Submitted by Alex Fergusson

barbados

Barbadians are going about their daily business oblivious to the cold, hard fact that each month, Public Servants in this country come perilously close to not being paid.

Employees who travel on government business are also having headaches being paid for such travel. It is no accident that some persons who do work for government are still not being paid in a timely manner. Why – you may ask? The IMF has advised the DLP to slash its expenditure bill this financial year by as much as $120 million and a further $300 million next financial year.

Barbados is heading back to the bad old days under the DLP, when the relatives of persons who were sick – had to take a towel; soap and toilet paper for them at the QEH. There are a number of questions to be answered but the DLP, which promised “accountability” and “freedom of information,” is not helping.

Is it true that the amount allocated to Ministries and Departments in the Estimates were cut by 10%? Is it true that the revised amount was then cut by a further 2.5% in order to pay income tax returns? And, are there plans for a further 2.5% cut in or around November this year?

If true, a budget cut of some 15% would mean that Ministries and Department are almost certainly only paying salaries and wages. If so, what about the 2000 house the NHC plans to build this year? Does this also explain why absolutely no work is being done by the UDC and RDC, as regards the repair of homes for poor people? And, this is the same DLP that was telling Barbadians, “spend widely,” a few months ago!

Did this same DLP not promised Teachers, Nurses and Policemen – increased pay and duty free cars? What about the promise to build an island off the West Coast? What about the Airport in St. Lucy? What about the Sea Port in the North of the Island? How about the brand-name hotel every two years? How about the plan to build the electrical sub-station at the QEH? What about the plan to buy back the BNB shares worth US$750 million? What about the plan to acquire the derelict Samlords Castle?

The point I am making is that the DLP government cannot afford do any of those things. It simply does not even have the $111 million it takes monthly to pay public servants. It gets worst! We are now hearing that Government should purchase and demolishing run-down hotels on the beachside. Where is the money?

Massive unemployment means less revenue from income tax, as well as, reduced spending power, hence less revenue for VAT, Excise Tax, Environmental Levy and Import Duties. When added to reduced tourist arrivals and discounted prices/packages; excessive taxation and a serious drop in foreign direct investment, as a result of shattered investor confidence – you have a very serious revenue lost problem. The simply point I am trying to make connects with what the BLP said in this year’s Estimates Debate. The DLP’ revenue projections were unrealistic, hence the DLP ordered, budget cuts and its gravitation towards the IMF, six months after it brought unrealistic Estimates.

140 responses to “DLP’s Life Threatening Change And Cutbacks: A Sure Pathway to Poverty”

1. @Veritas

David, you want to “debate issues” but perhaps you could make a few suggestions: what would you do? What should David Thompson do?

Good question and it is the reason we have been asking the BLP supporters a few questions to better understand the yardstick they are using to measure performance in the context of an global economic meltdown. We have to start from the precept opposition parties must oppose and governments must defend policy positions. In this regard the recent CADRES poll is instructive. All must admit when we compare accessibility by the media the Thompson government has been very open i.e.quareterly press conferences and ministers appearing on CBC, Wickham Show. On this note BU remains concern the Leader of the Opposition seems to be having a problem accessing their airwaves. Is there a problem the public should be made aware?

To answer your question the word underground (on the ground) among a particular group suggests the Thompson administration maybe fighting a bogeyman of being weak in the area of economics/finance. This is an issue the strategists on the DLP must confront in a difficult economic situation because there will be many losers before we se winners.

2. VERITAS
    —————–

YOU ARE THE FOOL -YOU BLIND KLOWN AND WINDBAG !- YOU COULD REALLY SHUT UP you -A—-HOLE

-all when Jamaica was struggling , Barbados was doing well. People like you so are too damned partisan and the truth is not within you

signed KISSMYA

3. WIV / Hartley would like everyone to believe that all the anti government comments are made by this “Sylvan”

Hartley you seem to have had great difficulty in understanding what happened when this government came to power. You no longer can cover up the intellectual vacuum that the DLP is by blaming the BLP.

You and your party are now responsible for the livelihood of a quarter of a million souls on this little rock. Recession or not, hurricane or not, good weather or not. It’s not as easy as running a smear campaign is it?

In today’s nation Thompson once again tries to duck responsibility by saying the QEH decision is in the lap of Donville Inniss.

But Minister Inniss has already made a recommendation to cabinet months ago hasn’t he? Just like Minister Estwick did.

Both ministers have followed the advice of reams of experts from several fields both local and international who say that they need a new hospital. This advice was given to the BLP before the election and the BLP didn’t blink they were going to build a new hospital.

Because Thompson had said that the hospital project was a political gimmick he doesn’t want to back down now and admit that the BLP was right.

Because of political hubris the man is denying Barbadians the fastest possible access to modern tertiary health care in Barbados. For political mileage.

But Hartley perhaps that was your advice too…..

4. BU…..who is this Alex Fergusson ?

Whoever he/she maybe they have surely been away from Barbados between 1994 – 2007.

