roosevelt_king
BANGO Secretary General, Roosevelt O. King

Recently BU family member ROK was mentioned not in a very favourable light on another blog site. BU family members would have expected ROK not to cower but instead to react in the true tradition of his alma mater by Fighting Back!

Read what this is all about by visiting his most recent blog!

280 responses to “BU Family Member Roosevelt King Makes A Stand!”

1. Adrian, I hope ur not referring to me. U should know that my interests are solely those of Barbados, as a whole. Listen, I got to go out. Can I go now, please!! ๐Ÿ™‚

2. Adian Hinds ???

Is that really you or a ghost writer, why is your name spell wrong, i’m sure you can spell your own name right, just checking.

3. It is Adrian Hinds and NO he can’t spell his own name.

4. Adrian/ROK

33. (1) A person is guilty of an offence if .
    he uses in any public place or at any public meeting
    words which are threatening, abusive or insulting,
    being matter or words intended or which may reasonably be
    interpreted as likely to stir up or to be capable of stirring up
    hatred against any section of the public in Barbados distinguished
    by colour, race or creed

Question :

….. hatred against any section of the public

….. what section would you be referring to now?

Answer:

I’ll be answering it for you now.

“….. like u now on BFP payroll.”

” ……. instead go over to BFP and rouse one PiedPiper from her silence”

Looks like you would be meaning the folks who be contributing to the BFP

… this is the section of the public you would be distinguishing and inciting hatred against!!!

Question:

Would it be their race, colour or their creed that are offending you now and which are making you incite hatred against them?

Answer:

a) Colour
    b) Creed
    c) Race
    d) all three

… Please be ticking one or more of the above.

Question:

Since I contribute to both BFP and BU , would you be meaning me now?

Answer:

a) Yes
    b)no

…… Please be ticking only one of the above.

… I’d realy like to be knowing as I want to know what to tell me lawyer …

Question:

Roosevely O. King and Adrian Hinds ….

……how many more times would you be seeking to offend the public order act now?

Answer:

???????????????

…. Please be filling in the blanks.

You know it is really not nice to be going around stirring up hatred against your brothers and sisters,

…. not to mention it is against the law.

…. hope you caught me Irish accent

… and a top of the morning to you this luvly morning.

Looking forward to your responses.

5. @ John
    I am loath to enter this debate but let us examine the Law.

BFP have always said they are made up of all colours from a cross section of society. They have said so…I have no reason to disbelieve them.

How could one be making remarks against a particular section as indentified in Law.
    Just asking?

6. PiedPiper gotta pokey too…
    AAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhh

A white one!
    AAAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhh

7. @John
    a section of the public would mean those conforming to any type or class. Ever heard of a class action suit?

The disable, for example is a section of the public. Members who associate together are a section of the public; like Rastafarians or Jehovah Witnesses or even any section that may not now be named; all people with four toes.

The problem with you is that you want to be in both five toed and four toed camps. LOL!

8. @David. I notice that a comment made some 30 hours ago, remains unpublished. It contained no profanities or threats so I wonder what is happening to its moderation.

In the meantime. I remember on another thread you made clear that the threat of legal action had not been made by a foreigner. With ROK’s action it would suggest that it was a Bajan who had made that threat. I am not sure if it was him, but if the dots are joined they point in his direction as he is a known entity not an anonymous person. Of course, you may not want to comment.

9. Am I the only one who noticed that just 3 short days ago, Adrian Hinds, said he was retiring from the blogs? Yet, here he is foaming at the mouth like a rabid dog, promoting the racial divide (read his own personal agenda).
    Am I the only one who has noticed that Adrian Hinds has said at least 4 or 5 times, that he was retiring/taking a break from the blogs and then doesn’t?
    Adrian Hinds has led some of you down the garden path and cleverly manipulated this blog for his own ends.

10. @David. (This may appear twice). I notice that a comment I made some 30 hours ago, remains unpublished. It contained no profanities or threats so I wonder what is happening to its moderation.

In the meantime. I remember on another thread you made clear that the threat of legal action had not been made by a foreigner. With ROK’s action it would suggest that it was a Bajan who had made that threat. I am not sure if it was him, but if the dots are joined they point in his direction as he is a known entity not an anonymous person. Of course, you may not want to comment.

