roosevelt_king
BANGO Secretary General, Roosevelt O. King

Recently BU family member ROK was mentioned not in a very favourable light on another blog site. BU family members would have expected ROK not to cower but instead to react in the true tradition of his alma mater by Fighting Back!

Read what this is all about by visiting his most recent blog!

280 responses to “BU Family Member Roosevelt King Makes A Stand!”

1. @Bonny Peppa

Your ole bruno was here wondering where you disappeared to.

I was hoping that you had seen the good news that ROKie had for us.

2. Adrian

If you would stop shouting at me for a minute ….

…. and acting like a language maven

(…. learnt that word from you, …. hope I used it correctly)

the penny might drop!!

3. @John
    Should you not be attending to your beloved BFP? They could do with some discussion right about now. Here is an Idea, why don’t you ask your friend Marcus to let me in to post with my real name, and I will join you over there for one of your sessions.?

As always I am none wiser with your many comments. Penny drop??? and I am still lost on your advise to me a couple days ago.

I did not shout. You would not have HEARD it anyway. LOL!

4. @ David,

I was sending a post to ROK and it disappeared. Did it arrive at your place?

Pat.

5. Davey lookin’ fah garillas tah feel up.. I runnin’ .. hoo hoo

AAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhh

6. So sorry Pat but nothing at this end!

BU has seen more than subtle changes in the way people have commented over recent months, the latest action by ROK should serve as an opportunity for all of us to learn and accept we are responsible for positions taken. We continue to abhor censorship and prefer for BU family members and friends to understand the weight of responsibility which comes with operating in a space which encourages freedom of expression. We fully expect some people will mash the crease from time to time but we also expect them to be receptive to feedback and make adjustments as we work together to build the Bajan blogosphere.

Barbadians as it has done in other aspects of endeavour can lead the way not only for other Bajan blogs but all blogs!

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

After this huge embarrassment, what does the future hold for Barbados Free Press?

8. @Carson C. Cadogan

If you have any idea who you are dealing with, they are more than likely planning some sinister retaliation. One thing for sure, they dare not repeat a defamation.

9. @Adrian Hinds
    Airbourne somewhat of a plea is
    interesting. I believe that he knows who started and runs BFP, and as such his comments to ROK could be seen in this light.
    ……………………………………

Delete “”I believe that””

10. This whole episode has been ridiculous to the point of scorn yet, some people seem to think it shows u in a flattering-light. WTF!

11. “Barbados Free Press (BFP) today announced that WordPress.com removed one of BFP’s published stories as a result of an official complaint from the Barbados Association of Non-Governmental Organisations.”

Maybe I jus too bright bo, or too stupid, but it seems to me a world of difference between BFP withdrawing the story voluntarily and willingly and their being forced to do so by WordPress! Maybe it’s just me!! Am I bline?!! How do u perceive this!! In my view they’re both culpable!!

12. I’m sorry to pour cold water on the young man’s crowing but, I don’t think it’s entirely warranted! More honesty in dealings, please!!

13. P.S. I in hear a cock crow for a long time!! Not since I lef Bim!! At lease, not till I came hay!!

Lord!!

14. Well, BANGO must either have real clout in this world (links with the illuminati) or a harm was done to a citizen which wordpress realised is against the law and which wordpress knew it had a duty to correct?

Which one do you think it is? You think that BANGO has so much clout that the owners of wordpress trembled at their knees? You must be really joking. BFP acted illegally. This is what the courts had to say about people like BFP:

“The protection of the right to communicate anonymously must be balanced against the need to assure that those persons who choose to abuse the opportunities presented by this medium can be MADE TO ANSWER for such TRANSGRESSIONS. Those who suffer damages as a result of tortious or other actionable communications on the Internet should be able to seek appropriate redress by preventing the wrongdoers from hiding behind an illusory shield…”

15. For BFP this also means they can’t defame politicians anymore, I notice there masthead is just a picture, oh its a real shame.

