Submitted by Bajans ain’t foolish

prideofbarbadosPeople like Anojam think that the average Bajan is not too bright to see through their subterfuge.They start by telling you – oh we are in agreement that you can’t allow everyone in, but what about the declining population,or what about those xenophobic comments we hear on the airwaves and see in the newspapers.

Well to those persons I respond this way:

Were it not for this Barbados Underground blog,the issue of the negative impact of the deluge of Guyanese, Vincentians, Jamaicans, English,whoever would have been silenced because of the policies of said Roxanne Gibbs – Guyanese born editor of the Nation newspaper and one Vic Fernandes Guyanese born CEO of Starcom Network.

Of course they were aided and abetted by their usual stooges in the likes of Peter Wickham, Mia Mottley, Owen Arthur, Dale Marshall, Rawle Eastmond and the other BLP politicians, Mike Browne -the producer of the call in shows at Starcom, Olutuye Walrond formerly of CBC to name a few.

History has taught us that all during our years of oppression and struggle – during the slavery years and afterwards – there has always been members of the community of descendants of African people who have always acted as stooges and pimps and sold out their brothers and sisters,while the other races understood the need to unite as one – during times of crisis and national significance.

But black people are resilient and have always found a way to survive. The decision taken today by prime minister Thompson and his DLP party is not for us,but has long reaching implications for the future of Barbados and the future of our progeny.

Thank God for the internet and for the administrators of BARBADOS UNDERGROUND. I will boldly proclaim that with every breath that I have.

For were it not for this blog we would have been discarded and denied our voice by the main stream media like the Nation newspaper and VOB,and other blogs like Barbados Free Press which touted itself as being for freedom of expression but quickly changed its tune once it discovered that the people wanted a voice to protest against the increasing negative social fall-out from the heavy presence of the non African ethnic groups in Barbados.

History will judge the media houses and the BLP party severely for their disloyal, unpatriotic stance during this period of our history, of seeking to suppress the voices of the people of Barbados on the critical issue of their future and the future of their country.

1. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

Do Guyanese really see what is happing in Barbados. Well off lecherous Bajan men using guyanese young girls and women for sexual exploitation (and some young boys I might add), their wives using thems as maids/slaves with threats of deportation if you do not comply. Can they really not do better than this at home where land is cheap and freely available. Can they not grow vegetables for export. Surely it is better than exposing you wives/girfriends/daughters/sisters to these kinds of things.

2. I think the reponse of the public to the BLP’s lack of patriotism seems to be hitting home to them.

As you listen to Mia’s response and even liz thompson last night they now keep repeating that they will be part of team barbados,and that comments of trying to be supportive.

Hopefully the people’s memories are long.

3. Good for you BU! Out with whitey. Out with the reds, at least those too light in colour, and out with the Indians.

Our island should be quite comfy then.

4. Why are you seeking to get the opposition on board with the Government ?
    Are you saying that the government is faced with an insurmountable task ?
    Are you seeking a partner for the “BLAME GAME”.
    The government has the mandate to manage the economy and the country. I
    remember the P.M in the No Confidence Motion that stating that the BLP had their turn. Is it not now the government’s turn?

5. Foolbert
    You are a real foolbert for truth, it is the BLP that said they are supportive of the government. I think they are piggy backing but too late, the damage has already been done. All of Barbados knows that Mia and Owen are cruel because the P.M pull the plug on Guyanese.

6. Foolbert is saying that on a matter of such great importance as national security and protecting its borders and its resources,that the BLP opposition should not get on board with the Government.

What a sad state of affair.

7. Foolbert I remember hearing Mr. Arthur state that even if some one on the opposite side said something which made sense he was not listening.

On the other hand, Mr. Thompson says he will listen. In America Obama has asked for help on the opposite side and is not being castigated for it. Isn’t Barbados the BLP’s country too!

Oh SHOOT I forgot, the BLP are citizens of all other CARICOM countries except Barbados!

What a silly statement why would you want your country to fail?

8. A fool is expected to ask foolish questions , can’t see the perception of failure as others see, maybe too blind to see . Thanks for words of wisdom now apply them to other situations. How conveniently we change tune.

