Rihanna poses topless in Italian Vogue

Let us be clear, BU wishes Rihanna well in her chosen career. She has done well if we measure success by the penetration she has made in the world of pop. The BU household has watched her progression with admiration and interest. The recognition which Rihanna has brought to Barbados was rewarded by the government of Barbados last year. After the material possessions were received,ย  she was given the official papers to be Ambassador for Youth and Culture.

In light of her recent indiscretions and now her topless pose in Vogue Magazine, the question asked by BU and others remains. Should the government of Barbados ask Rihanna to quietly relinquish the post of Ambassador for Youth and Culture? Perhaps given her schooling at the Waterford University she should have the awareness to not wait to be asked.

Since the Chris Brown incident it seems Rihanna has been on a hunt for publicity by any means necessary. We understand these PR stunts all do wonder for her career but what does it do for her image in the eyes of young Barbadians who currently worship her? Rihanna finds herself in a position where she can trod the worn trail or she could use a hoe to chop a new path. She now has the popularity which equips he toย  make a positive difference. It seems she is allowing the American pop culture to quickly reel her in.

It is interesting even as we talk of Rihannaโ€™s meteoric rise in the world of pop tongues are wagging about the dizzying spiral which Michael Jackson the King of Pop suffered. He operated in the world of glitz and glamour which is attached to the unavoidable dark side of drugs and stupidity.ย  Does anyone really think that Michael Jackson died from a few recent injections of benzodiazepines and a reduced dose of propofol? Or was his death secondary to long term use of drugs?

How much of the full or true pathology reported has been released? We have heard about toxicology? Was his heart and kidneys and liver functioning properly in the light of decades of drug abuse? What ifโ€ฆ..?

There is a lot Rihanna can learn from how the King of Pop died. Many of us still remember the innocent looking little boy from the Jackson 5 fame. Over the years as he was reeled into the culture of pop his innocence faded and he became what?

Rihanna we wished you well but we urge you to consider relinquishing the title of Ambassador of Youth and Culture.

275 responses to “The Rise And Fall Of A Star”

1. Many unfamiliar revellers ‘doing-bad’ on Kadooment Day and this pic of Rihanna, the internationally recognised singing star.
    I’m still trying to equate the two. Am I missing something?
    One has absolutely nothing to do with the other.
    The last time I checked, she was making millions before this ‘bare it all’ facade.
    This is what the music business or business of music has been reduced to?
    Stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

And then again,many men, many minds.

2. One topless photo out of what 30 of the others, if her shot is worthy of removing her title (youth ambassador and all that jazz) half these politicians should just vanish from the public eye, Mia for sure. If I had the sort of time to waste like you people do on this tripe, I could fix this country single-handedly.

3. ‘morning girls!!

Sheri, a Ri-type girlfriend is one who looks and preferably, also sings like Ri!! I know I’ll never be able to get that combination so I jus hope for the best I can!! I’m an optimist!! lol!!

Tammie, MJ paid the ultimate price for remaining a kid! Don’t think that’s the advice u should b giving ur daughter!!

“When my son was 15 people always said he needed to get a job,…”

Sherri, is n’t it a pity how completely nosey (malicious?) people r!! What business is it of theirs what ur son does at that age!! Is he their responsibility?!! and, suppose u decided to look after him till he was 30 – why people caan mine duh own business?!! And why should he work at such a young age and not further his education!! People really does mek me sick! Duh suh stupid!! We need better and higher educated Barbadians not ones who rush-out to work at the very earliest opportunity!! Tell dum nuh, Sherri?!! Don’t mind me too much, S!! They’re YOUR neighbours, not mine!! U decide how to handle them, sweets!!

lol!! Bonny, welcome back babe!! I missed u yesterday!! – that’s amusing!! Like ur car!! Manual or auto an, do u enjoy plying the motorways of Bim!! Since looking after my old daddy and spending suh much time indoors, I don’t do much driving these days!! Let the bus and train do it for me!! Also, gives me time to relax and enjoy the views (ladies)!! lol!! when I c any worth lookin at which, ova hay, ent too often!! half-ded looking, or duh too fat or someting!! Steupse!! I doan know way d good-lookin women gone man! I having a real hard time seeing a black (or any udda color) woman I can get excited about!! It’s na wonda I has to look at Ri, a second time!! Do u enjoy driving the highways and byways of Bim, Bon?!! and, where (which beach/other location) do u like to visit just to relax?!! Bellplaine?!! It’s mainly just a name tuh me girl!! Went there as a kid, had a great time and that’s it!! Have n’t the foggiest where it is or what it’s like, now!! That sounds a ‘wicked’ car, Bon!! Mus do a search an c what it looks like!!

