AP Photo/ Evan Agostini, AP Photo

Last night the news broke that Rihanna would not be able to honour her contract to perform as the opening act at the Grammy Awards ceremony. Almost immediately similar news followed that her American boy friend Chris Brown of about one year cancelled his appearance as well. Then early this morning the international news wires started to sizzle with the news of a possible domestic dispute between the two young international pop stars.

A tribute to the handlers of both stars is the fact that information about the reported incident in California last night has been kept under tight secrecy. Despite the blackout on information reports are starting to emerge of a bloodied and bruised Rihanna. The one fact known to the world which has been confirmed by American police is that Chris Brown “was booked by police on suspicion of making a felony criminal threat.”

Barbados is a small island driven to rumour easily. Last year many Barbadians heard the whispers that boy friend Chris Brown had demonstrated anger on many occasions when some of Rihanna’s male friends would visit. There is the biggest rumour of all that on one occasion the windows of her new SUV were smashed. Maybe the signs have always been there that Rihanna needed to step back.

BU has written blogs which have expressed our concern about Rihanna’s safety in the world of show biz. Here is an ordinary Bajan girl who was plucked from obscurity and dumped on the world stage, through which she has handled herself with class. The one worry we have had has been her need to associate with the tattooed splotched Chris Brown.  BU reconciled our concerns by observing the intoxicating success Rihanna has been able to achieve given her meteoric rise on the entertainment pop scene.

It has not been 48 hours since the incident and the reality for Chris Brown is that the American capitalist system has already set-in. The blogosphere is reporting that chewing gum manufacturers Wrigley has suspended a commercial with Brown. We continue to wonder if these young stars have brains, remember the great Michael Phelps caught pulling on a cannabis pipe recently?

Until more information is released we will withhold further comment. However incidents like this clearly show why the government maybe threading cautiously to aggressively marry the Rihanna brand with our tourism brand.

Through it all Rihanna Barbados loves you!

1. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

I am proud of the fact that a Bajan has done so well but to call her a singer is a bit of a stretch. There are two sides to every story so I would wait for the court case to weigh the evidence. So count me out of any vigilantism. Apart from that just like Paris Britney and all the other flakes in the entertainment industry I really dont care what they do in their private lives or what happens to them. I have my own problems.

2. Bonny, I’m not infatuated with her body – I’m old enough to be her daddy – although I do think she looks very nice and maybe, if I were young again I might be – but I adore her singing! The fact that u don’t indicates either that ur very old or have no serious appreciation of beautiful music. My dear fellow, u just have to consider the millions (like myself) who’ve paid good money and taken their children to see her. We would n’t do that if she was n’t fantastic! I can’t remember the last time I went to a concert before Rihanna’s but I did to see her and, it was n’t because she’s Barbadian, I assure you, but also because she’s absolutely, brilliant!! Why don’t u go to one of her shows and then decide! Then u might understand why the whole world is raving about her!! You’ve just no real concept of just how wonderful she is!! Unfortunately, she seems to have a violent-streak in her, I suspect from childhood, which has proved her undoing in this case. Let’s hope she can exorcise it, just keep singing sweetly and forget the rest!!

Love my girl, Rihanna!! Think Brown is a *hit!!

199 we know you ain’t got no Lambourghini

‘J’, you’re making a lot of assumptions or are u just cadging for a ride in it! You’ve only got to ask and, the next time I come to Bim I’ll c what I can do!! The experience is exquisite!! Almost better than sex!! The speed is unimaginable and wonderful!!

By the way, would you like to see my poem-dedication to the wonderful Rihanna?!!

3. RIHANNA is absolutely stunning I have heard, and when she walks into a room all heads turn. I saw the Disturbia video and my dears the girl is a rocker, she can sing too. No other singer can hold a candle to Rihanna, Beyonce, she nice, just another American girl from East Texas though, Paris Hilton, she is nice too, but she is no Rihianna, Amy Winehouse well she is the living dead, they said on the news Rihanna is coming home to Barbados. Does Monica live in Barbados, I think Monica should be with Rihanna and if Monica can’t then Mother Braithwaite should be with her.

4. Is where this 199 cents poem 199 that you touting here since yesterday and nothing. You can’t do better, and you know it and I know it.

5. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

Qoute;Anonymous // February 12, 2009 at 8:12 am

“Party Barbados Girl, President Obama is a black man, African American man, Bruduh President, and I am not the one that made up the rules in the old days, they are the ones that made up the one drop rule, so in many instances people who are of mixed African decent just decided hey look I am African American”

You sound a bit paranoid to me.
    I know all about the one drop rule,but this isn`t my issue.
    My issue isn`t racial,but CULTURAL.
    What i say,is that Obama is not a result of slavetrade and that stuff,and therefor do not have the mental baggage that f.ex. You carry with you.
    Of course white people do not really see the difference outside,but inside his heritage is a BIT different.
    He has a calmer attitude.;-))

6. Anonymous, I’ve completed the poem and it’s ‘a beauty’!! However, nobody’s asked me to show it to them, yet!!

I agree with u, completely, about Rihanna. She supercedes all of those other ‘stars’ u mentioned!! I’d rather watch our girl than any of those others, any day, any time!!

7. Anon, the poem’s titled, ‘Rihanna Blue’!!

Nice title, eh?!!

8. Do u think Rihanna reads this blog!! If only we could hear from our girl, ourselves, nuh!!

Sigh!!

9. I had a look at ‘Bajan Poetry’s’ website but could n’t see nuh poetry pun day!!

10. 199, Yes she does read, I know so, because at first she never acknowledged that her Mum was Guyanese, but I was here pushing her Guyanese side, and all of sudden I seeing they are saying Mum is Guyanese, so somebody reading, and I have been here a long time now typing and typing away whenever the subject matter is our girl. Can hardly wait to read your poem.

11. Hi Anonymous, delighted to hear that ur also, a Rihanna fanatic! She’s the best! Hope ur right about her reading here and that she’ll take my advice above and keep away from idiots! I wonder if she noticed how fast Leona Lewis was to distance herself from the boy and any damage such association might have on her career!!

Rihanna sweets, if ur reading give us a “hello” and then I’ll publish my poem devoted to u and only u!! 🙂

12. Tempting first line ‘snippet’!!:

Rihanna Blue!!

Rihanna baby,
    Sky-bird blue!! (all evocations of the blue, Bajan sky – and she is, most certainly, a gorgeous BIRD)!!

Dats all for now!!

Laaaaadddddddddddddddd!!!! 🙂

13. Hi 199 you and I reading off the same page, as I read last night that Rihanna and Leona Lewis did a project together, and I was wondering if Rihanna told Leona of her Guyanese background. You are too much, the poem is wonderful yes, wonderful. She is due back in Babados shortly, and if I was there I would be at Seawell shouting Yeah Yeah Rihanna come back. She is indeed a beautiful girl, a true beauty, and what a presence she has.

14. Partly BDS Girl, well I am glad to hear that a least somebody that looks like us does not have high blood pressure, since he so calm as you say. But the fact remains he was born here, and has had to deal with them and all they shennaigans so I am not too sure about what you saying.

15. Anonymous, sugar!! Agree with u 100% about Rihanna and if I could, old as I am, I’d be at the airport with u, waving and shouting and welcoming our girl, back home!!

By the way, that’s only the first two lines sugar! Much more delights to come but others have also, to be interested in reading it otherwise I’ll feel silly!!

Lord!!

16. Dear 199:

Give us the whole thing nuh!!!!

“Rihanna Blue”

17. Anybody see any pictures of Chris Brown’s groin?

AAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhh

18. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

I just have to say this; while Rihanna is an international success and is by far the most widely recognised singer to come out of Barbados She is very limited Vocally. in terms of creativity there is very little there ; her music , words and performances are manufactured by a publicity and marketing machine that is the commercial record label today. vocally she is far the inferior of gwen stefani, fergie, beyonce, Jill Scott; jennifer Hudson and a whole host more but she is far more popular; When I see her win a Grammy for Song of the year, record of the year or Album of the year then that will be proof of creative quality and musical excellence. While winning a grammy, any grammy, is a fine achievement some categories are a better measure of excellence.

Having said all that i acknowledge that she may not be about making excellent music, she may be about making money and selling records which is perfectly alright if that is what you want to do but that type of music fades fast and is dependent on a fickle fan base.

19. Ok J, uv twisted my arm!! Here’re another 2 line!! Too, sweet to give in one go!!

Rihanna baby
    Sky-bird blue
    Welcome back to the waters new
    Of Barbados’ golden-brew (the Barbadian sea)!!