9. Stupse, you looking for a noise right? I just dealing with the reality of the situation.

10. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

@quite right; you are an ass. You are one of those persons who take a reasonable stance and exaggerate it to make it seem ludicrous. Nobody is talking about racial profiling. I sit down with Indo-Guyanese, have had a beer with them, have been to their houses here in Barbados for food drinks and parties ; things which they have told me they wouldnt do back in guyana with blacks mind you. The point is if they are here illegally then they have to go. Some will be granted leniency but most will have to go. That is not racist or xenophobic, not in the least.

11. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

For those not listening to the debate you just missed the most remarkable occurrence.

Owen just dissed Mia in the worst way in front of the whole of barbados and in the presence of everyone in the house.

While he was speaking on a point of privelege she tried to coach him on some point,this after the speaker made her sit down about 4 times;then owen turned to her and basically said “mottley be quiet”.

You could see she wanted to crawl under the table and cry.

Imagine if this was Estwick and Thompson – Roxanne Gibbs and the Nation newspaper would have it as tomorrow’s newspaper’s headline.

That party,that is the BLP Party,is like the republican party in America – in total shambles.

Over to you Dark Night and Royal Rumble and the other fowlies.

12. I heard it and I was appalled! After all, if nothing else, she is his leader for the time being. It was awfully embarrasing for Ms. Mottley.

Why can’t they settle down?

13. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

While I agree with you Veritas,I am also looking at the open bias in the media who refuses to openly discuss the big cracks in the BLP party but continue to paint a picture of them as one united party.

A very different approach was taken with the DLP where kellman could hardly sneeze before he was accused of wanting to overthrow the leader.

What we are witnessing is the failure of the public relations machinery to paper over the fissures.

14. We maybe wrong in our read of a statement which PM Thompson made last night but we had the impression that Thompson is becoming a little irritable with some elements in Barbados who obviously have agendas. In this regard we are warning Faria to relax and have a reread of his diplomatic protocols.

We will be revisiting this matter soon.

15. antigua did it! Avatar
    antigua did it!

A negligent illegal immigrant skirting the laws abroad is an illegal immigrant whether In Barbados, Canada or Antigua!Where’s all uproar? Calls for intervention& protests? Heads spinning around on necks and foaming at the mouth, for this illegal Guyanese Man to remain in Antigua illegally??????

http://www.caribdaily.com/article/162123/guyanese-man-ordered-to-leave-country/

Guyanese man ordered to leave country

“The order of the court is immediate removal from the jurisdiction,” is what Junior Hector Walters heard after being convicted for overstaying in Antigua.

Walters pleaded guilty to remaining in the country after the expiration of a permit issued to him by the Immigration Department, allowing him to remain here until 28 Feb., 2009.

He appeared before Chief Magistrate Ivan Walters in the St. John’s Magistrates’ Court yesterday.

The court heard that Walters, a national of Guyana, arrived in Antigua as a “bonafide” visitor.

On 8 Aug., 2008, having arrived here from Guyana, he was landed until 9 Sept., that same year. He was granted an extension on 30 Dec., 2008 until 28 Feb., 2009, to process a work permit to seek employment at Special Security Services. Walters did not process the work permit and later failed to leave the state after his permit expired. The Guyanese man reportedly did not seek to regularise his status in the country during that time.

On 18 May, he was picked up by Enforcement Officers attached to the Immigration Department, who went on duty at Walters’ All Saints Road home.

The officers told him they were making inquiries into his status in the country.

Checks were made at the Immigration Department the following day (19 May) when it was confirmed that Walters does not have any time to remain in the country.

Walters was interviewed by immigration officers on 20 May and later arrested and charged.

Asked by the court if he had anything to say, Walters declined to comment on his situation.

“I have nothing to say,” he said.

Gregson Gardner prosecuted the matter on behalf of the chief immigration officer.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I want to know when the G’ovt. is going to do something about faria?

17. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Imagine ralph gonsalves giving a lecture to P.M. thompson,and that man has no credibility in his own country.