I could never ‘diss’ u babe! Ur too precious to me!! – your other boyfriends excepted!! lol!!

Sherri’s a happily married woman Bon, although, if she was n’t, I might think twice about her!! But please don’t tell her dah, yet!!

LOL!!

Bon, fancy travelling around the world FOC!! Aside from the boredom, it must be ‘the ultimate job’!!

As for the threesome!! I’m very modest when it comes tuh my sex life and like to ‘do my thing’ with the curtains closed an the lights switched off!! An, if yuh beleive dat yuh will believe anyting!!

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!

On d subjek uh d girls!! Saw a pic of some uh d Bajee ones in my British, The Nation, d udda week, an, yuh know Bon, duh din look too bad at all!! Might have to mek my way ova day, afterall!!

Bon, re: ur brother!! Maybe he’s got suh much uh dah British hard-currency dat e doan quite know wha tuh do wid eself!! Maybe u should try getting a little closer to e, babe!!

Anyhow, gun lef yuh fuh now!! Lots uh love!!

4. Hi again Sherri, how’re u all finding life in the States (is that where u live?)!! education system ok? work, ok? I got the impresssion from a tv prog or 2 dat the blacks r failing in d education system day but, somebody’s told me recently, that’s not the case!! What do u think, hon?!!

5. And how do u feel hon, living in a country where anybody around u might, at anytime, have a gun and end ur life! We Brits find that highly, unacceptable although, I guess u must be accustomed to it?!! Don’t like the sound uh that, at all!!

6. David, guess what!! Bim IS part of the wider world and WILL, to an extent, be subject to its influences!! U don’t object to the JA take-over of our island!! It’s the same thing bro!! – which is n’t to say we should necessarily, allow it to go too far!! Nice Bajan-day!! ๐Ÿ™‚

7. Further, Dave, please encourage Yardbroom to reply to my questions in ‘………..connections’!! I don’t understand why he’s being so timid!! and, an ex-marine, at dat!! ๐Ÿ™‚

8. Sherri, u would n’t know but I’m a keen Rihanna fan!! I would crawl on my knees tuh go an c dah girl sing, man!! Saw her over hay in London an she just ‘blew away d place’ man!! girl can sing?!! an dance?!! Lord have mercy!! Just wish I was younger!! I’d become one of her groupies!! U like Ri, S?!!

9. S, yuh know, if I wus young, I’d go an c her again but, dis time, sit right at d front so I cud get the best view of my girl! but, u know why I could n’t do it now, S? U would n’t guess girl but, I tell yuh, when duh turn on dose loudspeakers – it’s like duh gun blow yuh back tuh d udda side uh d building an d building itself does shake!! I was a bit frighten!! so, I caan sit at d front anymo, bo! I have to lef dat to d young ones tuh deafen dumselves!!

Laaaaaaddddddddddddd!!

10. “The Barbadian soceity has always been a conservative one, but whose to say that thats the right oneโ€ฆ”

Sherri, that’s so true but, that statement still always fill me with amusement! U ask yourself, why!! Although, undeniably true, I would hate to imagine a more conservative society than the Bim I spent my early-childhood in, however, I always remember the shock I received when I first read, here in Blighty and probably in my old school library about Bim, many years ago, that ‘it is one of the most densely populated places on earth’!! S, can u imagine my shock and embarassment – I suspect it’s still the same, today!! Little Bim, my sweet, little homeland, when I used to walk around and hardly see anybody!! Well, obviously, ‘it was all happening’ alright but behind closed doors and nobody was talking about it, certainly not within earshot of any child!! lol!! d Bajans bad dough!! Doan laugh at me!!

