Submitted by DLP Source
Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley

The two of the most uncouth people known to the Barbadian people, in Mottley and Forde reportedly walked out of the last evenings National Independence Celebration event, this  event  is a National event and good manners would suggest more from them than this very poor showing of bad manners.

They walked out at the end of the entertainment program and as a mark of total disrespect to our Governor General and to the Forces on display at the event and even more so to the good people of Barbados who pay their salary, they left the venue of a National event in a huff and puff. I am really disappointed in their lack class or occasion this lot needs to put the politics aside at times such as these National events and show political maturity but not even that can they get done in the name of what is good for Barbados and its people.

I don’t know what prompted them to take offence but it was a clear message that they were unhappy with the evening and being there, National pride and a more mature politician would have made it their business to sit and observe the program to its conclusion.
I do not know what prompted them to walk out but the two of them chatted and were discussing something in the program booklet and then made a swift exit.

Member of Parliament Cynthia Forde

Good manners would dictate a different set of behaviour and a better show of manners, that is provided these persons understand what an evening like this represents and what it stands for. ‎​It was a most sad display of childish behaviour, as I just said to very good friend that this was a National event not a DLP or BLP one and something that should be supported across the political divide but thanks to the lack of political maturity and good sense Mottley and Forde threw good judgement thru the window and acted with a degree of selfishness that is indicative of an offensive politician.

My sincere advice to them both is to rethink their method of operation and refrain from their constant negativity and become more positive in their outlook and assist the Nation with being part of the solution rather than being part of the cause of the problem, a word to the wise is enough.

237 responses to “Did Opposition Members Walk Out Of The National Independence Program?”

1. @Chris

The noise in the channel is loudest during the 9AM-5PM 🙂

Agree with Checkit-out that this submission is meant to show Mottley in a bad light. That being the case Mottley as leader in waiting MUST be judicious in her public utterances and actions or suffer the consequences.

2. Thank you Checkit-Out.

3. @BU.David…

Thank you for your *very* interesting response…

From your immediate above, might it also be true that Mr. Thompson, as leader in power, must *also* “be judicious in [his] public utterances and actions or suffer the consequences”?

Please advise.

4. Sylvan Greenidge Avatar
    Sylvan Greenidge

Micah you may better understand the point I made if you do some investigation for yourself. Find out if it wasn’t Thompson, while he was Opposition Leader that said that he was not going to attend ceremonial functions if there were events taking place in his constituency? No one attack Thompson at the time for taking that position because we all accept that on such occasions constituency representatives will be press for time to attend the many functions planned for the occasion and to simply be among their constituents.

Secondly, none of the guest attending the Parade knew before hand or expected the kind entertainment presented, so that none of them could have made the determination as to what session they would have attended. Now clearly it may have been communicated to the GG and that may explain why he was scheduled to attend two hours after the 8.30 pm start. I don’t see how they could have asked the GG to sit through that barrage of foolishness that passed for entertainment.

Had it been communicated to Ms. Mottley and Ms. Forde and some of the other guest that left, that there would have been this bashment thing at 8.30 to be followed by the real Parade, then I am sure they would have altered their engagements – they would have been there for the real Parade. The bashment session was the first of its kind in the Parade. Never before has this happened and that is why I began my first comment with the statement that the pride and glory of our Parade has now been vulgarized.

5. @Chris

The same applies to Thompson but bear in mind this is no zero sum game, we have some soft issues on the perception index to consider.

6. @David: “The same applies to Thompson but bear in mind this is no zero sum game, we have some soft issues on the perception index to consider.

OK… Can we please go “high-bandwidth”?

Can *anyone* tell us:

1. Was there an “official” agenda of the events which *actually* occurred provided to *all* participants before hand?

1.1. If Yes, was this agenda actually followed?

2. Since xxxx.11.30 is the anniversary of Barbados’ Independence, one might have thought that both the Party in Power and those Parties in Opposition would be able to stand tall in what we have accomplished.

