Submitted by Looking Glass

slaveryImagine a man born in Ethiopia, raised and educated in Puerto Rico presenting slavery as an epithet for Negroid in a three-piece suit. What Irony. He forgot the briefcase and brolly. Dr Yosef Jochannan’s specious disputation is a convenient distortion of reality. Yes slavery (and attendant atrocities) has existed and will continue to exist. However, to present slavery as an epithet for Negroid is an over-characterisation. Negroes were not the first human beings to be enslaved. Slavery is not and never was unique to the Negro. There was white slavery going back to at least Roman times. Later other ethnic groups were also enslaved. The implicit assumption that slaves everywhere endured the same treatment is unsustainable. Today slavery is rampant in Africa, India and elsewhere. He forgot that Africans also sold their brethren into slavery both yesteryear and today

Regarding Africa Cecil Rhodes in keeping with the prevailing sentiment candidly stated that “we (the mother country and other colonists) must find new lands from which we can easily obtain raw materials and at the same time exploit the cheap slave labour that is available from the natives in the colonies…The colonies would also provide a dumping ground for the surplus goods produced in our factories…..” The sentiment was also echoed by Nigerian governor, Lord Lugard and former French president Jules Ferry (Goldsmith, Development & Colonialism) This suggests that the primary purpose was not enslavement/slavery as such but economic progress and ‘development.’ Workers including slaves were consumers just as they are today. Then as now progress was measured by the value of what consumers consume and their contribution.

Also then as now progress and economic development required an ongoing supply of an array of human resources—political, organizational, management and technical. The Cecil Rhodes Foundation and ‘associates’ directly and indirectly contributed substantially to the economic development of much of the world. Africans may not have won Rhodes Scholarships but they benefited substantially in other ways.

Slavery was a consequence of and a permanent feature progress and what we know of as economic development. And it was and is not restricted to Blacks. African commercial interests and politicians in mineral rich Sudan and oil rich Nigeria, like many of today’s international corporations, show little responsibility for their people or accountability beyond verbiage except for their own kind or class.

That Rwandans are still to understand why or what caused them to slaughter one another is a bad joke. Rwanda’s slaughter occurred around the same time as similar atrocities (rape mutilation ethnic cleansing and genocide) occurred and are occurring in Somalia, Congo, Sudan, Ethiopia and Nigeria. In the Congo some of the minerals used to make cell phones and related items are ‘produced’ under atrocious slave conditions by the Congolese. In some African states children are captured by blacks and sold into slavery on coffee and cocoa plantations; others given guns and taught to destroy their own kind Today slavery of yore (hard labour under horrendous conditions etc) appears mild when compared to what Black Africa has experienced and continues to experience at the hands of their own; a holocaust in some cases.

In presenting slavery as an epithet for Negroid Dr. Y uses race and ethnicity interchangeably. But they are not the same thing. Race used collectively refers to a people of different physical characteristics (skin colour). The three major races are said to be Negroid, Caucasoid and Mongoloid. Ethnicity on the other hand relates to a group of people having certain traits (cultural, linguistic, racial, religious etc) in common. Black Indians and Sri Lankans may and do experience discrimination because of their skin colour but are not seen as Negroid. Not all black people identify with Africa per se.

The insinuation that first Jews were black and from Ethiopia is by no means new. It raises the question as to whether Adam and Eve were black or white. No one really knows for sure. A long unexplained gap exists between the “Beginning” and recorded world history. It is misleading to identify Jews purely as a race. That said black and white Jews can be found all over.

It was in Barbados that Jews first became free people (here Bagatelle is important). Nisan, a sugar-boiler with expertise in laying out fields and equipping factories, was one of the four Jews ‘imported’ from Brazil by Colonel Holdip of Locust Hall to upgrade sugar production (Mosheh his brother worked at Drax Hall). Nisan married Annu, the very highly educated daughter of Chief Dosu and lived at Holland Bay. The ‘indigenous’ population is made up in part of whites of Jewish extraction. A large part of the non-white (black and variant shades thereof) is of Jewish and white extraction. Those who think that mixing race/ethnicity is to our detriment should thing again. Our roots are not only black.

Barbados was not discovered in 1619 as Dr. Y suggested. It was an Englishman, not Columbus, who first discovered the island in 1625, and another 2 years went by before settlement began. The early colonist settlers grew cotton, tobacco and indigo for export. In the early 1630s white indentures were imported to serve as bondsmen for 5 years after which they became free and were each given 5 acres of land. John Tatum was among the first indentured group. The year after his indenture ended, an English ship on its way to the island with a cargo of white indentures captured a Portuguese slaver, found 8 Africans and auctioned them in Barbados. They were the first Negroes slaves on the island.

