Submitted by ROK

Above is a clip about Dr. Yosef Ben Jochannan’s perspective on the race card. Should we stop trying to be Rhodes Scholars? Hear who was John Rhodes. Also Dr. Ben spoke of our pregnant women being split open using horses so that the babies dropped out of their bellies.

My problem with those who would say that we are using this kind of information to spread hate should understand that these are facts. They are part of the historical record and if the white man did not inflict such atrocious acts on the black man, we would have nothing to talk about today. In the circumstances, the hate started with them. Yet our attempt to get it out of our psyche is being resisted by them. What does that tell you? It isn’t over yet!

Further, how we could be sure that they are still at it? The Rhodes Island Scholarship that has become so prestigious and that we line up to get, is named after a white man that massacred 50 million black people in South Africa according to Dr. Ben. His testimony is on the clip.

Dr. Ben is also insinuating that the first Jews were from Ethiopia and were black, so how come we associate Jews with a particular race of people? When we look at our economies for example, we see the damage that IMF did to those who accepted it and Barbados that did not, is doing far much better; although not the best.

HIV/AIDS and all the diseases that are targeting us were white man made. All the drugs that the big drug companies convincing us to fill our bodies with seems coincidental to the new wave of asthma, heart diseases, diabetes, etc. in our young children; would make it seem that the killings are still going on but in a different way.

The Rwanda genocide is a rather strange event. Even the Rwandans don’t seem to be able to understand what got into them to cause that slaughter. If this was sparked by the media, who authorised it? I am hoping that people watch the video and wake up. This is not a call to arms but a call for each black man and woman to do his/her duty to preserve our people. We are still under threat of extinction. Stop taking the drugs. Farmers need to start gathering their own seeds and we have to stop importing chicken eggs to be hatched.

We still have a lot going for us that we need to preserve. We still have our golden apples, sour-sop, mangoes, ackees (ginip), fat pork, guavas, dunks, sugar apples, yams, sweet potatoes, green peas, etc. but those crops like carrots, beets, lettuce, sweet peppers and the ones we get out of the supermarket that our farmers buy seeds to grow, we should try to get rid of them; purge the plants and start gathering the seeds and growing and developing a natural strain and ban the importation of seeds to corrupt our crops.

Apart from food security, we have to deal with health; those doctors with test kits need to stop buying them. Throw them through the door (gradually). We need to develop an herbal industry based on the herbs that grow naturally here. We need to look and see what is not yet corrupted and preserve them. It is one great conspiracy based on greed that started way back then. There are indicators to tell us that the conspiracy is still on. For example, the difficulty with black businesses getting loans from the banking system; the way the banks bounce checks and refuse to give businesses overdrafts; the suspicion with which the black man is viewed in general even by our own. Finally, the way our country is dictated to by the imperialists.

All of this is based on racism and unless we stand up against it, we will never be unshackled.

1. @Bonny Peppa

My darling sweet heart! Dr. Yosef Ben Jochannan told me that you must treat the woman you like to nuff dinners and the like for about two weeks. Each time you take her home you don’t kiss or make any advances. Then after that disappear and don’t call or do nothing.

He said that after a bit you will get a call saying, “wha happen, you ent score me for the last two weeks.” He said that when that happens you know you in business. He said that when that happens you explain that being in her company you were getting some feelings and that you stayed away because you did not want her to feel you were getting fresh.

Then she will say, “but that ain’t no problem”. Now you know you in real business.

So Bonny, my feelings were getting so strong that I did not want to ask you a question to get embarrassed; especially on this blog with a man like LIB because next thing he will be asking me what is the difference between you and a white woman. Just that he don’t know that we women sweeter. I give him Dr. Ben’s advice, try one.

By the way, Dr Ben is 91 yrs old and still alive and kicking; although in a nursing home. Reports are that he could go home but there is nobody to care for him at his home.

2. @LIB
    “No, and I will be liming in Brittons Hill/Villa Road again tomorrow evening, on the road side…”

I want you in Trench Town liming on the streets and stopping at traffic lights in Jamaica.

One thing for sure, you can’t tell me what I saw. I was there in live living colour with people driving me through red lights. When I asked why, I got the answer from them. They were the ones driving me through red lights and I got my testimony from them. I went to their homes and saw the electronic gates and 12 foot palings and fences; standard.

I don’t mind you; all excuses. Now you want to tell me what I heard and saw with my own two eyes and ears. You know all about Barbados but nobody don’t know anything about Jamaica, right? Probably been there as much as you have been here fella, so you can’t pull no wool over my eyes.

