Submitted by Yardbroom

dread-locksThe argument is repeatedly made here that blacks who do not wear locks, are ashamed of their race…this nonsense should be put to rest.  The reasons why some people wear locks should be “strong” enough to stand on their own; without a feeble attempt to denigrate those who chose to do otherwise.

For example, of all the present black African leaders, how many wear locks? are they all ashamed of their race?  Take past African freedom fighters who fought colonialism, a few involved in the Pan-African Congress.  Jomo Kenyatta first Prime Minister of Kenya 1963-1964, President 1964-1978, Kwame Nkrumah leader of Gold Cost/Ghana 1952-1966, President Julius Nyerere first President of Tanzania – previously – Tanganyika 1964-1985, not a lock in sight, were they ashamed of the black race?

Modern day blacks of worth Dr. Martin Luther King, Nelson Mandella no locks, were they ashamed of their race.

Even the much lauded Marcus Garvey – who never set foot in Africa – did he wear locks? No, was he ashamed of the black race.

To emphasize the point, Haile Selassie of Ethiopia regent 1916-1930, Emperor 1930-1974 – the venerable – to “some” did he wear locks? No.  Make an argument for locks but do not denigrate those blacks who chose to do otherwise.

Historical Facts

“First known examples date back to ancient dynastic Egypt as they have been Mummified remains of ancient Egyptians with locks.”  “The very earliest Christians also may have worn this hairstyle particularly noteworthy are descriptions of James the Just first Bishop of Jerusalem who wore them to his ankles”.

“Among some Sadhus and Sadhvis Indian Holy men and women, locks are sacred.”  I know the legend of Mau Mau forest dwellers who were not able to cut their hair during the Kenya emergency and their fearsome appearance; and the belief it started then…it did not.

There are spiritual and religious reasons to support the wearing of locks of which “every race” are capable, considering the definition of the word:  ” Dreadlocks, also called locks or dreads, are interlocked coils of hair which form by themselves, in all hair types, if the hair is allowed to grow naturally without grooming for a long period of time.”  Wikipedia

Let us put the nonsense to bed that blacks who do not wear locks are ashamed of the black race.  That argument is not worthy of people who for spiritual or religious reasons who chose to wear locks; your reasons are “strong enough” without any attempt to denigrate other blacks, to substantiate your position.

230 responses to “Dreadlocks: A Common Sense Approach And Nonsense”

1. mad man, I’d rather be a big ass, than an even bigger pr*ck, like u!!

2. 199

you would rather receive the big pr*ck?

3. Deng Xiaping

Like Obama, I am a dreamer.

4. There are still so many blacks out there who wish every day that they were white. There is one remedy; boli a big pan of water and dive into remain there until the black comes off. To the “locks” men/women, keep it clean ans beautiful, it’s much better than straightened and chemical penetrating your skull and damaging your brain, just to look like some white person.

5. it is rather strange how people like 199 could spend so much time beating down people with dreadlocks, and at the same time keep quite about people who put all types of chemicals in the their hair to achieve an artificial texture, or worse yet, a red-hot iron comb.

6. David, I know that, unfortunately, we can’t prevent them from wearing locks yet, not until I become PM, but could u please beg them to stop committing so much crime!! I don’t live in Bim so it does n’t matter so much to me but I’m thinking of the poor, other Barbadians!!

I beg you!!

7. 199
    You are pathetic, grow up man. Do you live in Britain and shinning the Queen’s shoes. You sound so colonialistic, just you believe Jesus was a white man too?
    I don’t believe we still have people like you in this world. Do you have children or grands? If so do they know your Christian name? In my day, when I was young my father was Daddy, it was only when I got to be a teenager that I knew his Christian name and his age. I believe you still living in that age. Come on face the real world and also remember ” the only constant in life is change.” Get with it.

8. 199
    Oh, I forgot to tell you, if you ever become P.M of Barbados, you wouldn’t last 24 hours, you would die of a heart attack. In fact, stay overseas, because just being in Barbados and seeing at most levels of employment locks are accepted. They are still a small percentage of empolyers who think like you but they too are going to have to get with it or accept the penalty

9. @199
    Jackass, how many bombs did dreadlocks drop on any nation? How many lives are they destroying with the mere stroke of a pen? Methinks that you doth envy the purity of the true dreadlocks’ way of life, you’re just wishing that you could get a real dread to make some pure unadulterated love to you and cleanse you from your iniquities and transport you to a natural high. N’est-ce pas?

