Rihanna poses topless in Italian Vogue

Let us be clear, BU wishes Rihanna well in her chosen career. She has done well if we measure success by the penetration she has made in the world of pop. The BU household has watched her progression with admiration and interest. The recognition which Rihanna has brought to Barbados was rewarded by the government of Barbados last year. After the material possessions were received,  she was given the official papers to be Ambassador for Youth and Culture.

In light of her recent indiscretions and now her topless pose in Vogue Magazine, the question asked by BU and others remains. Should the government of Barbados ask Rihanna to quietly relinquish the post of Ambassador for Youth and Culture? Perhaps given her schooling at the Waterford University she should have the awareness to not wait to be asked.

Since the Chris Brown incident it seems Rihanna has been on a hunt for publicity by any means necessary. We understand these PR stunts all do wonder for her career but what does it do for her image in the eyes of young Barbadians who currently worship her? Rihanna finds herself in a position where she can trod the worn trail or she could use a hoe to chop a new path. She now has the popularity which equips he to  make a positive difference. It seems she is allowing the American pop culture to quickly reel her in.

It is interesting even as we talk of Rihanna’s meteoric rise in the world of pop tongues are wagging about the dizzying spiral which Michael Jackson the King of Pop suffered. He operated in the world of glitz and glamour which is attached to the unavoidable dark side of drugs and stupidity.  Does anyone really think that Michael Jackson died from a few recent injections of benzodiazepines and a reduced dose of propofol? Or was his death secondary to long term use of drugs?

How much of the full or true pathology reported has been released? We have heard about toxicology? Was his heart and kidneys and liver functioning properly in the light of decades of drug abuse? What if…..?

There is a lot Rihanna can learn from how the King of Pop died. Many of us still remember the innocent looking little boy from the Jackson 5 fame. Over the years as he was reeled into the culture of pop his innocence faded and he became what?

Rihanna we wished you well but we urge you to consider relinquishing the title of Ambassador of Youth and Culture.

275 responses to “The Rise And Fall Of A Star”

1. Lmao..ok Bimbro its back to the drawing board fah you…dah approach aint working either…u gine get major attitude wit dah question….u gotta get modern day and leave de 80s in de past.

2. You woulda have to use your intellect with me. Sorry B

But Sherri, I did use my intellect with Ri and she agreed to go to The Roxy with me!! The Bajan girls jus seem too hard altogether! It’s a wonder they find guys to marry them and, then, do the marriages last, anyway!!

3. Well S, it’s looking like I gun has tuh stay hay in ole Inglan an perhaps, marry some white chick who my heart in really into at all! Went out dis mornin an could n’t even c one single looking nice black chick, at all! A complete waise uh time! Will try again in a few days!! Way all d nice black chicks gone!!

4. First of all you that convo that you had wit her was way to easy and she gave in really easy…sorry you gotta work harder than that with these you young females it woulda go a lil something like this.

You: Hey how you doing?
    YF: Who u talking to?
    You: I was saying hi to you
    YF: You doan know me
    You: I dont have to know you to say hi
    YF : Yes the hell u do
    You: Are you married
    YF: You gotta job
    You: Yeah I gotta job
    YF: where you work
    You tell her where you work
    YF; Dah job doan pay enough tah tek care ah you..how you expect tah tek care ah me…
    You: who said i was taking care of you
    YF: Well why the hell are you wasting my time…there goes ur ego….

You get my drift..

5. First on all you looking in all de wrong damn places…u aint looking fah love…u looking fah lust and thinking its love…u gotta let it come to u

6. lol!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sheri, thanks so much fuh dat invaluable script dear!! I gun print it out an try and lern it by heart tonite so I can try it d nex time I come to Bim!!

lol!! D Bajan girls hard boy!!

So, it’s really money they’re after!! How sad!! Why can’t they just be satisfied with my wonderful personality and hope the money will come along later!! They’re so mean!!

So, in other words, uv got to have a ‘big’ job to get d girls!! Well, I’m sorry for a lot of the ordinary Bajan guys over day!! I doan know what they gun do!!

Anyway, I’ll just keep practising fuh when I meet my Ri and, just hope for d best!!

Thanks anyway!!

S, I been waiting fuh dum to ‘come to me’ for years an they have n’t done so yet, so, I dunno!! An, doan mention church please!! I in nuh Sunday-school, sweet, lil-boy, at all!!

