Submitted by Alex Fergusson

barbados

Barbadians are going about their daily business oblivious to the cold, hard fact that each month, Public Servants in this country come perilously close to not being paid.

Employees who travel on government business are also having headaches being paid for such travel. It is no accident that some persons who do work for government are still not being paid in a timely manner. Why – you may ask? The IMF has advised the DLP to slash its expenditure bill this financial year by as much as $120 million and a further $300 million next financial year.

Barbados is heading back to the bad old days under the DLP, when the relatives of persons who were sick – had to take a towel; soap and toilet paper for them at the QEH. There are a number of questions to be answered but the DLP, which promised “accountability” and “freedom of information,” is not helping.

Is it true that the amount allocated to Ministries and Departments in the Estimates were cut by 10%? Is it true that the revised amount was then cut by a further 2.5% in order to pay income tax returns? And, are there plans for a further 2.5% cut in or around November this year?

If true, a budget cut of some 15% would mean that Ministries and Department are almost certainly only paying salaries and wages. If so, what about the 2000 house the NHC plans to build this year? Does this also explain why absolutely no work is being done by the UDC and RDC, as regards the repair of homes for poor people? And, this is the same DLP that was telling Barbadians, “spend widely,” a few months ago!

Did this same DLP not promised Teachers, Nurses and Policemen – increased pay and duty free cars? What about the promise to build an island off the West Coast? What about the Airport in St. Lucy? What about the Sea Port in the North of the Island? How about the brand-name hotel every two years? How about the plan to build the electrical sub-station at the QEH? What about the plan to buy back the BNB shares worth US$750 million? What about the plan to acquire the derelict Samlords Castle?

The point I am making is that the DLP government cannot afford do any of those things. It simply does not even have the $111 million it takes monthly to pay public servants. It gets worst! We are now hearing that Government should purchase and demolishing run-down hotels on the beachside. Where is the money?

Massive unemployment means less revenue from income tax, as well as, reduced spending power, hence less revenue for VAT, Excise Tax, Environmental Levy and Import Duties. When added to reduced tourist arrivals and discounted prices/packages; excessive taxation and a serious drop in foreign direct investment, as a result of shattered investor confidence – you have a very serious revenue lost problem. The simply point I am trying to make connects with what the BLP said in this year’s Estimates Debate. The DLP’ revenue projections were unrealistic, hence the DLP ordered, budget cuts and its gravitation towards the IMF, six months after it brought unrealistic Estimates.

140 responses to “DLP’s Life Threatening Change And Cutbacks: A Sure Pathway to Poverty”

1. Can you bring yourself to admit that had owen arthur and his gang of thieves not wasted taxpayers money and along with their friends and family accumulated millions from questionable means and from the government treasury,then we the public and this DLP government would not be in the position they are now in.

But if the DLP want to keep that a secret well then let the people cuss them for these hard times and belt tightening measurs.

2. ALEX

“relatives of persons who were sick – had to take a towel; soap and toilet paper for them at the QEH.”

You are mistaken, that was under the Barbados Labour Party when they allowed the QEH to run down. The Democratic Labour Party is trying very hard to raise the standards again.

So come again. Your revisionist history will not cut it here. We know better.

3. Does the writer of this piece live in this world? Is that person aware of the economic chaos going on all around us?

Is Alex Fergusson not privy the dire GLOBAL prospects for next year -as predicted by no less than the highest level world bank and IMF officials?

Our only hope was that good stewardship over the last decade would have prepared us for this period – like the 5 wise virgins.
    Unfortunately, our leaders were neither wise nor virgins…. so we have been set up….

As Bush Tea said on BU -BEFORE the present government took office, there is NOTHING that they can do at this stage to avoid serious hardship in this place….. too little – too late.

4. Maybe it is the BLP doing what former PM Arthur had perfected during his time, flying a kite.

5. The writer of this article is being very naïve. Last month in the US over 200,000 persons loss their jobs.
    The Secretary for labour in the US is saying that things are not going to look rosy for a while.
    David Thompson promised many things which we all agree he did but the really hit home when he got into office and saw the mess and the world economy was getting worse by the day. Some pundits at that time were saying that this was a good election to lose.
    The DLP must stop trying to keep things as normal and introduce Integrity Legislation and Freedom of Information. All persons who are involved in any enterprise which deals with contracts or with money should declare their assets before taking office.
    Owen Arthur is not going no where because he sees an opening where he can return to power as PM.
    Too much money was casually spent by the last administration and it should not happen again. There seems to be so many people waiting again to get their hands on this money .They can’t wait.