Here is one reason I am advancing that view :

Between that period and under the leadership of the Economic GURU..Owen Arthur ( and the benefit of 4 Economists in his party )

Over 50 million $$$ were taken up to build a dump at GREENLAND…!

In September 2009…..that ” dump” cannot receive a small plastic bag of GARBAGE….!

But taxpayers of BARBADOS are saddled with the DEBT for this project.

Now the ALEX FERGUSSON’S of this world would have us believe that a DLP gov’t in office at the HEIGHT of an economic reccession…….has plenty elbow room .

When the BLP gov’t in times of PLENTY……wasted money on GEMS , DODDS, ABC highway and the like.

SHAME…on you BLPites….!

Thank goodness the majority of BAJANS….recognise the TRUTH.

5. It must be noted that while economies like America, France, German, Brazil, China, Japan and the UK are no longer in recession, with many predicting growth in this quarter (Q3) Barbados is going further into recession.

Here is what the London Times is reporting today. I will show proof later than France, Germany and other smentioned above – are no longer in recession.

UK Economy ‘Gains Traction:’

“British exports in July rose at their fastest monthly pace since the start of 2008, helping the trade gap to further narrow and boosting hopes of an economic recovery.

The Office for National Statistics (ONS) said the value of British exports rose 5 per cent on the month to £19.187 billion – its fastest increase since January 2008.

The weak pound bolstered sales of goods to both non-EU and EU markets.

But analysts said that the figures gave further hope that the economy was picking-up.

Today’s trade figures follow a report from the National Institute for Economic and Social Research, one of the foremost independent economic forecasters, which indicated the British recession was over.

The group estimated that Britain had climbed out of the slump to enjoy economic growth in the three months to August.

A further boost came today when Moody’s, the rating agency, announced that Britain’s top-notch triple-A credit rating is unlikely to be downgraded if the Government cuts public spending.

It said that Britain — and the US — continued to be “resilient”.

Ross Walker, economist at Royal Bank of Scotland, said: “There are signs of underlying improvement and the fact that both exports and imports are picking up is indicative of the global recovery beginning to gain a bit of traction.”

Howard Archer, chief UK and European economist at IHS Global Insight, said that the underlying data “provided support to mounting hopes and expectations that the economy will return to growth in the third quarter”.

+++++++++

Prime Minister Thompson and the DLP are asleep at the wheel. In the same way the G20 got together and acted, he – as the person with lead responsibility for the CSME should have done similar in this regional trading block.

6. AF

You realise that you aint trying to say what you would have done differnet! Not a WORD!

Let me tell you cause you new to BU. You see GP (my future husband) ….. I challenged him about the hospital and asked why he don’t stop criticise since he wont know what to do .

Man he nailed me to the cross, put me in my place and made me his forever how he answered.

Therefore, I would like for you to do either of the two.

Tell us what YOU AND YOUR PARTY would do differently,

OR shut the ##** UP!

It is becoming quite silly!

Thanks!

7. Johnnie Too Bad says “RoyalRumble, boy what a joke, when your side was in and borrowing left right and centre for a rainy day”

When the BLP borrowed money we used it to build out this economy in addition the country was earning the kind of revenue to support what it borrowed. In 14 years the BLP borrowed $3.1 billion.

In 14 months the DLP has borrowed over $1 billion and I will give the DLP Yard fouls on this blog time to list the things they can show for the money they have borrowed.

I will be itemizing our projects in a little while. It is clear that the only person that the DLP seem interested in is Parris and Clico, not Barbadians and I will speak to this in greater detail in my next post

8. “The G20 ministers’ draft communiqué has also adopted Brown’s calls to continue fiscal stimulus, despite forecasts of positive growth.

Some countries, including France and Germany, are already emerging from recession, and want to implement “exit strategies” to scale back the spending introduced to combat the downturn.

Brown heralded the tentative recovery, but warned world leaders that withdrawing measures too early would be an ‘error of historic proportions’.

He claimed the fiscal stimulus programmes of increased public spending and tax cuts had prevented the world’s economies plunging into depression on the scale of the 1930s and must be sustained into 2010. ”

London Times, September 5, 2009

Click below for ease of reference:

http://blp.org.bb/news/872

9. Bahamas: Economy Looking to 2010

7 September 2009

Though the hurricane season is well and truly over, it is a storm of another kind that many Bahamians are bracing themselves for, with the deepening recession blowing a chill wind across the country’s economy.

Unemployment across the island nation is on the rise, hitting a 10-year high, while tourist arrivals are down and business confidence is sagging. Although there are some signs that the global economy is slowly moving towards modest recovery, most indications are that the Bahamas will have to wait until 2010 before grass roots start sprouting.

In its latest monthly economic and financial developments report, issued in mid-August, the Bahamas Central Bank warned that the economy was not projected to return to long-term growth until late 2010.

Citing the effects of the global economic downturn, which harmed the tourism sector and reduced foreign investments, the Central Bank said that while the government’s increased spending on infrastructure would help mitigate some of the impact of the recession, the stimulus programme and lower revenues would also mean debt and GDP were expected to remain elevated in the near to medium term.

