Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. Please note that those last 2 Anonymous were my posts

2. @ Dr. Georgie

I made a mistake above. It was not Michael Jordan, but Michael Jones. Tall, dark and handsome. I met him years later in Toronto. I think he went on to university.

re Gospel Hall.

I went to the Gospel Hall, my paternal grandmother’s church until I was ten or eleven, when my maternal grandmother decided I should join her church the Anglican and get confirmed.

I enjoyed the Gospel Hall, where they actually did preaching and did teach. It was different in the Anglican church where the minister did everything and sometimes just talked and did not really preached from the scriptures but on social issues.

I found it quite boring and always found something to think about. In fact, I dont think I listened much. However, I enjoyed going to funerals. I was in the choir and we each got 50 cents for singing at the funeral. We used to discuss who would die next. lol.

3. Interesting.

There is a good book out for over 10 yars now called 1oo years of the Brethren in Barbados, which points out that the Brethren Church in Barbados was largely begun by women who had come over from Guyana to convalesce at Batsheba. The result was assemblies at Melvin’s Hill, St Elizabeth Village and Belleplaine.

There is also one at Airy Hill, but that started years later.

I also had that experience of singing at funerals and weddings at Ch Ch Parish Church. We used to call it “robing for a funeral or wedding.” I started at 25 cents in 62 and by the time I left in 68 I was gettiung 80cents. The men used to get $1 but they didnt pay the women- I dont know why. We didnt have too many girls in our choir. The organist didnt like girls.

Were you at school when Patsy Callendar was one of Barbados’ leading athletes. She used to clash with Clover Arthur from QC when the Government Schools went up against the private schools.

Were you at Modern with Gemel Ashby and Cleveland Yarde the distance runner. He got an athletic scholarship.

4. I don’t care if

5. If wanna call me

6. CHILDISH

900 BAM!

7. Pat

How come you went to Crumpton Street High in de sixties, I t’ought dat it was fah boys only!!! Unless you got a dual id, Patricia one day an’ Patrick de nex…!

8. @BAFBFP

“900 BAM!”
    …you are totally beyond help!! ROTFL

Ya gallows bait!!!

9. @BAFBFP – Pat’s school

She said Lynch’s Modern High School.
    Go back and check.

10. @ Dr. Georgie

I must get that book. My grandmother always warned us about getting too close to “visitors” at the bayhouses. She said they all had TB and were up there, at Bathsheba, for the fresh air to clean their lungs. lol!

The standard rate for the choir was 50 cents. However, if the person was well to do, more was charged and we would all get $1. Of course, we all prayed that the shop keepers, hotel owners, plantation owners, etc. would die.

I was at school with Patsy Callendar and her brother. I knew Cleveland as well. Patsy was nice. She used to come and visit me when I was in Form 6 to chat. Apparently she liked me. Only thing was, I was not aware she was into girls. She was below me in school and snob that I was, I never socialized with any one in a lower form. It was not seemly. So, she would come and sit at lunch time or break, just to shoot the breeze. Or so I thought!

@BAFBFP

I did not go to Crumpton Street High. Those lads who reached 19 years of age and did not do well, were sent to my school by the parents who wanted them to continue and perhaps (big perhaps) get some GCEs.

We also got lads from Foundation and Combermere. I remember one girl from Foundation who is my friend to this day. There was a lad from Combermere, Duncan Dillon Morris, whom my girlfriends said was in love with me. He used to stand in the veranda and ogle me when I was sitting at my desk in lunch time. His eyes, according to them, followed me everywhere. However, he never said anything, so I never paid him nor they any mind. (Of course, the poor fellow was probably over awed.)

Come to think of it, we also had boys from Rudder, in Form 5A one white, the other black came over during my year.

I dont remember any from the Lodge School. That does not mean that they did not come. They could have been in 5A science, or heaven forbid 5R (Removed – those who wrote GCEs and did so poorly were trying their hands again).

At my school you were popular not because of what your parents had, the spending money you got, etc., but for what was in your head. So, naturally, the smart hung out together and walked around like peacocks, strutting and fanning the asses all over the place. We got away with murder!

