Posted as a comment by BU family member Artax to The Mia Mottley Video Trending blog.

While the PMs of other Caribbean islands seem to be on the defensive, Mottley, Skerritt and ‘Comrade’ Gonsalves decided, perhaps against their better judgement, to rush ‘head foremost’ into ‘full freedom of movement.’
Mottley seems to be more interested in CREATING a ‘PERSONAL LEGACY,’ rather than addressing issues facing Barbadians.

According to the Antiguan government, “Although Antigua and Barbuda has continued to stand on its policy of skills-based free movement of people, it is still a participant to the OECS’ separate free movement framework, meaning that any CHANGE in CURRENT POLICY will likely see an INCREASE in nationals from countries like Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, Jamaica, Belize and Suriname.”
According to Antigua and Barbuda’s Ambassador to CARICOM, Dr Clarence Henry, “The policy is pragmatic and realistic to avoid dislocation of the indigenous population, protecting jobs, and avoiding exacerbation of our economic/fiscal challenge.”

John A mentioned, “the problem will always be for the islands with the stronger economies, as those from the weaker economies will gravitate there.”
Regional territories, such as Bermuda (BMD$1 = US$1) and Cayman Islands (CI$1 = US$1.20), that have ‘high’ currency exchange rates, although Associate Members of CARICOM, and seeking full membership of the regional integration movement, ARE NOT PARTICIPATING in the initiative.

Bahamas (BSD$1 = US$1), is a member of full member of CARICOM, since 1983, but is NOT part of the Caribbean Single Market & Economy. As such, the free movement of people DOES NOT APPLY to them.

During the virtual conference on “Reporting on the CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME),” Director of the Barbados based Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Single Market (CSME Unit), Leo Preville, said the perceptions of the movement of people are “still viewed from the lens of NATIONAL INSULARITY” and that there are still “lengthy delays” in decision making on critical issues.

Bushie mentioned West Indies cricket. The West Indies cricket team, composed of players from different Caribbean nations, is a rare example of regional unity. Unfortunately, however, we’ve allowed INSULARITY to divide us.
Some people believe the WI team should be predominately comprised of cricketers from their respective islands.
I was reading the cricket blogs a few days ago, and the Guyanese are protesting that their players were not chosen for the WI T20 team for the series against Nepal.
A Guyanese going by the name, Mikheal Zulfikar, made several comments, which received several ‘likes,’ that there were too many ‘Bages’ in the team, and that WI should get rid of all the ‘Bages.’
I’ve seen similar sentiments expressed by Jamaicans and Trinidadians a well. They continually suggest their respective islands should withdraw from CWI, and ‘go it alone.’

These are the same people who come to Barbados and DON’T want to leave.
They engage in the ILLEGAL activity of SQUATTING on people’s property, while our government REWARD them with houses, land, loans, and grants.
Recently, they were in the media complaining about the length of time it’s taking for them to be resettled, perhaps believing they’re inherently deserving of privileges or special treatment.

Rushing to full freedom of movement will not solve these underlying problems.

Rather than consult with Barbadians BEFORE making a UNILATERAL DECISION committing Barbados to implementing full freedom of movement, along with Dominica, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Belize……

……Mottley waited until the EVE of the October 1, 2025, implementation date to address their concerns, which she CONTEMPTUOUSLY DISMISSED, during her THREE (3) MINUTE video broadcast.

221 responses to “‘Rushing’ to freedom of movement”

1. @ Bushie

Thanks for the nod sir much appreciated. Sometimes I really get annoyed at the shite we do and like Theo this free movement thing really vexifying my soul!

I know in my one door shop not a fella bajan or vincy, getting a job without a certificate of character. I mean every business I know asks for one of them now before hiring a fly. You going based on that, let people in here without such as document? Them could be rapist or drug men and just so they can show up at the airport, step off Caribbean Airways and say “Mia say I could come.” I never hear more foolishness in my life. Then to take a joke further, you depending out de goodness of dem heart that they going do the right thing and register with the NISSS. Wait pun it and watch them bleed the system. Plus the NISSS ain’t the problem, it’s the poppets that running it. Years now they can’t get an audited financial posted and you depending on them to run a fund and deal with free movement of people?

Look I going say again Barbados has prospered and grown from 1966 till the pre Stewart and Sinkyuh years with a population of between 275k and 285k. The NISSS fund problem started when politicians started to treat it like the state piggy bank. It started when we decided to sell it worthless paper and use its money to invest in shite projects and cost overrun real estate, which in returned has earned them pepper corn rents based on asset value. In other words our divine leaders over the last 2 or so decades have destroyed what they claim is the bajans life line. Dem ain’t going come and tell you that though. No they going come with all sort of tra la la and say bajans living longer and the fund need more payers. Well get off wunna tail and go and rope in all that out there that ain’t paying do that. All the ones that make good money over the lifetime, that going at 67 show up and say ” I here for my noncontributory pension” with the new ride park outside.

