Submitted by Yardbroom

Two typical plaques. The left one portrays a warrior flanked by two shieldbearers.

In a recent heated debate on Barbados Underground, a contributor in his or her efforts to denigrate Africa, used statements to suggest; there was no art there, nothing of note ever constructed, mentioned wars, people being killed, internecine fighting and corrupt governments.  The identity of the person is not important, they will not be named by me.  I will concentrate on the veracity of the statements or otherwise and in so doing draw on historical examples with evidence to support what I submit.

It is true there have been brutal wars in Africa and some corrupt governments, perhaps more than a fair share, but they are not exclusive to Africa…I seek not to condone but state truth.  There is no better place to start, than at the beginning.

A few black African families set out on a journey from around the Rift Valley in East Africa – the “precise” date is unknown but Homo Sapiens have been around for approx some 200,000 years – it was not a direct journey they meandered, but because of those families we are “all” here.  “Every” human being in the world, be they black, white, Indian, Chinese or of mixed race are descendants of those African black families.  It cannot be argued against, it is in our DNA.  If the world should last for 50 million more years, that established “fact” cannot change, “all” of us are Out Of Africa, yes the human race.

Now to matters more prosaic, Art, ” The Benin Bronzes are a collection of more than 1000 brass plaques from the Royal Palace of the Kingdom of Benin.  They were seized by a British force in the “Punative Expedition” of 1897 and given to the British foreign office.  Around 200 of these were then passed on to the British museum in London, while the remainder were divided between a variety of collections”…

“The seizure of the Bronzes led to a greater appreciation in Europe for African Culture.  Bronzes are now believed to have been cast in Benin since the thirteenth century, and some in the collection date from the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries.”  Wikipedia

For those not familiar with the geography, Nigeria includes the area of the Kingdom of Benin.  Would you believe it, between the 1950s and 1970s Nigeria “bought” back 50 of the bronzes.  Is it not ironic an African Government had to buy back part of its treasures that were “plundered” in the first instance…but that is colonialism.  The treasures were not only seized but the King of Benin had his palace burnt to the ground.

The point is, beautiful things came out of Africa, and as is often the case credit is not generally given, some people do not want to even believe they were done by Africans.  ( Google them on the internet sometime they are a joy to see)  African scholars must now travel to London to see these beautiful works out of context and location and very few people think consciously of Africa when they are being viewed.  Before I leave this subject I will allow you to ponder the words of Darshana Soni in reference to the Benin Bronzes:

“They symbolise a historical and social significance which the aesthetic and monetary value they hold in exile would never compensate.”

The history of black people did not start with slavery and they should never allow themselves to be seen through that narrow, limiting and constricting prism.  To those black Barbadians and others, not so black, but who are willing to admit publicly that they too are part of the whole.  You have nothing to be ashamed of…yes, go tell it to the children that is “History” unadorned truth.

Permit me to gently touch construction.  What was once called Rhodesia is now named Zimbabwe…unfortunately now a troubled land.  Why was the name changed from Rhodesia glorifying Cecil Rhodes 1853-1902 – founder of the diamond company De Beers – colonial empire builder.  “The Great Zimbabwe” or “stone buildings” is the name given to the stone ruins spread out over 722 ha area within the modern-day country of Zimbabwe, which itself is named after the ruins.  It is near the town of Masvingo, which before majority rule was called Fort Victoria.  The word “great” distinguishes the site from many hundred small ruins, known as Zimbabwes, spread across the Zimbabwe high veld.” Wikipedia

“It is believed “construction” started in the 11th century and continued for over 300 years” the ruins that survived are entirely built of stone.”  All Africans did not live in mud and grass huts, some obviously did and perhaps a great many, but people sometimes see most prominent what they want to see.

After the discovery of the ruins in “The Great Zimbabwe” “some” so called European scholars went into contortions trying to prove they were not built by black Africans.  They could not bring themselves to admit such a thing, they clouded their language and said they were not built by Sub-Saharian Africans, no one south of the Sahara could have built such buildings.  They really meant, not the very “black Africans”, they could not deny the Egyptians and the history of ancient Egypt which stood tall in North Africa, but enough was enough.