He is alleged to have financial relationships with known drug barons,gave some pardons, has been charged with sexual assault/rape,appointed his son as the amabassador to the United Nations even though the boy is unqualified for that post,taken millions of dollars from Iran and entered into foreign relations with them which is contrary to the stated views of Caricom,and on and on.

Ralph Gonsalves is an selfish,opportunist and political nuisance.

He is in good company with ricky singh,faria, basdeo jagdeo and commisiong.

18. Wow!

Fact finding mission?

Immigration issues in Barbados will not be advanced by public scrutiny alone, says Guyana official.

Published on Friday, May 22, 2009 Email To Friend Print Version

GEORGETOWN, Guyana — Head of the Presidential Secretariat (HPS) in Guyana, Dr Roger Luncheon, said that the resolution of the issues facing Guyanese and other CARICOM nationals in Barbados, is not going to be advanced solely on the basis of ‘public scrutiny’.

Guyana’s Cabinet Secretary, Dr Roger Luncheon

He made this statement about the growing uneasiness among Guyanese in Barbados during his weekly post-Cabinet press briefing on Thursday at the Office of the President.

Guyanese immigrants in Barbados are concerned about their immigration status as of June 1 next, following Prime Minister David Thompson’s recent announcement of a new immigration policy, and have banded together to discuss ways in which to deal with the situation.

The new immigration policy in Barbados may throw not only the lives of the undocumented in disarray, but even the lives of some on the island legally.

According to the Prime Minister, undocumented immigrants have from June 1 to November 31, to present themselves to the Immigration authorities and have their status regularised, or face being forcibly removed from the island. The amnesty would only apply to persons who had been in the island eight years or more prior to 2005, and all others ‘would be removed.’

The ruling would not only affect Guyanese nationals, but nationals of several other CARICOM member states, including, Jamaicans and Vincentians.

The Cabinet Secretary said that that matter has to put into context and two aspects cannot be ignored.

“One the trials and tribulations of CARICOM nationals who for various reasons are residents and not residents in their state of origin, has been a matter that probably is as long in gestation and handling as the Revised Treaty (Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas) itself,” he said.

He added, “Maybe even older than the Revised Treaty.”

“Although you might not feel that we have to be so comprehensive in our analysis of the issue as to recognise other CARICOM nationals are similarly affected – it does indeed occur that way that the Heads have sought through the mechanism of freedom of travel to provide some measure of control on the movement of nationals within the CARICOM community and consequently their treatment.”

Pointing out that this is a perspective that should be given particular attention, he put forward, “I think what our colleagues in government in Barbados focused on was and I admire the term they used, the ‘undocumented’.”

“Presumably not going as far as some go to say ‘illegal immigrants’ and such like – you are undocumented,” Luncheon said.

He said the other aspect of the matter is the Revised Treaty adding, “Of course of equal concern to us is what the Revised Treaty provides for explicitly and what it is that we could infer that the Revised Treaty allows.”

“It is a ‘grey area’ but one that not only CARICOM has had to address,” the HPS said.

“Many nations where the phenomenon is also taking place have had to deal with what the law explicitly provides for and how you deal with the actual situation of ‘undocumented’ within their boundaries,” he observed.

“The records would show from time immemorial that the government of Guyana has taken a principled position on this matter and indeed many of the CARICOM Heads have also taken a principled position,” he said.

However, the Cabinet Secretary offered, “I do not believe that the issue – its resolution is going to be advanced solely on the basis of public scrutiny, public commentary.”

“The specifics of the situation would have to be gotten into and this is where we rely on the Minister of Foreign Affairs and its consular offices in the CARICOM countries to articulate the government of Guyana’s position and to defend the interest of Guyanese who are affected,” he stated.

“If the focus remains on the ‘undocumented’, then the onus on all those who are contributing in a very productive way for solution, is to address the issue of the ‘undocumented’,” he reiterated.

“A second feature is to see how far, maybe you might say the lack of clarity, the custom and practice, the way in which law can be interpreted to facilitate and lesser public reaction and lesser impact on Guyanese or for that matter any other national who would seem to be affected by a more stringent and narrow interpretation and application of the law,” he suggested.

