Rihanna poses topless in Italian Vogue

Let us be clear, BU wishes Rihanna well in her chosen career. She has done well if we measure success by the penetration she has made in the world of pop. The BU household has watched her progression with admiration and interest. The recognition which Rihanna has brought to Barbados was rewarded by the government of Barbados last year. After the material possessions were received,  she was given the official papers to be Ambassador for Youth and Culture.

In light of her recent indiscretions and now her topless pose in Vogue Magazine, the question asked by BU and others remains. Should the government of Barbados ask Rihanna to quietly relinquish the post of Ambassador for Youth and Culture? Perhaps given her schooling at the Waterford University she should have the awareness to not wait to be asked.

Since the Chris Brown incident it seems Rihanna has been on a hunt for publicity by any means necessary. We understand these PR stunts all do wonder for her career but what does it do for her image in the eyes of young Barbadians who currently worship her? Rihanna finds herself in a position where she can trod the worn trail or she could use a hoe to chop a new path. She now has the popularity which equips he to  make a positive difference. It seems she is allowing the American pop culture to quickly reel her in.

It is interesting even as we talk of Rihanna’s meteoric rise in the world of pop tongues are wagging about the dizzying spiral which Michael Jackson the King of Pop suffered. He operated in the world of glitz and glamour which is attached to the unavoidable dark side of drugs and stupidity.  Does anyone really think that Michael Jackson died from a few recent injections of benzodiazepines and a reduced dose of propofol? Or was his death secondary to long term use of drugs?

How much of the full or true pathology reported has been released? We have heard about toxicology? Was his heart and kidneys and liver functioning properly in the light of decades of drug abuse? What if…..?

There is a lot Rihanna can learn from how the King of Pop died. Many of us still remember the innocent looking little boy from the Jackson 5 fame. Over the years as he was reeled into the culture of pop his innocence faded and he became what?

Rihanna we wished you well but we urge you to consider relinquishing the title of Ambassador of Youth and Culture.

275 responses to “The Rise And Fall Of A Star”

1. Predictable an so it was.

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

She looks like a young Grace Jones in this shot.

3. Rihanna

Go.! As a woman your shelf life in show business is very short so take adventage of it while you’re still HOT and make sure that you invest your money well. You should make friends with Venus’s and Serena’s father, he’s a top drawer adviser.

4. She looks like a dominatrix. Bring on the porn movies, lol!

5. I think she looks fantastic! Unless she goes the route of Lindsay Lohan with booze and drugs, I personally think she’s doing what a lot of women her age get to do in private: mature through baptism of fire. Trying to say she needs to resign as a Youth Ambassador, is kinda hilarious, cause you know it’s a largely empty-title they use when they trot her out for ‘special events’. Lord, how much of this has to do with a misplaced sense of morality? I see the photo as art, it just happens to have Rhianna in it.

6. Slut,slut,slut!

No class at all.

She is making more money than her guyanese mother could ever imagine,so why try to reign her in.

The lewder the poto shoot, the more money it seems.

Rhianna is finished as a top draw star.

So the vultures are circling to get their last pound of flesh before she is discarded.

Her managers that white man with the bajan wife and Jay-zee and the other promoters are really taking advantage of a very misguided young woman,and her stupid mother is so dumb she seems more concerned about money than anything else.

7. @Anonymous She’s a slut cause you can see her tits? I can understand your comments about her managers, and the vultures and what not. But why is she a slut?

8. And what does her mother being Guyanese have to do with anything? Is that some of that GT talk?

9. This pic gine kill Bimbro fa sure!!

10. Jeesas get off Rihanna’s back.
    What have you losers done for Barbados lately?
    Make your money now you are young and beautiful, honey.
    Stay focussed Rihanna the vultures circling once more.

11. Sungoddess

I feel so bad for rhianna,I can almost cry.

What self respecting mother will send an naive,innocent young school child to persons they have just met and know only what those people tell them about themselves?

At no time does rhianna’s mother step in and demand that certain things she will not counternance.