6. Jukecheckedeyskirt @ Avatar
    Jukecheckedeyskirt @

More condemantion base on exploitation from previous ruling party and a revelation of misconstrued propaganda intended to stir up the feelings of the masses that the DLP is at fault for the current gloom to doom.

This crisis is not of the DLP making nor is it anything to do with the BLP. This is an economic crisis for which small island developing states will reap the whirlwind before there is any calm forecast. However, having said that the BLP must suffer the condemnation of poor judgement calls that have showered upon them, a rain of allegations of mismanagement and corruption.

The political jabbering will not solve the tourist dilenma nor our fiscal deficits. Only a change in the world’s economy or if we miraculously should discover tonnes upon tonnes of oil or gold can get us out this crisis.

7. this sound like another BLP doom and gloom prophet.

8. Alex Fergusson wrote “What about the promise to build an island off the West Coast?”

Truthfully I don’t think that this was a DLP promise.

I think that a private sector real estate agent floated this idea.

But if there is not enough private sector money to finish Paradise Hotel, then I am sure that we won’t be building any islands any time soon

9. Arthur seems to be in a win win position given the results of the recent CADRES poll which places his popularity above party leader. The poll seems to have given legs to the possibility to return to lead the BLP. Here is what he said immediately after the last general election. DLP leader David Thompson was sworn in on 16 January, succeeding Arthur.[1] Despite the party’s defeat, Arthur was re-elected to his own seat from St. Peter constituency with 65% of the vote.[2] He also said that he felt he could still contribute to CARICOM.[3] On January 19, he stepped down as BLP leader, saying that he felt an immediate leadership transition would be in the best interests of both the party and Barbadian democracy; former Deputy Prime Minister Mia Mottley was chosen as the new party leader. see source

10. The writer really touched some nerves; no one has successfully challenged his thesis, which in essence questions government’s management of the economy.

It would be interesting if someone could factually list all the oft spoken of wastage, and then outline how far the ‘wasted’ money of the past administration would aid us now?

For instance, the writer argues that it costs government $111 million per month to pay civil servants. Few weeks ago Minister Sinckler disclosed that UDC (often referred to as a pork barrel) spent $100m in total during its 11 year existence.

11. **Adviser to the President** Avatar
    **Adviser to the President**

why is that beautiful, sexy looking photo of Mia at the top ? She looks sweet and sexy, I wish I was a sardine !

12. While we are at it maybe some one maybe the same two Holder and the weid Weir should tell us why it is that the following is know to have taken place.

If this is any indication of what to expect from these two it is not a very good example to go with.

Do you know the new Sen Arthur Holder is charging VAT for legal work and is not VAT registered?

Or that he may have handled the case of a poor old man and 10 acres of land for the miserly sum of $ 10,000.00 now this old man placed him in a position of trust and he may have taken advantage of him by robbing him blindly.

Do you also know that the travel agent who was nominated threatened his staff if they did not turn up to his nomination that they would be looking for jobs.

It seeems Mia in her very desperate effort inflict her fangs and her bite onto the BLP she is not doing her full background checks and research as if she had done so neither of these two jokers, scamps and crooks would have raised their heads under Owing to seek selection to office.

In her rush to put those faithful to her in her bossom she is doing so without regard for honesty and intergity but then again this is Mottley the same beast that was part of managing projects that was VECO, DANOS, EDUTECH and CBC under her reign, now I know that this is true for when the Prime Minister raised it in the House Of Assembly she never uttered a word in her own defence.

GUILTY AS CHARGED MOTTLEY GUILTY.

13. This year was a challenge coming up against Liz Thompson as I only learnt last Friday that I had a challenger. I am someone who loves challenges, so I took that challenge and I am here to continue to the work that I have been doing..

How really amusing this statement is that not even within the BLP do their own women find Liz THompson an attractive candidate for a post but yet still Mottley is prepared to toss this 1000 lbs of Blubber onto the unwitting and caring electorate.