7. Eddie,

I differ with that. “THOSE VARIOUS THINGS WERE NOT PROVEN FACTS” You cannot prove anything and the courts have not proved anything against MJ. After his death one of the alleged victims came out and let us know that his dad made him lie. I was looking for the US media to take it and run with it but not a surprise….when you are down some people try to keep you there.

We all will never understand what MJ had to go through. Just imagine Eddie being a nice person but you are doing it in a way that the majority do not comform too. (Remember some of us are non-comformers for whatever reasons) The average thinker will see you as weird a nerd etc but that does not make you a bad person. Can you imagine your acts af kindness being twisted…if you know to yourself that you are honest can you imagine the hurt you will have to live with. It happens everyday to people we know and to us. Some can deal with it and others cannot.

MJ put himself out there too much..trusting people. Most people in his arena does not make themselves that open to others but he wanted to be him. Nobody want to talk about all the good that he has done they just want to talk about what was not proven

Why do we always like to surround ourselves with negativity about others????

Fact: Some hurt MJ and as a result he hurt himself..I have my facts together. I think we need another site to talk about MJ…we are raining on Rihanna’s parade……

8. Lol!!!!! Bimbro I dont live in bim but im there at least once a month. Its just so funny to see and not all the young ladies are that way…there are plenty that are doing it for themselves but there are alot that need dah ass cutting.

9. Tammie, eddie might have forgotten that MJ was working and taking care of ppl since he was 5…he didnt have a childhood…please put the average joe in his shoes and we probably would be in a mental institution…ppl love to talk about he caused his own demised…none of us started working as a child….when the hell did he get a chance to enjoy his childhood…he was a grown man with a child’s mind. That would happen if you are deprived a childhood normal or otherwise.

10. Thanks Sherri, I’ll bear that in mind dear!! Once a month!! That’s frequent man!! u obviously don’t live in the UK!!

11. Lol no im in the US and yes im there at least once a month…its nice to get away when its cold.

12. So, Sherri, tell me dear. Just how little does it cost to fly to Bim from say, N.York!! From the UK, ur probably talking about £500 for a return ticket, or in that region – about $800US! I suspect it costs u much less and then the Bajees wonder why ur more frequent visitors than we are!!

13. LOL….I go with my job sometimes and other times I go on my own.

14. It’s beginning to get chilly here alredy and, it’s only the beginning of September!! I’m not happy at all!! – especially in the evenings!!

Somebody said to me it gets cold in Bim at night!! lol!! I could n’t help laughing!! They don’t know what cold is!! In fact, even over here, it’s never cold these days, compared wth when we first came over! However, I’ve sometimes seen shots of the ice-storms u can get in the States and, at times like those, I does b glad as *hite dat I live in Blighty an not d US, boa!! I in intrested in dah kinda cold, anymore!!

15. lol lol lol lol lol lol u too funny…yeah daz de kinda cold that even de polar bears dont like….Im a tropical so im not trying to swim in these artic waters and in de winter times i does go twice a month

16. Twice a month!! My god!! So, what kind of price do u pay then, S! I might have to relocate to NY if only fuh dah reason!!

17. lmao lmao lmao lmao lmao…im usually part of the flight crew…

18. Steupse!! and now yuh tells me!!

lol!! nuh wonda!! S, ur a lucky girl but, in any event, how much does it typically, cost from NY to Bim!!

19. Also, S, u had any really frightening experiences up there?!! – in the air?!!

20. lmao lmao lmao lmao lmao…im not sure havent bought a ticket in ages…but Jetblue starts a route to Bim from JFK and they had a special with ticket starting at $99…

21. Nah most of my flights go pretty smooth

22. $99?!! Gees!! dat’s pocket-money to us, in Blighty! Better not tell my children – they’ll all want to move to NY fuh d cheap flights to Bim an lef me here on my own!! No boa, gun keep dat one tuh myself!!

Ok, Sherri, betta let yuh go I guess!! Thanks fuh all d advice an info an yuh can tell us about any frightening experiences yuh had. I’ll read them a bit later. Got to res my head now!!

Regards to you and the family!

23. I’m an English gentleman so I doan know how tuh chat-up d Bajan girls!!

Lord a mercy!! 🙂

24. lmao lmao lmao lmao ok B…what time is it there??

25. Finally, S, before I go – how long does the flight take from NY to Bim. U doubtless know it’s an 8-9 hrs flight from London!!

