Submitted by ROK

Above is a clip about Dr. Yosef Ben Jochannan’s perspective on the race card. Should we stop trying to be Rhodes Scholars? Hear who was John Rhodes. Also Dr. Ben spoke of our pregnant women being split open using horses so that the babies dropped out of their bellies.

My problem with those who would say that we are using this kind of information to spread hate should understand that these are facts. They are part of the historical record and if the white man did not inflict such atrocious acts on the black man, we would have nothing to talk about today. In the circumstances, the hate started with them. Yet our attempt to get it out of our psyche is being resisted by them. What does that tell you? It isn’t over yet!

Further, how we could be sure that they are still at it? The Rhodes Island Scholarship that has become so prestigious and that we line up to get, is named after a white man that massacred 50 million black people in South Africa according to Dr. Ben. His testimony is on the clip.

Dr. Ben is also insinuating that the first Jews were from Ethiopia and were black, so how come we associate Jews with a particular race of people? When we look at our economies for example, we see the damage that IMF did to those who accepted it and Barbados that did not, is doing far much better; although not the best.

HIV/AIDS and all the diseases that are targeting us were white man made. All the drugs that the big drug companies convincing us to fill our bodies with seems coincidental to the new wave of asthma, heart diseases, diabetes, etc. in our young children; would make it seem that the killings are still going on but in a different way.

The Rwanda genocide is a rather strange event. Even the Rwandans don’t seem to be able to understand what got into them to cause that slaughter. If this was sparked by the media, who authorised it? I am hoping that people watch the video and wake up. This is not a call to arms but a call for each black man and woman to do his/her duty to preserve our people. We are still under threat of extinction. Stop taking the drugs. Farmers need to start gathering their own seeds and we have to stop importing chicken eggs to be hatched.

We still have a lot going for us that we need to preserve. We still have our golden apples, sour-sop, mangoes, ackees (ginip), fat pork, guavas, dunks, sugar apples, yams, sweet potatoes, green peas, etc. but those crops like carrots, beets, lettuce, sweet peppers and the ones we get out of the supermarket that our farmers buy seeds to grow, we should try to get rid of them; purge the plants and start gathering the seeds and growing and developing a natural strain and ban the importation of seeds to corrupt our crops.

Apart from food security, we have to deal with health; those doctors with test kits need to stop buying them. Throw them through the door (gradually). We need to develop an herbal industry based on the herbs that grow naturally here. We need to look and see what is not yet corrupted and preserve them. It is one great conspiracy based on greed that started way back then. There are indicators to tell us that the conspiracy is still on. For example, the difficulty with black businesses getting loans from the banking system; the way the banks bounce checks and refuse to give businesses overdrafts; the suspicion with which the black man is viewed in general even by our own. Finally, the way our country is dictated to by the imperialists.

All of this is based on racism and unless we stand up against it, we will never be unshackled.

1. Your perspective on this seems to depend on your upbringing and the moral values which were either instilled into u, or not! These days, NOT, seems more to be the norm!!

Bonny?!!

Laaaaaaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!

2. I in naming nuh names boa!!

3. (unfortunately my audio isnt working so i cant comment one the above video.)

Saying the ‘white man’ gave the ‘black man’ freedom does more harm than good, we should never forget that the black TOOK their freedom. This view is much more accurate and will build more pride than the other views.

The affect of slavery is often exaggerated, in fact i think slavery should be viewed as a small chapter in the history of the black man. If we keep saying that we were subdued physically by another race it is akin to two young children auguring ‘my dad can beat your dad!’

Black did much more than were slaves! In fact, the slaves built the new world!

I would like to know, at the height off slavery, what was the percentage of slave Africans to free Africans. Can anyone help me? I suspect up to 30%, if that is correct: should we teach/emphasize to future generations only what happened to the minority?
    What is the advantage of this?

One might wish to point out that all Africans in the western world are descended from slaves. Ok, but what we teach to the future generations should be for the good of the whole, anything different would be unacceptable.