She was rejected at the polls last year, she was rejected at the polls of her own BLP clan this year and will be rejected at the polls by Donville Inniss who has really grabbed hold of his Ministry and is serving his people well, she is a political misfit of massive proportions.

Butr once again she is Mottley Girl so she is there to tow Mottley’s thread.

14. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Wishing in Vain

That sort of coo coo and flying fish gossip ain’t gonna fly with thinking barbadians.

We already know the BLP with owen and the others are corrupt,now is time to see what you the DLP are going to do about their past deeds.

15. Mottley’s comment reported in the news today should be more widely debated ie the automatic pass-thru of oil prices to Barbadian consumers. Under normal circumstances we can understand the approach but at a time when the economy is declining has the time come for a rethink?

16. Is there a way to apportion blame for our current circumstances?

1.Wastage by the last administration:The “rainy day”has arrived but the money is not there to help us.
    2. External factors: The decline in the world economy.
    3. Lack of skills of the current administration: So far there is no plan to deal with the crisis that is engulfing us.

17. WIV or should I say Hartley? instead of using your usual smear tactics to “ruin people’s reputations” (we know how you love to do that). Why not tell us what Thompson is going to do to take us through the recession?

I’ll agree there is an international crisis going on, but the Thompson need to clearly spell out his strategy for the economic survival of Barbados. Laying estimates in the house of assembly that have no bearing on reality only prove the point of those who say that he doesn’t have a clue on how to run the economy and that he’s way out of his depth.

It is interesting that in spewing your bile on Mia, Liz Thompson, Weir, and Holder you don’t actually touch any of the substantive points made by the original post. Get it through your thick skull that we the people have already punished the BLP, however this is not a “free paper” for the DLP.

You can’t excuse the DLP’s current incompetence and malfeasance by referring to something the BLP did.

18. Hey Greenidge, you will have to face your past actions for many years to come, it will not run away and hide.

For if you and your lot had not raped the treasury as you so obviously did that this Gov’t would have some safe money to work with thru these tough times but you know what even after your rape this island will be ok because the raping is now a thing of the past and good secure honest goverance has returned to this island.

The mess that you and your lot inflicted on the people of Barbados you lot should be ashamed to raise your faces in the public domain ever again, simple and plain like that.

19. Wishing in vain that I was Hartley Henry wishing that I was vain Avatar
    Wishing in vain that I was Hartley Henry wishing that I was vain

Mirror, mirror on the wall, who’s the biggest head of all?

20. Hartley,

you poor fool. I’m not Sylvan. Let’s talk facts.

Let’s talk facts about how Barbados’ foreign debt has skyrocketed under your administration.

Let’s talk facts about how you didn’t do the flyovers but will in the next six months have to eat humble pie and admit the flyovers were right.

Let’s talk facts about how you stopped planning for the new hospital on political grounds but your last two ministers of health have submitted plans for cabinet for just that. You are keeping health care from Barbadians because you would have to admit the BLP was right about that too.

Let’s face facts that since your government has come in critical inflows of capital have dwindled because investors sense exactly what Bajans have come to realise, this DLP government has not the first clue how to manage the economy and is way out of it’s depth.

Let’s face facts that despite the PM’s statement of he doesn’t want “a night of the long knives” the knives are out and today is a funny night.

Let’s face facts that unemployment has skyrocketed in the last year and we have yet to hear any substantive plan from your government on how they plan to deal with it or the recession.

And while we’re at it let’s face facts that the global recession was already in swing when you took office so you can’t say that you were caught by surprise. You knew what the international economy was like, and through the CBB statistics you knew exactly what the Barbados economy was like.

Let’s face facts the the DLP manifesto was never really considered to be a programme for progress, it was just something thrown together over a bowl of corn soup for the election. Which is why you have not implemented more than a few of it’s many many promises. (I’ll go easy on you and not mention the promises you said were going to happen in 100 days)

Let’s face facts that my name is not Sylvan and your government is screwing up badly.

21. The staff of the Central Bank and the Ministry of Finance are the experts on macro economic and financial management matters. I would think the most of them are still in place.

The pertinent advisers have not changed.

It is just a matter for Darcy Boyce and Thompson to show some leadership.