11. Pat

Your grandmother was correct. Those women who came from BG had malaria and other “tropicl diseases” – maybe TB too! But going to Batsheba was the thing for respiratory diseases.

When I was first at HC there was indeed a 5 remove from which chaps who failed the GCE exams were really removed!

Seems you gave the boys a hard time!

12. @Pat , I was only about 6 yrs old, when I went with my mother and the rest of our Hillswick family to Bathsheba , just below the Basin, when a frail looking man walked into the sea,and everyone else quickly walked out.
    I had mentioned earlier, that most of poor people who contracted TB were isolated in the Almshouse TB ward, but like those who could afford to come to Bathsheba , it was a horse of a different colour.And many of the poor people who unknowingly tended or served these people eventually were affected.
    @Georgie Porgie ,the Airy Hill Gospel Hall used to be referred to as The Tent ,as the galvanised sides opened up like big windows.
    The Melvins Hill Gospel Hall used to be run by a man called Stew Dumpling.

13. Today we talk of ZR vans and Mini Buses, its culture and the crews behavior. But I’ve heard many stories of the late 1930/40’s when similar PSV’S used to operate under the name of ” Fly Buses,”with outlandish names, and the behavior of the crew was not much different from the ZR and Minibus crews of today. They were indiscipline, drove fast ,relative to that day, reckless, and went after every woman on their route.
    There is also on record one of the island’s worst traffic accident when a truck or bus, loaded with passengers went over the Lancaster Bridge and into the gully below.

14. Anyone remembered the Agricultural Officer, the one in our area was Mr St John. He used to regularly visit every small farmer in his area, anybody in fact who had a vegetable garden,and would not only give them advice on the latest developments in agriculture, but he also recommended to each farmer which particular crop that he should concentrate on.In this way there was never a glut of one product and shortages of others as we see so often these days. Mr St John’s office was in the field. He also collected legs or shoulders of pork from individuals a few months before Christmas, an would have a ham cured and ready by then.

15. Bradley432
    Interesting note about Airy Hill Gospel Hall. This information was not in Catwell’s book on 100 years of the Brethren in Barbados.

The author laments that he had great difficulty while doing his research for the book in getting good information from elderly members, as they thought that the idea of recalling the incidents was not spiritual.

However, the same folk would speak glowingly of the evangelistic campaigns held in the Stell shed by the revered Willie & Wildish (from Jamaica) in the 40’s.

16. Bradley432

Your comments about the Agricultural Officer in your area, speaks volumes about the quality of the men who served the people in that day, and to the fact that without men of a certain quality that technology and increasing knowledge is of little help.

Proper programs require proper personnel.

17. @GP

As you know the existence of the closed brethren in Barbados is laced with alot of folklore. Is there any truth to them not using computers and the like? Please demystify if you can.

18. The Closed Brethren is indeed a mystifying subject. One of the stories is that they are strict about marrying outside the faith. As a result, there were reports of a nursery that kept their deformed children away from the public’s eye.

I had a very good friend who was a member of the Closed Brethren and the stories he told about the strengths of the Brethren revealed the clout which they had and probably still have in Barbados

19. ROK,
    You’re the banana leaf ’round my conkie.

I was and still am kinda scared of the Closed Bretheren, The ‘Tie-Heads’ and the Masonic Lodges.
    Kinda spookey ta me. I could be just ignorant to the fact.

Bradley432
    That horrific accident at Lancaster gully involved a lorry loaded with agricultural workers going either to or from work. Only one or two persons survived, i think.
    I ask you if you remember the incident with the Water Authority truck a few years ago and you would not answer me at all. Wah happen man? You getting slack hear?

20. BAFBFP
    You say dat some persons FEEL dat I have a screw loose but I KNOWWW dat you have a few dat back-off too.

Ya madmanzz.

21. @Bonny ,about the Water Works truck, I replied but it came out Anonymous, the same very one you referred back to me.