Obviously I’m idealistically naive…

Instead those in power try to take advantage of this for their own upside, and those in opposition pull a hissy fit and walk out…

Sigh….

7. Wishing In Vain Avatar

If BU were Mottley’s PR Consultant, Publicist or Political Strategist, we would say to her ‘be very careful of your actions’ but importantly don’t forget there is a centipede in your bed.

What Centipede you really mean a full grown VIPER On See Thru Rum.

8. @WIV…

Please correct me if I’m wrong…

But you refused to answer my questions to you about the DLP’s plans for the promised FOIA recently…

So what would BU’s PR Consultant advise on this matter?

9. Wishing In Vain Avatar

There can be nothing more to say on this matter, the facts are that the two misfits were there and THEY WALKED OUT END OF STORY, there can be no defence of actions such as these, therefore the two are guilty as charged it is up to the public to sentence the two guilty convicts.

AKA Sylvan Greenidge AKA Parro In A Suit, there can be no explanation worth offering for your bad showing of poor manners, you and your lot are totally disrespectful to our countries values and our people.

10. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Halsall,
    Once again may I inform you that nothing you write I take seriously, this is no different.

11. @WIV: “Once again may I inform you that nothing you write I take seriously, this is no different.

Yeah… Right…

Or, perhaps, I ask questions you’re not comfortable answering…

Hmmm….

12. Wishing In Vain Avatar

The question must be would Owing have walked out of a National events as this one was???

13. WIV

Another question might be; Is it possible, or even likely, that the late Errol Barrow, in opposition, given his acerbic, patrician temperament, might have left a function of this type prematurely after sitting through 2 hours of reportedly uneven entertainment?

Another one might be; Was Owen there? and if not, why not?

Another one might be; How many other dignitaries (Politicians of any stripe and Others) left the function around that time?

It seems clear that you are trying to make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear and seem to be succeeding with your troops.

Congrats

14. @WIV…

Or, perhaps, put another way…

Would Owing have been stupid enough to promise something in absolute terms what he never intended to deliver on?

15. Funny how the 15,000 found the program worthy to stand and watch for the entire presentation but neither Mottley nor Forde could sit for two hours to watch it !!!

These are jokers of the highest order.

16. @WIV…

FOIA? FOIA? FOIA?

It is easy to get 15,000 cattle to stand around chewing their own cud…

Care to speak about the promised FOIA?

Or is that “inconvenient” to talk about?

17. they would have been there for the real Parade.

Come on clown this year was repeart a reenactment of the 30 th Nov 1966 did it happen at 8.30 pm last year or did it happen at 8.30 pm on the 30 th Nov 1966 ?

You complete Idiot Greenidge your clowns would never have expected to be finished until after 1.00 am on the following morning, you are really a poor liar coupled with being an even bigger idiot.

Then again I would excuse you for not knowing that none of your people were there last year to represent the blp at this national function, made even more sad that they refused to be present this year when one of their own was awarded.

18. David has the circus lost one of its clowns ??

19. As I said before it do not normally respond to this Halsall person but I find his comment above deeply offensive,

It is easy to get 15,000 cattle to stand around chewing their own cud…

What I find offensive about the comment is why does this person choose to insult Barbadians by describing we Barbadians as Cows ??

Who the hell does he think he is to describe Barbadians as Cows, with a name like Halsall I doubt very much that this is a Bajan name and if I were he I would be more respectful to Barbadians after all we live here and we allow others the opportunity to do so in harmony, we are not cows and Halsall a person.

20. Ah ha!!! I finally got WIV mad enough to acknowledge me!

Now, will he answer my most basic question?

What about the ***PROMISED*** FOIA?

Mooo?

21. As I said before it do not normally respond to this Halsall person but I find his comment above deeply offensive,

It is easy to get 15,000 cattle to stand around chewing their own cud

What I find offensive about the comment is why does this person choose to insult Barbadians by describing we Barbadians as Cows ??