20. More tomorra!!

Laaaaaadddddddddddddddd!!!!

21. What I caan onstan is dat ‘Barbadian Poetry’ claims to b a poet yet, he doan seem intrested!! Wha kine a poet he is?!!

22. Give it up,199!

23. Bad man saying nuttin …good user name because you havent said nuttin at all…
    Janet, Madonna, Britney and even Beyonce all are not strong vocalists but they are all great performers …and so is Rihanna and please remeber that she is just about to be 21. Lets look back at how these above sang and performed back then!

24. Elombe dah is you?

25. Beer Rat.O. Mama Avatar

Anon
    it should be

cast apersions -not cast aspirations
    ——————————————–
    why do people make this silly mistake ?

26. Beer Rat.O. Mama Avatar

aspersions

cast ASPERSIONS

sorry for the typo

27. When this whole affair is revealed I feel strongly that most people will be shocked…..

Wanna really feel that that li’l sick looking American boy could win with Ri Ri?

First thing she is a graduate of the Cawmere Institute of Life.

Second she is a graduate of the Cadets..

…third she is a serious ‘black hat’…

Bush tea feel that Chris Brown probably tek some real licks hear…?

…Otherwise Ri Ri got some explaining to do…

28. me,
    Ya mekkin sport. Bad Man Sayin Nuttin, is keep it real girl. I love to read he blogs. Wah you talkin’bout? He is be real good girl.

I in able wid you soul, so i res’ my case. You is too much fa me bosey.
    Bout dah poem, tek my advice…………stick ta wah you good at, what eva’ dat is.

Gear Box,
    I did beginnin to panic. Where was you hidin’ man? Long time no hear. I miss my aahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

Beer Rat O Mama,
    Dah name alone is got me cryingggggg.

29. Rihanna in that Disturbia video comes across as a strong no nonsense female, she is sexy too, but the underlying message is that I am strong don’t you try anything with me. I see what Bush Tea is saying. Chris comes across as mere boy, but Rihanna is this strong sexy woman, so I don’t know.

30. She is not an object for brutalizing
    Don’t show your love by strictly beating
    A woman is a thing of joy and beauty
    Sweet and tender and very lovely
    You got to treat her nice and delicately
    Love her strong and sincerely
    If yuh want to doubt me
    Check ‘wid ‘(with) a woman and see

If yuh bust up she face that’s a disgrace
    Knock out she teet’
    Man that aint sweet
    Kick in she tail
    Man yuh know yuh fail
    Brek up she hand
    You are really no man

If she horning you
    Don’t beat she
    If she doing she do
    Don’t beat she
    Nah give yuh honey
    Tek all yuh money
    Don’t beat she

A woman wants a man who is sensitive
    Gentle and kind not abusive
    No man to kill she with blows
    No black eye no bloody nose
    Nuff attention and TLC
    Total commitment, fidelity
    If yuh want to doubt me
    Check wid (with) a woman and see

If yuh bust up she face that’s a disgrace
    Knock out she teet’
    Man that aint sweet
    Kick in she tail
    Man yuh know yuh fail

She behaving rude
    dont beat she
    Aint cook the food
    dont beat she
    She is not your property
    She has equality
    dont beat she
    Don’t beat she

Woman, you have a responsibility
    To treat him nice and make him happy
    A man has feelings just like you do
    Wants and needs, he has them too
    You got to show him that you really love him
    Make him forget about kim
    If yuh want to doubt me
    Check ‘wid’ a woman and see

If she say that she done
    Don’t beat she
    pack your bags and run
    don’t beat she
    if she got another plan
    don’t play big man
    don’t beat she

31. For all you poets out there….I’d like you to google Lyrics to “Emergency Room” by Akon and Rihanna. This is one of the cuts on her new CD coming out soon entitled “RiRi”. I’m interested to hear your comments after checking it out.

32. I can only assume that you people don’t appreciate brilliant poetry!!

33. All this crap about ‘strong woman’ might be why she’s ended up where she is! She may have been surprised to discover there’re others even stronger than her!! U can rely on the feminists to talk *hit and sadly, our girl may have fallen for it, to her cost!!

