Submitted by The Scout

qq1sgmosesmoralityThe price of progress has greatly eroded the Christian values that existed in old Barbados. Whether or not parents were Christians or just church-goers, they sent their children to Sunday School. When there was a funeral at the village church, the rum shop/s used to be closed in respect of the dead. Today the rum shop/s order additional drinks to serve their excess expected customers.As a school boy it was compulsory to attend school assembly and prayers at the start of school every morning. There used to be scripture taught in schools and a certified examination at G.C.E.

All this instilled some morals in even the worse children at school. In a progressive Barbados, we have removed a lot of the moral values that this society lived by and, as a people, we now seem to be wandering down an unknown path. Today Christianity is replaced by religious knowledge in schools and there are teachers who are pushing other religions down the throats of some of our brightest brains, hence destabilising the Christian values that once existed in this society.

The various Christian denominations that are in this country have done much damage to the Christian religion. The last survey I heard about some years ago, there were just about one hundred and forty (140) different denominations on this little 166 sq.ml island, which means approx. 2500 churches, yet there are many people who only go near a church door for a wedding, funeral or occasionally at Christmas or Easter. Most sects now seem more interested in making money than “winning souls” for Christ.

Barbados is fast degenerating into a very immoral society and church leaders are very quiet about it. To many, being a Priest, a Reverend, or a Pastor is just another job. Too many of these leaders are proving to be more corrupt than the non-believers.

It is time the genuine Christian Leaders in this country, take the bull by the horns, call a spade a spade and try to put this once Christian nation back to its high standards.

1. @199….And christianity have brought us peace, love and harmony, all things are equal, no more pillaging, marauding,slaughter, man-made diseases, theft of other peoples resources, no more atomic bombs, no wars, no torture, no deception, NO MORE LIES. What a lovely utopia we have here on earth, won’t you agree? YA GOTTA LOVE IT!

2. 199

Where did you get that from? That is a myth. As a matter of fact, I argue that when the white man set out, he was able to defeat many nations because of their hospitality. They took advantage of the hospitality of the Africans, the Aztecs, etc. Maybe the Barbarity existed among them before there was christianity.

3. @ GP…

What denomination are you?

It seems you are a Christian with a difference…..maybe there is still hope.

4. GP:
    “Our church group regard pastors as hired servants or hirelings.”

And why not?

I’m with you all the way.

Come up with something we could not have done for as economically for ourselves and you are worthy of your position.

Where we may tend to differ is that I am inclined to feel the same way about the God I’m into at any particular moment.

No unique benefits for my worship….. then you’re out.

Next please.

5. Hopi
    It is people like you that mislead youngsters. You said you have a huge problem respecting authority? Then just do as you like but accept the results. Everything in life can’t be at your liking but there must be a system and once you live in this world you MUST accept the system or accept the results of not doing so. Simple. The Christian values here are simple ” do unto others as you would want them to do to you” and love your neighbour as yourself.” If people would follow these simple instructions, this would would be a better place but too many of us wants to dictate to others to do what we want but ignore others concerns.That is selfishness. But then maybe, you are.

6. Hopi, and you think that things would be better under what? Say, Islam?!!

Lord!!

Hopi, u mus be one a dem ‘incorrigible optimists’!! or, optometerists might be more appropriate!! i.e. needs to see better!!

Lord!!

The presence of so much evil in modern society is PRECISELY, because of the abscence of sufficient, CHRISTIANITY, in our lives, any more!!

If somebody chooses to corrupt the bible, it’s still the bible!!

7. ROK, I sympathise with your view but, do you think that barbarity exists/existed solely, among the white man?!! ROK, do you suppose that those ‘gentle’ and ‘civilised’ Africans, or natives of all nationalities, were n’t ALSO, BARBARIC BASTARDS?!!

Barbarity is natural to mankind and it’s only the kindly, influences of religion, predominantly, CHRISTIANITY, which saves us from the fullest, excesses of it! Man is a naturally, barbaric animal, have n’t you realised, yet, ROK!!

ROK, and all, to nail this argument!! Where would any of us be today, if it was n’t for a forest of laws to protect us!! ROK, AND OTHERS, what further evidence do you require?!!

Man is a barbaric-animal, by default which CHRISTIANITY, saves us from!!

Whatttttttttt a friend we have in Jeeeeessssssussssssss………………….

8. Scout, I’m surprise to see that you’re a christian because some of your views, towards me, have n’t been too, christianly, at times!! 🙂

9. David, when yuh ready please tell me wha dat long wird in d title mean!!

It in in my dictionery!!

Laaaaadddddddddddddddddd!!!!

