Submitted by Sylvan Greenidge, Press Secretary to former Prime Minister Owen Arthur

Prime Minister David Thompson (l) Political Strategist Hartley Henry (r)

Like the young Calypsonian Sheldon Hope, who penned a beauty in this yearโ€™s calypso competition, many Barbadians can sing loudly, โ€œMy Character Intactโ€. Can Hartley Henry aka WIV say the same in light of the attached letter sent by Jennifer Laszlo to Prime Minister Bird of Antigua & Barbuda?

No man is an island and it seems that we all do beg for something at some point in our lives, but what we beg for and how we beg for it is important. Of even greater importance is what we do when we are denied the thing we beg for.

The attached letter gives a heart wrenching account of what Hartley did when he was denied the thing for which he begged Jennifer Laszlo. It must have been a frightening experience for Ms. Laszlo who apparently is accustomed to conducting herself and her business in a professional manner to have found herself for the first time face-to-face with a sex maniac and moral degenerate.

Can you imagine that this kind of moral depravity surrounds the person who holds the second highest office in our land? Is this a case of โ€œbirds of a feather flock together?

โ€œA man is not defined but his work but by the content of his characterโ€.

1. I was wondering when someone would remember that Hartley is not as squeaky clean as he is pretending to be! He should take his mouth out of other people’s business considering his reputation throughout the Caribbean and I dont mean as a Political Strategist whatever that is

2. I wonder who should really resign now?
    Kerrie Symmonds or Hartley (W) Henry?
    Don’t bother to even ask me what the”W” stands for, use your cognitive powers.

3. Can always tell when the political temperature starts to rise.
    With the BLP placed on the defensive with the Kerrie Symmonds matter and the DLP scenting blood the BLP will seek to fight back.
    The next couple weeks will show the kind of political savvy which Mottley has under the hood.

Wasn’t the Lazlo matter adequately responded to in 2007?

4. If you live in a glass house, don’t throw stones…….love that song ๐Ÿ˜‰

5. Dear Robin Hood:

Does “W” stand for wutless? or “wuss” or “wussie” or “wuhloss” or “wuh ya tellin’ me” or “what” or “who”

Come on tell we nuh. We tired o’ guessing.

6. Robin Hood,
    “W” stands for whimsical, witty, wonderful,winsome, well-to-do,well-built.
    I guess rite? Had a mind so.

7. It sounds like Mia getting back at the Dlp, all lies and deception the most powerful weapon of the Blp.

8. Wishing In Vain Avatar

This hungry Parro Sylvan Greenidge, has gone to the war front with the enemy using M16 guns and this clown is attacking them with water ballons.

My, My, My what an insipid idiot.

Not even worthy of a reply the hungry one waiting for the meals of parliament, what I know for sure is that your party is in a state of confusion with the dishonesty that followed you in office following you out of office, just as Kerrie resigned for cutting up his former wife’s car seat Mottley should step aside for her vicious acts ofl abuse against the ones of her same sex.

Maybe you can speak to this matter more directly as it is very clear to all and sundry that Mottley is not fit to hold the post of Leader of the Opposition after this gigantic step as was made by Kerrie, it paves the way for Mottley to RESIGN and do the party a favour and let the party heal and grow again but with her drifting around the post she is HALTING ANY PROGRESS FORWARD.

9. Indeed David, but why you giving prominence to BLP old stories? Dem aint got nothing new on Hartley? Everybody knows to keep duh girl child from around Hartley, but the BLP willingness to call up old stories on Hartley only shows his effectiveness in keeping them on the backfoot politically.

http://labourparty.wordpress.com/2007/01/09/lazlos-claims/

10. @AH

The BU family can judge for itself.

11. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@David/Sylvan Greenidge/Wishing in Vain
    I know that some people (eg ROK) have said that I have a lot to learn, and I agree.

How do the following comments reconcile themselves?
    From ‘So Much Like America’:
    Wishing In Vain // August 9, 2009 at 1:18 PM

Let me enlighten you, WIV IS NOT HH first thing WIV is a civic minded Barbadian like HH and maybe we share the same political program, I fully supported the eviction from office of the BLP who were reaching new highs in their level of corruption.