2. Or the Solidarity Tax while still owing Firemen and Policemen allowances.

“All the ones that make good money over the lifetime, that going at 67 show up and say ” I here for my noncontributory pension” with the new ride park outside.”

3. Which way shall we go?

Jah Guide / Guiding Star
    My guiding star, that’s what you are. You’re always near, you’re never far.

God way
    Immigration and Integration has been going on since Genesis and Exodus the divine injunction, in which God, after having created the world and all in it, ascribes to humankind the tasks of reproducing and filling the earth.

Devil way
    Divide and Rule has been going on since Colonialism and Slavery when forced migrants were shipped to Caribbean and Americas and made slaves to serve their masters.

Jah Jah way
    Black carbon under intense pressure makes diamonds.
    Unity is the master key to the master plan.

My son your son mi son
    This is our place under the sun
    The whole thing I designated solar system
    There’s a little humor inna the equation
    What is your root overstanding of relevance
    Of how this life become

As predominantly here are the hydrocarbons
    Every living organism is made of carbon
    That’s the hue mentioned in the word human

Haile Selassie Quote
    Above all, we must avoid the pitfalls of tribalism. If we are divided among ourselves on tribal lines, we open our doors to foreign intervention and its potentially harmful consequences.

4. The PM keeps referring to the many years she spent in parliament…
    But hardly ever does she refer to specific areas of outstanding performance.

-Edutech
    -Four Seasons
    -The whole prison fiasco
    -When Arthur chose Mascoll over her…
    …Bushie seems to only recall the chaos
    …She REALLY should highlight more of the positives

or…
    Perhaps it is time to admit the obvious.

5. The0

You emotional from that yoker Artax pelt in ur tail ? 🙈🤣🤣

As usual u playing all over the place

6. Tell ur team that when next DEM get back into power DEM can put in the infrastructure to allow you to vote from overseas. DEM may pick up a few more votes when the expats vote for the party that give them the opportunity to vote without going home

7. 😁

8. @J0
    I would have let it pass, but a comment here may be of help to you

It amuses me that you see a Diasporan being able to cast his vote overseas as a B/D thing.
    My call is for all, both B and D to have that right. Some things rise above party loyalty.

9. Again…. U missing the ball

It amuses me that because Peter said it is most like that those the benefit from free movement will most likely vote for the party that was in power at that time.

Since you and DEM making mileage on it and know the infrastructure not in place for expat voting I was trolling you

I agree the who is eligible to vote and wanta exercise the option (or not ) should be allow to do so. Beside that I don’t give a flying fig who vote or not … I am just interested in the numbers at the end. Same as basket ball or cricket

10. TheO may be on to something big …yuh!!!
    PLT may need to take this on..

To be quite honest, a new citizenship policy that automatically embraced all manner of the Bajan diaspora sounds like a really innovative way of solving any ‘population’ problem that we have.
    At the same time, it reunites us at our very root, and it takes us beyond the physical limitations of 166 square miles.
    Why should we not pioneer a new era where nationhood, citizenship and even governance … is no longer bounded by physical borders, but by blood lines, adoption, and marriage?
    Patriots like Hants, NO, Dribbles and even GP, would happily contribute their annual citizenship tax, vote in their respective Bajan jurisdictions, and participate in on-line Town Hall sessions etc.

In a digital, soon to be virtual-reality world, this is the kind of thinking and conceptualizing that should be emanating from on the Hill…

With all those rich diaspora folks now involved, and putting in some $$$ we would be ASSURED that financial reports will be forthcoming, transparency will be paramount and efficiency at the fore front… cause those albino-centric converts don’t mek dat kinda sport when it comes to their precious dollars … unlike local BBs…

Shiite, we may even end up with a decent cricket team again…

What a good idea TheO…!!

11. @ Bush Tea,

I seem to remember that Donna was not in favour of this idea.

Can you imagine if Artax or Hal Austin had to share living in the same parish.

Or Donna having to encounter anyone from the diaspora!!

12. @ TLSN
    It would not be a matter of sharing the same parish or of actual physical encounters.
    It would be a matter of redefining what a ‘country’ is…

It was natural that a marked physical location became the defining limits of nationhood in the past. But with the extent to which modern technology have now rubbished such physical boundaries, it ACTUALLY makes sense to review the whole concept of ‘what is a country’.

There is now no good reason why a diaspora member in Iceland – who can just as easily be on brass tacks as much as ‘Wesley’, or who can confuse BU like Cuhdear, … or ram the comments pages of the local prehistoric press, … cannot be CITIZENS of a futuristic realm call Global Barbados.
    In fact, this actually makes a lotta sense.

