Submitted by Alex Fergusson

barbados

Barbadians are going about their daily business oblivious to the cold, hard fact that each month, Public Servants in this country come perilously close to not being paid.

Employees who travel on government business are also having headaches being paid for such travel. It is no accident that some persons who do work for government are still not being paid in a timely manner. Why – you may ask? The IMF has advised the DLP to slash its expenditure bill this financial year by as much as $120 million and a further $300 million next financial year.

Barbados is heading back to the bad old days under the DLP, when the relatives of persons who were sick – had to take a towel; soap and toilet paper for them at the QEH. There are a number of questions to be answered but the DLP, which promised “accountability” and “freedom of information,” is not helping.

Is it true that the amount allocated to Ministries and Departments in the Estimates were cut by 10%? Is it true that the revised amount was then cut by a further 2.5% in order to pay income tax returns? And, are there plans for a further 2.5% cut in or around November this year?

If true, a budget cut of some 15% would mean that Ministries and Department are almost certainly only paying salaries and wages. If so, what about the 2000 house the NHC plans to build this year? Does this also explain why absolutely no work is being done by the UDC and RDC, as regards the repair of homes for poor people? And, this is the same DLP that was telling Barbadians, “spend widely,” a few months ago!

Did this same DLP not promised Teachers, Nurses and Policemen – increased pay and duty free cars? What about the promise to build an island off the West Coast? What about the Airport in St. Lucy? What about the Sea Port in the North of the Island? How about the brand-name hotel every two years? How about the plan to build the electrical sub-station at the QEH? What about the plan to buy back the BNB shares worth US$750 million? What about the plan to acquire the derelict Samlords Castle?

The point I am making is that the DLP government cannot afford do any of those things. It simply does not even have the $111 million it takes monthly to pay public servants. It gets worst! We are now hearing that Government should purchase and demolishing run-down hotels on the beachside. Where is the money?

Massive unemployment means less revenue from income tax, as well as, reduced spending power, hence less revenue for VAT, Excise Tax, Environmental Levy and Import Duties. When added to reduced tourist arrivals and discounted prices/packages; excessive taxation and a serious drop in foreign direct investment, as a result of shattered investor confidence – you have a very serious revenue lost problem. The simply point I am trying to make connects with what the BLP said in this year’s Estimates Debate. The DLP’ revenue projections were unrealistic, hence the DLP ordered, budget cuts and its gravitation towards the IMF, six months after it brought unrealistic Estimates.

140 responses to “DLP’s Life Threatening Change And Cutbacks: A Sure Pathway to Poverty”

1. You want to kiss her too? Good Lord, the BLP is in a bigger moral mess than I thought.

2. The nonsense now occurring, as regards attempts by the UDC to fire those appointed workers from pensionable posts (some with ten or more year’s service) – demonstrates exactly how weak and disconnected from the Barbadians reality, David Thompson is as a leader but more than anything else – it shows just how short on good talent the DLP actually is.

But, that the DLP is downsizing at the UDC and elsewhere within the Public Service but seeks to lecture LIME and other private sector companies on the importance of maintaining jobs, is brazen.

The Government of Barbados is firing people from the Public Service at will but is doing all in its power to protect the workers at CLICO, which has a $54 million Statutory Fund deficit.

Already PM Thompson has had to reshuffle his extremely weak Cabinet, within ten months of forming the government and even after making four people who did not face the polls, Ministers. This is extremely rear for a party that won 20 seats.

On August 22, the findings of a DLP commissioned/Wickham Poll were made public.

It showed that the portfolio of David Thompson is in chaos, prompting Barbadians to say that they are concerned about the economy; cost of living and unemployment – all of which are areas Mr. Thompson has ultimate responsibility for.

On the question of leadership, the DLP/Wickham Poll showed that while the portfolio of Prime Minister Thompson is in crisis, Christopher Sinckler is on the ascendency and is already more popular than Deputy Prime Minister Freundel Stuart – within the DLP and also at the national level.

But, here is where it gets interesting and how you know there is serious trouble brewing within the DLP.