Our black professors are not professing the stuff they learn, or we are not listening, but the bridge needs to be built, soon.

4. RD, u very cerius suh bright an early dis fine, god-given mornin!!

Laaaaaadddddddddddddd!!

5. I agree there is racism and there always will be in one form or another because that what humans are like regardless of their colour. However it is far less than in the past and is more in our perception and minds than in reality.

For example you say that HIV/AIDS is from white men. 1. where did you get your info from my understanding is they don’t know? 2. you put it like its a racially motivated disease to target the black man if so why are so many whites infected as well.

You also phrase your arguments regarding the banking system that it is racially discriminate towards the black man and leave the impression, without actually saying so, that white mens cheques don’t bounce and can get loans for their businesses. Let me assure you that is not the truth it is equally tough on the white man as it is on the black man.

I am sure it was not your intention but your posting kind of sounds as though its subtly designed to be racially against the white man.

6. ” Remember NOT that we were sold
    But that we were strong”

Slavery is like a dark stain of blood on a christening gown.

It is often asked by some; why do black people go on about slavery? because it affects them so. I am not suggesting that “all” black people are of the same opinion or outlook, it would be strange if that were the case, but who am I to tell others how they should feel or express themselves.

I a recent debate here on BU, a blogger alluded to people in England being tortured, during and after the civil war in the reign of Charles and tried to equate that with barbaric acts during slavery.

A “free people” engaging in war and its aftermath being compared with “captive slaves” with no control over inflicted barbarity and cruelty; on this issue reason and logic have wings.

I will not venture into distant lands but be “specific” to Barbados:

” The wealth they created mostly returned to Britain; the products they made were consumed in Britain; and the products made by Britions – cloth, tools, torture-instruments-were consumed by slaves who were themselves consumed in the creation of wealth.” (S.Mintz, 1985,43)
    “Barbados was described thus in 1645: ” You shall see a flourishing Island, many able men, I believe they have brought this year no less than a thousand Negroes, and the more they buy the better able they are to buy, for in a year and a half they will earn ( with God’s blessing) as much as they cost ( M. Crayton, 1974,43) It was this slave based economy which was to transform the West Indies, enrich Britain and to drain vast reaches of Africa of much of its strength.”

So much was against us even God’s blessings were asked for, that is why we should:

“Remember NOT that we were sold
    But that we were strong.”

7. It is said ‘if you don’t know where you come from, you can’t know where you are going”, this is true but I thunk right now, BLACKS tend to be constantly looking back and not focussing enough on their future. I. as a vlack man , knows my pass and have no intentions of returning there but I’m now focussed on the future and where I want my off spring to be by the end of this decade and am already assisting them in their plans for the next. I have no time for gripping about the pass. The pass is the pass, I’m preparing for the future.

8. The first step towards becoming a Rhodes Scholar, is being able to use correct grammar. Please correct the first sentence of this story. You can not be a “Rhodes Scholarship” but you can be a Rhodes Scholar.

9. Yes we should stop trying to be Rhodes Scholarships.

But we can continue trying to be Rhodes scholars.

Nothing wrong with using Cecil Rhodes’ money to benefit our children

I would call Rhodes’ money reparations; although only a tiny reparation.

10. Thanks to the BU proof readers!

11. ROK wrote “Dr. Ben is also insinuating that the first Jews were from Ethiopia and were black, so how come we associate Jews with a particular race of people?”

Only those of us who do not know.

If the Jews in the Middle East were scattered in AD 70 at the fall of Jerusalem, then of course there are Jews all over the world and they are all colors.

There are significant communities of black “Falasha” Jews in Ethiopia and a good number in Indian Jews in India as well, who look completely Indian.

If there is one thing we know for certain about human beings it is that they will have sex with each other, so the Middle Eastern Jews who departed from Israel in the Middle East interbred or intermarried (if you want to dress it up) with the local populations among whom they settled, so yes there are brown skinned Jews from the Middle East, black Jews from Africa, and another set of brown skinned Indian looking Jews from India, and no doubt Chinese Jews as well, and white Jews whose ancestors settled in Europe.