Secondly I am in no way motivated to visit or discuss anything with you or your blog, so end of story.
    From current post:
    “Can Hartley Henry aka WIV say the same …?”

Please advise who is telling the truth. Many thanks.

12. Wishing In Vain Avatar

How does it really affect you livinginbarbados ??

May I ask you what part of anything spit out by the Parro In A Suit Greenidge is honest, sensible or worthy of comment ???
    Zero Nil ABSOLUTELY NOTHING

I am not Mr Henry But I do admire the uproar he manages to get these BLP scoundrels into, Mia Needs to go for unity to be recovered within the BLP, go for it.

13. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@WIV
    “Wishing In Vain // August 15, 2009 at 3:57 AM

How does it really affect you livinginbarbados ??

May I ask you what part of anything spit out by the Parro In A Suit Greenidge is honest, sensible or worthy of comment ???
    Zero Nil ABSOLUTELY NOTHING

I am not Mr Henry But I do admire the uproar he manages to get these BLP scoundrels into, Mia Needs to go for unity to be recovered within the BLP, go for it.”[First, you made a statement, which you have repeated, that WIV and HH are not one and the same. However, Mr Greenidge contends that they are. David did not edit the piece to remove that reference so we have a conflict of facts. Depending on how that is resolved, I at least (and I hope others) can draw some conclusions about the truthfulness and credibility of both you and Mr. Greenidge. I think that is extremely important.

Invective does not truth make.

I’m not sure if you make a 3rd denial whether that would have a significance of biblical proportions. The cock has yet to crow where I am, so you still have time.]

14. WIV, don feel any need to address anything this Jamaican put on the table. We bajans trying to have a conversation amongst ourselves. lol!

15. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Adrian, how strange that you would choose to put yourself in the way of a search for truth and clarity. So, very strange indeed.

I must look again at some much-used words like democracy, governance, accountability, if time allows.

16. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Do I detect the arrival of another self-appointment as umpire?

17. Getting back to a question we asked earlier. How did Henry respond to this matter when is surfaced last? BU is struggling to recall.

18. …..this BAJAN umpire rule the Jamiacan to be out of order, would have preferred out of country.

19. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Which matter? The Laslo matter or the identity matter? On the latter, HH was silent but WIV was vocal.

20. Whether it is on the BU blog or in the Barbados Advocate, Mr. Hartley Henry writes nothing but foolishness, irrelevancy, and puerility in the main.

It surely makes Mr. Henry looks good – but falsely so – when the said BU blog, the said Barbados Advocate, and some others in Barbados often refer to this former mediocre journalist as a regional political strategist. But, what brainless hogwash it is to describe him in that way!!!! For, he could NOT even strategize for a beach club, or advise a community outreach club to break a dead man’s bones. What regional political strategist what!!

For, ever so often when one scans the man’s submissions to the BU blog, one sees NO scientific academic pedagogical substance at all, at all, at all, and relective of any kind of deep philosophical reflection or examination by him of any sort, or suggestive of any rigorous social research done by him or any one else, or indicative of any profound knowledge of any serious historical literature or works sourced from any particular area of social political study inside or outside of Barbados.

Instead, mainly pure political prose and narrative bordering on what a friend of party would refer to as absolute intellectual crack, and, as such, just intending to serve as gristle for public rumination. Hartley Henry, be off and go to the ant thou sluggard and consider your ways and be wise.

Mr. Henry thinks that when he writes and phrases clearly – which is something he often fails to do in his column however, that that is very important in order to get across his very shallow points to readers and to make them satisfied. But, do you know what? His style of writing and its impact on readers have become so stunningly diminished since the DLP won office last year – and have become so much evidence of his being the veritable ugly louse that he is, that one could NEVER EVER escape the conclusion that he has EVER and WILL EVER READ WIDELY OR STUDY DEEPLY ANYTHING.

Where does he ever display serious critical thinking skills in his submissions on here and in his Barbados Advocate column? Where does he ever so often highlight any ideological philosophical arguments made by any political or social theorists scientists from any where, alive or dead, in his column? But who – in any social discourses – really cites what he writes as a columnist or some so-called regional political strategist – outside of small political circles?