I tell you that you too bright.

3. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@ROK
    One point you should consider. I have discussed with David the notion that Barbados’ love affair with British tourists makes little sense given the historical facts of bad treatment by said Brits. I say that they pose a bigger threat to Bimshire than do Caribbean non-nationals. D took the view that this was not really an issue for now. I think you could convince him that the time is now ripe to really focus on this. Are you game?

4. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@ROK
    As for your ‘tour’ of de streets o Jumayka, you never heard of the fact that people show you what you want to see?

If you hasked de bredrin fi driv yu inna nice bushy harea an see de pretty hills dem an how de peeple live cool an easy by running riva dem wudda tek u down to country…fi nyam yam an roas salt fish an drink cerasee tee and chaw suga cayne and roas carn. Nex tim is dat yu fi do. Do go siddung inna town. A nah Jumayka dat.

5. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

And ROK, I am a product of downtown Kingston, born just by the prison and lived there as a boy.

So, from those humble roots, I beat off the colonial oppressor and took it to him in his country–my parents forced me to go but I did not cry.

Beat him off again and take away jobs from his best white children. Then I take it to him again and said they need me to lead them. Ok, they said. All of the white staff then went on to become big shots in banking- with a black man as their mentor. Miss Lou said ‘colonisation in reverse’.

Then done with that. Off to America and take on the man again. Beat off the white boys again. Get off me! Take their jobs and run things. Where this man come from? JAMAICA.

Take them on again and off to Africa to be THE MAN’s MAN (Ambassador they call it). Now I could deal with my ancestors’ children and it was great. Now I come to Barbados and what do I find? What have you done to take it to the MAN?

6. LIB
    Ever thought about forgetting job work and running your own business seeking contracts from White people? Good business men know how to mingle with the right crowd.

7. @LIB: “Now I come to Barbados and what do I find?

You, and all, find exactly what was planned. Thanks to the scarily insightful, and objective (and amoral (or is that immoral?)), observations of Machiavelli of the nature of Humans….

8. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@BAFBFP
    “Ever thought about forgetting job work and running your own business seeking contracts from White people? Good business men know how to mingle with the right crowd.”[Yes. But that was during the dot com boom, and it would not have been race based. Never happened, though. I do not ‘job’ work. I enjoy my stay-home-Dad status and working as I please on what I choose. Very liberated and liberating. I enjoy the time it gives to think without deadlines.]

9. @LIB
    “What have you done to take it to the MAN?”

Since I was born, I did nothing. I take all the licks and ain’t share none. Thanks to you, you took it to the MAN (incidentally, MAN is the generic name for white man?).

No such luck for me, I still f-ing around with women and prefer it.

“I enjoy my stay-home-Dad status and working as I please on what I choose.”

And you are the only one. Bravo!

10. @LIB
    “And ROK, I am a product of downtown Kingston, born just by the prison and lived there as a boy. ”

You were surely misled when you left.

11. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Well, ROK, you can just step up to the plate and take the Gandhi route-be the change you want to see in the world. Enough of laying off and blaming people, man. Inspire someone. If no one else, inspire yourself. Be happy. In your mid-50s. What you waiting for?

Good night people. 3 golds is a big haul.

12. @LIB: “3 golds is a big haul.

And what, *exactly*, will that do for our GDP?

13. ROK,
    Can you please tell me the name of this Home that Dr.Ben whatever- his- name -is, is in that I can go and personally lock off his neck?Fancy him giving you that kind of advice to my detriment. A word to the wise:
    If you lose me, oh yeah, ya lose a good ting.
    Mwahhhhhhhh, rite pun dah mustache.

14. Christopher Halsall,
    ‘and what exactly will that do for our GDP’

OUCHHHHHHHHH,I feel dat.

15. @BP: “OUCHHHHHHHHH,I feel dat.

Sorry if I called it too close to the bone…

But let’s face it, (by definition) very few of any demographic will ever find themselves on the high-end of the bell-curve.

And while it’s worth encouraging everyone to aspire higher along the curve, the most important of any economy are those in the median of that curve….

16. ROK

Just talked with an old Lodge “boy” who was in the same form as you. Says to tell you he is caucasian.

He confirms the coffin was fun and got put in it regularly.

He also says he would routinely get beat up by “white” boys, maybe the same ones who made you bleat like a sheep.

School = School Children, from 10 to 20!!

Children can be brutal.

