AP Photo/ Evan Agostini, AP Photo

Last night the news broke that Rihanna would not be able to honour her contract to perform as the opening act at the Grammy Awards ceremony. Almost immediately similar news followed that her American boy friend Chris Brown of about one year cancelled his appearance as well. Then early this morning the international news wires started to sizzle with the news of a possible domestic dispute between the two young international pop stars.

A tribute to the handlers of both stars is the fact that information about the reported incident in California last night has been kept under tight secrecy. Despite the blackout on information reports are starting to emerge of a bloodied and bruised Rihanna. The one fact known to the world which has been confirmed by American police is that Chris Brown “was booked by police on suspicion of making a felony criminal threat.”

Barbados is a small island driven to rumour easily. Last year many Barbadians heard the whispers that boy friend Chris Brown had demonstrated anger on many occasions when some of Rihanna’s male friends would visit. There is the biggest rumour of all that on one occasion the windows of her new SUV were smashed. Maybe the signs have always been there that Rihanna needed to step back.

BU has written blogs which have expressed our concern about Rihanna’s safety in the world of show biz. Here is an ordinary Bajan girl who was plucked from obscurity and dumped on the world stage, through which she has handled herself with class. The one worry we have had has been her need to associate with the tattooed splotched Chris Brown.  BU reconciled our concerns by observing the intoxicating success Rihanna has been able to achieve given her meteoric rise on the entertainment pop scene.

It has not been 48 hours since the incident and the reality for Chris Brown is that the American capitalist system has already set-in. The blogosphere is reporting that chewing gum manufacturers Wrigley has suspended a commercial with Brown. We continue to wonder if these young stars have brains, remember the great Michael Phelps caught pulling on a cannabis pipe recently?

Until more information is released we will withhold further comment. However incidents like this clearly show why the government maybe threading cautiously to aggressively marry the Rihanna brand with our tourism brand.

Through it all Rihanna Barbados loves you!

1. B P
    I don’t think you get it. I’ve walked away from many things done to me that most men would have retaliated to, but I walked away. That was me walking away from something someone did me but if you do my children something, I would damage you seriously. One of my sons and his girlfriend had an argument at a picnic, i saw him come home early and went to his room. Later he told me what happened and she slapped him in front of her friends. He walked away, got into his car drove home. For about four months straight, she and her friends were calling him asking him to reunite with the girl but he refused. Today, they are friends but not lovers anymore, she said he taught her a lesson that she would never forget. She’s now married and my son and her husband are best friends just because of what action he took. That night I took him out for a celebration for his level of maturity.

2. ha ha ha ha some bajan women love to fuss and fight. Either this person who spoke to mediatakeout.com is a bajan or they have come to know what we Bajan men know about SOME of our mothers,sisters,daughters,wives and outside women. ha ha ha ha lol! But why is this news again?

3. It is unfortunate what Rihanna suffered in the allegedly assault on her.I will not pick sides in this matter or pass judgment on the 2 individuals involved.

I do not think that excuses should be made for any of the 2 individuals.Chris Brown & Rihanna are adults and not little children anymore.They are international stars and should know how to handle delicate personal problems in a practical & mature way.I am sure that both of them recognize any negative publicity of them could spell disaster for their careers.Therefore both of them should have taken into consideration the consequences that will come they way as a result of their actions.

This is a sad time for us Barbadians who are so proud of Rihanna a Barbadian who had done us so proud.
    I will admit I am not a big fan of Rihanna.I have real concerns for the image she projects as an entertainer and I have problems with her style of dress.Nevertheless,I am proud of her achievements in reaching the top in the music industry.

I hope this incident will not have a devastating effect on her career and I hope she will be able to rebound from this sorry situation and will continue to progress as an international star.

Rihanna stay strong,stay focus,stay sweet and learn from this sad episode in your life.

All of us as human beings go through a rough period at some period of time in our life.During that period we need love,understanding & compassion not negativity.

This is a period of time that Rihanna needs our love & support.Barbadians please support Rihanna 1 of us in her time of need.

4. Watch out for the spin doctoring phase next – pore teenager abused by stepfather – can’t help himself, we must feel sorry for him and pity him and wipe his nose and powder his butt.