Defaming people is how they got there fame, what will they do now and what about there comic section, they better move them because someone else may get the last laugh.

Putting people head on a pig body and all that other stuff cant’ be a joke now!!!

I never seen BU did that any of that.

The real sad tale to all this is that BFP came to light by defaming politicians and beating the Nation newspaper, calling it a “lapdog” paper, which it really is in my opinion, but at least they get paid thousands everyday in advertising to be anyone’s lapdog, I also noticed they ain’t hit on the Nation in a very long while instead moved all their energy to BU for popularity purposes, now they will have to do Rihanna stories again to fill there comments section.

Well all said and done I still want BFP to be around.

ROK what you have done is open up the eyes for others, i’m sure some people are also writing to Word Press for BU so call “racist motivated stories”.

BFP ego has been hurt and you can bet they won’t let this one go.

Some politicians will be writing to Word Press to get there stories removed from BFP most likely.

ROK look what you gone and do.

16. @Hard Facts

“ROK look what you gone and do.”

Man you know I ain’t start it… but you know, on reflecting on what you wrote I can only smile to myself and yes, I had previously given it some thought.

I would hate to think that that with all these bright politicians around here and with all the legal battles already fought and won in the USA that it took me to start a chain reaction. I say that is a joke!

What I think I may have done is alert general users and outline it for them in such a way as to expose the myth… I leave you to figure out the rest because I ain’t that bright.

17. Hey R O K as an aside has the vendors who were owed from the world cup been paid there dues, see you mentioned you represented the under privileged so im just checking

18. ROK’s reply is completely irrelevant to anything which I said, as usual!

One day he might actually see the point!!

Read an lern!! – bout making threats!!

http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/LEAD-sober-UP-copy-for-web

He’s gifted at ‘muddying-the-water’ or red-herrings, I’ll give him that!!

19. @Anonymous

When it come to asking questions maliciously, I intend to ask for identities in the future before I answer… but in this case, yes, every single vendor who worked was paid except for the President and me. Well I ain’t no vendor but she is. We is real idiots nuh?

Tell me something though, are you a BFP operative? Coming to stir up some more trouble? Coming to see if you can get BU bloggers to say “things”? You all not tired of old tricks? Same thing over and over again? Wow!

20. @ROK

I would hate to think that that with all these bright politicians around here and with all the legal battles already fought and won in the USA that it took me to start a chain reaction. I say that is a joke!

In the USA sure but Barbados…wow.

Time will tell.

Still waiting for my thanks of appreciation.

21. can’t remember saying “@Bimbro”. I was actually thing out loud. I had no intention of defaming you, if I did. You know how thin-skinned you can get?

22. @Hard Facts

In appreciation for your contribution, I say thank you.

23. You are welcome and looking forward to future discussions on this blog and even yours which is now in my favorites.

24. Now that the genie is out of the bottle what is to stop some citizen- say Owen Arthur or anyone associated with the BLP to complain about articles vilifying them on this blog? Sauce for the goose sauce for the gander…….

25. @Sargeant

Why state the obvious? If there is a blog posted by BU that someone feels it harms them in a way which they can give reasonable proof, why should they not feel free to challenge? That is what it is all about. BU operates close to the crease and we expect to be challenged on positions we take from time to time. We give a pledge to the BU family that our blogs are written with one purpose in mind, promoting the rights of the PEOPLE! Any politician who wants to challenge let them but the BU family will be told about it when it happens as an FYI.

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ROK

Why has it come to this?
    Barbados Free Press main goal is now to destroy Barbados Underground.
    We need to rally around Barbados Underground.

27. @Bonny Peppa

when ya love is true;
    you never get blue;
    just you and your boo;
    like no other flirt will do;
    or come to your own rescue.

You get the rings Bonny? I frighten to buy a ring especially if you is a small woman; they may say I buying child rings. LOL!