A 1636 ordinance decreed that slaves, local or Indian and their offspring remain slaves for life. This was at a time when they were few black slaves and mostly indentured whites in the 6000 or so population. Three major factors led to the introduction of sugar on the island, 1) soil depletion 2) more expensive and inferior cotton and tobacco compared to Virginia, Carolina and Georgia, 3) declining revenue (sounds familiar).

By 1649 there was much dissent by black slaves then about ½ the 60,000 population over the 1636 ordinance. Hamilcar, a John Tatum slave, and a man reported to be of high intellect, organizational ability and capacity for leadership planned the island’s first rebellion/insurrection. It failed because Naomi, a black house slave, inadvertently let out the secret. As a result Hamilcar and 17 others were hanged. Later Naomi was found with her throat cut by the Tatums. All this at a time when Africans were selling Africans into slavery at home and abroad.

130 responses to “Slavery: A Somewhat Specious Disputation”

1. What an apologist piece for one of the world’s biggest atrocities.

Other slaves, as I understant it, were captured in battle, were used to pay off debts, etc. They were not bought, sold and bred like cattle. They were not graded like horses. They were in the most part treated as human beings and used as servants.

Furthermore, what is “cheap” slave labour? The African slaves got nothing, nothing, they were free labour! They were sold for trinkets.
    What cheap labour what!?! cheupse

2. @ Pat // September 3, 2009 at 6:58 PM

You wrote……”What an apologist piece for one of the world’s biggest atrocities.”

I write………. Why the heck you don’t try to do some more reading and see how so called “white” people suffered hell and damnation in slavery to other races throughout history. Where you now come from? You like you only born yesterday or what?????!!!!

What world’s biggest atrocities what??

Why the heck you don’t wake up from your slumber and smell the roses!

3. Looking Glass I’d suggest you read “Capitalism and Slavery” by Eric Williams (former TnT PM)

4. As ling as Pat here I will sit back and enjoy the fire works..!

5. It seems that some people just do not want to let go of “their reality”, they want to hold it close to their chest, nurture it and then drag it out into the light of day at every opportunity.
    If you look at Pat’s post, the telling words “as I understant it” say it all.

6. Looking Glass wrote “It raises the question as to whether Adam and Eve were black or white. No one really knows for sure.”

Adam and Eve had to be black for sure, because they were walking about naked remember? And when God made them put on clothes, they put on fig leaves (not fur coats) Only in equatorial regions can nudity/fig leaves protect against the weather. And ALL equatorial people are black (even if they are not all African).

And even if you are not a Christian, even if you believe in evolution, remember the first woman that scientists call Lucy? Her bones were discovered in Ethiopia, and Ethiopians do NOT have white skin, so Lucy had to be black too.

So however you look at it the first people were black.

White skin is an evolutionary adaption to the lack on sunshine in areas far from the equator. White skin permits enough vitamin D to be made so that populations do not die out from rickets for example. Women with rickets have severe difficulty giving birth to healthy living children. Not enough vitamin D can also lead to MS. People with severe MS have great difficulty working and providing for children. In equatorial regions it is easy, easy to get enough vitamin D ALL YEAR ROUND.

It is a pity that we have hung so much on skin color.

Skin color is an adaptation to geography, that’s all.

7. @J // September 3, 2009 at 11:14 PM You wrote…..”Skin color is an adaptation to geography, that’s all.”

I write…. So……..therefore, what, may I ask is all the big hullaballoo all about then?

Why are we having this discourse with all the mudslinging etc.?

8. J // September 3, 2009 at 11:14 PM

Looking Glass wrote “It raises the question as to whether Adam and Eve were black or white. No one really knows for sure.”

Adam and Eve had to be black for sure, because they were walking about naked remember? And when God made them put on clothes, they put on fig leaves (not fur coats) Only in equatorial regions can nudity/fig leaves protect against the weather. And ALL equatorial people are black (even if they are not all African).

Not necessarily you know J.

I think you may mean Tropical, not Equatorial.

Check this link.

Yes, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Iran are just outside the tropics

….. and yes maybe they came into India from the North

…. but what colour are the Aboriginies of Australia?

It is not possible to generalise about human beings and colour.

9. “There was white slavery going back to at least Romans times.” Well isn’t it interesting that you start the institution of slavery with the white man! That says a lot.

FYI, Cecil Rhodes [ that Brain character of Pinky & the Brain] was of no importance to the motherland. He wrought more harm than good to that continent. He was a despicable character.

‘Jews’ 1st became free in Barbados—laughable, utter putrid. What happened to them in Egypt? Who ever enslaved the ‘jews?’ And don’t come with some concocted, souped up biblical juice.

And as far as no one knowing for sure about Adam & Eve, that’s because they NEVER existed in flesh and blood.

