Submitted by Sylvan Greenidge, Press Secretary to former Prime Minister Owen Arthur

Prime Minister David Thompson (l) Political Strategist Hartley Henry (r)

Like the young Calypsonian Sheldon Hope, who penned a beauty in this yearโ€™s calypso competition, many Barbadians can sing loudly, โ€œMy Character Intactโ€. Can Hartley Henry aka WIV say the same in light of the attached letter sent by Jennifer Laszlo to Prime Minister Bird of Antigua & Barbuda?

No man is an island and it seems that we all do beg for something at some point in our lives, but what we beg for and how we beg for it is important. Of even greater importance is what we do when we are denied the thing we beg for.

The attached letter gives a heart wrenching account of what Hartley did when he was denied the thing for which he begged Jennifer Laszlo. It must have been a frightening experience for Ms. Laszlo who apparently is accustomed to conducting herself and her business in a professional manner to have found herself for the first time face-to-face with a sex maniac and moral degenerate.

Can you imagine that this kind of moral depravity surrounds the person who holds the second highest office in our land? Is this a case of โ€œbirds of a feather flock together?

โ€œA man is not defined but his work but by the content of his characterโ€.

1. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH,
    I think you can try to suggest an obsession with blog traffic, but obsession is hardly the word that will apply. As David and I have discussed, there are certain blog activities that suggest that building up blog readership or traffic is not an end in itself–you yourself point that out, and said nothing further when that point was raised. You pointed to revenue/advertising potential.

One thing about law suits, as far as I know, is that it is up to the person filing to determine who will be the other party/parties. One can step as one wishes or tries but it does not mean escape. I know that by being party to threads I may be construed as being liable too. It depends what charges are laid.

Now, if (hypothetically) I were to lay a charge or two, then I would know who are my targets, and make sure that I have each and every step carefully tracked. The courts would and should ask for facts.

There could be awkward questions and anonymity can only stretch so far–unless someone is a true hermit. But when someone has let it be known where they live and what they do (as I have, but so too have others–and Boston is not that big, really), and can be identified by pictures (as I can, and some others commenting here have done) then the trails are easier to track.

2. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@MUBB
    I should also have explicitly pointed to you too in the previous thread, given your observation.

3. Adviser to the President
    ‘The DLP is doomed’.

Ya yard FROG.
    croakkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk.

LIB
    You leave a trail of ………shiteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee ya mean.

4. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@MUBB
    “There is something strange afoot with this person”[There is. I am known to be who I am. Mighty strange.]

5. Dear Sylvan Greenidge you wrote “the person who holds the second highest office in our land? ”

The second highest office? Really? Really, really?

How come nobody told me this?

6. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

To draw my thinking to a logical conclusion. I find it mighty strange that David Thompson would say what he did about Kerrie Symmonds and have Hartley Henry as a close advisor, if the allegations against Mr. Henry are true. It would seem like a shot that is aimed right at his own foot. So, assuming that the PM has no intention of doing that, where do we go? I say, give us the real story, if there is one. If I am proved wrong then Mr. Hartley will presumably be another ‘political personage’ who will be appearing in a court.

J makes a point that I had pondered since I saw the referenced item. I look again at the DLP structure and ask myself “Oh really?”

Time for some economics and Looking Glass. You know where I will be next.

7. Why do we always seek to apply literal translations to all things?
    In any structure actors will exist who have significant influence on decision making, such a position in the formal structure may not reflect a commensurate position in the formal structure.

8. "*Adviser to the President*" Avatar
    “*Adviser to the President*”

TO BONNY PEPPA

You are Blog Humbug. A blooging blogging humbug.

9. When the DLP surrogates who continue to hurl invective at Mottley, Arthur, Mascoll et al you were so quiet!

Hopefully those BU family members from the legal fraternity will guide us in this matter.

If DLP is hurling abuse can they take return fire?

If both sides wish to clean up their act BU will accommodate.

@David,

I’m cool with any criticism of Bees or Dees or PDC’s. Its your blog.

Up to you.

I am suggesting that whereas I am told that Sylvan Greenidge normally posts as Royalrumble, perhaps you should refelect that on this occasion he used his name and former title. That makes all the difference. Better to be thought of a fool and remain silent etc.

