Submitted by ROK

Above is a clip about Dr. Yosef Ben Jochannan’s perspective on the race card. Should we stop trying to be Rhodes Scholars? Hear who was John Rhodes. Also Dr. Ben spoke of our pregnant women being split open using horses so that the babies dropped out of their bellies.

My problem with those who would say that we are using this kind of information to spread hate should understand that these are facts. They are part of the historical record and if the white man did not inflict such atrocious acts on the black man, we would have nothing to talk about today. In the circumstances, the hate started with them. Yet our attempt to get it out of our psyche is being resisted by them. What does that tell you? It isn’t over yet!

Further, how we could be sure that they are still at it? The Rhodes Island Scholarship that has become so prestigious and that we line up to get, is named after a white man that massacred 50 million black people in South Africa according to Dr. Ben. His testimony is on the clip.

Dr. Ben is also insinuating that the first Jews were from Ethiopia and were black, so how come we associate Jews with a particular race of people? When we look at our economies for example, we see the damage that IMF did to those who accepted it and Barbados that did not, is doing far much better; although not the best.

HIV/AIDS and all the diseases that are targeting us were white man made. All the drugs that the big drug companies convincing us to fill our bodies with seems coincidental to the new wave of asthma, heart diseases, diabetes, etc. in our young children; would make it seem that the killings are still going on but in a different way.

The Rwanda genocide is a rather strange event. Even the Rwandans don’t seem to be able to understand what got into them to cause that slaughter. If this was sparked by the media, who authorised it? I am hoping that people watch the video and wake up. This is not a call to arms but a call for each black man and woman to do his/her duty to preserve our people. We are still under threat of extinction. Stop taking the drugs. Farmers need to start gathering their own seeds and we have to stop importing chicken eggs to be hatched.

We still have a lot going for us that we need to preserve. We still have our golden apples, sour-sop, mangoes, ackees (ginip), fat pork, guavas, dunks, sugar apples, yams, sweet potatoes, green peas, etc. but those crops like carrots, beets, lettuce, sweet peppers and the ones we get out of the supermarket that our farmers buy seeds to grow, we should try to get rid of them; purge the plants and start gathering the seeds and growing and developing a natural strain and ban the importation of seeds to corrupt our crops.

Apart from food security, we have to deal with health; those doctors with test kits need to stop buying them. Throw them through the door (gradually). We need to develop an herbal industry based on the herbs that grow naturally here. We need to look and see what is not yet corrupted and preserve them. It is one great conspiracy based on greed that started way back then. There are indicators to tell us that the conspiracy is still on. For example, the difficulty with black businesses getting loans from the banking system; the way the banks bounce checks and refuse to give businesses overdrafts; the suspicion with which the black man is viewed in general even by our own. Finally, the way our country is dictated to by the imperialists.

All of this is based on racism and unless we stand up against it, we will never be unshackled.

1. Look!! I missing someting hay?!! Bonny, why would Bowman keep referring to u as a man! I mad or he?!!

Laaaaaadddddddddddddddd!!

2. Oh Robin Hood, what a load of CRAP.

3. BABFP

… talk about confusing.

ROK

What I interpret some of the words to mean is that some people, be they “black” or “white”, are guilty as hell ….

… but some of the words also simultaneously seem to indicate that all “white” people are guilty as hell and no “black people are as guilty as hell.

…. which contradicts the first meaning!!!

What person in their right mind would discuss a topic where the meanings of words change on a whim …….

…. not that I am saying I am not in my right mind … mind you …. for continuing this discussion …. but then again I might not be … and that is for you to figure out.

4. Bimbro
    Ah boy, I just polish off a bowl a breadfruit cou-cou, wid a nice thick saltfish gravy an two slices a sweet patata wid some grated cucumba. Want some? Ya tu far.
    Look doan mind dah pussee-hole Jack. I feel dat he got feelins fa me but I doan like likkle balls.
    Bonny is as female as she cud evva be. Two breast and a pokka- pokka. Doan mind de clown.
    He is de desperately alone ole man wid blue balls.

Ashloch (german for asshole)

5. @J

Ben did deal with the black woman. Serious:

6. Yes Robin Hood

Zoe always brings sound spiritual sense in his submissions!

