Submitted by The Scout

qq1sgmosesmoralityThe price of progress has greatly eroded the Christian values that existed in old Barbados. Whether or not parents were Christians or just church-goers, they sent their children to Sunday School. When there was a funeral at the village church, the rum shop/s used to be closed in respect of the dead. Today the rum shop/s order additional drinks to serve their excess expected customers.As a school boy it was compulsory to attend school assembly and prayers at the start of school every morning. There used to be scripture taught in schools and a certified examination at G.C.E.

All this instilled some morals in even the worse children at school. In a progressive Barbados, we have removed a lot of the moral values that this society lived by and, as a people, we now seem to be wandering down an unknown path. Today Christianity is replaced by religious knowledge in schools and there are teachers who are pushing other religions down the throats of some of our brightest brains, hence destabilising the Christian values that once existed in this society.

The various Christian denominations that are in this country have done much damage to the Christian religion. The last survey I heard about some years ago, there were just about one hundred and forty (140) different denominations on this little 166 sq.ml island, which means approx. 2500 churches, yet there are many people who only go near a church door for a wedding, funeral or occasionally at Christmas or Easter. Most sects now seem more interested in making money than “winning souls” for Christ.

Barbados is fast degenerating into a very immoral society and church leaders are very quiet about it. To many, being a Priest, a Reverend, or a Pastor is just another job. Too many of these leaders are proving to be more corrupt than the non-believers.

It is time the genuine Christian Leaders in this country, take the bull by the horns, call a spade a spade and try to put this once Christian nation back to its high standards.

1. Congratulations on raising this subject Yardbroom you’re so right. As you can imagine, I’ve seen everything which you referred to happen here, in the UK, and on a much bigger scale and for a longer period of time, given the bigger size of this country and it’s position at the forefront of trends of all manner and kind. What you see happening in Bim is what first started to occur here, some time ago and I can predict to you from our own experience that the result will be one of doom for all normal standards of decency, and decay and, eventually, your very existence as the first and foremost people in your own country will be threatened and overtaken by foreigners which is why, when I berate, I ask you all to listen to me, not because I’ve nothing better to do but because we’ve lived/are living the same experience ahead of you, here in the UK!

Unfortunately, I don’t see any real hope for you as your leaders seem to be just as blind as the generality of people. Look at the impossibility I had in getting David and BFP just to make a simple decision over r*d l*gs and from that, postulate your likelihood of getting anything done to improve things, in Bim!

There are times when you CAN learn from people who have lived/live abroad, and this is one such time!

2. Asiba will tell you why. We do not know enough about ourselves, so we allow other cultures to lead us down a pathway of destruction, lined with profits and dishonesty. If this is what we ingest, what do you expect to come out.

As far as I am concerned, this little rock started going down after 1976 and it has not recovered since.

3. Scout, thanks for sounding a clarion call that is desperately needed in our island home. But one small quibble: moral “interpitude?” Do you mean moral “turpitude?”

Also, it sounds to me like you’re pushing an Anglican agenda. Ya lookin’ in de wrong place.

4. @Disssident

Do not blame The Scout, BU inserted the heading. We thought we would flavour with a little colloquialism but you are correct, it is not the time.

5. If the “truth” as expressed by the gospels is able to be diluted, or made less relevant by multi-denominational interpretations, do we blame the messenger or the message?

IMHO the flight from meaningful church attendance is more a reflection
    on our accepted messengers, not the tried and trusted message they are striving to teach us – i.e. the correct way to live our lives.

6. I nearly CRAPPED this –you know how I do it

CRAP ! CRAP ! and more CRAP !

BUT I am not CRAPPING it yet.

however I am watching it closely

I am the CRAPPER

7. Grounding our precepts in this western religion is the quake that’s shaking the very foundation of our house today. This western sewer which was brought to us thru the barrel of a gun has done nothing but arrested our spiritual development. From its inception is has been a lie. And continues to perpetrate it today in more than one way. In our society there’s nothing as sacred as RELIGION and its from behind this curtain that all manner of evil are perpetuated. Had this been a foundation built on absolute TRUTH, it would have withstood any storm. But this is all by DESIGN for our collective destruction.

8. Hopi:

Please define your absolute truth.

