AP Photo/ Evan Agostini, AP Photo

Last night the news broke that Rihanna would not be able to honour her contract to perform as the opening act at the Grammy Awards ceremony. Almost immediately similar news followed that her American boy friend Chris Brown of about one year cancelled his appearance as well. Then early this morning the international news wires started to sizzle with the news of a possible domestic dispute between the two young international pop stars.

A tribute to the handlers of both stars is the fact that information about the reported incident in California last night has been kept under tight secrecy. Despite the blackout on information reports are starting to emerge of a bloodied and bruised Rihanna. The one fact known to the world which has been confirmed by American police is that Chris Brown “was booked by police on suspicion of making a felony criminal threat.”

Barbados is a small island driven to rumour easily. Last year many Barbadians heard the whispers that boy friend Chris Brown had demonstrated anger on many occasions when some of Rihanna’s male friends would visit. There is the biggest rumour of all that on one occasion the windows of her new SUV were smashed. Maybe the signs have always been there that Rihanna needed to step back.

BU has written blogs which have expressed our concern about Rihanna’s safety in the world of show biz. Here is an ordinary Bajan girl who was plucked from obscurity and dumped on the world stage, through which she has handled herself with class. The one worry we have had has been her need to associate with the tattooed splotched Chris Brown.  BU reconciled our concerns by observing the intoxicating success Rihanna has been able to achieve given her meteoric rise on the entertainment pop scene.

It has not been 48 hours since the incident and the reality for Chris Brown is that the American capitalist system has already set-in. The blogosphere is reporting that chewing gum manufacturers Wrigley has suspended a commercial with Brown. We continue to wonder if these young stars have brains, remember the great Michael Phelps caught pulling on a cannabis pipe recently?

Until more information is released we will withhold further comment. However incidents like this clearly show why the government maybe threading cautiously to aggressively marry the Rihanna brand with our tourism brand.

Through it all Rihanna Barbados loves you!

1. Our girl has never really, truly looked happy in any of the recent pics which I’ve seen of her, inspite of Chris Brown! Our girl needs to realise the sad fact that you can’t force somebody to love you and if he does n’t truly, to end the relationship or it could transpire in the way that hers has done! And, that a shit is still a shit, no matter how much bling he’s wearing and to keep well away!

2. Black American culture???????

Explain please!!

3. Scout,
    my darling we would never part company over a lil bassa-bassa like dis. We would agree to disagree but ma still luffs you. Doan get foolish. You are a strong family-man and I love that about you. I am a very strong family-woman too and you got to luff me fa dat too. I would disfigure, main or disable a fella fa my family too. (smooch)

Devil’s Advocate,
    Sometimes it is the actions of your partner that causes him/her to feel insecure too. He/she knows that he is ‘laying’ as many of his workmates and automatically he thinks that your workmates are ‘laying’ you too. I will give you a lil joke to reiterate my comment. A fella told me that he went out with a ‘side-ting’ one night and he told her that when she gets home and de hubby wants to ‘mek a lil sport’ at bedtime to tell him that she has a headache. Now when he got home and went to ‘mek a lil sport’ wid his wife, she looked at him and said, “Man, I got a headache’. You could imagine the thoughts that went through his head?

4. I can’t explain black America, because it is in the spirit. I was raised in a all black area of where I come from, and I use to think WOW we are here, but we are so close to Africa, and we were, but when I landed in America, and I tuned in the radio, now there were many, many many radio stations, and I would listen to a little bit and then go on to the next station, and finaally I came upon the black radio station, now in that time it was the black radio station, and I listened and I said this is my radio station, they were playing Aretha, the Temps, Supremes, Martha Reeves, Junior Walker, and so on and even on the coldest of days I could feel that black American culture coming through that radio station, the vitality, the excitment. I thought I was in heaven, after years of hearing, Lord Canary and Lord Kitchner and Might Sparrow, I just thought WOW listen to this new music. This is just an example, but black American is mixed in with the white culture, I have seen many examples. Anyway, I think the greatest people on earth are Black Americans.

5. Tech and Bad Man, You have to experience Black American culture, as I can’t explain it. It is In the spirit, and I am borrowing In the spirit from Susan Taylor the former editor of essence magazine.

6. Adrian Hinds,

I LOVE YOU.

