bay is adjacent to the Hole town river on what was holetown swamp.
    We played cricket on the swamp during the dry season.

4. @BABFP

blue yellow to the bone!

5. David

I thought that the colours were aqua marine; gold with a broken trident (black). What’s this blue and yellow business?

6. @Sargeant

While you are correct the ‘blue yella’ has become a rallying cry borrowed from the lexicon of the yutes 🙂

7. wow 1000, well done folks!!!! love this thread even though i’m just a 20 something.

thought it was ultra marine not aqua marine. im confused now.

8. That should be ultramarine blue

9. Bonny you miss de Bam man, wah happen yah sleepin’ ..? Den again ROK farely quiet too…Wah happenin’?

Bradley

When you book publish I gun tek a few. “Comic relief (not free food) for you an’ your family” will be my mantra. Vince Yearwood ain’ nah capitan ah not’ing (BIDC don’ count fah squat). Man gi’ mah anoda name..! Wha’ ’bout Micro Mock…?

Now tell me even tho’ yah got de colours wrong, what de Black stan’ fah? Natahlee realy coul’ care less…!

I still ain’ shoppin’ by you… wanna doin’ bare shite…! It gettin’ worse every year..!

10. BAFBFP
    Well,well, well, BU would be ‘dead’ widout you. You is a real ring-neck vagabon fa tru. An talk bout a instigata? But ya swoiteeeeeeee.
    Why you doan leh ‘sleeping dogs lie’ nah? You ask if I sleepin and ya realize dat ROK farely quiet too. Do de maffs den nah. Ya struction-mekka.

Bradley432
    I had an old friend who worked on Broad St. and she was coloured but a real cutie in her day. Ena Harrison. Can’t remember her married title. She passed a few years ago. Her brother Lisle still lives in Rendezvous area.

Hants/Anonymous
    Welcome to BU.

Bradley432
    When last you see a donkey? Dem extinct now?
    I rememba when de donkey-cart use ta be load down to de brim wid cane n de driver pun top de canes stack up high,high,high. Nevva fall off yet.

ROK
    you still tired????
    (BAFBFP listeninnnn)

11. @ Hants
    You are most certainly correct that the Biblical reference to building on sand should not be taken literally. Cuke apparently agreed with you too.

You say that some of the houses in Jamestown park were built on “sand” in 1980 using modified raft foundations, and that they are still standing.

I have seen some construction here in FL and some in South Texas that I don’t understand having grown up in our culture where we seek a solid coral stone foundation.

BAFBFP
    I agree with you that Holmes Williams rightly divides the Word and preaches well.
    Relevance and clarity are essential qualities of great homiletics. And to that end Cuke’s text was relevant.

If you deem Cuke to be insensitive, then Isaiah Jeremiah and especially Jesus and the Apostle Paul were always insensitive in their preaching.

Cuke did not say AT ANY TIME that Carew was stupid to build his house on the sand in Weston, nor did he address Carew’s ignorance or lack thereof. Like all good preachers over the ages, he used a current issue to present a Gospel message. And it was a very good message, BECAUSE HE RIGHTLY DIVIDED THE Word by explaining the lesson that arises from the text he took in the approved fashion.. He was therefore indeed relevant. Cuke taught a spiritual lesson using a current occurrence, just as Jesus and Paul did. He was therefore in very good company.

One wonders if people were hurt when Jesus and Paul preached? And they are the greatest examples of NY preaching, and the inspiration for all the best preachers all over the world since.

I have listed before some of the world renowned preachers who did the same.
    The issue was not where Carew’s house was constructed (and it was indeed on the sand), and next to the mouth of a water course- I drove past it daily) nor about Cuke’s honesty or sensationalizing anything.

I doubt Carew thought much about any danger in the location of his house, since what evidentially happened was not expected- since it was not the norm; and it ought not ever to have happened, if the aged custom of managing the water course and gullies was respected and heeded.

Preachers don’t preach to please their audiences or to appease anyone. Many preachers have resigned their posts and refused to go with out a pastorate instead of pleasing the mayor, or the deacon board or who ever.

