roosevelt_king
BANGO Secretary General, Roosevelt O. King

Recently BU family member ROK was mentioned not in a very favourable light on another blog site. BU family members would have expected ROK not to cower but instead to react in the true tradition of his alma mater by Fighting Back!

Read what this is all about by visiting his most recent blog!

280 responses to “BU Family Member Roosevelt King Makes A Stand!”

1. @ Veritas

What do you think of BFP tactics of suggesting a new political party every time it criticizes our government and its institutions? I have noticed that they have never, never said anything positive about any of our government – neither the old, nor the new. Food for thought.

2. And those ppl who are thinking can now see the slant of BFP and their agenda for Barbados. It should be called Barbados False Press!

3. Pat says: “I have noticed that they have never, never said anything positive about any of our government – neither the old, nor the new.”

You must suffer from short term memory loss Pat. Months before the last election, BFP was very open in it’s support for change, supportive of the DLP, as were many Bajans. In the months after the last election, BFP continued to be supportive of the new government but as time went by and it became apparent that it was just more of the “same ole same ole”, BFP began to question the sincerity of many of the election promises made by the DLP. Now that we are almost two years post election it should be apparent to anyone with half a brain that nothing of significance has changed. However, as an independent thinker, I recognize that at least in part, the DLP is unable to execute some of their election promises, due to a lack of funds in the government coffers.
    Pat, if you must go off making half-baked statements, born strictly out of a desire to impress, do your homework and be prepared to back up your assertions.

4. Pat I think your point is valid. I believe that BFP’s position was something akin to 6 in one half dozen in the next same difference.

5. @ Pat
    You are correct.
    Before the elections, BFP were against BOTH BLP and DLP… They were upset that the DLP were not doing and saying that things that they wanted done and said….

Just before election date, BFP reluctantly decided to ‘conditionally’ support the DLP (when it was obvious that they were likely to win)….

As soon as it was obvious that the DLP, once elected, were not about to be guided by the BFP agenda…. they get banned too…. LOL.

BFP has been calling for a third party for years now….

Who knows, maybe they are behind the PDC .LOL…
    ROTFL

6. Adrian Hinds, what you “believe” and what actually is, are rarely the same thing.

7. Quoting Bush Tea “Who knows, maybe they are behind the PDC .LOL…”

I often disagree with you, but ya got me de’ding with this one.

8. So what is stopping BFP from forming a new party?

Maybe they are afraid that they can’t get elected as dog catcher?

9. @ J
    “I often disagree with you,…”
    ha ha…
    J, you now hurt the bushman real bad…
    I was is such a great mood, looking forward to the new week after a restful weekend and all… now to hear that you ‘often disagree’ with BT…

……what really worries the bushman is that this suggest that we sometimes agree…. and based on most of the positions that you take, J – THAT is worrying… LOL.

p.s. – no problem in disagreeing with the bushman – just means that you are wrong that’s all – it is human. ROTFL.

10. Given that BFP started on January 17th 2006, it only took two months to catch on to what would come to define them.

I said the following on BFP march 21st 2006.
    Adrian Says:

March 21st, 2006 at 1:23 am e

….Are you serious???? refering to a white man as a caucasian male is racist???

The only story here is the video capability of this site. Is this creating news where none exist? I think so.

It is obvious that this clip was edited to derived maximum benefit of deception.
    We do not know what was said to solicit this reply and there is no rebuttal to it.
    It would seem to me that you are intent on affecting what the Minister accused Richard Goddard of.
    In your view the PM did a disservice to Barbados by using the word “Negrocrat”, it also should be in your view that you are doing the same by reveiling this deliberately edited clip.
    However in both cases your attempt to suggest that the mare utterance of the words Negrocrat and now Caucasian demonstrates racist intent is frivolous.

Racisims is a serious problem to those of us who are predispose to suffer from its use, and in your zeal to unearth such evidence, you are making a mockery of it.
    In my opinion you are running the risk of turn a serious website into one of pure entertainment like mine.

11. When The Cat Was Let Out Of The Bag

The “incautious” mention of the word “Pub” meant that only someone on the bridge, even if not the Captain, would know the way to the “Pub”.

Always follow the trail of the footsteps.
    Bingo!

12. BFP indeed had a consistent message from Day1, proper governance and freedom of information.

The point is, neither Government has as yet implemented, even moving into the new Government’s two year date.