More optimistic were the bank’s findings that fiscal liquidity levels and external reserves would remain at “comfortable levels” over the remainder of the year, while, with the exception of the tourism sector, there would be a moderating of the levels of employers shedding jobs and a tempering in the pace of economic decline.

Though the pace of the downturn may be slowing and the worst may be over for the global economy, the minister of state for finance, Zhivargo Laing, believes that the Bahamas still has a long way to go before its own recovery will fully kick in.

“We have very difficult monetary and fiscal issues to deal with, and we have to be sober about dealing with them,” he said in an interview with the Nassau Guardian on August 23. “The global recovery is not something that is predictable and so for the moment the Bahamas has to take into account its own realities and know that the economic situation remains challenging.”

Among the challenges is the rising level of unemployment. Department of Statistics data released in mid-August showed that 14.2% of the workforce was now jobless, up from 8.7% a year ago.

Much of this increase can be attributed to the drop in activity in the tourism sector, one of the cornerstones of the Bahamas economy. According to the results of a survey conducted by the Bahamas Hotel Association (BHA), 90% of hotels that took part in the study recorded a fall in both sales and occupancy rates in the first half of the year.

The BHA’s Mid-Year Economic Review and Tourism Outlook Survey, released in mid-August, showed that 77% of hoteliers also anticipated lower revenue levels for the second half of the year. However, there was more optimism regarding 2010, with 53% of respondents saying the outlook was fair, along with 17% who viewed the prospects for the coming year as positive, while 30% said the outlook was negative.

Robert Sands, the president of the BHA, said the sector will continue to feel the effects of the economic crisis until consumer confidence in the Bahamas main tourism markets recovers and the recession ends.

“The combination of lower occupancy rates and lower room rates is creating a very difficult situation for many hotels,” Sands told local media. “While there is some improvement in the outlook for 2010, we anticipate we will continue to be vulnerable.”

Confidence levels at home are also well down, with the latest Central Bank business sentiment survey indicating almost two-thirds of private sector firms are expecting a fall in profits for the second half of 2009, while more than 65% had reported a worsening of operating conditions within the general business environment during the first six months of the year.

The report found a majority of companies had reduced staff numbers in the period of January to June, with 80% saying they would either not be hiring new employees or would make further retrenchments in the coming six months.

One of the few positives that could be taken from the Central Bank’s report was that most of those surveyed believed that the pace at which the economy was declining would ease over the rest of the year.

While a slowing of the rate of decline is good news, it is not a recovery. For that, the Bahamas will have to wait until at least next year, when the global economy starts to strengthen, investments start to flow and tourists begin to think of sun and sand.

10. Here is more proof that with strong economic leadership, countries can still do well – even in the worst recession in 80 years:

America Coming Out: Barbados Going In

“What if, amid all their missteps and all the harsh criticism, the people in charge of battling the worst financial crisis since the Great Depression — Ben Bernanke, Timothy Geithner, Lawrence Summers, Henry Paulson and the rest — basically succeeded?

Just look at the record. Washington may be in the process of proving that it can halt an economic crisis. But it utterly failed to keep that crisis from occurring

It is clearly too soon to know for sure. But the evidence is now pointing pretty strongly in one direction: history books may conclude that the financial crisis of 2008 turned out to be far less bad than it could have been and that Washington deserved much of the credit.

The Labor Department announced Friday that the economy lost fewer jobs in July than in any month since before Lehman Brothers collapsed last fall.

Credit markets no longer look anything like they did after Lehman’s collapse and are in considerably better shape than just a few months ago.

Stocks are up almost 50 percent from their March low. “It’s over,” the economists at Barclays Capital declared Friday, referring to the Great Recession.

The news has been good enough that the Obama administration spent Friday trumpeting its record.

More telling, however, is the fact that even Nouriel Roubini, the prophetically pessimistic economist who saw the crisis coming (and doesn’t think the recession has yet ended), is now praising policy makers.

He recently urged that Mr. Bernanke be reappointed as Federal Reserve chairman, saying he helped avert a “near depression that seemed highly likely after the financial collapse last fall.”

As for the stimulus, economies in countries that enacted relatively large programs, like the United States, China and Australia, have survived fairly well this year, relative to forecasts.

Countries that enacted smaller programs, like France, Italy and India, have not done as well, as Christina Romer, a top Obama adviser, pointed out this week. ”

http://blp.org.bb/news/811

11. There was a time when – there was no Global Financial crisis yet the economy of the Bahamas was in recession or deep crisis. Read for yourself:

+++++++++

BAHAMAS ECONOMY IN BETTER SHAPE.

Publication: Caribbean Update
    Date: Monday, May 1 2000

You are viewing page 1
    The Bahamas economy, fueled by tourism, is looking good these days.

The economy expanded by about 6% in 1999 and is expected to grow by 4% this year, according to the Central Bank, reports CANA (March 19, 2000):

This growth is expected to be pushed largely by tourism, which generates over US$1.5 billion a year, about 70% of the country’s gross domestic product.