10. 199
    Don,t be surprise at my being a Christian. You see some people believe being a Christian means bottling up your thoughts and live on appearances to the public. I am convinced that if Jesus came back among us to live as a human, many so-called Christians would be the forst to want to kill him again. You see, from my studies, he was a plain speaking individual. I too, like him, am plain speaking and also like him I hold no malice towards anyone. So my friend, if I have said anything to you that might have disturbed you, while it was not intentional, I was just saying what was on my mind. I still love you as a friend and as a child of God.

11. I still love you as a friend and as a child of God.

Thanks, Scout, and likewise!! I’m a rocker an caan stan to be bored fuh too, long so anything u say is ok, bro, within reason!! It’s only a blog, afterall, and nothing’s going to make much difference to anything, anyway!!

BTW, just watched a rather sagacious, discussion from the House of Lords, up here which reminded me of The Senate, in Bim!! Does anything happen there?!! Can’t say I’ve heard of it, recently!!

12. Scout……
    What is this authority based on? You have a system where certain groups are privileged over the other, hell NO! It will never work! Simple example – Why is it that certain individuals in society can commit certain offenses/crimes and get away with it and then another set of individuals can be just as offensive but incur a stiff penalty? I say to BUCK the stinking, filthy,corrupt, authoratative sewer. Governments and politicians are corrupt and dishonest and christians stand head and shoulders up there with them.

199……
    You are constantly knocking islam and muslims. I bet that you never had a problem with them until the pigdogs portrayed them in their media as terrorists. ISLAM is one of the answers to STINKING ZIONISM AND IMPERIALIST CHRISTIANITY. These two are ACTUALLY THE REAL TERRORISTS on this planet.

13. Hopi, I’m sorry to disappoint you, but you’re wrong!! I’ve had problems with Muslims for the vast majority of my life that I’ve lived in the UK!!

As for Islam being the answer!! Well, Hopi, all I can say is that you can’t be living in THIS world, bro!! That’s the politest, thing which I can think to say about that, at the moment – don’t want to be too, abusive!! Too early in the N. Year!!

Lord!!

BTW, for all our elucidation!! Just which planet ARE you from!!

14. Just like I suggested, Hopi wants to replace Christianity with a religion of her liking. Well H, just because you don’t happen to like Christianity does not alter the truth of it. Your opinions have NO bearing upon the truth of a particular thing.

“STINKING ZIONISM” and “IMPERIAL CHRISTIANITY,” the “REAL TERRORISTS?” Wuhloss Hopi, and you call me judgemental?

Can anyone recommend a good place for Anger-Management classes for Hopi?

15. haha, a bunch or non-thinking thinkers arguing about whose set of fairy tales is better.

Here’s a hint: No matter which set of stories you believe, more than half the world believes something else.

Your arrogance tells you that your particular set of beliefs are right.

My thinking is that there are no more right than when people believed in Thor and Zeus.

Now grow up and get on with your lives.

16. @Scout……Where is your honour?

@199……All your life who else have you had problems with? And yea you can bring on the abuse!

@Dissident….FYI. My opinions have bearings on my TRUTHS. And yea, I can afford to be judgemental, because I not the one who is a CHRISTIAN.

What be a suicidal shock it would be if the sheeple could just pull the veil of the DAMN LIES that cover your eyes and realise that your reality has been created and manipulated for you!

17. Yup, your reality has been created and manipulated for you.

Ever wondered why there is such a high correlation between your religion and your parent’s religion?

If you had parent’s from another part of the world, you would have another religion. And it’s all neatly packaged and spoonfed to you while you’re young.

You would think when you grew up you would get a clue.

Ask yourself this: If christianity is right, then Hinduism must be wrong. But there are millions upon millions of Hindu. So what was able to fool so many people?

Hint: The same thing that’s fooling you right now into believing that there is a magic man in the sky that listens to your beg for an A on your exam.

18. 199, Christianity saves us from barbarism? What world do you live in?

Anyhow, I’ve never read a more barbaric book than the bible. You should check it out some time.

19. Rohan

This is a christian society and a hindu man like yourself living in this society should at least be respectful to our beliefs.

If you were in Mombai or calcutta or even saudi arabia you would be looking over your shoulder as you type that post.

Quit the crap man.

20. Anonymous,
    First off, I’m no hindu man.

Also, the fact that I would have to be looking over my shoulder in fear as I type something about religion, says more about religion than about me.

As far as being respectful to beliefs. If I told you that I had a dragon in my garage that answered my prayers, would you respect my beliefs or called me crazy?

I would hope you wouldn’t respect my ridiculous beliefs and be straightforward enough to get me some help.