Special thanks for the stand you put up though, at a time when others thought that I was curled up in a corner licking my wounds. It is good to know that people like you had faith because this in turn gave me encouragement to right the wrong. I actually felt the pain of the bullying inflicted on BU bloggers more than any for myself. I really could not leave it like that when it affected so many people.

So thanks again. ssmmmoooocccchhh

28. Anonymous said… /Ruel Daniels

My google id did no work so I had to post this anoymously on the blog linked in the beginning of this thread, hence the name anonymous attached to the comment.

ROK I agree with the action you took. This is not simply about free speech. What we are witnessing with repect to the attacks upon those who dare to tell their story on BU, is the same kinds of attacks that were levelled with the intention of silencing those who dared to challenge the myths and mischievously conceived notions put forth as a representation of the history of peoples of African descent.

In their informative work “BLACK POWER THE POLITICS OF LIBERATION IN AMERICA, Stockely Carmichael and Charles V Hamilton intuitively opined that, quote, “Whenever a number of persons within a society have enjoyed for a considerable period of time certain opportunities for getting wealth, for exercising power and authority, and for successfully claiming prestige and social deference, there is a strong tendency for these people to feel that these benefits are theirs ‘by rights’”. The attacks upon you ROK, and by extension BU where the voices of the traditionally disenfranchised have found a microphone, are influenced by feelings of proprietorship over history, politics and definitions, and the sources are the symbiotic relatives of those these two authors were referencing. Do not bend your back and allow this current day “man” to ride it my friend.

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I have always said that Barbados “Free” Press meant that you are free to agree with them, otherwise you become a target for them.
    Remember their famous line “get your own blog”.

30. Carson C. Cadogan // September 12, 2009 at 9:39 AM

Well someone got there own blog, gave the masses FREE speech and BFP didn’t like that too much.

That Blog is called Barbados Underground.

31. @Carson C. Cadogan

“Why has it come to this?”

You do not know the calibre of the people you dealing with. It is their way at any cost. Just watch. I gine play Garfield Sobers: 6 x 6; 365 and rolling over. All puns intended.

32. ROK // September 12, 2009 at 8:47 AM

can’t remember saying “@Bimbro”. I was actually thing out loud. I had no intention of defaming you, if I did. You know how thin-skinned you can get?

One day you’ll learn to argue honestly and ‘in a stright line’, without dropping red herrings all over the place! I never accused you of defaming me. I did n’t make mention of your defaming anybody but of MAKING THREATS! I suppose you’ll pretend you don’t know which threats I mean. You surely, can’t have forgotten – ’email accounts and tracable addresses, etc.’ – how about sticking to the point, for a change!!

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

It is times like this that I miss BWWR.

34. @BU……What’s up with that photo right in our face. I thought you were doing all right without falling for this BS that is forced upon us by the traditional media, whose job it is to keep us distracted while chasing our tails.

BU, are you gonna keep it real or what?

35. A quote:

Very early in the life of BFP blog the current prevailing perception of it was taking shape. The position taken on the use of the word negrocrat was surprising to many, but then it became clear what it was all about. Many were content to view BFP as the bajan white blog, and BU for all other bajans. Certainly such seperations mirror life in Barbados, so it did not present itself as an effront to most.

BFP consistently attacked BU, having not feared well from such action, and BU has not return or even engaged in liked activity.

As far as I am aware BU has no plans of going on the offensive against BFP, they are quite content with what they do absent of any links or cooperation with BFP. However individuals of their own accord may take a different view.

BFP is not a victim. A better characterization could be that of a bully that someone finally stood up too.

end quote

36. @Hopi

We should have mentioned thanks to a BU family member; we will be rotating banners on a more frequent basis. You may or may not agree with some of the images but they are meant to reflect a theme based on issues which we discuss at BU from time to time. Don’t go over-analysing on us Hopi!

37. @David

I am sensing an approach to the banners which Hopi referred to as an attempt to creatively highlight Barbados and some of it’s personalities in BU news. I therefore hope that “Hopi” is incorrect.