The reason advanced for wanting to fire those workers at the UDC (according to Sinckler) is that they are not qualified (paper qualifications) or competent.

However, Freundel Stuart, who Sinckler now outshines – referred to the Public Service Act, as: “a horrible injustice,” and said that there were a number of officers who had entered the service without qualifications and had performed their roles admirably, professionally and with dedication.

Mr. Stuart remarked that it was an injustice such people should be side-stepped for promotion or appointment to various posts in which they were acting, because they did not possess the basic qualifications.

Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney General Stuart – seems to be saying that experience; length of service and performance at a high level without qualifications – is as important.

In contrast, even though the workers at the UDC are qualified, Sinckler – who now asserts his dominance – says paper qualification is the ONLY currency he is looking for, even though the UDC sought to replace qualified workers with a taxi driver and a barman.

In all of this “DLP Industrial Disharmony,” and bashment – the Minister of Labour remains silent, confirming why Barbadians are concerned that his portfolio is in crisis.

It is comical that the DLP, which crashed the Barbados economy in less than two years – would have the courage tell anybody about being qualified and competent.

But while both PM Thompson and Mr. Stuart are on the decline in the eyes of Barbadians, Sinckler seems to have convinced himself that it is time to make his move since his light is beginning to shine even brighter than when he was fired because he was outshining the Prime Minister, when he was Minister of Foreign Affairs.

It is why one cannot be faulted for saying that the DLP has a serious leadership crisis on its hands.

The crack in the DLP’s weak armour is widening and the DLP’s coalition is crumbling even faster than the economy has – under DLP rule.

3. “In contrast, even though the workers at the UDC are qualified, Sinckler – who now asserts his dominance – says paper qualification is the ONLY currency he is looking for”

What are the qualifications of the Deputy Director, whom up to a few weeks ago was a member of the UDC Board?

Is it really 32 years experience at the NHC?

4. Bonny Peppa says “The great USA is going through turmoil and these bitches like they expect Sir David Thompson to get blood from stone, turn water into wine or feed de 5000. Christ man, only God could do that. Give the man a chance to get things in shipshape”.

Bonny Peppa you should go back to the post by RoyalRumble and you would see from the list of things he mentioned that the hardship Barbadians are now facing has absolutely nothing to do with the global recession. It is all about the pure economic ignorance of Thompson.

Furthermore the world was in recession before 2008, yet Owen and Mia was able to ride the rough seas for us. Oil prices were higher under the BLP than under the DLP yet we are paying more now for Gas and Diesel than under the BLP, just so kiffin Simpson can make enough money to put into the next DLP election campaign. Clico/Parris gone SOL/Simpson in. SOL/Simpson is the new cash cow for the DLP.

But from what I am hearing on the ground Barbadians are well aware of what is going on and if the DLP really believe that they will the next election then they can continue to fool themselves but the young and the old have already made up their minds.

5. correction: the list of things I mention…

and read my post…

6. What are the qualifications of the Deputy Director, whom up to a few weeks ago was a member of the UDC Board?

Is it really 32 years experience at the NHC?

—————————–

Here is the answer. This is why Mr. Stuart who seems to have a kind heart – should be PM:

Freundel Stuart, who Sinckler now outshines – referred to the Public Service Act, as: “a horrible injustice,” and said that there were a number of officers who had entered the service without qualifications and had performed their roles admirably, professionally and with dedication.

Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney General Stuart – seems to be saying that experience; length of service and performance at a high level without qualifications – is as important.

————————–

You make my point beautifully – the divide and level of confusion and power struggle within the DLP, even on simple issues. Thank you!

7. Breaking News…

Very soon all the BLP scamps 0f the period of government Sept 1994 – Jan 2008 ( including Royalrumble & Alex Fergusson ) will be chained by hand and feet and led up Broad Street for their final MOMENT in Heroes Square !

The scenes of which will be very reminiscent of the the October 1983 events in GRENADA….!

I am right now preparing the final details !