PLEASE BE MY VALENTINE.(smooch)

7. My song for Rhianna is WHO CAN I RUN TO, by Xscape.

8. Bonny Peppa & Adrian Hinds?
    Man that sound like too hot a mix up yuh! LOL

9. Georgie Porgie,
    Adrian would got ta change he name to Cayenne Peppa.
    Meet Mr&Mrs Bonny and Cayenne Peppa. How um sound?

Happy Valentines my darlinks , dat is if you celebrate um.

10. Bonny Peppa don’t let us block GP IS MINE! DON’T FORGET IT!

11. LOL, Bonny duh man ain’t gon change he name to Cayenne Pepper, he does not like the Guyanas, more like Mr. & Mrs. Bonny and Sweet Pepper.

12. Bonny Peppa
    Careful wuh yuh say here? Cause I dont wanna get in nuh bussa bussa wid JC and then David got we picture all over this blog.

13. Bonny

You like you want JC to put licks in me fuh Scout to laff at me now? Then he will say she is he niece or dorter and want to beat me again.

14. Rihanna Barbados Still Loves You

Rags to riches, a great fantasy
    Island girl is now a big Celebrity
    Her stardom extends to many shores
    And her skills have opened many doors
    Never did we have such a superstar
    No one before her or since, has gotten as far
    And though we usher her to entertainment slaughter
    Bajans want even greater successes for their first daughter
    Awards a plenty and contracts to match
    Riveting performances and greatness to attach
    “Barbados I love you” she said receiving her Grammy
    And Barbados loves you too Robyn Rihanna Fenty
    Def Jam has done great work promoting our girl
    Our thanks to them for polishing our pearl
    She was held in our grips until she was ready
    Sent off on her own to pursue her celebrity
    This is her dream realized and we all share in it
    It is an incredible journey that requires a brave habit
    Life in the spotlight requires unmatchable finesse
    Learning to walk a tight rope and showing no stress
    Limelight is like climbing a greased pole
    Over a bed of burning coal
    Violence is but one of the dangers she’ll meet
    Exposure to drugs, money and relationships that cheat
    So we Bajans have been armed to do our part
    You Rihanna will always hold a place in our heart
    Our thoughts are with you and we trust what you do
    Use your judgment cause Rihanna Barbados Still Loves You!

An Acrostic Poem fron The Bajan Poetry Society

15. Rihanna,

This is my favourte spirital and it is beautifully sung the late Rev. James Cleveland and the Southern California Community Chior. This song apples to you also Rihanna. “I don’t feel no ways tired, I come this far from where I started from, nobody told me that the road would be easy, I don’t beleive he brought me this far and would just leave me.

You see Rihanna, I like your Mum left Guyana for places where people did not like me, I have had lots of pitfalls, but Jesus never left me. So you hold on, pray, I praying, all of Barbados praying and you fans in Guyana praying, we all praying, so there is nothing to worry about, plus we praying for Chris, I use to say to myself he looks like your brother and as people say, when you look like brother and sister is a match made in heaven, so we thinking of you and praying for you.

16. Bajan Poetry: nice poem, I Love It.

This is a very sad situation, however you look at it, there is nothing entertaining about domestic violence.

There are always too many obnoxious rumors flying around by lawless people and this girl should be allowed to live a private life. I think Barbadians are too jealous minded, most people I hear talking seems to think it is funny; but it would not be, if it was one of their family members.

Rihanna, look to God for strength in this difficult time. I hope and pray that you received all the emotional support you need & May God Bless You.

17. i’m kinda glad this happened cause i didn’t want her to go to malaysia. because of the death threats…..i think someone or many people there meant to kill her as an example.yet i don’t like what cb did.

18. Technician // February 11, 2009 at 4:48 pm

Black American culture???????

Explain please!!

Tech, that one’s easy!! Rap ‘music’!!

LOR!!

Nuh wonder they’re jealous of our true, songbird!!

19. Bajan Poetry // February 12, 2009 at 12:10 am

Rihanna Barbados Still Loves You

Rags to riches, a great fantasy

U call dah poetry?!! Wah I could do betta in my sleep!!

20. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

Of course i know that american black culture is diverce and rich!
    The point is that other places,f.ex. in Europe,the most visible feature is the present pop-culture with them gangsta`hiphop guys and from here it seems very stereotype for someone who is NOT of black descent.