22. There was also the Sanitary Inspector, most of whom were big imposing men. Dressed in a khaki pants and a matching khaki tunic , black boots and a Cork Hat. And at his side was a enamel ladle,which he dipped into the water barrel checking for larvae. He would also come into the back yard and check for items conducive to harbouring rats and mosquitos. But you just had to hear that the Inspector is in the next village on his way, and by the time he reaches you everything would be in ship shape.I have never known an Inspector to report anyone under the Health Act, in those few cases where things were not right, he’ll give the householder a bit of time before he returned. But not all of these inspector were male, St Joseph broke that tradition and appointed two ladies as Inspector, both of whom are still very muck alive today.
    After these Inspectors came the Aedes Egypti guys, or as they were known, Mosquito Chasers

23. Kareem Abdul Jabbar just announced that he is suffering from a rare form of leukemia. One or both of his parents are from Trinidad and I remember him visiting Barbados in the 60’s. At that time he was still known as Lew Alcindor and he agreed to play an exhibition basketball game, unfortunately there were no shoes in his size on the island and the game was cancelled.

The main venue for basketball was the YMCA and one of the early coaches was Erskine (Easyboy) Dottin.

24. Sargeant
    You mean the same Easy Boy that used to walk through town with a million styles? And walk slow,slow,slowwwww.

Bradley432
    It is true about the inspector. Our inspector back then was Tony Miller, the late Vere Miller’s brother from Spooners Hill.
    All the yards would be spic n span and de J’s fluid knocking ya down.
    My inspector don’t bother to go in my yard now either because it is always spic n span. If I done cook, he would eat he guts full, drink sumting and be on his way.( dat is me n you secret, ok?)

25. @David
    With respect to the Closed or Exclusive Brethren.

Much that is spoken of the Closed or Exclusive Brethren is basically mis information and misunderstanding.

There are as you know three Brethen Groups in Barbados and little is known about them really. Much can be gleaned from Sylvan Catwell’s 100 years of the Brethren in Barbados. There are 13 Gospel Halls in Barbados, then there are another group of Brethren that meet in Welches Ch Ch, in Bridgetown near the Hospital, one group near the Stadium, one in White Hall, and another near Sturges in St Thomas at Chapmans, I think it is called. The third group is the Closed or Exclusive Brethren, which has largely dwindled away, or is dwindling away.

The Brethren or Plymouth Brethren (because in the earliest days in the 1800’s the largest group met at Plymouth in England) originally begun in Ireland , when a group of Anglican clergy men and their friends led by JN Darby sought to interpret the Scriptures properly at the end of the dark ages when reading of the scriptures was largely suppressed by the RC church, and gross misinterpretation of 2 Peter 1: 20. Knowing this first, that no prophecy of the scripture is of any private interpretation.

The original Brethren were generally well educated and wealthy men, and in the first 30 years of their existence the teachings of the group had extended fear and wide throughout the world, as these men were able to go hither thither and yon as missionaries at their own expense.

Darby, himself besides being a priest had got a law degree at Oxford with first class honours. His translation of the scriptures and his writings are often to be found in the bibliographies of very good Bible commentaries and serious articles where the Word is rightly divided.

But Darby was a very austere and autocratic man, and this led to the first major split in the Brethren Church- which became the Closed or Exclusive Brethren, primarily because they carried the doctrine of separation from the world system to its zenith.. This has given rise to the folklore, and mystery.

But there is really no mystery as such if you understand the doctrine that they have obviously embraced to the exclusion of all else.

Not using computers and the like would be an example. All serious born again believers believe that they should be separated from the world system but don’t necessarily take it as far as the Exclusive Brethren. Marrying outside the faith is another plank taught by all Evangelical Christians as it is taught in (2 Cor. 6:14, “Be ye not unequally yoked together with unbelievers: for what fellowship hath righteousness with unrighteousness? And what communion hath light with darkness?” This is not a doctrine held only by the Exclusive Brethren.

The Closed Brethren as well as some non exclusive Brethren had and probably still have much clout in Barbados, and in many of the neighbouring islands.