The good news is that unemployment is down to 7.5% and falling, Government revenues and foreign reserves are up and hotels are reporting record occupancies, The Nassau Guardian newspaper reported;

“Only a few years ago the economy was in shambles,” said writer Larry Smith in a feature article on the economy.

“The government couldn’t pay its bills. Hotels were rundown and unwilling to reinvest. Workers were short-shifted and unemployment was 14.8% and rising.

“Visitors were dissatisfied with what we had to offer, while corrupt and inefficient Government-owned hotels and Bahamasair consumed an ever-larger portion of public revenues and helped create the perception of a nation in decline”;

Seven years ago, in the depths of a Bahamas recession, there was a strong view that the Government should seriously consider giving its hotel properties away for a nominal price, and even provide additional incentives to attract credible operators

http://www.allbusiness.com/caribbean/504224-1.html

Veritas,

You strengthen my point – it is all about economic ability and strong fiscal and economic leadership.

There was no global recession in 1991-1994, was there? How then do you explain the economic crisis in Barbados then?

12. Did Thompson have elbow room to do something for the Barbadian economy?If the answer to the question is yes, then he must be blamed for not easing the pain.

Owen and the BLP were punished and will continue to be punished for wasting the tax payers money, but the DLP needed to show some leadership and so far we have seen none.

13. You know up to now….. not a boy that castigating DEavid Thompson aint trying to come up with suggestions.

These true citizens of Barbados!
    Stupse!

14. Veritas,

The Bahamas is not a good example to show that countries are in recession. Even when there was no global financial crisis, the Bahamas was having problems:

BAHAMAS ECONOMY IN BETTER SHAPE.
    Publication: Caribbean Update
    Date: Monday, May 1 2000

“The Bahamas economy, fueled by tourism, is looking good these days. The economy expanded by about 6% in 1999 and is expected to grow by 4% this year, according to the Central Bank, reports CANA (March 19, 2000):

This growth is expected to be pushed largely by tourism, which generates over US$1.5 billion a year, about 70% of the country’s gross domestic product.

The good news is that unemployment is down to 7.5% and falling, Government revenues and foreign reserves are up and hotels are reporting record occupancies, The Nassau Guardian newspaper reported;

“Only a few years ago the economy was in shambles,” said writer Larry Smith in a feature article on the economy.

“The government couldn’t pay its bills. Hotels were rundown and unwilling to reinvest. Workers were short-shifted and unemployment was 14.8% and rising. “Visitors were dissatisfied with what we had to offer, while corrupt and inefficient Government-owned hotels and Bahamasair consumed an ever-larger portion of public revenues and helped create the perception of a nation in decline”;

Seven years ago, in the depths of a Bahamas recession, there was a strong view that the Government should seriously consider giving its hotel properties away for a nominal price, and even provide additional incentives to attract credible operators”

It has to do with economic leadership and knowing what you are doing.

15. Sorry about that, I forgot the link:

http://www.allbusiness.com/caribbean/504224-1.html

16. Why are we surprise?

Anyone who read both parties’ manifesto prior to the election would have recognized the gulf of knowledge that existed between the two.

17. John Public can sense when nothing is being done or when things are going wrong.

It is the Minister of Finance with the access to the appropriate information and expertise to analyze the information that must come up with the solutions to our problems

18. CARY A BONE: BRING A BONE Avatar
    CARY A BONE: BRING A BONE

2009-(HARTLEY HENRY) is talking a truck load of bovine excretement. Nothing that you say will save this Government that is bankrupt of ideas. This is the same Government that dug a deep dark hole for the economy between 1988 and 1994.

Green land -(my ass )-Red herring !
    /////////////////////////////////
    Suggestion to JC :simple -call elections

BUT we just had an election.

So we have to suffer the consequences.

Suggestion-Vote out the DLP at next election—
    Bring Mia ?

I doan know about that.

So we are in deep shit as you can see.
    All eyes on the short man

19. You talking bare shite,since we have had an election we have confirmed all the discrepancies that Owen and crew have done!

The opposition ‘leader’ cause I here wondering who is truly the person in control since I see the worm got Owen sharpening he stinger in shambles and you asking for another election! Who gon put in those miscreants! Stupse.

I am VERY AWARE about what is taking place at Government Headquarters and for sure no one feels timid and scared when having to deal with the PM! Every where, the world is in a topsy turvy namely Japan, Ireland and the list goes on and you want another election call so that Mia could looose more seats ha ha ha lol!

Bad move!

I do not want a leader that when she sees her staff can BOLDLY make passes at them as she did to me. Wah Christ man, Not a man in Barbados would got a woman!

You are really mad get a leader and then tell me about changing my talk right now the BLP has failed miserably!

20. What short man? He was at the helm when his ministers and friends wrecked havoc on our treasury. He should never be allowed to run our affairs again.

21. My Fellow Barbadians,

Now more than every, this country needs men and women of great courage, who want “only the very best for Barbados” to step forward.

We cannot afford to spend the next four years wishing we had done more at this defining moment, to rescue this country and put it back on track.