5. Remember when Rihanna started her career there was the American pro-Beyonce element that attacked and shunned her. Now at this unfortunate time for the youngster when she would probably welcome support from her own we use statements published by Media Take Out which is an established celebrity gossip rag. GP you can do better:-)

Why not publish the latest rumour in the American blogosphere that she gave the boy an std? Why is it that Barbadians would not want to give this young Barbadian entertainer our support?

Why?

6. Dear David:

You wrote “A tribute to the handlers of both stars is the fact that information about the reported incident in California last night has been kept under tight secrecy.”

I am disappointed in you David, and you are usually a reasonable man.

The men who beat women (and it is usually men who beat women) are banking on our secrecy.

They are hoping that the women:

“Will Cry Softly So The Neighbours Won’t Hear”

But Rihanna was RIGHT to report the matter to the police.

She was RIGHT not to be silent.

The police are RIGHT to properly investigate the matter and to press whatever charges are necessary.

The young man needs to be taught how to control his anger.

And why the jealosy?

How many of us can honestly say that we are still with the same man or woman we had at 18, or 19.

I CERTAINLY CAN”T.

That is the nature of young love. Young people change their minds for good reasons and for bad and for no reason. And it is their right to do so. And NO, NO, NO. A young woman does NOT deserve to be beaten if she has changed her mind about anything or ANYBODY.

7. And she has no reason to be ashamed.

I’ve taught my children NEVER to be ashamed unless they have done something wrong.

Shame is for wrongdoers.

8. I never supported Rihanna, and I don’t see the need to do so now. I stated then and you can go to BarbadosForum.com and see, that the culture she is getting into is nothing for Barbadians to celebrate, that the entertainment sector is fickle, and as a country we should find a way to not link our country’s image to an entertainment star. I still hold that position, and while I do not hold this incident to be vindication of my position then, I believe we are not too far away from that time when I can say that to be the case. She is a singer that’s all and not a good one at that.

BTW four nights a week I get my sweat on too a number of songs including

Disturbia
    Breaking dishes
    Don’t stop the music

ha ha ha ha ha ha I find it laughable under any circumstances that a multimillionaire could need me “support” and I foolishly give it. Not in these times and whether um is a wall-street fat cat or a highly over-rated entertainer, no way bosey.

9. ok ok ya it ant rite to hit a grul but ya it does happen. bt how does eneybody no that she didnt start it and mayb she did something to him no one nows realy may be she could be sayin a diffrent story. and i dont understand the biting he ant no DOG! i dont know but he looks like the kinda person that wouldnt do that cuz i no wat hes gon thow wene he was smaller. and i Know they never should have ben together.am a big fan of chris and no mattere wat am gon have his back.

10. @J

Our comment was in the context of seeing pictures splashed all over the tabloids etc of the two young people.

@Adrian

When we read/hear about what happened to Rihanna the instinctive paternal feelings of a father rises to the fore. What if it was the daughter we love so much?

11. David
    Re. Now at this unfortunate time for the youngster when she would probably welcome support from her own we use statements published by Media Take Out which is an established celebrity gossip rag. GP you can do better:-)
    Why not publish the latest rumour in the American blogosphere that she gave the boy an std? Why is it that Barbadians would not want to give this young Barbadian entertainer our support? Why?

I am sorry, but I did not know that the lass needed our support. I thought that she was well off!

So I am supposed to know (or even care) that Media Take Out is an established celebrity gossip rag?

Could not the account published on this rag be possibly as truthful as anything put out on BU or BFP? Is anything published on a any rag ever true?

Actually the account of the cause of the injuries received by our “untouchable” is best accounted for on this rag, than the other offerings I have seen elsewhere. It is more likely to get haematomas from a lash on a dash board in a car accident than from a blow with a hand, for example.

It seems that two youngters had a squabble, and because they are pop idols, a big fuss is being made about nothing.

Re When we read/hear about what happened to Rihanna the instinctive paternal feelings of a father rises to the fore. What if it was the daughter we love so much?

What if it were the son we love so much? How should the instinctive paternal feelings of a father rises to the fore?

If these two little spoilt brats were not well known, it would be business as usual today.

12. I am indeed sorry about this, as Rhianna has done so well and made all of us Barbadian-Guyanese so proud of her accomplishments. I don’t think she should leave the USA, she should stay, but keep away from Chris. I am disappointed with Chris Brown, but Rhianna will prevail, just look at Ike and Tina Tuner. Tina went on to greater things after years of abuse at the hands of Ike, in fact Ike is six feet under, Tina still kicking in Hollywood. So Rhianna hold on, hold your head up high and trust in Jesus and I will pray for you girl. Love you.

