Submitted by ROK

Above is a clip about Dr. Yosef Ben Jochannan’s perspective on the race card. Should we stop trying to be Rhodes Scholars? Hear who was John Rhodes. Also Dr. Ben spoke of our pregnant women being split open using horses so that the babies dropped out of their bellies.

My problem with those who would say that we are using this kind of information to spread hate should understand that these are facts. They are part of the historical record and if the white man did not inflict such atrocious acts on the black man, we would have nothing to talk about today. In the circumstances, the hate started with them. Yet our attempt to get it out of our psyche is being resisted by them. What does that tell you? It isn’t over yet!

Further, how we could be sure that they are still at it? The Rhodes Island Scholarship that has become so prestigious and that we line up to get, is named after a white man that massacred 50 million black people in South Africa according to Dr. Ben. His testimony is on the clip.

Dr. Ben is also insinuating that the first Jews were from Ethiopia and were black, so how come we associate Jews with a particular race of people? When we look at our economies for example, we see the damage that IMF did to those who accepted it and Barbados that did not, is doing far much better; although not the best.

HIV/AIDS and all the diseases that are targeting us were white man made. All the drugs that the big drug companies convincing us to fill our bodies with seems coincidental to the new wave of asthma, heart diseases, diabetes, etc. in our young children; would make it seem that the killings are still going on but in a different way.

The Rwanda genocide is a rather strange event. Even the Rwandans don’t seem to be able to understand what got into them to cause that slaughter. If this was sparked by the media, who authorised it? I am hoping that people watch the video and wake up. This is not a call to arms but a call for each black man and woman to do his/her duty to preserve our people. We are still under threat of extinction. Stop taking the drugs. Farmers need to start gathering their own seeds and we have to stop importing chicken eggs to be hatched.

We still have a lot going for us that we need to preserve. We still have our golden apples, sour-sop, mangoes, ackees (ginip), fat pork, guavas, dunks, sugar apples, yams, sweet potatoes, green peas, etc. but those crops like carrots, beets, lettuce, sweet peppers and the ones we get out of the supermarket that our farmers buy seeds to grow, we should try to get rid of them; purge the plants and start gathering the seeds and growing and developing a natural strain and ban the importation of seeds to corrupt our crops.

Apart from food security, we have to deal with health; those doctors with test kits need to stop buying them. Throw them through the door (gradually). We need to develop an herbal industry based on the herbs that grow naturally here. We need to look and see what is not yet corrupted and preserve them. It is one great conspiracy based on greed that started way back then. There are indicators to tell us that the conspiracy is still on. For example, the difficulty with black businesses getting loans from the banking system; the way the banks bounce checks and refuse to give businesses overdrafts; the suspicion with which the black man is viewed in general even by our own. Finally, the way our country is dictated to by the imperialists.

All of this is based on racism and unless we stand up against it, we will never be unshackled.

1. @ Themis….

‘……He somehow feels the need for some reason to reply to the clear ignorance of ROK on most things, and hence has fallen into the trap.

Only an arrogant person would end up in the types of arguments LIB and ROK provides.
    I certainly do not agree with eveything posted here but I am not going to pick at all comments.
    This is a sign of arrogance and a feeling of superiority by both of them.
    Make your point and let the BU family decide, we have been doing this from the beginning.
    LIB is educated but education aint common sense!!
    His arrogance and the need to be heard is his downfall, hence the reason for falling into ROK’s trap everytime.
    ROK……well is ROK.
    GP showed how to deal with him!!
    Hopefully they both now see their weaknesses (as opposed to their strengths) and maybe…..just maybe…..the blog will return to what it once was.

2. Sh*te BIMBRO, I ain’ na brain surgeon nider. Truth is I do know a brain surgeon and he ain all dah clever neither…! Ha.

3. From: The Philadelphia Negro: (by DuBois)

“Naturally then, if men are suddenly transported from one environment to another, the result is lack of harmony with the new conditions; lack of harmony with the new physical surroundings leading to disease and death or modification of physique; lack of harmony with social surroundings leading to crime.”

Well he makes some since here to me, black were taken to a new environment here in the west, that was about 5 maby 6 generations ago so the environment cant be still regarded as new. So why has nothing changed and black people still not reaching the status they could(as a people)?

4. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Technician, Themis, the proffered advice from what I take to be wise heads I’d appreciated. I cannot if I can help it: several decades of scritinizing word for inconsistencies and misinformation leaves its trace. I will try to unlearn and trust that others can see what may need to be addressed without my feeling that I need to it, save where it pertains directly to me.

5. @ Rok you got to admit in those times black folk could not have been as liberal as we are now, this Dubois character seams to be from the time just after slavery, when people still had the pro-slavery views fresh in their minds, i suspect if Dubois was any more radical his life would have been cut short, As this what happens to any prominent black activist this day.

That said the fact that he lived pass 90 means he was a HN is some respect.

This serves to strengthen my point, the further away from slavery we get the more able we should be to come together as a people and rebuild the great black nation, but somehow the “silent army” has find a way to completely derail the pro-African movement.

It needs to be put back on track. Auguring amounts ourselves serves no purpose if we don’t learn from these said arguments, therefore i thinks you guys arguing the wrong points.

Walking that fine line between being a HN and a Man is what is required. eg. Mugbe, he even get knight (greatest feeling for a HN) but still when the time come to be a MAN and stand up for his people, he did.

What we doing?

6. Now, LIB, I ask you. Look at the gibberish Ready Done has posted above. Should that need a reply? “Auguring amonuts ourselves” indeed!

7. @Ruel Daniels: “Black boys betrayed by racist school system, says report

Not wishing to take away from your above. But, I’m seriously interested in the following question:

What does this same report say about “Black Girls”?

The report focussed on that demographic. That fact should not vitiate its findings, since most research in these kinds of subject matters targets specific population demographics.

The fact that a criminal robbed someone yesterday does not render the effects upon a victim today irrelevant. That is the nature of the responses to ROK that facetiously point out antecedents to impeach his positions. Yes, there was slavery in the world prior to the Transatlantic Trafficking in Africans, but to suggest that there is similarity other than the fact they both represent a circumstance of servitude is pathetically idiotic.

There has never been any other historical events known to man where one group rationalized its subjugation of another on the basis that they were not equal members of te human family. Where an elaborate synthesis of myths and stereotypes was established on an international level in order to rationalize this subjugation. Where these myths became part of he educational curriculum of most of mthis world. Where the group was foricbly separated from all links to their past, analogous to placing an amnesiac deer in a forest with rampaging lions.

No one is arguing that blacks do not have a responsibility to do for self. The dishonesty in the postulations of the critics of ROK however, is that they would not dare equate the experiences of European Jews under Nazi subjugation with that of the French under subjugation by the same oppressor. At least they would not dare make that analogy in any theatre where it might be exposed to the eyes of the descendants of European Jews.

The centuries of enslavement of persons of African descent amount to an enduring holocaust unmatched in human history. It is insidiously fallacious to argue that quote, “well look, white people were enslaved too”. Yeah right!

8. Themis unlike you, i ent begging for friends.

I ent went too no big up school nor have a need to be associated with perceived intellectuals, i cant even spell to good.

But here on BU i find some people that could help me improve my views, my writing and my self in the process.

I glad you read what i write, i probably will restructure my view till it could be understood by all.

9. Why everying body pun LIB back and no one aint saying nuttin to Rok? Is it cause LIB is a foreigner?

10. @Ready Done
    “Rok you got to admit in those times black folk could not have been as liberal as we are now…”

RD, you making some good fodder for debate. I agree with the above statement and that is why when you consider that Garvey, who lived at the same time and in the same era, could collect so much money and fly in the face of the oppressors establishing a chain of restaurants, laundries, a shipping line, etc., is more than a feat.

Don’t let us just focus on the fact that he was taken down and on the shame and mocking that followed. It was people like DuBois that did that to Garvey, not even the Government of the USA.

Take a look at how ordinary black people felt about Garvey. When he was being deported and when he was in jail, Black people mourned. They thronged the pier to see him off. Garvey made a song and put it on wax. Phenomenal for his period.

This is also reflected in the way that Black people contributed to his ventures. They bought shares. UNIA was worth millions of dollars even back then. By construction, if as the lady said $5 was a lot of money in those days and the testimony of the historian that in one case, people put together 25 cents each that came to a stately $8, then consider how much of that was required to reach $1M. It is then you will understand how many black people were behind Garvey. How many 25 cent pieces it would take to make a million dollars? If that too small, how many $5 bills would it take?