11. Yardbroom, it is Adrian Hinds who has promoted the notion that BFP is a “white” blog and many of you have swallowed that lie and chased it with bitter brew.

12. @David, giving you the benefit of the doubt as you profess to uphold free speech. I will repeat the main points I made yesterday.

ROK’s gesture should be applaued for stepping forward to keep his name cleared. (Though I see today that it was in the name of BANGO that he complained and that is not really the right basis; he was attacked personally.) The matter may yet get reversed.

His actions put into contrast some recent events where more than one commentator asked you/the moderator to remove offending material and you refused. The tort would seem to still exist given that refusal. But the silence of the usual band of commentators when it is not one of ‘their own’ who is being skewered is puzzling. Freedom has bounds?

ROK’s action would open the way clearly for those politicians who have stood by and not taken the blog to task to now follow his lead. Their reasons for being passive are their own, and maybe they waited for the trail to open so that they would not be blamed and targeted again.

I asked ROK, who claims to answer all questions, to furnish me with the answers I have been seeking for several days now. I cannot take him to task with WordPress on not answering but his views on racial matters do leave a trail for complaints.

I hope he will uphold the old school tradition fully.

Thanks much.

13. @BU family

There is another blog which will be posted after the weekend which will seek to educate how we should continue to shape our discussion on BU. It was submitted by the indefatigable ROK. It is the kind of positive involvement we should engage.

@Rickey George
    We have addressed you before under another handle, we have neither the time or the inclination to continue, the energy emanating from your comments are negative. Many of you of late have elected to post using anonymouse.org; the WordPress spammer will have problems with that from time to time. Given the number of comments received on BU we will miss some.

14. @Ebenezer, and he has gone through a few image make overs in the process (Tall_Boy, etc. but I lose track). I see too from his comments that he still pops over to read LIB regularly and report back like he did above. Why, pray tell? Did does he want to keep trying to make LIB seem credible after saying that he was not? Curiouser and curiouser…

15. David says: @Rickey George
    “We have addressed you before under another handle, we have neither the time or the inclination to engage you, the energy emanating from your comments are negative.”

Several questions David:

Did you not think that the posts of Negroman or Hopi emanate negativity?
    You certainly seemed to have the time and inclination to post THEIR negativity and then support it by retaining it on BU.

16. Rickey George, there are many things I could say in answer to your question but my post would never see the light of day. It is enough to say that AH rarely reads the contributions of others, it’s all about what HE has to say and YOU had just better listen! Overblown sense of self importance is a phrase that comes to mind.

17. oopps I cannot even spell my name. (dumb fool that I am) Maybe I should make good and really stay off the blogs. ha ha ha ha ha sorry I cannot do that. But I am a victim here. ๐Ÿ™‚ Only if BFP would let me post on their blog with my name I would not need to change it to do so, then forget to change back when I return to BU and even mispell it when I do remember to change it back. I am not to blame. ha ha ha ha ha lord

Anyway out of bad can come some good. Let my propensity to misspell be an inspiration to all Barbadians that no matter what your drawbacks or limitations, if you have something to say BU will give you an opportunity to say it.

LIB/ricky george: you need to check responses to your blog a little better. If you do, you might find that there has been a recent uptick in contributions. ha ha ha ha ha

I think you called my name in something. I can’t quite recall. ha ha ha ha

There might have been “others” referencing my name or the misspelling thereof. Just so you know, I have read your comments. lol!

can one intellectually challenged man gather so much attention? from the learned? why? Do like Inkwell and GP, nuh I would not mind being ignored.

18. Bimbro // September 12, 2009 at 1:54 PM

Adrian, I hope ur not referring to me. U should know that my interests are solely those of Barbados, as a whole. Listen, I got to go out. Can I go now, please!! ๐Ÿ™‚
    ——————————————

Bimbro you are always excused. ha ha ha just lef ROK alone or um gine be me and you yuh hear?

19. Do like Inkwell and GP, nuh I would not mind being ignored.

Oh yes you would, the one thing that you absolutely can not stand, is to be ignored.