I would have cautioned you if it were otherwise as well. I like your blog too much to see it tempered unreasonably or brought into disrepute. But I leave it there.

As to LIB, what’s the problem this man has with the PM? He has a very roundabout way of hitting at him. Heard him after the Budget building up straw men and knocking them down. He used the phrase, “I don’t know but…” about thirty times. I’m always cautious when I hear that.

Saw on his blog that David Thompson single handedly destroyed the economy! More straw men.

(I wonder if he read Charlie Skeete, a most respected regional economist and statesman, in today’s Sunday Sun. Not one to be trifled with at all!)

Now he is trying to link David Thompson to someone else’s personal life and unsubstantiated claims. As far as I recall, HH took out a full page ad to respond to the JL letter back in that day and that was that. Sylvan is looking for diversions and LIB seems, for some strange reason, to be an out and out apologist or antagonist.

The Bees deported the woman!!! Now they rely on her letter? Crazy to me.

10. @Veritas

BU is responsible for the title attached to Greenidge. We had hoped Greenidge would have made an appearance to clarify some matter. As always the BU family will judge.

11. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I am looking beyond the literal and going to the implied–which would negate the literal.

12. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant
    “I find it mighty presumptuous that you a private citizen would make an inquiry to the British High Commission about the entry status to Britain of another private citizen and โ€œpolitical advisorโ€”[I did not say my enquiry would be as you stated. I asked what I said I would and the answer was “No”.]

13. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Veritas
    Nothing in politics or economics sits in nice neat partitions. You cannot say “I am not talking about unemployment today” and expect the unemployment issues to dissolve.

Anyone linked directly to the PM (or other high ranking person) takes the PM’s (or said person’s) image up or down with him/her. That’s all. Not rocket science. Look back at Obama’s problems with Cabinet members he selected and what happened a their personal problems surfaced.

14. Veritas you may have to do MUABB and ask why does the Jamaican/Johnny come lately see it fit to attack HH on such a flimsy set of arguments and no proof. What with comments about what would or should interest the US and UK governments, and even volunteering to to make mention of Hartley, and a letter to British authorities. Wuh if this doesn’t show clear intent to destablize the GoB I don’t know what is. It is only fair that that the same be brought to bare in this meddling foreigner fool.

15. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I’m not familiar with the Bajan Constitution, but when I read “I have verify that he [Hartley Henry] is associated with the US Democratic national party.” Jamaica has problems with MPs and some officials holding allegiances to foreign powers. This sounds similar, but I do not know if this would be an exact parallel.

16. livinginbarbados // August 16, 2009 at 2:40 PM

Iโ€™m not familiar with the Bajan Constitution, but when I read โ€œI have verify that he [Hartley Henry] is associated with the US Democratic national party.โ€ Jamaica has problems with MPs and some officials holding allegiances to foreign powers. This sounds similar, but I do not know if this would be an exact parallel.

————————————————
    What an Idiot.

17. Mr.President,
    Because I’m not singing the same chorus as you? We’re not in the same choir, Froggie.Croakkkkkkkkkkkkkk

As my 4yr. gran would say,
    ‘You don’t scared me”.
    Can’t get her to drop dat ‘d’ on scared.

Just like I can’t get you to ‘drop-dead’.

18. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH
    At the risk of saying that you are holding the wrong end of the stick–dare I suggest a deliberate misreading? My argument is that the ‘evidence’ suggests that the claims against Mr. Hartley are baseless. If that were proved in court to be otherwise, I would go with what the law says.

19. This is a waste of blog entries. The letter is dated in July 1998. We are in August 2009- 11 years 1 month. I think the success or lack thereof of the summer camps is more worthy of discussion.

20. LIB, but Hartley Henry is not a Cabinet Minister. You have swallowed Sylvan Greenidge’s propaganda hook, line and sinker that he is the number two. He is merely an Adviser! There is much difference here. Do you want a few examples?

21. @ David,

Obviously Greenidge is now a bit cautious. If I were him I would ask that the comment be removed. But that’s his affair. I am advised that he has walked this road before much to his personal peril.

22. So what happen if Hartley beg fuh piece. Everbody knows what he is and those sexual advances were expected but I will never believe the treats.
    All wunna beg already and got wunna own skeletons in the closet. Leff the man alone yeah!