Let us seize this moment together, so history will show that at this defining crossroads – a generation of patriotic Barbadians made the right decision and took the necessary action, which put out country back on the path to long-term security and prosperity.

Do you want to go back to 1991? I certainly do not!

22. CARY A BONE: BRING A BONE Avatar

What short man? He was at the helm when his ministers and friends wrecked havoc on our treasury. He should never be allowed to run our affairs again.
    —————————————————wreck which treasury ?
    doan mind you talking shyte.
    Owen is the best PRIME MINISTER EVER HAD

23. CARY A BONE: BRING A BONE Avatar

JC // September 9, 2009 at 12:43 PM

You talking bare shite,since we have had an election we have confirmed all the discrepancies that Owen and crew have done!
    —————————————————-where is the evidence ?

caah yuh **&%%$ do

24. The fundamental difference between the BLP and the Democratic Labour Party – is the BLP’s unmatched economic forecasting skills; its unquestionable competence at managing the Barbados economy and giving direction for the establishment of a CSME.

The Dems do not know what they are doing and are therefore causing Barbadians unnecessary social and economic hardship, embarrassment, shame, pain and suffering.

Were the BLP in office at this time, Barbados would never be in this MESS.

A caring Barbados Labour Party government would never have made the elementary blunders the ruling Party now does effortlessly, and the BLP definitely would have done all in our power to protect Barbadians from this economic hurricane, as it did in 2001 and for the past 14 years.

In fact, given the BLP’s competence, as regards the unmatched management of the economy, it would have used these same conditions to prepare a feast for Barbadians, instead of causing them to suck salts, as they are now being forced to under DLP rule.

Now is therefore the time to rescue our country before it is too late.

We must act now before Barbados runs out of foreign exchange as the DLP’s triggered economic crisis deepens.

We must act now to keep crime down; save our jobs and ensure that our citizens do not starve; be evicted or die of thirst.

Were the BLP in office, Barbados would never be in this MESS!

25. CARY A BONE: BRING A BONE Avatar

FED UP WITH -DLP-

BLP best for BARBADOS

WHAT THE DLP do in 71-76-;
    86-91 ; 2008 to present ?

answer: caused bare hardships

Barbados is worse off now than any time within the last 15 years. DLP is to blame. water rates ; gas prices; cost of living.

doan talk to me you morons on this blog
    you have no DEFENCE. -NONE

Nobody is perfect and everybody has faults. The BLP -you say was this and that but hey ! employment was down and foreign reserves were up.

DLP hags too embarassed to come with a serious argument. wunnah paralyzed by the folly of the DLP.

up and on with the BLP because the BLP always have to perform a rescue act. DLP shitheads !

26. CARY A BONE: BRING A BONE Avatar

I do not like this present Government: They have not shown any vision or talent and won an election by doing what they do well-LIE!

27. For the fourteen years that the Labour Party managed this country and our economy with distinction, Mia Amor Mottley, Q.C. M.P., was right there next to Prime Minister Arthur – with her hands planted firmly on the wheel – giving direction and leadership and steering a course to prosperity.

As Minister of Education Miss Mottley modernised education in this country.

She gave children laptop Computers to take home, and prepared this country’s children to function efficiently in a technological world.

As Attorney General, she created the enabling environment for this country’s social and economic polices to flourish and as Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Economic Development she crafted progressive policies that made this economy strong and improved the quality of life of Barbadians.

Having served as Attorney General and Deputy Prime Minister, Miss Mottley is eminently qualified; experienced and well trained and prepared to put our economy back on track.

Because of Miss Mottley, the Government of Trinidad and Tobago can no longer claim that off Oistins belongs to them.

Mia Mottley knows what to do to put Barbadians back to work and get businesses going. She knows what to do to restore Barbados image and improve relations with our neighbours.

She knows what to do to ease the pressure on families who are hurting and fear losing their jobs, their homes and their sanity.

It is now clear for all to see that even Die-Hard Dems are disappointed that David Thompson and the ruling Party do not know what they are doing and are therefore turning to the IMF and men who have retired from active politics, for help.

It will be more pain, more conditionalities and more austerity measures with the DLP and the IMF, but it will be better with Mia and the Bees.

28. @Alex Fergusson

It seems to me as if it is time to start planning the next march through Bridgetown like we did before!

Remember we had to do that in 1993/94! If we wait too long this time there will be nothing for the next BLP government to salvage!

However, I am sure they will be able to start from scratch if it had to be done. Because BLP=Best Leadership Party that we got around.

29. Wherever there were large cost over runs and poor tendering practices you could find Motley.

30. KissMyA
    You and you ‘crew’ could kissWeAss fa true cause wunna talking more shite that 100 septic tanks could collect in a day.
    Wunna would blame Barack fa de shite dat was handed to he by Bush too?
    Wunna is a pack a deceitful, dangrus, lied, thiefing, short-a- memory pack a bitches.

Give David Thompson a f^%king break for ma. Rasthold man.

Wunna Klowns.