Something else i have noticed, is how you all embrace and praise president Obama as a afroamerican president.
    But he is mixed of white mother and a african man,and his legacy is indeed a bit different in many ways from that of most black americans?
    Colour is not everything.
    He is a true rainbow child of the 60`s and doesn`t really carry all the legacy of anger and struggle that most black americans inhabit.
    I do not see him as a representant of most black afro americans,really.
    more that of a real cosmopolitan.

21. If the allegations in The Sun article are correct then I’m not surprised that Brown lost his temper. I would too, if somebody threw away my Lambourghini keys!! However, he should n’t have beaten her as badly as he did for which Rihanna may have her lesbian, feminist-freak friends to thank for fooling her that she can do as she likes because she’s a woman – check the words of the song she was recording!

As much as I love u sweetie, it nuh guh so dear! It’s time to grow-up and stick to what you’re best at doing, singing sensible songs, sweetly!!

22. Party Barbados Girl, President Obama is a black man, African American man, Bruduh President, and I am not the one that made up the rules in the old days, they are the ones that made up the one drop rule, so in many instances people who are of mixed African decent just decided hey look I am African American. My dear to you colour is not everything, but in my experience here in America colour is everything. Here is story for you, we have an organisation here called the NAACP anyway the founder was a light skin man named Walter White, well one day Walter was knocked down by a car on a busy street in Atlanta, well the ambulance drivers took Walter to the white section of Grady Hospital, a white doctor recognised Walter and he was transfered to the black section of Grady Hospital. Anyway President Obama says he is a black American man and we accept him as such just as PM David Thompson says he is a black Barbadian man, we acceept him as such.

23. 199, you trippin or something here, because that is a lovely poem to our girl, and if you could do so better, drop one here on us. I am not talking about no rap music, I am talking gospel and it look to me like you need some gospel music to help you get your praise on.

24. Anonymous, I’ve already written that poem which took me all of about 15 minutes to do and, I can assure you, it’s a masterpiece-improvement on the one above!!

25. 199, you write none, or else you would have posted it here. Anyway, I am waiting. In the meantime I am praying for both Chris and Rihianna, young love gone bad. Please keep us posted BU on any new details. thanks

26. Anonymous, I have and it’s called ‘Rihanna Blue’!!

Would u like to read it!!

27. In an earlier post, some said that Rihanna was brilliant.

I wonder what you would think of this girl who was celebrated in today’s Nation?

Her perfprmance has certainly impressed me. She seems to surpass the lengendary exploits of Darcy Boyce at HC in the 60’s.

Ranisha is an ace in the pack
    Published on: 2/12/09.
    SHE HAS NEVER ALLOWED her epilepsy to keep her down.
    At aged 13 she took her first Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC) paper in religious knowledge.
    By the time she reached fourth form at Harrison College, Ranisha Young had obtained passes in information technology, mathematics, English language, and principles of business – all at Grade 1. She had also gained principlesof accounts at Grade 3.
    When she entered fifth form to complete sixth form work, she excelled in A Level accounts, law, management of business, mathematics, economics, communications studies and sociology. Not happy with her grade in principlesof business, she sat it again, with a Grade 1 success. She also obtained passes in Spanish, human and social biology, electronic document Preparation and management.
    Armed with 17 subjects, Ranisha decided at the age of 15 to apply to the University of the West Indies (UWI) where she is currently studying accounting and law.
    Many who see Ranisha would agree that she looks much younger than her 16 years.
    One of the highlights of her years at school is that she taught herself sociology and economics, later gaining both subjects at A Level standard.
    A former student of Goodings Private School and St Martin’s Primary, Ranisha also loves to study and surf the Internet for information on various subjects.
    “Studying is a hobby, and I love to read a lot. I read almost anything,” the young academic says.
    Apart from her studies, Ranisha got involved in a number of activities at school. They ranged from track and field (at which she also excelledas a long distance runner), to dancing. Whileshe still finds time to spend with friends and attend parties, the Kirton’s, St Philip resident is focused on her studies.
    Ranisha was exempted from most of her first year courses at university because of her success O and A Level subjects. She spends six to seven days each week at the UWI, but prefers to reserve Sundays for the beach with family members
    including her three siblings. Her parents are Dawn Young and James Greenidge, both individual restaurant proprietors,
    Ranisha is one of the younger students on campus, and when she graduates from the UWI, she will be a mere 18 or 19 years old – the ages at which most persons enter university.
    The first of four children, Ranisha hopes to commence studies for her Master’s degree within the next three years.
    Her ability to excel is a wonder to her parents and grandparents. That’s because while she is clearly an academic, Ranisha missed many days away from school due to her epileptic seizures.
    Inspired however by her dad, a former student of The Lodge School, and her cousin Ianthe Hill, a teacher, together with Troy “Kudos” Weekes, Ranisha believes that she should get as much education as possibleat her tender age.
    “I’m just interesting in studying. Teenage life is such a short one. When it is over you have to face the real world of work,” she states.
    Ranisha, who resides with her grandparents Sylvan and Beatrice Young is not a lover of television and her family supports her ideals and are extremely proud of her.
    “I’m very proud of her. She is honest and stubborn, one who likes to get her own way; but I love the fact that she has her life planned out,” says dad, James.
    “It’s best to study and get a career so you won’t have to depend on anyone,” adds Ranisha, “and I believe in putting my studies first.”