An ex HC student who was in sixth form when I entered in Lower First told me they once held a master by his heels out through the window …. that was when he was a big able boy in sixth form

17. @LIB
    “As for your ‘tour’ of de streets o Jumayka, you never heard of the fact that people show you what you want to see?”

Boy, you feel i is a dunce, nuh? The places in Jamaica that I wanted to see, I saw and you know what, all the bujewaah Jamaicans were trying to convince me not to go, and utterly refuse to take me, saying how it ‘ent safe.

Well let me give you the story. After a long week of work, the Friday I declared that i wanted to go to a rum shop and hang out. The men tell me OK. When Friday night come now, I ready to get in the ghetto, the men pull in at Fridays. What!

Man I start to get on but the men ain’t budge. Them just was not carrying me nowhere near. So I held my piece… and they real posh wid themselves too. So you know that after an hour or 2, they were “lick up”. I tell them carry me back home.

After they left, I went through the gate and down the road all by myself. First thing I hit downtown was a road blocked off and some kind of carnival going on. I went into the crowd and found instant friends. That night I lime with everybody and had a good night too.

I found a reliable taximan that night too. He went and put down the taxi and come back for me in an old car. Even he, was a bit fearful of taking me some places after that night. All he telling me is wear white or wear a dark colour and all I doing is laughing because I really could not imagine it and still can’t.

For me, a man is a man and when I could walk down those streets and see children on the road, what fear what? Even in Cuba, nobody took me where they wanted me to see. I took off by myself, catch bus, catch taxi, went in the country and visited some communities that had museums and historical sites.

Learned Spanish in a jiffy. A man sat me down the first night I got to Cuba and taught me the rudiments in less than half hour. It was just after midnight and all these people on the street. I walked in all directions from the hotel (never letting the hotel out of my sight by the way. It was really tall) looking for a bar and no bar. After exhausting all the streets and was back at the hotel. I was so full of anxiety that I could not sleep. I went back downstairs and seeing all these people I told myself, they have to be either going or coming from somewhere and therefore the next black man that pass me I am going to ask him for a bar.

That is the man that sat me down ’cause he did not know English either. Of course, having a background in Latin and French was helpful. After coaching me for a while, the man took me down the very first street I went down and as he came to this old bond house, the man make a left turn at the gate and when he push this big iron door, the music fly out.

I went to Old Havana that night (always opened or accessible I should say) and did not spend a cent. That man bought me every drink and eat and would not let me pay for anything. That was for a reason; because I had US.

Afterwards, he gave me 200 pecos for US$20 and that allowed me to explore Cuba for 2 weeks because the US$ would have been a hick-up. Cigarettes 10 cents (or whatever) a pack “populars”. Bus ride in the country 25 cents. He wanted jeans from the hotel but he had to have US to buy them. The bank was giving 1 peso for US$1. Fair exchange can’t be robbery.

I would always remember that drug store or apothecary in old Havana; frozen in time with every single detail left in place as it was after the revolution.

In Cuba I went to schools, nurseries, hospitals, government departments and spent real time in the communities. There is nowhere on this earth that I went that I did not find the nearest village to the hotel and revisited them every time I returned to that country.

Well, not being an economist, I would not know any better, right?

18. BAFBFP // August 20, 2009 at 6:27 PM

You know John anyone that ignores the fact that there is a class divide in Barbados is silly. Class demographics and the contempt and distrust that it brings are natural results of the type of economic development that is pursued in this neck of the woods.

Don’t agree class demographics bring contempt and distrust.

Quite the opposite.

Think the classes that arose from the Free Negroes and Free Mulattoes and Poor Whites led the way in showing the masses of freed peoples at emancipation how to adapt to the new way of life where they had to provide for themselves.

As you would expet, out of these classes come many of our National Heroes.

19. @John
    “He also says he would routinely get beat up by “white” boys, maybe the same ones who made you bleat like a sheep.”

I forgot to tell you that the gods fought wars in heaven too; big wars… but I don’t need to get into that. A white boy that was in class with me? Beale, pooler, goddard, clarke(s), murphy, parker, croney, worme, hunte, emptage, pile (the closest one to me) skeete, armstrong, miller, farmer, wow! He in there?

20. @ LIB, Rok is utterly unable to engage you intellectually, knows nothing about objective, rational, logical analysis, and only ends up throwing all kinds of redherrings and straw men into the fray, to distract from the ‘substance’ of your submissions; he does this all the time, a dismal lack of any intellectual substance!

21. McKenzie, shephard, parkinson, scott, McCloud, gibbs, ward, edwards, gill, greenidge… man you sending me to tax my brain. He in dey?