I remember when I first heard the word ‘sex’, over hay in Inglan!! I thought to myself: ‘right, sex, sex, sex!! I got a feeling I should know wha dis word mean!! sex! hmm! lord, an although I was inrested in it even from back home I din know dat’s wha duh call it!! cause nunbody talked about it!! lol!! I know now dough!! an, tank god too!!

Laaaaaaddddddddddddd!!

11. Bonny babe, I’ve enough love fuh both u and Sherri so, no need to worry, sweets!!xx

12. Sherri, ur married to an undertaker?!! Lord, girl, dah would frighten me!! Although, I’m sure he’s the nices person in d world but, an undertaker?!! What’s it like S? an please, please S, please doan tell me u does keep d coffins downstairs or in d basemant!! dat would b too much man!!
    lol!!

13. Hi Bonny, ur right about Ri! She’s lovely to look at but, when it comes to the real business, I need a ‘mature-woman’!! Then, I caan worry my head too much bout dese young tings, I lef dum fuh d young boys!! I had my share when I wus young an I happy wid dat!! You’d b surprised if I told u I like my real girlfriends to have had a child or two! Then, I consider them really, sexy attractive women! Girls like Ri, at my age, r just for admiring!! I lef it to d young guys to ‘work’ dem!!

lol!!

14. Hi Bonny, thanks for the advice Babe! I woke up but p was n’t what I wanted to do first thing!!

lol!!

15. Looka, I caan believe how much talkin I done tuh u girls dis mornin aready bo! Leh me go an do someting constuctive!!

Lor!! c yuh laters!!

16. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Could you please ask commentators not to post so many posts at once.

This is very selfish and sickening to see all the comments knocked off the Comments section and the only ones remaining are those belonging to Bimbro bar one.

To get to see any new comments you will then have to open each article and scroll 200 coments,85 commnts or even over 400 comments.

Please institute some rule of common courtesy when posting on the blog.

17. Anybody know wha dis ****er talkin bout? cause I have n’t the foggiest idea!! If he’s complaining bout doing a little scrolling, den get a new hand which does n’t tire so easily, otherwise **** yuhself!!

Steupse!

Miserable ****y!!

18. Girls, on the subject of beauty and Rihanna!! For some unaccountable reason, this morning, I was remembering my likkle, Jamaican girlfren who work day at my local, food take-away shop! Girl sweet as hell. Jamaican-Chinee type, u know, that yellowish-skin type uh JA which I hear yuh doan c, in Bim!! Anyway, I was remembering that I used to go there every week for my jerk-chicken likkle treat (oh, an BTW, do u know why they call it jerk-chicken! Well, u would never guess d reason! One uh dum once told me it’s cause it’s so hot, dat when u eat it it does mek u jerk!! Well, I in Jamaican so I caan swear dat’s d trufe but it song persuasive tuh me!!)

Laaaaaaaddddddddddddd!!

Anyhow, dis perty, likkle JA-Chiney chick used to serve me regular an I could n’t help admiring her!! I would go in in my business-suit an pen an ting deliberatly, to impress er, u know!! So, one day, I must have chatted-her up a little and den, nex ting is, d girl’s saying to me, ‘age is jus a number’!! I thought, Oh Lord!! Wha dis likkle ting trying to get me into!! I wus excited at firse but den I had tuh remember my heart!! I thought, ‘age is jus a number’?!! Well, how den yuh does explain dese indiscriminate aches an pains which sometimes I does get bout my body fuh no accountable reason at all, which I din used to get when I was young, if ‘age is just a numba’!! Lord!! I thought, well, thank yuh hear girl?! Thanks but I gun c yuh!! I caan cope wid dem young tings, man!! If only they knew!!

Steupse!!

She was jus as beautiful as Rihanna!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Have n’t been there for a while, might go back an c if she’s still working there!! She’ll b a little older now!! Drat! Just remembered that, so will I!!

Laaaaaaadddddddddddddd!!

19. “To reiterate, we wish Rihanna well. The issue is whether her title Ambassador of Youth Affairs and Culture should be withdrawn”

I believe in keeping things separate.