This is common knowledge, it is not new or secret knowledge.

Human beings love sex, so interbreeding (or intermarriage if you want to dress it up) is the most common-place thing in the world.

12. Dear ROK:

I think that you and Dr. Jochannan give white people far, far, too much power.

White people are NOT that powerful.

White people are just ordinary human beings.

I’ve never yet men a white man (or woman) who can intimidate me. Never met a black man who can intimidate me either.

Both black people are white people are only human born of the same act of sexual intercourse. Nothing special or scary about either.

13. Dear ROK:

The black woman have a psyche too?

Somehow I never hear about the black woman’s psyche or her ego?

I hope that black women are not just seen as pokeys.

14. @The Scout

We all are in agreement we should educate our children to pick up the pieces to fashion a life of ‘success.’ Don’t you think the current generation of Blacks owe a debt to our slave ancestors to address the persecution? Is it not a matter of historical cleansing?

15. @J

Please feel free to apply the biblical definition of ‘man’

16. J,
    I agree. At least it’s a start.Better late than never.

Bimbro,
    Mawnin hun, ya kept ya promise.
    I gun now get my laffs.

17. J
    “I hope that black women are not just seen as pokeys”.
    Murdahhhhhh, dah badddddddddd.
    You rancid anuff bosey.
    wuhlosss, wuhloss,wuhlosssssssss

18. J // August 18, 2009 at 7:17 AM

Dear ROK:

The black woman have a psyche too?

Somehow I never hear about the black woman’s psyche or her ego?

I hope that black women are not just seen as pokeys.

lol, J!! I lef Bim a long time ago!! What r pokeys?!!

Lorrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!

Also, J, black WOMEN DID N’T lose their psyche under the Atlantic, only black MEN!! Doan ask me how dat’s possible! Ud have to ask Pruhfessers ROK an Negroman, boa!!

Laaaaaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!

19. Further, I’ve had the misfortune to be acquainted with a number of the black men who ‘did n’t lose their psyche’ under the Atlantic (native Africans) and, I can tell u, the ‘psyche’ they’ve got in worth shit!! Leh me keep my ‘no psyche psyche’ an b a decent, civilised human being!!

20. Bonny Peppa // August 18, 2009 at 7:28 AM

J,
    I agree. At least it’s a start.Better late than never.

Bimbro,
    Mawnin hun, ya kept ya promise.
    I gun now get my laffs.

Bonny, I gun keep my ‘no psyche psyche’ an den have faif in d lord!!

Laaaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!

21. Dear Bimbro:

This is a Bajan blog and if you don’t know what is a pokey I ain’t telling.

But a few days ago on this blog you wrote that a mad person at the place in Black Rock scared you with one when you were just a boy.

’nuff said.

22. J, oh, is dat what one is?!! Lord! I would never have guessed!!

Laaaaaaadddddddddddddddddd!!

23. Thanks J. Back to ROK’s ‘serious’ discussion now, about lost psyches!!

Doan laugh!!

24. Point of note; quite apart from black WOMEN, how is it that other peoples who’ve been the subject of slavery don’t also identify a ‘lost psyche’, or is it that some of our people simply love making a fool of themselves!!

25. Bimbro
    ‘the psyche they got in worth shit’.
    ROK n’ de Negro gun get you fa dem said words. You wait n’see. I gun be hay laffin my head off. Ya struction-mekka.

Lemme try to explain wah a pokey is ta you. It’s a soft, warm, moist (sumtimes)lil or big hole (sumtimes) dat men put their poker in for pleasure or reproduction. Some sweet, some salt, some bitter. Yes, they can be eaten. I’ve never eaten any so I can’t help you there. I understand they have the power to make many a man ‘bewitch’ too. Again, I can’t help you there.
    Hope my info was enticing enuff for you ta go get yaself one or some.
    Blessed mawnin ta ya.
    Meowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

26. Above is a clip about Dr. Yosef Ben Jochannan’s perspective on the race card. Should we stop trying to be Rhodes Scholars? Hear who was John Rhodes.