For example, when I was a student in Jamaica, I had a friend who told me that a member of the Open Brethren in Kingston only had to take a letter of commendation from one of the elders of his church and he could easily get a job at any of the Brethren owned businesses. Brethren both Closed & Open in the islands tend to be involved in legitimate businesses. In the same time period of which I wrote, the Jamaican Government only fooled around with their currency after consultation with a certain elder who owned Jamaica Mutual Insurance. So it is true that Brethren have had much clout in many countries.

There is nothing really wrong with the Exclusive Brethren. They put their emphasis on the doctrine of separation, whereas the SDA group put theirs on “a day” and on believing that keeping the law is necessary for salvation, which is of course contrary to everything taught in the NT.

One of the reasons that very little is known about Brethren most places, is that they do not proclaim themselves to be a denomination . This is because they had never planned to be such. It is for that reason that Brethren meet in plain halls or assemblies (never called churches) and why they refer to themselves as just……….Brethren.

There is nothing at all spooky about the Brethren at all, and they can not be classified with either The ‘Tie-Heads’ and the Masonic Lodges.

The most popular study Bible around the world is still Schofield Reference Bible, and one of the premier Theological Seminaries in the world is Dallas Theological Seminary whose first President was influenced immensely by Schofield who was Brethren.

There are much interesting information online on the origins of the Brethren and the several splits within the group, as well as the influence they have had universally.

I wrote my Master of Christian Education thesis on Whither the Brethren in the Caribbean 8 years ago, when I observed them in St Kitts (not Closed or Exclusive) .

26. BP

The slooowwww moving “Easy Boy” is a different character.

27. Thanks GP, only question arising is the possibility of inbreeding among the CB.

28. I dont think that has been a problem, because of migration, the dying out of older exclusive adherents, transfers to other more conservative groups etc.

29. With respect to the Public Health Inspectors, I had the great joy to listen to the Father of Barbados Public Health, the late Sir Maurice Byer, as he recounted the origins of our Public Health System from its earliest days at Arlington in Speightown.

He would speak at length of the contribution of “his beloved” Inspectors and the original cadre of Health Sisters.

He spoke of the janitors who would cast the “slabs and risers” that came int use to cover oit toilets. He never spoke of his contribution. You had to get that from the old Health Sisters.

I got to go around and visit the Flight Kitchen and other places of that nature with the Chief Public Health Officer at the time.

In those days every Public Health Officer had his area mapped out, and he could tell you where every “stand pipe” was in his district, and where every pit toilet or WC was located.

Officers routinely sent off water samples from thier districts to the Public Health Laboratory on a regular basis, to monitor the purity of drinking water in the populace.

Long before I learned about the work of the Public Health inspectorate, I had been priviliged to have a brief vacation job in the Public Health lab testing such water samples.

I hope that the quality of Public Health Officer is was it was then. We have much to be proud of with respect to our Public Health Officers, who seldom, if ever use the immense powers they have to proscecute offenders. Instead they are able to persaude the compliance of our citizenry.

30. ROK

“there were reports of a nursery that kept their deformed children away from the public’s eye”

Cannot be true..! Look how public COW, Bizzy and Glyne Julian get over de yars…! Den again dey get way.

Bradley

Please Sir, with respect, I humbly request your indulgence in furnishing the identity of the idividual that came into this world on the day that Janet struck and is today a “Captain of Industry”! I malicious.

When ” the group had extended fear and wide” tells me a whole lot ’bout dem! Same could be said ’bout de Lords and de Wards… Fear and Wide!

So prof I neva see nah White Bajan Brethren marry nah Black one. Dat is part of the exclusion ritual?

Bushman

Totally Dude..!

Bonny

You ain’ dun wid ROK yet? Yah got a man hey wid a slow hand…!

31. @Georgie Porgie.This is the first time I ma hearing the origin and history of the Brethren.I am sure that many other people just viewed it as just another Church of God. But that is not unusual,cause many of us followed either the Catholic or the Anglican without knowing the origin and history of either.
    @ Bonny, an old friend once told me of one of these old Health Inspectors, who had a passion for Cou Cou,and any house on his patch that was cooking cou cou,he made sure he got his .