8. You are dreaming so let me interpret your dreams.

you mean DLP or BLP
    This is more likely to happen with the DLP

What you are seeing is people marching up Broad Street and congregating in heroes square and the environs to bring down the Sandiford -oops ! David Thompson led DLP government.

The political reputation of Thompson and his goons will be forever sanitized .

Your dream has been interpreted; now go your way and weep or rejoice as you see fit.

9. Many are beginning to say that the UDC fiasco is simply Sinckler recognising that he is far more political savvy than even Thompson and that (based on Wickham’s/DLP Poll) he has convinced himself that now is the time to make his move.

The apparent political interference at the UDC; the NAB and the Welfare Department is about Sinckler asserting his dominance as the emerging leader of the DLP at a time when Mr. Thompson has manufactured the meltdown of the Barbados economy and seems incapable of fixing the problem at LIME.

Imagine! In the 2008 General Election, it took 2,230 persons to select Sinckler as the MP for St. Michael North West. But with the enormous power the Thompson-dominated-Parliament has given him – he alone has the power to appoint 450 persons to serve on Constituency Councils.

With the UDC, the RDC, the Poverty Bureau, the Welfare Department and the NAB at his disposal – Sinckler seems to have convinced himself that he could flood those Boards and make his constituents happy and even if the entire DLP was wiped-out at the polls due to its dangerous mismanagement of the Barbados economy – by then he would be well positioned to become Leader of the Opposition and Leader of the DLP because he would win his seat.

Having defeated an intellectual heavyweight like Mascoll at the polls, Sinckler apparently has little regards for a David Thompson.

Perhaps this may explain his urgency to have the Constituency Council Programme up and running.

Sinckler is building his base, inadvertently – with the total support of the same Thompson who is far less politically savvy than he is.

This entire scenario shows exactly how overrated Hartley Henry is as a political strategist.

Sinckler knows that Thompson cannot fire him as Minister of Social Care without shooting himself in the foot, especially since the DLP’ Cabinet is simply – logically incapable of being reshuffled again.

The DLP therefore has an extremely serious leadership crisis to settle quickly.

UDC workers are merely ponds in a horrible DLP political power game.

The DLP’ plot thickens but while the internal struggle for relevance and power within the DLP continues, another bread-winner goes home with the sad news that he too has lost his job.

10. KissMya,
    You say I tickle you fancy but before I begin ta blush, tell me about your sex. I don’t mean how often, I mean gender. 🙂

I would never like to see anotha repeat of Grenada ’83 no where in the C/bean. I was very much in love wid Maurice Bishop. (yes, I luv de cute guys). I think that Coard, Austin n’crew should rot in f*^king hell. Why did they execute these people man? That was the only resolution? Now dem walking bout free as skunt. I wanted dem to die slowwwwwwwww n painfulllllllllllllllll.

Bimbro,
    Hunny, hunny,oh suga, suga, you are my candy, and you got me wanting youuuu.

11. Royal,
    I think the whole world is going through a ‘trying time’ so now is not the time to be preaching gloom n doom from Sunday back to Sunday because the Party of your preference is not in power. Regardless of political affiliation, we will all suffer should B/dos economy collapse. Both rich n poor alike. So let’s come together for the love of country and put the differences aside. We are all Barbadian and we love this sweet lil island paradise.
    I didn’t like your party either but I still played my lil minute part in keeping ‘us’ afloat.
    So Royal, put your best foot forward and let us unite because ‘united we stand, divided we all fall.
    BARBADOS belongs to all of us. Not B,C, D, E, OR Q.

This is my island in the sun where my people have toiled since time began…….

12. Bonny you like you been converted on the road to Berlin, is this the new Bonny without the heat. Wonders shall never cease, I knew something was wrong when you choose Bimbro instead of me.
    I love the old Bonny much better.

13. Johnny 2 bad
    Bonny is V-E-R-S-A-T-I-L-E.
    You like me ta be rude n crude all de time?
    ‘Ol Bonny still hay ya. Watchaa’.
    Ya demon.

But wait, I missing a Dick, a Bend Wood, to be exact. Anybody see he?
    Sending out an S.O.S.