Here is my first take having not actually listened to the clip.

Yes indeed, who was John Rhodes?

You mean Jonty Rhodes the cricketer?

Surely you have this simple fact wrong and if not, please educate me and correct wikepedia.

“The Rhodes Scholarship named after Cecil Rhodes is an international award for study at the University of Oxford and was the first large-scale programme of international scholarships.” ….. according to wikepedia.

So who was Cecil Rhodes?

“Cecil John Rhodes DCL (5 July 1853 – 26 March 1902[1]) was an English-born businessman, mining magnate, and politician in South Africa. He was the founder of the diamond company De Beers, which today markets 40% of the world’s rough diamonds and at one time marketed 90%.[2] He was an ardent believer in colonialism and imperialism, and was the founder of the state of Rhodesia, which was named after him. Rhodesia, later Northern and Southern Rhodesia, eventually became Zambia and Zimbabwe respectively. South Africa’s Rhodes University is named after him, and he is also known for the Rhodes Scholarship which is funded by his estate.” ….. according to wikepedia.

So Cecil Rhodes died at the ripe old age of 49.

The figures I see for the numbers of slaves taken out of Africa over 400 years varies from 12 million to 20 million.

Please verify or contradict.

It seems unlikely that John Rhodes or whatever his name may have been, lets call him Cecil Rhodes, could have in his lifetime killed 50 million Africans ….. downright unbelievable.

The second World War cost 50 million lives …… 20 million Russians, 15 million Chinese making up the bulk of the losses.

The population of Rhodesia in 1978 was estimated at 6.93 million: Source Wikepedia

The population of Zambia : July 2008 estimate 11,862,740 : Source Wikepedia

The population of Zimbabwe: The population of Zimbabwe in 2003 was estimated by the United Nations at 12,891,000 – Source : Google population of Zimbabwe.

I’ll listen to the clip now and find out who John Rhodes was and what his connection was with South Africa, and the Rhodes Scholarship.

Hope the Doctor doesn’t talk about the Rhode Island Scholarship, otherwise ROK, I swear, I going protest that you wasting peoples time with foolishness.

Looking forward with anticipation to being educated this morning.

27. ROK

Examine what he is saying critically and cross reference assertions against known facts.

There is alot of passion in what he says, he obviously believes it, but he gets some simple facts out of sequence.

For example:

I believe I heard him say that the first slaves brought to Virginia were brought on boats from Barbados in 1619.

Barbados was setled in 1626/27.

Barbados was indeed the first stop for many ships with slaves but slaves were being taken out of Africa from the 1400’s, long before the presence of the English in the New World.

For me the one thing he seems to be motivated by is revenge and it is worrying.

Go and look at Simon Wiesenthal who was a Jew and suffered in the death camps and see what he has to say about revenge and also collective responsibility.

I did learn however that Cecil Rhodes’ middle name was John, so I was educated and I did not hear him mention the Rhode Island Scholarship so I won’t say you are talking foolishness.

Passion lends alot to any speech but passion can sometimes overcome reason.

It is not possible to extract revenge on people who are long dead.

The best we can do is to call those alive who take part in slavery, brutality and crimes against humanity to account.

…. and slavery goes on, and brutality goes on …… and on and on.

The question I think has to be why aren’t more perpetrators not called to account?

Maybe punishment does not work and does not deter …… a chilling thought for humanity who can thus expect a lot more crimes to be committed against it.

28. Yardbroom // August 18, 2009 at 4:15 AM

A “free people” engaging in war and its aftermath being compared with “captive slaves” with no control over inflicted barbarity and cruelty; on this issue reason and logic have wings.

Logic and reason will always sprout wings if they are not grounded in fact.

29. Rosevelt,

I’m sorry this type of logic always appears to me to be blaming the white man for all of black people’s ills.

To me this is a facile argument. If we are to move forward we have to accept that freedom also includes the freedom to f##k things up royally. We need to take responsibility for ourselves. Even if the white man did something in the past or in the present it’s up to us to say what our reaction is to that.