So, is BFP supposed to bow and scrape when nothing has changed, when the same old, same old rules?

Yeah, RIGHT!

Fact is, you all are now sitting happily that your Government is in power, but remember, elections are not really that far away.

Besides, HH made a tremendoues mistake in having the poll done, in case no one has noticed. He has inadvertently put the government under assessment and started an early election campaign, midway into the term?!

One of the most stupid political moves ever seen. Its results were irrelevant as no one should expect a newish government to come with a bad report, but it showed complete lack of confidence.

BLP been gifted something special.

Hahaha.

13. Besides, HH made a tremendoues mistake in having the poll done, in case no one has noticed. He has inadvertently put the government under assessment and started an early election campaign, midway into the term?!
    ————————————————
    If no one sees it, then it does not exist. Good point though. Still, if Barbadian Electors are none wiser of your assessment, then it matters not.
    I think the bigger gamble HH made is attempting to split Mia, Owen and the BLP. If the unintended occurs and they unite, then what? The DLP needs more than Immigration to be absolutely sure of victory in 2013. A turn around in the global and Barbadian economies is the only surety the DLP can count on, and they have no control over the former.

14. I’m back.

Being a bit of a teetotaller myself fumes can make me nauseous.

Don’t remember talking to the lawyer but have an image in my mind of him coming late, having a pint, singing a song and then passing out on the floor.

Afterwards Seamus and O’Flaherty walked Father Patrick to the church so he could get some shut eye in preparation for the early morning service.

…. man, do I have a blank.

Anyway, I am feeling well and ready to go.

15. BFP’s anti-government stance is not the issue for me. In fact I applaud it. My issue with them continues to be one of race. They have consistently played that card from their inception while voiciferiously accusing others of it on the littlest of infractions possible. If they were so above board why do they continue to ban people for stupid things? I believe that the silly reasons they give are attempts to hide the fact that if they didn’t, their agenda would have been exposed much earlier.

I continue to ask them to let me back onto their blog so that I can engaged them as I had done from as far back as March 2006.

16. Adrian

A house divided against itself cannot stand.

If somebody turns your children’s minds against their parents the offence is not only against you and your wife but against your children as well … although they may not know it.

The family is being undermined.

When a leader like Errol Barrow allegedly makes the statements he made at a public meeting

….. or Liz Thompson makes the statements she chose to make highlighting the same division,

….. or Owen Arthur takes it upon himself to use the forum of Parliament to address “Indentured Servants” …..

… all of them have offended all of the citizens of Barbados because they have sought to divide the same Nation which they supposedly lead into distinct sections,

….. whose membership is arbitrary and may vary from day to day depending on definition.

Remember the discussion on what makes a person “black” or “white”?

I won’t rehash.

These three instances clearly are efforts at dividing the house, plain and simple.

It really doesn’t matter squat what provocation was present, these are leaders speaking ……. they should know better ..

…. and in all three cases, no act of contrition, ….. no apology …. no nothing!!!

17. Negrocrats is just one more example to add to the three above.

18. Can someone please tell me of “a period” in the History of Barbados, when the nation was united across all the races black and white and we were all united and happy; with equal treatment been given to all irrespective of race, in this island we inhabit?

19. Yardbroom // September 14, 2009 at 10:50 AM

Can someone please tell me of “a period” in the History of Barbados, when the nation was united across all the races black and white and we were all united and happy; with equal treatment been given to all irrespective of race, in this island we inhabit?

Our ancestors were probably human too so all those things you speak of probably never pertained in the History of Barbados ….. probably not even in its pre-History either.

…. but, somehow they seemed to share some common goals …….. West Indies Cricket is but one example.

More than likely our descendants will also be human and will share all of our ancestors weaknesses ….. and our own.

Doesn’t mean they can’t figure out a common goal or three and work towards them.