So what we have here is a very feeble attempt on the part LOOKING GLASS to attempt to stupefy Black People on the matter of a very painful reality, a reality which they must confront daily with fortified spiritual armour.

LG, this senseless hit piece runs along the same vein as your economic ramblings.

@John……The only aborigines in Australia are the white man. Those Blacks that are referred to as [ab-original] are the ORIGINALS.

10. The first society to IegaIIy ban sIavery AS A CONCEPT in human history was…EngIand. Romans ensIaved Britons and other conquered peopIes, Greeks had sIaves, Persians had sIaves, Egypt had sIaves and Mesopotamia had sIaves. As far back as writing goes, where peopIe accounted for their property in writing, sIaves were incIuded in the taIIy of a person’s weaIth. 5,000 years of sIavery documented, onIy made actuaIIy iIIegaI by any government in the nineteenth century. ActuaI sIavery, where a person is owned from birth to death, not indenture where there may be a vague promise of a buy out resoIution has a patterned history and in aII the above-mentioned exampIes there were cases where escape from ensIavement was an option. CoIour of skin has been a coincidence, yet a preponderant one. Why? That’s for you to think about. Circassian sIaves were desired for their beautifuI paIe skins goIden hair and bIue eyes, Nubians for their height, strength and beauty; the one white the other dark bIack. Today in sIavery, nobody cares. In Dubai many Indians are working just to stay aIive, buiIding hoteIs for the rich, with no chance of ever going home, their passports confiscated, on starvation rations. ChiIdren are trafficked for sex and domestic sIavery from Africa and Eastern Europe; it’s today’s goIdmine. The key point about the West African trade in humans in the AtIantic sIave trade of the C18th was that there was such a huge number of individuaIs, treated simpIy as goods, with no chance of freedom in the deaI. They were subhumanised and treated as if they were beasts of burden and no more. It was not a poIiticaI issue; they were not hated, as the Jews who died in Nazi sIave Iabour camps were, but just treated as if they were – often vaIuabIe- animaIs. It was decreed that they were not human, did not have a souI. If you have a grievance, pinpoint it here. For a short time in modern history it suited entrepeneur pirates to do deaIs with West African countries to buy and seII indivduaIs as cattIe and no more. It became an industry. ConvienietIy it was judged that Africans did not have souIs and therefore were not the Christian God’s chiIdren. The theory died a death in the EngIish ParIiament and amon gst the Engish pubIic and press, but not before manyhad Iost their Iives and Iived in torment. I beg aII who bear this scar in their hearts to raIIy round and heIp to put a stop to the sIavery which is stiII happening in the worId. The eviI is stiII amongst us.

11. I would rather listen to reggae music to learn about the history of slavery.
    I recommend Grounation the Mystic Revelation of Rastafari by Count Ossie

12. Free Up Black Man (Cedric Im Brooks &
    The Light Of Saba)
    http://555dubstreet.wordpress.com/2009/09/04/free-up-black-man/

13. I strain to see the relevance:

“Imagine a man born in Ethiopia, raised and educated in Puerto Rico presenting slavery as an epithet for Negroid in a three-piece suit. What Irony. He forgot the briefcase and brolly. Dr Yosef Jochannan’s specious disputation”…

What someone wears in this “context” has no bearing on what they” say”.
    I am not here to defend Dr Yosef Jochannan or what he said but the opening of what Looking Glass wrote seeking to denigrate does not illuminate.

That Ghandi wore a dhoti and was called a half-naked fakir by one who should have known better did not undermine Ghandi’s wisdom:

May I remind you Winston Churchill said:
    ” It is alarming and nauseating to see Mr. Gandhi, a seditious middle temple lawyer, now posing as a fakir of a type well known in the east, striding half-naked up the steps of the viceregal palace, while he is still organizing and conducting a defiant campaign of civil disobedience, to parley on equal terms with the representative of the king-emperor”.
    Winston Churchill 1930

What has dress got to do with it…we know the outcome.

“I” certainly have not argued that slavery was unique in its perpetuation on Black people, or that Africans played no part in its transaction or that there was not an economic component. Or that in certain forms it is not practised today in Africa.

What we are saying is that slavery was evil and barbaric and had a major input in the lives of Black Barbadians in Barbados – where we are – hence the name “Barbados Underground”.

No previous acts at the time of Roman supremacy could justify this evil, internecine fighting among blacks in the past, now or in the future or the acquiescence of some blacks during slavery does not mitigate.

The tragedy and perhaps a greater one is the lack of understanding now being exercised; that compounds and demonstrates clearly, all that is lacking is the ability to “do,” the “mind-set” is clearly there…this attitude will do untold harm to the long term interests of certain sectors in Barbados, as they seek to defend the indefensible.