9. @ST…….Just remove ALL lies and ALL deceptions and you will arrive at absolute truth.

10. Removing all lies and deceptions from our everyday lives sounds great…what are they?
    and what is the kernel of universal truth so revealed?

11. #1. THAT MAN WAS BORN IN SIN AND SHAPEN IN INIQUITY. (This is where all the bullshale starts for me).
    #2. Than man is a mere physical being.
    #3. You’re born, educated according to the precepts of the pyramid, work to feed the machine and keep the pyramid structure, be a good christian, believe in Jesus, you go to heaven, you don’t believe in Jesus you are burnt in the pit of hell.
    #4. Some are created more equal than others.
    #5. Follow the damn script you are accepted into the club, buck the phu…ng system and your’e sidelined/marginalised.
    #6. Follow the ways and norms of the western man and you’re ok, go against the grain and its hell to pay.
    And the list goes on and on…….

The Kernel of absolute truth is that man is more of a SPIRITUAL being than a physical being.

12. @Hopi

If you delete religion how do you fill the void? What other dogma existing that would meet your satisfaction. Do you agree that in the absence of a belief which runs common confusion may result? Can we take that chance given the inclination of mankind to be greedy?

We want to learn from you Hopi:-)

13. ….To many, being a Priest, a Reverend, or a Pastor is just another job.

This might be the crux of the matter….

Why should being a Priest, Reverend or Pastor be a ‘job’?
    Was anyone who did the same in the Bible paid for their work??
    Why should you be paid for doing Gods work?
    IMHO this is where a lot of the corruption begins because of greed. I remember back in the day,the pastor was also a mason, not so now.

14. David, Hopi just wants to replace Christianity with her religion, which is whatever one wants it to be, or preferably her truth as she defines it…Gaia worship, pantheism, whatever!

Technician, you said, “Why should being a Priest, Reverend or Pastor be a ‘job’?”

Technically [forgive de play on words] there are no such things as “priests.” There are ministers, and the RCC calls them ‘priests’ but, theologically, we are now in the era of what is known as “the priesthood of all believers.” So I don’t really care what the RCC or the Anglican church calls them, dem ain’t ‘priests’ to me, merely ministers of religion. And being a minister, pastor [reverend is just an adjective] used to be a vocation, just like being a teacher or a doctor. For many it is now the path to personal enrichment, especially if their flocks are gullible, like most of those people who send their after-tax dollars to American television charlatans, but for many others, who are bi-vocational, it is still a calling. One wonderful pastor and human being [you listenin’ Hopi?] I know, Pastor Wayne Bryan, teaches hearing-impaired children and pastors a small congregation in St. Andrew. Now there’s a man of God, not some fat-cat TV lounge-lizard preying on the unsuspecting. When Wayne speaks, he speaks with authority. That’s what Barbados needs, not some vague, airy-fairy, do-your-own-thing new ager.

But Technician, I agree with you…to a certain extent. The Bible does say that the labourer is worthy of his hire. I believe that pastors, who labour to serve their flock, as most dedicated men and women of God in Barbados and elsewhere do, should be well-paid for the work they do. But I wouldn’t give a cent to a televangelist, especially not to an American snake-oil salesman.

15. That’s more like it , Hopi.

I thought we were reliable enough to buck the whole control system together.

Cast off the false prophets and child raping pastors and free your minds.

One rule… LOVE THY NEIGHBOUR AS THYSELF.

Everything else follows… peace contentment and even CSME, Scout, (but I must admit that last concept tests my faith to the breaking point).

16. oh ye godless one Avatar
    oh ye godless one

What a load of BOLLOCKS.

Have you forgotten the Barbados of a hundred years ago?

Man I’d rather be commiting adultery, fornicating often and spewing profanities today.

And you religious nutcases still haven’t grasped it have you?

You and your crackpot beliefs are the very reasons for the great poverty and misery the massess of your fellow believers wallow in.

17. @Technician/Dissident

We like the point about men of the cloth embracing their GODLY work i.e. serving their flock with all their soul/being. Nowadays its about a job ‘do as I say and not as I do’ and the PEOPLE accept it.