26. Its a 5 1/2 hr flight

27. S, it’s 20.30 but I’ve had a tiring day. Will get up in an hour or two and watch the box, a bit!!

28. That’s not too bad S! The thought of 8-9 hrs in a plane just makes me sick!! doing wuh?!! Steupse!! Still, it doan seem to bodda my children!! I caan onstan!!

29. what you do all day that u sah tired??? u meet bonny at de train station?? lmao

30. I understand i fly and 8 or 9 hrs on a plane is a bit much

31. S, behave yuhself!! I think Bon may be in NY!! Not sure!! c yuh later!!

32. No Rihanna-type girlfriend, at the moment, S!! That’s my main problem!!

Laaaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!

33. Lol lol lol lol ok take care

34. What is a Rhinna type girlfriend u must be a multi millionaire

35. Sherri,

You could not have put it better. Well said, I was beating around the bush trying to be diplomatic.

MJ life was not the so call normal kids life. We can see the extreme that he went to to be a kid. Neverland…that place speaks for itself and take it from someone who has been there.

When I even reflect on my life there are things that I miss out as a kid and I am so happy I have kids so that I can act like one. Therefore I can relate in some aspects.

For me the coolest thing is to be a kid. I am a big kid. When my coworkers found out my age they almost had babies immediately. When we are kids we want to grow up and be big man and woman but I stress to my daughter (7 years) to be a kid as long as she wants to be.

Peace

36. LOL, Tammie yeah you were trying to be diplomatic but sometimes you have to say it the way its meant to be. When my son was 15 people always said he needed to get a job, I told them the law requires me to take care of him till hes 18 and thats what i’m doing. I have a job so he doesnt need one. His chores around the house are more than enough. My child will enjoy his childhood until he reaches the age of majority which happens to be 18 in this country.

37. Bimbro
    You doing de ‘dog’ wid dis Sherri person n ‘dissin’ me real serious. Ya too new-face-ted.
    I kno dat de ‘train’ ting wooda ketch you eye. My 2006 champagne toyota corolla wid 17″ rims n tyres is my train.
    Tek dah. ‘Cording to Rihanna, ‘shut up n drive, drive, driveeeeeeeeeee.
    Sherri puttin me n you in a room but she got ta be part a de act too. Wah u tink? Surprisingly, she don’t ondastan what it means to ‘woo’ a lady. sighhhhh.
    I have a friend who is employed at AA and he travels the world too F.O.C but on ‘stand-by’.
    From here to Germany is about 13hrs. Bim direct. On return it refuels in Tobago, I think. Talk ’bout boring. Oh shyteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. And you’re served every 3 secs. by de stewardesses. Doan ask me wah da serve, cause I haven’t a clue. I eat, it stan down , it good to eat. My feelings.
    Why I feel dat my brother mad? Because after being around un-mad people, you know de difference. The talk, actions, the behaviour in general.How you know when a person is drunk? Aw-rite den.
    Ga long an try ta woo Sherri. Ya tricksta.

38. Bonny , wha I got tah do wit anything…lol ..Bimbro sah he was tired so I ask if he was meeting you at de train station…hahahahha…sorry dear Im married tah de local undertaker, so dah room thing aint gonna work unless we all see coffins we like and I ent see one I like yet….I know wha it mean to woo a lady I dah just messing wit B. hahahhahhahah Bonny why you do B like that?? Sorry dear he caan woo me cuz iz a package deal wit a husband and a child. So he gotta set he sights pun another young ting.

39. @Sherri

Barbadians have to ask themselves what type of society do we want to
    build. As we become more cosmopolitan and pluralistic the question
    assumes greater importance.

What mirror image do we have of ourselves? Are we happen to surrender
    to the invasion of all that happens outside our border?

40. David for one thing you can only control what goes on in David’s world. You cant build a soceity on hypocrital views..you have to accept the good with the bad and work to better yourself and those around you. What you might view as unacceptable, I might view as acceptable. Its not your place to judge anyone. Its my right as individual to be who I want to be not who you think Im suppose to be. I dont conform to anyone point of views or beliefs. Im responsible for my own happiness, and please dont tell me about surrendering to anything with the technology of today the outsider world is busting in your lil border.

41. @Sherri
    We are all different and have different standards and the like. Remember also at the level of society we have always lived by standards, mores, conventions etc which spawns society. It is a dynamic process and will move, evolve from time to time. Isn’t what this discussion is about?