10. me // December 2, 2008 at 10:31 am

I waiting for the revolution that some on here are dreaming about…. it is good being an idealist when ya at home with ya mudda and starving!
    ——————————————————————————-
    LOL……RLMAO……

Guy….some dreads have more than you will ever own eat and dress better than you ever will !!
    Who you think is one of the best dry-wall specialists in this country…a dread!!
    Some of the best Technicians….dreads!!
    Best Jockeys riding abroad…dreads!!
    Arturo….dread.
    Look at the assets of Krosfyah….Dreads!!
    Allison Hinds…dreads!!

I could go on but I think you get the point…..stop with the condescending shite talk.

You really feel all dreads are criminals on the block looking for people like you to rob?

I am a Network Technician and have a small staff. Live alone…..what starving and living home at mother what!!

You must be talking about your own!!

Look around…it has started….just that you are too blind and bigoted to see.

Dread natty dread……..

11. ROK

I ain’t have any problem wid dreads (it’s just a hairstyle) and I only too happy for Black people to be in the forefront of everything good and progressive (ah got my children to look out for) but dis “black values” ting and “dog eat dog white man world” got me baffled. Dey got GOOD values and dey got BAD values, fullstop. Duh got some ignorant white people and some ignorant black people AND duh got some enlightened white people (no pun intended) and some enlightened Black people. What we got to do is increase the latter and decrease the former.

12. These Blogs are a waste of time
    or better yet , the people who come on these blogs are a waste of time or wasting people’s time or simply boving excretement all over the place

N.A.T.O=No Action Talk Only

13. @Sperm.. You actually wasted time to come on this blog to say that? By the way,its not boving, its bovine and for the sake of this planet I hope that you NEVER find a fertile EGG.

N.A.T.O= North Atlantic Treaty Organisation that’s bombing the shite out of the Afghans.

14. Deng Xiaping

If it were only that simple… but you see, brainwashing has the effect of making you see balance, when there really is none.

15. reluctant nonbeliever Avatar
    reluctant nonbeliever

114 comments?

about HAIR STYLE?

hahaha!

you people really need to get a grip.

what a bunch of girly men…

16. Listen, Scout, jes behave yuhself!! Jes because I had to cut ur backside at BFP, yesterday, dere’s no need to lose de plot, now!!

Laaaaaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!!!

Scout, re: my becoming PM of Bim!! U trembling areday, rnt u!!

Laaaaaaddddddddddddd!!!! Doan worry, Scout, I was only joking bout dat wun!!

Hey, my Bajan’s good after all dese years, no?!!

Lord a mercy!!

Hopi, foolishness!! but it song good, so congratulations!!

Laaaaaadddddddddddddd!!!!

Dreadlocks, congo, bongo I!!

Laaaaaaad a mercy!! Wha dat mean!!

David very, quiet!! What about the crime, David!!

17. Technician, put it this way, for all your pleas, I in letting nun ugh dum inta my house, not looking like and behaving like that!!

Cheers!!

18. Tech, swap u a conga for a-Babylon!! No, Tech, not a Babylonian, a-Babylon!!

Mind u, a Babylonian might prove more useful!!

Laaaaaadddddddddddddddddd!!!!

19. Dreadlocks, natty dread now!!

Laad a mercy!!

Mind u, saw a tourism-ad for Bim on the tv here today and the gorgeous, black Bajan chick had (and wait for it!!) BLONDE hair!!

Lord a mercy!!

But wait!! Dat was n’t all!! Not much later saw a second ad in the same series, this time the man (and wait for it hagen!!) dis time, de man was a caan-belive-it, RASTAMAN!! or at lease he was wearing one ugh dem hats and face looked like it had n’t seen a shave for years!!

Lord a mercy!! So nex time I guh home I expek to c loads a hot-looking Bajan, black-chicks an all with BLONDE hair, surrounded by swirling masses of good-fuh nutten, blouse and skirt, rastas!!

Laaaaaaaaeddddddddddddd!!!!

Whoever commissioned those ads deserves immediate dismissal!! This is BIM NOT Jamaica!! thank god!!

20. I remember the first time I started to write on this blog site and one member asked me why am I still in Barbados? That I should leave as soon as I can and pursue my dreams, that here and the mentality here would be a hindrance in terms of my academic background. I am actually amused by some of the views I have read.

Firstly, 199 is definitely to be ignored, comments more offensive and unsubstantiated than an I have seen on this blog. There are persons on here who are for dreads and have their reasons and those who are against and again they have their reasons. But civilised behaviour and respect are paramount.