Remember Rhianna was still a minor when her mother sent her out to the big,bad USA all on her very own,without any chaperone.

Even americans born in that fast paced,depraved society and who are a lot more street savvy, get eaten up for lunch,so what about this naive little small island girl?

12. Somebody wake up Bimbro quick!!!

13. Its not so much whether she takes her clothes off, she is a adult after all.

I just hope that she is keeping her head on.

And keeping a sharp eye (and her hands) on her earnings.

Because the world is full of thieves, tricksters, and con-men looking to make a quick buck offa others.

14. For a while I’ve been saying that the Barbados Government needs to take that Youth ands Cultural ambassador title from her,wish her well and probably use her in promotions. However, she is a bad influence of young bajan girls. Let’s be real; as ambassador is she promoting bajan young girls walking topless? Is this the Culture of bajan girls to go topless? Then how can she be their ambassador?
    Go enjoy your life but don’t do it at the expense of bajans and bajan youth especially.

15. She is an adult and has the right to do what she wants, nobody should dispute her right to do so. The fact she is accorded the title of Ambassador of Youth and Culture and carries a diplomatic passport makes her loose behaviour an issue for Barbados. How does Prime Minister Thompson reconcile his inauguration at Kensington with what Rihanna’s behaviour?

16. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

Go Rihanna!!!!

I think this article is a sign of a generation gap. You are unlikely to find any of our young pop stars (now we have several) who will fit the mould of what traditional Bajan behaviour is thought to be.

As far as the “fall” of a pop star Rihanna has already beat the odds on her career. The vast majority of artists have one hit and then fade into obscurity. Rihanna has had three solid albums and is working on a fourth. She has proven herself as a bankable star with guest appearances in number one tracks by TI and JZ amongst others. She has a modeling contract with Cover Girl and Gucci some of the most sought after names in the fashion world. In what way is this a star on the decline?

As for showing no class she has set up the Believe Foundation to help terminally ill children, has been involved in Fashion Against AIDS, Stand Up Against Cancer, The United Nations Childrens Fund and many other charities.

She has involved herself in promoting Barbados even when the papers are giving her crap here. To put this in perspective, before Rihanna there were many places in the world (including in the US and other major tourism markets) who had never even heard of Barbados, you can be damn sure they have heard of it now.

One day her star will fade but for as long as it lasts I hope she goes out there and lives life to it’s fullest.

As far as Anonymous at 7.38 is concerned I’m sure he was saying that from back in the “Pon De Replay” days.

It sickens me that some Bajans cannot see beyond their own narrow concepts of what the world is and support the only genuine global superstar to come out of Barbados.

BACK OFF!

17. David
    That’s what I mean, cut her loose, let her do her own thing but please not at the expense of the country. Is this the type of person Barbados wants walking around with a diplomatic passport? The problem, we are too quick to elevate these people to this status.

18. She was making her money singing the last time I checked, so why the need for all this nudity? She was always a pathetic lil bitch anyway. I know her and of her so don’t question me. OK?Ambassador, my big toe. She want a hard lash in she ass. Stupseeeeee.Ya got ta draw de line someway man, Cud Christ.
    CHris Brown hay pun Larry King expressing he luv fa she. Cah dear, poor soul. Bunch a farts de whole lot.

Bimbro you gun sure get a cardiac arresttt by dis time tamorr. I could just envisage all de ‘nasty’ tings you gun try ta do wid dis pic.
    Doan ‘blow-up’ de ol monitor Soul, all ya do.
    Tek dah.

19. notesfromthemargin
    If this is what the young generation of bajans want to protray to the world, then we have lost it BIGTIME. Where are the morals that Barbadians once held with pride? Maybe we should soon start seeing striptee billboards along the road. Barbados is falling headlong down a road of disaster.

20. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

Scout,

Get a grip.

You only look at the part of Rihanna’s actions that are debateable without giving her credit for her accomplishments.

As far as good Bajan values, she has developed a reputation of being one of the hardest working young stars in the music industry today. Do you give her credit for that? No you don’t like how she dresses or what she wears in a magazine photo shoot, so as far as you are concerned she is to be disowned totally.

stupse!