“However in 1929 Gertrude Caton-Thompson was the first to conclusively state that the site was indeed created by Africans.  Since then artifacts and radia carbon dating have proved that the oldest remains date back to the 1200s.” Wikipedia

We are what we are, like a tree whose leaves turn many colours in the Autumn, but the “roots” are the same.  We black people have no reason to excuse ourselves for being here.  We strode out across the world, we made beautiful things built edifices, made mistakes, sinned and were sinned against, but we are here, we are survivors and because we have survived there is a world for “all” of us.  That is not opinion or hyperbole it is a historical fact, it is in “our” DNA.  Tell it to the children it is “our” History “All” of us.

1. A wonderful reminder to all who maybe brainwashed by the Eurocentric delivery of Black history that the Black race has a lot to be immensely proud. Our heritage is so rich that to allow it to be diminished by the penetration countervailing propaganda would be hideous, To awaken Black consciousness is not to incite hate but to ensure the heritage of the Black race is securely chain fenced.

2. Does it strike anyone else ironic that the source of all this “new” information about Africa (DNA, Gertrude Caton Thompson, Darshna Soni (UK channel 4 correspondent) ) is same source that provided the “old” information about Africa. What’s that about a “Eurocentric delivery of Black History” again?

3. Thats what happen when you allowed other people to write your history.For years prior to now Euro-centric “scholars” have been promoting the notion that africa before they came was a dark continent and didnot have a history so to speak.This false scholarship was a way to stripped away our accomplishment in the area of art(metal art), architecture,libraries and science.Its also sad that a lot of our people do not know their history and the little that they know always start with the arrival of columbus and slavery.We in the caribbean were fed a diet of this HIS STORY with no mentioning of the many africans empire and civilisation, then again our educational system was a hand – me – down from the masters. Some doubters are still not convince of our contribution to society even when the evidences are staring them in the face but try to

4. continuation from aboove:

They try to assert we are engaging in revionist history or “feel good history”.

5. reposted by BU on behalf of magen

After all, the Magen disconstruction states that:
    Color is a psychological concept that those that are intellectually difficient and morally bankrupt, hold on to. For they cannot accept the fact that hue is incidental characteristic that has no intellectual significance in humans. As a matter of fact, the first guy to think of even transfusing blood was an African and the first heart transplant was equally pioneered by an African, but a well wishing dr & friend who covered him up as being african and conducting heart transplant in apartheid era would be a serious crime.

More so the though that God has NEVER created a black man or a white man on planet earth, despite that they have black hair. Black and white only exist in human heads. Not in reality. This is the worst normalized lunacy by humans.

6. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I did not see the comments that prompted Yardbroom to write this piece, but would have offered a few remarks. First, I lived in west Africa immediately before coming to Barbados. One of Africa’s ‘problems’ in getting people to know and understand its history, is that much of it is oral not written. That said, Africa, which a continent, not a single country, knows a lot about itself. For instance, the Moorish (north African/Arabian) conquests of west Africa is known across the continent. The west African kingdoms and empires, are well known. The Zulu empire in the south, likewise. And so on. So, the real challenge is how to get that word out from the continent into the wider world. I can recommend a little reading on the histories of the continent, which will at least give a base of knowledge, and help others understand that the centre of the universe is not in Europe.

BTE, Asia had a similar problem, but really dismissed it by continuing to revere itself and celebrate its traditions, and say to Europe ‘tek weh yuself’.

7. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I should have added that the art of African countries is so widespread that only a blind person would not have seen it. Much of it is standard in a home or regular parts of life: statues, furniture, utensils, fabrics, etc. So, you will see humble dwellings with their statues in place (to bring luck, aid fertility, ward off evil spirits, etc.). You will sleep on carved wooden beds, or sit in carved chairs. You may sit on a horse or camel with a blanket woven in a centuries old design. You will eat off a plate or with implements that is the same as used for centuries. You may also live in a dwelling, whose design is so old and made from natural materials that are part of the environment that no one can really say from what century it is. You may sit on a carpet that is centuries old, and made from wool and cotton and natural dies, and has been passed down through the generations. So, if it’s art people are looking for, then they better not hope to find galleries, but should visit some villages and just look around. My own home has plenty of it.

8. Thanks for sharing your experience of Africa. Usually this side of the world we get the back to Africa groups preaching about Africa which tends to turn off Barbadians and others. It seems that if the continent Africa is the centre from which others came that countries in the Caribbean as a priority should create a project to enable the transfer of knowledge and we are not talking about David Commisiong et al.

9. Bridgetown and West Africa are so close surely that fact could be exploited in cutting commercial flight times across the Atlantic. Or does such challenges require truly great men the kind of which will not be found in these parts?

10. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@BAFBFP
    The issue is not the distance but the volume. There is a disproportion that is hard to overcome. The balance would be better between Africa and South America, and there is a good set of commercial connections already on that route (eg Jo’burg/Cape Town-Rio de Janeiro). The attractions for commercial traffic from Africa TO the Caribbean are few: their populations are huge relative to ours, and our products and business opportunities of interest very limited–we are a small market. We have more to gain from exploiting potential demand in Africa for our speciality goods, but it’s not enough to really support frequent commercial links, except for cargo, and even then we are limited.

11. I am with you but can we think pass what you say and create a route say between central america and the middle and far east that is cheaper/safer than what is currently available?

12. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Gear Box
    Excuse my confusion in not seeing how we the jump from discussing links between the Caribbean and Africa to creating routes between central America and the Middle/Far East.

13. Very clever.. Ha haa..I now ger shoot

AAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhh

14. Hotep Yardbroom……….The contributions that Mother Alkebulan gave to the world ARE too AWESOME and TREMENDOUS to be ‘triviliased’ as ‘beautiful things’ (not to knock you bro, but its all good). Let’s start with MATHEMATICS, ARCHITECTURE, ASTRONOMY, MEDICINE, AGRICULTURE, KHEMISTRY, PHYSICS, PHILOSOPHY…………. just to name a few. And some excellent sources for Alkebulan knowledge are Dr. Ivan Van Sertima, Molefi Kete Asante, Cheikh Anta Diop, Dr. John Henrik Clarke, Dr. Ben Jochanan just to name a few.

I question that ‘science’ which says that the white man came out of the Black woman. I find that impossible to accept and believe. This is another BIG LIE and even the white man does not accept that. He is all over Africa looking for himself but with every bone he unearths he comes up with the Black man/woman.

And to ALL Black People who love their blackness, just continue to celebrate it and seek more self-knowledge. Just remember that communication and energy travel in spiral and it is no accident or mistake that our black HAIR is in spirals, just like our DNA. Self-knowledge is the key to our freedom.

Hotep!

15. I does really have to wonda bout u people worrying yuhselves sick bout Africa an Africa could n’t care less bout wunna, excep to regard u as inferior to them and worthy to be their slaves!!

Keep worrying but I has to laugh!!

Laaaaaddddddddddddddd!! Bajans!!

16. Prime Minister Thomosn said that these were his priorities:

1. Creating the best environment for attracting and conducting business.

2. Positioning Barbados to become the most environmentally advanced “green’ economy in the region.

3. Investing in a culture of innovation and entrepreneurship.

4. Becoming known as the island that works.

5. Implementing a people’ first focus.

There was not discussed by him in the estimates or the Budget.

How then can Africa be the issue, unless you are making reference to Robert Mugabe and Zimbabwe.

This is why Barbados is in crisis.

17. lol!! I can only assume that people like Yardbroom r in love with Africa even though Africans don’t want the slightest thing to do with any of us!! Lord, Yardbroom, if u want somebody to love u don’t look to African chum. They will only tell yuh what to do with yuhself, if not to your face then behind ur back!! Look for love elsewhere, and I hope u find it (TRUE, love)!!

18. Is Barbados a land full of dreamers, I wonder!!

19. How then can Africa be the issue, unless you are making reference to Robert Mugabe and Zimbabwe.

There are striking similarities between our David Thompon and Robert Mugabe of Zimbabwe.

The people in both country are suffering as a result of the acts and ommission of both leaders but those leaders (Mugabe and Thompson) somehow feel that they are an asset to their respective countries.

Hitler felt the same way.

20. Yardbroom, ur a really lucky fellow, I envy you ’cause clearly, u doan have a ting else to worry about!!

21. Hog Squeal, I think some, if not many, might say ur exaggerating ‘a tad’!!, if not, A LOT!!

Lord!!

22. There are striking similarities between our David Thompon and Robert Mugabe of Zimbabwe.

23. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

Just be aware that you do not swallow too much of either euro-centric ideas OR afri-centric ones…
    I have been reading socalled african history on some very afro-centric internet sites, and the y are full of faults and screwed ideas about what africa was, in the past.
    Personally, i do not have a problem by realizing that that africans in Africa maybe didnt invented the most technic thing s in the world.
    Fact is, they had other things to struggle with. Like a very tough climate and floods, dangerous animals and a fast growing jungle f.ex.
    i thing african woodenfigures are beautiful even if the reflects socalled primitive conditions.
    Many europeans also derive from very primitive conditions , and many never had the time to develop skills like they can in more mild,quiet natural surroundings.
    Europe is so many diverce things too….
    And the american indians….no one blame them for beiing animistic and primitive, but noble savages?