When I sit and think about it, this man was a giant. When he was under threat of assassination, he travelled with body guards. I mean nothing short of amazing.

RD, you provided so much in one mouthful that I will have to deal with them in parts. That is the first one. Next to deal with DuBois.

11. Technician

He somehow feels the need for some reason to reply to the clear ignorance of ROK on most things

Those are fighting words, but somehow the Foundation in you and GP (in his case for one year) always rises to the top.

12. “Why everying body pun LIB back and no one aint saying nuttin to Rok? Is it cause LIB is a foreigner?”
    …Got that right!!

13. BAFBFP // August 23, 2009 at 8:12 AM

Sh*te BIMBRO, I ain’ na brain surgeon nider. Truth is I do know a brain surgeon and he ain all dah clever neither…! Ha.

Raasssss!! B, all I can say den is dat I very sorry fuh he clients!!

Laaaadddddddddddddd!!

14. @Ready Done
    “…this Dubois character seams to be from the time just after slavery, when people still had the pro-slavery views fresh in their minds, i suspect if Dubois was any more radical his life would have been cut short…”

Again, I will point to the masses of black people behind Garvey to deflate this argument. Pro-slavery views were a minority at the time and limited to the mulattos like DuBois. The difference between the masses of the people and DuBois was that he was privileged and considered a scholar. How many black people could have stood up to the intellectual capacity of a DuBois?

It would have been left to people like Garvey and Washington to interpret for the masses, but in the face of DuBois and the other educated traitors backing the oppressors, it gave the Government an excuse to move against the Garveys and shut them up.

I would posit that if DuBois had joined Garvey, there would have been quite a different outcome to our history. What Garvey started would have grown to become economic strength and power, which would have placed us in a superior position today.

The other factor to consider is that during this early time, Black people would have been closer to their African roots. This could only explain why the masses gravitated to Garvey and were willing to put up every cent they got towards the empowerment of their own.

In the matter of DuBois’ life being cut short, if you use that argument, it means that patriotic citizens would not go to fight wars. This was a time when men would have done anything to serve their country, including sacrifice their lives. Hitler (Nazis) would probably be ruling the world today because the whimpish rest of the world who feared their lives would prefer to live in bondage. The mindset was quite different to now.

Think about the Buffalo soldiers who fought in the Civil War in order to gain freedom. Many of us died in that war, so what is the life of a DuBois? MLK died trying and who was he assassinated by? Can we say that the life of DuBois came even close to the significance of a Marcus Garvey, or a MLK or Malcolm X?

According to your notion, he had life right? That was more important. If DuBois had kept quiet about Garvey from the comfort of his castle, I doubt very much that his life would have been in jeopardy… but he chose to scorn and humiliate Garvey.

But Garvey was not the only one he choose to cut down. He felt that only a particular type of Black man should lead Blacks. Garvey was too black and he was jealous of the strides Garvey was making because it made him look small.

The biggest problem with DuBois was that he had a great affinity for white people and he fell out with many blacks as a result of this love for white people.

For me there is no way that DuBois could be the so-called father of Pan-Africanism. Indeed many Pan Africanist have not only denied DuBois, but have nothing to do with him. They don’t quote him and many of those universities that teach black history courses, hold up DuBois as anti the black movement, especially because of his position that blacks should become as whites and accept and integrate into white society.

He felt like some black academics today, that black people without a white education was scum.

15. @ Sargeant…

True that!!
    On another note (sad) ..we lost a couple of stalwarts lately…Moby Dick and Enid Lynch..reunion was the bomb(as usual).
    Bruce ‘almighty’ Cossens is finally retiring…a lot to deal with this month.

16. @RD

I got to start bigging you up. Let them know that it is a question of communication and let them go and criticise the Americans for the way they have desecrated the English that many accept.

“Auguring amonuts ourselves”. I understand you hear and what you put up deserves a response, don’t mind them. I admire people like you who are brave enough to express yourselves in order to try to understand what going on in this world; and I have all the time for you.

17. @RD
    “the further away from slavery we get the more able we should be to come together as a people…”

I would argue that the further away we get from slavery, the less likely it is we will come together. We lose the connection to Africa and embrace what is forced down our throats. Right now, we lost the battle. Just look around and see. We now have our own Government and we are at least 90% black, yet we have no feelings for Africa and operate according to the white man’s world, which we have now become so accustomed to that we defend it.