21. […] the original: Twitter Updates Share and […]

22. **Adviser to the President** Avatar
    **Adviser to the President**

Get used to a SUPERSTAR

Leave Rihanna alone

Barbados never had it so BIG

Get used to it
    and find something to do with your time people !

23. @NITM

The Rise (Rihanna) And Fall (Michael Jackson) Of A Star

24. The woman is an adult and is free to live her life without the condemnation of the guardians of Barbadian morality. As some of you fret and complain it seems she is laughing all the way to the bank or according to the attached report, at least to some luxurious accommodation.

http://x17online.com/celebrities/rihanna/x17_xclusive_rihannas_new_10_million_dream_home-08312009.php

25. BIMBRO sen’ me tah tell wanna dat he lef he mark .. in he shorts… Recoverin’ now..

AAAAAAAAAAAAGhhhhhhhhhh

26. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

my apologies but some things really get my blood hot and this is one of them. By the way as you have probably guessed by now I don’t support the notion that she should relinquish the title.

😀

M.

27. Sarge,
    We associate her with singing not an unscrupulous ‘bare it all’ super model. Dat’s the cruk of the matter. She was laughing her way to the bank then too.
    She does have a good body and skin tone but Lord mannnnnnnnnnnnnnn.
    She is leaving nothing for the imagination. Because she is in superstardom, she doesn’t have to be of superstardom.

28. Bonny Peppa // September 2, 2009 at 10:36 PM

BP you say you were leaving. Guh long nuh wid you dotish self, stupse.

29. I really don’t care about Rihanna but that is the behavior that is demanded of these female pop stars .I see exposed breasts in Barbados on the streets and in offices everyday. Therefore Barbadian women cannot criticize Rihanna. One little tap and most will fly out of those undersized Bras.

30. Rihanna, is not planning her career right.

If she doesn’t use wisedom, she will end up as a penniless has-been.

She should take a leaf out of top-drawing evergreen female stars of the past and present, who never stooped to “publicly” taking their clothes off.

Perhaps she can ask advice from such people as Dianne Warwick, Aretha Franklin, Gladis Knight, Barbara Streisand, Celine Dion………..

Rihanna;’s public relations ploy is cheap and short-term; it will not bolster her long term career.

31. Carson Cadogan,
    You’re right; she does look like a young Grace Jones.

I suspect that there is a sexual undercurrent subliminal message being sent.

32. If I was to meet something like that walkin down a dark and lonely Bajan country road at night , it would scare the s**te out uh me, I would tell you that. I would be runnin hard de other way an thinkin, “Lord haveth mercy, de Heartman like he got a wife.”

33. @David: “her loose behaviour an issue for Barbados”

Seriously? See, ‘loose’ would imply there is something wrong with her showing her body if she wants.

See, ‘loose’ would imply that she has to remain pure and virginal and untouchable and impeachable and impenetrable and without any imagination of her own, without any sense of her sexuality and the power she wields with it.

At her age, she is within her rights to begin to explore what it means to be a sexually active woman. I haven’t read or heard anything about her going from pillar to post in terms of her sexual activity, so even at 21, she is still rather mild compared to some of the brawl out skets that ride ‘these rolling fields and hills’, and that includes the high-class tramps in their big houses too.

So what precisely is your issue with her ‘loose’ behaviour. What is ‘loose’? I have no issue with the female breast. I have no issue with female form, nor in fact with the human form. I celebrate the beauty in humanity and cannot bring myself to hate on someone because they are bolder than I am, braver than I am, and willing to be the centre piece of someone’s art.

If she had been painted by Gaugin in the nude, would it still have been ‘loose’ behaviour? WHAT DAMN CENTURY ARE WE LIVING IN?

Are we so low-minded that we just want to take potshots at this girl for being beautiful, for being rich, from being largely above and beyond the pettiness and moralistic fatwa-committe just WAITING for her to fall.