Elections over, wunna out, we in, so sit ta f*^k back an cah wunna skhunt and leh de man do he job.

Wunna got all de so n’so answers now.
    stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

31. David
    The BLP seems to be getting some persons to flood this blog with comments to make it look lf there is this great dissatisfaction with the government.
    That is there right but most Barbadians are getting on with their lives understanding that things are worse in other parts of the world.
    I would invite these persons who are setting up this dooms day scenario, to go up Government Hill and see how many persons are leaving Springer School at night from evening classes. They are not going there free. They are paying to do all kinds of classes to improve themselves. These are working class Barbadians.
    I am predicting, as Owen Arthur seeks to reposition himself to take over from Mia, the BLP will go through the same infighting as the DLP did in the past. There is no way Mia letting Owen Arthur return to lead the BLP.
    David Thompson should take comfort that a poll showed that The DLP will win more seats if an election is called at this time. In Jamaica a poll now shows that the opposition is ahead of the ruling JLP. Therefore the DLP must be doing something right.

32. Fair Play
    Tru dat.
    You speak so eloquently. I get real ‘hot-headed’ when I hear some people talking shyte and then I resort to using expletives which I know is not very becoming but shyte man.
    The great USA is going through turmoil and these bitches like they expect Sir David Thompson to get blood from stone, turn water into wine or feed de 5000. Christ man, only God could do that. Give the man a chance to get things in shipshape.
    These foolish khunts think that the opposition would’ve handled the economy any better given the world status on the dwindling economies at present? Dem is bare yardfowls, paling cocks and yard frogs.
    Dem mekkin me real sickkkkkkkkkkkk.

For the love of country, come aboard and offer some economic advice instead of preaching bloom n’ doom nah. Wunna EXPERTS at nutton.

Cud Christ

33. ‘gloom n doom’, sorry.

34. It must be noted that while economies like America, France, German, Brazil, China, Japan and the UK are no longer in recession, with many predicting growth in this quarter (Q3) Barbados is going further into recession.

You class Barbados with the above countries? Have you ever heard Owen Arthur compare his broken stewardship with these countries?

Alex, stick to football! Your posts are ignorance on stilts! The DLP should not bother to respond to you. They don’t have to.

Mia is in deep depression. Owen looks like death defined. No other names are coming up as alternatives.

My advice to David Thompson is to ignore the Bees. The polls say that the public believes that you will and can do a better job than the BLP on the economy.

35. The current economic crisis began in 1966 when Barbados was booted out of the empire to go it alone in a hostile world. In 1966 the word of the day was British Socialism as advanced by the London School of Economics. Unfortunately, all the joys and wonders of the socialist workers’ paradise must be paid for by productivity, the increase in value of goods and services after a day’s work. If the “day’s work” is only 6.5 to 7 hours, the increase won’t be as big as for those who work an 8 or more hour day. If the workers are given cane hoes and cutlasses instead of tractors and power mowers the productivity won’t be as great. If all profit is absorbed by government in the form of taxation then there won’t be anything left to invest in increased productivity, and in the end we are out-competed by those countries that understand the basic essentials of capitalism. You can live in the socialist worker’s paradise if you so choose, you just cannot have the lifestyle enjoyed by those who understand productivity. Many blogs above have called for positive suggestions. Here they are:

1. Stop buying votes by promising everybody everything. Every dollar in government hand-out is a dollar not invested in advancing productivity. In the evil past the plantation provided everything folks needed, or were going to get. Today government is the modern plantation, providing everything that people need or are going to get. We must break out of that cycle of dependency and expectation of entitlement and learn to aggressively produce and aggressively market our skills and product.

2. Reduce taxes by 50% overall, at least, to allow investment by the private sector in productive efforts. Thinking that government will handle everything is like sending the wolves to guard the sheep. If they understood economics they would be wealthy in the private sector and not sucking at the public trough. Government does not make or produce anything, it only takes your money for its own ends.

3. Learn to produce something that the rest of the world wants. There is no reason that this island cannot have the economy of Singapore and Hong Kong, two former British colonies that seem, somehow, to have gotten over their colonial roots, or perhaps they just better understood their colonial roots and capitalized on those roots and built on them instead of bellyaching constantly about the past, or constantly crying down some small sectors of the population. Given the population density and the high educational achievement of this island there is no reason it cannot be the Singapore or Hong Kong of the Atlantic world. To get there, however, people must WORK, not just aspire to a government job that produces nothing.

4. Stop believing that we are isolated from the rest of the world. We are in competition with the rest of the world. If we want our share then we must produce it, we must learn to out-compete the competition. We must stop believing that just because something is in, of, or from Barbados that it must, therefore, inherently be excellent. Excellence is adjudged by the willingness and desire of the rest of the world to buy our products, not by our own parochial terms of reference and evaluation. We don’t need to name “100 significant Barbadians”, we need to put 100 new significant products on the international market.

I hope these few notions constitute a few alternative ideas to contemplate, rather than just continuing the blame game of which party is responsible.