Who the hell does he think he is to describe Barbadians as Cows, with a name like Halsall I doubt very much that this is a Bajan name and if I were he I would be more respectful to Barbadians after all we live here and we allow others the opportunity to do so in harmony, we are not cows and Halsall a person.

22. How dare you have the gall to call the Barbadian people that play host to you 15,000 Cows you are more of an idiot that I first rated you for.

You should be ashamed of what you wrote above you are a classless offensive person.

23. @WIV…

I’m a Bajan, you f’ing idiot…

Care to speak about the promised FOIA?

Moooo….

24. I did say that You should be ashamed of what you wrote above you are a classless offensive person and
    showing your classlessness more by the minute.

Get a life you offensive one.
    If you fail to understand your offensive comment it really is quite a sad state of affairs for you, but may I remind you that the 15,000 persons that attended the ceremony are not COWS as you would like to suggest but people just like you and I and you are totally out of order to suggest that they are cows to have attended this ceremony. DUN WID DAT DUN WID YOU .

25. Mooo? (Translation: Care to speak about the promised FOIA?)

Mooo? (Translation: Or are we, the electorate, supposed to simply accept what we’re given?

Mooo? (Translation: What says you, self-claimed DLP insider?)

Mooo…. (Translation: [self explanatory…])

26. Why would you consider yourself so extra special to be given any information prior to the rest of the nation least so after calling Barbadians COWS you twit.

You will get yours when it is time to get yours maybe you will be able to read about it on BU, there is nothing special or endearing about yourself to anyone so expect no special treatment!

27. sylvan greenidge… go and get a life, you clown. you pimp. you illiterate. i pity you, you pathetic BLP asslicker. you vex because the Dems aint noticing you. stop sending messages to the DLP that you want a job and that you would support the government if they give you a job. deny it, you fool, because you got to be shame but i got to expose people like you.

28. @WIV…

I find your fake outrage less than amusing…

I, and *many* others, find the broken promises of the FOIA et al even less amusing….

29. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Who the hell cares what you find amusing or not???

You are a bombastic idiot so full of yourself it is not funny, when you learn respect and caring for Barbadians only then will you gain respect, we BARBADIANS ARE NOT COWS AS YOU SO SUGGEST, WE TO ARE DEAR LOVING PEOPLE.

30. Is this the same Chris Halsall who usually castigates this Negroman for the descriptions he uses.Well,well,well.
    I am not surprise though because he has the stinking,poisonous white man’s blood running through his shite infested veins and nothing the bastards like Chris Halsall say about Black People surprises me.

Chris Halsall well said.The true you have now awaken.

Chris Halsall,you are in no position to castigate this Negroman.You have relegated Black Barbadians to the level of chattel like your predecessors of America did.

15,000 cows stood and watch our Independence Parade as claim by Chris Halsall.

31. war inna babylon

sad ver sad !

32. @sylvan greenidge. I am not one who agreed with the David Thompson position that national ceremonial events should take second place to constituency activities, even in the context of the Independence Day parade being held at that time on Independence Day and not the night before. I had assumed that these type of events were planned with almost military precision with respect to arrival of dignitaries, and activities and elements withinn the programme schedule. I would agree that attendees should have been notified with regard to the programme schedule especially if it was a departure from last year. Also, as someone who has attended that Independence Parade in the past with a feeling of pride in my country and its accomplishments I wish to object to anyone calling people who would go that ceremony “cows”.

33. Agree with Micah’s comment. It is the reason why we asked the earlier question about the organizers not synchronizing schedules etc.

34. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Micah, This years event follwed the same format as last years’s and anyone with the slightest common sense woul have understood that it was to re enact the event of 30 th Nov 1966 hence it would obviously have gone into 1.00 am plus.

So his argument is a feable one at best and an insult at worse, there is not a single person who set out to attend that function including Mottley and Forde that would have expected an early finish, none not one.