23. a woman tell me she curious to meet big fat mia. i wonder why but she would not tell me.

24. Thompson must concern himself with his own soul.

His only concern with HH should be the quality of the advice he is getting from HH and whether the advice will help him to stay in power.

All have sinned and come short of the glory of God

25. "*Adviser to the President*" Avatar
    “*Adviser to the President*”

TO BONNY PEPPA

Check your self before you wreck it because You are terribly mistaken

26. Mr.President,
    stupseeeeeeeeeee, you again? I runnin out a tings ta tell you man, so I surrenda. You win dah bout. OK.

Jennifer,
    Ya wicked but I luv um. We all know how ‘real’ men act in the company of the female. Some or most just luv ta beg. Is up ta you to accept or reject. I deal wid it daily in my work, even some old, feebly, half-senile ones. That is man’s nature i guess. To hunt down and attack his ‘prey’. Now if ya is a bulla, dah is anotha story fa anotha time. Hartley in de fuss or lass.

sylvan,
    ya mischevus but I curious to know why too. We cud only guess.

Anonymous,
    Can we get an ‘amen’.
    Hallelujahhhhhhhhhhhhhh, ma brother.

27. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Veritas // August 16, 2009 at 3:38 PM
    “LIB, but Hartley Henry is not a Cabinet Minister. “[I think I dealt with this at 2.54pm. In Jamaica the issue did not just touch cabinet minister but MPs and certain other public offices. Depending on what the Constitution says, allegiance to a foreign political party could be a problem. But I do not know. In a substantive sense it does not bother me.]

28. No, it is not an issue here. In Jamaica it is the swearing of allegiance to a foreign power by a Jamaican citizen who wants to be elected.

A Jamaican born in the US and with US citizenship could conceivably not find themselves in that position (since their US citizenship is as of right and they do not have to swear allegiance) but a Jamaican citizen who subsequently applies for US citizenship has to actually swear allegiance.

But that only disqualifies you as a legislator not in any other capacity. The constitution specifically sets out the qualifications to be a Member of the House. It would not even disqualify a Minister who is a Senator.

There is no constitutional provision on who can be an Adviser. Lionel Luckhoo (a Guyanese) was our first British High Commissioner. Barbados has foreign advisers in the US and Canada and the UK who are not Barbadians.

29. There is a section of our Constitution “Qualifications for Election to the House” and similar provisions exist in other ex-colonies.

30. Veritas the malicousness of the Jamaican’s intend towards HH is obvious to me. This is why I didn’t respond to his silly comparision to what pertains in Jamaica regarding US permanent residency/citizenship and being a minister of government. That he would “now come to town” and have to inform us “shiftless” people about something that none of us knew about HH. Dam idjiot.

31. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Veritas
    You may be correct regarding Barbados. I repeat, I’m not lawyer, etc. However, the Jamaican situation is somewhat more complex than you suggest and ‘allegiance’ has several categories (see http://www.constitution-and-rights.com/support-files/allegiance-jamaican-constitution.pdf). I repeat that I do not know how affiliation to a foreign political party, and that being the ruling party of a country, falls within the various definitions. It is also a matter of how things are viewed going forward, eg if said person were nominated for a Senate seat or parliamentary candidate.

32. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Again, I see the day begins with reading skills at a low. Can anyone find more than one (the preceding) reference to “regarding US permanent residency/citizenship and being a minister of government”?

David, was some of the thread deleted so that I could not find another reference?

33. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

It’s well known that people in power do not need to be experts in many or any things. It’s important they get good advice and know how to use the advice they get: Ronald Reagan is one of the famous exponents of this. So, the choice of ‘advisor’ is not a trivial matter.

Look at the people with whom Pres. Obama has surrounded himself, and those whom he has chosen to consult but keep at arms-length. These choices, obviously, get noticed because they signal many things. In Obama’s case, was he displaying good leadership, decisiveness, integrity, favouritism, etc.

So, from where I sit, the machinery of government is all that fits together to make it work, the parts we see and the parts we dont see (the ‘powers behind the throne’, or the ‘nightime visitors’ as they are often called in various languages). Advisors are often too powerful for most people’s liking, and are often made up of persons who are not elected or vetted by any representative bodies, so are not held or bound by anything very much. They are often appointed for purely political purposes–and it is very explicit in most systems (see the UK and US).