14. Dear John:

Please explain to me if you can the difference between tropical and equatorial.

My geography teachers always taught that the tropics are those areas immediately north and south of the equator.

I said that all INDIGENOUS equatorial people are black, even if they are not all African.

I did not say that all black people are equatorial.

The indigenous people of Australia are of course black. The survivors of a migration out of Africa and to the south about 50,000 or more years ago. Some other people migrated to the north and evolved white skins in order to survive in regions with scarce sunshine.

I’ll say again white skin is a evolutionary adaption to scare sunshine, that all.

People have white skins for the same reason that Barbados black belly sheep have no wool. The sheep adapted to constant warmth by shedding their wool.

I’ll say again white skin is a evolutionary adaption to scare sunshine, that all.

15. victor wrote “They were subhumanised and treated as if they were beasts of burden… they were not hated… but just treated as if they were – often vaIuabIe- animaIs.”

Explain t me if you can how it is possible to subhumanise another HUMAN BEING, and how it is possible to treat another HUMAN BEING as an animal without hating that person.

You are wrong.

Even if the people who started the trans-Atlantic slave trade did not originally hate their “valuable animals” they came soon enough to hate them. THe enslaved people wer e treated HATEFULY and this HATEFUL treatment went on for hundreds of years. The trade may originally have been economic/political but it came soon enough to be racial, and a whole philosophy was developed to justify the enslavement and subhuman treatment of other HUMAN BEINGS.

16. The truth is European countries were dying from lack of food and colonised Africa, Asia etc for their resources.
    The Slave Trade is what built Europe and America.
    Spain, Holland, Britain, France, Italy etc had already taken up African and Asian countries so Hitler invaded Poland instead.

17. The black slaves lived the longest as they were physically stronger.
    Asian slaves died within a year.
    White slaves died within two years.
    Black slaves could last 3-4 years.

18. If we accept the theory that homo sapiens originated in the Rift Valley of Africa (and I personally have no doubt), then we would have to agree that the first people were Black. Therefore we would also have to agree that slavery was introduced by blacks. All civilizations have taken advantage of their fellow brethren – it is all about conquest, domination and exploitation.

19. J // September 4, 2009 at 6:08 AM

Dear John:

Please explain to me if you can the difference between tropical and equatorial.

My geography teachers always taught that the tropics are those areas immediately north and south of the equator.

Did your Geography teacher teach you about Plate Tectonics, Continental Drift and Climate Change too?

The earth used to be alot different in the past and probably will be alot different in the future.

… just not possible to generalise about Human Beings, particularly if you use the model of the earth as we were taught at school and exists for the time being.

…. besides, South America and Europe may have been a part of Africa back then, ….. or come to think of it ….. vice versa.

20. “Did your Geography teacher teach you about Plate Tectonics, Continental Drift and Climate Change too?”

Yes John I was blessed with really great teachers.

The continental shifts etc. took place millions of years ago, long, long, long before the evolution (or creation if you want) of human beings.

21. When did Creation take place?

22. Duppy Lizard wrote “Therefore we would also have to agree that slavery was introduced by blacks.”

You do understand don’t you that ALL of us are descendants of the first people?

Even you Duppy Lizard, even you.

23. @ Robin Hood

Why dont you go back to Sherwood and Make Merry with your men.

@ Ebenezer:

Why dont you join your friend above. I am sure you will be loved by little john.

It just amazes me, how some people today in Barbadian society fail to admit the the black slave trade was a heinous crime and tries to justify it. These self same people would like to compare apples to oranges and say they are both fruit.

Well Mr. Robin Hood and Ebenezer Scrooge, reel and cast again. What you are both telling me, is that if the oppotunity arose where you could enslave us again, you would have no compunction about doing just that joyfully.

24. @Pat // September 4, 2009 at 11:27 AM

You wrote….”Well Mr. Robin Hood and Ebenezer Scrooge, reel and cast again. What you are both telling me, is that if the oppotunity arose where you could enslave us again, you would have no compunction about doing just that joyfully.”

I reply…..I sometimes have to wonder whether some people throw their intelligence out the door when they get on a blog to type a response. What utter nonsense you make in that statement above, Pat.

Of course, we KNOW what atrocities (heinous crimes) took place then! So, how can you now accuse me of wanting to perpetrate the same!

I am quite sure I can produce some of my family members that would be far darker skinned than you! So what nonsense you coming to me with?!

I maintained before and continue to maintain, the big question should really be…………where do we proceed from here? I certainly do not profess to know the answers. Do you?

Hopefully, your childen/grand children and my grandchildren will not have this crap to contend with.

Hopefully, they would all be one big, contented family by then!

