roosevelt_king
BANGO Secretary General, Roosevelt O. King

Recently BU family member ROK was mentioned not in a very favourable light on another blog site. BU family members would have expected ROK not to cower but instead to react in the true tradition of his alma mater by Fighting Back!

Read what this is all about by visiting his most recent blog!

280 responses to “BU Family Member Roosevelt King Makes A Stand!”

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Way to go ROK.

2. HARD AS ROCK

3. @David

I think I would like to share this comment from one calling themselves “AirBourne” which was posted on BANGO’s blog. My response to him will follow as a separate post. First his comment:

AirBourne said…

ROK;

We disagree on what young humans should be referred to as…

I also disagree on moderating on what is said on one’s own blog. If a remark is inappropriate or offending then I will handle it accordingly – I do not let someone walk in my house and drink all my booze or eat up my food then insult me.

For me, that is tantamount to what I regulate in my web-magazine. I do not appreciate it especially if they’re anonymous or ad hominem attacks…

Deal with the issue, not what a person may be or how you perceive or wish to perceive them.

While the WordPress subscriber may have created an uncomfortable situation for you and you have every right to defend yourself as best way possible, nevertheless the reason the site engaged in its campaign is that you are privy to details which hopefully if you shared them with correct officials could stop a disgusting situation from perpetuating.

But that is your conscience or civic duty to encourage you, isn’t it? Just a thought, I could be wrong and along with ol’ Smokey, many feel I usually am…

September 11, 2009 5:53 AM

4. @Airbourne

I have no problem with disagreement. I also have no problem with moderation. If that is your policy go right ahead. What I have a problem with is being defamed and definitely I was, because as much as I said that I withheld nothing from the authorities, even now you persist with this nonsense about sharing information with authorities.

I sit and have sat on many committees with Government officials for the specific purpose of sharing information with them. I sat on a committee chaired by the PS in the Ministry of Labour on trafficking in human beings and helped developed strategies for making the public aware. This included agencies like the Child Care Board, etc.

I taught techniques on how to transmit this information to the general public to these same public workers, Labour and Private sector representatives.

I sat on committees with the Police, Immigration, Welfare, Media, etc. I was a Commissioner of the HIV/AIDS Commission; was appointed to the Child Care Board; Was the personal assistant to the Minister of Social transformation taking on problems of poverty and issues that lacked justice on behalf of Barbadian humanity. Got cussed for helping poor people and in the end helping this country maintain its image as a country that cares and therefore to charge me with having information that is not shared is not only erroneous but a downright lie.

Now, you telling me about dealing with issues and not person. Tell me what BFP did, if not dealt with the person? Big and bold they accused me without doing your research and you are here upholding that?

I am a very approachable person and if you really wanted information and a story, you know you could have called on me. Instead, you hide in the bush pelting big rocks and expect me to cooperate with you. BFP don’t have any monopoly on publishing on the internet and all you have done is bring your blog into disrepute in the process of trying to defame me.

I also agree with you that I will not let anybody walk into my house take advantage of my hospitality and then cuss me… but that is what BFP bloggers are doing to BU in your attempt to intimidate and offset; basically wreak havoc on BU. Taking advantage of good hospitality and cussing all of us in the end. So you take your pleas of dealing with issues elsewhere; to those who are blind and cannot see.

5. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I am very proud of you ROK.

You brought down the so-called mighty BFP back to earth.

They thought they were all that,always threatening people when they complained about BFP, to go open their own blog.

Well you not only did that but more.

Ebenezer/pied piper,LIB/rickey george/jack bowman et al put that in your pipe and smoke it.

6. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Did my last post drop out?

7. Went to spam mash up.

ROK as you know BU has a kind of an unwritten rule about commenting negatively about other blogs. The Bajan blogosphere is very young and it is important given the tasks at hand to stay focused and not squabble among ourselves; this may lead to implosion. No doubt others are on the sidelines smiling in anticipation of the possible demise of the Bajan blogosphere, especially those who deal with political issues.