12. @Bonny the last time I saw a donkey, he was chasing a cow round in circles on a pasture, and like The Merry Men said , with something like muffler hanging underneath. There are still a few donkeys around, but very rarely you will see a donkey cart. The Suzuki van and the Datsun pickups have made them redundant. There was a time when donkeys and carts were used by the MTW to transport the stuff that was weeded from the side of the road. Funny enough it was not the man who owned or drove the donkey cart who was employed by MTW. The donkey was the employee,the man worked for the donkey.

13. Before we had all of these fancy Hairstylists, women used to have their hair pressed by a hairdresser or a friend. The sugar factory ‘engineers” used to make these ironing combs, out of brass with a steel handle. It was placed on the burner of an oil stove ,and when hot, passed through the hair with some pressing oil. Hair curlers were not so popular, so they would used twisted up brown paper and twirl it into the hair.If it wasn’t done right the hair could end up burn along with the skin around the hair. But all of this could be in vain, if on her way home after having her hair done it got drenched by the rain.

14. @David ,subject to correction, but I believed that Rev Fairweather had one of these cars. A black Mayflower, a poor man’s Rolls Royce and as hard as a battle tank.
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28919829.jpg

15. Long before trucks (lorries) became popular, donkey carts were also used to transport goods from Bridgetown to people living in the country areas. I’ve seen donkey carts loaded with lumber and galvanise sheets from Plantations Limited going to some homes. The cost of delivery by donkey cart was much cheaper and better for the environment

16. @Hants ,here is an old Leeward Bus,probably E73
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28920119.jpg
    This bus was nicknamed The Tractor,when it came over to the Transport Board, as when any heavy towing had to be done , this was the man for the job. I remembered seeing it tow one of those big AEC buses over Cleland Hill,before the East Coast Road was built. It farted ,spat and sent off green smoke at the muffler,but it got the disabled bus over the hill.

17. Speaking of galvanise, one of the sounds that has all but disappeared from modern Barbados is the sound of rain falling on galvanise roofs or the sound of falling into a khus-khus grass bed. Other sounds that have disappeared are the sounds of a well digger shouting “holes blowing” as he set off a dynamite charge while digging a well or the sound of a plantation horn letting the workers know that the work day has ended.

18. @Sarge , how about those long push carts that also used to deliver lumber to districts near Bridgetown. Up to sometime in the 80’s ,one used to operate along Bay Street up to Bayville area.,with two men pushing.One was a very tall fellow and I think that he was also blind .

19. Devotional music for Sunday night

20. There used to be a fellow in the district nicknamed Bubble-ups.Word had it that he set out with the fellows to go crabbing. As luck would have it, he started catching crab about two miles from the beach. When he got back home and emptied his bag in the pot to boil the crabs, he kept hearing this, Bubble-ups! Bubble-ups!sound coming from the pot. He ketch a baga frogs!!

21. Having computer problembe …. but

@ Technician
    I had no intention of being politically correct when I pointed out that..’In a storm in 1995 that area was flooded because of mismanagement of the gully which normally exits in this area. (This is a point worthy of debate in itself.)

And I do agree with you that “All now somebody should be in prison” over the “mismanagement” of that gully. Note that I asserted that the “mismanagement” of that gully was “a point worthy of debate in itself.” LOL

It was more than negligence … it was greed and a disrespect for the culture and the aged respect, use and management of our gullies ( one of the favorite places and topics for discussion by the late Colin Hudson on the Stop and Stare walks in the early 90’s) but as we have agreed …that’s a topic for another day.

Carew’s death was indeed a result of the price of progress. (Not Sandy Lane BP. Weston is much further north, girl. It was the area around the Westmoreland Development.) By placing large boulders to block entrance to the person’s property, they created the situation somewhat like a dam. Unfortunately the “dam” broke and whereas the same volume of water would have been delivered to Weston slowly, it was delivered all at once! Hence the catastrophe that pushed Carew’s house out to sea. It was not so much the volume of water but the force of the sudden deluge of water. Bare in mind that a gallon of water weighs about ten pounds. Since force is mass times acceleration it is not hard to calculate the magnitude of the forces released in Weston all at once.