22. There was plenty wastage under the last administration; international economic hardship have made our lives more difficult.

We cannot just moan about such things. We need a workable plan to minimize our hardship and put us on the road to recovery.

Where is the plan? We need confidence that we will get out of the current circumstances and prosperity will be restored.

Neither Boyce or Thompson is inspiring confidence.

23. I feel comfortable with the handling of this economy by David Thompson & his administration.Yes I will admit we are facing some tough times economically & financially but overall the government is coping quite well under the prevailing conditions.

It seems that a concerted effort is in place by some members of the powerful business community to frustrate the economic policies of this administration.This government is trying its best to bring the price of food down .However all efforts by this government in this regard have been hampered by the business community.

Local businesses including Nation Company Limited, Cable & Wireless,Sagicor,Dacosta Mannings,and other despite recording big profits based on their annual financial reports are laying off workers or threatening to lay off workers.

There is no severe local economic downturn that will cause the present rate of lay offs to occur.I believe it is a conspiracy by select local businesses to frustrate this government’s economic policy so as to create the impression of mismanagement that will give that despicable lot in the Barbados Labour Party an opportunity to regain the government of Barbados.

Barbadians are sensible & knowledgeable and the scare mongering tactics currently employ by the corrupt,,disgrace Barbados Labour Party will not fool the people.The Democratic Labour Party led by Prime Minister David Thompson is doing a reasonably good job in the prevailing conditions and will win the next few general elections in Barbados quite comfortably.

Barbados will never want to see the likes of drunkard Owen Arthur,the biter of pork Mia Mottley,the freak Dale Marshall & the clown with the hats George Payne as the government of Barbados ever again.We are prepare to suck salt under David Thompson & the Democratic Labour Party than to be led by that rackateering bunch of political hum bugs in the Barbados Labour Party.

24. That’s right Negroman it’s just those wicked white/rich people trying to make David John Thompson look bad. Let’s not forget those really committed to the cause of making this government look bad by laying off ALL their staff and closing down. Ocean Park, Restaurant at Southsea etc. etc. etc. its all part of a “Great Conspiracy” to make the DLP Government look bad.

25. WIV would have us believe that Thompson is a bright man. I have never been able to prove this brightness. In fact, it is my view that if ever we need to see evidence of his brightness and competence it is now. To just through your hands in the air and surrender the country to the ravages of the global recession is not in keeping with hallmark of bright people. In times of trial and hopelessness men of courage and competence rise to the task before them.

Continuously referring to the work of the previous BLP administration would neither absolve the present DLP Government from the avalanche of criticism mounting against it daily nor will it inspire the hope and confidence desperately needed to pull the country and its people out of the current real and psychological state of hopelessness and desperation.

Was the sending home of the workers at UDC a result of the global recession? No.
    Is the 60% increase in water rates brought on by the global recession? No.
    Is the removal of the subsidy on the fuel cost on the electricity bill, resulting in and increase in the cost of living some of the vulnerable groups in the society came as result of the global recession? No.
    Was the decision to stop certain works on the ABC highway, putting hundreds of workers out of work taken in response to the global recession? No.
    Was the increase in liquor license, road tax, professional fees, driver’s license fees and a host of other fees as set out in the PM’s budget of 2009 a result of the global recession? No.
    Is the inability for this country to attract its share of the 2.6 billion tourists that visit the region annually, as seen in the statistics of the CTO, a result of the global recession? No.
    Is the DLP’s stance on the sale of land to foreign investors, which has led to a drastic decline in the millions of dollars earned by this country’s through direct foreign investments, triggered by the global recession? No.
    Is the current flight of capital out of the country a result of the global recession? No.
    Is the inability of patients to receive the services of the dialysis machine at the QEH a result of the global recession? No.

Look, the fact of the matter is that this country is being mismanaged badly. Thompson and his goon squad does not have a clue about what to do to arrest the economic slide in this country. In 1994, the BLP inherited an economy with 27% unemployment, self-esteem among workers at their lowest, investor confidence non-existence, foreign reserves were less than two weeks of import cover and the general atmosphere in the country was one of doom and gloom.