25. The system is set up to rule
    The system is set up to divide and rule
    I remember Martin
    I remember Marcus
    I remember Malcolm
    I remember Nelson
    You can never keep a good man down

26. Wow! The justifications of slavery as economic development (white expansionism). The attempt to shift blame to us. The attempt to make us believe that it still going on and we doing it. It is an insult to our intelligence. You should change your name to the lookingclass.

My Lord! The white people making sure that racism remains in place and that slavery never ends. We here killing ourselves not to be racism and for a submission like this to be made tells me all hell should break loose and we should end this with civil war.

One thing for sure, any man that can’t own up to what he does is no man at all. If there is one thing this article tells me is that the same way white will not let up is the same way we should intensify.

Is that what it is to come to. Civilisation began more than 10,000 years before Rome and yet your point of reference is Rome… and who fool you that Rome was a white society? The same way you previously claimed that Egypt was a white society until the myth got debunked.

Some seriously warped thinking here designed to justify the horrors of slavery. I want documented proof that any slavery today is anywhere near the holocaust of 400 years of slavery; lynchings, dismemberment, castration; severed genitals, rape, cruel beatings, burning at the stake; smashing of babies on stones, ripping pregnant women in half so the babies drop out.

Anything like that happening today? Proof fella, otherwise I say you lie!

Furthermore, we in Barbados are all slaves. Right under your noses slavery going on. Just look and see how you struggle to make your bosses business a success and go home with nothing. It is a system. Some poor mothers get paid so the could get bus fare to get to work and hardly have anything left to feed their children.

Some self-employed people can’t get ends to meet; the tax climate; the monopoly on production and distribution all govern down economic prosperity for the masses; yet we keep buying and making no headway to get out of this slavery.

So does all of that make 400 years of slavery justifiable?

As for Dr. Ben, he made it no secret the way he was socialised and all he could say is that is what he was taught and did not know any better. The magnitude of the work of Dr. Ben will be realised generations after he passes; and like Marcus Garvey, his words and research will echo the world over; in times to come. All those myths you still spouting will get debunked.

27. robin hood // September 4, 2009 at 12:21 PM

Dear Robin Hood, go back to your first response to my opening post.

With regard to you producing some family members darker skinned than me, I am assuming you know me. I, however dont know you. However, I can produce family members whiter than you. My great grandmother on my motherside was white of Irish and Scottish origin. The black was introduced by my great grandfather. She died when I was two, he a few years later. He never married her. So, it is not only black women who out there fooping around. I have her last name.

I have a pure white distant cousin living in Highgate. She acknowledges us and visits. Do you think because of this I am going to excuse the devilish behaviour of whites against blacks? Not in a pigs eye.

So, my friend, just dont excuse the inexcusable.

28. @J

Actually my forefathers came from another solar system.

All joking aside, isn’t that what I implied? (The fact that we are all descended from the first people).

And I can assure kind sir, that my skin isn’t as white as you so presumptiously assume.

However, I have no problem with who I was, am or will be. I leave that for all of those in turmoil.

29. @Bro ROK…..that term ‘civil war’ is yet another of whitey’s oxymorons, just like ‘aboriginal’. Any war with the white man has never been and can never be civil. The best thing for Black People to do is to separate ourselves from this plague and seek self-knowledge.

RACIAL SEPARATION is the way to go. To hell with integration which was only designed to perpetuate this parasitic system.

30. Technically there are no white people
    there are grey yellow pink light blue
    people

31. @ Hopi, “Civil” as in civil war does not at all relate to civil behaviour, but is used to mean a war among CITIZENS of a country from the Latin “civis” meaning a citizen.

32. About the only forum an idiot can have access to insult the history and experience of a group is one run by us. There is no way anyone should be allowed to do this. It is racist, mischievous, and totally lacking in the kind of scholarship necessary to expound on any human issue.

Only an idiot would equate an experience that forcibly dissassociated tens of millions frm the very language of their origin, from the cultural soveriegnity of naming themselves, from averything every other group in this world still enjoy, with the disparate experiences of some in the oppressor group.

This idiot comes into a black forum and refers to us as negros. I am still shaking my head, because for a moment I almost believed I had mistakenly pulled up stormfront.

33. @Themis…..In this case, it is another oxymoron because this fight is not amongst citizens, it is against a system that has masked its agenda under many guises. The fight is not with the average clueless citizen. So for that reason , you see, we don’t need no ‘civil war.’ We need to deracinate the whole shitstem.

34. ROK, Ancient Egyptians Iooked much as they do today. Brown. IIIustrations show those of darker and Iighter hue in the procession paintings which show foreign visitors, workers or dipIomats bringing gifts, working on boats etc. and you can cIearIy see the different faciaI characteristics and hairdos indicating where the individuaIs came from. This is accompanied by writings detaiIing foreign visits, captives etc.