13. David the FACTS are that Rihanna is not related to me. At any rate i felt more empathy and praternal feelings for the black boy that got a deliberate beat down by a TWO WHITE BAJANS up in Highgate gardens. Incidently this is a story that did not get uh umph of the attention your Rhi Rhi is getting and that i believe don’t deserved.

Anyway i am off to the gym to Get-my-sweat-on with the help of Rihanna’s three songs and i will do so without any attention or concern to her current situation. ha ha ha ha lol!

14. Well said AH!

15. Bonny Peppa // February 10, 2009 at 12:15 pm

BAFBFP, Georgie Porgie,
    My sentiments, the same, my darlinks.

Much ado about nuttan.

Stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
    …………………………………………………………..
    We have rabid dogs among us. When I read the garbage from Bonny Peppa, Georgie Porgy, BFP, Bajan gal etc I want to puke. When I read these insensitve people I hear the whips of the slave master as we slaved for free in the searing hot sun. The voices of BP, Georgie etc take me back to the days of bondage.

This brilliant young Bajan girl being battered by a rephrehensible brute is a routine slave girl whipping for the likes of Bonny Peppa, Porgie and BFP. They dont care about folk who dont look like them.

Rihanna my friend be strong many of us care for you deeply.

16. Adrian Hinds,
    I endorse everything you said but what is chuspes? U mean stupse? I stupsing too.
    Scout,
    You seem to think that only you have this undying love for your offspring.All parents, I think, have this undying, unconditional love for their offspring, so when they hurt , we hurt. That is why if I were that lil boy’s mama, you and I would roll in de mud. You don’t touch my ‘gems’ and get off either. You love yours and I love mine. Understand?

17. My 2 cents,

You are a c^#t.
    Rest In Peace.

18. reluctant nonbeliever Avatar
    reluctant nonbeliever

Negroman, I’ve never agreed with anything you’ve posted before, but this time yours is by far the most balanced and measured contribution to this discussion.

Adrian Hinds – what kind of weirdo are you?

19. Dear Georgie Porgie you wrote “Let him be drawn and quartered, tarred and feathered. Carried to the cleaners, and dumped! Let him name be taken out of the book of life , for life. Let him go to jail and the key be thrown away. Let him go to hell”

I 2nd that.

20. Dear Georgie Porgie:

Youwrote “We once had a prominent leader that used to beat his wife too, But that was hushed up, until at his funeral he was said to be a “fighter” at his eulogy — rather than a wife beater.”

Who da?

Come on tell us since he is dead and can’t sue for libel as “prominent leaders” are so fond of doing.

21. People are saying that Rihanna hit Chris Brown first. If so where are his injuries? His lawyer has reported no injuries, neither has any doctor or the police.

If he has been injured how come his lawyer has not advised him to document hiss injuries and how come he has not reported to the police that he has been injured?

22. J:

Surely you know who used to beat his wife? He was a leader of the BLP, mother white, father black. lol.

23. @GP

We could take umbrage to your remark since reputation is acquired based on track record feedback etc i.e.they are some medical journals you would probably read before others…lol.

The latest on this matter for those interested is that the DA has asked the police to do some more digging with a view to pursuing criminal charges of Chris Brown,

24. Was it Sir Grantley that beat his wife? Please let us know, as some of us are originally from over the pond in Mudland

25. I think that we all need to step back and take a deep breath on this matter. Info is flying around fast and furious and usually, in these types of reporting, it is for the most part inaccurate. I think when the dust settles and the case goes to court, many will be surprised as to what really went down. So for now, let’s not be quick to pass judgement in the matter. Leave that to the courts.

26. Anonymous,
    It was alleged that Tom was a wife-beater not his papa. He was a mistress-beater as well.

Catwoman,
    Well said.

27. Georgie Porgie and Adrain Hinds:

Wha’ happen to wunnuh, that ya’ all so anti-woman.

Ya’ all spend too much time on ya careers and working 2 jobs and get some horns or wuh?

28. We need to remind Rihanna that she is a Caw’mere girl and therefore highly intelligent with a lotta options. She is young enough to continue her education and be teacher, doctor, engineer, proferror, lawyer, prime minister, anything.