In 2008, the DLP inherited an economy with over $2.6 billion in foreign reserves, unemployment of 6%, a booming construction industry, a vibrant tourism industry, high investor confidence, a public service in which workers were earning a bonus in addition to their salaries, in fact the country was well on its way to accomplishing “First World Status” by 2025. Today, the future of our country looks dim and the hopes of our people have been dashed. Political cleansing, corruption and a government consumed in itself is the order of the day.

26. Bajans are caught between a rock and a hard place.

The wasteful BLP or ineffective DLP. It is really a hard choice.

27. How can we measure the performance of the government in the current global economic situation in as fair a manner as possible.

28. David,

no PM or government controls the economic environment. s***t happens its the way of life. Any government must be evaluated on how they perform.

What is Thompsons plan for dealing with the recession?

What is he doing to stimulate employment?

Is there a strategy to pursue if not economic development then reduction in harm to Barbadians?

So far we seem to be getting little info from Mr. Thompson and contradictory and at time conflicting actions and words.

Throwing your hands up in despair and abdicating from all responsibility for everything because there is a recession on is simply not an option.

He wanted the Government. He won it. Now he has to run it.

29. David,

It was the DLP party that took this country almost to the point of starvation in 1974/76. Remember all those “price controls” of those days put in place by that “masterful” Minister of Trade one Brandford Taitt? This same DLP party had this beautiful country on its knees then and again in 1994! Remember the marching of 30,000 people from Harmony Hall through Bridgetown right to the Prime Minister Sandiford’s office. Remember the famous Sandiford statement of “LIKE IT OR LUMP IT”? Why do you think the people left the comfort of their homes and/or offices that day to parade through Bridgetown in the heat. Because they had nothing better to do? No, they did not want to be put under the yolk of the IMF. The same place we heading now!
    I put it to you that they were completely fed-up with the suffocating tactics of this same man, David Thompson, who was then also the Minister of Finance just as he is now. A tiger can’t get rid of his stripes! Even if he covers them up for a while they must show through again!
    Check out the comments by Royalrumble // September 8, 2009 at 2:38 PM above.

Sir Grantley really knew Bajans when he said the they had short memories. There was never a truer statement made by man!

30. David ain’t got a clue period. Only damn excuses plain as day to see

31. Thompson should be given a chance. In the meantime,he needs to show that at least he is working on the problems.

He and Darcy Boyce need to communicate with the public and let us know what he is doing.

We are getting the impression that the time we are giving him is being wasted and that he is just hoping for the international economy to recover and have a positive spill over on the Barbadian economy.

32. 14 years of growth and plenty
    but the people wanted change they were too happy
    change to what and for what and the question why
    now the flour has hit the fan, faces and eyes

Come back Owen and save us like in 1994
    Forgive the hard ears people do it for the sake of the poor

Cant believe the DLP is doing this foolishness again to the people

33. Trinidad has one of the stronger economies in our region and it is experiencing recession. The question we are asking therefore is how realistic is it to bandy about the pre-meltdown economic statistics compared to current as a means to judge the performance of the government. It is easy to make the statement but the challenge is to determine how much better could the government have performed in the current crisis and what measures are being used to do the analysis.BU is using other economies in the region and beyond as a guide what are you using igrance?

34. Do we really need Owen or Mia to save us or to blind us while their friends put their hands into our pockets and take our money?

35. I just read ROYAL RUMBLE and it brought tears to my eyes. It is so true -it hurts and could have been avoided. But a lot of ignorant people in this country did not want Owen Arthur to get 4 terms and from early they started to put a plan into operation to stop him.

4 terms would have given Owen 1 better than Mr. Barrow and would have given legs to the argument as to who was the best Prime Minister of Barbados.

You people on this blog have accused the BLP government of corruption. Even if this were true, the country was doing well. Even if Miss M was biting out ten P——s, THE COUNTRY WAS RUNNING GOOD as pointed by Royal Rumble.

I am so scared for this country now ! After reading RUMBLE, the harsh reality has really set in with me.

I am very emotional about this thing and I am actually typing this with tears in my eyes. I cant believe this nonsense happening to we again.

Those letters IMF have driven fear into my heart because people such as me will feel it more than some others.

Come back Owen ! Even though I say Come Back Owen, I know that you stubborn people will want to see this DLP Government thru the 5 years to give them a chance but I say this will only cause us to suffer but what can you do ?