“So we are going to be operating on a number of different trends. Certainly at the Heads and the appropriate institutions within CARICOM to continue to belabour the Guyanese cause,” he assured.

“I want to believe in concert with the Heads of other CARICOM Governments whose nationals are similarly exposed and similarly affected,” he said.

Also, he said, occasions such as the Heads of Government and other gatherings of the institution of CARICOM should be used to perhaps reduce the lack of clarity by introducing additional norms and practices that over time would build a more healthy and realistic approach to the problem of the ‘undocumented’.

“I might say steps have been taken, contingent rights is on the table. I have freedom of travel but what about my immediate family, what about my wife,’ he put forward.

“A decision has not been made. One can indeed recognise some difficulties with going this additional step but the freedom of travel approach did not occur overnight,” he stressed.

“It took quite a bit of negotiations…,” Luncheon reminded.

“As we sit here today, many see the lack of clarity in many aspects contributing to the situation that Guyanese and other nationals face at the hands of authorities in CARICOM countries,” he noted.

He assured, “So we are going to go out there and we are going to continue as we have been doing, fighting and articulating and this is a reactionary approach to the efforts being made by authorities in these countries that offend us…”

“And at the same time, to go ahead with drafting new arrangements, putting in place the understanding that more correspond to the reality of nationals moving and their families moving and others moving and yes may very well be identified as ‘undocumented’,” he said.

But the main opposition party here, The People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) said government needs to do more to defend Guyanese living in Barbados that would end in many of them having to leave that island.

The party in a statement said over the years as Guyanese complained of harassment and discrimination, but the administration merely adopted band aid measures, when what was needed was a firm and well thought out policy.

“The only thing that Guyanese were told was that the matter was being raised at different levels or might have engaged Heads of Government but nothing about a proposed solution.”

The party added that the Thompson Administration has taken official action that is most likely to have unpleasant implications for Guyanese who have lived in Barbados for a long time and also for the implementation of the Caricom Single Market and Economy (CSME).

“The People’s National Congress Reform believes that it is not too late for the Jagdeo Administration and the Caribbean Community to put together a team of experienced past and serving Guyanese and Caribbean diplomats who could immediately embark on a fact finding mission to Barbados and report to the Secretary General of CARICOM in the shortest possible time on the current situation affecting all Caribbean nationals, including our citizens. Such a team could make recommendations to the Jagdeo Administration and these in turn serve as the foundation for a sensible long term policy, which could protect the interest of the Guyanese in Barbados and also enhance the possibility of the smooth implementation of the CSME. We are clear that such a team is needed as we are convinced that the representation afforded by our consulate in that country has been far from adequate,” the release said .

19. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

What is this I reading here at all though?

I can’t even get my mind to fully grasp this thing.

Am I getting it right that the Opposition PNC and the Jagdeo administration feel that they can pressure thompson through a team of retired diplomats to change his mind?

Help me here David,are they saying that persons who had work permits for – say a period of 5 years and not the qualifying 11 years should get amnesty to reside permanently in Barbados?

I wonder if the good citizens of Barbados understood what a mess this country was in,and how the owen arthur administration intended to crap on us?
    These people,guyana,st vincent,commisong and the rest are really saying that all the other countries in the Caribbean except Barbados,can have the right to make independent,decisions for the good of its citizens.

Not Barbados however.

Look,right now I really don’t know if to laugh or cry,because the more I am hearing,it tells me that there seems to be some conspiracy out there to determine the future of barbados in a certain way and owen and mia knew about it and were part of that Master Plan.

20. What is clear is that there is a perception across the region that Bajans are passive. We give amnesty and there is a commotion. The other countries kick the illegals out and not a murmur.

21. Even norman faria is starting to realise that this’ barbados bashing’ by he as consul general,guyanese home and abroad and the guyanese and st vincent government is only turning off bajans.

Faria is now telling the guyanese newspapers to back off.

Huh.

After faria sent news releases out to all the guyanese newspapers saying that barbados is targetting guyanese based on how the look;which is code for ‘because they are indians’.

This from someone holding a quasi-diplomatic position,mind you.

I know Thompson would have taken careful note of that.