14. Capitulation it seems!!!

15. Bonny thats cool. Anything to get one over on that Bimbro. Yet I love the fire, bring on the heat from the Bonny Peppa

16. Bonny,
    U sure u missing only 1 Dick?

17. Alex, you like you are a plant to send shockwaves through the party. There is no fight over the leadership in the DLP. We have one leader and after he any number can play as Dipper once said.
    So please tell your masters there will be no leadership crisis in the DLP. You want to put your mate Hartley out of a job.
    Chris is my boy and all he has to do is play the waiting game. When the time is right, we the people in the party will call upon Chris to step forward.
    Alex you are a dirty fellow fermenting a revolt in the DLP.

18. CARY A BONE: BRING A BONE Avatar
    CARY A BONE: BRING A BONE

I support SINCKLER as a leader of the DLP and a Prime Minister. I support Donville Inniss as his deputy.

I had Donville Inniss as my first choice but Sinckler’s performance even though he messsing with somethings serious enough to floor him, he is showing spunk.

I like Michael Lashley and Michael Carrington and of course Dennis Kellman.

As for Hammy la ——–least said about his style of gymnastics the better.
    I would ask him what is he going to do when the Government change at the next election in 2010 (next year)

When ?

19. Robin Hood please my Bonny alone. She don’t belong to you and please don’t be bringing her image into disrepute understand.

20. @CARY A BONE: BRING A BONE // September 10, 2009 at 4:14 PM

So next year (2010) is election year then?? LOL

21. Carry Bone, I agree with your view of things in the DLP. But Chris must learn to keep his mouth shut. Wait , wait, is the watch word.
    As to Hammy Who, grasshoppers don’t die, they just turn into locusts and eating everything in sight,

22. Johnnie Too Bad // September 10, 2009 at 4:15 PM@

I am quite sure that Bonny is more than able to defend & protect herself from me.LOL

23. The TIEFING BLPites cannot wait until 2013 for Bajans to reject their BACKSIDES again !

So they are intent on hastening the rejection by entertaining the option of a 2010…POLL date..!

So all you BLP ***holes who are so enthused about HARI-KARI…..it is a 40 year wait in yuh BACKSIDES…!

Do your own poll to confirm the statistics of the CADRES poll.

24. Robin Hood what do you know that I don’t know bout Bonny. Seems you ain’t letting on, come on man open up.

25. @JTB

I suggest u check this out with Bonny.

I am only Bonny’s Bruno!!

26. @2009 // September 10, 2009 at 4:31 PM

“……So all you BLP ***holes who are so enthused about HARI-KARI…..it is a 40 year wait in yuh BACKSIDES…!” Ha, Ha!

It is nice to see some people can still dream!!

27. Hooddie seems like you have a fight on your hands, no way you Bonny’s Bruno. She love one man and that is Bimbro, but I plan to steal her away, so step off.

28. @JTB

When I say “Bruno” I mean like in “Bow Wow”!! LOL

29. Robin Hood,
    ‘u sure u missing only 1 dick?’
    Yes, I missing de one dat ‘bend’.

Johnny,
    Ya instigata. Why you doan leff my man Bimbro?
    Bruno is a name I like fa Robin Hood.Dat is all.
    Ya struction-mekka.

Wunna like a lotta shyte nah?
    Wunna won’t stop prostituting Bonny good name? I soon put wunna in court.

ROK
    ‘Buenos noches, Sucre.
    Mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

30. There is something about the character of Barbadians that expect that their government would protect them; tell them the true and make sound decisions in their name.

The BLP was not formed to avoid making tough decisions. It was not formed to make excuses or apportion blame.

It was formed to change people’s lives and make things better for workers, Barbadians in general and the people of the Caribbean. This is our legacy and our calling.

We must therefore ensure that our collective failure to meet the extremely serious challenge this country now face – does not see us sit back and do nothing, while Barbados gets even closer to the brink.

Can you afford to see Barbados at its worst again?

Therefore, now is the time for action and for Barbadians to do what is necessary.