18. There is an adage that says”too many cooks spoil the broth.” There is a church around every corner in Barbados today. Every school, community centre,almost every assembly spot. It seems most of these new leaders are “breakaways” from larger churches, yet they all trying to “get to Heaven”where they would all meet again. If you can’t see eye to eye here in this world, how can you do it in a new place for eternity? maybe, one of the reasons young people are not taking Christianity seriously is because the Church is setting double standards.

19. I can feel the CRAP coming on
    It is getting into the Zone

20. ace
    Maybe this would help you bring on the CRAP. I’ll pray for you tonight when I’m committing myself to my God until I awake. Since I don’t know your right name, I’m asking permission to call you “ace” in my prayers

21. Scout
    There is nothing wrong with having a church around every corner in Barbados today, nor is there anything wrong with small churches being formed by folk breaking away” from larger churches, as long as they are bone fide NT churches that teach the Word in season and out of season, and once they are rightly dividing the Word of Truth.

The early church was definitely more like what is today called “cell groups” rather than mega churches. The bigger a church is, is not necessarily the better. I once read an article by a church guru who points out that the average church size in his country was 65 members.

I had always thought that that was about the correct number for a church simply because I noticed that the vitality, cohesiveness and love within the body of the church in which I was discipled declined significantly after the church had grown to over 65. So when I read his article I was not surprised. Certainly folk can not bare one another’s burdens in mega churches. But this is only my opinion and experience.

22. oh ye godless one Avatar
    oh ye godless one

And the hits keep coming.

“The Pope today lifted the excommunication from the Roman Catholic Church of four bishops appointed by a breakaway archbishop more than 20 years ago.

“One of Archbishop Marcel Lefebvre’s appointees, Briton Richard Williamson, outraged Jews by saying the Nazi gas chambers did not exist.”

23. @David……ReLIEgion is what give you the illusion that you have a void by first condemning you, making you nothing. You call it void I call it fear of not knowing self. And KNOWING ONESELF is not dogma and another problem is BELIEF. That’s where the liars have us on lockdown, believe what we tell you, that’s all you need to get to ‘heaven.’

@Dissident……I’ll put my neck out on a limb and say that you are a christian and how I say this is the fact that you have just portrayed some very christian-like behaviour by judging me against your condemnatory value system in concluding that my truth is GAIA worship, pantheism whatever. Oh ye hypocrite!

24. @Tout. Can anyone tell me where the word CHURCH originated?

25. Dissident
    Brethren and Baptists and related denominations that rightly divide the Word of Truth believe as you do in “the priesthood of all believers.” As clearly taught in 1 Peter chapter 2.

In the NT, the term pastor, bishop, or elder refers to the same person and refers to the leadership of an autonomous local church.

Most NT leaders were bi-vocational, like Paul, or the pastor in St. Andrew to whom you refer. Some believers refer to such church leaders as “tent makers.” The Bible does teach that such are worthy of their hire and should be well-paid for the work they do.

I do not really think that Scout is pushing an Anglican agenda. I think he is reminiscing of the good features of the influence of the then state church at the time when we grew up.

For many of us who are evangelicals today, we learned a lot (and more than we think) in the Anglican church and school based system in our formative years.

Because the hymns and psalms and scriptures were read or sung according to a system based on the church year, it was easy to learn a lot of basic information, without even trying. Go read the collects that we learned in Sunday school again, and you will find that the men who wrote them, had a good understanding of the Bible. This was reinforced at “prayers” throughout the school week which involved the same Bible readings and hymns.

Also most of the hymns in Hymns A & M are paraphrases of Scripture, or allude to serious Bible doctrine.

One of my favorites is Once, only once, and once for all, his precious blood he shed! These lines express very simply the aguement that is developed in Hebrews 9 & 10, namely that Christ died once, and offered up himself once to erase the effects of sin This was in contrast to the multiple perennial and perpetual offerings by bulls on Jewish altars, which only covered sin temporarily.

I agree with Straight talk that the “truth” as expressed by the gospels is diluted, and made less relevant by multi-denominational interpretations. I believe that this a work of the devil, who seeks to strangle the truth by producing argument over church and denominational dogma, rather than dwelling on the doctrine as presented in the Word of God.