34. Congratulations, Asiba!! I guess that’s the level of ‘poem’ which Bajans appreciate. I subscribe to something more sophisticated!!

35. Asiba, I read the jacket and tie thing and I say no, don’t wear them. Love your poem too.

36. Well a poem could be a song and a song a poem BUT the above is a song
    simple and straight forward.

I recorded this song and it is available at the radio stations and other places.

I performed this song in the Tents where it was well received. To me, the tent version is a sweeter version , it has different arrangements with the horns playing a role that reflect the skills of arranger Smokey Roett.

37. Asiba, are you acknowledging that the poem is n’t even your own creation but somebody else’s?!!

38. I was opposed to Rihanna having a boyfriend at her age and with her career

I believe that she does not need the distraction

I believe that if the hormones are kicking in-if necessary a nice liitle fellow in barbados could solve that problem=(but I dont advocate that to the nation anyhow——-I believe -abstinence until marriage is the way to go)

I believe that at their ages jealousy and possesiveness becomes a big thing.

sometimes simply talking to another person becomes a big crisis in relationships that involve teenagers

39. Devil's Advocate Avatar
    Devil’s Advocate

RiRi Rocks as an entertainer and whoever says not could ____ ____ off !!!

Despite all the star she is made out to be remember she is a regular girl who is probably going through so much right now and despite all that has happend the worse pain she is probably feeling is a broken heart and the pain and disappointment of the loss of a relationship. So all a wunna should stop commenting on what wunna dont know bout and continue to support our Girl in whatever she does!

40. 199,
    Waitttttttt, dah was suppose to be a ‘poem’? Tell de trute, I tawt you was writin a ‘love letta’. Ya bad doe. Keep um up.
    Ya sweet devil.
    Happy Valentines anyway.

41. Well Asiba I like the words to your song, but the fact is I just love your name. Asiba the Buffalo Soldier, ever so often that name pops into my head, Asiba the Buffalo Soldier, it is so nice. I have not seen you for while though, and then here you show.

42. well it is february 14th
    love is definitely in the air

43. this blog is funny!!!!. I only just discovered it. I must say that if Rihanna is going to assist in the prosecution of that lil criminal, I congratulate her. I see this kind of abuse every day in my job, it is no mean fun to see women all busted up by these cowardly men. I sincerely hope that she cut all ties with him, professionally as well as personally. She can do better. Dont be afraid girl, we half Guyanese and Bajan women are strong, kick him to the curb. You people in this blog should give the girl some support and stop being so critical of Ri. What if it were your sister, mother or daughter, how would you feel then, huh.

44. Well, I am going to see if I can arrange for a shipment of big ass BIm rockstones to go to Rihanna, coz clearly she had none at hand. Chris Brown is a punk. Provoked or not…to pummel someone’s face to that degree and then be “rueful and remorseful” is nonsense. He needs some anger management, i.e. a good few Bajans to meet him up somewhere and show him how a black eye for a black is really wuk! Foolish little boy… my grannie used to say, ya raise ya hand to a woman, ya might as well raise it to the Lord in surrender.

45. sorry, as above, i meant a black eye for a black eye…just so we doan no connotations going on here too!!!

46. ‘Comfort’, u think we “should give her some support”!! Have u read the blog!!

He’s an ugly twat, anyway!! She can do much better than that!!

Ok, Bonny!! Sorry u did n’t like the poem and, ‘Tech’, can u honestly swear to posting under just one moniker on this board!!

47. These are the lyrics to Rihanna’s song “Emergency Room” which she sings with Akon on her upcoming CD. Clearly, this is almost a premonition of what went down between her and Chris Brown. It also makes one think about what’s going on with this young woman to be singing such dribble. I’m beginning to think that she has “jealousy managment” issues which brought out the “anger management” issues in Chris Brown. Anyway, here are the lyrics:

Verse 1
    I was pickin’ up your clothes in the closet (closet)
    I was bout’ to throw your jeans in the washer (washer)
    Til I saw a piece of paper sayin’ “Tasha” (Tasha)
    I gotta say I found this a bit shockin’
    And some reciepts here that say you went shoppin’
    You bought some Nike shoes
    But why you buyin stockings?
    Boy how could you lie to me?
    I thought you would die for me
    I’m not accepting another apology.