28. GP, what’s this to do with Rihanna being brilliant!! I don’t plan to go and see Ranisha in concert!!

29. Plus, she still probably, does n’t write as brilliant poems as mine!!

30. Oh that Bonny Peppa !

31. some people in barbados believe that if you are not academically inclined , you are nothing !

TC-R-A-P !

32. yeah this young giril at UWI is definitely Gifted just like Rihanna is in her own way… there are more than one way to be gifted!

33. @ 199
    GP, what’s this to do with Rihanna being brilliant!! I don’t plan to go and see Ranisha in concert!!

I dont plan to go to see Rihanna in concert either.

@me & crap
    I am not surprised by your responses.

34. Yes, GP, but then, neither does anybody else, plan to go to see Ranisha in concert, either! Do u get the point, GP!! If I mut spell it out for you, Ranisha’s brilliance has nothing to do with Rihanna’s brilliance which, incidentally, is in much greater demand than Ranisha’s and therefore was stupid of you to bring into the argument, in the first place!

I’ve explained it as simply as I can in the hope that you’ll onstan dis time!! 🙂

35. GP, if u don’t plan to go to see Rihanna in concert then it just shows how stupid u are because she’s the greatest sensation to occur in Barbados since time immemorial and probably ever will be, not to mention one of the greatest talents which will ever grace the planet, so you’re just displaying your stupidity even greater for all to see!!

36. Are you saying that I am stupid to not be interested in Rihana or her music? That is an obvious non sequitur.

Are you saying that I dont have a right to chose the music that I prefer to listen to, but you have the right to listen to what you like to listen to?

Are you saying that I am stupid because I dont share your idea about what is sensational? Or your taste in music?

I have a right to celebrate what I consider brillance, here there and anywhere at anytime. And I will.

Furthermore I have never been an idolater. And I dont plan to start now.

Continue with your ad hominem attacks.

37. Ace,
    Stupseeeeeeeeeee, HAPPY VALENTINES MAN,whether you celebrate it or not. Man, leff ma nah, Oh christ man. You like a bile pun a pile. I gun pay you wah I owe you man.
    Go and sleep now. I gun check ya lata.

Georgie Porgie,
    Sorry man, I din realize dat JC was de main squeeze. Is aw-rite, all is well.

You’re still quite amazing and amusing. A too luv ya.

Georgie

38. GP, if you’re unable to celebrate Rihanna as being the greatest talent EVER to emerge from Bim then, in my opinion, yes, you are stupid and fail to appreciate just what a gift to the world, she is. Fortunately, the millions who do appreciate her are wiser than you!!

Take care Bonny and, I challenge ‘Bajan Poetry’ to produce a poem that’s as scintillating, as mine!!