I don’t think that the title ambassador should have been attached to her anyway.

Maybe we should find another title for artistic types.

When we think Ambassador we think big guts man in a suit (except for Peter Laurie nice!!!!!!)

Find another title for artistic types and keep the Ambassador title for political types and for high ranking civil servant types.

But she is a St. John girl and the DLP is in office so what can I say?

20. Does this idiot think I could have said all that (immediately prior to his post) in just one post?!! Did he complain when LIB was boring the *hite out of us day after day wiv his interminable, drivel! Is a blog intended to discourage posts or encourage them!! When Dave first started this blog he was probably dying for anybody to post anything, jus to get it going! What a miserable little ****er!! If u don’t want to read my posts well just scroll past them yuh **nt!! Where do we get these idiots from!! And, finally, **nt-face, although I don’t know why I should bother explaining to u – mus b because ur a daft bas***d – because of the time difference between us there will be occasional post bottle-necks because when I’m posting Bajans r sleeping and vice versa! Now, I done talkin to a cretin!! Bye!!

21. Rodrigo del Caribe Avatar
    Rodrigo del Caribe

Good Morning Bonny Peppa,
    Send me your E-mail address. Mine is . Everybody on this blog feel free to discuss with me.
    I am the most un-complicated person in our Wider Caribbean !

22. Rodrigo del Caribe Avatar
    Rodrigo del Caribe

Bonny Peppa,
    I am not sure that my E-mail address is published in my previous message.

23. @Bimbro

There is merit in the feedback from mash up. If you feel you have to post many comments an easy solution is to staged them, i.e. at intervals of 30 minutes for example. We are all adults let us cooperate so that we all can enjoy the blogging experience.

@Sherri

There has been a lot of negative feedback about the Crop Over and wukkin up business. Our previous comment stands, although we have individual standards at the societal level there will allows be some conflict between the different bodies of value systems.

24. Rihanna has to make as much money as she can now and if it means showing off some skin, then she’ll do it. I think she realizes that she really cannot sing but the rest of her package is saleable and she can make millions in concessions. She should invest some of her millions in voice lessions if she really wants to continue singing.

The youth of Barbados have been taking off their clothes long before we ever heard of Rihanna. Just take a look around you and at the club scence especially….the young girls look like hookers. They feel that’s how they need to dress in order to get a man…..sad but true. Rihanna’s cover shot on Vogue is just confirming the mental psyche of the young Bajan culture.

Rihanna is lucky to have a Grammy awarded to her. Had she had any real contenders that year, she would not have won a Grammy. I think she would do well singing duets with successful male R&B/Rap singers whereby she only needs to put in a few jerky/achy/cryee sounds to have her name on the tune. Acutally I think her voice is perfect for Country & Western Music where those artistes, male or female, always seem to be moaning and crying about something. That said, unless she improves her music, she’ll never win another Grammy. I’m not being mean because I would love to see her continue in a successful “MUSIC” career. I’m just calling it as I see it.

That said, all the best to Rihanna in her career.

25. Ok Dave, there is n’t any merit in what I say. I wonder if that’s because I’m not Bajan! Ok, I’ll put my thought processes on hold for half an hour!!

Steupse!!

26. Dave, ‘sorry’, my brain is n’t half-dead like some other bloggers’ here!!

27. Let me say first off that I’m not a fan of Rihanna. In my opinion music today is more about how you look than whether or not you can sing. However, why should we care what Rihanna does. Young people should not be looking to anyone for inspiration but rather look inwards. All you’ll ever need is there. In the words of the song “The greatest love of all” learning to love yourself is the greatest love of all. I’ve never looked up to anyone.

28. @ Sungoddess. Read the contributions in this space carefully. Do you honestly think that some commentators actually know who Gaugin is? Or what a fatwa is? Well thought out, open minded commentary like yours deserves a far more worthy forum. Do not swim in the sludge that settles at the bottom of the River of Intellect. I implore you. Do not cast your pearls before swine.