While there would naturally be opposition to ‘outsiders’ being imposed on the old paradigm type PHYSICAL country, …it would be much easier to embrace all like-minded, and blood-related fellow citizens into a futuristic virtual country, where borders were drawn in DNA, history and personal relationships.

Wuh after all, a fellow like Northern is just as much a Bajan as Bushie…

What a world nuh!!

13. The following is the Nation Editorial and NOT a BU blog.

Free movement misstep

GOVERNMENT’S MISSTEP on the full free movement initiative appears to be feeding into the notion that it often seems to be putting the cart before the horse.

The free full movement of Caribbean Community (CARICOM) nationals went into effect on October 1 and involved Barbados, Belize, Dominica and St Vincent and the Grenadines. On that date, Barbados threw out a more embracing welcoming mat to our brothers and sisters of those three mentioned countries as CARICOM sought to continue to advance the regional integration movement.

Some Barbadians, upon hearing Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley address the matter on the eve of its implementation, might have assumed that all the legal requirements and permission were already in place to accommodate such an historic occasion. She spoke at length in allaying any fears that local jobs were under threat of being taken by an influx of nonnationals or that border controls were being abandoned.

“It is not a free-for-all. It is not an abandonment of border controls. It is not a threat to Barbadian jobs and services.

It is not a licence for professionals to operate in Barbados without adherence to the rules and regulations governing the practice of their professions. You cannot simply walk into Barbados and set up a practice. Freedom of movement does not remove the need for persons moving to comply with the legal requirements,” she stated.

But while she spoke of people complying legally, it was pointed out that Barbados was without the parliamentary permission to start the process of indefinite stay.

Mottley brushed aside that matter by stating Cabinet had approved the policy framework for the system and the Caribbean Community (Free Movement of Nationals) Bill, 2025, was going before Parliament the next week.

While notice of it was given on October 7, it was not debated until October 13.

By then, the Barbados Bar Association and the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Barbados were concerned about the Single Registration of Professionals, a component of the entire CARICOM Single Market and Economy free movement of skilled labour.

But even before those two groups expressed their concerns, Leader of the Opposition Ralph Thorne had insisted that the Government did not have the appropriate parliamentary approval to implement the initiative. This proved to be the case based on what has transpired since it was debated in the House of Assembly this week.

While the Members of the Government have latched on to Thorne’s other claim that the free movement is an attempt at padding the voters’ list and has centred their contribution on that and the selling of citizenship, our primary concern is the parliamentary misstep on the part of the Government.

The correct procedure would have been to secure proper parliamentary approval in time for the start of the initiative rather than having to backtrack to make things right. This particular enterprise is too important for sufficient attention not to have been paid to every detail, small and great, surrounding its execution.

Mottley and her administration should take full responsibility for the foul-up on this matter, rather than speaking to all the other titillating aspects that may arise following its implementation.

14. Another concern, NOT from the BU space.

ICAB’s caution

Body wants review of Caricom single registration plan

PRESIDENT OF THE Institute of Chartered Accountants of Barbados (ICAB), Damien Skeete, is cautioning that the proposed CARICOM single registration system for accountants must be carefully reviewed to avoid undermining public confidence and the authority of national regulators.

Speaking at the press launch of Accountants’ Week 2025, held yesterday at the Radisson Aquatica Resort under the theme Beyond Numbers: Redefining The Accountant Of Tomorrow, he said ICAB supports regional integration but the new framework poses serious challenges that must be addressed before implementation.

“ICAB has identified several critical issues within the proposed CARICOM Single Registration of Professionals Framework that deserve close consideration before implementation. Our focus remains safeguarding ICAB’s role as the national regulator, addressing inconsistencies in practice standards across CARICOM and protecting public trust in the accounting profession,” Skeete said.

He noted that ICAB has formally communicated these concerns to the Ministry of Energy and Business, the CARICOM Secretariat and Barbados’ Ambassador to CARICOM, stressing that Barbados must not cede regulatory control without adequate safeguards.

“We fully support the spirit of the CARICOM Single Market and Economy, especially professional mobility and regional unity, but that support cannot come at the expense of accountability, transparency and public confidence,” he warned.

Skeete said the framework, as currently drafted, could have implications for auditors and other practising accountants across the region.

“The full scope and timeline are still being determined, as there must be consensus from all CARICOM members before the regime can be implemented,” he said.

Turning to domestic developments, the president announced that ICAB has begun developing its 20262028 strategic plan to modernise operations and build financial resilience.

“We are rethinking how we operate, how we create value and how we sustain it. A key focus for council has been developing a sustainable operating model for ICAB to ensure that every dollar we spend adds value,” he said.

Skeete added that ICAB’s digital transformation was well under way with the roll-out of a new member management portal, soon to be followed by a mobile app and a redesigned website.

“This platform delivers a modern, convenient experience that will enhance communication and service to our members. Please do look out for it, because it will serve as a vital gateway for engagement with the public.”