22. Right On! You got that right! What has LIB put up as substance? The man denies himself and tries to cast doubt at everything. He should be a mechanic cause he like throwing spanners in the works. You is a Jamaican? You see the nonsense he wrote in his blog about Barbados? That was substance, I am sure you would agree?

He so ‘fraid of comments that he got to approve every one and he ain’t letting yuh comment as anonymous either. Coward he is…

But let me say this, part of dealing with the psyche of the black man, is dealing with that kind of mentality; those among us who would fight the white man’s fight for him. These are his soldiers (sounds better than HNs) walking about talking foolishness about not seeing colour.

Well you could be sure the white man sees colour and happy that people like you don’t see colour so that when you get caught in their traps, you would be saying how fair it is and trying to convince others in life that they had a fair deal.

Right now you reminding about the difference between the UNIA and the NAACP. We know what happened to the UNIA. The USA Government confiscated all its property worth Millions of dollars, from Jamaica to New York on a charge of defrauding somebody of $25. Well! Well! Well! the punishment does fit the crime. Don’t you agree?

Not only did the law move in such a way as to defraud all those people who had in shares, it dealt a severe blow to the struggle for freedom. If they were interested in justice, they would have made sure that the people got back their money but the game was to inflict deep pain and hurt to as many blacks as possible and they did it for US$25.

There you go. Right on!

23. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@CH
    “And what, *exactly*, will that do for our GDP?”[If any of the athletes were to sell their gold (if real) medal current price is US$938/ounce, as I write. That would be a plus for GDP, not much but + anyway.

Moreover, the earning potential of a champion athlete on the professional circuit has been raised substantially. I do not have the precise figures but champions command premium pay. We saw immediately after the Beijing Olympic how the winners went to tour Europe on their way home–part of the standard annual cycle, but Bolt etc. was worth more. That means a plus in income for the individaul and the country (from income, spending and taxes). The GDP gains get a bit more complicated when a national athlete resides outside his country. But the income or part of it will accrue to the country.

Countries can also ‘market’ the success. Jamaica was slow to do that last year, but I think the lessons were learned and they are ready for post-Berlin. I could put you in touch with the managers of the athletes to let them give you a better idea.

Jamaica also has a program at UTECH for training its homegrown elite athletes. Some Jamaican born but non-Caribbean based athletes have come back from overseas to use it. Other countries in the Caribbean are using it, too. That leads to income from those who come to Jamaica.

What Jamaica has done with its program is reduce the need/desire of its athletes to go to US colleges to develop and also become a hub for training. That can be an income generator over a long period as it’s now possible that US athletes, say, wishing to exploit the training program used in Jamaica may start to go there to train. I do not know where the goverment plans are now for expanding the programs, but you could check. They put more resources into UTEC last year and may have a further expansion program. Other islands may not be able to follow this model but can and do use the existing resources. You should also look at Trinidad’s plans to develop athletes over the next decade.

There are other elements such as branding, sponsorship deals, etc. that mean athletes can gain income from their enhanced image. It’s lucrative business.

The total value of all that I cannot tell but it’s not trivial.

If you contact Bruce James, President of MVP (Maximising Velocity and Power)Track and Field Club he can give you a much better picture. See http://mvptrackclub.com. He comes to Barbados occasionally, and we discussed some of this prior to Beijing and after. He used to work for Citibank and knows the sport and business very well.

Several good articles were written about the UTECH program last year, see http://sportscaribe.com/olympics/2008/?id=15. See also http://www.utech.edu.jm/News_Events/utechclassic.html, for background on UTECH and athletes. More generally, you can see more by searching as needed on the Internet, or by contacting MVP, UTECH or Jamaica’s Ministry of Sport.

Hope that helps.]

24. @LIB

You should post this comment under the Ryan Brathwaite blog .

25. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@CH
    I forgot to mention that the ‘pulling potential’ of the winning country/region is enhanced. Jamaica can now be a good draw for international events. The presence of the winning athletes raise the profile of meets, and so can be used to bolster their revenue potential. But more generally the substantially raised status of a country in the sport has great income potential.

For Jamaica, there is also a social dividend. It is no secret that the government wants to and does use the athletes’ success to promote certain values. To the extent that they get positive results (lower crime, better school attendance, etc.) that can represent plusses for an economy. Hard to quantify, but given the estimated negative effects of crime on GDP (see World Bank study on this) you can see the positive potential in reversing certain social ills.

26. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

You suggestion came as I was typing a comment on the Ryan thread suggesting that readers ‘cross’ threads. Feel free to redirect all the comments on this aspect. There may be follow up here on Psyche that is pertinent.

27. John

“Free Negroes and Free Mulattoes and Poor Whites led the way in showing the masses” these were the enlightened men of the time. They cannot be used as a representative sample.. come on.

In any event please trash the rest of my comment and put me in my place.

28. LIB

Man forget this IMF thing and start wukkin’ fah yaself, even though you don’ have to, jus’ for a more rounded experience in Living in Barbados. There is a reason why so many Blacks seek refuge within the ranks of Political Parties.

29. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@BAFBFP // August 21, 2009 at 3:11 AM
    “LIB, Man forget this IMF thing and start wukkin’ fah yaself”[I have stated before on this blog, though I guess you have not seen, that I no longer work for the IMF; I resigned over a year ago. I indicated my current status, with which I’m very happy. I like not being beholden to an institution and having the freedom to write and think freely.]

30. What I am asking is that you experience the process of building the relationships required to succeed in business in Barbados. Say for arguments sake a catamaran business (or any tourism sort of business) that seeks to do business with Cruise Ship arrivals or an advertising firm that seeks to do business with a Corporate with the money required to advertise through our hi-priced media houses, or as a consultant sseking a commission.

31. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@BAFBFP
    “What I am asking is that you experience the process of building the relationships required to succeed in business in Barbados…”[I get you. On the one had it would be difficult to do because it’s not what I want to do. I could try, however, to shadow/watch someone trying to do as you suggest. It’s an interesting thought.

However, I am doing it in a sense, though not for monetary gain. I came to Barbados with a certain experience and had no intentions other than to figure out something to do while my spouse took her assignment. I have since developed a lot of interests. In the process I have found myself in the ‘relationship building’ business. It’s not too different from my last posting, where I had to build an understanding of a foreign country and its economy from top to bottom. Hence, I tried to meet people from all walks of life. I had certain assured access at high levels, but I also wanted to walk in always crowded but sometimes dusty or muddy market trying to hunt for fruit and veg.

My only natural refuge was home, but then friends developed and time with them became ‘refuge’ in that we shared our views–they were nationals and foreigners. I had to stay clear of politics and political parties.

I find the same pattern developing here. I stay away from politics directly though find my paths crossing with politicians; it’s a small country. I have declined offers to be directly involved with either of the main parties as an advisor. I argue that my independence is important for a certain credibility.

Does that count? If you have another idea along the shadow suggestion, feel free to contact me via my blog or by e-mail as shown on my blog.

32. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

s/b …one HAND…

33. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@BAFBFP
    “There is a reason why so many Blacks seek refuge within the ranks of Political Parties.”[Many, I’m sure. Being in ‘clubs’ brings benefits, but it also keeps out certain elements. Being close to decision makers or feeling able to influence them is also important. Decision makers being able to identity better those who may be important to them and to whom, or from whom, favours can be exchanged is also important. The activities of many such organizations are not easy to see. Those outside often eye them with suspicion.

Economists are always wary of things that create ‘rent’ and ‘rent seeking’ (see http://www.economist.com/research/Economics/alphabetic.cfm?letter=R#rent-seeking). They often start with good intentions, but need little to change for the worst.

34. ROK // August 20, 2009 at 11:59 PM

“He also says he would routinely get beat up by “white” boys, maybe the same ones who made you bleat like a sheep.”

I forgot to tell you that the gods fought wars in heaven too; big wars… but I don’t need to get into that. A white boy that was in class with me? Beale, pooler, goddard, clarke(s), murphy, parker, croney, worme, hunte, emptage, pile (the closest one to me) skeete, armstrong, miller, farmer, wow! He in there?

yup

35. Old man K what wrong with casting doubt? No one must question or question you? You talk nonesense and is time some body tell you. I send comments to LIB blog and they get published. But you can understand if there are 20 anonymous, maybe all one person trying to be different? Nothing wrong with cutting filth off the blogs. They are not content, just comtept. He has principles, and sticks to them. He’s wrong. You want to run everything like we all ruffians? You intelligent and he surely is. Learn to live with it.

36. @LIB
    “At last year’s Olympics, the president of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) Jacques Rogge (Belgian) criticized Bolt for his public displays during his winning his events, saying “You can’t do that.”

Why you complaining about this?

37. Ignorance ain’t got no colour, if ya white and ignorant, ya ignorant; if ya black and ignorant, ya ignorant; all of this shite talk bout colour, is nothing but IGNORANCE, as Rok has vehemently demonstrated!