It was only one people in Africa that prodused Ife`s bronzeheads, but so what?
    Isn`t it ok. to just derive from thick jungle?
    Isn`t this also a part of the projections of white racists, that everything has to be so f…ing developed to be good?

24. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

I also have another question;

Why do afro-centricblacks say that all races derives from the black one, who travelled the way out of Africa?
    Is it proven f. ex that the earliest africans were more black than brown ,or white?
    Is it sure that they had negroid features, or could they have been looking more like north africans?
    Or lightbrown pygmees?
    or gypsies?

25. I stand by my charge that there are striking similarities between our David Thompon and Robert Mugabe of Zimbabwe.

People are certainly suffering in both countries and if not checked, Barbados will eventually become like Zimbabwe.

26. Prime Minister Thomosn said that these were his priorities:

1. Creating the best environment for attracting and conducting business.

2. Positioning Barbados to become the most environmentally advanced “green’ economy in the region.

3. Investing in a culture of innovation and entrepreneurship.

4. Becoming known as the island that works.

5. Implementing a people’ first focus.

There was not discussed by him in the estimates or the Budget.

How then can Africa be the issue, unless you are making reference to Robert Mugabe and Zimbabwe.

This is why Barbados is in crisis.

27. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

I stand by my charge that there are striking similarities between our Hog Squeal and A. Horse’s Ass of Anywhere.

28. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Partly bajan girl
    “Fact is, they had other things to struggle with. Like a very tough climate and floods, dangerous animals and a fast growing jungle f.ex.”

The continent is not all tough climate (if you mean sweltering heat; there are many places where the temperature is mild most of the year). The continent is not about floods: many parts do not have as much rainfall in a year as some can have in a day. The continent is not all dangerous animals: some places have nothing much but domesticated animals (and I presume you do not mean ‘dangerous’ once the animal is eaten). Also, the continent is much less fast growing jungle than fast spreading desert. Take a good look at the map from its top to bottom and from side to side.

29. When we call western civilization, western it west from where? The east is east from where?

Europeans have no history B.C, and to date they cant replicate the Pyramids that are sitting in the sands of Africa 3000+B.C.

Africa is the mother land, Black woman is the mother of civilization.

30. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

Quote:Ready-Done // May 28, 2009 at 12:51 am

“Europeans have no history B.C, and to date they cant replicate the Pyramids that are sitting in the sands of Africa 3000+B.C.”

Well, the bronze-age was quite important….
    And who constructed the pyramids of Egypt?
    Our ancestors of West- Africa?

31. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

Here a link to a lot of information about west-african history:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_West_Africa

Why cant we just be descendants of west-africa instead of hiding behind Egypt and all that stuff?
    Read all the history about the region, and be proud to derive from exactly…
    …West Africa….;-)

32. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

livinginbarbados // May 27, 2009 at 5:27 pm

@Partly bajan girl
    “Fact is, they had other things to struggle with. Like a very tough climate and floods, dangerous animals and a fast growing jungle f.ex.”

“The continent is not all tough climate (if you mean sweltering heat; there are many places where the temperature is mild most of the year). The continent is not about floods: many parts do not have as much rainfall in a year as some can have in a day. The continent is not all dangerous animals: some places have nothing much but domesticated animals (and I presume you do not mean ‘dangerous’ once the animal is eaten). Also, the continent is much less fast growing jungle than fast spreading desert. Take a good look at the map from its top to bottom and from side to side.”

So why aren`t there living big societies of whites in west and central Africa, just like in south-Africa?

33. Why cant we just be descendants of west-africa instead of hiding behind Egypt and all that stuff?

‘Partly Bajan’, do u straighten your hair? Well, it’s all part of the same psychosis, i.e. embarassment over who we are and what we naturally, look like!!, so why blame him/them!! In fact, the hair trauma is more constant and more severely damaging, psychologically!! Black women see their hair every day but, how often do you hear reference to our ‘building the pyramids’!!

34. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

199:I do NOT straighten my hair and its very unruly, yes, totally wild, because its neither afro or euro-hair, but something in between.
    If I have a worse psychosis than you here, its not in my hair, but in my head
    😉

35. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

Isn`t braiding the hair(the african way) a way to make it look straight and long too?

