Submitted by Yardbroom

Two typical plaques. The left one portrays a warrior flanked by two shieldbearers.

In a recent heated debate on Barbados Underground, a contributor in his or her efforts to denigrate Africa, used statements to suggest; there was no art there, nothing of note ever constructed, mentioned wars, people being killed, internecine fighting and corrupt governments.  The identity of the person is not important, they will not be named by me.  I will concentrate on the veracity of the statements or otherwise and in so doing draw on historical examples with evidence to support what I submit.

It is true there have been brutal wars in Africa and some corrupt governments, perhaps more than a fair share, but they are not exclusive to Africa…I seek not to condone but state truth.  There is no better place to start, than at the beginning.

A few black African families set out on a journey from around the Rift Valley in East Africa – the “precise” date is unknown but Homo Sapiens have been around for approx some 200,000 years – it was not a direct journey they meandered, but because of those families we are “all” here.  “Every” human being in the world, be they black, white, Indian, Chinese or of mixed race are descendants of those African black families.  It cannot be argued against, it is in our DNA.  If the world should last for 50 million more years, that established “fact” cannot change, “all” of us are Out Of Africa, yes the human race.

Now to matters more prosaic, Art, ” The Benin Bronzes are a collection of more than 1000 brass plaques from the Royal Palace of the Kingdom of Benin.  They were seized by a British force in the “Punative Expedition” of 1897 and given to the British foreign office.  Around 200 of these were then passed on to the British museum in London, while the remainder were divided between a variety of collections”…

“The seizure of the Bronzes led to a greater appreciation in Europe for African Culture.  Bronzes are now believed to have been cast in Benin since the thirteenth century, and some in the collection date from the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries.”  Wikipedia

For those not familiar with the geography, Nigeria includes the area of the Kingdom of Benin.  Would you believe it, between the 1950s and 1970s Nigeria “bought” back 50 of the bronzes.  Is it not ironic an African Government had to buy back part of its treasures that were “plundered” in the first instance…but that is colonialism.  The treasures were not only seized but the King of Benin had his palace burnt to the ground.

The point is, beautiful things came out of Africa, and as is often the case credit is not generally given, some people do not want to even believe they were done by Africans.  ( Google them on the internet sometime they are a joy to see)  African scholars must now travel to London to see these beautiful works out of context and location and very few people think consciously of Africa when they are being viewed.  Before I leave this subject I will allow you to ponder the words of Darshana Soni in reference to the Benin Bronzes:

“They symbolise a historical and social significance which the aesthetic and monetary value they hold in exile would never compensate.”

The history of black people did not start with slavery and they should never allow themselves to be seen through that narrow, limiting and constricting prism.  To those black Barbadians and others, not so black, but who are willing to admit publicly that they too are part of the whole.  You have nothing to be ashamed of…yes, go tell it to the children that is “History” unadorned truth.

Permit me to gently touch construction.  What was once called Rhodesia is now named Zimbabwe…unfortunately now a troubled land.  Why was the name changed from Rhodesia glorifying Cecil Rhodes 1853-1902 – founder of the diamond company De Beers – colonial empire builder.  “The Great Zimbabwe” or “stone buildings” is the name given to the stone ruins spread out over 722 ha area within the modern-day country of Zimbabwe, which itself is named after the ruins.  It is near the town of Masvingo, which before majority rule was called Fort Victoria.  The word “great” distinguishes the site from many hundred small ruins, known as Zimbabwes, spread across the Zimbabwe high veld.” Wikipedia

“It is believed “construction” started in the 11th century and continued for over 300 years” the ruins that survived are entirely built of stone.”  All Africans did not live in mud and grass huts, some obviously did and perhaps a great many, but people sometimes see most prominent what they want to see.

After the discovery of the ruins in “The Great Zimbabwe” “some” so called European scholars went into contortions trying to prove they were not built by black Africans.  They could not bring themselves to admit such a thing, they clouded their language and said they were not built by Sub-Saharian Africans, no one south of the Sahara could have built such buildings.  They really meant, not the very “black Africans”, they could not deny the Egyptians and the history of ancient Egypt which stood tall in North Africa, but enough was enough.