He takes from the riches of his master and offers such riches to the poor (sinners). So he is not guilty of the errors that the racists on this blog trying to spew.

7. @ Bimbro
    Quoting: Bimbro // August 19, 2009 at 5:13 PM
    “Look!! I missing someting hay?!! Bonny, why would Bowman keep referring to u as a man! I mad or he?!! Laaaaaadddddddddddddddd!!”
    Bonny is a guy. Sorry about that. And I want to say something witty. Here it is: Laaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaddd!!!
    Now, was that funny, or what?

8. I am sure it was not your intention but your posting kind of sounds as though its subtly designed to be racially against the white man.

Identifying facts of history cannot be racist against the perpetrators of this history. That is an oxymoronic statement. Is it racist when European Jews vent on their experiences arising out of Nazi Germany.

It was Europeans who held blacks in bondage in the West for centuries, broke up their families, burned them, whipped and hung them. It was Europeans who who took black youngsters by the feet and slung them against posts crushing their brains when their parents were not compliant. The idea that despite this one sided history it is a case that all groups were racist at some time is absolutely ludicrous. That in itself is a racist slur against people of African descent

9. Not just ‘racist’ Ruel, its violently criminal…!

10. @Anonymous

“He takes from the riches of his master and offers such riches to the poor (sinners).”

poor sinners? You mean black people right?

11. @BAFBFP, then go and start your own (Black) private utilities; and your own (Black) importers of food; etc, etc; as surely there is enough wealth collectively within the Black community, as is indicated by the “savings” in the Credit Unions, hundreds of MILLIONS of $$$, not to mention the enormous percentage of ‘Savings’ from the same Black community in the Commercial Banks, whose figures range, according to the Central Bank, between I Billion and 4 Billion $$$, this surely cannot be the white man’s Savings, Term Deposits, and Fixed Deposits, I would venture to assume that most of these funds, are from the collective working class community of ‘Blacks’ who are reluctant to venture into areas of business and commerce, and who, IF they would come together in a cohesive, trusting way, could very well by now, own and control many large companies, real estate, etc, etc.

Who, may I ask, is to blame for Blacks being so passive in not coming forward collectively and using their wealth, otherwise stored away in Credit Unions and Banks, is it the ‘white’ man to blame for this as well?

Paradoxically, even the very white Bajan, just like the Black Bajans, have stood quietly by, as other ethnic groups, in recent decades, have decended on B’dos, and bought up tons of real estate, businesses, and so on.

And, yes, BAFBFP, it woulds be far more instructive to view what has been, and currently is, ‘Violently criminal’ throughtout the world, as whites make other whites ‘shite’ as Blacks make other Blacks ‘shite’ as do ALL other races and colours of mankind, for the problem, HAS NEVER BEEN ‘colour’ NO WHERE in the Bible, God’s Word, is colour ever referred to, BUT SIN, as there IS NO such thing as BLACK SIN, or WHITE SIN, or BROWN SIN, or YELLOW SIN, you are so prejudice, that your feet are firmly planted in ‘mid-air’ unable to see the trees from the forest! You will ultimately self-destruct in your own folly, just like Rok!

12. @Zoe // August 19, 2009 at 9:11 PM

Very well said, Zoe!

When I saw the report on the figures of the amount of money in savings accounts (credit unions/commercial banks) the obvious conclusion to be drawn was that the majority of all this money belonged to “non-whites”!

13. Shoot..!

If I say something to Zoe she might take it to mean that her comments are worth reading… What do I do? Oh no..

Robin Hood you have no brain…!

14. @BAFBFP // August 19, 2009 at 10:23 PM

Well, my good friend, I must say it takes one to know one!

15. I have made the point in the past that we do not define black and white and discuss the terms according to those definitions and this creates confusion.

I have also suggested that the terms Black and White have been used for political ends and are very much virtual constructs.

Here is an editorial review on Amazon.com from a book entitled “Whiteness of a different Colour” which deals with the concept of the white identity ….. but as applied to the American experience.

I have not read it but it looks like it would be a good read. Not sure how much I will agree with when I read it but looking forward to the experience.