36. Isn`t braiding the hair(the african way) a way to make it look straight and long too?

Yes, it is, PBG, but many uh dem r mad, too!! I think braiding’s an excuse not to have to comb it too, often not to look long and European!! Check out our own eminent Senator Maxine McClean, for how a black woman’s hair should look, or nearly – an learn!! 🙂

37. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

Its very short.
    maybe easy to maintain, but quite boring, since girl all world over like to groom and stylish themselves.
    Even one of the several, oldest depictions of a female heads in Europe has something that looks very much like braids.
    http://witcombe.sbc.edu/willendorf/willendorfwoman.html

maybe they were black women really??

38. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Partly Bajan Girl
    “So why aren`t there living big societies of whites in west and central Africa, just like in south-Africa?”

This reads like a non-sequitur. Living big societies have nothing much to do with what is race. Why are there no living big cities of Mayans or Incas? But to answer your question, if you include white Moors, then look at the remants of their Empire.

Race is also not colour (referring to another comment you make elsewhere). Africa is full of negroid peoples (but they represent many races and even shades): Zulus of southern Africa, are not much alike to peoples of Ethopia/Djibouti, and are not similar to Moors (black or white).

What DNA testing that has been done also shows that while many African descedents now in North America and the Caribbean are related to various tribes/ethnic groups in west Africa, a good number hail from central Africa too.

39. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

livinginbarbados // May 28, 2009 at 7:09 am

@Partly Bajan Girl
    “So why aren`t there living big societies of whites in west and central Africa, just like in south-Africa?”

“This reads like a non-sequitur. Living big societies have nothing much to do with what is race. Why are there no living big cities of Mayans or Incas? But to answer your question, if you include white Moors, then look at the remants of their Empire.

Race is also not colour (referring to another comment you make elsewhere). Africa is full of negroid peoples (but they represent many races and even shades): Zulus of southern Africa, are not much alike to peoples of Ethopia/Djibouti, and are not similar to Moors (black or white).

What DNA testing that has been done also shows that while many African descedents now in North America and the Caribbean are related to various tribes/ethnic groups in west Africa, a good number hail from central Africa too.”
    ”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””’

I do not understand your way of arguments…?
    when i asked why there were not big ,living white societies in west-africa, I hinted to climate and such.

When it comes to negroids, I am aware of their shades,but they are still blacks in a white world?
    Where do you think the central- african DNA came in?
    From migration inside Africa, from slavetrade from central to west-africa, or from different black people beiing mixed together outside Africa?

40. I am not hearing my African Sister, Wishing In Vain, much these days.

Is the DLP in Retreat of has it run out of gas?

41. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

Yes, Central Africa is right.

Like Congo.
    And the climate there WAS very harsh in precolonial times.
    Today, the whole ecosystem there is threatened because of greedy deforesting and wars.

http://news.mongabay.com/2005/0606-rhett_butler.html

Yes, the Out -of -Africa model maybe happened, but I do not think we will return to a pure paradise….

42. PBG, the trouble with “girls all over the world” is that most of them are vain and silly. Do u mean u can’t look pretty in your natural african hair?!! Don’t mek me laugh as that’s the kind of woman who I go for, so I look forward to seeing u in Bim, in an afro!!

43. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

But an afro means a lot of fuss!
    My euro-bajan hair collects everything from insects, leaves to small bats and whistling frogs..
    It tangles into rings on peoples hands,
    food i consume and even ends where the sun doesnt shine…
    So its a bit tricky.
    The reason why we got afro-hair in the start, was probably to collect a layer of cool air around our brain so we do not get to hot in our heads, back in Africa.

But with euro-bajan hair, its both wild and frizzy, and cling like at helmet to my head during sweatty, busy crop-over days, so I get totally sun-stroked and have to drink a lot of Banks and lemonade…
    …its not an easy life….
    better with a pirate-scarf to cover the misery then…..

44. […] More: Out Of Africa « Barbados Underground […]

45. Where is the African Queen: Wishing In Vain?

“Anybody” heard from our african sister: Wishing In Vain, recently.

46. PBG, well, in that case, you’re heartily excused my darling, with my blessings! If only the pure, African sisters could be truly proud of what god gave them! Vanity is the middle name of so many black women!!

47. And it’s destroying our race! Went into town again today and one of the busiest businesses were the ones selling wigs and cosmetics, etc, to BLACK women!!

How sad!!

48. You are right. These days old ladies cannot get a wig.

49. Jus a lil one de price of wigs gone up?