@ Bonny Peppa

No my friend, I will go to my grave saying that Carew committed no homiletic offense.
    You guys are stressing the words “foolish man” in the text! Cuke stressed the “sand” versus the “rock” paradigm, which was the point of Jesus’ argument. Jesus was teaching that he was the ROCK, spoken frequently off in the OT. He was showing that he was the Antitype of the type presented as the ROCK or STONE in the OT scriptures, and he compared building one’s life on HIM, the firm foundation, as opposed to the shifting sands of materialism, ritualism, or any other ism.

Cuke interpreted the text correctly, and went down the correct line in his interpretation and exposition.

At NO TIME did Cuke spoke about Carew’s simplicity or complexity. He did not adrees Carew’s merits or demerits; and rightl;y so because WE ARE ALL SINNERS. And we ALL NEED TO REST ON THE ROCK AND BUILD OR LIVES ON CHRIST- THE ROCK, rather on the sands.

No I don’t think that preaching on the ark and flood in Noah’s time, because the picture of the ark was one of safety and salvation, whereas the picture of the Rock has to do with resting or continuing on with Christ. But your comment has much more merit in it than most of what others have written on this subject. There were far more similarities to the circumstances in Jesus’ teaching than in the story of the Ark, that made Cuke’s choice of text more appropriate in the context.

I do not think that Cuke was callous, cold and insensitive. Rather he was indeed patterning his preaching on that of Christ-as he ought to have.

And being emotional is normal. It is never pleasant to see another human’s body in poor shape, regardless to how many times you have seen it. I will never forget going to that gully at Trents St Lucy around this time in 199o to view a small girl, who had had her head bashed in by an ex boyfriend, and then had her body covered by a flat large stone that weighed about 90 lbs (after the lad broke a bottle and cut her private parts up, after raping her.) I have never been so angry.

Do you know at the trial a year later, that the counsel for the defence did not want the photos of the scene to be seen by the jury?

The prosecutor began his opening remarks by saying that the accused had used 4 stones on the deceased.

@ Sargeant
    Thanks for appreciating the interpretation of the sermon preached at Carew’s funeral.
    I have explained more clearly the aetiology of the flooding of Weston that resulted in Carew’s untimely death.

And I do agree with your opinion concerning the history in Barbados of the more privileged being able to commit acts contrary to good public order and escaping justice or censure. I agree too that “In this situation there were ostensibly people or organizations who made errors and were responsible if not criminally at least civilly and who were unlikely to face any tribunal.”

However, Cuke did not pile on anything on a poor man without any condemnation of the guilty, because Cuke did not address Carew. Preaching b the word of God is not a moral issue. Preaching is totally amoral, though it is often done by IM-moral men!.

CUKE DID ONE THING WRONG. He should not have conducted that funeral. That funeral should have been held in the Stadium, where the entertainers and celebrities would have been free to do as they please, and say all the nice pleasing platitudes that was taught to be needed.

As I have said over and over, for I agree with you that “Context is everything.” As a preacher myself. As a student of preaching and great preachers, Cuke used the context perfectly, just as Jesus did when he spoke of the Good Shepherd, or the Sower etc Or Paul when he gave the scenario of the harbor scenes of his day in Hebrews 6 to explain the certainty of salvation and our surety in Christ.

With all due respect Sir. I can not see the relevance to the article you quoted to the correctness of Cuke’s homiletic skills or hermeneutic skills. According to Evans, Jones and other leading experts on the subject, Cuke was technically sound and correct.
    And I will side with them rather than those who are not preachers or experts on this art form.

22. @GP

The article was posted for whatever it is worth to the Cuke/Carew discussion, we found it while doing a cursory search for Cuke’s sermon.

23. Remember when this one made it to No 1 on BBC’s Top of The Pops.

24. @Bradley

Only this week we heard Rev. Erington Massiah who is rector at St. Joseph indicate he is a Fairweather prodigy.