29. Ha haaaaaaaa, Miss Lou you are a woman who truly sees it as it is.

30. Eminent French Sociologist and avant provocateur Jean Baudrillard sums it up rather succinctly in his book on “America” –

“Astral America. The lyrical nature of pure circulation…The direct star-blast from vectors and signals, from the vertical and the spatial. As against the fevered distance of the cultural gaze.”

“Joy in the collapse of metaphor…The exhilaration of obscenity, the obscenity of obviousness, the obviousness of power, the power of simulation. As against our disappointed virginity, our chasms of affection.”

“Sideration. Star-blasted, horizontally by the car, altitudinally by the plane, electronically by the television, geologically by deserts, stereolithically by the megalopoloi, transpolitically by the power game, the power museum that America has become for the whole world.”

“Ravishing hyperrealism, ecstatic asceticism, multi-process tracking shot, interactive multi-dimensionality, mind-blowing…”

“Its definition is absolute, its frontier initiatory, its ridges steep, its contours cruel. It is a place of signs of an imperious necessity, an ineluctable necessity – but void of all meaning, arbitrary and inhuman, and one crosses it without deciphering them. Irrevocable transparency…”

This is the world of America Rihanna is caught up in sadly – let’s hope it does not end in tears as the lives of so many celebrities does…

Maybe, the good ‘ole-fashion Bajan upbringing will ultimately prevail…

31. Ebenezer/pied piper/miss lou/living in barbados/rickey george.

They all or that person got the hots for BU.

As Michale Jackson used to sing:

“Never can say goodbye,no,no.no.”

32. Tammie,

I thnk you’ve been entrapted by MJ’s ultra-tight public relations machinery(when he was alive).
    You present the man as “a saint”

To the cantrary; he was a very sick man(mentally and physically).

About “not been convicted in a court of law”, is very true; but that may have more to do with the power of money and the ability to hire top-flight lawyers.

By the way, MJ didn’t even have much use for his own race.

33. Miss Lou

Did you have to read all the submissions to come to that conclusion? There all kinds of people who write on these pages and then there are the snobs who look down their noses with their apparent belief in their intellectual superiority to offer unwanted criticism.

You left out one thing, you should have pointed us to the fount of great cerebral wisdom so that you and your kind can repair there to exchange your pearls of wisdom and revel in the thought that you are better than us.

Miss Lou a perfect example of โ€œpoor greatโ€.

34. Miss Lou // September 5, 2009 at 2:58 PM

@ Sungoddess. Read the contributions in this space carefully. Do you honestly think that some commentators actually know who Gaugin is? Or what a fatwa is? Well thought out, open minded commentary like yours deserves a far more worthy forum. Do not swim in the sludge that settles at the bottom of the River of Intellect. I implore you. Do not cast your pearls before swine.

@ Miss Lou,

Now how do you expect us hydra, and amoebae, that live in the sludge at the bottom of the River of Intellect to know dick about Gaughin, Renoir, van Rijn, Vermeer, and all them other fancy foreign names like that.

What you doing hanging about round here. Nobody tell you that sludge does stink and stick to your body. You not afraid you get contaminated? cheupse

35. Thanks Pat. I bet they all read the ‘sludge’ though! Arrogant, I won’t say whats!! At least I’m not a typical ‘boring-ass’ Bajan, like so many that u find on here but have a bit of life and imagination!! After 180 something posts, don’t they think we’ve said as much as we possibly can say about Ri’s silly, little pics! I don’t even bother to read most of the drivel published by those freaks!!

36. Bimbro wrote on September 5th at 7:40 a.m. “[Did this] idiot complain when LIB was boring the *hite out of us day after day wiv his interminable, drivel!”

I second that.

37. Hey Bimbro I dont know why my post aint show up…they must not like what I say.

@Sherri

Please repost your comment because it did not go to spam!

38. Pat,
    Ms. Lou is one of those people who tries to belittle others, dont have a pot to pee in nor a window to throw it out tah. She tries to sound intellectual…I have come to the conclusion that she read a book or two but didn’t get the degree. Obvisouly the disease bacteria on the bottom is quite aware of where to feed so it knows where to find the sludge.

39. Thanks david, good looking out.

40. Miss Lou, I hope ur enjoying flattering yourself. I grew up in Europe and have lived in Gaugin’s country of birth, have lived among muslims for ages and don’t know who Gaugin was or the meaning of a fatwa?!! LOL!!