42. Yeah but by whose standards??? I agree with some of what your saying, but whose standards am I suppose to live by. The Barbadian soceity has always been a conservative one, but whose to say that thats the right one…times have changed…this is not the 1960s people express their view in many different ways. Rihanna exposing her boobs aint no different than the women at crop over exposing theirs…why is it acceptable for them but not for her…thats a double standard and it shouldnt be

43. Sheri,
    To compare women exposed at Crop Over to Rihanna exposed for all to see is like according to someone earlier, comparing apples and oranges. Rihanna was made famous through her singing, that is what we know her for not ‘bare it all for whosoeverwill’. If you see any of these Crop Over ‘nudist’ walking down Nostrand tomorrow can you identify with any of them? And the answer is NO.
    Times may change yes, but morals will NEVER change baby.
    All we’re doing is trying to protect this young girl from herself and to remind her that money can only buy SOME things. There’s no need to sell herself short.

On a lighter note, don’t get in between me and my man Bimbro, you would get squeeze Sweet Poo.
    (I just teasing too).

44. Bonny she didnt bare it all so you see her breast big deal…Like I said whose moral are you talking about?? you have different moral than I do..whose to say your morals are right and mine are wrong or visea versa…you cant tell me that because you dress conservation and I dress sexy that your morals are better…One religions think that there morals are better than the other….so who morals or standards am I to live by. I probably will never see it yours or Davids way because living with an undertaker makes me live life to the fullest and I am sure gonna enjoy it and do me and Im not gonna care what no damn body say.

Now y u being hard on Bimbro..left he…ya aint hear he say he looking fah a Rihanna replica. lol

45. Sherri
    We will go around in circles on this one, so let’s just agree to disagree, shake hands and remain friends.

By the way, welcome to BU.

An undertaker is like any other man I guess. Living with him should be no different. We should try to live life to the fullest regardless to who we’re living with. It’s just a thin line between life and death. One never knows when it’s our last breath. A 22yr. old friend of mine just had a stroke three days ago. She hospitalised as you could imagine. Her right side is affected. Hope she’ll pull through. Years ago we would never associate such with a person of that age. Life is delicate, so enjoy but you don’t have to be rediculous to have a good time.

Bimbro looking for a Rihanna replica to sing for him. Not a thing more. He isn’t able and he knows it. A lot of ‘lip’service.

Hi Bimbro hunny, wake up and p.

46. I said that I live wit the undertaker because I have seen one too many dead bodies in my life. yeah he might be just another man but hes always the last one to untie your shoes. People dont often live life to the fullest they worry about the simplest thing in life. Now i got that off my chest…woooo that feels better…I hope your friend pulls thru…dag ur right at 22 with a stroke is kinda unheard of. I’ll keep her in my prayers.

Im laughing at you telling bimbro to wake up and pee aint it like 4 am there.

47. Sherri
    I envy you because I love to see dead people and the most gory accidents with bodies badly mutilated is right up my street. I love it. A friend of mine owned a funeral home here and it was always my pleasure to go and shout him and take a peek in the ‘freezer’. In my work, I’ve seen more than my share of ‘deads’ too. I work with the ‘old-folks’. Love them to death. Lot of fun but you have to be very patient and tolerant with them.Especially the alzheimers sufferers. Been doing it all me life gal.
    I’ve visited NY on many ocassions. Long Island to be exact. You live in NY right? Hope I’m not too nosey.

If I don’t wake Bimbro, he would p his bed, that is why.

Bim,
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

48. Lmao Lmao Lmao Lmao ILk you like looking at dead folk…omg I am mad when my husband ask me to work with at the FH..I been with him 25 yrs and still cant get use to that business…I live in jersey…I dont have that nursing thing in me..couldnt do it at all..

You and Bimbro does have me cracking up..yall two too funny

49. Rihanna is an entertainer, not a pastor or priest or anyone we should be looking to for moral guidance. The music business has now become the business of music, so that an image is more important than talent. If Rihanna looked like a choir girl why the hell would anyone buy her record. It’s the nature of the entertainment industry so these pics come as no surprise. Rihanna has accomplished quite a bit and Bajans should be proud of her achievements. If Bajans want a role model, seeing that Barbados is one of the most “Godly” countries, a typical church girl would suffice.

On the whole issue of morals, morals just like religion are in constant flux. Quite simply, our notions of what is socially acceptable are transient. If our grandparents saw people wukking up on each other half naked in a state intoxication, they would say we need the lord. Today it is seen as part of our culture and endorsed by a ministry within government.

50. To reiterate, we wish Rihanna well. The issue is whether her title Ambassador of Youth Affairs and Culture should be withdrawn.