Like you Technician I wear dreads. It is however very interesting to me how this is still considered against societal norms. I guess my CV speaks volumes since I have not really encountered any real employment issues (or maybe it is my unique degrees 🙂 ). However it amazes me that I can go to various parts of the world and encounter no problems (other than the mere fact that I am black) yet here this is still an issue. It amuses me of the large percentage of black dreadlocked men from Germany, Holland and other European countries that grow dreads mainly to attract rich white ladies, which they do quite successfully. It also amuses me the number of white tourists that come to this island for a roll in the hay with a big black dreadlocked man. Yet it is so taboo in an island where you are sure to see at least 10 ‘rastas’ on any given day.

But Technician boy, things are changing and quickly. I know far too many people that make a good decent living from doing locks….far from the starving living at home scenario so here wondering if their clients starving at home but does still be able to dish out money every month for a wash and relock.

If someone can explain to me how wearing locks makes my contribution to Barbados any less or any less meaningful or how it makes Aja, Alison Hinds, Adonijah or any other person’s contribution null and void I am all ears.

If we expect a certain look in the business place it should be noted that once upon a time people only went to a white doctor, because that was the societal norm, black doctors were seen as inferior (mind you this still goes on in the older community, I have been seen and heard many cases with my own eyes and ears). Receptionists or customer service agents were fair skinned with long hair. That was a societal norm. To this day white males in schools are allowed to wear their hair however they please and as long as they so desire, but rastafari students must keep their hair covered, interestingly this used to include the females as well, when relaxed hair was and still is a societal norm. And YardBroom dares to say that it is time persons with locks come up with a better ‘excuse’ for wearing them. We don’t make excuses, I am not rastafari and I wear them for no religious reasons, I wear them because it is more convenient, and because it looks good to me. Simple as that! I do not condemn a soul for cutting their hair that is their preference. So I see not why I am ridiculed for mine. And amazingly enough if someone says I locksing cause I proud to be black, it is a grand offense to society as a whole, they are told to take a history lesson but if you continue to cut or relax your hair under the typical European regime that is great!

Well groomed hair is well groomed hair be it natural plaits, afro or relaxed. I am not a proponent of unkempt unwashed hair be it cut or dreaded. I also find it amazing that the whole ‘badboy’ rationale is still coming out. If people want to judge persons on how they look, I have seen quite a few business men and women neatly attired with well groomed dreads (and I extend this to natural grown and finely manicured dreads) and there is no semblance of anything one would see in the court pages. So that argument holds no water to me at all.

Colonialism has done sooooo much damage but it is slowly being repaired. And that comforts me.

21. 199, do you hard-on by making silly postings on this blog?, four post back to back……..cheez man, give us a break.

22. soory, I ment to say `do you get a hard-on’, got me writing shit.

23. @mad man…

Amongst polite company, this is stated as “getting a woody…”

In extremely polite company, this is written as finding one’s mass displaced…

*Do* please try to keep up…

(ROTFL…)

24. You better believe it Re Engineer. Gabby had a song. Cant remember the title; but it said
    “One day coming soon the people will wake up!”

I am one of them frig colonialism attitudes towards me and my locks!

I am black and I love the natural look with my thick lips and big butt ha ha ha!

25. However it amazes me that I can go to various parts of the world and encounter no problems (other than the mere fact that I am black) yet here this is still an issue.

I’m not in the least surprised that it amazes u, RE. However, as I’m more intelligent than u, I’ll tell u the reason. It’s that most white people simply regard black people, especially west indians, as being stupid and expect them to behave in such a way and no other, therefore why would they question you!! I hope that you’re proud of your achievement of helping west indians be regarded as idiots!!

No, ‘mad man’, YOUR BRAIN’S got u writing shit, as usual!!

26. you need to wake up, just now barbados will not be a place for tourist to visits. castor said it polluted with too many vehicle

27. Look, it’s too near to Christmas to blog with 199. That man /woman Sick, Sick Sick.

28. @ RE Engineer December 3, 2008 at 2:29pm

You said quote: “Yardbroom dares to say that it is time persons with locks come up with a better “excuse” for wearing them.”

Misrepresentation is easy a factual account is often more difficult.

I challenge you RE Engineer, direct me to the passage in my submission where I wrote the words you have quoted.

29. people read what they want to read…

I say be yourself wear your hair however you want, dress how ever you want , bathe every other week …I don’t care. BUT please take responsibility for your actions. No one owes you anything!