25. Talking about old time and flooding, remember that almost every time it rained really heavily, the Constitution would flood? River and road.

I mean in the 60’s/70’s.

That has not happened in a while. Wonder why?

Bay Street used to flood too. I cannot remember the last time it has really flooded.

Have the water courses maybe been diverted much farther up the country?

26. I doan kno bout wunna, but I remember when independence was an eagerly awaited season.

Every primary schools used to stage an independence programs and for weeks we would be practicing songs like;
    I say B
    I say Ba
    I say Bar…

Millie gone to Brazil, Sly Mongoose, Good Morning Mr. Walker, one bout Jessie Mahorn? lazy since she born, and some more that I caan rememba rite now.

The boys in the village would search through every gully and dump collecting old tires for the bonfire on independence night.

Yuh wud hide and borrow some fine change from under yuh mudda bed, to buy some bombs bandits and knockouts from the shop, because she would only buy starlights for you.

The “rich” children parents would buy rockets and fancy spinning wheels and pretty coloured fireworks.

Independence day morning would be spent grating pumpkin and singeing banana leaves for your mother then the rest of the day was yours.

When the conkies done and cooled, you would full yuh guts and then deliver a couple to your mother’s favourite neighbours, who would give you a couple of theirs to take back home.

When outside got dark, the boys would light the bonfire and the whole village would gather round for the celebrations.

After Tom banned the sale of fireworks, ordinary citizens began to lose interest and now independence gone too the dogs, for no celebration can bring people together like a community organized one does.

27. Crusoe

I remember the flood of October 1970. It rained all night and I didn’t hear any reports on the road condition prior to leaving for work. I later found out that Queens Park was flooded, so was River Road, the Bus Stand, Weymouth and many roads were impassable. The closest I got to Bridgetown after many detours that day was Branch’s shop in the Beckles Road area as the water was gushing down from Dalkeith Hill so I imagine Bay Street was also flooded. We stopped at the shop for “shelter” (as we didn’t want to risk driving the vehicle any further) between 8.00 and 9.00 am and never left until about 3.00 pm .The car was parked on a side street and we thought it would stall since there was too much water on the main road. When I got to work the following day I was told that only about 10 people made it out of approximately 100. I don’t remember how those who lived in the Northern areas fared but in the Southern area we were relatively unscathed as many of the developments now overgrown with houses were still fields and the water not flowing into suck wells was absorbed into the ground.

I can’t remember what I ate for lunch that day but seeing we were stuck in a shop it must have been a cheese cutter and Ju-C and any one of rock cakes/turnovers/cut drop/coconut drop etc…

28. Sargeant
    Also de fish-sella hollerin at de top a she voice: ‘fish, fish, fish outside, 4 a quart.
    The October flood was in 1970 or ’71? Check n see. It was 2nd October. A fella drowned in Queens Park too.
    You probably had a bread n two too.

Bradley432
    I love your pictures. I want you to be me n ROK photo-graffer at we ‘big-day’. Do you mind?R.S.V.P.
    Blue Magic was the fav’rite grease fa press-hair.
    Brad, I just hateeeeeeeee frogs. Ewwww

Dr.Porgie
    I remember that incident where the girl’s head was bashed and the boulder placed on top. He’s a mad-man.

General Lee
    Ya got ma cryinnnnnnnn.
    ‘hide n borrow some change from …..’
    The Independence anthem was, maybe still is one by the Merrymen:
    “God bless Bim on Independence day”.
    Children doan fancy conkies nowadays.
    A friend just gave me two conkies but too sweet man. She like she put Portvale Factory. Christttttttttt man.
    Before Independence, it was Guy Fawkes night on 5th Nov. Rememba?
    Wait, Tom is who ban fireworks? I cud swear it was my motha afta I try ‘outing’ starlights wid my bare hands. I serious. Huhhhh, ya nevva too ol ta learn. All dis time I did blaming my mothaaaaaaaaaaaa. murdahhhhhhh

29. Anyone remember when de Gov’t introduced Daylight Savings time? All hell brek loose, people say dey din know wuh time to go to bed or wuh time to get up, wuh time to feed de stocks and wuh time to tek de medicine. If de guvt had let it continue dey wud lose de election. I tink Tom do away wid dat one too.