35. J, you are are right that the sIaves became hated and despised, especiaIIy when it was decreed by the Church that they were not human, untiI baptised. How disgracefuI AII very convenient in their supression and for the traders and pIantation owners.. History show that a greatmany were outraged at this concept and fought for years against it even during the period when sIavery was stiII a vaIuabIe trade

36. A peaceful revolution occurs when tens of thousands of people share the same beliefs and views. You can fight a system by working within it and challenging the incorrect application of rules.

37. All B%^LS&#T, get on with your lives people. For every left there is a right, for every up, a down……we will NEVER NEVER know the truth….History is what it is, history/past…and persons through out history, on all sides would have altered and manipulated the TRUTH to suit their own agendas. MOVE ON.

38. @crossroads

Why don’t you move on. You want to bully somebody? You cannot tell people what to be interested in. In that case why don’t you throw away the Bible and move on. That is full of changes and man made insertions over more than a 1000 years to suit the agenda of certain people.

Stop reading the Bible and move on.

39. Its true there is a lot of BS on both sides.
    It would be good to establish and teach
    the truth.
    An obvious fact that can be assumed is
    practically all black people in barbados
    are descendants of african slaves.

40. victor // September 5, 2009 at 12:24 AM

J, you are are right that the sIaves became hated and despised, especiaIIy when it was decreed by the Church that they were not human, untiI baptised. How disgracefuI AII very convenient in their supression and for the traders and pIantation owners.. History show that a greatmany were outraged at this concept and fought for years against it even during the period when sIavery was stiII a vaIuabIe trade

I don’t think anybody decreed that slaves were not human, particularly the church.

The Anglican Church has its membership rules just as the Roman Catholic and other denominations and major religions ….. and, who said a slave ever wanted to be a member!!

Some slave owners gave freedom to their salves from earliest times and it was for the freed slave to decide if he/she wanted to fit in to society or not.

Some appear in baptismal records, some do not.

Christopher Codrington left two plantations in his will to the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel (SPG) in 1710 or 1713 (can’t remember) with the provision that the SPG catechise the slaves and make them Christians.

That meant teaching them to read and write.

Baptism followed.

Check “Bondsmen and Bishops” for details of what happened. I believe the first slaves on the SPG estates were baptised in 1732 but I could be wrong.

In the Anglican Church you are baptised as an infant and Godparents who are also members of the church stand in on your behalf to make the vows that they will keep you (along with your parents) on the straight and narrow …. doesn’t always work!!

Once you reach 10-12 years old you are confirmed in the church.

At that time you say your vows yourself which you are taught and learn when you are catechised, in other words you take the responsibility yourself.

The Baptists do not believe in baptism as an infant and will only baptise you if you are old enough to accept Jesus Christ as your saviour … and do so.

Then you become a member of the Baptist Church.

I have never been to a Mosque and do not know what the rules are for converting to Islam.

I am absolutely sure that I could not be recognised as a member of Islam without submitting myself to its rules , reading and learning about it and then making a profession of faith.

I went through being catechised when I was 11 ….. and it was not easy.

My confirmation class had a martinet teaching it, ….. although at times he could be very amusing.

41. @crossroads

Have a read! Nation News October 04, 2006:

Almost 200 years after that historic milestone in world history, Caribbean states are demanding that the United Nations celebrate the anniversary of the momentous event with a purpose.

From Barbados, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, Grenada and the Bahamas to Dominica and St Lucia, the call is the same: the celebration of the 200th anniversary of the abolition of slavery must resonate around the world.

“This will not only deepen our knowledge and understanding of slavery and the slave trade,” said Dame Billie Miller, Barbados’ Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, “but also contribute to the removal of the vestiges of slavery.”

Dr Ralph Gonsalves, St. Vincent’s Prime Minister, didn’t stop there. He wants the UN to put the issue of reparations squarely on the table for discussion.

“There has been no apology for this crime against humanity and genocide, conducted over a prolonged period,” he said in a recent address to the UN General Assembly. “There has been no practical recompense in the form of reparations to the affected nations and peoples in Africa, the Caribbean and the Americas. Surely, this issue must be put squarely on the agenda of the United Nations for speedy resolution.”

Gonsalves, recognised in Caribbean academic circles as a scholar, waxed eloquently as he asserted “European nations and their North American cousins” must answer for their crimes.

“Europe has much to answer for on these matters and should be made to answer properly, appropriately,” he said. “Historic wrongs not righted remain scars on the soul of the oppressor and the oppressed alike which continue to haunt over the ages. It is a hateful burden, which must be lifted. This dark night must give way to a brightened day.”