We see Africa as in disharmony and nothing to be associated with. The white man on the other hand sees Africa as a source of abundance and wealth.

As Dr. Ben stated, if everything in the museums of Europe that belonged to Africa went back to Africa, there would hardly be any museums left in Europe.

18. Anonymous,
    You don’t see ROK showing off and ranting n’ raving bout who he know and associtate wid and where he go and who he lecture at UW and blah, blah, blah. LIB is a big show -hog and it makes ya sick man. It is nothing to do with foreigneer or local.

19. @David

I was just listening to the Minister of Education scolding those who would come to the polyclinics and end up assaulting a doctor or nurse.

I am now here listening to a reverend talking about the animosity levelled against church goers and he is saying that a large contributor to this display of disrespect for Christians is also the result of Christians feeling that they are somehow better and above non-Christians.

The principle here is the same as I have espoused in relation to the dynamics of domestic violence. It just is not a one way street.

I personally have experienced the lack of respect, more by the nurses and staff of the polyclinics and the QEH. Now if I was not conscious that if I answered them it would cause a noise, I would have ended up like that man that hit the doctor.

There is no sense of customer relations in the medical profession at all. Doctors deal with inarticulate people as they like. Giving them injections and medication without explaining to them that they have a choice. Only the educated escape the folly of medicine and even then, some of these educated have so much faith in the system that they too accept anything.

I believe that all this is part of purging the psyche of the black man. I do not believe that people just walk off the street with the intention of assault on their minds.

In the end, it takes two, not one and if the Minister was sensitive to this, he would also be talking about training for medical staff in relating to the public.

Take this example of a man asking the nurse if the doctor is at lunch. The motive here was that if the doctor is at lunch and he had something important to do, so he can go and do it and return. The response from the nurse was, you have to wait, your turn is next… but she continued. This is your health and you have to find time for your health cause if you dead, whatever it is you have to do will get undone. Really!

So the man humbled and ended up sitting like the rest of us for an hour until the doctor started back. he spoke to us waiting and said that he has a little girl on the street somewhere waiting for him and his concern was for her safety and what she would do because she did not see him.

There is no reason that the man could not be told that the doctor was at lunch and allow him to make a judgment. What is wrong with our people? As far as I am concerned that nurse disrespected the man and if he had retaliated by cursing and carrying on he would have been victimised.

I would not tell you about mine. I would just say that as dizzy as I was, I walked out of the QEH after pulling a drip out of my hand because nobody would tell me what the drip was for. I never went back. How they got it in my hand? I was in a coma.

20. @ROK

In this case the man who is accused of throwing the rock is said to be off.

Your substantive point stands however. There is this mentality thing with Black people when they hold ‘keys’ there is an inclination to see things one-way. It is the same with the doctors and other stakeholders in the private healthcare system which BU covered previously. We note Ellis had a program this morning which touched on many of the issues we raised i.e. the reckless raping of Barbadians by many in the medical profession. We said it Dr. Georgie!

Black people need to make that shift!

21. We are getting dates and times of influence mixed up here; I will not enter the “debate” but state a few facts for the record. Du Bois was indeed a “brilliant scholar” and that should not be undermined. I believe that regardless of the circumstances the truth should be told.

William Du Bois 1868-1963
    BA Fisk University Nashville.
    BA Harvard University.
    Professor of Greek & Latin, Wilberforce University Ohio.
    MA & Doctorate in History, Harvard University.
    1896-1897 Assistant Instructor Sociology University of Pennsylvania.

Marcus Garvey 1887-1940
    Garvey was charismatic and able to make contact with ordinary black people – as his travels across America seeking investment proved – but his business acumen was lacking, evident by his many business failures, in which many black people lost a lot of money, because of his poor judgement.

Garvey and Du Bois both aided the black cause in different ways; it is not necessary to denigrate one to praise the other.

I will not come back on this…please do not think I am being discourteous.

22. @Yardbroom
    “Garvey was charismatic and able to make contact with ordinary black people – as his travels across America seeking investment proved – but his business acumen was lacking, evident by his many business failures, in which many black people lost a lot of money, because of his poor judgement.”