I am one of those people who always felt that she should have continued her formal educaton even while pursuing her career. It is possible to be a celebrity AND earn a university degree or two, or more.

Instead of partying with ignorant people, she should spend her non-performance, non-recording time in the clasaroom. A nice rigorous place like Yale, as Michelle Obama did.

She doesn’t need to date a thug-in- training. She can do better.

At this point in her life she doesn’t need to date ANYBODY at all.

But if she feels that she wants to date Barbaos is full of wonderful young men.

Somebody please introduce her to some nice Bajan man who knows how to treat a woman nice.

29. J // February 11, 2009 at 7:34 am

We need to remind Rihanna that she is a Caw’mere girl and therefore highly intelligent with a lotta options.

@ J

As granny would say….education aint common sense.
    A lot of prickles/paros went to Caw’mere too.

30. I cosign with with J

I must say that there are alot of misogyny on this blog… Whuh de gurl do wunna?

Why wunna hate women so…?

Why is the burden of proof being put so much on the victim here?

31. Reading the comments above and in the other blog, I think that part of the problem stems form the fact that we in Barbados consider ourselves to be “people of the world”, because we have CNN and travel to Miami or New York once in a while. Barbados is, in fact a very parochial society, and it is hard to even try to understand the pressures that have been put on Rihanna since she was plucked from being a schoolgirl in this little island to being an international superstar in a matter of 2 years. Under the circumstances it is not surprising that she would make wrong choices once in a while. We should also not forget her “handlers”, who would see a lot of benefit and publicity coming from the relationship with another young superstar. Right now, I feel that Rihanna will be feeling lost and alone, and she needs someone she can trust to provide support and mentorship, hopefully her mother. Without that, she could well feel that she has no option than to return to the only relationship she has known for the past year, and that could be really harmful to her and her career. Regardless of how the blame goes around, we must remember that she is still really just a girl from Barbados who needs help and support.

32. Bonny Peppa
    It is immaterial to me who else love their family, the point is I am Protector- in- Chief of my family. I will rollup in mud, snow, water or even “glass-bottle” with anyone who try to take advance or abuse or molest any of my family. As I have stated before, do it to me and most likely, I would walk away, do it to my family and may the Lord have mercy on your soul.

33. I am getting to emotional about this and I might devulge to much, so to anyone who don’t like my method, too bad but you now know where I stand. However, to protect myself and others from any unwarranted problems, I will stop my blogs on this particular posting. Enjoy and have a nice day. B.P you’re still my friend and I hope we would NEVER have to roll up in mud unless it is a joyous encounter.

34. Oh shoot, it was Tom, I wanted to say Tom, but he looked so pious to me, never in wildest dreams would I have guessed it, and to think young me was so madly in love with him. Bonny thanks

35. Pelt, Barbados is very sophisticated when compared with other societies, and I think it is absolutly amazing that young Rihanna is able to handle her so self so well, especially under such circumstances. I bow to Rihanna, for I know I could not do what she does, but there she is taking the world by storm with her musical talent and beautiful looks, BTW the concert in Malaysia was sold out. Rihanna will prevail.

36. Regardless of how the blame goes around, we must remember that she is still really just a girl from Barbados who needs help and support.
    ——————————————————-
    Well said. As Barbadians we have to let Rihanna know she will never walk alone.

37. I have a question about the story reprinted from BFP. If Chris Brown was retaliating to an attack by jealous , possessive RiRi then why are there no pictures splashed around the place of his injuries? I understand that most of those who support Chris Browne refer to riri as ‘Island trash’ so it would be to their advantage to provide evidence of this. None of you know the truth, all of this is supposition on your parts. What was the motive behind reprinting the story?
    @Georgie Porgie
    I notice that you did not seem to see the last part of my post. You seem to be more interested in editing my comments than understanding my points.
    Obviously I am speaking from my own experience and that does not mean I do not see the other side. Men in this country seem to believe that insecurity is just a trait some women have and use it as an excuse to end relationships. In most normal people insecurity or insecure feelings usually result from the actions of their partner. Notice that I put ‘control freak’ in quotes since this is a subjective term. I have found that in general women make more adjustments when it comes to relationships and tend to be more compromising in terms of finding solutions when things go wrong while the men think that all they have to do is look for another woman. There are exceptions to every rule our society has regarding male and female behavior but some of us are too blind to see.