30. I know this belongs in another forum but I was rereading the original submission and Wesley Hall Boys Scholl is mentioned. For all the flogging enthusiasts out there Wes attended the same school. Someone once told me that a teacher once asked Wes his name and when he told him Wesley Hall the teacher flogged him because he thought that he was being smart.

It’s a funny story but a reflection of the times, have things changed?

31. Crusoe, Sargeant,

Wanna memory long but short. Dey had a flood in ’81 too yah know. De fellas lef’ de Olympic (t’ink it was a Wang Yu flim, Wang Yu or Chen Sing… can’ remember) and get ketch going tah cross de Barns Building Bridge. It did all but submerged. Yah had tah guess ta mek yah way. Walkin’ up River Road was like wading t’rough a river. Water pour down Bishop Court’s Hill so hard, when it hit de telephone poles it shoot up near fifteen feet in de air.. swear tah God. My friend fell into de dig out at de entrance of de People’s Cathedral. He disappear for a few uncomfortable seconds and reappear only thru de grace ah Gad. I begining tah soun’ like GP now…! De following days papers show people all ’bout Nelson street rowing ’bout in boats.. 1981!

The story ’bout Wes is true true true…faif…!

32. @Bonny Pepa

Question ? What do you think was REv Cuke intent when he preached that sermon?

I knew a family who had a well in their back yard . They would draw water at certain times of the day. They told me it would be around High Tide.

33. BAFBFP
    You is be sa dramatic, you is got me cryinnnnnnnnn. You is de worse.
    You rememba when People’s Cathedral was called Evangle Temple or sumting so? A wonda why de name change?

Answer: I would be a liar if I tell you Rev Cuke’s intent but what I can tell you is that the sermon had people a nuff real vex fa days. Like I said, knowing the circumstances of the incident, Oh Christ, the last thing one would expect to hear at the funeral is,’the foolish man built his house on the sand’. To me it was in bad taste.

We can drop that argument now though because some will agree whilst others will disagree. That’s why there’s such a word as ‘opinion’.

34. @Bonny Peppa
    No argument from me just a discussion enuf said.

Remember when the “Faith Healers would have revival in Queens Park and ask the people to bring the sick for healing .Never heard or met anyone who was healed. My grandmother was blind and a family member took her for healing, One thing for sure the preachers took in a lot of money .

I loved fireworks but hated to hold the sparkler, so the family would attached a stick at the end of the sparkler that way the flickerss wouldn’t come close to my hand.

35. Bonny you wanna see drama watch dis… (hang on fah de ride…LOL!)

“A Lining Col’ “is an infectious disease caused by RNA viruses of the family Orthomyxoviridae dat only affect Bajans…!

36. ac
    You gotta ask Dr.Porgie to explain de ‘Faith Healers”.
    “the preachers took in a lotta money”
    Ya could blame dem? Dat was de whole idea. Faith Healers my big toe.
    When you say sparkler, you mean starlight?
    I had an experience wid dem dat would go to my grave with me. I tried outing a whole set wid an open slap. Lord Jesus, I had bladders fa weeks pun top a weeks.

BAFBFP
    I hanging on fa de ride. A Vespa or Mobilette?
    Ya gallas-bait.
    Wah is dah 40 letta word ya hittin ma wid? Ortho-sumting. Dah soun like sumting you mek up, knowin you.

37. BAFBFP

The Orthomyxoviridae are indeed RNA viruses responsible for causing influenza, but the common cold is caused by DNA viruses called Adenoviradae.

I discovered while a medical student that what Bajans called a “A Lining Cold’ is poorly pronounced and is really a lying in cold, and was seen in post partum women who caught a cold while “lying in “ in the days when post partum women would traditionally remain in bed after having a baby until the lochia was clear! (Look up lochia LOL)

I cant say a lot about ‘Faith Healers” really.