OK, if I submit to you on the point of Du Bois’ brilliance, then your above is doing the same thing to Garvey.

I am going to refrain from the emotional part and try to discuss this in relation to the evidence that I picked up.

Garvey’s problems with management started when the sabotage started. He had then to find people who were loyal to him and the cause. These people whom he relied on did not have the knowledge or the experience and here was the downfall.

All of Garvey’s operations prior to the onslaught of the FBI were very successful to the extent that the masses had gained confidence in Garvey. Indeed, Garvey found himself in a position where he had to call in the police for some of his workers who stole money and who ended up testifying against him.

Garvey’s success was so powerful, that on a charge for fraud for only $25, The FBI felt it necessary to confiscate all the assets of UNIA both in USA and in Jamaica; more than a million dollars; a punishment that does not fit the crime.

Now, the evidence will show that Garvey was an astute businessman and knew exactly what he was doing.

First, with all that money, Garvey is reported to have lived modestly; “contented to eat the same thing everyday.” He was extremely honest in his dealings with people. The FBI bought all his friends. He got in a fight a fight with the Captain and some of the crew on the ship for dumping cargo at sea and bringing back the ship virtually empty. This was a competent captain who purposely sabotaged the operation.

Garvey was such a powerful and knowledgeable leader that nothing went right when he was gone and without him, nothing could go right because he was the one with the knowledge.

Let’s look at some of what the FBI closed down after Garvey was deported. Among them a chain of restaurants, a chain of laundries, a chain of Liberty Halls and a shipping line with at least three ships.

Except for the Black Starline, these enterprises ran for a good few years and only folded when the FBI closed them down. Further, while in exile in Britain, he ran a successful publishing company or printery until he died.

Therefore, to charge Garvey with being a bad businessman is certainly unfair and as far as I am concerned, pure propaganda that we should never believe. There is no way that the Government of the USA would have moved so resolutely to close down Garvey. If he was not successful, they would have simply left him to his downfall, but they could not allow that at all because it would have seriously empowered black people. Even while on the charge he was opening new businesses.

In the end, with all this economic activity all they could charge him with was a trumped up charge of mail fraud. Why then do we continue to diminish this man’s contribution? With all his brilliance, Garvey made a larger and more effective contribution in his short space of time than Du Bois achieved in his 95 years of life on this earth.

23. @Yardbroom
    “black people lost a lot of money, because of his poor judgement.”

Forgot to address this. Black people only lost their money when the FBI confiscated the UNIA properties and its money. Therefore the Government of the USA took away those people’s money and there was nobody to fight to get it back. So it was not because of any bad decisions on Garvey’s part.

This man has to be fully exonerated. As a matter of fact, there may still be a way to argue this point in the judicial system of the USA and have that money repatriated.

Let me say that at least one of Garvey’s son is still alive and looking well too. I met him at the 5th Summit of the Americas in T&T. Has to be somewhere in his 70s or 80s. A very humble man. As a matter of fact, I had no idea that I was in such illustrious company at first.

24. @ Yardbroom

I forgot that he also had a chain of factories. These were called the Negro Factories Corporation. Hope my memory is not failing me with the name.

There was also the Negro World, a newspaper which he made available in English, French, and Spanish and which was circulated at all the Liberty Hall centres, printing close to a million copies per edition; exact numbers failing me here too. I think I need to revisit this literature and continue with my research on him which I left off nearly 20 years ago.

25. This is how the silent army operates, you cant give them no ‘let’ at all, for $25 them take away almost $1 m, chaaaaaaaaa. how could this be justified?

Is it possible to get that back now? obviously the punishment does not fit the crime, but i bet every one dealing with this case was pro-slavery.

26. ROK
    I wish you well with your research on Marcus Garvey…I spent many years reading his works, letters, speeches as I did with Du Bois, Brooker T Washington and many others.

I will not denigrate him now to prove a point…I will leave it at that.

Perhaps we should credit him with the words:

“Free yourselves from mental slavery”

Words often thought first spoken – in context – by Bob Marley. In truth they were first spoken by Marcus Garvey in Canada.

Of interest: despite his – Marcus Garvey’s – calls for a return to Africa, he never once set foot on that continent.