Bridge
    After three years, I’ma let it go
    Can’t stand around cryin’ no more
    Got your bags packed sittin’ by the door
    I’ma leave you heart broken on the floor

Chorus
    You gonna be in the Emergency Room
    I’m standing by your bed
    And so-tempted to pull out your IV
    I’m fightin’ with myself
    I can’t hurt you even though you hurt me
    Tryin’ to call a nurse but nobody can help you now
    Let me see you try to live without me
    Now where’s your heartbeat?
    Flat line on the E-K-G

Verse 2
    Well I was home late at night watchin’ TV
    Got a call from my girl sayin’ “RiRi
    Saw your man in the club
    I thought he was out of town doin’ business
    Said that he’d be back in three weeks”
    Now I’m mad (mad)
    Sittin’ in the kitchen gettin sad (sad)
    Lookin’ at your pictures
    Boy how could you lie to me?
    I thought you would die for me
    I’m not accepting another apology.

Bridge
    After three years, I’ma let it go
    Can’t stand around cryin’ no more
    Got your bags packed sittin’ by the door
    I’ma leave you heart broken on the floor

Chorus
    I’m standing by your bed
    And so tempted to pull out your IV
    I’m fightin’ with myself
    Tryin’ to call a nurse but nobody can help you now
    Flat line on the E-K-G

Verse 3
    I did you wrong girl (I did)
    Had a bunch of numbers in my phone girl (I did)
    But we been in this relationship to long girl
    For you to be listening to your silly home girls
    Better go on girl
    Now baby think about it
    Everything we gonna do they gonna read about it
    Put it on the radio and TV outlet
    Do you wanna see your picture in that paper?
    You know them haters…
    You hear that 808
    The drum… that’s my heartbeat
    I’m going numb
    I said Rihanna, I’m feelin stressed
    I’m goin under cardiac arrest

Chorus
    I’m standing by your bed
    And so tempted to pull out your IV
    I’m fightin’ with myself
    Tryin to call a nurse but nobody can help you now
    Flat line on the E-K-G

48. OH PUHHHLEEEEEEEZ!
    its so pathetic the way we are so indulgent in the lives of these so called stars!
    i KNOW this whole “she got a black eye, bite marks” etc are all LIES. there is no doubt now that chris hit rihanna but the fact is, he probably just slapped her or something, no wonder the dad is not fuming.
    the point is, there are tonnnes of women who are goin through this everyday and the spotlight should be on them. why is there an outpour of sympathy? because rihanna is a star? i bet if stacy down the street got beat by her man and posted it on the net, no one would even have time to say im sorry for what youre going through.
    everything about rihanna is overexaggerated, and that makes her very annoying to me.
    i mean barbados did the most stupid thing i have ever heard of, they dedicated a whole day to her and gave her numerous presents because she won a grammy, now a bajan wins a noble price and did anyone give him a coconut? NO, nothing!!!!
    what message does this send out to bajan youth? – be a pop star not someone who makes a difference to the world!
    countless of kids will drop out of school because of people like rihanna and here is why- rihanna has the a mediocre voice many girls her age have and she has had tremendous success, now a girl her age wil be thinkin well if rihanna can do it, then so can i- i need to pursue this career. then bang- out of school.
    now jay-z please keep your mouth closed! why should we all support rihanna? why? because she is a star? until i know wat happened none of these kids get my support or sympathy.
    i am will not condone any sort of violence, be it against man or woman. rihanna slapped chris back in barbados when they came home, and i know that was not the first or the last. kick a dog long enough and soon enough its gonna bite u.
    men should never hit women, yes, but women should not mistaken men for a punching bag either. Why is it ok for a woman to hit a man but not the other way round? dont hit and you wont get hit! men are not robots, they have a breaking point too.
    again wat kinda message is this sending out to young girls- hit a man its ok.
    rihanna is not a child! the girl is 20 years old, going on 21, females her age start families and are responsible so please stop makin it as if she is this frail young thing that got abused. so fuckin annoying!

49. Bonny and all of you, Ri is in Barbados right now. I just cam eon line and the headlines on the I guess first page of the computer says that Ronald Fenty is speaking out about Ri’s situation with Chris Brown. Rihanna you don’t need Chris Brown, the Lord has got great things in sotre for you, he is just a boy in a big body. Have fun at home and a bid Hello to your lovely Mum Monica, and the Braithwaite family. Lvoe you