They have been elected for 5 years and I guess we will have to grin and bear it. I am tired !

36. @Anonymous // September 8, 2009 at 6:38 PM

You said…..”Do we really need Owen or Mia to save us or to blind us while their friends put their hands into our pockets and take our money?”

I reply………Even if this statement is true (where is the evidence?) and not rumour as it usually is, the country was still benefitting and moving forward.
    Now we ain’t seeing nuttin’!

37. @ KISSMYA // September 8, 2009 at 6:43 PM
    There is still hope, remember, the same voters who voted them in 1991 was the same voters that marched against them 1994 and then voted them out before the end of the term!

38. Robin Hood,

You can continue to look for the evidence. Bajans already know the truth. We are not sure about the amounts.

At lot of our progress had to do with luck rather than design.

Some persons are just born lucky. Owen has no special economic skills that cannot be found in the Central Bank or at the UWI or for that matter in many ministries of government.

39. BU; Is there one “anonymous” with a split personality or several of them?

40. Does anyone recall the first BFP article? what date was it publish on?

41. Never mind I think it was January 17th 2006. Let me know if thats not correct.

thanks!

42. I hear yuh ROBIN and you are correct .

INMHO -There was no need for change-none whatsoever but people took the good position of this country for granted and took chances.

How stupid stupid srupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid.

1991 -94 was the worse period in our recent political and economic history. I did not see the DLP getting back in power for 30 years after what they did to us in that period-a cruel period !

This is bare crap , they won an election based on lies and financing from certain people.

I could not believe it-BILLBOARDS all over the country, full page ads and several other ads everyday . WHERE DID THEY GET THE MONEY FROM ???,

Run and hide DLP SUPPORTERS .wunna shame now -cat got wunna tongue —no defense but to talk crap bout corruption-

wunna did the same thing in 1986 and by 1988 , Richie Haynes had defected and called Sandy’s budget a backstreet abortion. By 1989 -the arms of the IMF beckoned=thereafter Sandy gave away 33 million and dug a deep hole for BARBADOS-devaluation threaten -other islands refused to take our dollar and started to laugh at us-(how embarassing )- and the rest is HISTORY , MYSTORY AND YOURSTORY—-OWEN SAVED WE !

43. Greenidge Parro in a Suit the debt collector aint lock you up yet??

I understand that they are trying find a home address for you but some suggest that of no fixed place of abode would be adequate others suggested that the Writ be sent to the lunch room of Parliament where you and the scum bag Bovell spend everyday waiting for the scraps to fall off the BLP table.

May I suggest you seek help and not be sent before the courst yet again, and this is what Mottley and the BLP keep close to themselves all scum.

44. Alex I am not there with you on your article. Things are not nearly as bad as you say. The government owed me some money and I got paid every cent and on time too. So I cannot support your view.
    Look man I have every confidence in Thompie, take it from me, he will save us all.

45. @Johnnie Too Bad // September 8, 2009 at 10:49 PM

HA, ha, ha,! Yuh mek mih laff!! U musse a comedian!!!

46. @Johnnie Too Bad // September 8, 2009 at 10:49 PM

HA, ha, ha,! Yuh mek mih laff!! U musse a comedian!!!

47. apologies for the double post.

48. RoyalRumble, boy what a joke, when your side was in and borrowing left right and centre for a rainy day , you were very silent. Any fool can run a country on borrowed money that they did not have to pay back. What we are seeing now is the result of all Owen borrowing feeding into what the DLP has to manage now.
    Owen borrowed for a rainyday which is now here. Where has the money gone. What about GEMS?

49. Anon, you may well laugh, but I am having lobster for lunch today. How do you expect me to believe what Alex is saying?

50. KISSMIA,

Where you going to live? Jamaica, OECS in IMF programmes. Trinidad just had rough Budget and Guyana is the only other economy in the region. USA still plummeting, UK in a mess, only China and India holding their own. You going to live there? You fool.

As to the rest like Anonymous, what do you want to hear from David Thompson and Darcy Boyce? The people still believe the DLP can manage the economy better despite Owen’s much touted “brilliance” !! That was a surprising result but it shows that the people are in tune.

David, you want to “debate issues” but perhaps you could make a few suggestions: what would you do? What should David Thompson do?