I have never really sat down and thought about what or who is white and what, or who is black.

It isn’t that I have not used the terms or heard others use them it is just that they seem so imprecisely defined and open to interpretation that they defy logical thought.

Editorial Reviews
    Amazon.com Review
    When we speak of race, we tend to categorize nonwhite people into rigid classifications–but how is whiteness itself determined?

Yale American Studies professor Matthew Frye Jacobson looks at the American construction of whiteness out of its polyglot European immigrant population.

In 1790, United States naturalization law granted citizenship to “free white persons”–which meant, mostly, those of Anglo-Saxon descent.

Thus, Celtic-descended Irish immigrants were discriminated against.

As the U.S. population became more culturally mixed beginning in the 1820s, with an increase in immigration from non-Anglo Europe, the nation experienced “a fracturing of whiteness into a hierarchy of plural and scientifically determined white races.”

In other words, people who came from Poland, Germany, Italy, and Greece, as well as Jews from many nations, all became, by virtue of the “melting pot” ethic, “Caucasian” whites. But, as the graphically racist cartoons reproduced in the book show, the creation of whiteness was–and is–by no means an easy, continuous process.

Jacobson details the political assault on white racism that culminated in the civil rights movement and cites the contemporary “revival and denial of white privilege” in the United States. Although he expresses doubt that a dismissal of white privilege will happen anytime soon, he does hope that in “recognizing the historical fabrication, the changeability, and the contingencies of whiteness, we might begin to look in a new way upon race, the power relations it generates, and the social havoc it wreaks.” –Eugene Holley Jr. –This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

Review
    Whiteness of a Different Color offers an unanswerable demonstration that the historical whitening of European immigrants intensified “race” as the marker of a white/black divide. Jacobson challenges at once the revival of the Caucasian racial category and the real inequalities to which it points.
    –Michael Rogin, Robson Professor of Political Science, University of California, Berkeley

In this fascinating book, Jacobson traces the development of racial identity in America. Between the 1840s and the 1920s, racial differences and hierarchy between Anglo-Saxons and other white ethnic groups were given great significance. “White ethnics” were generally considered as distinct and inferior to the original Anglo Saxon immigrants…[Whiteness of a Different Color] explodes the myth of the American melting pot. Jacobson demonstrates how white racial inclusion was inextricably linked with the exclusion of non-whites and, interestingly, how their widely-recognised whiteness is partly due to the presence of non-white groups…This is a thought-provoking account of an often overlooked topic.
    –Claire Xanthos (The Voice )

Whiteness of a Different Color tells us about the varying, and inevitably failing, attempts to come to terms with the concept of “whiteness”, which, despite its vicissitude and inconclusiveness, was, and still is, one of the most important notions in American political culture…True to his “identities” as historian and American Studies scholar, Jacobson’s sources are tremendously varied, ranging from novels, films, print journals, to legal records, colonial charters, and state constitutions…The book’s argument is most convincing.
    –Christiane Harzig (International Review of Social History )

[Matthew Frye Jacobson’s] analysis of the European immigrant experiences, American racial classifications and “their fluidity over time” is a valuable addition to the flourishing genre of “whiteness studies” in the fields of labour and working-class history…Racial categories and perceptions, Jacobson argues, are cultural and political fabrications, reflections of power relationships in a society that has periodically needed to construct (and reconstruct) an “American” and “white” identity out of an increasingly polyglot European immigrant population…Whiteness of a Different Color is a subtle and sensitive exegesis and deconstruction of the immigrant experience in American culture.
    –John White (Times Higher Education Supplement )

Jacobson builds a history of how the category of “whiteness” plays in American history…His goal is to demystify, and the tone he takes does exactly that. Wry and often sarcastic, his bite is sharpened by his ability to pick out the dark, unintentional humor from his sources.
    –Willoughby Mariano (New Haven Advocate )

Jacobson’s important book helps to fill an important gap in the literature about the history of European immigrants assuming different racial identities in the United States…Because of its broad sweep of history, Jacobson is able to reveal previously ignored ways in which anti-racism coalitions have succeeded without yielding to assimilationist ideology.
    –Louis Anthes (H-Net Reviews )