38. @ reluctant nonbeliever // February 10, 2009 at 10:44 pm
    Adrian Hinds – what kind of weirdo are you?
    ——————

I am hoping you can tell me since um is you who applied the label to me.

@ J // February 11, 2009 at 7:24 am
    Georgie Porgie and Adrain Hinds:
    Wha’ happen to wunnuh, that ya’ all so anti-woman.
    Ya’ all spend too much time on ya careers and working 2 jobs and get some horns or wuh?
    ————————
    First of all I do not believe that I am anti-woman, so if you are interested in bringing me on board and to take your comment and you seriously, you will have to present the evidence that led you conclude that I am anti-woman.
    Horning as I understand it, involves a third party having sexual relations with your partner. That means you are not party to the activity. How does this affect you????

39. They calling her island trash, but I know one thing for sure is that the American people both black and white hate it when they hear a man has hurt a female and children. I have heard that males in jail for crimes against women and children are dealt with severely by the other inmates. Chris is already paying for his crime against our Rihanna as he is loosing endorsements from the Milk Board and Wigley’s Chewing Gum Company, plus they have banned Chris from some games, but on the flip side Rihanna’s endorsements are steadfast. Rihanna if you reading, you need to stay right in the US, greater things in store for you darling. Love you, and if I was close by I would come and cook you all your favourite Guyanese foods. God Bless and I love you and you keep on keeping on.

40. Partly bajan girl Avatar

A very interesting debate!

I try to see it even deeper,and try to figure out why bajans react so much on the beating of national symbol and mascot Rhianna by her american boyfriend Brown.
    Maybe is it our dark legacy,with slavery and violence that makes us scream up?
    We never wanna see anyone representing the Rock being beaten, bent down and taken their pride away,do we?
    Its just too hard,especially for men in our little country because it mirrors so strongly a shadow side of black culture;
    violence.
    Of course its violence everywhere,and both by women and men,but I think this mirrors and highlights Barbados and black society in particular..?
    We identify this problem of society in people we admire and look up to. People with success,people our children wanna be like.
    We learn that even if you get success and are beautiful and rich,still violence can hit you hard and brutal.
    And we maybe get reluctant to look closer in the closet,on our own society,how we treat women(and men).
    How we deal with anger,how we communicate when being bent or refused?
    Our “pop-culture” were women in rap-songs often are called bitch,tramp and stuff…
    Who do we wanna be?
    What do we wanna show to the world?
    How do we communicate,black women and men?
    Thats my main concern here.

41. @ me // February 11, 2009 at 8:32 am

I cosign with with J

I must say that there are alot of misogyny on this blog… Whuh de gurl do wunna?
    —————————-

—————————–

All you does do is throw out a lot words that you cannot substantiate how you have applied it. You are no authority on anything. Prove that your application of “misogyny” fits anyone in particular on this blog! can you? Chupse!!!! How about i calling you a “dammed emotional windbag’?… and I’ll attempt to prove my application if you do the same with misogyny ha ha ha ha ha lol!

Let me state it again for all those who have demonstrated a remarkable willingness to think only with their emotions. Rhianna’s so called success is extricably linked to a culture that i abhor, therefore i cannot find any utilty in celebrating the “entertainer” in her. With regards to the latest news surrounding her. I do not need to reflect on her particular issue to know that there is still work to be done in reducing incidents of domestic violence. I am not even sure that i want to call her situation such. At any rate she has the resources and sufficient people who are dependent on her for a paycheck to handle this for her. I will spend my time reflecting on and doing what i can for those who may have suffered abuse and don’t have the resources to combat it.

42. @ David
    Re
    We could take umbrage to your remark since reputation is acquired based on track record feedback etc i.e.they are some medical journals you would probably read before others…lol.
    LOL Don’t take umbrage as there was no offence meant. Just trying to be rational. I know and care nothing about the rag in question.

@J
    GP is definitely NOT antiwoman. But I sincerely believe that if a man should not hit a woman, that a woman should not hit a man. That seems very fair to me.

However, I notice that on this thread, once you don’t jump on the bandwagon, and say “Poor RiRi. Poor your little pop singing idol, that you must be subjected to vilification and ad hominem attacks.”