38. @David

You beat me to the draw. It’s different.

“Simple and Creative”.

39. Hopi you want BIMBRO on your tail? Lef the photo, our ealders need reasons to persist..! Yaba

40. “The man called me an “amateur pornographer” which is defamatory and I told him that I will find out who he is and get him for that.”

“be careful Bowman … I sure you are a Jew. Just like foolbert if not foolbert himself. Don’t feel too safe behind your pseudonym because every time you post a message you are traceable down to the street and building you in. I WILL GET YOU.”

ROK, and most people here, if not all, conveniently are ‘forgetting’ the very serious threats which ROK made so, I’ve decided to remind you! So, while you’re busy celebrating ROK’s ‘victory’ you might want to bear that in mind! You can’t deny what’s written big in plain black and white and by the person, himself!!

Of couse, if you’re unconscionable, then it may not make a difference, anyway!!

BAF, I’m trying to stay focus tuday pun ROK!!

Laaaaaaaaadddddddddddddd!!

Plus, yuh know yuh caan beat my girl!! Jus lef she day, man!! 🙂

41. like u now on BFP payroll.

42. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

ROK

You only now realising how treacherous Bimbro is?

There was a time he was on permanent ignore by almost everyone.

He is very thin skinned yet he likes throwing out these nasty remarks at the commentators.

Complete nuisance.

43. @199
    “BAF, I’m trying to stay focus tuday pun ROK!!”

You are anything but Bim or bro. You planning to persecute me. You know you can’t take any insults. You already admit that you are a red man turning white.

How can one threaten a handle? That is so idiotic. In any case if you stab me and i tell you I am going to report it, that is a threat? You turning foolish?

You had better get on your good behaviour. I am minding my own business and you trying to persecute me. I have a right to demand the identity of anyone who defames me. Note that wordpress did not take any action against me but did so against BFP. What does that tell you? If that was such a dangerous threat as you say, then some action would have been taken against me. Do not follow the multitude to do evil. Think for yourself. Persecution is against the law too. It is a mischief in case you did not understand. I will not be responding to you any further.

44. mash up, when you’ve ceased talking nonsense u might like to indicate what ‘remarks I’m throwing out to commenters’ you’re talking about, except quoting your friend, ROK!

Sorry if u feel persecuted ROK, I was simply reminding u, in a most inoffensive way, of the remarks which you yourself made and can’t deny. Anyhow, I did n’t plan to say any more, for now, but then came across the item about Hartley Henry in my local The Nation so, to conclude; whether they’re made by Hartley Henry, you or anybody else, threats r reprehensible and unacceptable. Dat’s all – for now!! 🙂

If u can’t bear to read again the comments which u yourself made in the past, then u can hardly blame me!!

45. You stupid or what. I wrote them and they are not offensive. You are the one being offensive and trying to make people feel that you are not offensive? You are now being more offensive than the words you cutting and pasting.

46. @Bimbro:
    You will have to produce a birth or baptism certificate to
    1: prove defamation of Bimbro
    2: that bimbro is a real person so known

Two unlikely scenarios.

It is truly funny that some people strive so hard for recognition via their anonymous handle. There is a solution if this is the case. lol!

Bimbro your sojourn and longevity at BU is with my blessing, but it is not eternal. Lef ROK alone ha ha ha ha lol!

instead go over to BFP and rouse one PiedPiper from her silence. Poor soul, several places she/it/he went on the internet and became an active participant, disrepute soon followed. ha ha ha

47. Now you’re beginning to sound really silly ROK. I’ve said all I wanted to say for now! ‘night!!

48. You were recently targeted, presumably to increase web traffic. It is not unreasonable to assume that self-interested persons would seek to use you to bring attention themselves.

49. ROK, good advice to self

You were recently targeted, presumably to increase web traffic. It is not unreasonable to assume that self-interested persons would seek to use you to bring attention themselves