8. The conversation by LIB and others about responsibility, freedom of expression, defamation, privacy etc could be concidered as self serving. LIB continues with it on his blog. Either he was not aware of the BFP malicous article about ROK; I have not seen his comment on it, or he has seen it, agrees with it, but remains concern about privacy issues and online defamatory statements only as they affect him.

Airbourne somewhat of a plea is interesting. I believe that he knows who started and runs BFP, and as such his comments to ROK could be seen in this light.

Associations are online in plain sight for all to see.

9. Rok, the subject you talked about is shown on TV and is common knowledge.
    BFP were over-zealous and acted illegally themselves with a smear campaign.

10. @David
    I made a decision back when it was clear to me, the names behind BFP, not to do anything about it because I believe that they were serving a good cause. When they banned me I still did not feel the need to “out” them. When they clearly showed their intentions to be one sided, Whites vs. Barbados, I still did not see the need to out them. What they have done to ROK changed course for me. I am of the view that any BLACK PERSON is game for them to destroy and so I will fight back.

We are indeed Bajans who will suffer if we do not keep our government in check. BFP has done everthing they could to differentiate between Bajans, in their reporting of events and behaviours, always disclosing about one set of people, and not the others.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Adrian

“always disclosing about one set of people, and not the others.”

That is my problem with BFP too.

12. Secretary General Trafficking BANGO O Rings, child… and Caribbean King Roosevelt Sex Protected …

AAAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhh

13. @David

I understand what you are saying, and I think the answer is in seting blogging standards. There is nothing wrong with anonymity but it has to be responsibly used. I am hoping that my efforts will add to the pioneering efforts of BU, which has set the pace for freedom of speech within the blogsphere; as far as I am concerned.

I agree that it is a new frontier but we need to shape it rather than sit by and wait for its demise. Shape it by calling for and enforcing standards in BU blog and educating people on how to use the blog without crossing the boundaries of free speech and freedom of information. This is the reputation that BU can aspire to.

If we follow the road to standards all those blogs which do not follow will simply fall by the wayside. In the end, politicians are human beings too and should enjoy their right not to be defamed. We cannot leave the politicians to be hunting us down. That in itself is a threat to free speech that can only lead to dictatorship.

We can be critical and we can disagree but let not the smirks on the sidelines be about the demise of blogging but about ensuring that blogging is conforming to rules we can all live with.

Let us stand up and face the problems and let “under the carpet” be kept clean.

14. @David

I would like to say thanks to you and all BU bloggers who gave encouragement and stood up in the darkest hour of the blogsphere in Barbados and fought with conviction; like Hopi and Bush Tea.

Special thanks also to those who had a kind word. People like JC, Robin Hood, Adrian Hinds, Chris Halsall, Yardbroom, Bonny, Carson C. Cadogan, Kiki and MUBB. Reads like a roll of honour.

15. @ROK

The politicians are the ones who attract to brunt of comments which border on being defamatory. We hope the BU family and friends continue to learn about effectively communicating without doing undue harm to reputations.

Two years out possibly from the next general election we still have some way to go, let us learn together.

BU continues to work quietly in the background to make the adjustments we think necessary to safeguard freedom of expression while at the same time respecting the need to do so responsibly.

16. Upon this ‘ROK’ will I build my ‘house’ and the gates of hell shall not prevail.

Well Fake Press played with fire and got burnt, talk about eating crow! Its a pity that Fake Press did not publish the names and identity of those ‘holding court’ in society who are really responsible for trafficking in children.
    And yes they occupy ‘seats of power.’

And yes Fake Press were warned that Black people will no longer sit back and allow themselves to be dicktated to.They figure that they could run amuck thru B’dos with their little shitty blog, by firewalling those of us whose views were contrary to theirs.

Well the winds of change are blowing [ain’t got nuttin’ to do with Barack]. Black folk are coming into self-knowledge and massa days are coming to a turbulent end.

Bro ROK, that resistance is the stuff that real Black men are made of. Never run, never cower. Resist the ‘devils’ and they will flee.