20. Check this article in the Museum Journal ….

Journal of the Barbados Museum and Historical Society
    Vol. XLVII

Progenitors and Coloured Elite
    Families: Case Studies of the Belgraves,
    Collymores and Cummins

Robert Morris

Introduction

By the late eighteenth century, a group of coloureds, persons of
    mixed Caucasian and Negroid ancestry, comprised a distinct sector of
    the Barbados society.
    Many were the products of sexual liaisons between free white
    fathers and slave mothers. In several cases, the offspring were freed
    by their fathers and took their surnames. In other cases, as Professor
    Hilary Beckles has indicated, the white fathers generally became
    socially anonymous, offering no assistance to the mother and
    children.
    By the nineteenth century some of the coloureds were prominent
    persons of wealth and substance in the community to the extent
    allowed by restrictive legislation designed to blunt their status in the
    rigidly stratified society.
    Professor Beckles has named the Belgraves, Beckles, Collymores,
    Bournes and Montefiores as among the prominent free-coloured
    dynasties. Some of the free coloured families have been studied as
    part of general historical writings on the free coloureds as a group.
    More needs to be written on actual families.

21. @ John Sept 14, 2009 at 10:04 am

You said…”or Owen Arthur takes it upon himself to use the forum of Parliament to address “Indentured Servants”…

…all of them have offended all of the citizens of Barbados because they have sought to divide the same Nation which they supposedly lead into distinct sections”…

I am not here to defend Mr. Owen Arthur he is very capable of doing that himself.

I am never against white people have never been and never will be, but the “truth” must always be written.

It is not the “Black” politicians who divided Barbadians and led them into “distinct sections” as you said.

For you or anyone to say that it is “they” who have, can only be if they have not got a full grasp of Barbados History.

Despite my efforts to always be fair, I will not allow you to unfairly blame black people, politicians or not. You have done more harm to racial relations in Barbados by you insistence to defend positions that cannot reasonably be defended.

22. Yardbroom

I agree divisions have always existed and Barbados like any other country has never been fair.

…. but I differ from you in that I think that the divisions and unfairness were based on class rather than colour.

I spoke to the classes of Free Negroes, Free Mulattos and Poor Whites right through my contributions.

Bobby Morris’ article is speaking to the the class of Free Mulattos, he calls them Free Coloured’s.

But, there were also Free Negro families which existed from the 1600’s, …. no miscegination with “white” people.

Divisions and unfairness existed among all classes.

Was there anyone at the time who determined that the Free Mulattos and the Free Negroes were Black in the days they existed?

I don’t know.

That is why I asked someone to tell me what is the difference between Negro and Black.

Black and White are simplifications of complex social structures which evolved over time.

The terms gained “normal” usage in the Civil Rights era.

It is logically flawed to apply the American experience with slavery and oppression with ours and not expect to create problems.

Did you know “according to Wikepedia” that when the term Black started to be used that some older African Americans were highly offended by it?

For me the offense is to try to simplify human existence into Black and White, … us and them, and not recognise the complexities of so doing.

To speak to the “Black” race and the “White” race is for me illogical.

It is far more logical to speak to the Human race, ….. one race and to deal with the oppression which exists and will continue to exist rather than to look back and interpret through eyes that lack the knowledge of the complexities of past times

…. and won’t read what exists to remedy that lack of knowledge.

I am sure Mr. Arthur can defend himself but the record is there of what he said in Hansard. My interpretation of what I understood him to say is my interpretation, no doubt you have yours.

It took Mr. Thompson all of 13 or 14 years to kill the standard attacks on private citizens by politicians in Parliament ….. it is all on the record in Hansard.

I watched the debate and appreciated the skill of the “kill”.

The sooner we realise we need to look for similarities and not differences the better it will be for Barbados.

… and yes, I have presented a different viewpoint which may take some getting used to …. and yes I may be wrong in my interpretation ….. but show me where and I will change.

23. @John…

I’m finding myself appreciating your input….

24. John color is still part of the puzzle. The color lines are no longer clearly or distinctly black and white, but the lighter your skin the more access you seem to have. There are exceptions to this, but in general, this has played out in Barbados for some time and is still with us today though not as prevalent. Even with class being the dominant social devider in a given community, color and race are still part of the picture.

25. Excuse me, I am not in any way trying to interrupt the flow of this discussion. I just had to get the following off my chest.

BFP is a joke – one you can’t even laugh at and much more. I made a thread under the pseudo name, Dumbfounded. (I am withholding the handle that I use here on BU so that BFP and its peepers reading this thread remains in the sea and still want a bath.)

It looks like my thread on BFP slipped through the cracks last night while they were having a few quick naps, because I verified that it was posted. To my surprise this morning, my thread is history. Lol.
    The thread read:
    “I cannot believe the day has come I would hear and actually prove for myself that BFP refuses to publish comments that they did not like — comments with no disrespect in anyway; simply plain talk that they either did not want readers to see because it may have shown up their flaws causing embarrassment, or they do not want to accept reality as it faces them.