I also agree with ROK who opined that “As far as I am concerned, this little rock started going down after 1976 and it has not recovered since.” I recognized the decline after the BLP victory in 1981 ( I was absent from the island in 76 onward)

26. Rev Dr. Dick Hertz Avatar
    Rev Dr. Dick Hertz

“I cannot understand why we idle discussing religion. If we are honest—and as scientists honesty is our precise duty—we cannot help but admit that any religion is a pack of false statements, deprived of any real foundation. The very idea of God is a product of human imagination…. I do not recognize any religious myth, at least because they contradict one another….” – Paul Dirac, Nobel Prize Winner in Physics (1933).

27. My my Dick Hertz II,

If God is a product of human imagination, how big a leap of faith is it to believe that life is much the same?

28. Rev Dr. Dick Hertz Avatar
    Rev Dr. Dick Hertz

Life is a product of human imagination?!
    Explain please!

29. If we are comfortable devoting our lives to an imagined creator, what are the the limits to our imaginations.

If I can imagine an afterlife, why not this life.

Is reality an illusion, or was Einstein mistaken?

30. I think that de horse is out de stable and gine ’round de paddock bend and we now trying to bolt de stable-door. I see a whole generation lost. Morals, principles, standards all gone up in flames. Like you said Scout, the church can carry some of the blame, not all, some. I agree too that too many ‘churches’ are springing up everywhere. Everyone wants to be ‘in charge’ is part of this new influx. Many of them are so near to the church yet far as hell from God. And the behaviour of some a dese so called ‘christians’ left a lot to be desired. A non-christian like myself is often left to wonder. Wha’ nex?
    Hopi,
    I cud feel de crap coming on boy. I feeling it in ma soul. You feelin’ it too?Ya devil.

31. Hopi,
    Sorry, not you, I meant Ace. You like you pun my mind. Watchya.

32. Rev Dr. Dick Hertz Avatar
    Rev Dr. Dick Hertz

See Many Worlds Interpretation MWI on Wikipaedia also Google “Hugh Everett”.

Einstein died seeking a unified theory. Maybe as one writer suggests we can only escape the illusion when we view the world from outside of our narrow and familiar perceptions.

Anyway this is all very taxing on a guy with a $49.99 degree from the Peabrain School of Theology & Medicine and Massage Parlor (motto “Laying of Hands our speciality”)

33. Can you imagine a pastor telling a congregation that he is accepting jewelry in the collection if you do not have money? That is the new type of prosperity gospel being pushed in Barbados. Prosperity for whom?

34. Can someone tell me why they dont pay taxes?

35. Fairplay,
    And if he is given this jewellery in the ‘offering-plate’, who do we cast the blame on?
    What about T.Wayne Bishop? Haven’t heard a straw about him at all. He should be cast into a den of ‘sandflies’ naked as he born. Criminal.

36. Rev Dr. Dick Hertz Avatar
    Rev Dr. Dick Hertz

Bonny Peppa

What was criminal about T Wayne Bishop? (see your question about casting blame).

Religion is basically another form of entertainment. There are a lot of entertainers that I think are talentless and produce crap but still are popular and make good money. I don’t criticise them so why should I criticise pastors? I personally hold pastors to the same standard as that for those charming ladies on Bush Hill that is they should give good (metaphorical) head!

37. ROTFL……..lol….lol….rlmao…..

Rev Dr. Dick Hertz is something else…

38. ROTFL……..lol….lol….rlmao…..

Rev Dr. Dick Hertz is something else…
    ————————————————

ha ha haha fah real tech he is somethng lse ha ha ha hahahahahahlol

39. What about the Pasor who asked his congregation for a ‘Pounder.’ This means some rice sugar flour and so on oh I fahget some pampers for his child! But this is the joke I had an aunt who could not afford to give anything a particular month and was frighten to go to church ha hahhhahaha lol!

There is a pastor at this point in time who has asked his congregation to give him an two months pay in advance When some persons said no he cuss them so stink lol lol welcome to being a so called Christian hahahahahashahahahahhhah lol!

40. Mychurch group does not pay its leadership. The leadership are all laymen. Our church group regard pastors as hired servants or hirelings.

I think that they go to the other extreme. I would be glad to be paid for the studying and teaching I do in my church, because the Bible teaches that the workman is worthy of his hire.

However, the stories you guys are taking about is what is referred to in 1 Peter 5 as serving for filthy lucres sake. Thats another story all together.