Flatter yuhself, idiot!! if that’s what makes u happy!! I would expect u know all about swine, cause ur the shit which normally, follows them!!

Thank you, J!!

That’s ok, Sherri. I look forward to reading it, eventually!!

“I have come to the conclusion that she read a book or two but didnโ€™t get the degree. Obvisouly the disease bacteria on the bottom is quite aware of where to feed so it knows where to find the sludge.”

LOL!! Could n’t agree with u more, Sherri, ‘specially about the bacteria!!

LOL!!

41. Hey B,

I had to let Miss Lou know only the ones at the ones thats always on the bottom knows that there is sludge there….She would never sit on a panel to decide a fatwa anyway cuz her ass aint that damn intelligent plus she a woman so that will never happen. Please people like that dont have no self esteem. She couldnt debate my son’s former high school team.

42. ANNONYMOUSON SEPT11TH,YOU SAID SHE WAS A POOR INNOCENT GIRL GOING TO U.S.A PLEASE SHE WAS A CALL GIRL @ A LOT OF THESE HOTELS @ NIGHT,THATS THE REASON SHE GOT HER BREAK,SHE LOOKS LIKE A STAR-WARS FREAK,HER SINGING CAREER IS HITTING BOTTOM,SHE WILL SELF DESTRUCT SOON.CAN ANYONE TELL ME WHY SHE HAS NEVER DONATED A CENT IN BARBADOS,WITH SO MANY KIDS REQUESTING DONATIONS FOR OPERATIONS,SHE USE BDOS AS A HIDEOUT FROM THE PAPARAZZI.

43. RHIANNA HAS LOST IT,I GIVE HER 12MONTHS TO APEAR NUDE AGAIN THIS TIME FOR EVERYONE TO SEE.SHE HAS NO STANDARDS,SHE IS LIKE POOKA DONKEY

44. Sad but true.

I too heard that rhianna was not this innocent young missy when she left barbados,she was already living a very loose life style and her mother could not control her.

Like Bonny peppa says she is also very stuck-up which all those who come into contact with her can attest.

45. Hi Sherri, agree completely ’bout Lou!! Did u find ur missing post?!!

46. Ok Anonymous you said you heard…thats the problem hear say aint always the truth…I would not judge you and based your character on what people say about you that would be unfair to you. How does anyone know that she was a call girl unless you were one of her clients!!!! People please unless you was there and you slept with her then dont go by hear say. I could say Peter is a jerk but the time it get back to me i would have said Peter is a jerk and the cop want to question him for attempted murder…yall know how people twist things…thats how rumors are started. Unless you got facts its just a bunch of rumors.

47. Sherri

Anyone willing to drop their clothes as fast as Rhianna is,or as was pointed out in an earlier article,go up on the stage at Farley Hill with a micro mini and no panties and the like,is someone who is a hardened street girl.

Didn’t she say she likes the bad boys?

Well she got some of that and then some more in chris brown.

Rhianna will soon be yesterday day’s news and if she is not careful she will be the next britney spears the poster child for the vulgar and the immoral.

Incidentally,britney spears also runs around wearing short dresses and no panties and likes to occasionally flash at the photographers.

See where she ended up in a mental ward at the L.A. hospital for a couple of days.

When you loose,no matter how you pretty it up,it will all come out in the wash.

48. You keep saying she willing to drop her clothes fast…one photo shoot does not make her a slut…please, people pose nude all the time for art classes and everything else in between…just because someone dont live by your standards dont mean they immoral. Shooks I dont like panties either and dread wearing them…so if I go without them for one day does that make me a slut…no it means i just didnt want to wear them that day…stop beating down that girls character. People say Beyonce wasnt gonna last when Destiny child broke up and she prove them wrong. Give the girl a break she 21…did you do everything your momma told you not to as a teenager? cuz i damn sure didnt and I turn out pretty damn good.

49. I am going to eat my sunday lunch.

Rhianna not on my mind right now.

50. Enjoy your lunch cuz we could talk about this all day and would never agree. But we still can agree to disagree.