But it is said – Birds of a feather flock together. In some senses, does he NOT at times remind of Mr. Thompson, the Prime Minister, when he debates in the House of Assembly – lacking in intellectual substance and rigour? One wonders how people like Henry and Thompson have surfaced to the top of politics in Barbados!!!

When it comes to the subject of columnists, though, we must state how we miss the late Gladstone Holder – that once brilliant mind. How we miss the late Oliver Jackman, for his very consistent urbane thoughts!! And what about the late Janette Layne-Clark – a literary giant. And too what about Dr. Waldo Waldron-Ramsay – that superlative writer and thinker? Even Dr. Leonard Shorey, Mr. Jeff Cumberbatch – very learned gentlemen who have had columns too in the Brbados Advocate.

Therefore, as a media columnist, Mr. Henry really pales in contrast to those learned ones mentioned above, and believe it or NOT, there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING OF SIGNIFICANCE that one can learned from Henry’s writings in his column. What a shame!!

Down with Mr. Henry, and the damned DLP and blasted BLP too!!

21. Now AH when you say things like that, you really lending credence to this xenophobic foolishness you know.
    What does LIB being a Jamaican have to do with anything?? We are all peoples of the Caribbean aint it ?? Some live here some live over an away!!

22. What a difference a change of Government makes.
    Under the Barbados Labour Party government, Mia or Owen would have sent two or three policemen to round up Kerrie wife, threaten her life or pull her in for a vaginal search and that would have been the end of the court proceedings.

23. One question: Did the BLP ever publish Ms. Laszloโ€™s letter in their weekly column?

24. Hard driver, yours or anyone else’s definition of xenophobia isn’t necessarily shared by me, and if I aint feeling it then it aint so. LIB is Jamaican, I am not, and there is no Caribbean nation of which him and I are citizens of.

I gine assume that if you where contact Jennifer Lazlo she would deny any knowledge of that memo. De women probably got her money, and done wid that. To get at HH the BLP risk being a champion against sexual harrassment, and we know this is not the case, nor is there any love or support for Lazlo whom they kick out of Barbados.

Indeed anon, Andrea would not have dare do such a ting with the red shirt people in power. Then again it could be argued that with the red shirt people in power she would have been most contended. lol!

25. Sargeant // August 15, 2009 at 9:18 AM

One question: Did the BLP ever publish Ms. Laszloโ€™s letter in their weekly column?
    ———————————————
    Sarge which one that?

26. These ‘people’ really catching at straws just like ‘de proverbial drowning man’.

Living in Bim,
    Also look up the words nuisance and humbug and you can apply them to your portfolio.
    We getting real tired with your long, drawn out self-portrayals.
    Yawnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.

Adrian,
    You in lie.

27. AH
    There is a linked letter in the article submitted by Sylvan Greenidge allegedly by Ms. Laszlo. I just wondered if it ever found its way into the BLP column.

28. I got yuh now Sarge. No way could they count on Lazlo to substantiate that document. They treated the woman like an alien from Mars. Kick she out de country and ting and now using the women name to attack someone else. Dese red shirt people would use duh own mudduh to further their narrow interest and cause.

29. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

If we could cross threads, so to speak. In this discussion, we have two contradictory statements that I’d like clarified. I have had a repeated denial from one party (WIV), no reply from the author (SG) and no comment from you (moderator/editor).

We have a problem of what ‘absence’ or ‘presence’ of something means, I think.

30. To those that think this thread is about what they want it to be about and not about the contents of the article,…..WIV accuses Sylvan Greenidge of being one Royal Rumble, and in turn WIV is accused of being Hartley Henry. Royal Rumble and WIV are regular posters to BU and are known to be partisans to the red and blue parties respectively. There is no case of contradictory statements in need of clarification.

31. @LIB

Let BU be very clear, we will never speak to the identities of those who prefer to comment on issues anonymously. BU’s credibility as far as our sources go hinges on it.

32. As I walk amongst the people in Bridgetown and the market places and I listen to their comments I note with interest their satisfaction at the decision taken by Kerrie Symmonds to do the honourable thing and resigned from the Senate.

Yes ladies and gentlemen he stepped down from public office.

Recently the Speaker of the House of Commons in Britain, Michael Martin resigned when questions about the allege misappropriation of public funds surfaced and in the USA a public figure resigned when he was caught out in an extra marital affair.