Jacobson has written a provocative, nuanced account of American race formation and especially of the way in which many American immigrants from Europe were cast initially as “nonwhites” in the late 19th century…Using a variety of sources, including film and fiction, Jacobson concludes that whiteness is clearly a socially constructed category infinitely malleable as a political tool. This historical survey is highly recommended for all libraries.
    –Anthony O. Edmonds (Library Journal )

This groundbreaking book advances the study of white identity (both as category and as consciousness) significantly. It takes intellectual chances and makes the risks pay off.
    –David Roediger author of The Wages of Whiteness

Whiteness of a Different Color is nothing less than a powerful synthesis of American history. Viewing the U.S. through the prism of race, Matthew Frye Jacobson re-writes “immigrant history” and, in the process, discovers the key to America’s past and future.
    –Robin Kelley author of Race Rebels

16. "*Adviser to the President*" Avatar
    “*Adviser to the President*”

17. Laaaaaaaaaaaaaaad!! Bonny, dat put e in e place!! Uv got to wonder where people get these strange ideas, in the first place!!

Sorry, too far fuh do coo coo!! Sounds delicious!! Watch out for the diebetes, though!! and all those carbs!!

18. Jack, ‘no, it’s only funny if I say it’!!

Laaaaaddddddddddddddddd!!

19. He still purging?!!

OMG!!

20. Listen, when I wus back home as a kid, d bes solution for purging was senna-pods, if I rememba korrekly! So, dah is wha I recommen fuh, ‘Sir’ ROK!!

Laaaaaaadddddddddddddddd!!

21. ‘Mornin Dave!! Nice mornin hay ‘a Londres’!! – in London!!

22. Jack, sorry mate, but now uv heard it officially hay from Bonny, herself!! “Ur a porkey”!!

Laaaadddddddddddddddddddd!!

Bonny killing me hay, dis morning!!

23. An ROK, sorry I in crazy bout bakes, even though I know u are!! Hope it’s not a hanging-offense!!

Laaaaaaaaaddddddddd!! David??

24. Bimbro: You get lonely over there pon mornings when the rest o we still in our beds? You ever thought about getting yuhself a pet? Perhaps a Parrot or a Mynah Bird? The two of you could talk and talk. You could teach it how to say Laaaaaaaaaaaadddddddd! Just a suggestion.

25. David: I know the technology must be baffling you but please, it’s kind of silly for all my posts to say “Your comment is awaiting moderation” when it in fact is not…..it posts the minute I hit submit.

26. John // August 19, 2009 at 11:31 PM

Awright den…!

Look closer at Barbados/Caribbean where the attempts attaching privilege to physical characteristics are even starker. There is White and then there is poor White. There is White and then there is White Trash. Segregation as a motive in the “New World” is a sickness that White people have been trying to maintain in this part of the world for eons.

The most recent, visible and obvious example of a separatist agenda, and a source of major embarrassment for me is The Blue Box Cart Crop Over Band. What an obnoxious exhibition of racial segregation that is tolerated in a festival that is supposed to be about togetherness.

How could there be any major movement in inter-racial relationships when Whites prefer to remain so fucking clannish! From St. Winifred’s School they graduated to Harbour Lights and most of the women would rather marry an import than take a local Black seriously.

Give me a break with this blaming Blacks nonsense!

27. John // August 19, 2009 at 11:31 PM

Awright den…!

Look closer at Barbados/Caribbean where the attempts attaching privilege to physical characteristics are even starker. There is White and then there is poor White. There is White and then there is White Trash. Segregation as a motive in the “New World” is a sickness that White people have been trying to maintain in this part of the world for eons.

The most recent, visible and obvious example of a separatist agenda, and a source of major embarrassment for me is The Blue Box Cart Crop Over Band. What an obnoxious exhibition of racial segregation that is tolerated in a festival that is supposed to be about togetherness.

How could there be any major movement in inter-racial relationships when Whites prefer to remain so f@cking clannish! From St. Winifred’s School they graduated to Harbour Lights and most of the women would rather marry an import than take a local Black seriously.

Give me a break with this blaming Blacks nonsense!

28. Mongoose, yuh know, dah in a bad suggesshun!!

Laaaaaaadddddddddddddddd!!