30. I’ll tell yuh someting!! I live in Hinglen , in a population of 60 million plus, people an I in got nuh bars up at my winda!!

Dat should tell yuh someting bout who is who is who!! i.e. mercifully, there’re not too many rastas aroung hay!!

Lard!! (lord)!!

31. 199
    You sick; what bars in windows got to do with rastas? They are rasta lawyers yet none of them are the ones charged with tiefing they clients money. Crime is done by any class or dress of people. It seem you’re living in Utopia. I hope you become HEAD of government there

32. As a Bajan , maybe 199 would nderstand this……Fly Uncle Charlie Kite Over Freddie Fence !!!

33. I do onstan it Tech, and I don’t need to onstan, I know for a fact, that the bars r definitely, still there at dee windas in Bim, but I can still live happily and peacefully, in the UK, without any, because there’re very few rastas in my district!! And dats d faks of d matta!! whaever insult u want fee hurl!! i.e. rastas=crime and everybody know dat!!

34. Not to mention look as stupid as rasshole!!

35. Why are you all engaging this trouble tree? The man can’t see Samuel Jackman Prescod, of the 199 “sense” he got, he is a “scent” short.

Please place this thing on ignore and let’s use this space wisely. That is the type of behaviour that Bajans traditionally associate with ig’rant people.

36. And 199 is as hig’rant as they come!

37. I agree that I’m extremely, ignorant!! Just like the Minister!! (a) he’s Barbadian (b) he’s black!! (c) he in wearing locks!! (d) he in a false-baldie (e) he looks very, normal and extremely sensible, like me!! So, yes, something must be very, wrong!! That caan b Bim!! I doan believe dah photograph by The Nation!!

http://www.nationnews.com/story/318625805683262.php

38. Whhhhhhhhhhat a privilege to caaaaaaaaaarrrrrry,
    Evvvvverything 2 god in prayerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!! (And NOT Jah, eida)!!

Laaaaadddddddddddddddd!!!!

39. Yardbroom

Let me rephrase “Yardbroom dares to ‘imply’ that it is time persons with locks come up with a better “excuse” for wearing them.”

Just like 199 implies that rastas are the reason for crime so he/she doesn’t need bars in areas where rastas do not live. I am just speaking from how the tone of your article. If I have misinterpreted it, please clarify.

40. Peoples, peoples

199 has been diagnosed on the Nation Forum as dyslexic, ADD, today someone said DDD. But lets face it, his elevator does NOT go to the penthouse.

41. Pat, d shite yuh writing getting betta by d day!! Qualify as a doctor an den come back to me!!

Lord!! Yuh fulla *hit!!

42. Keep on dreaming Bajans!! Thompy has my sympathy for having to deal with wunna!!

43. Re Engineer
    You used quotation marks to be specific and to identify what I wrote – on being challenged – you have NOW shifted your ground to harness me with another commenter on an unrelated element, which I have not engaged in, to tarnish by association.

I can only deduce that you do not know why or how quotation marks are used; or you sought to deceive the audience here. I can forgive the former but the latter is not worthy of further comment.

Ps: Quotation.. a written or spoken passage repeated exactly in a later work, speech, or conversation, usually with an acknowledgment of its source.
    Note: “exactly”

44. Bloggers, please do not reply to anymore of 199 posts, the man sound like he get gang rape by a bunch of skin heads in a London train station.

45. Mad Man
    Ha Ha Ha. Ya mad but ya also right. de man mo mad dan you.

46. Yardbroom

My use of quotation marks was to emphasise the word, not to quote you per se. It saved me time from figuring out how to italicise or underline. As I said, what I have inferred is what I believe has been implied in the article. Am I incorrect in my inference? That is what I would like you to address.

47. RE Engineer Dec 3 2008 at 2:29pm

This is what you wrote:

…”And Yardbroom dares to say that it is time persons with locks come up with a better “excuse for wearing them”…

I ask you again where in my submission I said the above or inferred the above. You have made the statement .

Bring the evidence.

48. Mad man

If all mad people were as smart as you, just imagine the world we would have. Change your handle, it is 199 who is mad.

49. Good luck, Thompy!! Ull need it!!

50. Pat, I’m more than happy to be ‘mad’ as u state, if it means that I’m different from u and have some principle and decency, which I do and is more than I can say for u except the principle of siding with whoever’s *crewing u at the moment! My principles go deeper than that, thank goodness!!