We pride ourselves in Barbados on upholding the best traditions of the Westminster model. It is because of those traditions that Mr. Symmonds and Mr., Michael Martin placed their resignation on the altar of public scrutiny and accountability. In fact, the Commonwealth is replete with good examples of what men of honour do when they find themselves embroiled controversies that calls into question their credibility and ability to execute their public duty in a responsible and transparent manner.

Can somebody please tell me why this morally depraved; sex addict Hartley Henry is still flaunting himself up and down Government House and in and out our House of Parliament when such hard credible evidence of his unsuitability for public office is so well known? One can hardly escape the stench that permeates the air as he walks by โ€“ the obvious stark reminder of some overnight sexual escapade.

Hartley Henry should be shame to even show his face in public. Clearly, Barbadians still have a long way to go in determining and defining what character of person should hold public office. It is sickening in the stomach to see Hartley flaunting his filthy self all about the place while some of our young people are at DODDS for doing far less.

33. Royalrumble,

Can you please tell me if Mia, de biter, is still in office.
    Just curious.

34. Looks like both parties are exploiting a family issue and the probable disintegration of a political career for partisan political gain. Thompson already had his say now the BLP spokespersons are focusing on the spectre of H Henryโ€™s supposed โ€indiscretionsโ€.

Now is a good time for the public to focus not on political agendas, but on the not so secret issue of Domestic Violence in Barbadian society. There was a time that it was thought to be an issue which affected the โ€œworking classโ€ but as the woman in the โ€œgated communityโ€ (who the police refused to assist) can confirm it reaches into all areas of society.

The courts both criminal and civil must be filled with cases of domestic violence, we may hear of those incidents that make it to criminal court but we donโ€™t know of those which end up in Divorce court. People who divorce may just want to simplify their lives and use โ€desertionโ€ as their complaint while the โ€œdiscretionary statementโ€ may have the real reason for the divorce. As far as I know the โ€œDiscretionary statementโ€ is not available to the public.

35. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Greenidge you should consider to do as you request of Hartley to do as you are a dishonest bastard without morals as per your leader and really not decent enough a person to be considered seriously on this blog or anywhere or anyhow.

Any man that finds his every day lurking and waiting to be fed at taxpayers expense and then fusses when this DLP gov’t decides to save the taxpayers money by working late but passing on parliamentary dinner but you want to fight because you were disappointed but a lack of a meal is a very sad statement of a lack of upbringing and an absolute lack of class.

When we speak of Police and courts you would know this aspect of Barbadian life only too well having been taken to courts before and some may suggest more of the same is on the way for you as I understand you have some unpaid bills confronting you.

Have you retuurned or paid the Hams, Turkeys and Hampers set aside for the needy in our society but were stolen by you and Bovell from the NAB?

You and your party have NO BASIS TO LECTURE ANYONE ON WHAT IT RIGHT AND WHAT IS WRONG YOU LOT HAVE BEEN PROVEN WAY TOO CORRUPT TO LECTURE ANYONE.

36. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Bonny Peppa // August 15, 2009 at 10:52 AM

Royalrumble,

Can you please tell me if Mia, de biter, is still in office.
    Just curious.

She does not want to vacate the office but one way or the other she will be vacated with force and to vacate with force usually means with a lot of hot air.

SHE HAS NO SUPPORT FROM AMONG HER MEMBERS ZERO SUPPORT SHE IS VERY LAME DUCK.

As we speak her selection process to replace Kerrie is being mulled over with Bradshaw the girlfriend of the man behind the fraud of HARDWOOD HOUSING TONY HOYOS telling Mottley today that she must the chosen replacement and if not she she will withdraw her support, trust me Mottley has real problems right now the BLP is a rudderless ship in an ocean of rough seas and unless they can find a Captain with a level head they may submerge to the bottom of a very deep and wide ocean (no I was referring to Mottley as deep and wide)

At least under Owing people knew their position and never challenged him or his position.

37. @WIV

How would you know what is being deliberated behind closed doors? Don’t take the BU family for fools.

38. Wishing In Vain Avatar

David in recent times nothing is closed doors with Mottley it is as I speak about it not hear say but a fact.