35. Wishing In Vain Avatar

David,the earlier question about the organizers not synchronizing schedules etc.

The only person that this scheduling needs to be done around is the Govenor General, the Prime Minister and his Cabinet have a standing rule that this time is to be made available for this very important function in the islands year of events.
    Can you tell me that the Gov’t will have to request a time that works for Mottley before formulating a program of events?
    If so I can almost assure you that we would not celebrate Independence in this island.

36. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Micah, I too am deeply offended by this half ass describing we Barbadians as COWS and the arrogance and bombastic nature of the idiot he continued to go down the same road of disgust.

I sincerely hope that David will request an apology to the Barbadian people for calling them COWS, there is not much of him that I comment on but his nasty comment that we were 15,000 Cows is in my books a most disrespectful and nasty comment best left for the Masters to describe the slaves during the slave days of trading.

37. “When a phrase is used as a euphemism, it often becomes a metaphor whose literal meaning is dropped. This type of euphemism is used in public relations and POLITICS, where it is sometimes called doublespeak”. …Wikipedia

We have all used euphemisms at one time or other, is this (15,000 COWS) going to become another storm in a teacup? This is not a time to be fussing and backbiting over non-issues, we all know we are not COWS, so let’s move on to what is really of great concern to Barbadians….the state of the country.

38. Sharing some information:

Watch the CARICOM Press Conference LIVE from the 7th WTO Ministerial Conference in Geneva

TODAY

at 11:00 am BARBADOS Time / 4:00 pm Geneva time

To watch the Webcast visit:
    http://gaia.world-television.com/wto/20091130/press_conference/min09_webcast_pressconf_e.htm

39. I’ve read most of the comments on this issue. Some people should be more realistic.

There are times when schedules conflict and one has to juggle events so that no one is felt slighted. This happens to the average layman, as well as to and regardless of political affiliations. There are times when one has no other choice than to put in an appearance as a courtesy, especially to important events, and move on to another, and so forth. This is usually done and should not be viewed as a negative gesture. I don’t see why there is the hullabaloo.

40. EyeSpy, An Official Function To Mark Our 43 rd Year of Independence and you as leader of HM Loyal Opposition cannot make time to be part of this function, she cannot be serious or be expected to be taken seriously by her party or the people of Barbados, service to country is paramount her private affairs come way after.

41. Thank ROK

42. Chris Halsall the Canadian has insulted Black Barbadians by calling 15,000 of us Barbadians who went and observed our national ceremony celebrating our 43 year of Independence cows.

Chris Halsall if he has Barbadian citizenship it should be revoked with immediate effect.Chris Halsall has no legitimate claims to Barbadian citizenship by his unwarranted racist attack on Black Barbadians by his insulting words he used to describe Black Barbadians.

Hartley Henry,Wishing In vain,Carson Cadogan & the others who are in close contact with our Prime Minister must as a matter of decency report Chris Halsall racist,derogatory & insulting language he used to describe us Barbadians that took the time out to participate in an event that is the most sacred to all Barbadians.

David & BU,an apology is not enough from Chris Halsall the mutant with the stinking white man’s blood running through his sh**e infested veins,he should be banned from Barbados Underground.

Chris Halsall,I cannot state on this blog what I would love to do with a stinking mixed up mutant like you,but I know at the end of my actions there would be so much regrets.

43. It is interesting as Barbadians how quick we set out to judge and name call. I completly agree with Eyespy. Why all the negativity? I think if the parade was kept during the day as it was traditionally there would be no problems. It should be a commemorative program not a bashment concert.

44. I must say that CARICOM Press Conference was very disappointing… So many questions to ask. Where were the journalists? What is happening to the media?

This is a case where we have lost so many concessions. Maxine McClean did her bit by highlighting the negative effect of the UK departure tax on Barbados and the Caribbean, but what about the fact that the ACP is now being sidelined by the EU?