We can talk about the white man did this or did that but in the end the only way we will move forward is by looking at ourselves first.

30. John @ August 18, 2009 2009 10:09am
    Yardbroom August 18, 2009 at 4:15am

A” free people” engaging in war and its aftermath being compared with “captive slaves” with no control over inflicted barbarity and cruelty, on this issue reason and logic have wings”.
    “Logic and reason will always sprout wings if they are not grounded in fact”.

John, from my statement above that you have quoted, what is not factual?

31. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“One might wish to point out that all Africans in the western world are descended from slaves.” [How does one classify Pres. Obama? What of those (always free) Africans like Ethiopians, living in Washington DC?]

32. Some people just don’t understand the effects of slavery.

Then again…..

33. @ John, obviously you are an objective, logical thinker, as you correctly say:

“Examine what he (Rok) is saying and cross reference assertions against known facts.”

Yes, we do need commentors like you, otherwise this type of ‘subject’ will grow ‘wings’ with all sorts of emotive nonsense, void of much (or any) coherent facts!

34. Does the black man, and I am using the biblical generic sense here, = (man/woman) have a different psyche to any other race of people, vis-a-vis emotional, physical trauma, inflicted on ones ancestors?

35. ‘the psyche they got in worth shit’.

Hi Bonny, they can do wha they like. I was actually referring to ethnic Africans, i.e. Africans, not West Indians!!

Lor!! ‘Thanks’ for the description Bonny. I now understand, more than clearly, what a pokey is, unfortunately, these days, many uh them r more trouble than they’re worth!! Anyhow, I wun leh dah stop me from ‘tekkin a chance’!!

Laaaaaadddddddddddddd!!

LIB start e crap again!! lol!!

Bonny, r u aware of having lost ur psyche? or, is the whole thing a figment of ‘somebody’s’ imagination!!

36. BTW, what are the reasons, is it the ‘psyche’ of the blacks in the USA, and their ancestral ‘whatever’ that they form only, I think 13% of the population, yet, account for around 40% of those infected with HIV/AIDS?

How is this explained? Bonny, does this have any connection to this ‘pokey’ ting you joking about?

37. As a further comment I tend to think there’s a certain degree in irony with black scholars taking the Rhodes scholarship. What would Cecil Rhodes think? I hope he’s spinning in his grave!

38. Cecil Rhodes and Ian Smith r probably busily pointing at Zimbabwe (formerly, Rhodesia) and saying smugly, “I told u so, I told u so”! about the heinous conditions which insane Mugabe’s inflicted on his people! He has n’t ‘lost his psyche’, so I wonder what’s his excuse!! No wonder I define theirs as shit!! akin to ‘some of ours’!!

39. Anybody dat know me know dah I’s a real ‘road’ Scholla….

AAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhh

40. Bimbro,
    I kno dat you ‘wood’ find de info intriguing. When you tekkin dah chance, just be aware.
    About de psyche ting, there are sumtings dat are neitha hay nor day wid me.I know who and what I am. I leave dat to de Academics and Historians. I depend on dem to inform de masses. Whether I agree with all or some is just one a dem tings child.

Thanatos,
    I was trying to explain this ‘pokey’ ting to my learnted friend Bimbro who was curious.
    I can’t give you the answer to this Hiv/Aids thing. Never studied it but I guess you can enlighten me as to why so many blacks are contracting this disease as opposed to another ethnic group. Promiscuity maybe part of the problem, so does that imply that we are more guilty of this behaviour than any other?

41. Gear Box,
    Not only a ‘road’ skolla, a ‘road’ runna ta.
    Talk ya talk Box, talk ya talk.

42. A simple question: where did Dr. Yosef Ben Jochannan get his doctorate? Anyone know?

43. It is time for those of African heritage or descent to begin to heal or repair ourselves. I write a chapter on this very subject matter in my book entitled “What I See: A New Prescription for Thought”. Click link below

http://www.eloquentbooks.com/WhatISee-ANewPrescriptionforThought.htm

44. Bimbro,
    I kno dat you ‘wood’ find de info intriguing. When you tekkin dah chance, just be aware.

Ok Bonny!! Thank u dear!!