Come on. So she showed her breasts in a gorgeous black and white photograph. How in the name of God is that going to damage the poor, fragile psyche of the Barbadian youth? Are you serious?

No matter how I try to allow for some of the negative comments I am reading here, it seems less to do with HER and HER life and HER body and some kind of claim that you, or Barbadians seem to have on her.

This is a woman in her early 20s, growing into her womanhood, and she deserves the right to make mistakes and BE human, and not be PURE and NICE for the masses. She can be whoever the hell she wants to be, and if people in Barbados have ‘issues’ do you really think it’s going to effect the course of her life much?

She MAY crash and burn, but she will have shot higher than any of the petty people I meet in this country DAILY. For that–and for being Combermerian–she will have my undying respect. So many people here limit themselves with small ideas, and tiny dreams, murdering their imagination and their humanity, their respect for women and the Black women in rum shops, in boys clubs, in church aisles, absorbed in the small doings of this incestuous society we live in.

I could NEVER feel sorry for her for escaping it. Moving so far beyond it, coming back to it is a relief from the extremity of her REAL life.

I feel bad because she is growing up under a merciless glare, and I cannot imagine what that must be like.

Barbados wants to impress me? Support her ass regardless… she is one of you, never mind her Guyanese mother. Bajans were in Guyana for generations doing their fair share of nonsense I am sure… this young woman is ONE of YOU.

Stop pulling her down because you can’t do what she is doing.

Do you have any idea how much strength it takes for her to get up every day and both face the weight of her celebrity and find a way to enjoy herself also? Say what you like, she has a steel in her none of you, or me for that matter can match. Think her not some frail weakling tossed and buffeted, she is undoubtedly in possession of backbone I hardly see around these parts.

Shame on you people. Love that girl, respect her, cause not one of you could do it and do it like her.

Lawd, lawd… I’m about to break out in Jill Scott’s “Hate on Me” on her behalf.

34. Listin, my girl is jes a modern young woman in a modern industry enjoying herself and has to act accordingly!!

Steupse!!

If she did n’t how long would her shelf-life b? If, the hugely talented Madonna can appear on stage showing virtually everything ‘sept she *anny den wha’s wrong wid my girl flashing a little flesh, too!! Listen, dat girl’s got more singing-talent in her little finger than any of u will ever have in this lifetime. I’m just waiting for my sweets to open her gills a little later this month and thill the life outa me again as she’s set to do at some event or udda. Jes lef my girl alone, man! She’s gorgeous, can sing like a messiah and, if I were 2o years younger might well b beating a path to her door!!

J, Gearbox and Bonny, thanks for ur concerns, souls but, I in do d very naughty things u suggested there, at all, bo, however, if I were 20 years younger, I might very well b tempted!! In addition to being an amazing singer, I also find her to be a ‘wicked’ temptress and seductress! I jus wish I could roll back d years!!

BAF, I think you’ll be surprised at my girl’s longevity! I seem to percieve dis girl’s talent more clearly than any of wunna! Listen, dis girl was born a diva, which she already is, and, effortlessly too!! Provided she can continue to receive the right songs she’s going to continue to make us all swoon, especially me, into her old age!! I’m almost tempted to buy another ticket to see her again, hay in London!! However, I have to find another young girl tuh tek-along wid me, jus to mek it look good!! If I caan find nuhbody else, I might have tuh call my daughter!!

Rihanna, doan listen to dem girl!! Jes open dose beautiful tonsils uh yours an let it all hang! Jes warn me firse, my darlin, cause I caan tek it! I jus caan tek it nuh mo! I now frighten to play yuh rekords!!

‘Please don’t stop the music’!!!! – wukking-up in hay!!

Laaaaaaaaaddddddddddddddddd!!

35. Grace, the Jamaican, of ‘pull-up to my bumper’!! Another diva but, my girl’s a diva in her own write!! an, doan need tuh mimic nunbody! Plus, she’s young, sensible, ‘wicked’ (a temptress) and baaaadddddddd!! Jus hit d microphone fuh me please, sweetie!!