“However in 1929 Gertrude Caton-Thompson was the first to conclusively state that the site was indeed created by Africans.  Since then artifacts and radia carbon dating have proved that the oldest remains date back to the 1200s.” Wikipedia

We are what we are, like a tree whose leaves turn many colours in the Autumn, but the “roots” are the same.  We black people have no reason to excuse ourselves for being here.  We strode out across the world, we made beautiful things built edifices, made mistakes, sinned and were sinned against, but we are here, we are survivors and because we have survived there is a world for “all” of us.  That is not opinion or hyperbole it is a historical fact, it is in “our” DNA.  Tell it to the children it is “our” History “All” of us.

1. Most music video directors are white, they know what their doing……

I like the message in this song!!!! it says keep away from the American woman.

I prefer ‘black type’ women myself, but i generally sample the different ones so i will know what i really like.

2. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

199: did you know that Iman played a small role in the movie “Out of Africa” about karen Blixens life?:-))
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Out_of_Africa_(film)

What do you think about the late Karen Blixen`s interpretations about African mind, and how do you think it has afflicted european`s ideas about black people??

3. RD, doan worry bout nuh message in he song!! It just a song!! D udda day he was courting some white woman but, I tink she dump e now!! He’s a Trini an stupid as shite!!

PBG, I cun care less bout Imam or Pimam an wuh she do from wha she in do!! Gih me a REAL black woman, man!! not some kine uh duppy!! cause she look real weird tuh me!!

P, I doan even know who dis Karen Blixen is which mean she mus be irrelevant. But, jes fuh u, I gun read dat wiki article now!!

P, babe, I red d firse 2 or 3 lines an, tuh tell yuh d trufe, dat’s enuf fuh me, unless u definitely, want me tuh read more! Look, dem white colonialists went dong day and do waever day wanted to to the nigs, yes?!! Well, all I can say is dat d Kenyans free now an have their independence now so now it’s up to dem!! In fak, I doan even like to tink bout d subjik too much, unless she hay, cause one uh my all-time favourite chicks is a Kenyan, and tinking anyting tuh do wiv Kenya only bring back sweet memories fuh me an mek me wish she was hay, right now!! so, I in gun tink bout dat nuh mo, boe!!

Laaaaaaddddddddddddd!!!!

I vaguely, remember when this film was first released. Have n’t seen it, probably, because it’s a lot of nonsense anyway!! The excellent films were all made many decades ago and don’t include this one!! Don’t bother watching it P, you’ll just waste your precious Bajan, time!!

Europeans’ image of black people is largely, determined by we OURSELVES! The fact that they have an appalling image of us is the fault of (a) OUR confused minds!! and, (b) a certain criminally-minded group of people with whom, unfortunately, we are closely, identified, in fact, so much so that the Europeans don’t appreciate the difference between us!! In in naming nuh names, boa!!

4. We in the caribbean were fed a diet of this HIS STORY

Zion, d leses (lesbians) get to u too?!!

Laaaaadddddddddddd!!!!

5. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

199: my only comment is : KOKO!

You dont have time to reaf facts, but dont know them?
    I bet you are dribbling when you watch Oprah?

6. PBG, dah Oprah doan do nutten fuh me, at all!! D only ting is I wish she would gih me some uh she money so I could do someting REALLY useful wid it, fuh my poor Bim! Dah’s all! As fuh d res, if she would sport a afro den I’d have more regard fuh she!!

7. PB, did u c d woman get lick-down by d train?!!

8. In ‘A Good Lay’?!!

9. LOL the train run over the top of the woman it bearly buss she head. LOL

I wonder if she still want to kill she self after that, it mussy a scary ordeal.

10. R, yuh can tanks me fuh dat one now, an den answer my question to u in d udda forum!!

11. hey black women ent the only ones having trouble, here is a article about white women trying to look too bony.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1192439/So-men-REALLY-prefer-Miss-Average.html

12. RD, that’s good of u but, we only intrested in our OWN women an race!! White women/people r already pun top!! an can worry fuh dumselves!!

13. This is the same man that say look to the white man for guidance? your confusing me now!!

Any hows i just wanted to point out that most women want to be persived as beautiful rather than normal.

Its a woman thing.