He praised the institute’s secretariat team, led by chief executive officer Lisa Padmore, for their work in delivering these initiatives.

“If we are to be forwardthinking and future-resilient, we must equip ourselves with a contemporary secretariat capable of strong advocacy, digital service delivery and dynamic member support,” he said.

He also reaffirmed ICAB’s commitment to supporting micro, small and mediumsized enterprises (MSMEs), and small and medium-sized practices, which he described as “the true engines of economic growth”.

“Our recentlysigned memorandum of understanding with FundAccess is designed to strengthen MSMEs through professional and financial literacy support. We also continue to assist the Ministry of Labour, Social Security and the Third Sector in helping charities and nonprofits meet their compliance obligations,” he said.

15. @ David

An excellent YouTube video. The panellists essentially reinforced my thoughts on the full free movement initiative.

All the issues and concerns discussed by the panellists, have been similarly discussed on BU.

Interestingly, they referred to the political similarities shared by the PMs of BLZ, BGI, DOM and SVG……
    …… an issue I raised in this forum as well.

What are the real reasons behind the rush to full freedom of movement?

16. TLSN

Seems as though you take much pleasure in ‘cowardly hiding behind the sidelines,’ not only to constantly snipe at Donna and I with monotonous regularity, but to deliberately ‘stir up resentment’ as well. 🤔

We’ve managed the situation by ignoring you, but this seems to be escalating your need to, according to Chaucer, “amenden al the jape.”
    You’ve now included Bushie in your comments, to probably solicit his support, perhaps because you believe there is some level of animosity between him and us.

Hope you noticed how he ‘let that ball go outside the off stump.’🤣🤣

However, given your uncanny obsession with Mia Mottley, especially her scarves😂, I shudder in fear😨😱, even to give a passing thought to it, if you and Mottley “had to share living in the same parish.” 😂😂😂

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

I merely chuckle when a local politician speaks to “legal requirements”. They haven’t a clue what that means. It’s a sound bite which resonates with their own ears.
    Do as I say, not as I do: might be more accurate.

18. TLSN

“Please enlighten us about the freedom of “movement. Please explain to us why a number of countries are pulling out the drawbridge? The UK citizens have become fatigued of migrants, especially those who live in the less affluent locations.”
    ‐—————————————————–
    No, you enlighten us where in the world free movement as part of regional integration exists and the drawbridge is being pulled. Certainly, you don’t mean the UK’s withdrawal from the EU [1 from 28 is 27] because since “pulling out the drawbridge” the country has not recovered–3% reduction in the economy’s size, public finances down £26B annually, exports down, labour shortages and net migration up. After being wrong on a managed migration policy favouring white commonwealth countries, Brexit and reducing international students, the xenophobes and racists are on to asylum seekers now. Hence Farage previously UKIP is back with Reform.

19. The SIMPLE FACT, is that regional integration MUST begin at the leadership level.
    The EU created a Union that has over-riding legal authority.
    The USA has federal has FEDERAL laws that over-ride State laws.

Here we have a large bunch of micro-jackasses thought-out the region, …with highly paid nincompoops mismanaging their micro-mini populations (that are equal to small towns in most cases) … while trying to FORCE the lowest levels of the populations to ‘unite’…
    …under 15 DIFFERENT political, legal, monetary, penal, taxation, and educational systems…

Wunna EVER heard such shiite???!!!

Integration is OBVIOUSLY a good thing.
    For one thing, it will save us from paying almost 30 idiots the SAME SALARIES as those MPs in MEGA countries…. and getting PISS POOR results… while MILLIONS in taxpayers dollars goes missing every damn year…

Fifteen half decent MPs can run the WHOLE little CARICOM state.
    They can come up with ONE legal system,…ONE monetary system, ONE central bank, ONE Army, ONE police authority, ONE customs agency, ONE court system, ONE Education system… etc.

THEN…. (and ONLY then…)
    Not a single brass bowl would have ANY problem with integration…
    It would be just like a St Lucy family going to St Farlup to live, or to st Michael to work.

Instead of this OBVIOUS step…
    These damn politicians ALWAYS coming up with a lotta SHIITE distractions from the REAL issues – which are almost ALWAYS related to their incompetence, lack of transparency, and total ABSENCE of integrity…

What a damned place!

20. @ Enuff,
    You should have a word with South Africa’s black population. They have to share their resource lite health service with foreigners.

Your reply sounds like a cut and paste from a stock of standard replies to make when challenged on free movement.

This standard reply seems to underestimate people’s antipathy towards wholesale mass migration. Most countries have no problems with free movement provided it does not destroy the fabric of their society. They do not want their off spring migrating whilst they witness a boat load of foreigners barging their way into the country.

The 900 Belizians removed from the USA could take their chance and migrate to Barbados ?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/cr43l19qn3ko