41. @Bonny Peppa……Not to worry my dear. I just hope ya have ya adult briefs at hand along wid de good book. Have yaself a quiet nite.

And by the way, this word CHURCH and the whole ideology behind it, is derived from the Greek Goddess Circe who used to lure unsuspecting men into her home, indulge them sexually, keep them in her domain under some spell and have them work for and support her. This is EXACTLY what we have in our midst today.

42. @Tech….They don’t pay taxes because they are pimps. You ever know a pimp/hustler to pay taxes. They get this special exemption/reward because they are working on behalf of their ‘masters’ and doing an excellent job of keeping the sheeple out in the pasture, in the dark.

43. Rev Dr. Dick Hertz,
    You is a real ‘dick-head’. You have been forgiven. Go and sin no more.

Hopi,
    Good nite huney. I got de adult ‘pamps’ but de ‘good book’, I got to beg you fa one.
    I love de word ‘sheeple’. Makes me laff evrytime. Ya good.

44. Technician // January 24, 2009 at 6:17 pm

….To many, being a Priest, a Reverend, or a Pastor is just another job.

This might be the crux of the matter….

Why should being a Priest, Reverend or Pastor be a ‘job’?
    Was anyone who did the same in the Bible paid for their work??
    Why should you be paid for doing Gods work?
    IMHO this is where a lot of the corruption begins because of greed. I remember back in the day,the pastor was also a mason, not so now.

Technician, I agree that they should be left without any means of surviving, too!! 🙂

Clearly, my sagacious comments at the start of article, ‘missed the mark’!!

Technician // January 24, 2009 at 10:29 pm

Can someone tell me why they dont pay taxes?

Is this true, Technician!! Excellent point, if it is!! Explains a lot about why so many of them are so wealthy and probably, unknown to their general laity! Now, Thompson, WHY SHOULD THEY BE EXEMPT FROM PAYING TAX!! I don’t REALLY, expect an answer as I realise that to ask any question in Bim, is generally, a case of ‘spitting in the wind’!! i.e. a waste of time!! That’s Barbadians for you!!

45. To all you unbelievers
    Since to you,no judgement is needed after death, we just happen to be here by some scientific accident, why are they laws, why should everyone be allowed to do as you like because “when ya dead,ya dead”. If there wasn’t a case of each of us giving account of our life, there should be no laws, then there would be anarchy throughout the world. Is this the kind of world you would like to live in? My friends, we have to give an account of our stewardship of our lifes, whether you like it or not. The quicker, you realise this the better it is both for you and the rest of society. A world without an account of your being here is a meaningless world without laws, on the contrary a world where there is accountability lends to a world of peace and being our brother’s keeper. You have the choice to make and you also have to accept the results of that choice you have make. Think and react with some common sense PLEASE.

46. GP
    While there is nothing wrong with that many churches in Barbados, the problem is that society is getting worse. If you had a one door shop that was doing well and you decided to expand and the more you expand, the worse you business is doing, would you not take stock of where you’re going wrong and look to correct it? Maybe, it is bad management, maybe bad employees, stealing or a lot of other negatives. In the Christian world, most demoninations advocate that theirs is the right one, while the others are faulty, yet they all have the same goal. If you can’t unite here on earth , how can you unite anywhere else?

47. Hopi // January 25, 2009 at 12:08 am

@Tech….They don’t pay taxes because they are pimps. You ever know a pimp/hustler to pay taxes.

Hopi, I hope my reverend in nuh pimp cause I should have to ‘pimp my ride’!!

Ooops, I forgot!! You’re in Bim, so may not have seen that programme!!

48. I think as adults instead of getting too technical about Christianity, we need to teach our children good moral and decent behaviour and respect for authority. These are basic Christian values that are missing from society today.

49. @Scout…..Bro, I have a huge problem with respecting authority. Today’s authority is about ‘do as I say but not as I do.’ There are 1 set of rules for side A and another set for side B. Authority itself is at the heart of the problem because it is steeped in hypocrisy. Scout, ‘good moral behaviour’ is not based in Christianity, this preceeded christianity.

50. Hopi, I believe you’re wrong!! Before christianity there was only barbarity!! Can you doubt the wholesome, effect of christianity?!!