Having in my time treated so many persons who were victims of domestic abuse, and having even been present at several murder scenes as a result of such occurrences, the issue at hand is to me merely a tempest in a teapot. Two young giddy head immature persons had an altercation, and some licks were shared. This is a common occurrence, but because your little pop singing idol is involved, I am supposed to weep and wail and get all emotional about it? I don’t think so.

@ Devils Advocate

I saw the last part of your post, and agreed with it, and so saw no need to comment thereon. And yes I understood your submission. I only sought to present the other side, which has been woefully lacking in this discussion.

David suggested, or hoped, that the thread would foster a discussion on domestic abuse, but the thread has been consumed with emotional rants. As Adrian Hinds has correctly stated, there was not as great a commotion when the white lawyer beat up a poor black boy in Highgate Gardens. After all, that poor black boy was not your little pop singing idol.

Adrian Hinds’ comment above is worthy of serious assimilation. We do not need to reflect this particular issue to know that there is still work to be done in reducing incidents of domestic violence.

He has also correctly pointed out that………
    “At any rate she has the resources and sufficient people who are dependent on her for a paycheck to handle this for her. I will spend my time reflecting on and doing what I can for those who may have suffered abuse and don’t have the resources to combat it.”

43. Partly bajan girl Avatar

I just have to make one more statement;
    The pop-industry of black America disappoint me.
    Where I live right now,there`s one music channel with rap and funk -videos going,all day.
    In 80% of them,its components of gang crime,violence,murder,jalousy,quarrelling,fighting,mad car driving,cool guys with grand cars that doesnt fit realistically to their language and mind set.
    And surrounded by lots of willing, beautiful, black women who should know better.
    Theese are not the guys we wanna marry!

I really miss music videos about our history,our african mythology,our struggle and our past.
    Our good sence of rythm and music,our pride and natural beauty.
    Uur colorful art and skills,the poetry of the people.
    Our dreams!
    I do not wanna see all this stereotyped “shit”, I wanna see the depts of our people!
    I wanna see individals with the courage to be themselves.
    I see Rhianna as a proud,beautiful,but young representant of our society.
    Take care and be strong!
    And in the same gasp I wanna salute american Whitney Houston and her strong comeback on her own feet as the excellent singer she really is!

44. What does it mean when i use google, and it auto fills with possible results of what I am looking for, and to the far right of each listing it shows a number as results? Is this the number google searches for a particular website?

I just did a search for

Barbados underground — 1,300,000 results

Barbados free press — 524,000 results

Barbadosfrepress — 14,600 results

What does this mean? anything?

45. Partly Bajan, Honey Black America has got all those things you mentioned above in our music and pop culture, in fact we are in touch with who we are, more so than other African people in the diaspora, which other country with black people has given the world so many genres of music, so many inovations in fashions and food, and art and culture, and now our President Barack Obama and our beautiful first lady Michelle and the first daughters Malia and Sacha. Pan originated in Barbados, and caught on in T& T and to some extent in Guyana, and a few other places, but our black American culture is imitated and copied around the world, be it Beijing or Banjul, Bridgetown or Georgetown, Paris or Paramaribo.

46. I feel sorry for both of them. Let the truth come out and lets pray that they have continued success. None of us were there when the fight occured; everything now is gossip. I wish Rihanna a speedy recovery. Let the legal process play out.

47. AH who de cap fit dem wear it…bobmarley LOL

48. me // February 11, 2009 at 1:45 pm

AH who de cap fit dem wear it…bobmarley LOL
    ===========================
    Is there anyone of “substance” you can find to quote, other than this “substance” abuser? ha ha ha ha lol! Bob Marley was an entertainer, and a dope addict. My thoughts are not borrowed. likewise any cap i wear is one that I purchased. I afraid of people’s infectious headlice, and the social engineering ideas that are so contagious. ha ha ha ha

49. Bad Man saying nothing Avatar
    Bad Man saying nothing

@Anonymous

What black american culture ignorance you spouting? Because some misguided idiots from around the world and wannabe wiggers chose to wear their pants low and say bitch and ho when talking to women is a reason to be proud?
    that inner city gansta culture shit is not even typical of Black American culture.
    Tell me seriously “How many genres of music? What inovations in fashions, food, art and culture? Is going to Harvard in the case of President Barack Obama and Yale in the case of first lady Michelle typical of Black American Culture? go and find some shite to do yuh. You talking isms. And i am black before anybody thinks I am being racist .