36. She ‘tempts’ me!!

Laaadddddddddddddddddd!!

37. Did you see Beyonce doing that crap that rhianna is doing?

Do you see the image halle berry projects,is it this same crude behaviour like rhianna?

What is next a nude spread for playboy?

Won’t be surprised.

The truth is that rhianna does not having the greatest singing voice so her handlers are pushing the young sexy body thing,but the trouble is the audience she is catering to is the same one that better singers like beyonce and mary j blige and the rest are competing for,and that that tight,young body could only last for so long.

Would sexy body trump good singing voice then?

I believe once you take your self down that vulgar,tasteless road,some doors that were once opened to you will suddenly close,as these companies and associations are very stringent about the public image they craft and maintain.

38. Anon, who cares what the **** Beyonce’s doing or not doing!! She’s yesterday’s news!! Plus, who’s Halle Berry!!

LOL!!

Look, get wid it bro!! Rihanna’s what’s happening today, tomorrow and, always will be happening!! so, ud betta get used tuh it!! Talent will out!!

Meanwhile, I’d been thinking!! Suppose I had been 20 yrs younger and bumped into Ri, just what would I say to her?!! The problem is, I been away from home far too long to know wha d Bajee boys does say to d girls tuh woo them – can anybody help me out?!!

In my British-Bajan way I think my conversation might go something like dis!!:

Hello Ri, how yuh doing babe?

Ri – u talking tuh me?!!

Er, well yes, Ri, ’cause I doan see any udda drop-dead gorgeous, beauty roung hay, who can also sing like a devil!!

Ri – Ok, den, so wha it is yuh want!!

Me – Ri, your hand in marriage nuh, babe?!!

Ri- Me?!! U marry, me?!!

Me – well, yes, nuh babe!!

Ri – well some kinda miracle would have to happen fuh dah to happen!!

Me – well, Ri, yuh know babe, day say dat miracles do happen!!

Ri – Steupse!! Looka, tell me wuh yuh bizniss is an leh me get outa hay, do!!

Me – Ri, wha happen, r u in a hurry?!!

Ri – yes, I’m always in a hurry!! Did n’t u know I’m an international pop-star!!

Me – Ri, oh yes, oh shoot, I nearly forgot!! Am, wha yuh doing tonite?!!

Ri – wha I doing tonite? What’s dat tuh do wid u?!!

Me – come on nuh Ri man? Give a bro a chance!!

Ri – a chance? A chance to do wha?!!

Me – ok, Ri, look, can I tek u to ‘The Roxy’ tonite?!!

Ri – I doan know!! Who’s on?!!

Me – Red Plastic Bag!!

Ri – well, I know he and he is good!!

Me – well, den, can we say dat I’ll c yuh dare den?!!

Ri – well, I in suh sure but yuh’d betta give me yuh no., jus in case!!

Me – Ri, jus in case?!! how yuh mene jus in case! It mus eida b dat yuh going or yuh in going man!! wha yuh say!!

Ri – ok, den!! uh gun c yuh day!!

Me – at wha time, Ri?!

Ri – well, say ten o’clock!! An, yuh betta dress sharp!!

Me – but Ri, of course sweetness!! Fuh u, I’d do anyting!!

Ri – yuh’d betta!!

Me – ok, sweetniss, do I’ll c yuh dere den, ok?!!

Ri – ok, I’ll c yuh day!!

Me – an, Ri?

Ri – wha now?!!

Me – an, well, jus to roung tings off – how about a little peck nuh?!!

Ri – look!! U like u too fas fuh me!!

Me – ok, Ri. Fuhget it, I’ll c yuh tonite, hear?!!

Ri, ok, I’ll see yuh then!!

01.00 a.m. concert done an Ri’s delighted!

Me to Ri – oh, dat went well! had a great time?!!

Ri – yes, an thanks very much for taking me!!

Me – that’s ok sweets (giving her peck on cheek dis time)!!

Me – I brought along someting for yuh!! taking ring out of box!! and sliding it on her finger!!