36. To answer your question the word underground (on the ground) among a particular group suggests the Thompson administration maybe fighting a bogeyman of being weak in the area of economics/finance. This is an issue the strategists on the DLP must confront in a difficult economic situation because there will be many losers before we se winners.

I can’t see that as an issue on the ground at all. The CADRES poll says not in the clearest of terms. The group most content to peddle that pap is the Owen Arthur psychophants who have nothing else to hold him up as except an economist.

David Thompson should not bother to fall into that trap. The Barbados economy is currently the best performing in the region … other than Guyana strangely.

The statistics are there.

37. Black Scholes Merton Avatar
    Black Scholes Merton

White rabbit, spot on.

38. White rabbit,
    Food for thought. But I hay de last hour or so spraining my ol brain to see wha I could produce that the rest of the world wants and I can only think of ‘nothing’. Give us some ideas man don’t just talk de talk. We want some ideas man.

39. somebody gwine burst a blood vessel yuh !–

-Bonnie —

-cool yuhself !

we only putting we position

we aint enemies baby ! we harmless. just talk ,we dont take weself serious

cool it pepper ( -peppa) , cool it

40. I LOVE OWEN ARTHUR

that is my right

I LOVE DAVID THOMPSON as a person but not the shyte he is doing

that is my right too

why does the truth hurts so bad

QUESTION : Is Barbados better off now than in September 2007. September 2006, September 2005 right back to any date you pick ????????????????

41. Kiss Mia,

Is the world better off? This is the worst recession in 80 years, honey! Get with it.

The problem is that you start from the point of individual likes and dislikes then you go to the general.

Your position is: I like Owen but David only as a person. Only as a person because he is doing shyte.

Did Owen ever do shyte?

Do you like Obama? Is he doing shyte too?

And Manning? And Gonsalves? And Golding?

Its pointless arguing with you because you don’t have an argument!

42. Stop blaming the world economy
    That is cop out by the Thompson aplogists

I know better but this is just a blog so I am going to make my statements.-Do the research yourself

43. Stop comparing USA with little Barbados. A lizard can fall 6 ft and dont get a scratch. A 220 lb. man falling 6 ft -different story.

its a joke,
    Shut up morons and face the truth. Thompson will make nought on a wicket that Owen would score a hundred on——-reason better batsman
    (oh gosh -applaud myself——

44. Well, I think we have a few assets…!

Was Rhianna not an example?
    Was Ryan Brathwaite not an example?

HELLO?!?!

We have PEOPLE!!!!!

Send some of our people out there and do well for Barbados!

Oh, wait…

People cussing Rhianna ’cause she “flashed” a little on Vanity Fair!

People quarelling ’cause Ryan can’t duplicate his GOLD that he won at the World Championships the way Usain Bolt seems to!

And people wonder why we’re STILL Third World?

‘Cause we stupid! Plain & Simple! And unless we realize that and pull up our socks (and our hearts!), we will forever be following the competition instead of following our deams!

It’s not about B, D, N, P, or X! It’s about our capacity to understand what’s happening around us as a whole! And the ones who DO understand are the ones who are paying out the most!

It won’t be that way forever, though. Mark my words…

45. @Alex Fergusson

As Minister of Education Miss Mottley modernised education in this country.

She gave children laptop Computers to take home, and prepared this country’s children to function efficiently in a technological world.

————————————————-
    If you truly believe this statement then you are living in a dream world, clearly.

46. Boy oh Boy this too sweet Peter Wickham put out a poll and it upsets the BLP so badly that they are in torment and do not know where to turn.

As for THE PARRO IN A SUIT SLYVAN GREENIDGE he is a disgrace anyway not much longer now before he relocates to Dodds for a crime he committed while in his role as Press Officer for the deflated Owing See Thru Arthur, the time is drawring near my friend.

This is beast that was placed in position of trust and he made a mockery of this trust, well the time has come for him to pay the ultimate price.

Good riddance to the rubbish that he used to place on here, may he rest comfortably in HM PRISON DODDS.

47. KissMya
    When you kiss she, she kiss you back? Had a mind so. Na bites doe nah?

48. Avatar Girl says: “Was Rhianna not an example?..Send some of our people out there and do well for Barbados!”

J responds: “Ahh!!! but is Rihanna making a lot of money (or any money at all for Barbados), or is all her money being spent and invested in the U.S.”

Avatar Gil says “People cussing Rhianna ’cause she “flashed” a little on Vanity Fair!”

J responds “Rihanna did not flash a little. She flashed a whole lot. Ain’t nuthin’ much left for the whole world to see”

49. Under the Microscope: Owen and Mia – Six and half a dozen

By Hartley Henry

I hold no particular brief for Mia Mottley, but what Owen Arthur is doing to her is not right and definitely not fair. It appears that he set her up to fail and she has failed.

Arthur handed over the leadership of the party to Mottley but never once gave her the guidance and support that she needed to break free of the tattered image that she brought to the helm of the organisation.