I just can’t get over these latest actions of BFP. I would love to know what has made them take a 180 degree turnaround. I never expected such from BFP in a million years. Lighten up BFP. I am fully aware it’s your blog, your call, you have last word.”
    ————————————————–
    What in that thread is offensive? I got a feeling that some of the commenters that BFP refuse to post their opinions are simply responding to observations. It is asinine to punish the innocent without any proof of guilt. BFP seems to be slowly bringing their pigs to a fine market.

Anyway, enough said about those jokers. BFP is a BAD acronym. The F does not stand for FREE.

26. @Adrian Hinds: “…color is still part of the puzzle.

Adrian, are you Black, White, Red, Yellow, Blue, Green, Purple, Cyan or Orange?

Are you BLP, or are you DLP?

Are you Republican, or are you Democratic?

Are you Christian, or are you Islamic? Or perhaps Jewish? Or perhaps Buddhist? Or perhaps Agnostic?

Or perhaps (gods forbid) Atheist?

We are *all* different. And we are *all* the same… And we must all live beside each other on this bloody ball of wax called Earth.

The sooner we realize that we’re all being played like the ignorant fools that we are, the sooner we *all* can take back control of all our destinies from those who have learnt to pull certain strings to their own advantage….

(IMHO.)

27. Chris I hope that you would post and tell that to BFP and others of a lighter hue as well. Uh mean everywhere on this earth people of a darker skin tone are been ostracize, left out, kept at the bottom, made fun off etc. It is not people of the darker hues that needs to be told this, and repeatedly so.

28. Access to the blogs illustrates my point perfectly. BU is accepting of everyone, BFP does not, even though there is an express intent by persons of a darker skin tone to do so. Yet you are here reminding us that we are all the same. we know, but there are others that are say uh uh.

29. @A. Hinds…

I feel no need to post at BFP ever again…

But, for the record… It is my personal opinion that anyone of *any* colour upon this earth who doesn’t accept that their ancestors were Black are ignorant fools…

And there have been many wrongs committed because of Colour. And because of Religion. And simply because of economic opportunity….

But there (hopefully) comes a time when those who can will stand up from where they find themselves at that particular moment, ignoring the past (or, at least, ignoring the past for a while), and take hold of the immediate “now” to further themselves and their.

As Obama himself said: “Yes we can!

30. @John
    You wrote: ” I agree divisions have always existed and Barbados like any other country has never been fair”…

You therefore “agree” that the divisions were there, before the “Black politicians” spoke – or black people in general – the point I first made.
    The remainder of you contribution is supfluous to the point I raised.

31. Just in case it wasn’t clear… The “Anonymous” post above staring “I feel no need to post at BFP ever again…

…was me….

32. …”your” contribution…

33. I have not posted at BFP for a very long time, I have not been banned at least not to my knowledge. I just stopped posting, I am always firm in my resolve, there is no Blog on this earth I will beg to allow me to post on. If I am made aware that my contributions are not welcomed…I will just walk away …end of, it will not bother me one little bit.

34. Dumfounded and Anon:

The truth is there for all to see and I know, for I do not only see it, I also feel it.

It truly all about how you look. If you are light enough you are accepted if you are bit dark look out.

Google Derick Jeter.
    Google Obama.

The former is concidered white (or accepted) by many and all concider the latter black.

They both have/had black fathers and White mothers.

I don’t know why this is being ignored by some here. Even in our caribbean history we know of the behaviours, acceptance by whites of,..and the self impose isolation from Blacks by so called Molattoes. What identified a person as a molattoe?

And

35. @Adrian Hinds…

Get over (get past) Colour…

All this is about is economic advantage…

…and the pulling of sensitive strings….

36. Yardbroom

I think you will find you made several points.

I’ve tried to put plainly what I believe, my creed if you like although I would admit like all humans I am going to make mistakes in its application to my everyday life.

37. I post on both blogs and as ROK put it I need to decide if I am in the five toe or four toe camp ….. us and them.

Well, I was put in a quandry because when I counted I found I had 10 toes ….. and it doesn’t bother me in the least.

When I feel like posting I post.

If the post is accepted, it is accepted,

…. if it isn’t, and some have not appeared or take long to appear, it isn’t.