22. The Prime Minister is dead on in relation to this issue. I support him 100%.

23. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Have you seen the starbroek newspaper article’s headline:’Jagdeo slams Barbados Government’?

I was waiting for that one by Jagdeo,although he had the good sense to admit that there is little Guyana can do except offer solidarity to the guyanese in barbados.

He is however saying he is specifically going to the Caricom’s heads of government meeting on Sunday to raise this issue.

Where I take exception is his nasty remark that the barbados government is unilaterally treating guyanese and other west indian people badly.

The Barbados government mind you,and this from a caricom head of government.

I hope david thompson reminds jagdeo of his many previous warnings to jagdeo about his guyanese countrymen’s behaviour in barbados and how it was negatively affecting Barbados.

It is time too at that meeting that Thompson and the other leaders like Golding and Spencer ‘read the riot act’ to Jagdeo about his stated policy of ‘exporting his people to the other caribbean countries’,and for not providing opportunities in guyana for all – indians and africans.

24. @mash up & buy back

We read the article. What is interesting are the comments. Most of them are very critical of Jagdeo for overseeing polices which continue to drive his people out of Guyana. This article is Jagdeo succumbing to pressure and forced to issue a political statement (political pandering). It is the problem with Caribbean politicians, a lack of leadership.

25. Can anyone tell me why all of these people want to stay in Barbados? Whats wrong with where they come from?

The fact that hey dont want to go home mean we in Barbados got something good. at least better.

That allso means we MADE something good. at least better.

That also means that if we made it we should decide who to give it to, Our children or a stranger, which would you choose?

If we decide that you don’t got nutting good to offer and you only coming to destroy, pull down etc….. WE GIN KICK YA OUT

If i brake the law and grow a plant the government say not to grow THEM GIN LOCK ME UP.

If i brake the law by overstaying my welcome i should be punished the same way.

JUST EXERCISING MY COMMON CENTS……..

26. Just saw an amazing interview done by CMC’s Kaymar Jordan and ralph gonsalves of St Vincent.

It seems as though ralphie got a good telling off in Trinidad on Sunday,because he now is backing off from his claim that it was Barbados he was speaking about with regard to the deportation of the 5 year old child and and the 17 year old school boy who the vincentian woman married to a bajan wanted (them) to go to school free in barbados.

Although kaymar kept pressing him,he refused to now mention’s Barbados’ name.

Let’s hope CBC shows this interview.

Thompson boy,you real good fuh true.

27. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

This man is something special when he gets on his high horse in St Vincent on one hand while on the other he is begging the Barbadian Prime Minister to send our Defence Force to St.Vincent to help him eradicate the herb in his country.
    We are bigger hearted than he, that is why our Forces are helping him out.

28. What mirror image our regional politicians have of themselves? Don’t people like Gonsalves and Jagdeo ever look at themselves in the mirror and is proud of who they see? The double standards set by these and other individuals are sending a bad smell in the atmosphere that is causing global warming. Each country has laws and laws are meant to be obayed, therefore if some-one comes into the country and ask for or is given a specific length of stay in that country, then when you refuse to depart you are breaking the laws of the particular country. I’m sure each of us fill out an immigration card to be presented at the port of entry. When you state the length of stay knowing that you don’t plan on departing on that given date, you are defrauding the country of entry, thus you are illegal and there is a punishment for so doing. Having explain this, pray tell me how anyone with a law-abiding mind can fault our P.M for putting can end to this illegal practice? If I am to believe that once an illegal act is done on a regular basis that it should be ignored, then give the PSV’s a free range, so too those reckless drivers on the streets especially on weel-ends, the drug people, in fact just let the people set their our laws to please each individual. Those people who are critical of P.M Thompson should look themselves in the mirror and ask themselves, ‘ am I saying this for the good of my country or for personal benefits?” Remember young people are watching us adults ans seeing the double standards we are setting and then trying to dictate how they should live. This country needs to get back to the basics of good living. It is not that we bajans don’t want anyone else here, we welcome everyone especially our neighbours but please don’t try to come in overwhelming numbers and then challenge our very right of living.

29. 1000000000 foreigners could come once them bring something good with them, not to come and take what we work hard for and take it back with them.