The Ku Klux Klan was feared by black people…

“At the turn of the twentieth century, when W.E. B. Du Bois wielded his pen in the defence of a black labourer, Sam Hose, who had killed his land-lord in self-defence, the Klan would reveal what little difference his intervention would make. Du Bois wrote out a careful reasoned statement and was on his way to to the offices of the Atlanta Constitution when the news met me: Sam Hose had been lynched…they said his knuckles were on exhibition at a grocery store on Michell street along which I was walking.

*…On 25 Jun 1922, Marcus Garvey stopped off at Atlanta and did what no black person in America had ever contemplated: he headed straight for the offices of the Ku Klax Klan. The UNIA chief had an arrangement to meet the Klan’s Imperial Wizard which, when it was made known to the wider black public, would mark the most significant turning point in his popularity, as even his most ardent fans were confused as to what it all meant.”

Negro With A Hat The And Fall Of Marcus Garvey
    By: Colin Grant

27. As long as there are races they will be racism, its a fact.

As long as the institutions do not endorse this in any way i could accept that. Personal preferences are something that cant be changed, but laws can, and laws should be for the good of the whole nation.

What Garvey was doing was to set up a infrastructure for the black world to build upon separately.

DuBois wanted to integrate with the whites which up to now ent work yet because white don’t integrate they just preach it, that is the ‘silent army’ MO it is evident in how they move, if any institution is predominantly white once blacks arrive the whites leave and go some where else with out making a fuss.

I have heard of schools in Barbados that have 70% white people in them, this is in a country that is 90% black.

Can anyone verify this?

28. (correction)
    Negro With A Hat The Rise And Fall Of Marcus Garvey

29. Bonny Peppa // August 23, 2009 at 1:45 PM

Anonymous,
    You don’t see ROK showing off and ranting n’ raving bout who he know and associtate wid and where he go and who he lecture at UW and blah, blah, blah. LIB is a big show -hog and it makes ya sick man. It is nothing to do with foreigneer or local.
    ———————————————–
    LIB can boast about who he know and what he do, what has ROK done, who he know and who will invite Rok anyway to lecture to anyone to be embarrased.

Why is Rok seeking attention with his sant claus face on the blog and talking so much concentrated shite. I rather read and listen to LIB even though he is a foreigner. Rok has no class, no sense no pedigree! He is an uncouth mutt!

30. @Yardbroom
    “Of interest: despite his – Marcus Garvey’s – calls for a return to Africa, he never once set foot on that continent.”

Not sure if that is a criticism. However, the Captain of the ship is usually the last to get off. Does that take away from the effort he made? You are smacking of what you accused me of.

@Yardbroom
    “On 25 Jun 1922, Marcus Garvey stopped off at Atlanta and did what no black person in America had ever contemplated: he headed straight for the offices of the Ku Klax Klan.”

Garvey went to meet with what he thought was the seat of white power at a time when Black trembled at ever hearing the name of KKK. This is yet another unfair assessment of Garvey. All the talk about this being the fall of Garvey’s popularity is not borne out by the thousands that turned up to see Garvey off at the time of his deportation; They said what? About 25,000 black people?

I hope you understand my problem with black academics. Their psyche needs purging; always ready to put down a black man in the face of glaringly different evidence.

The research on Marcus Garvey has to get beyond what was published, because a lot of what was published left out a lot of what he had accomplished.

“”Free yourselves from mental slavery.” Words often thought first spoken – in context – by Bob Marley.”

Is that right? Bob himself attributed them to Garvey. When I was growing up on Bob Marley, it was not so much Bob himself but the words of Garvey that he, Peter Tosh and Burning Spear among others, used in their songs. It was these words that caused me to turn my attention to Garvey.

Those around me also knew, so I don’t know where you get that one from. This is what drove the Rastafarian movement, not Bob. As a matter of fact, when Bob Marley started to “commercialise” the philosophy, it was Bob who lost respect among Rastafari at the time. They were very bitter with him for it.

We need to get our facts straight.

31. @Anonymous
    “Rok has no class, no sense no pedigree! He is an uncouth mutt!”

Like most black good for nothing people right? You said that with class. “No pedigree”? You have that right? Dogs have pedigree too. Happy that I don’t have any.

32. “What Garvey was doing was to set up a infrastructure for the black world to build upon separately. DuBois wanted to integrate with the whites which up to now ent work ”

This is the man they say without education, but he went and he read and he understood sufficiently to make an objective opinion on the problem. He was able to extract the salient facts.