When the BLP was in office, even with high food and oil prices and countless other global challenges such as 911, the Iraq War, SARS, West Nile Virus, the Ebola Virus, Q2K and Foot and Mouth Disease – Barbados had the leading economy in the region and the number one economy among developing countries in the world.

Barbados did not have oil; natural gas or mineral but it had the BLP and the sound and unmatched economic leadership, the BLP gives.

These are the facts!

31. David Thompson and his team of goons cannot play on the wicket.

They are a club team playing Test cricket so they will get beat and lose every time

32. From the vantage point of some commentators, it is being purported that David Thompson will be a “ONE” term Prime Minister and his administration suffering serious losses at the polls in the next General Elections, if he is unable to avert what is impending chaos and social unrest due to fiscal pandemonium.

I am not sure exactly what kind of bargaining chips the current government has in terms of national assets but if my sources are correct – the next foreign trip the PM makes will be to CHINA* (cap in hand, for a massive infusion of capital to the tune of at least US$1.5 billion)…

That should keep us ticking over for awhile until the next spending review come around…

In the end folks, let’s face it, our CREDIT CARD* is maxed out until we can sufficiently clear our outstanding balance…

So great article ALEX*…

33. Here is what the IMF is saying about Barbados in its latest Article 1v Consultation:

“Thus, despite a 30 percent fall in imports, international reserves declined by about US$50 million, after a drop of almost US$100 million in 2008.

In the second half of 2009, foreign reserves will be boosted by the SDR allocations (around US$90 million) and the successful placement in August of a US$120 million government bond abroad.”

—————————

It must be noted that next year June, the DLP will have to find US$100m to payback a loan it borrowed years ago.

It is why despite what our PM Thompson says, the IMF is reported on page 11, Item 23 of its latest Report, that:

“Barbados is facing a severe economic recession.”

This Report was published on September 10, 2009, yet four (4) days later, Mr. Thompson is reported on page 5 of the Nation Newspaper as having said:

“I think Barbados is weathering the storm. That’s how I would describe it as.”

Something is wrong here! Exactly how is the DLP weathering the storm – given what is being reported on page 11 of the IMF most recent Report?

More later!

34. @ALEX FERGUSSON
    “I think Barbados is weathering the storm. That’s how I would describe it as.”

Today Ben Bernanke stand up before the news cameras and says the US recession is over…

LIES, LIES, DAMN LIES & ROCK ‘n’ ROLL…

These bastards sit up and blatantly LIE* through their teeth as they talk up the economy to assuage public anger…

It’s not working guys!!!

35. TMB,

Perhaps you are right, even though the DLP said in paid ads. during the election campaign that they will not lie, cheat or steal:

Here is what is on page ii of the most recent IMF Report:

IV.
    STAFF APPRAISAL

“Barbados is facing a severe economic recession. Output is contracting, as the global financial crisis has depressed tourism, brought FDI to a sudden stop, and weakened public finances. Consequently, unemployment has risen to double-digit level, and international reserves have declined.

While the underlying balance of payments is expected to remain weak, international reserves are expected to increase marginally in 2009, on account of the SDR allocations and the large government bond issue abroad.”

Just do a google search and put in IMF, its there on the front page.

36. Anon wrote this:

“Scout you must be joking. You mean to me that you did not know that Barrow had no time for Thompson. Had Barrow had a hand in selecting his successor in St. John it would not have been Thompson.
    Barrow frequently referred to Thompson as a “little whipper snapper” and never trusted him. Barrow had favoured David Comissiong all the way.”

Anon, you are so very wrong, and I hope I get to see the egg on your face one of these days. There is, in existence, a day-to-day 1986 diary of Mr. Errol Barrow’s, lodged with a reputable institution (so that it can’t “disappear”) with these words written on one of the pages: “My Successor, David Thompson”. THOMPSON, Anon, not COMISSIONG. I have seen it with my own two eyes. Furthermore, you could only be implying that the late great Errol Walton Barrow was an idiot – and that he was NOT.

37. @ALEX FERGUSSON
    “While the underlying balance of payments is expected to remain weak, international reserves are expected to increase marginally in 2009, on account of the SDR allocations and the large government bond issue abroad.”