32. And another stalwart in the community was the Water Works Foreman who used to live at one of the reservoirs or operated from there. They were equipped with bright red bicycles and a brass sounding rod. These guys used to walk the line, and frequently placed their sounding rods over the main pipe line, which sometimes was some 4/5 feet underground. If there is a difference in sound along that line,he knew that there was a leak, which often was not visible above ground.A further series of soundings and he would find the exact spot where that leak was. When he tell the work crews ‘Dig here”, he was always spot on. We lost these dedicated men an a good and efficient water service when the Barbados Water Authority was practically de-centralised. A leaking pipe was attended to almost immediately.A man used to walk around with washers in his pocket fixing leaks at stand pipes. The stand pipes were frequently cleaned and white -washed.
    Tonight we hear the General Manager of the BWA talking of a further Desalination plant or importing water from Dominica, both of which he said would probably see another rate hike,as no body will bring water here for nothing.Which is not exactly true,as we have an ample free supply of water every time it rains, but we allow it to run off into the sea.Stan at the top of Horse Hill on a rainy day,and see the muddy water miles out in the sea at Cattlewash. Once every plantation all across Barbados had a network of suck wells that ensured much of the rain water found its way down into the aquifers.

33. The closed brethren still have their nursery and primary school somewhere off Welches Road between Carrington Village and Government Hill. My cousin who is a teacher for the disabled was interviewd for a job there. It paid more money, but she turned it down. I did not ask why. She now teaches at one in Perry Gap off Roebuck Street. Also private, it is funded by local businesses, I understand.

I understand that it is against the religion for the wives to work. Lots of the ones I knew in the 60’s has to migrate to find partners. I understand that marriages were also arranged. They all seemed to have loads of moulah and lots lived in Belleville.

34. @Bonny, check out the persons who made speeches at the recent Independence Lighting Ceremony and I am conVince that you will find spot Janet Boy.

35. @ Pat a neighbour of mine once visited a home where three of these Closed Brethren ladies lived. Like any good Bajan he found himself in the verandah, looking at world passing by. Later he was reprimanded by the fellow who took him there,because as single women ,no man should be seen there. My neighbour commented that these women were in the act of murdering a couple guys there, Mr Johny Walker,and Mr.E.S.A Fields.
    But I understand that the men now go down to Argentina for their brides.
    But have you ever noticed that many of the Close Brethren live in some exclusive enclaves,while some of their own “brothers and sisters” are excluded.Almost like the Mormons.

36. BAFBFP

I don’t think the Brethren extended any fear anywhere My post should have read FAR and wide. I have never seen any White Bajan Brethren marry nah Black one either, nor have I seen it among Bajan Methodists or Anglicans etc Ah lie?

I am not Closed Brethren, so I cant tell you about their rituals. I can only report what I learned from my research about the Brethren.

Bradley wrote many of us followed either the Catholic or the Anglican without knowing the origin and history of either.

The Anglican Church came out of the RC church in the time of King Henry 8th when he could not get permission to divorce his wife from the Pope.

The RC church evolved from the merger of church and state by Constantine in 313AD Later pagan rituals were added.

The Methodist Church evolved from the Anglican church. The Wesley brothers were sons of an Anglican minister.

Watch now………watch

37. Georgie

Eventually we will get to The Rev Apostle Dr. Holmes Williams, the most sucessful pastor in de histry ah Ba’bados..! Me ah Atheist… how I fit in to de scheme of things..?

And speaking about church, is it not true that de White people (sorry wHite folk) would go tah church early fah de firs’ service tah avoid… well just tah be firs’ in de building? Good ol’ days .. ha ha ha …

38. @ Bradley432

Please Sir, with respect, I humbly request your indulgence in furnishing the identity of the idividual that came into this world on the day that Janet struck and is today a “Captain of Industry”! I malicious.

39. @ Bradley

You are right about Argentina. A brother and sister did move to Argentina for spouses. The girl is still there, but the brother who moved back to Barbados then moved to Australia. One sister still lives in Barbados and also several brothers.

Do you m ean to say that these ‘ladies’ drank? ha ha ha!