20. Yardbroom // September 12, 2009 at 3:55 PM

@ John

BFP have always said they are made up of all colours from a cross section of society. They have said soโ€ฆI have no reason to disbelieve them.

How could one be making remarks against a particular section as indentified in Law.
    Just asking

…. I’ll be asking me lawyer when I see him at the pub …

21. ROK // September 12, 2009 at 4:41 PM

a section of the public would mean those conforming to any type or class. Ever heard of a class action suit?

The disable, for example is a section of the public. Members who associate together are a section of the public; like Rastafarians or Jehovah Witnesses or even any section that may not now be named; all people with four toes.

The problem with you is that you want to be in both five toed and four toed camps. LOL!

… I’ll be asking me lawyer if there are five toed and four toed classes when I see him at the pub…

22. There are too many Barbadians who take things at face value.
    BFP does not accept my comments because I exposed it for what it was.

BFP is financed by Peter Allard of Greame Hall Nature Sanctuary fame who, as long as he does not get his way with the Kingsland Estates (hence the adoration of Keltruth) and GHNS, will do anything to malign Barbados.

Some of the GHNS stories are patently false and they have sought to destroy David Thompson and the DLP by saying that it is allowing Clico (a company in precarious financial straits) to “develop” the land it owns in the area. It has not produced one iota of evidence of any Town Planning decision – and they are public – to substantiate this wild, lying statement.

Veiled accusations about pay-offs to DLP politicians have been made. But former Prime Minister Owen Arthur told a group of us that Allard tried to bribe him!

What a low-down Canadian liar and beast.

Desmond “Airbourne” Bourne, a man who lost a case when someone described him as the “Sultan of Smut,” is paid to write the BFP posts.

There are Barbadians who contribute to the nonsense BFP writes without knowing any of this. They just regurgitate BFP’s lies and
    misinformation.

I stand behind ROK. And I didn’t have time to boycott BFP before BFP banned – moderated me out – me for writing what they didn’t like.

Democracy? Integrity? Honesty? Conflict of Interest?

BFP are damned, dishonest liars.

23. @ ROK// September 12, 2009 at 1:15 PM
    You told 199 this……*Do not follow the multitude to do evil. Think for yourself. Persecution is against the law too……..*

Well u betta b careful how u persecuting me, hear ROKie. ROTFLOL. :>))

24. Yardbroom // September 12, 2009 at 3:55 PM

@ John

BFP have always said they are made up of all colours from a cross section of society. They have said soโ€ฆI have no reason to disbelieve them.

Just asking?

Until I get to see me lawyer at the pub I’ll take your comment to mean that as a reasonable person you would agree that Roosevelt O. King and Adrian Hinds are inciting hatred against that section of the public (to be determined at the pub) that posts on BFP.

Never know, you might end up on the jury of their peers to determine their guilt or innocence

…. but that would be unfair as you are implying before they are heard that you believe they are inciting hatred.

25. @Veritas

They really riled you up over there. Thanks for your support. I am looking forward to your contribution to the debate when David post the one on settled law related to blogging and internet activity.

Please let me say that I thanked a lot of people but I may have omitted some who stood up. One I can think of is Ready Done.

However, I need to thank that beautiful young lady who kept prompting me to read the story at BFP. You see, it was my intention not to let any of the pages of BFP grace my computer screen and it took a lot of persuading by her for me to take the first look.

Lessons!

26. @John
    Like you becoming a regular comedian. However you may be surprised to find a community of three-toed too. Lol!

One thing about the pub though John. The spirits are holy so long as they remain in the glass. When it get down your throat it becomes “your highness” before it is then given up to (the) John. LOL!

27. ROK,

Congratulations! Vous etes formidable! I am glad you took the bluster out of those folks at BFP. The gall of those ‘people’ to think that they are gods and can do as they jolly well please.

I just got sick of they not posting my comments that did not agree with their articles. I got tired of the threats to ban and go open my own blog. I was happier than a pig in mud when I found Barbados Underground.

I hope when Rickey George/LIB and Ebenezer realize that no one over here is responding to them that they will haul their buts back to BFP.