Ri – I like that!! Very nice!!

Several months later – wedding, marriage an children on d way!! – I’m in paradise!!

Lord!!

Too good to hope for?!!

39. I have made a promise NEVER to blog on Rihanna again. As far as I’m concerned, she’s HISTORY. I wish her well but that is as far as it goes. To all those who don’t know, I was one of those persons who knew Rihanna when she was Robyn and I have defended her on many occasions. She has overstepped the crease and I disassociate myself from her and her nrw image. GOOD GIRL GONE BAD

40. Cheer up Scout!! Ur making us all depressed!! Do u want to be depressed!! I don’t!!

41. Star
    I is a star too, so keep quiet or else……..

Fair play
    Be that as it may, a lot of us not familiar with the young girls with their breast exposed but we’re all too familiar with Rihanna. That’s the difference.
    She’s selling herself short. She’s supposed to be a singer.Supposed to be.

Bimbro
    We all know dat Madonna is a joker. She loves attention and would go to any length to achieve it. Probably a low self-esteem.
    If you did ga ‘rong Rihanna wid dah lotta long shyte tawk, she woulda ‘buse you real stink Bim. She in gun be sa patient waitin fa you ta out-vite she. Get ta de point man n’real quick. So I sorry fa you 20years ago. Still keep hope alive doe. Widout hope whay wood we be nah.
    You mout mussy springing like a fountain evry time you look at she. Ya perv.

Green Monkey,
    Murdaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, ya bad.

42. Well thanks fuh d tips, Bonny. I did n’t know the young ladies r quite so fast these days. Well, I guess it’s just as well that I’m not 20 yrs younger! I don’t actually like these pics at all. Too dark and has she got wax on her skin? but, pics or no pics, for me, she’s still the most interesting, exciting and enjoyable music artist around, these days!!

43. Flaunting the flesh appears to be the fashion these days. Just about all the young women r doing it so, I guess she’s just following the fashion!!

44. Bonny, is Madonna also a ‘perv’ for having a boyfriend who’s 30 years her junior?!!

45. Bimbro,
    She as perv as one can get.She an dah boyfrien brek up I tink. He call she a old witch. Murdahhhhhhh.
    I hope dat J hear you say dat you doan like dese pics. I doan kno if she gun believe you but I don’t. You luv she any which way evva. Now dat’s tru love.
    Cordin to Green Monkey, if ya had ta meet she a dark nite looking like dis, ya would run. She look like Dracula in dis set-up. Good body doe. One I once had. Cuh dearrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

46. Bimbo,

Maddona is openly bisexual

47. **Adviser to the President** Avatar
    **Adviser to the President**

Foolishness

48. Hi Bon, no I’m really not keen on these. First, they’re so dark u can hardly make them out properly and her face does n’t even look like Rihanna’s! Lot uh foolishniss if yuh ask me but, presumably they paid her good money to tek dum so, I can onstan her doing so!! We don’t need these pics – don’t forget that just a few short months ago we saw those pics of her completely naked so, what can top that!! Well, I adore her voice and she’s got the looks so, why would n’t I wish I were 20 yrs younger!! Anyhow, as u said, there’s no guarantee she’d go for me so, I happy as I is!! 🙂

Eddie, r u sure about Madonna? Nothing would entirely surprise me about her but, as u know, she adopted some kids the other day and has some of her own so, is she still a perve?!! Slightly, difficult to believe!! She’another one – does n’t need to do all gyrating an everything else she does on stage. She’s an amazing singer and that’s all she needs to do but, takes it to excess!! No wonder she collapsed the other day!!

49. Bimbro,
    Yes, she look like a wax doll. Sumting fa de museum. But,’cording ta yu…….. she cah sing.

Eddie,
    Madonna is wah? You serius? Lord, life never ceases ta amaze. She chan mek up she mind who she want ta be wid so she chooses all two both? I sih. Crazy-ass peeple ’bout de place yah.

50. President,
    Pun top a foolishness an mo foolishness.

We greein or wah? Lemma kno.