Just goes to show how we put down people of value because they may be simple or without academic qualifications; all of them are people of value except those that do not see the value of ordinary people and feel that ordinary people are ignorant.

Our psyches really need purging.

33. @ Anonymous
    “Why is Rok seeking attention with his sant claus face on the blog…”

All the talk, you hide behind a pseudonym to pelt rocks right? You are such a coward you can’t show your face. Your white mind is what seeing Santa Claus. I came before santa claus so you should see santa claus as trying to be me rather than the other way around.

Wonder if you even understand any of that??

34. ROK
    If you “Must” you have won this one.
    No hard feelings.
    Yardbroom

35. A mind is a terrible thing to waste Avatar
    A mind is a terrible thing to waste

Do spend some time watching Race The Power of an Illusion. Several parts of the PBS documentary is available on youtube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F3r2wYoHLRY

36. @David

Having just listened to my old school mate Trevor Marshall giving a speech on TV, I have to say that this topic is right on.

The highlight of his speech for me was when he said that he was agreeing that all the slaves went back to Africa at Emancipation and a whole new set of black coloured came down from heaven to replace them.

He noted that without planes and boats they all swam and managed to avoid shark infested waters on their way back.

LOL!

I must say though David, that CBC has vastly improved the amount and quality of its local content. At least for the past two hours, all I have been seeing on our TV is Bajans.

37. @Yardbroom
    I am not interested in winning anything. I would like to have a discussion that will help us address the problems in our society today and as this topic is addressing, the negative “Psyche of the Black Man”. It needs to be purged.

I just watch our PM on the TV and heard him saying, the past we should never forget, “We must keep the memory alive.”

I direct you to the comment of Ready Done, “DuBois wanted to integrate with the whites which up to now ent work yet…”

Of course two questions arise from this?

1. Why it ain’t work yet?
    2. What is the alternative

As Ready Done noted:

“…because white don’t integrate they just preach it, that is the ’silent army’ MO it is evident in how they move, if any institution is predominantly white once blacks arrive the whites leave and go some where else with out making a fuss.”

38. @ROK et al

To those who attack BU family members and BU for raising matters of race, we believe it is a mistake. Current realities support the view as a people, Black, White and the others have been shunning the issues like a plague. The BU household has followed the comments closely and appreciate those who have been providing helpful links and interjections to demystify many issues and in the process shed light on historical facts hitherto unknown by many. We are encouraged to continue our focus on the race issue this week.

Did we read Historian Trevor Blackman to say racism exist in Barbados TODAY? Please attack him too.

39. After rereading my post i realize i might come across a little ‘force-full’

I want to make it clear that when i use the terms white or black i am not referring to the actual skin colour but to the ‘mind set’ of the person.

To me someone can have black ideals with white skin or vise versa.

I my books they are males and they are Men. Men don’t see skin colour, they see potential friends. Men are leaders and always do good for all involved boys deal with childish agenda.

40. @ Ready Done…

Please sir/ mam…..take your foot out your mouth.

You were going fine until the bullshit apology.

41. If you look at this wikepedia link, you will realise that William Dubois came from the class of free coloureds (negro and mulatto) which existed in every slave society.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/W._E._B._Du_Bois

By the time slavery was abolished, the generation making up this society of free coloureds would have had had access to the experiences of their foreparents of fending for themselves and would have walked paths that varied significantly from those trod monotonously by the enslaved.

DuBois was about 20 years Garvey’s senoir, born 1868 according to Yardbroom, that would be a mere 3 years after the abolition of slavery in his country, USA, vs 1887 for Garvey, about 50 years after the abolition of slavery in Jamaica.

Each man would have walked significantly different paths before they came in contact with one another.

42. @John
    “Each man would have walked significantly different paths before they came in contact with one another.”

Exactly what is the point? I think I missed something.

43. @Technician that was no apology at school my best friend was white, i had some white people stay at my house for 2+years!! i know and love meny white skin people that genuinely seam to accept me as a man and not a ‘black man’.

In contrast i know many a black skin person that slave for the white system every day, they don’t even know it, some will even tell you they are racist towards white skinned people, yet contribute to the white system in some major way daily, i call these white too.

That is my definition of white and black. The racial problem stems not the race but the racist.