In addition, the fact that you believe in a bearded magic man in the sky who is also his own father who sent himself to earth through a virgin birth, and that snakes and burning bushes can talk, in walking on water etc. etc. says more about your gullibility than my lack of respect.

21. Rohan:

Ease up on these myth pushers, please.

Your denial does not bring about their intended reflection, only their basest instincts of protection and aggression.

Thank anyone, that their rapture is less than three years away.

Let them depart to their never- never land, and leave the rest of us in peace from their hatreds.

22. Rohan keep up the good work. Speaking of moral terpitude, I see that BWWR has been EXPOSED a) as a man b) as a defendant in the Kingsland case and c) as Iain Deane! BFP got aaaaallllllll the details!

23. 199

I was taught that man was at first in the jungle and forests and that back then was probably the most barbaric existence.

After that, man started to organise into communities and societies and out of societies came empires. Rules of acceptance were in force at the beginning of socety and not when Christianity came along.

In as much as there were wars then there are probably as much wars now and the crime in today’s society escalating; like round the corner. So what change did Christianity bring? Slavery? LOL!

24. C-R-A-P !

25. Hopi
    Since you’re going down that line, I would just pray for you but I refuse to have dialogue with you. I would just ask God to had mercy on your soul. I predict on this day 26th Jan 2009 that before the end of thids year you will have a right-about change in your life and you wouyld become a true Christian. God is in control.

26. To all you Non-Christians
    This is exactly what I’m talking about. Some of you are so tainted by the CRAP (using Ace word) that you have been taught in some of these universaties, that you are going down a broad road to destruction at “brek neck” speed and don’t know you’re going to crash into a wall. I hope ALL of you think about life seriously. What will happen with you after you pass from this world.

27. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Rohan & Straight talk,

Do you believe there are some truths greater than reason?

28. MME:

No.

29. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Ok ST. I believe that reason is a tool we use in search of the truth.

30. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

… or, reason is subordinate to truth.

31. ROK, I’ve a simple question to ask you bro which will elucidate the matter!! Simply, which are the most peaceful parts of the globe, the Christian parts or non-Christian? Also, who have ever done anything or, by far the most, to help you (the people of) Bim? The christian or non christian, world! ROK, don’t worry, the answers are obviously, THE CHRISTIAN WORLD!! Need one say more, bro!!

32. Rev Dr. Dick Hertz Avatar
    Rev Dr. Dick Hertz

@MME
    gibberish does not become you re “are some truths greater than reason”?

Is a house “greater” than the tools used to build it? Such a question is worthy of the many pastors who are graduates of the Peabrain School of Theology and Massage Parlor and other like “schools”.

33. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Rev. Dr. Dick Hertz,

A graduate? Doc, I is de principal of the Peabrain School of Theology and Massage Parlor (PSTMP)… I like I gine have to revoke your degrees yuh 🙂

34. Rev Dr. Dick Hertz Avatar
    Rev Dr. Dick Hertz

Wuhloss MME,

I gwine behave. Sorry I know you did look familiar. You is de night shift cashier in the 7-11 downstairs the PSTMP! That lecture you gave on preying and laying of hands (pun young girls) and de rapture yuh does feel was a classic in apologetics.

35. 199,

you sure about this?

the US is christian, no?

well it spends more on arms than every other country in the world combined

it has been involved in acts of aggression in just about every single year since world war II

and what about secular countries, you know countries that are not only, not christian, but not religious at all, countries like sweden, denmark, norway, finland

they seem pretty peaceful to me

maybe you should have a look at this..

how about you compare religious (any religion) countries against the non religious (secular)

i think you might be shocked

36. Rev Dr. Dick Hertz Avatar
    Rev Dr. Dick Hertz

Not Saved claims that there are secular countries of which Norway is one example. According to Wikipedia –

“Nearly 83% of Norwegians are members of the state Church of Norway, to which they are registered at baptism. Many remain in the state church to be able to use services such as baptism, confirmation, marriage and burial, rites which have strong cultural standing in Norway. Up to 40% of the membership attends church or religious meetings during a year,[37] with fewer attending regularly.”

Similar figures are cited for Sweden, Finland and Denmark (although Denmark is also said to also have the highest proportion of atheists and agnostics of any country).

I am certainly not “big” on religion (of any kind) but it is absurd to not recognize the contribution of Christianity to the development of many of the most progressive and moral ideas of contemporary life including ironically the so called secular society.

37. I suggest you look at the you tube reference which cites a recent publication on this issue which gives more accurate data than that you have quoted

I did not deny the contribution of christianity or for that matter christians but rather challenged the simplistic claim that “christian countries” are more peaceful.