For its part, Jamaica served notice that the Caribbean plans to table a resolution at the current session of the General Assembly, “with the expectation”, said Anthony Hylton, its foreign minister, “that the General Assembly will appropriately recognise the event”.

The Bahamas has taken a different approach. While signalling the world body that it supports the “CARICOM initiative to encourage the United Nations to mark and commemorate the 200th anniversary of the abolition” of the slave trade, it is taking steps on its own to educate its people’s about the abhorrent nature of slavery and the positive features of Afro-Caribbean culture.

It outlined some of its plans for domestic celebrations, including a Festival of Arts, which is to run from March next year to January 2008.

“A different country or region will be showcased each month during the festival as a means of exposing Bahamians to the rich culture of Africa through theatre, art, music and dance,” explained Fred Mitchell, the Bahamian foreign minister.

When Petrus Compton, St Lucia’s Minister of External Affairs, raised the issue at the UN, he said his country was backing the plan for a UN commemoration next year because the passage of the bill in the British parliament in 1807 “began the process of the abolition of slavery in the British Empire”.

Like Gonsalves, he described slavery “as a crime against humanity”.

While Trinidad and Tobago’s UN ambassador Philip Sealy stopped way short of Gonsalves’ and Compton’s characterisation of slavery, he did link Haiti’s struggle for independence in the Caribbean with the abolition of the slave trade, calling them “significant developments” of an international nature.

“The slave trade has had adverse long-term effects on the social and economic development of parts of Africa that is still being felt today,” he said.

42. ROK

I am none the wiser after reading this article if the writer was talking about the abolition of the slave trade in 1807 or of slavery in 1834/38.

I guess the writer is referring to the abolition of the slave trade and its 200th anniversary in 2007.

The lack of knowledge and understanding of our past is truly mind boggling and is clearly evident to me in the unspecific language used in the pronouncements by our various leaders and contained in this article.

It is left for their people to imagine whtever was meant by the words and leads of course to no follow up because of the lack of specificity in the pronouncements.

43. For its part, Jamaica served notice that the Caribbean plans to table a resolution at the current session of the General Assembly, “with the expectation”, said Anthony Hylton, its foreign minister, “that the General Assembly will appropriately recognise the event”.

The UN was formed more than a century after slavery was abolished in the the British Colonial “dependencies”.

Shouldn’t the UN be dragging its members over the coals for letting slavery exist today?

Shouldn’t at least one member of the UN be recognised in taking a lead role in the eradication of all forms of slavery in the world today?

44. To say that slavery has been abolished is yet another monumental lie. While the physical chains have been removed, the most effective form of slavery is in full force today…slavery of the mind. So while politicians continue to hoodwink the people into believing that they are free, the invisible chains are still around our brains today.

No declaration of a resolution by one of the most corrupt World Bodies – the UN- can make anyone free. Freedom is of the mind not a shitstem.

@Crossroads….You will NEVER, NEVER know the truth, because you, like the multitude can’t handle the TRUTH.

45. Liberation theologian Ron Rhodes argues that between 1517 and 1840 it is estimated that 20,000,000 Blacks were captured in Africa, transported to America, and brutally enslaved.

The experience of these Blacks – and their descendants – serves as the backdrop for understanding contemporary Black liberation theology.

During slave trading days, Blacks were crammed into ships like sardines into a can and brought across the Atlantic.

Many died at sea from dysentery, smallpox, and other diseases. “Some starved themselves to death refusing to eat. To prevent this form of suicide, hot coals were applied to the lips to force the slaves to open their mouths to eat.”[William Banks]

Upon arriving on American shores, the slaves – men, women, and children – were forced to work from sunrise to sunset. Even old and ailing slaves were forced to work.

The brutality shown to the slaves is among the saddest chapters in American history.

Black theologian Anthony Evans tells us that “Black women were raped at will by their masters at the threat of death while their husbands could only look on. Families were separated as they were bought and sold like cattle.”

For tax purposes, slaves were counted as property – like domestic animals. Eventually, however, a question arose as to how to count slaves in the nation’s population. The Congress solved the problem by passing a bill that authorized the U.S. Census Bureau to count each slave as three-fifths of a person. This Congressional compromise
    resulted in what one Negro writer of the 1890s called “the ‘Inferior Race Theory,’ the placing of the Negro somewhere between the barnyard animals and human beings.”[James W. English]

Initially, there was heated resistance to evangelizing among slaves. Black scholar C. Eric Lincoln tells us there were three principal reasons for this: “(1) the hearing of the gospel required time that could be economically productive;
    (2) slaves gathered together in a religious assembly might become conscious of their own strength and plot insurrections under cover of religious instruction;
    (3) there was an English tradition of long standing that once a slave became a Christian he could no longer be held a slave.”

In addition, many whites were repulsed at the suggestion that Blacks could go to Heaven.