40. BAFBFP
    You are a hopeless case. But ya swoiteee.

No, I ain’ done wid ROK. Wah we in even start yet.My patience runnin out too. ‘While de grass growin, dis poor-ass horse hay starvin’. But whilst you got a slow han, he got a even slowaaa han. So ya lose out ta he. Na hard feelins doe,rite? He is de reason I breathe, de reason I live, de reason I…………..doan know wah else ta sa, but you get de bigga picture? I just loves he real baddddddddddd. You check de time I postin? Did up all nite just tinking bout he man. Love is strange.

Bradley432
    I din watch de Lighting ceremony so I doan know who spokened. Was it de Minister a Lighting?

Pat
    No, dese ladies did not drank, dey ‘drunk’.(pun intended)

murdaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.

ROK
    Mawnin my ‘salt-fish in my fishcake’.

BAFBFP
    Ya trouble-shoota.
    mwahhhhh

41. BAFBFP

I know little about Holmes Williams and his organization or Church Empire. I believe that the NT advocates local churches as the ideal. And I have noticed that when a local church reaches over 65 members that the fellowship becomes very impersonal. So I have never frequented the Bishop’s Court Hill enterprise.

It has been rumored (fama refert) that as a banker Williams he noticed that church deposits were high and so he started the enterprise on Bishop’s Court Hill, which has been going for over 40 years now.

I believe (not know) that no black man in Barbados would be able to grow a mega church like this or the one in the other location, regardless to how well he taught or preached the Word.

As a boy attending St Lawrence & St Matthias there were white ministers and white folk attended church and sat in seats with their names on for which they paid some fee to reserve them. It is true that at these churches and also at Ch Ch Parish Ch that the whites attended the earlier services at which the attendance of the blacks was sparse.

42. @Georgie Porgie ,wasn’t it Bishop Coleridge or Bishop Parry who objected to slaves entering the Anglican Church as they posessed no souls?
    Pat will tell you of the original St Joseph Parish Church, on the Frizers Road,which had standing room only for the neighbouring plantation and factory managers to worship on Sundays.

43. Phewwwww! That is at least half the tasks done. Could raise the head for a breath of fresh air after that BL&P rate hearing. That thing cayh we to the baller.

Bonny, you would not believe that I lost it. I lost it. I ain’t talking about FTC now. I can’t understand how I does lose things so nowadays. I was too shame to tell you before.

BAFBFP, you better quicken up that slow hand you walking pun and get out of town. You see wha Bonny calling you? My BP calling you? and you flirting in front my face. Respect due. Next time catch a tube and head to good old days of our lives. Wunna young people feel that wunna bold and beautiful but wunna only young and restless. Got to get Dr Paul for wunna. LOL!

44. yawn !!!!

45. ROK
    Wah you lost now? You playing wid de gallows n tekkin um fa de door post. Tek um lite.
    Anyway, what ever it is dat you lost, I will replace my Spooka-spook. But I doan know wah ya lost.(teeheeeeeee)
    BAFBFP poses no threat to you Boo. He knows it and they all know it. I pledge my love for only you Sweet-cheeks.

Bradley432
    Ya in gimma nutton ta ‘skin’ bout recently. My mout, dat is.

BAFBFP
    Ya demon.