ROK, your stand is commendable!

17. NEGROMAN! NEGROMAN!

@David……….Seeing that Hopi has not always been the most ‘polished’ and at times very contentious blogger [according to my friend Yardbroom] but not without justification, I too, am grateful for the bytes you afford me.
    And I do look forward to learning and sharing here in your sphere [unless they cart me off in some tailor-made orange jumpsuit – ‘Oh God Forbid’].

So BU, keep the data and info coming, use your wisdom and don’t let the detractors deter you.

Long live BU!

Hotep!

18. Well done, ROK. I believe that David started this by alering everyone to the US Supreme Court decision that caused Google to act as it did. So congratulations to David as well.

As for BFP, well, I have long held the view expressed by Adrian Hinds here that a certain person knows exactly who started and is behind BFP. I have to ask if there is a school of thought that they themselves might be involved with BFP. I also believe that BFP and Keltruth are sister blogs.

19. I love my BU family!

Hopi you gave me goose pimples! Thanks for that!

ROK you are the True Man!

20. My comment above!

21. @ROK…

I’m *very* proud of you, as I know many are.

You have proven that one can put your real name behind what you say and believe, and have the strength and conviction to stand up against cowardly adversaries who hide behind anonymity.

It is perfectly OK (and, in fact, I believe, healthy) to disagree. But at least be “man” enough to look those who you disagree and debate with in the eye.

Thanks also to BU.David for creating an environment where such important “test cases” can be conducted.

I am also encouraged that more and more people are willing to come forward with their opinions and arguments with their real identities known.

While I understand that some who comment here (and elsewhere) have legitimate reasons for keeping their real identities (partially) secret, I also stand behind what I said elsewhere here on BU: that a message and its messenger are inseparable.

ROCK ON ROK!!!

And long live BU!

22. Chris, if u caan c through those glasses, why not buy some bigger ones!! U look like u spying!!

lol!!

23. Hopi
    Its a pleasure to see you posting on Bu after a short break.I am sure the other family members of BU missed your immense wisdom & intellect when dealing with many issues especially issues of Race.Welcome back.

ROK I applaud your efforts.The time has long passed for us Black People to fight back against the tyranny of the white man.

White People believe that only them have a monopoly or the right to castigate,criticize,humiliate and ridicule other ethnic groups.Many bloggers of Barbados Free Press especially Pied Piper,Jack Bowman & others have constantly abused contributors of BU including Yours Truly as being sub-literate & racist swine.We were supposed to accept those insults without responding.
    Many of us over here at BU have responding in the manner that we know best and lo & behold all types of accusations ,comments and the like have been thrown at us.

Black People of this world are finally beginning to wake up from our deep slumber and are retaking our position as the dominant race on this earth and that has the Europeans of this world scary as hell.

Black People of this world are not going
    to be dictated to by the white man anymore.

ROK you have done a tremendous job in humbling the white folks over at Barbados Free Press.I hope this will serve as an inspiration to other Black People to stand up for what you believe in and do not be scare because the person or persons you are opposing might be from another ethnic group.

ROK your victory is not only a personal victory for yourself but also a victory for all the oppressed People of this world suffering from the tyranny of the European human pests

24. @Bimbo… Get over it.

Do what I suspect your wife does…

Close your eyes, grit your teeth, and think of England….

25. AirBourne said…

ROK;

We disagree on what young humans should be referred to as…
    ————————————————-

What does Airbourne mean by the above?????

26. @ ROK
    Score one to you ROKie!! Reminds me of when Lara stood up and scored that 400 not out. That is what I call stamina & intelligence.

You did the right thing. You went to the source for justice without screaming & shouting all over the place. I doff my hat ( if I ever wear one!) to you in this instance.

Now what I would like to see here on BU from some of the contributors is less of the screaming & shouting, inuendo etc. and let’s get together like intelligent adults and try to resolve whatever differences may abound. Capische?