45. Can I ask a few questions in response to the erratic and erroneous mumbo jumbo spewed on the blog by this strange person who seeks so badly to look like Santa Claus, but talks about the black psyche?

Does the historical record indicate that the black man has also inflicted atrocious acts on the black man?

What is it that is not over yet? Your racist tendencies and ignorance?

There is no such thing as a Rhodes Island Scholarship, but there is the prestigious Rhodes Scholarship.

How many Bajans do you know that “line up to get” a Rhodes Scholarship? How many Bajans do you know that earned the Rhodes Scholarship? What is wrong with a black person applying for, or accepting a Rhodes Scholarship, even though it is named after Cecil Rhodes?

How many black people have been massacred, or made to suffer by black leaders all over the world? Are blacks even now suffering intolerably at the hands of Mugabe? Did a similar thing happen under Idi Amin in Uganda?

If it is fact true that the first Jews were from Ethiopia and were black, how would that not make them a particular race of people?

What is the scientific evidence that suggests that HIV/AIDS is a white man made disease that targets black people? Were black persons the group who presented with this disease in California in 1981? Or were the first sufferes of the disease white?

Can you prove an association of “the drugs that the big drug companies convincing us to fill our bodies with” with the current incidence of asthma, heart diseases, diabetes, etc. in our young children?
    Is it not a fact that asthma is associated with causations unrelated to drugs?

Is it not a fact that heart diseases, diabetes, etc. is associated with causations unrelated to drugs, but due to changes in lifestyles?

Is it not a fact that you are basically talking shite about issues about which you are extremely poorly educated?

Which drugs are blacks to stop taking? Legal or illegal? Why?

Was the Rwanda genocide any different from genocides at any time in history? How is this much different from all the “homicides” that occurred in the many civil wars in history?

What is the evidence that blacks are under threat of extinction? Are you an authority on this subject? Where are your peer reviewed research papers on this subject?

How will we sustain a poultry industry without importing chicken eggs to be hatched? Do you ever think before you talk shit?.

What is it in the seeds that our farmers buy to plant carrots, beets, lettuce, sweet peppers that is so harmful?

Why should the importation of seeds be banned?

How can importing seeds corrupt our crops?

How will we “purge” plants in order to gather seeds to develop a natural strain? Are the strains that we have had all along NOT natural? What scientific evidence do you have that crops from the seeds used all along were harmful.

Which are the test kits that doctors are to stop buying and should gradually throw through the door?

On what basis will your herbal industry be based? What knowledge? Folklore? Scientifically appraised and analyzed evidence, or just the rantings of an ignorant jackass, who wants to look like Santa Claus?

Can you illuminate concerning the conspiracy that is still on, in your paranoia? Define conspiracy? What are the indicators that speak of a conspiracy?

46. @ Anonnymous // August 18, 2009 at 3:50 PM
    Now this, for the first time in my reading this blog, is where I have to get out of my chair, look at the screen, and applaud.

I tip my hat to you, sir. Chapeau! Very well said.

47. ROK, I believe u and dat fella Off Da Brink must be first cousins…… Mad as hell!!lol

48. Anonymous,
    Dat is a mout-full boy. Phewwwwwwwwww.

To look like Santa is genetic, I guess.

Boy, dat was interestinggggggggggg.

49. His look like Santa is genetic not intentional. He had no say in dat at all.
    I meant to say dat.

50. Quoting the desperately alone old man and tedious political hack, “Bonny Pepper”:

“His look like Santa is genetic not intentional. He had no say in dat at all.
    I meant to say dat”’’

Dude … give it up. Your tiresomeness is already a given. Plainly, you amuse only the heartbreakingly dull.

You can’t even write dialect properly. Dude, please, try to stop being boring.

Laaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaard (now, how funny is that?)

Laaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaard (peerless in its wit. Absolutely peerless).