38. @Anonymous
    “They are not content, just comtept.”

Well said. For that they need to be cut off right. Like you should be cut off. I see that LIB is your saviour from me. You can deal with me? Maybe it is about time somebody deals with your “comtept” and his too.

39. @Right On
    “all of this shite talk bout colour, is nothing but IGNORANCE,”

Why the reference to shite? Colour?

40. livinginbarbados

There is no doubt that you are a resource person, and the fact that you have the time now to research a variety of issues and make public your findings is something that I will gladly take advantage of. But we are dealing here with race in Barbados and to this day there has been no formal true to the bone analysis of the implications and fallout of this phenomenon. This is one item that to fully appreciate it you have to live it and there is no book or web-site that I know of that would do justice to advising on making it right. The fact that there are Blacks that are quick to blame their own is another phenomenon that I will prefer to ignore.

Incidentally I view the study of economics a study in ‘human behavior’ on issues of wealth creation. Is that
    an adequate layman’s view?

41. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@ROK, the Rogge incident was a reminder of how views can differ, maybe for cultural, racial, sexual, and other reasons. It was not a complaint. Rogge and Diack had opposite views. As do we. You ask what substance I have provided, and say as much as you and we have both done personal narratives. You seem to want your views to be taken as substance and I say ‘hold on, why?’ You dismiss others’ arguments. Dismiss, not negate or over power with other reasoning. You throw incective in place of insight. You mock what you dislike rather than marshal real opposing arguments. I am not convinced by this chameleon world you try to portray. Is Rogge white. Is Diack black. Both have lived amoing their own colour and with the opposite. I suggest a return to square 1. Sometimes you cannot unwind but have to start afresh. Take a sheet of clean, pristine, BLACK paper and write neatly with WHITE ink. The ideas will be clearer, I’m sure.

42. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@BAFBFP
    I appreciate the interest but think this is now OFF topic. I am happy to have you send me the same by e-mail, see my blog. That may pose a problem for you but I think that is more apt.

Now real issues with any of your points. Let’s take them up by e-mail

Good weekend.

43. @LIB: “I appreciate the interest but think this is now OFF topic.

LIB… I find it somewhat interesting (and amusing) that you’ve found this new “safe harbour…”. (I’m sure you, and others, will recognize the legal term…)

We, the BU family, seem to be more than comfortable debating many things in public — even some things which some might wish we didn’t.

So why then, exactly, do you suddenly want to take things “off record” all the time?

44. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Chris, I thought you of all people would have seen that the exchange was not so much on topic and involved a bilateral proposal to undertake some ‘research’. To me, as with your proposition to meet, there was no need to keep that on the thread. It smells like business or even social set ups to me, and just did not seem to be properly addressed on the blog. In the same way we would and should not post e-mail addresses in clear or personal details of a commentator, etc. There are better places to do that.

45. @LIB: “…and just did not seem to be properly addressed on the blog.

IMHO, that is not your decision to make. Since many (for reasons I will forever argue against) refuse to be comfortable standing behind what they say, most will never engage in private conversation…

@LIB: “In the same way we would and should not post e-mail addresses in clear or personal details of a commentator, etc.

You are correct in this. And I (publically) apologize for “outing” you. I’m sorry for that mistake; a mistake made in anger.

To try to balance the “level of hurt”, my e-mail address is (in the clear) xxxxxxxxxxxxx.com.

Let the spiders do their worst….

46. @LIB: “…in clear…”

There are *very* few people I’ve ever heard “…in clear…” from.

I presume you’ve read Stephenson’s work (“Cryptonomicon”, “Quicksilver”, et al…).

If you, or anyone, cares my GPG KeyID is CB95259C.

47. @Chris

An apology is enough, your email in the clear is no more.

48. @BU.David…

LOL…

To say again, my GPG KeyID is CB95259C.

Thus, another of my e-mail addresses (chalsall@chalsall.com) will forever be public…

(And, thus, forever, anyone who wishes to communicate with me securely, can…)

(ROTFL….)

49. Livinginbarbados

Man you trting ta tief David’s people. You may not know, but the BAF in this handle stands for Banned Again From. You mean you setting up to slap a ban in me too?

50. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@BAFBFP
    Interesting interpretation. But far off. You cannot ‘tief’ something as you suggest. It is either given or it does not move.

I am following a principle, and you will see it too above with Chris Halsall. You have a choice. But for me, this matter is not for a blog thread. The ball is with you.