The exclusion of paragraph 179 from the new draft agreement is significant. Europe is now closing a deal with the Latin Americans for the supply of bananas; where does that leave us in terms of export? CARICOM is really doomed and Barbados with it.

It was the responsibility of our leaders to deal with the inclusion of similar arrangements as in Article 179. This is now 5 years and they have not lifted a finger to be heard on the special relationship clause. I hope we don’t now turn around and blame the Latinos, although, according to reports we were mere observers in those negotiation; shut out.

One Latin American can flood the EC market, so why not allow our bananas be part of the quota? It certainly does not affect LA banana export but means the world to us. Was this the same strategy they used to kill our sugar industry? Now that we have adopted and depend on tourism, along comes a very prohibitive and probably punitive departure tax.

Some say there is no conspiracy. I wonder what they call all this? Did I hear somebody say we get what we deserve?

45. @ROK

Interesting stuff, you need to tell us more. Maybe you can move the
    conversation to the headline blog.

@all

BU did NOT interpret Chris’ comment as negative; from time to time
    even BU has described Barbadians as ‘sheeple’ to connote being
    passive.

Let us discuss the issues. Chris as a consumer advocate has done more for Barbadians than many politicians and others. Lift the discussion man!

46. Unpatriotic

In the Sunday Sun of November 29th 2009 – a day before Independence – the Prime Minister of Barbados was quoted as having said:

“One of the things that I think Barbadians may have been misled about, was the extremely overly enthusiastic viewpoint that there was some vast, easily accessible store of oil reserves not very far off Barbados that could be easily extracted and pursued and that we, within five years’ time would be the beneficiaries of this windfall.”

Now tell me, If you had the option of believing Prime Minister Thompson and the DLP, who have proven that they do not know what they are doing and keep getting it wrong, or a highly respected international Norwegian Company, which is a global leader that specialises in the offshore oil industry and the interpretation of seismic data – who would you believe?

Halsall, did the Prime Minister lie –again? If there is no oil, then why was Venezeula trying to claim those three blocks?

47. You see how quickly they turn against you Halsall? All those wonderful “colourful” descriptives attributed to you by NM? Everything on this blog digresses down to racism. I am well aware of what you really meant by the term “cattle” but you see how it is interpreted by the brainless racists?

48. I know the DLP is catching at straws and would want to selectively talk about walking-out but isn’t it true that David Thompson not only turned his back – but walked out on Barbadians and the 40,000 policy holders of CLICO and their families and has opted instead to protect Parris and CLICO?

Is it true that on the CLICO’ Crystal Heights Project, David Thompson received $55,000 on every house sold?

Is it true that Ernest and Young New York – has instructed the Barbados Chapter – not to sign-off on the accounts of CLICO Barbados, or certify that its books and accounts are in order, because they are not?

Is it true that there are serious and legitimate concerns that CLICO moved some $600 million out of Barbados, between January and April this year and that CLICO Mortgage and CLICO General, were bled to move that money?

Is it true that when he met with Patrick Manning in Trinidad recently, David Thompson begged him to do something about CLICO Life – else his tenure as Prime Minister of Barbados, will be in serious jeopardy?

Is it true that there are likely to be serious problems at CLICO Mortgage soon?

Now, having mentioned the phrase: “Catching at Straws,” I hope no one accuses me of referring to anyone as: “cows.”

But “cows;” “fatted calf” and “trough” are symbolic to power-dems, who would rather hold on to power than give Barbadians a chance.

49. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Chris as a consumer advocate has done more for Barbadians than many politicians and others. Lift the discussion man.

I Am not sure this as per the above makes it acceptable for him to call anyone a COW, you can dress it up as you would like and refer to a sheepie look but this was no slip of the tongue this was a downright insult to the Barbadian people to be called COWS

50. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Fergusson AKA Greenidge You have some balls to talk on the subject of honesty when it has been proven that you and your clan knew no such word.