However, a girlfren (preferably a Bajan) would be more ‘comforting’?!!

Laaaaaaaddddddddddddddddddd!!

Boom! Boom!! As we Brits sometimes, say!!

29. Ok BAF!! Yuh made yuh pint!! Twice!!

Laaaaaaaadddddddddddd!!

30. Laaaaaaaaaaaaaad

31. Laaaaaaaadddddddddddd!!

32. BAFBFP,
    You are just simply HUMOROUS,
    JACK DE RAT BOWMAN,

You are just simply HUMUS.
    Now tek dah and go an play wid ya know wah? Ya likkle blue balls and ya likkle teeny-weeny.

Bimbro,
    Bonny is watch she carbs just like she is watch she weight. Evry time she look in she mirra.Gotcha.
    Doan mind de p-hole Mongoose. He is anudda khunt, just like he frien, de human rat. I doan kno why de two a dem doan go and look fa two lil pussies to chase cause de two a dem can’t satisfy na other size pussies. Meowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
    Ya sah I killin ya hay dis mornin? Boy, what is life without a joke nah?

33. Bimbro,
    Pat is who call he ‘de hairless porkey’ not me, hear.
    I would nevva insult my porkey like dat. Not me.
    Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

34. Ya sah I killin ya hay dis mornin? Boy, what is life without a joke nah?

Bonny, ur so right!! I caan b too serious too much uh d time, boa!! What’s d point! We all soon gun ded, anyway!!

Bonny Peppa // August 20, 2009 at 8:52 AM

Bimbro,
    Pat is who call he ‘de hairless porkey’ not me, hear.
    I would nevva insult my porkey like dat. Not me.
    Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Laaaaadddddd!! Bonny, it too early fuh me to consider such concepts bo!! I might get a heart attack!!

Laaaaaaaddddddddddddd!!

35. What’s up with BFP!! They seem very miserable ova day!!

36. BAFBFP // August 20, 2009 at 6:22 AM

John // August 19, 2009 at 11:31 PM

Awright den…!

Look closer at Barbados/Caribbean where the attempts attaching privilege to physical characteristics are even starker. There is White and then there is poor White. There is White and then there is White Trash.

White trash seems to be an American term.

Poor white is a term that seems to be attached to descendants of Celts …. Scottish/Irish … who came, or were brought to Barbados and their description owes more to their position on the fringe ….. not negro slaves, and not controllers of resources.

“Black” and “White” seem to be terms that are more American in origin and seem to be almost unrelated to skin colour, … atleast “white”.

Barbados never went through any industrial revolution in the 1800’s unless you count the change from wind to steam in the processing of an agricultural product, sugar, in the latter part of the 1800’s.

We never had competition for jobs between emancipated negroes/mulattoes and immigrants from all over the world.

Historically we seem to be more familiar with descriptive terms such as dark skinned and light skinned, not “Black” and “White”.

“Black” and “White” seem to be terms that were introduced to Barbados and sometimes are used to indicate the difference between rich and poor, priveleged and non priveleged.

Sometimes they relate to skin colour … dark and light,

….. sometimes to ehnic origin, African, European,

…. sometimes to all of the above.

Not many people would even try to discuss terms with so many meanings.

37. What we seem to have here in Barbados is classes and I am not the first to say this.

Here is an attempt to explain how those classes may have come about.

In Barbados at emancipation, besides the “Poor Whites” who were free there were also Negroes and Mulattoes who were also free and whose ancestors had accumulated perhaps a century of experience integrating into the free society that existed.

I know that 10% 0f the 6000 plus persons who made returns of slaves they owned were described as either Free Negroes or Free Mulattoes, the Right Excellent “Sarah” Ann Gill included.

I know this because I went through the returns. They are available on ancestry.com.

These I think would automatically have a headstart but they would also have need of spouses which their limited numbers could not easily supply.

The freed slaves were faced for the first time with having to integrate into the free society and fend for themselves.

They would have needed alliances ….. marriages ….. which made them more upwardly mobile.

Those alliances ….. marriages …. were a minority but created a growing number of people of mixed ancestry.

Because of their connections, they are a “cut above” most of the freed slaves when it comes to access to resurces and mobility in society.