If I am not mistaken, I am sure it was the pied Piper who was telling everyone on BFP to write wordpress.com and complain about BU. He/she/it wanted it shut down.
    I hope that person is now eating crow.

@ Bimbro
    You are beginning to behave in your old ways. Please, if you dont want to be blogging and answering your own posts lay off. As I told you earlier, you did better under your persona of 199. I saw this coming where you were going to upset the BU family and asked you to revert to 199. Learn from your mistakes. I am telling you this as a friend.

@BWWR

Where are you hiding. Was it you who told us that Allard was funding BFP and that the daughter of that Kingsland litigrant and her husband were actually running the show? I remember the Bourne person getting up in arms. Did you know he was also part of the crew? It all adds up now. Thanks Veritas for that piece of information. No wonder he was so vociferous in calling for BFP to remove their link to our blog. I wonder if he got 30 pieces of silver.

28. @BU……..That’s more like it. Break the damned chains from around our brains!

Now you may go in peace!

29. Hi Adrian and Pat, thanks for your comments. I guess that time will tell who’s right and who’s wrong in this saga but, you might be interested to know that I’ve been banned from BFP, as well. Again, I don’t think they approved of me disagreeing with them so, I make this stand not for BFP but for honour and decency in the conduct of Barbadian affairs! Regards!

30. For which, I hasten to add, you all, will be the beneficiaries because, as you know, I don’t live there and don’t have any plans to but am unable to see why my ex-homeland should not aspire to the highest standards!!

31. @ John
    You can interpret things as “you” wish but in Law ultimately it is for a Magistrate, Judge, or jury under direction to do so, that is what really counts.
    Good luck when you see your Lawyer at the “Pub,” if I ever have need to see mine we meet over drinks at my home.
    Today being Sunday our families will meet at church as usual we certainly would not mention Blogs…enjoy your drink at the “pub”…my last word on this matter.

32. I submit that John’s questions are pure nonsense, probably design to solicit another “gotch yuh” moment that proves nothing.

Question:

โ€ฆ.. Hatred against any section of the public
    ——————————————
    The above is not a question, yet it is the bases for Johns’ winding statement.

Not A single wrongdoing by a white person mentioned, in its Anti-Bajan articles strengthened my insistence that it is a blog for whites.

BFP is not a certain section of the Barbadian community. BFP is a word press blog, a virtual presence that is not a corporate citizen status. It cannot be included in the law referenced

I do not know, by sight or name, any of the regular posters on BFP, and so they never informed my opinion, on the “whiteness” of BFP. The blog’s background color plays an ever-bigger role, although small, in my defining it as white, than any perceptions; which is all it could be, of the possible pigmentation of its commenterโ€™s skin. I do not even know if it is one or many, or one masquerading as many that comments on BFP. I cannot even confirm the gender of anyone of them.

33. Veritas // September 12, 2009 at 6:51 PM

You missed out the involvement of Adrian Loveridge in BFP. So this cross-section of Bajan society allegedly consists of one Allard (Canadian), one Bourne (Bajan), one Loveridge (Brit) and one Goddard aka Jane the Insane (Bajan crossed with Venezuelan).

John, man whu we gon do wid yuh? You gon tek legal advice in a pub from you lawyer on this? Man, get real.

34. BU it’s time to preach ‘One Love’
    Each One,Teach One

Just a word in your ears to alleviate any concerns that you may have regarding this website
    and ourselves.
    We are not any of the following:Bigots / Zealots / Fanatics / Weirdoes / Homophobics /
    Terrorists / Misogamists / False Prophets / Criminals / Subversives / Deviants or
    Disciples of The Anti-Christ.
    Neither are we trying to foster a Psuedo Religious cult / A Political Party or amassing an
    army to overthrow the elected governments of any country.
    ‘We are just people, and we believe in justice for all the people’.

35. @David, posted at 5.15pm:
    @Rickey George
    We have addressed you before under another handle, we have neither the time or the inclination to continue, the energy emanating from your comments are negative. Many of you of late have elected to post using anonymouse.org; the WordPress spammer will have problems with that from time to time. Given the number of comments received on BU we will miss some.
    ========================
    That’s a very interesting reply. I have been using Anonymouse.org, prompted by a comment from another poster regarding whether IP addresses could or could not be masked. It is apparent that masking comes with problems; some sites do not like it.