44. ROK
    Perhaps we have the same objectives but the way we set about achieving them is manifestly different.

I do not “hate” white people; so there is no doubt, I repeat, I do not “hate” white people.

What happened in the past – slavery – was wrong and cannot be excused, should not be forgotten, or dismissed in a casual fashion. However, as a black people – I am thinking of skin colour – we must adopt a policy of helping each other, our families, and most importantly the next generation of black children. It is through those endeavours, and “honesty” in the way we conduct ourselves and interact with others is the way forward.

I am not in the business of shouting loudest – not that you are – the men I admire Nelson Mandella, Dr. Martin Luther King, Steve Biko and a host of others were free of the inherent “hate” that is often vented. Facts, truth, honesty are what I care about.

I will “never” use my pen or thoughts to advance down the road of “hate.”

If that is not the feeling of others so be it. I speak the the “truth” as I see it.

45. @Yardbroom
    “I do not “hate” white people; so there is no doubt, I repeat, I do not “hate” white people.”

So that is why you feel hard to engage me on Garvey because you think I hate white people?

Let me say this, I have tested myself on a whole heap of occasions and I don’t think that I have the capacity to hate. I may be passionate in arguing my points but they are not based on hate but on finding justice, which don’t necessarily mean punishment, but balance and fairness.

I would risk to bet that many who would talk about slavery, etc. passionately are not hate filled, otherwise we would not have a tourism industry with all them white people coming ’round here.

Even the beach bums go about their activities with heads on and as much as you would see them draw up under a white woman, behind their backs you would be hearing descriptions like, “White f***ers” and would curse them in a flash.

I keep reiterating, we may be angry but we are not haters. If we were there would be a race war going on all now and people like COW would have to crawl back to Ireland.

Check the reconciliation hearings and see how black people literally embrace their attackers with tears and forgiveness.

The real problem is that white people in denial and that stirs up even more passion and anger, but still, not hate. If white people of today were not so guilty and in denial, the atmosphere would be a bit different.

Even though they are in denial, there is no attempt to make them extinct. These are indicators that hate does not exists in our black society. Listen to black people and hear what they are always saying, “We want justice and equal rights” and we will not get it until we clear the air and purge our psyche of the indoctrination which we underwent.

As far as I am concerned, white denial is so they can keep their riches and their status. Up to today they are the ones still perpetrating the hate and the discrimination. That is what we are fighting against and in the most peaceful manner possible, we are inching forward and we need to recognise that. To hell with them if they are in denial, let us do what we know we have to do in order to lift our spirits and develop to our best potential.

46. @Yardbroom
    “I admire Nelson Mandella, Dr. Martin Luther King, Steve Biko and a host of others were free of the inherent “hate” that is often vented.”

They could not be effective if the masses that followed them were looking to perpetrate hate. You are strengthening my point. We are not disposed to hate. We would prefer kill one another than kill them.

47. Interesting enough Dr. Sebi states the diet black people are currently on is not the right diet, he compares black and white to gorillas and polar bears. Gorillas eat a vegan diet where as polar bars eat mostly meat.

He says this western diet that blacks were forced on offsets the natural balance that we once had, and therefore we cant find peace with our self.

There is some scientific evidence in this, it is a fact that 8 years after a western type diet is introduce into a new land diabetes and all types of never seen before diseases appear in the indigenous peoples, it is all so a scientific fact that the inner body functions require a certain pH to operate at optimal, and the western diet is too acid leading to a whole host of other problems.

48. [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=COEtkNjhjLU&hl=en&fs=1&]

49. He CURED AIDS?

50. @Ready Done

Don’t mind them, you headed in the right direction. It is all the food and the chemicals and genetic modification that also adding to the diet problem.

Even the ones that turn to veg and leave the meat still end up in problems when the eat the Soy Chunks, granules and big franks or links because they made with genetically modified soya beans and full of chemicals to preserve and give them the texture.

On another blog there was a young lady complaining that she did everything right; leave out all the fast food and ate wholesome foods but still end up with cancer.

Nothing better than your local foods, hear; things grown in your country because then you know what you eating. It is called food security. Stop buying those imported “plastic” bananas that look pretty on the outside but green on the inside and look for ones grown in Bim.

Let Themis know that it is not about cure, it is about prevention. What cure what!