POOPERTALLIAN
    n farttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt

46. Here is an extract from the draft of a book provisionally entitled ” Behind the Nigger Yard”,which I hope to publish some day,before I fade away On those Sundays that I did enter the church I would have seen ,and taken for granted, that distinct demarcation line separating the blacks from the whites in the church.
    Those pews nearest the altar, and presumably,the Lord,were numbered and carried names on them,like a private box at Kensignton cricket oval, or the Turf Club grand stand.These seats were reserved for the surrounding plantation managers and thier families.
    The owner of Castle Grant plantation and his wife would occupy the entire pew.I cannot recall seeing many of the plantation children coming to church. Sunday school for them was a
    definite no-no. Could you imagine the plantation child and the nigger yard child sitting down together singing,” Jesus wants us for a sun beam” or ”We are but little children”. Behind them would probably be the manager of Blackmans plantation,occupying,separate pews. Behind or alongside would be the managers of Andrews sugar factory,provided that the factory mill was not grinding canes, Andrews plantation, Fisherpond plantation. In all a handfull of privilege people, numbering no more than 10, were occuping seating that could accommodate some 50 or 60 people.This was a display of colonial domination in its highest form.
    Behind this privilege lot would come the blacks , packed away in the available seating left,in some cases like cattle. Please note that the use of the word “cattle” here is being used in the modern context,because in those days the plantation animals were allotted more ample living accommodation in the wall structuresd barns, than most of the workers from the plantation tennantry.
    The privilege ones also enjoyed the privilege of taking Holy Communion first. After all, it was not on to have the Great House folk sharing that communion cup with the Tenantry people, however sacred that cup may be .
    The church sextons,at that time,could be best described as a clone between an Army Sargeant-Major and a pitbull dog,and woe betide any black son of a bitch who found him or herself sitting in one of those sacred thrones that were reserved,or to be more precise purchased,for the planter class, even if those particular folks were not at church. And when this happened ,it would be seen as a bit of comical entertainment by the other blacks,and this incident would be used later to ridicule and belittle that person ,as he or she would have been seen as a stupid,ignorant,uneducated or foolish person,to dare attempt to sit in the special peoples seat. This was akin to mutiny.
    The sexton would openly and unceremonously shooed the offending person back to the nigger yard section at the back of the church .
    These things I have personally witnessed up to the late 1950’s.And to think that the the motto of that particular church is “God is a spirit and they that worship him must worship him in spirit and in truth”. Seems to me that it was the plantation owners who were being idolised in the flesh.
    People were ,and to some extent still are, conditioned into believing that what was going on in the church was right , and that this was how the good Lord wanted the situation to be. If the many white priest at that time had told the blacks,”In my fathers kingdom they are many mansions,but you will only enter that kingdom ,from sunup until sundown working as gardeners and maids”.They also would have believed that that was the will of the Lord.
    Of course ,as far as the church was concerned there was an economic aspect in influencing the church’s hierarchy to behave in this disgraceful manner.It was a simple manner of dollars and cents(or pound ,shillings and pence as was the currency of that time).The plantation owner,obviously had the means to support the church very well.His contributions on Sundays,probably amounted to more than what he paid his entire household staff, including the gardener, for a whole weeks work
    When the church celebrated its annual harvest festival,which was in fact a blessing mostly for the produce of the plantation,the best and biggest yams and sweet potatoes, and canes would be provided by the plantation, and artistically displayed in the church on Harvest Sunday.Next day,these goodies would would put more money in the church’s pocket as the local hawkers queued up to purchase these items for resale in the streets or markets of Bridgetown.
    During light working periods on the plantation fields, the manager often would send some of the labourers to clean around the church yard.
    The church warden(not a Sexton or church official) ,was a sort of local government officer,by appointment and not by election,and naturally comprise most of the plantation owners. That was a happy ,albeit, immoral, marriage between the Anglican church and the Sugar plantations.
    But this sad state of affairs came to an abrupt end when a “rebel” black priest was appointed to that church,and in no uncertain terms told the congregation as from the next Sunday there would be no special seating arrangement.

47. @Bradley
    AS I read your excerpt one thought kept entering my mind and that is “What you mtght have been thinking seeing the races being separated in the church”

I am still awaaiting a verification on the name of the newspaper “beacon” I know their was more than one newspaper back then.

HI Bonny Peppa.
    Waiting to hear dem wedding bells /Rok

48. ac
    You gun hear dem wedding bells, Sweetie. Even if it is at gun-point. Ya gun hear dem. ROK knows it too.

Bradley432
    You rememba de ‘egg-beater’? It looked like a whisk but had a lil handle to hold n turn to ‘lick-up’ anyting?

Then ya had de sewing machine dat ya had ta turn wid ya hand. Lord mek peace, I had one a dem and when I mek two pants fa my sons, by de time I done mek dem pants, my arm muscle-bound. I had one and I loan it to a Primary school for their Independence exhibition and dem like da faget de address. Dat was ’bout 15 yrs ago. Dem probably still using um.

49. Bradley432
    My sewing machine was a Bluebird. Not a Singer.