39. I have an burning issue. I had a conversation today with someone and I was disgusted at the level of ignorance I heard coming out of her mouth. I seem to recall a situation not so long ago that had bajans in a tizzy on BU where a known female Radio Announcer, Veoma Ali was charged with criminal damages to yet another one of our Bajan Songbirds, Kareen Clarke, and her damages were far more serious than Rihanna’s as a car was driven over her foot leaving here in a state where she can never regain the full use of her foot, and some bajans were very quick to cast aspirations on her character and belittle her notable successes island wide, castigating her and some even believed she deserved it.
    Here it is we have yet another domestic dispute involving another one of our songbirds, Rihanna, on an international level, and the overwhelming response in support of Rihanna, on all levels has left Chris Brown (due to his actions), costing him so much of his accolades and sponsorship and fans. People stop playing he music ever which way, even on radio stations overseas, engagements he had booked called to cancel because of his behaviour, even bajans want to kill he and such like, yet Ms. Veoma Ali a Trinidadian by nationality, unlike Chris Brown is still very much fuctioning and performing her daily duties ON THE AIR as though nothing happened. I wonder what MS.Ali has to say on this topic? Does she condemn Chris Brown too? As a matter of fact I am curious to know what Vic Fernandez would have done it was his daughter in messes that Kareen and Rihanna were involved in? Would he still insist on Ms.Ali working and functioning at his radio station?. Are these two matters that different that the whole of Barbados wanted to crucify Kareen for her bad choice in friend or lover? Then what about Rihanna’s choice? I dont hear nobody commenting on her choice in her ‘thug-boyfriend’ as a matter of fact the whold of Bim welcomed him when he came, who beat the crap out of her. The Hypocisy in this country! When will it end?

40. 199
    I honestly think that you are infatuated with her body and her cute face. As far as I’m concerned, she can’t sing neither can she express herself properly. But be that as it may, she was in the right place at the right time hence the opportunity to become ‘rich and famous.
    I would prefer to emulate Ranisha as opposed to Rihanna so I backing my heart throb Porgie. “Lightning doan strike in de same place twice’. Rihanna can count her lucky stars.

Saw her pic on the ‘net’ and her face looks worse than it probably is, given her light skin tone. Busted lip also. She will survive and they will live happily ever after, just like Cinderella and Goldilocks.

41. anonymous, you should check out Miss veoma’s article in the SUNDAY SUN under her alia names: Raphah & Victoria. She might very well right bout it as she does about all her personal life.

42. Georgie Porgie // February 12, 2009 at 4:59 pm

Are you saying that I am stupid to not be interested in Rihana or her music? That is an obvious non sequitur
    ======================================
    You are not stupid you are dangerous .
    People such as yourself make us realize the price of freedom is eternal vigilance. Your well articulated but wicked vile thoughts on Rihanna is a wake up call for those of us who cherish freedom, human rights and fairplay.

43. –“DONT BEAT THE WOMAN” –by ASIBA – THE BUFFALO SOLDIER
    (*available on bajantube.com; imeem.com-and youtube.com)

This is a song against domestic violence
    The radio stations dont play this song
    The radio stations are therefore failing to stem the tide of domestic violence.

If Chris had come to Barbados and hear this song playing all the time, he would have approached the situation differently

These radio stations bout here want running off the airwaves.-soon though it got to happen
    I VEX–man !–BLUE VEX MAN !

44. FX
    “You are not stupid you are dangerous”.

Where is the imperical data to substantiate your GAR-BAJ pertaining to my main squeeze Porgie?

I doan unda’stan why wunna attacking de man for his own opinion. How is he infringing on anyone’s freedom or rights?

Look, um too near ta Valentines to talk summuch sh*^e.

45. Asiba,
    Since you sa good at writing songs, I want ya to pen one fa de men. Ya could name it ‘Stop mekking de men support children dat wunna kno’ in dem whun”.(That too is a form of abuse also and is happen daily) Lemme hear ya………start de ting nah.

46. FX // February 12, 2009 at 9:08 pm

You are not stupid you are dangerous .
    People such as yourself make us realize the price of freedom is eternal vigilance. Your well articulated but wicked vile thoughts on Rihanna is a wake up call for those of us who cherish freedom, human rights and fairplay.

I must be even more stupid than Georgie Porgy. I read all his posts on this thread and did not see the ‘wicked vile thoughts” you speak about.

However, imagine you castigating the good Doctor and yet come back and talk about ‘freedom, human rights and fairplay’. Are these things only for you and those of your choosing? Are we lesser folks not entitled to these or just higher mortals like yourself and those YOU choose to elevate? cheupse.

47. 199 wrote ” I would too, if somebody threw away my Lambourghini keys!!”

Lambourghini what!!!!!!

199 we know you ain’t got no Lambourghini