A claim that does not hold up

38. From your source, wiki,……

“In Norway, 82.7% of the population are members of the Evangelical Lutheran Church as compared to 96% in the 1960s.[citation needed] Kevin Boyle, a professor of history at the Ohio State University says, “Most members of the state church are not active adherents, except for the rituals of birth, confirmation, weddings, and burials. Some 3 per cent on average attend church on Sunday.”

Hardly a “religious society”

39. Some details on Sweden also from the wiki……..

“As of 2006, 75.6% of the Swedes were members of the church. Somewhat less than 4 percent of the Church of Sweden membership attends public worship during an average week; about 2 percent are regular attenders”

some more………..

“Today about 76% of Swedes belong to the Church of Sweden, but the number is decreasing by about one per cent every year, and Church of Sweden services are sparsely attended (hovering in the single digit percentages of the population). The reason for the large number of inactive members is partly that until 1996, children became members automatically at birth if at least one of their parents were a member. ”

Again, hardly a “religious” society far less a christian one

And I dont they have invaded anyone recently

40. My earlier reference on you tube is to the book,

“Society Without God: What the Least Religious Nations Can Tell Us About Contentment”

Phil Zuckerman

This directly counters the point made by 199 and several scandinavian countries feature as “least religious” countries

41. So it reduces to whether you want to count “church membership” or count someone as religious if they believe in a personal god and attend church

I prefer to use the latter yardstick

42. ‘Not Saved’, sorry I have n’t had the time to view the link yet, but are you saying that Christian countries should n’t defend themselves! First, the primary duty which any citizen expects of its government is to defend them from enemies both external and internal.

Second, if they did n’t defend themselves they would n’t be christian very long ’cause they’d be invaded and taken over by the muslim and other hordes!

Discourse in logic, ‘NS’!!

43. Rev Dr. Dick Hertz Avatar
    Rev Dr. Dick Hertz

Not Saved
    The facts are that church membership is high in Scandinavian countries and in the case of Norway, the main church is the State church. One may argue that church practice is mostly cultural and ceremonial however surveys indicate that many Scandinavians do believe in some supernatural entity.

I agree with your refutation of the claim that Christianity equals a more peaceful society but take issue with the observation (hypothesis?) that a simple diminution of religion better predicts a more peaceful society. Bhutan a very religious (Buddhist) and monarchical state (i.e with two characteristics that I normally abjure) is apparently not only peaceful but a happy country. Its former monarch being the originator of the concept of the Gross Happiness Index in juxtaposition to GDP!

44. Brilliant analysis, Rev!! Some day I’ll b able to figure-out wha d **** u were taukin about!!

Laaaaaddddddddddddddddddddd!!!!

45. Rev Dr. Dick Hertz Avatar
    Rev Dr. Dick Hertz

That’s OK 199 as I wasn’t really addressing you.

(Just for the record, I hardly ever understand what you are “taukin about” !)

46. Some gigantic leaps here….

199, tell me where in what I wrote I suggested that christian countries should not defend themselves???

Rev Dick, tell me where I made the suggestion that diminution of religion makes for better society???

I used the example of scandinavia and the US to falsify the assertion of 199 an assertion with which you agree.

To be clear, all that I have indicated is that christianity is neither a necessary nor a sufficient condition for a peaceful society

the contrary claim is an old canard of the christians

47. Rev Dick, did not mean to say you agreed with the assertion of 199 but rather WE are in agreement that christianity does not necessarily result in a peaceful society

48. Ok, Rev, I think that ‘checkmate’?!!!

‘Not Saved’!! Ok, bro – whaever!!

49. Rev Dick wrote,

“surveys indicate that many Scandinavians do believe in some supernatural entity.”

———-

That is true. In the case of sweden, from the survey you referenced about 76% belief in “some sort of spirit or life force”

However, only 23% in the same survey responded “there is a god”

The wiki goes on to say..

“Independent of these statistics, it is generally known that Swedish society, collectively, is comparatively secular and non-religious”

Again I refer you to the book, where the objective was to better understand the level of belief in Scandinavia and to evaluate how these societies are doing in the general absence of religious belief.

Scandinavian countries are generally secular, and non religious and they seem to suffer no harm for it whatsoever.

50. Listen everybody!! EVERYBODY, beleives in god, IRRESPECTIVE OF WHAT THEY actually, SAY! Listen, when the cancer kicks-in, they ALL soon know to start PRAYING!! So, don’t listen to whatever crap that people tell you!! They don’t know themselves, what they think, until the pertinent-hour arrives when they’re given that potential, death sentence!!

My objective, and yours, must be to assist them to acknowledge the truth which NORMALLY, they’re too, gutless to do and to accept the belief in god and persuade them that christianity, is the best option of all the faiths!!