They progress …. show up more and more as merchants on Roebuck Street, shopkeepers in villages, begin to enter the professions and do better by society’s standard than the agricultural labourer who remains on the lower rung of the ladder as the owned negro or mulatto did.

If you look at some coloured families in Barbados post emancipation, there are usually many spinsters and bachelors who may have had expectations placed on their choice of spouse besides love and compatibility.

These were placed by themselves or imposed by parents.

Thus, ellisisland.org shows many young single women, and men who left Barbados for America.

I admit that could also be explained by the movement of many young males to Panama and the bleak economic prospects in Barbados.

I think trying to understand society as it exists in Barbados today is far more interesting and complex than reducing it to “Black” and “White”.

38. BAFBFP i never seen the blue box cart band, i is be at the other end, with the revelers, part i is feel at home, lol, i could imagine being a white person amounts all of those blacks i would feel out of place, definitely, but the tourist don’t seem to mind, only local bajan whites. the numbers of whites in Barbados is so small, i wonder if them is deal with arranged marriages, the gene pool is so small i wonder how them is do it with out inter-breeding.

39. Ready Done // August 20, 2009 at 10:04 AM

BAFBFP i never seen the blue box cart band, i is be at the other end, with the revelers, part i is feel at home, lol, i could imagine being a white person amounts all of those blacks i would feel out of place, definitely, but the tourist don’t seem to mind, only local bajan whites. the numbers of whites in Barbados is so small, i wonder if them is deal with arranged marriages, the gene pool is so small i wonder how them is do it with out inter-breeding.

Maybe what you see as “White” really isn’t “White” at all!!

40. @John

I think you need to sit down and study what it is to be white. You are all over the place with different shades of white and black. All you doing is studying the dynamics that operate in the society without understanding that there is order to chaos.

Think about being a white man. For example, if I were a white man I could walk into any office including the Prime Minister’s office and get a good reception.

I could walk into any bank and get a loan because I have money on all of them. When I travel the world over I do so with a certain amount of confidence that I am a preferred traveller. In any case, if I get into any scrapes, I have the money to get out.

I could take off tomorrow and travel any place on this earth; all through Europe and see my ancestry. I can get away from black people by going to restaurants they can’t afford. I have access to Sandy Lane or any place in Barbados without fear of being accosted.

I could watch black people and see what are the lucrative markets and invest in them and because of this I could steal any black man’s idea and make it work for me because he don’t have the needed investment.

when black people fighting up over essentials I can relax because I well off. When they can’t get breakfast or eating corn pap I eating in over abundance the best for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

My cousins are the white Europeans and being economically powerful in Barbados it opens doors that even the Prime Minister can’t get through. When black people fighting with low order employee for their rights, I enter the offices of the top bras and get what I want.

As a white man, I would not have much to care about and I would be leaving all those black ignorant people to fight among themselves for the scraps; like throwing scratch grain to chickens. I learned how not to get into their political debates and laugh at them; all wind. When I ready for the Government, money talks and all the political debate resolved one time cause I learned also how to corrupt politicians by tempting them with money. So at the end of the day, I get what I want.

I teach my children how to deal with black people and how to remove their bowels if they come near. I teach them to shoot and keep a small arsenal just in case.

All in all, when I look at my life in Barbados, I would conclude that I am one lucky and happy man, well insulated from black people that cannot get along with one another and I would have nothing but pure contempt for black people.

41. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@ROK
    Can I just WHY a black man (and I see myself as one, and every one I have ever encountered has seen me as one) cannot:
    -walk in the PM’s office and get a good reception
    -get a loan from a bank because he has money in [all of–not necessary, but] them
    -take off tomorrow etc.

And the rest?

I have had no need to do any of these things but I am ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN that I CAN DO THEM ALL.

If a black man can do those things then what is he (I’d like to implicate black women too, so they are included)?

I, being a black man in Barbados, could say equally (if I wished) that I could live my life well insulated from white people: there are not so many of them, and they are highly visible, so I can do the avoidance quite easily. (Let’s not get into the problem of those who run restaurants or happen to be at the airport when I travel.)