Usually in the heat of an exchange my posts appear promptly, but not always.

Que sera … sera.

Came across this link which I think is relevant.

Haven’t read it all but what I did read showed me that different people think differently about colour, from the most powerful man in the world down to me.

http://blacksnob.blogspot.com/2008/07/when-is-black-black.html

38. “To bait fish withal; if it will feed nothing else, it will feed my revenge. He hath disgrac’d me, and hinder’d me of half a million, laughed at my losses, mock’d at my gains, scorn’d my nation, thwarted my bargains, cool’d my friends, heated mine enemies; and what’s his reason? I am a proud black man. Hath not a proud black man eyes; hath not a proud black man hands, organs, dimensions, senses, affections, passions; fed with the same food, hurt with the same weapons, subject to the same diseases, healed by the same means, warmed and cooled by the same winter and summer that a Christian is? If you prick us, do we not bleed? If you tickle us, do we not laugh? If you poison us, do we not die? And if you wrong us, shall we not revenge? If we are like you in the rest, we will resemble you in that. If a proud black man wrong a Christian, what is his humility? revenge. If a Christian wrong a proud black man, what should his sufferance be by Christian example? why revenge. The villainy you teach me I will execute, and it shall go hard but I will better the instruction.”

39. @Adrian Hinds // September 14, 2009 at 1:55 PM: ‘Access to the blogs illustrates my point perfectly. BU is accepting of everyone’.

I recommend that everyone keeps the words of that 2nd sentence pinned in front of their computers and remind you of them each time that there is a sense of non acceptance of anyone on BU. Well said. But well meant?

40. Ebenezer // September 13, 2009 at 6:31 PM

Pat says: “I have noticed that they have never, never said anything positive about any of our government – neither the old, nor the new.”

You must suffer from short term memory loss Pat. Months before the last election, BFP was very open in it’s support for change, supportive of the DLP, as were many Bajans.

Ebenezer, that is true. But at that time, the DLP was not government. Since they became the ruling government, BFP’s tactics changed.

41. Adrian Hinds, do you read your own words before you click that submit button?

‘Access to the blogs illustrates my point perfectly. BU is accepting of everyone’.

Let me see now…….Indo-Guyanese that were foolish enough to post to this blog were run out the place, Jack Bowman was subject to ROK making something of the fact that he may be a “Jew” and that wasn’t even relevent to the discussion, Negroman called a woman who was murdered in Barbados “white trash”, a poor fella going by the handle “foolbert” was insulted, castigated and spoken to like he was shite because he was Jewish and didn’t try to hide the fact, everytime someone couldn’t take the time to debate an issue with Lib, they referred to him as a Jamaican “foreigner” and hell if you white you doan stan a chance bout hey except of course Chris Halsall who only survives by sticking his nose suh far up certain people backside that he ain smell fresh air in a long long time.
    I also can’t help but wonder what would happen to a poor soul who would come in here and admit to being gay, wuuuuhlossssss.
    So come again Adrain, come again.

42. Ebenezer,
    Do you understand the difference between ‘accepting and tolerating’. Well, while we may ‘accept’ everyone, doesn’t mean that we have to tolerate de shyte they may offer time n again. How else would you be familiar with the likes of Jack de human rat Bowman, LIB etc.
    Git?

43. Ebenezer boy, you know you going get cussed, right?

44. Why should he be cursed? He has told the truth!

45. Really really but that is just why he going get cussed here.

46. Really Really,
    The ‘truth’ in whose eyes? Yours?
    Stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

Superdocious
    Dah in tru. Nabody in gun curse he a’tall. Ya lie.

47. Superdocious & Really Really: Muh back broad yuh hear?

48. BU is accepting of everyone. BU being the blog owner David.

David have you ban anyone dodate?

Has anyone been ban from BFP???
    I have, but of course this matters none to those who may now what to question BU’s openess.

The truth is still very evident even if some chose to ignore it.

So, although the Blog owner accepts all, and he does, he makes no demands of commentors to do likewise. Freedom of expression must also include the right not to express or associate if one so choses. I chose to interact with whomsoever I will or will not, as is my right. Neither is there any requirement that the Blog owner interact with anyone. But “sense” all wunnuh want.

Bonny P how you doing? 🙂

49. wait I was suppose to cuss somebody? ha ha ha lol!