Morgan Godwyn, a graduate of Oxford University who served in churches in Virginia around 1665, wrote that slave-masters would commonly exclaim, “What, such as they? What, those Black dogs be made Christians? What, shall they be like us?”[C. Eric Lincoln]

Some whites tried to argue that Blacks were less than human.

Buckener H. Payne, in his book – “The Negro: What Is His Ethnology”? suggest that “these same Blacks are present with us today, they must have been in the ark. There were only eight souls saved in the ark, however, and they are fully accounted for by Noah’s family. As one of the beasts in the ark, the black has no soul to be saved.”[Millard J. Erickson,] So why try to evangelize them?

Marcus Garvey (1887-1940) is regarded by many as “the Apostle of Black theology in the United States of America.”[Lindsay A. Arscott]

Martin Luther King, Jr., said Garvey “was the first man on a mass scale and level to give millions of Negroes a sense of dignity and destiny, and make the Negro feel he is somebody.”[quoted by Clair Drake, Foreword to Garveyism as a Religious Movement]

Garvey was one of the first to speak of seeing God through Black “spectacles.

A concept many would do well to cogitate over, especially those who have already thrown out the BIBLE*, like the baby with the bath-water…

46. “While the physical chains have been removed, the most effective form of slavery is in full force today…slavery of the mind.”

Hopi, perhaps you are a willing participant in “slavery of the mind” as it is much easier to fall back on this excuse rather than actually do something positive with your life.

47. An excerpt from Chapter 2 of “THE BLACK EXPERIENCE IN AMERICA” –
    The Immigrant Heritage of America
    By Norman Coombs, Publisher: Twayne, (c 1972)

Slaves have told how they began the voyage in trepidation, being frightened by the sight of the “white devils” who, they had heard, liked to eat Africans.

Then the long voyage commenced.

Conditions here were even more crowded than at the “factory.”
    Slaves were generally kept below deck with no sunshine or fresh air. They were
    crowded so close together that there was never any standing room and often not even sitting room.

Again, they had to be supervised closely as many tried to starve themselves to death or to jump overboard. However, the greatest loss of slave property was due to disease.

The ship’s captain feared that disease would whittle away his profits, and, even more, he worried that it would attack him and his crew. When the passage was completed, and the West Indies had been safely reached, the slave again had to undergo the same kind of degrading inspection
    and sale which had occurred in Africa, but this time he had to experience the
    torment in a strange and distant land.

While the economic profits in the slave trade were great, so were the human
    losses. Statistics concerning the slave trade are often inaccurate or missing.
    However, it is generally agreed that at least twenty million Africans, and perhaps many more, became slaves in the New World.

About one to two million were brought in the sixteenth century, four million in the seventeenth century,
    eight million in the eighteenth century, and another five million in the nineteenth century.

The mortality rate among these new slaves ran very high. It is estimated that some five percent died in Africa on the way to the coast, another 13% in transit to the West Indies, and still another 30% during the three-month seasoning period in the West Indies. This meant that about 50% of those originally captured in Africa died either in transit or while being prepared for servitude.

Even this statistic, harsh as it is, does not tell the whole story of the human cost involved in the slave trade. Most slaves were captured in the course of warfare, and many more Africans were killed in the course of this combat. The total number of deaths, then, ran much higher than those killed en route. Many
    Africans became casualty statistics, directly or indirectly, because of the slave trade. Beyond this, there was the untold human sorrow and misery borne by the friends and relatives of those Africans who were torn away from home and loved ones and were never seen again.

Statistics concerning profits in the slave trade are also difficult to obtain. Profits often ran as high as two or three hundred percent, and were an important part of the European economy. These profits provided much of the capital which helped to spur on the industrial revolution.

When QUEEN ELIZABETH, in 1562, heard that one of her subjects, John Hawkins, had become involved in the slave trade, she was very critical and commented that he would have to pay a very high price for dealing in human lives.

However, when she was confronted with a copy of his profit ledger, her moral indignation softened, and she quickly became one of the members of the corporation.

Some merchants were hit hard by the risks accompanying the slave trade and suffered financial disaster. The possible profits were so high, however, that other merchants were always eager to venture into this field and new capital was ever lacking.

48. After all the apologies and reparations and acknowledgement of wrong doings….My question would be..What next? What change will it bring? Who will it change? Will Blacks, Whites or Indians view each other differently because of this…..I say NOT!
    Those who have moved on, Those who respect and accept each other no matter what race or creed…they are the people who I admire the most.
    Those who continue to add fuel to fire are doing so for their own satisfaction, to “milk the cow” for their own benefit to get whatever they can from society.

49. Cross
    If you truly respected blacks
    you would be speaking on their behalf for
    them about the evils of slavery