Now I believe that all healing might involve faith.

I think if you are ill, that you should pray to God, and ask him to heal you if it is his will, and ask him to guide your doctors to come to the correct diagnosis and offer you the correct treatment.

I also believe that sick folk can do as advised by James in chapter five. Call for the elders who will pray and anoint one with oil etc

I believe that the most that doctors can do, is to do what is the correct thing according to the current knowledge and the current accepted available therapy.

God will do the rest. If it his well that you will recover, you recover. If not you depart to one of the two destinations to await your final fate.

I have seen folk who were expected to die while hospitalized, live on for several years; and I have seen folk who appeared to have recovered, or to be in good health just “cock up and dead” as we say in Bim.

I basically think that most so called Faith Healers are charlatans and frauds. That is my opinion.

Whereas I believe in miracles, and that miracles happen every day, I am wary of the hype and sensationalism of so called Faith Healers. I believe that 2 Thessalonians 2 teaches that the next miracle worker will be the antichrist, so I shun miracle workers.

I know that in charismatic circles, another view is held. But I have shared mine.

I am wary of anyone who teaches or preaches the Word of God for what Peter in 1 Peter 5 calls filthy lucres sake- i.e. for profit.

I have no problem with religious leaders being paid (although they are not in my church group) because Paul teaches in Timothy that a workman is worthy of his hire.

I do not at all condone these television evangelists and pastors who fleece their flocks and who ever else they can find to rob.

38. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“… the common cold is caused by DNA viruses called Adenoviradae”
    ………………………….

Now now GP… most cases of the common cold (close to half) are caused by RNA viruses belonging to the Picornaviridae family… more specifically, the subcategory of rhinoviruses. Adenoviridae typically account for far fewer cases.

GP… I am told that cochineal juice was the remedy for a lining cold 🙂
    Here are some other “Long Time Remedies” from Lord Relator…

“Nowadays if you sick you in plenty pain,
    Because it aint have good medicine again.
    Nowadays people does be sick for a week,
    Long time, one day you sick, next day you on your feet.
    I living at my granny so I bound to know,
    You can’t beat a remedy of long ago…”

39. Dr.Porgie
    Mawnin.
    What is your take on (1) ‘getting in de power’ and (2) ‘talking in tongues’.

Bradley432
    Mawnin.
    You have any pics of de ol’ currency? I would love to see a cent, penny and 50 cent.
    Tell ma yes.

40. Lovin’ Arms – Millie Jackson

41. MME

It would be good to get the other verses. I can’t understand most of it; accent and noise got me lick up. Anything you can do for us?

42. Micro Mock Engineer
    You betta be careful… you lookin’ tah get ruff up in hey taday.

Bonnie
    You eva had a linin’ col’..?

Georgie
    I brace fah a lash or two, but da is all you sen..? Stupse… tell yah de truf I always wondered why only women use to complain ah dis linin’ (Lying in) col’. Now I know. I owe you padre..!

Incidentally “Lochia” is a genus of moth of the Noctuidae family… It has nothing to do with is post-partum vaginal discharge, containing blood , mucus , and placental tissue.. Disgusting…Shame on you Porgie!

43. BAFBFP
    Ya struction-mekka.I gun ask Dr.Porgie ta read de beatitude bout ‘peace-mekkers fa you. Ya instigata.
    But no, I nevva had a linin-col (lying-in,’cording to de doc). I nevva evva had de flu. De worse I’ve had is a tonsillectomy due ta chronic sinusitis.So I does got ta be very careful how I put big tings in my mout, especially down my troat. I does ‘kek’ very quick. But dah doan stop me from eatin.Tek dah.
    Ya vagabond.

‘Post-partum vaginal discharge wid blood, mucus,placental tissue”
    De discharge part soun real sweetttttttt but I in familia wid de otha people i.e:blood, mucus etc.
    Ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww,grossssssssssssssssssssss.

44. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Here are the verses…

Nowadays if you sick, you in plenty pain,
    Nowadays if you not well, you in plenty pain,
    Nowadays people does be sick for a week,
    Long time, one day you sick, next day you on your feet.
    I living at my granny, so I bound to know,
    You can’t beat a remedy of long ago.

Long ago, if the cold giving you trouble,
    Bois cano, black sage tea or some soft candle.
    Vervine, christmas bush or chadon beni,
    Bound to pass your cold immediately.
    It is my belief, you could settle yourself with soursop leaf.

I say we have a right to take example,
    And try to live like the old people.
    Because as a youngster I realise,
    The old people way of living was really wise.
    Is only recently, look, I find it strange,
    Old people used to live to a hundred and change.
    ‘Cause anything gone wrong with they body,
    They could find a suitable remedy.

A long time purge to clear your bladder,
    Castor oil, sweet broom tea or a bush senna.
    Burn bread water was a cooling of class,
    And children with worms used to take worm grass.
    Well doan find I fast,
worm grass used to show the worms where to pass.

I done make up my mind,
    To live like the people of the olden time.
    I living at my granny and I cocksure,
    Anything wrong with me, she could find the cure.
    Modern day medicine is really disgusting,
    Just two small tablets cost a dollar and something.
    I say this kind of thing is too expensive,
    So is like the old people I gone to live.

Remove all the blue blood you get from blows,
    With a good dose of egg, nutmeg and aloes.
    And if you happen to suffer with gas,
    Hot orange peel tea bound to make it pass.
    Well doan find I fast,
    Hot orange peel tea bound to break your gas.

These people like they make this thing a study,
    They always first class with dey remedy.
    Any part ah de family that looking sick,
    They could always fix up a remedy quick.
    You could have the cold, you could have the flu,
    If it come, and in case yuh cyah number who?
    No need to panic, no need to worry,
    All you want was an old people remedy.

Now if you had fever from head to feet,
    Kuzay maho, grain en bas feuille or mapiurite.
    Jump-up-and-kiss-me or man-better-man,
granny backbone,
    Minny root or zebafam.
    And if you had asthma,
    It was legal to use some marijuana.

45. @kiki
    love the song.I wonder what happened to her .Don’t make music like that anymore.

I think one of the “faith healers” name was pastor Maurice Cerullo.

46. @Bonny Peppa

I hope you listen to the song by Millie Jackson. Appropriate for you and Rok.

I think the “faith healer name was Maurice Cerullo.

47. @Micro Mock
    Thanks for the words to that song from Lord Relator.

…to cut a long story short, You can always depend on Bush Tea…..
    ROTFL

….spread the word brother. LOL

48. Bonny Peppa

I think that (1) ‘getting in de power’ is NONSENSE- cant see any Biblical warrant for it.
    I am not a big fan of (2) ‘talking in tongues’ or glossalalia either. But that would call for a long discourse to explain that. Perhaps we will have a thread on that some day, and the charismatics can come and debate that.

Micro Mock Engineer
    “… the common cold is caused by DNA viruses called Adenoviradae”
    ………………………….
    Now now GP… most cases of the common cold (close to half) are caused by RNA viruses belonging to the Picornaviridae family… more specifically, the subcategory of rhinoviruses. Adenoviridae typically account for far fewer cases.
    GP… I am told that cochineal juice was the remedy for a lining cold 🙂

Now MME, I’m a Biochemist, or Pharmacologist but not really a Microbiologist.

I was quoting from one of the most popular texts used in the USA for teaching MicroB!

But thinking back to 1978 when I did my MicroB exam, you sound “right-ish!’

49. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

LOL BT… to bring some balance back to the discussion… some of them remedies would poison yuh fast enough if yuh doan take dem in carefully measured doses. Then there are others that have been outright menaces to society… like Jamaican ‘white back’ tea which causes veno-occlusive disease (VOD) of the liver.

GP… I will settle for “right-ish”. 🙂

50. @ac

That song blew my mind the first time I heard it. Have not heard it in a long time. It was said that her husband wrote that song before committing suicide.

@MME Thanks for the words. Worth doing some research on.