If you are discussing governance and accountability seriously I do not see how you can turn a blind eye to those who fill such positions.

34. The Jamaican/johnny said..
    Jamaica has problems with MPs and some officials holding allegiances to foreign powers

Section 40 of Jamtown’s constitution only speaks about allegiance and also mentions the 4 main ways a person may owe allegiance to a foriegn power. But that is Jamtown what the hell does this have to do with Barbados, HH, and our Government?

So how does one “hold allegiances to foreign powers”????

35. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH
    “But that is Jamtown what the hell does this have to do with Barbados, HH, and our Government?”[Dare I suggest that you note, Veritas // August 16, 2009 at 8:21 PM:
    There is a section of our Constitution โ€œQualifications for Election to the Houseโ€ and similar provisions exist in other ex-colonies.? Depending on what it shows, therein would lie the answer.

“So how does one โ€œhold allegiances to foreign powersโ€????”[In the Jamaican Constitution, it states: Third, aliens while residing in a country owe ‘local allegiance’ to the country of their residence. Now, can you think of, or do you know anybody that could be in that category. I know I am as far as I am living in Barbados. I think you do, if you are indeed living in the USA.]

36. Now tie that constitutional provision back to my comment that I have verified that HH is associated with the DNC. If as you would have us believe that the term “allegiance” in Jamtown’s constitution references other or several catogories of allegiance does any of them refer to associations? When you are done, ask yourself does HH meet the requirements in Jamtown’s or the ex colonies constitutions with regard to elective office? what about his associations with politcal parties throught out the caribbean? clearly the intent here is to find something, anything that can bring concern and attention to HH which by extention would effect the Prime Minister of Barbados. A meddling foreigner by any definition. I think your activities in Barbados needs to be scrutinize. It might be that if Jennifer Lazlo can be kicked out of Barbados, so to can you.

37. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH
    Some very good questions but not on my docket for today. I look forward to the really inquisitive locals to answer so that the answers are less tainted. I need to get a new page for my disctionary–the one with xenophobia is all worn out now.

Being kicked out of Barbados should only really be a threat to a Bajan, as he or she has no other place to call home. A Jamaican, has Jamaica, the Briton, has Britain.

I wonder why some people rest on their brooms abroad. Of course, aliens can be kicked out from wherever they are thought of as undesirables. I love the symmetry of the world.

38. HH on assuming his current role have not renewed contracts with regional governments.

Does anyone know who was Tony Bliar’s last campaign manager? Was he a Brit?

39. The Jamaican Johnny said:
    I look forward to the really inquisitive locals to answer so that the answers……

what were “shiftless” black people on June 16th are today “inquisitive locals”. Your 3 or 4 really intelligent bajan friends are not available today?

40. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH
    As one who likes to shift the light away from himself, I have moved on and shown that in the Jamaican Constitution you would be deemed to have allegiance to a foreign power. So why worry about Hartley in that context, and not deal with your own case? I think the psychologists call it ‘projection’.

While you may wish to appoint yourself to high office, you may actually be disqualified from being elected or nominated. You may unwittingly be in that situation and I can hear the groans now of how you were unfaired and did not get your chance to be an MP or Senator. So, ponder that, mon frere.

41. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

BTW, I think the last few days have given a good amount of information to suggest that you may be harrasssing people. Now, in many places that is frowned on and even deemed a crime. So, the question may then be how do we go about nabbing you. We have to determine if you are who you say you are and live and work where you say you do. If only I had your powers of search it would be much simpler. But I am nothing if not a willing learner. Let me see now. Aha. We have a picture of a baseballer. That’s a start.

42. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

My friends are still here. They run their own businesses, so they call the shots.

The two ladies watch the Kerrie Symmonds video and gave it a spin that I did not see. “OMG! They’re having a fight. Listen to that. Scratching and stuff. Like cats. Sounds like a jealous tiff.” I never would have seen that myself and that may be because I am not Bajan. I should post this in the other thread.