But, why would negativity be an issue if you are pursuing free speech? That says that ‘free’ means ‘support us’ speech. If so, then more is clear. I think it is better to not pretend to be for free speech if in fact you are being partisan and favoring some. Like your latest post about the Nation: the media do not have any obligation to treat political parties fairly or the same. But you have stood on the podium of ‘free speech’.

Those who utter negative remarks that you support seem to get a free pass. The problem with that approach is that it changes like the winds through the trees, which explains why you have a hard time being consistent.

If you are being ‘experimental’ then I will give you a break while you let the experiment work.

In the meantime, I would suggest that arguments rule rather than persons making arguments. To look at the politcal arena. If only the PM can say things of substance then why bother with Cabinet spokesmen? In fact, we have seen that answered in the manner that the immigration debate has proceeded. Only when the PM speaks do people take note and Ministers Walters and McLean talk without much weight. That’s not good.

36. The ‘anonymous’ remarks a 8.39 can be taken as mine.

37. @Adrian Hinds posted at 6.11pm: LIB/ricky george [still mispelt and breaking that rule of English about capitalizing proper names, but that’s just trying to be helpful]: you need to check responses to your blog a little better. If you do, you might find that there has been a recent uptick in contributions. ha ha ha ha ha
    ==========================
    I went to the LIB blog and saw a set of recent comments from a Bajan/1627andallthat…another name change. It looks like the blog moderator saw through the thin disguise quickly. Maybe it was the hahaha that had you.

As I have said here, though, the handle does not matter. David has not made an issue of it, so he can operate with us all being called “Mickey Mouse” X, Y, whatever.

You should handle the substance. That’s all that should count. All the scurrying to find or guess who is who is chasing a dog’s tail. Surely time can be better spent.

I see that one comment made by the LIB blogger is that you must know who you are dealing with by knowing them, not by guessing based on things that are not part of the actual person.

ROK, we can touch. Chris Halsall too, and he is very proud of that. LIB in his true form seems to be a real person. Others? They could all be fictional, as may I. So why get in a tizzy over them as ‘names’? Do they make sense or not?

Thanks much.

38. @BU family

Remember the mantra, stay focussed!

There are some who have close relationships with traditional media in Barbados i.e. calling the callin shows, sitting on talk show panels, writing in the Nation as a columnist etc. Their agenda is exposed. We understand Nation columnists are reasonably paid. BU can chose to engage who we want which in no way affects freedom of expression of commenters. BU has many commenters who disagree with our positions all the time.

Finally BARBADIANS are supportive of the Prime Minister’s position on immigration supported by a recent CADRES poll.

39. Why are you all humouring John?

He is one of the most gullible BFP contributors who, as long as he does not get what he wants from the government at Lamberts, will join with anyone to attack politicians.

He will add to any attack centred on absence ITAL with the most offensive sarcasm directed at black politicians. I have been reading these guys for years. It is not difficult in Barbados to put two and two together.

You see these guys are so honest and fair-minded that they will go along with you as long as their projects are being approved.

If not, ole hell will break loose. And anyone who gets anything done has, according to them, paid off a politician.

40. Rickey George, excellent, well thought out post, sadly wasted on David and others on here. I have been saying for quite some time that David’s view of “freedom of speech” is most interesting. Do not expect to get a direct answer from him about his particular brand of “free speech”. I suspect that for David to answer the question, he would reveal himself for what he is, which of course, is a hypocrite.

41. The food industry sells a product called “Imitation cheese” It is not “real” cheese, yet both are process-manufactured products.

We now have anonymous persons correcting their anonymous handles with yet another anonymous handle. lol!

Meanwhile news out of Jamaica reports that a thirteen-year-old boy places his penis into an ants nest, and had to seek medical attention. The story goes that he proposition a woman who; [get this] told de likkle boy he to small fuh she and to try putting it in a ants nest to make it bigger, and off he went.

Maybe Jamaica problems are much larger than their murder rate.