If I can do all you say a black man cannot am I living elsewhere, or are there some distinct worlds that exist?

I am really confused.

42. ROK

By today’s standards, this is imagination.

I think it arises from the days when a person belonging to the upper echelons of society never appeared in public dressed or behaving in any other way than “proper”.

To a poor person who never was present to see any different, the image presented was one of control and the poor person bought it.

Little did the poor person know the pressures that went with the appearance and only saw and aspired to the appearance in public.

The appearance was a con and many Barbadians still haven’t come to terms with the substance of the reality.

Sometimes I wonder if the need Barbadians have to dress up and look good isn’t related to their ancestors being taken in by this con and passing on flawed thinking on form and substance.

The First World War and the Machine Gun and Heavy Arillery disabused the people of Europe of this charade.

The priveleged who were brought up to lead were mown down and blown to bits like the underpriveleged who were brought up to follow.

They all discovered, at least those who were left, that the distinctions of privelege are more often than not, burdensome.

Like any sensible human, they shed their burden.

43. livinginbarbados // August 20, 2009 at 11:38 AM

If a black man can do those things then what is he (I’d like to implicate black women too, so they are included)?

++++++++++++++++++++++

By ROK’s logic he would be “White”!!

…. you are confused because the meanings of the word’s “Black” and “White” are being changed.

You seem to be speaking in terms of skin colour, ROK doesn’t, but I could be wrong.

44. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“By ROK’s logic he would be “White”!!
    …. you are confused because the meanings of the word’s “Black” and “White” are being changed.

You seem to be speaking in terms of skin colour, ROK doesn’t, but I could be wrong.[I came to the same conclusion, which is not a trivial problem. As I travel the world and have to classify myself, I find that they only take note of skin colour when classing me as ‘white’, ‘black’, etc. I know that there are views that say the skin colour is only a part of the reality, but it is a very clear pointer to most persons.

When my children are in the US system and apply for scholariships, even though I may not like the system, it will look at their skin colour. I do NOT HAVE AN OPTION but to go with what my skin shows.

I just cast my mind on to a police APB. “Calling all cars. Be on the lookout for a man who looks black but is really white inside. Do NOT APPREHEND. Repeat….” I really like satire and I think I could have a winner here. I really do.

Do you remember Blazing Saddles, where the ‘black’ cowboy puts his own arm around his neck and points the gun at his head. He warned the ‘white’ onlookers “One step and the N***** gets it…”?

45. Ready Done // August 20, 2009 at 10:04 AM
    I worship you…! LOL

46. Bonny, do u agree with me on the theraputic benefits of senna-pods and recommend their utilisation by a certain Sir, ROK?!!

47. John // August 20, 2009 at 10:39 AM

Maybe what you see as “White” really isn’t “White” at all!!

Yep! Here we go again. White people in Barbados are not quite White, Dey be Bajan White. What a load of crap. If it walks like a duck and quacks, it’s a f@cking duck..!

I am sorry in the same way that White people view “High Brown” as Black, to me there are no degrees of Whiteness either. This Pure White, Celtic White,
    Trash White, Red Leg White is white sh@te! It makes the whole concept of a unified Barbados even more difficullt.

48. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I am waiting for the definitive word from ROK. But, just logically, how do I deal with a simple 3 peerson household of people who are ALL BLACK–same skin hue for simplicity–and we have to say that behind the skin is the ‘real’ colour. So, my Dad may be ‘white’, and my Mother is ‘black’. I opt for schizophrenia and can be one or either or maybe both? That’s confusing enough.

49. @LIB
    You stay confused. I really not going to be dealing with any shades of grey. I wrote of the white view; and shades don’t matter here. What matters to them is bloodline.

See if you can do any research because racism is in the genes:
    1. How many white Bajans are married to black Bajans?
    How many white Bajans are married to foreign whites?
    How many white Bajans are married to their own family?

You may best find what you want in those results.

50. @LIB
    “So, my Dad may be ‘white’, and my Mother is ‘black’. I opt for schizophrenia and can be one or either or maybe both? That’s confusing enough.”

You can bet your bottom dollar that such people are truly confused. Imagine that evil is your “father” and good is your “mother”. Then you understand the confusion.