Look forward to continuing our verbal clashes. Without any of the rancour, that is!

Keep up the good fight!

27. ROK said “I agree that it is a new frontier but we need to shape it rather than sit by and wait for its demise. Shape it by calling for and enforcing standards in BU blog and educating people on how to use the blog without crossing the boundaries of free speech and freedom of information. This is the reputation that BU can aspire to”. What standards are BU to enforce Rok? Does BU understand standards? Are you speaking of the same blog that is know for some of the most hated and sickening comments known to be posted by the likes of Negroman, et al. Racist comments like calling persons who were murdered “white trash”. By the way just to remind everyone a black homosexual man killed that woman. (I guess he was oppressed by the white man too).
    PS: ROK I commend you for the work you have done and hope you continue to help those in need. H

28. continue: However “Birds of a feather flock together” and your encouragement of people like bush tea, hopi, negroman and the crap they post are hard to swallow.

29. @ROK

Why do you think he calls himself “AirBourne”?

u tink it musse becuz dat all he got between he ears is nuttin but AIR?
    ROTFLOL.

30. @crossroads… Sigh…

You and yours just don’t get it, do you?

Open disagreement, discussion and debate is *healthy*.

Certainly more healthy than censorship.

As a member of certain demographics, I’m perfectly comfortable with others telling me that they disagree with my point of view. Hell, I’m even comfortable being told that I am (and/or my are) hated.

I truly believe that free and open dialogue, and hopefully, understanding, is what will be all our “salvation”.

Censorship almost certainly will not be…

Plus, the empirical…

Please note… Despite all the yelling and screaming by BFP, it was BFP, not BU, that had an article forcibly removed by WordPress.

Hmmmm….

31. Chris, nice answer, if I were married but, why dodge the issue – I’ll send u a large pair uh specs!! awight?!!

32. @JC……..How you doing? Didn’t hear from you in a while!

@Negroman……..Let us ignite the spirit of Shaka Zulu and continue the fight, because the enemy is not letting up. As long as BU permits, I will continue to expose the frauds and share what ‘little’ self-knowledge I learn. And while we’re at it we’ll take no prisoners!

33. robin hood // September 11, 2009 at 1:17 PM
    “Now what I would like to see here on BU from some of the contributors is less of the screaming & shouting, innuendo etc. and let’s get together like intelligent adults and try to resolve whatever differences may abound. Capische?

Well said. I am with you 110%.

34. No one should feel forced to comply with someone else’s wishes. The law however is a different matter. Be mindful of your responsibility, and you are responsible. Argue your point, win the argument or agree to disagree. Some prefer a Holy Ghost Pentecostal preacher, others the staid Anglican priest. Pick your battles and kinds of arguments. I have not heard any screaming and or shouting on this blog. Is such possible? Lol!

35. @Adrian: “Argue your point, win the argument or agree to disagree.

With respect, you’ve missed a very important part of the solution space:

Admit that you are wrong….

36. Adrian

I have not heard any screaming and or shouting on this blog. Is such possible?

All Caps

“This form of typography also appears in on-line forums. It was once an inevitable byproduct of using machines with limited support for lowercase text (such as certain dumb terminals, early Apple II models), but as full support of ASCII became standard, it became solely identified with “shouting” or attention-seeking behaviour. As a result, netiquette generally discourages the use of all caps.”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/All_caps

…. only answering your “rhetorical” question given that we are now talking about standards …… let’s call it netiquette!!!

37. The Peed Peeper argues
    “Black Bajan’s are racist”
    “White Bajan’s are not racist”
    seems arse-backwards to me

38. ROK // September 11, 2009 at 9:28 AM

You did not thank me!!!.. and i know who BFP are and i can prove it.

39. What has happened to BFP could have been avoided. It was them who brought it on themselves; they are the ones who penned the article possibly with the hopes of appealing to more readers, and increasing their readership.

Since it was apparent, imo, BFP was trying to give BU a negative name, I have been pleading with BFP that there was no need for the attacks on BU, or to take comments from its (BU) blog and use the comments to write negative articles. Many of my posts were ignored and never released for public reading, which is their prerogative.