Much like Dalton Lovell blistering her and telling her that he is an Arthur BLP and he is no F___king Mottley BLP, things are very much out there in the open, you seem not to grasp that there is a break down going on within that group with Dale Marshall and Owing pulling a lot of strings.
    At least they have come to the conclusion and that of the conclusion of the electorate of Barbados that Mottley is unfit to lead and they are doing what they need to do to correct this problem, I give them full marks for taking corrective mearures earlier rather than later.

39. Wishing In Vain Avatar

I recently learnt of the passing of Sir John Stanley Goddard, an icon of the business world, an honest sincere humble and kind man.

He was one that I had the utmost respect and regard for and a man of the highest moral quality.

Barbados will sadly miss his wit and his business skills.

To his family I say keep the chin up and know that his work on this earth is done and it was well done.

I would like to extend to the family of Sir John Stanley Goddard our deepest regret at the news of his passing and may he Rest In Peace.

40. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Livinginbarbados, for one more time, please read my comment below and try to undertand the comment, surely it is not that difficult to do so.

I AM NOT, I AM NOT, I AM NOT Mr Henry But I do admire the uproar he manages to get these BLP scoundrels into, Mia Needs to go for unity to be recovered within the BLP, go for it.

41. Thanks for giving us the sad news. BU joins with you and extend our condolences to his family. We did not always agree with his views but respected how he spoke his mind on the issues.

May he rest in peace.

42. Wishing In Vain Avatar

You are free to delete some of those duplicated post by me I apologise.

43. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@WIV
    I have heard the 3rd denial, though well past the time that the cock crowed.
    @David/WIV/Sylvan Greenidge
    I do not know Mr Greenidge but I have heard a man claiming to be him speak on VOB. I will try to get to ask him how and why he made the statement that he did. That will clear things up for me.

David has done as a good editor should and decided to protect his anonymous-to-us sources, though I think by doing so, he might have left a little chink of light peeping through.
    @ALL
    Because it is not the norm elsewhere, could someone explain to me why in Barbados discussion often revert to the profane in place of the substantial? I was always taught that vilification is no substitute for accurate denigration.

I can take comments on the latter at any on my known locations.

44. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I also got just word from one of his associates that Sir John Stanley Goddard had passed and also pass on condolences.

45. If the information provided by WIV is true, then let me to join the rest of the BU family in extending my deepest condolence to the family of the late Sir John Stanley Goddard.

Like you David I did not always agree with some of the positions he took on issues of grave nation importance, but such is the nature of our democracy. The views expressed were his views and he exercised the right afforded to him under the constitution to make them known. I truly wish that more of our businessmen would continue where he ended.

The business community in Barbados and indeed the region, as he was well known throughout the region for his business acumen, has lost a great business icon. He was part of small but dynamic force in building and redefining the role and purpose of a vibrant private sector in small vulnerable economy like ours.

To his remaining relatives I pray that you will find comfort and strength in the untiring arms of our God and creator as you seek solace in your hour bereavement.

46. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Royalrumble // August 15, 2009 at 1:17 PM

If the information provided by WIV is true, then let me to join the rest of the BU family in extending my deepest condolence to the family of the late Sir John Stanley Goddard.

What a ROYAL IDIOT YOU ARE, are so accustomed to telling lies that you rate everyone else by your poor standards?

The goodly gentleman did pass away earlier today and May He Rest In Peace.

47. WIV
    The way he was ranting and raving about Hartley, I thought that Mia, de biter, had vacated her post.
    Still curious.

My condolences also to the families of those two youngsters who drowned at North Point.

Bonny don’t like la mer at all.

48. WIV,
    Wait, dah is why de ol’ people in get na hampers from NAB last year den?
    I doan believe it.
    Well, well, well.
    Wunna tu thief.

49. To those who have a problem with the way we Bajans does “disCUSS” our politicians and politics, feel free to move on. We aint gine change to accomadate nuh foreigner.lol!

@WIV:
    so Santia “Bashment culture promoter” Bradshaw gine be de next senator? If so do we need any further proof as to the uselessness of the senate????? chuspe

50. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH, I see more clearly now your problem: every question is to you a problem. So much in need of controlling others.