He grudgingly handed over the gavel but never once, it would appear, wished her well in that position. Now, 18 months later, the issue of leadership in the party is no more settled than it was at the beginning of the journey and all of a sudden, Arthur has sprung to life. Arthur spoke for 45 minutes last Sunday, but again, never once said that he was supporting Mottley or that he was committed to her success.

She in turn, did not wish to offend him two weeks ago, so she il-advisedly conceded that she trails him in popularity and appeal. I would never have advised her to do that. Frankly, I think it was a response to the recent poll not befitting a person of Mottley’s vast political experience.

I do not know where the BLP train is headed, but I would advise any friend or relative of mine to jump off. There is no way I can see Mia Mottley being ousted from the leadership of the Barbados Labour Party and remaining quiet and dignified. She is no David Thompson. She will not walk away and lick her wounds. I predict that if she were to be ousted from the leadership of that party, she would “brek it up”.
    Frankly, she would have all rights to, because she was not given a fair chance. Arthur never gave her the support that a former leader should have offered.

I have my doubts as to whether she would have done any better than she did in terms of image and appeal, but that does not take away from the fact that Arthur should have been there for her. He stood away from Parliament. He stood away from Roebuck Street. He kept his hidden kitchen cabinet operating and never once endorsed or supported any of the battles that she waged. The fact that I believe Mottley is unsuited to lead Barbados now or anytime in the foreseeable future is irrelevant to the discussion. She was appointed and anointed leader and she should have been supported by all in and around the party.

Frankly, I do not understand how and why thinking citizens would seek to distinguish Arthur from Mottley when it comes to leadership. They are one and the same, when it comes to leadership style and approach. Persons seem to forget that Mottley was a heartbeat away from the leadership of Barbados during the past two terms. That there was a period in the first half of the current decade when Arthur spent more time away from Barbados than he did in the land and where Mottley chaired the Cabinet of Barbados and led the troops in Parliament for weeks unending.

All the arrows that can and have been pointed in the direction of Owen Arthur can easily be pointed in the direction of Mottley. She was his sidekick in many respects. They are a political Siamese.

The Gems financial fiasco occurred with Arthur and Mottley at the helm. The $750 million in cost overruns racked up by the former BLP government came about under the twin-headed leadership of Arthur and Mottley. The ABC Highway scandal that has now come back to haunt and hurt Barbadian taxpapers is the product of the genius of Arthur and Mottley. The embarrassments that are today UDC, RDC, Invest Barbados, NHC, an over-priced, hard to use Kensington Oval, the prison at Dodds, the office complex at Warrens, the millions of dollars in unserviceable equipment brought in by a mutual friend and a host of other infelicities, the details of which will be made public in the fullness of time, were all done with the full knowledge and sanction of Arthur and Mottley.

How is it today that people are seeking to make a distinction? There is no difference between what Arthur did and what Mottley would do. All that Mottley knows she learnt at the feet of Arthur. Therefore just what the electorate rejected in January, 2008 is precisely what they would receive were Mottley to assume the reins of government any time soon.

From when is the Barbados Labour Party so “poor rakey” that it has to look back to go forward? Following the defeat of Bernard St. John in 1971, it looked to Tom Adams in 1976. It had the likes of Henry Forde, L.B Brathwaite and then young turks like Louis Tull, Billie Miller, David Simmons, Richard Cheltenham and that generation in its armor, but it went for the then fresh and unblemished Tom Adams.
    In 1991, following the defeat of Henry Forde it worked around the aforementioned remnants of the great combination and chose Arthur. Now today, in 2009, it finds itself so bereft of talent that in going forward it is looking to the same rejected leadership of 2008 to propel it towards 2013.

What does this say of the likes of Marshall, Mascoll and the host of new faces it introduced in the last general elections? What truth are they admitting about the new candidates they have sprung upon the electorate in the past 12 months? Aren’t any of them leadership material?

In 1987, long before David Thompson had penned his name to a nomination paper, the country knew that here was a future leader of Barbados. The same applied to Errol Barrow in the 1950s and Richie Haynes in the 1970s. We saw in them, what we wanted in future leaders. Mia Mottley has been in the forefront of national leadership for the past 20 years and today, in the year of our Lord 2009, is being touted as a person with leadership potential who needs to be nurtured and given a chance. Give me an asprin!

What more chance does Mia Mottley require? That name alone is supposed to bring with it certain pedigree. She is a third generation politician. She served for several years as Deputy Prime Minister. Her face is known to many, her lips are known to more. Her tongue is legendary. She is a former Attorney General and a Queens Counsel. What then is preventing her from being a natural, logical choice for future leadership of Barbados? Could it be that Barbadians do not have a mirror image of Mia Mottley when they focus on the type of leadership that’s good for this country?

And what of Owen Arthur? He was given a chance over several others back in 1994. He did a relatively good job initially, but, like most short men, power got to his head. His economic genius, when finally tested, netted very poor results. He has left a legacy of economic destruction, with hardly a profitable public enterprise and no social safety net to protect the poor and vulnerable. Is Arthur really ready to stand in the political dock and have his charge sheet read out? I think not!

50. I Like YOU BONNY PEPPA——-
    you tickle my fancy