Anyway the unfortunate story of the little boy can serve as an illustration of what occurred when someone inserted themselves into this blog thinking dem โ€œtallawahโ€ and got reminded how likkle dem fe is ……… ha ha ha ha lol!

42. September 11, 2009 at 7:55 AM

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhh

43. ESSO // September 13, 2009 at 9:35 AM

Why are you all humouring John?

He is one of the most gullible BFP contributors who, as long as he does not get what he wants from the government at Lamberts, will join with anyone to attack politicians.
    ———————————————–

So Esso which John you think our Johnny is? Gih we he full name.

BTW which Esso are you? Fontebelle or some other? just kidding ๐Ÿ™‚

44. Wow! Esso, the plot thickens. BFP is really the assembly of has-beens, never-beens and grouches who can’t get what they want!

John? Think about it, Adrian. It all makes sense to me now. I think the circle is complete!

45. Dave, r we all ‘family-members’ or is that limited to the ‘privileged few’!!

Lord!!

46. I donโ€™t know if BFP is run by Allard or not but this I do know.When BFP was bashing Owen about his stewardship; when they were bashing Mia about wanting to silence the blogs and other topics; when they were bashing Glyne Clarke about his Mistressโ€™house built on land expropriated by the Govโ€™t; when they were bashing the BLP Govโ€™t for the 3S contract for the Highway; when they were bashing Dale Marshall and the prison costs of US dollars vs Bโ€™dos dollars; when they were bashing Noel Lynch about his refusal to answer a question about his newfound wealth; when they were bashing Clyde Mascoll about Hardwood; when they showed the photocopy of the cheque from CCB to Owen etc. when all the above happened they were as Bajan as Gwen Workmanโ€™s Lead Pipes.

So what happened? There was an election and the BLP lost so now that BFP is attacking Thompson over his refusal to implement ITAL they are being painted as outsiders or local whites who want to silence Bajans.

I donโ€™t agree with some of BFPโ€™s positions particularly with the person(s) behind the โ€œget your own blogโ€ if you disagree with us attitude and for all I know they may be guilty of what others have accused them of, but if the accusations are true now werenโ€™t they true before and why if they were true before why the finger pointing now?

Thinking people know the answer.Everyone has an agenda

47. Thank You Sargeant! Amen to that!

48. Let the record reflect that I disagreed with them during that time on the use of “Negrocrat”. I disagree with them on flyovers, I disagree with them on ethanol from sugarcane. I disagree with them on moderation/banning/ etc. We agree on China, Cuba, Obama, Islam, ITAL etc. For a short time I defended the BLP in particular Liz Thompson whom I think BFP targets for her remarks to Richard Goddard.In fact that article is the reason I became suspicous of BFP’s agenda and decided to monitor them.

49. I donโ€™t know if BFP is run by Allard or not but this I do know.When BFP was bashing Owen about his stewardship; when they were bashing Mia about wanting to silence the blogs and other topics; when they were bashing Glyne Clarke about his Mistressโ€™house built on land expropriated by the Govโ€™t; when they were bashing the BLP Govโ€™t for the 3S contract for the Highway; when they were bashing Dale Marshall and the prison costs of US dollars vs Bโ€™dos dollars; when they were bashing Noel Lynch about his refusal to answer a question about his newfound wealth; when they were bashing Clyde Mascoll about Hardwood; when they showed the photocopy of the cheque from CCB to Owen etc. when all the above happened they were as Bajan as Gwen Workmanโ€™s Lead Pipes.

As I said Bajans must be more discerning. Those were just credibility-building issues. BFP has an ULTIMATE agenda. Those were side-shows.

1. If you tell 10 truths and then slip in two lies, what happens? You build up credibility on the 10 and the two seem plausible! Typical strategy. Works well on the gullible.

2. For me, any BFP support of the Dems was a joke. Even if the Dems pass ITAL, BFP will still allege corruption by two-bit, trough sloshing Bajan politicians.

3. Bashing our police Commissioner, Judges, Chief Justice etc. is just not on for me. BFP is throwing out the baby and the bath water.

I have always known the BFP agenda. That’s what is important – to read between the lines!