I wrote that they were doing themselves more harm than good and suggested to BFP on several occasions to go back to the days like when they first begun and focus on what is taking place in Bim and its surroundings, and not to focus on what another blog is doing.

BFP apparently was so adamant that they will eventually destroy BU with all their huffing and puffing that they continue to hammer at BU in which ever way they see fit. I think it was for no reason other than jealousy and for the wrong reasons.

BFP try to be too clever; with Word Press intervention no doubt there is embarrassment. I commend BU/David for not getting down in the mud with BFP and avoid stooping low. However, I urge BU no matter what distractions may get in the way, to continue to focus on what is important to Barbados and Barbadians.

I mentioned in one of my post ( a few were not released) that they were doing themselves more harm than good by taking comments from BU and turning the comments into negative articles.

40. @Chris
    knowing how difficult it can be for some to admit error or to be wrong, I had ommitted it. However you are correct.

You recently accused me referencing wikipedia. I am not in the habit of checking Wikipedia for anything. The bit about the word Negro being a spanish noun derived from the word Niger, I got from a little black boy. Maybe that’s were he got it from, but I didn’t. I see no reason not to believe Wikipedia to be partially a tool for repackaging and retelling history. Regarding what Wiki says about shouting online. I still have not HEARD any on BU.

41. **Adviser to the President** Avatar
    **Adviser to the President**

Who let the dogs out ?
    This is the question this Adviser is asking.

My advice is that if you can answer this question, the solution to the problem discussed here becomes clearer and clearer.

Let it not be said that this Adviser is under any illusion about where the balance of intellect weighs in and on whose backs the burden falls.

42. @ Chris
    “Open disagreement, discussion and debate is *healthy*”.
    True statement, and I agree with you 110% however that is not what comes from the post of certain people on this blog. I have in the past, on blogs, entered great discussions / disagreements on many issues and have enjoyed many debates. But I will not sit idle and accept their nonsense.

43. Is anyone taking these anonymous persons seriously? I am not. Crossroads why would anyone take you seriously? Is there someone known to any of us as crossroads? chupse.

and yet another ghostly figure seemly dillusional in believing that their virtual advice is worth anything. As long as you continue to post under such a silly handle I will continue to believe that you are truly not under an illusions, .. you are an illusion. lol!

44. @Adrian: “…knowing how difficult it can be for some to admit error or to be wrong, I had ommitted it. However you are correct.

It takes someone who is very sure of themselves to admit they are (or, even, might be) wrong.

Sadly, we find ourselves in a world with very few so sure of themselves.

This is very unfortunate, in my mind. And to everyone’s loss…

Kindest regards.

45. Mr Hinds (if that is your real name) I used to enjoy your comments in the past, generally they were unbiased and thought provoking…….now….well what can I say, you have been poisoned. By the way you can call me Bob F@$king Hope if it makes you feel better. LOL

46. Hinds, you silly man, you trully are confused. You critize me for using an anonymous name, but you support people who go by Bush tea or Negroman……??

47. Again a word of warning to the BU family. It is our observation that there is a strategy afoot for some commenters to be garrulous to attempt to upset the feel of BU debates.

48. Agree with you there David.

49. Needless to say, your reading pleasure was not my aim or purpose.

I don’t only believe in Bush tea, I go further. I drink every drop of my bush tea. The bitter truth is I love me some bush tea. You should try it. It is no respecter of persons when it performs its healing effects. lol!

Negroman can be likening to “black bitch” hard, crude, poorly wrap, but candy nevertheless. I know what Black bitch contains. More importantly I know what it does not contained, when compared to the kinds of candies you prefer.

Dem kinds wuss-er fuh yuh!

50. ROK
    I tek offence. I want my accolades separate an by demself. I vexxxxxxxxx.

Adviser to President.
    “who let the dogs out”?
    Wait, you doan know who let you out? Dah bad.