Alex however you cook the BOOKS* in the Treasury or at the Central Bank – we are in DIRE* straits…Bottom line….

Further job losses, higher fuel and energy prices including utilities, increase food prices and the stranglehold and MONOPOLY* by a factional regime in my country who grease the wheels of economics and commerce in their favor at the expense of the POOR…

If you believe the “horse manure” and the “bovine fecal matter” which is being spewed in the news media, on some of the BLOG* and especially from so-called intelligent persons who claim to have a vision for Barbados – you wonder what has to happen to wake up the general populace…

38. Under the caption, POLICY DISCUSSIONS, Fiscal Policy – here is what is written on page 7 of the IMF recent Article 1v Consultation, as posted on its webpage:

“The authorities did not favor further tightening the fiscal stance at this stage. They noted that their commitment to fiscal prudence was evidenced by the recent tariff adjustment for utilities and expressed concern that fiscal contraction, at a time of declining output, would choke the economy and further weaken confidence.

They maintained that their strategy would center on seeking external funding, principally from multilateral institutions, to cover the financing needs in the near term, while preparing to implement a strong fiscal adjustment program in the period ahead.”

—————

All the DLP is saying to the IMF is that it has already increase water rates by 60%, removed the subsidy from petroleum products and electricity bills and did all that the IMF was recommending.

This – in an effort to give the DLP boasting rights that the policies it is pursuing do not carry a: “Made in Washington,” stamp but more specifically, to make it easy to obtain and access IMF Funds or enter an IMF Programme.

Careful analysis of the above statement by the IMF will reveal a commitment from the DLP to increase the same national debt is promised to reduce, while also signaling that it will impose serious belt tightening measures next year.

Mr. Thompson did say in his recent budget that he intends to increase the rate of VAT, but lookout for serious budget cuts next year.

A pay cut and wage freeze should not be ruled out.

What are your view on this Mr. Blackett?

39. @ALEX FERGUSSON
    “What are your view on this Mr. Blackett?”

Mr. Fergusson SIR* – I don’t swear as a rule of thumb – I avoid expletives, dropping F-BOMBS and other forms of rudimentary colloquialisms which would portray my character in a somewhat negative light and undermine the level of integrity that I have worked so hard to achieve all these years…

But I am curdling and seething at the seams to bust out in either an ole’ fashion Bajan rumshop rant or in a ghetto-styled, gangsta’ rap based on the Black South LA tirades of putrid matter…

But that’s an HE-motion for another day!!!

To answer your question and I am sure you read Part 2 of my article on DEBT* – the government will have no choice but devalue the DOLLAR*…

With such a move – hardship will be increased but it is an inevitable consequence of years of “bloated” government [programs], cost over-runs and spiraling DEBT* which has to be repaid…

Alex, we have to stop consuming and start producing as a nation…

With such an advanced intelligent workforce – why aren’t we major producers in technology industries, green eco-solutions, manufacturing industries etc;

We haven’t even properly optimized on our tourist product over the years with the kind of forward thinking and action that would have made Barbados the French Riviera of the Western world and the envy of other nations…

More than that, we squandered valuable money and resources as “fat-cats” and politicians pocketed millions laughing all the way to their offshore bank accounts…

Now we have become too expensive as a destination for too many and not as exclusive as could have been on the other hand – for having struck a good balance would have been the best of both worlds.

So ALEX my man, government is BROKE, BUSTED & soon to be DISGUSTED – and this will surface within the political rank and file of the DLP as in-fighting has been a trend of sorts in good times and even worst in bad times…

40. Isn’t it true that the DLP’s ordered budget cuts will actually increase the same cost of living it promises to reduce?

Isn’t is also true that the DLP is doing most in this country and has done more since January 14, 2008 – than anyone one or entity in Barbados, whether individualy or collectively to increase the cost of living?

Since the answer is yes, then what credibility does the DLP have on the cost of living, especially given that the DLP is price gouging Barbadians on petroleum prices, land tax, road tax and excessive taxation in general.