43. What would be the point of looking at me or my actions under the Jamaican constitution? Never visited the place, don’t have any intentions too. Have no wish to appoint myself to any office high or low, here, there, or anywhere. I am happy with my natural role of active voter citizen. I know not of what situation you speak. When I want to accomplish something, I always look at the rules, the instructions etc. and use them to my satisfaction. Understanding the laws, rules and regulation of the societies you live in, is what i recommend to all. I have used Tax and immigration laws of Barbados, US, and Canada to resolve personal issues and enhance relationships etc. My son has citizenship in three countries as an indirect result of combating the hardships of a distant relationship Which I might add has just entered it’s 18th year.

and who is this WE that will need to know of me? Who are you working for with? why are you in Barbados? the truth now! lol!

Harassing people? you have not seen anything yet. lol!

Do you need more photos of me?
    Do you need my telephone number?
    Do you need my current location and address?

All these things I have posted on BU, and the Labour party wordpress blog in the past.

44. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH
    You never know what others may have in mind for you, especially as you indicate later, you have been a loyal party man. So, one never knows when complications can arise. Look at Tim Geithner. He should have known that he ought to regularise his IRS affairs, and then because he did not he gets into all sorts of pickle when nominated to be US Treasury Secretary. Those of us who worked with him at the IMF knew of his case and assumed he had followed the advice given.

I hope that you have resolved your personal affairs to your satisfaction and have not had to deal with mischevious people seeking to make things harder for you.

I really appreciate your offers below. It would save searching, and you know that such things can be time consuming and also error ridden: there are many ‘Adrian Hinds’ and pinning information to the wrong one would be unfortunate. Again, I look forward to your sharing, given that you have in the past said that was not your intention. It shows how we can all change for the good.

“Harassing people? you have not seen anything yet. lol!”[The repetition is not helpful, but you wrote it.]

“Do you need more photos of me?
    Do you need my telephone number?
    Do you need my current location and address?”[Yes, please. Please post here, so that all can see the same and I can avoid any accusation of fabrication.]

“All these things I have posted on BU, and the Labour party wordpress blog in the past.”[Maybe, but always better to go directly to the source.]

I hope you were serious.

45. @AH
    You never know what others may have in mind for you, especially as you indicate later, you have been a loyal party man.
    ————————————————–
    chuspe. when did i say I was a loyal party man? which party bosey?

The next time you visit Boston or any other north east US city I will visit with you. I think you need to appreciate the difficulty you will encounter with your attempts to intimidate me. lol!

46. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I have not and do not wish to follow Adrian Hinds around, but for those who know him this may be no surprise. I would seem that he is a BLP man. If correct, then what has been admirable to witness is how someone who appears to be a supporter of one party can stand side by side in the defence of an opposing party person, even one accused of actions that would normally be snatched upon by poltical opponents.

Is such a stance possible more generally?

Those who do not think that collaboration is better than confrontation should help us understand why such collaboration has been exhibited. We can all guess, but better to hear some cogent reasons.

47. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH
    I guess I only know of loyal party people having their information posted on party web sites (you mention Labour Party wordpress blog). You see why it’s better if you state clearly so that we do not misinterpret.

But now you confuse. I suggested we meet in Boston. You very firmly say nyet, kamarad. You even went as far as to repeat the nyet. Now, for a reason I guess you will explain you propose we meet. This on/off, hot/cold business is confusing. I will presume that you are joking as your previous position (like WIV’s denial was stated I think the requisite three times). Three strikes and all that…

48. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Frankly, AH, I am more worried by the notions that you want to intimidate (your words “Harassing people? you have not seen anything yet. lol!”) and then bristle like a brush at what you perceive as intimidation–though I do not know from where you get that idea. You do not seem to want to play fair.

That is worrying for a person who claims as you do certain patriotic values etc. You also indicate allegiance to people but could, it seems, turn fast if you feel cornered. Would anyone feel comfortable with you in their trench?

49. What does Tim G have to do with me? If Tim did not get an appointment know one would have cared about his tax issues, none of which I have. I have no interest in serving in government local, state or federal, neither do I have any intent on coming back to Barbados to perform any role. I have had two issue with the IRS one had to do with filing for my foreign born and at the time residing Wife and son, and after I responding by sending them the relevant tax code that ligitimize my tax filing that was it. The other had to do with a judgement for unpaid state tax due to the non-filing of a state tax form. After respoinding with proof that I had not lived in the state for 3 months of the year in question, the judgement was suspended and action null and void.

50. worry? you aint see nothing yet. lol! All is fair in love and WAR. lol!